Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier

Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier is the elegant and easy way to transport your bike
Average Customer Rating:
4.777 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(103 Reviews) 99
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (103 reviews)
5 stars
87
4 stars
13
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
99 of 103(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
66 Questions | 76 Answers
Customer Reviews for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Review 1 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to fit and easy to use,
November 17, 2014
By Wazzium
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit, easy to use, security features
Cons: bit pricey
"Refreshingly easy to fit and to use. Great build quality to warrant the slightly more expensive price"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Which Store did you visit? CHRISTCHURCH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier,
November 13, 2014
By JW123
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent v happy with Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
October 27, 2014
By JKBex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this for my son in law; the perfect gift it would seem!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HASTINGS (BEXHILL)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule ProRide 591 roof mount bike carrier,
October 20, 2014
By Senior43
from Glasgow, Glasgow City, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very efficient online ordering and at store collection
Easy to assemble and fix onto roof bars
Loading and unloading bike very easy
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BISHOPBRIGGS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bars,
October 18, 2014
By SRS45
from Landrake, Saltash, Cornwall PL12, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Easy to assemble, easy to fit, sturdy. About the right price for the quality."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? PLYMOUTH (LONGBRIDGE RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier,
October 18, 2014
By yoyofitzy
from Lanarkshire, Lanark, South Lanarkshire ML11, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent, robust high quality bike carrier. Just back after a trip, high winds, using 4 on the roof of a C3 Picasso. No problems whatsoever. Very easy to use, bikes fitted within seconds. Highly recommend these to others looking for quality bike carriers."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LANARK
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent product,
October 14, 2014
By BD88
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to assemble
"I love to buy a product that simply does what you expect which is the case with the Thule 591. Very easy to assemble, very well designed. I always can rely on with all Thule delivering superb products."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Smart rack once installed,
October 12, 2014
By Ecosphere
from NW England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of attaching bike, thule quality design
Cons: instructions could be clearer, no alternative rubbers for wing bars
"Once on the roof simple and easy to use. Read instructions fully before starting. There are alternative methods depending on roof bar type."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WARRINGTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike carrier,
October 08, 2014
By Andrew768
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A great bike carrier. Usually a bit expensive but bought whilst it was on offer."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HAMILTON
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well with full suspension,
October 08, 2014
By jamesbaa
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Brilliant product, works well with both mine and my girlfriends full sus trek's"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality Item,
October 01, 2014
By Darkrum80
from Scotland, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to install
Cons: having to alter items for passenger side fitting
"I required to fit the bike carrier late on Thursday night as I was taking the bike away with us to Kippford lodges. What I thought was going to be a bit of an awkward operation turned out to be an easy installation. The instructions were easy to read and simple to install, good solid and reliable piece of equipment. Highly recommend this product to anyone."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? EAST KILBRIDE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike rack - very sturdy and quick to use,
October 01, 2014
By Anonymous
from Paignton, Torbay, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: sturdy, quick to use, look good
"Easy to fit securely onto Thule Wingbars. Very quick to mount the bikes with the sturdy ratchet clamp. I followed the pictorial instructions to reverse the fittings to put a second one on the passenger side of the car - simple enough to do if you look carefully at the images, although the strap for the rear wheel is now very close to the Wingbar. Not a real problem though. I have also seen other cars that just turned the 591 to face backwards for passenger side. That would be easier but I'd check the manufacturer's website to ensure that's suitable."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? TORQUAY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Product,
October 01, 2014
By Fiord
from Haverhill, Haverhill, Suffolk CB9, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to install carriers onto car, easy to add bikes to carrier, secure
"Easy way to transport bikes. Easy to load, easy to unload. Quick and easy to fit to car."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HAVERHILL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality bike carrier,
September 25, 2014
By Chrispy36
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I was a little worried about using a roof mounted bike carrier but this Thule carrier was so easy to fit yet incredibly secure. It secures to the roof bars and held our 2 bikes very securely by means of the wheel clips and clamp onto the frame. Had no problems when driving even when windy."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good bike rack,
September 25, 2014
By Willt31
from Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The Thule proride 591 is a good solid bike rack. Easy to get the bikes on and off. keeps the bikes on securely. When moving. Lockable. Also compatible with my Volvo v40 car roof rack. I recommend!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? EDINBURGH (HERMISTON GATE)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product and very easy and quick to use.,
September 24, 2014
By Chewy81
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"High end looking product and my bikes felt very securely attached. Could get my bikes on and off the racks with ease and quickly with the ingenius locking system. 10/10"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Which Store did you visit? ORPINGTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very secure but high,
September 10, 2014
By AndyJmck64
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: secure
"As expected from Thule, the quality is obvious. It's very robust and the bikes were secure, even when driving through rain and high winds.
The only issue is that on top of an X5 it is very high. Not that wasy to load/unload and I am 6'2".
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Which Store did you visit? FARNHAM
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Terrible support from Thule,
September 04, 2014
By Anonymous
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Its an OK product, if a little hard to put a bike on (I'm 6ft tall with an 8kg bike and yet i still struggle getting the jaws in place). I note that the 591 is not very secure - the lock looks and feels flimsy and i have seen some good YouTube evidence that thieves wont be stopped by this. Given this, I dont bother locking mine - i just never let it out of my sight.
I have two pro-rides. The first is showing signs of wear after less than a year - specifically on the wheel straps which look like they will split soon.
The second pro ride is a much more sorry tale. I purcahsed the item a while back and only recently tried to mount it. However, there was an issue withone of teh barrel screw nuts in that one of the three was just totally different - shorter, and i couldnt thread the T bolt through it well. So it was the wrong thing in the wrong box and you would think Thule woudl be worried right? After all, if a bike comes off a roof, its not just the bike that might get damaged - you'd be liable, they would be liable, etc.
I've tried to contact them several times over the last 2 months and have had NO REPLY at all. They dont provide a number, just a rubbish little web form. I even tired calling on a media relations number - but it appears they dont man that number either"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Solid and easy.,
September 04, 2014
By Andrew27
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the build quality, how securely they hold the bikes
"Having bought a couple of top-end mountain bikes we needed a method to transport them. My car doesn't have a tow bar and I didn't want a boot mounted option which would obscure the lights and number plate.
Initially I was a bit worried about the stability of roof mounted carriers but having now used these those worries have disappeared. I did, however, measure the height of everything and make a note.
Fitting them was straight forwards - I clamped them to my aero roof bars rather than using the T-bolt option (at other times I will need to remove them and use a roof box) and slid the wheel holders a little to be directly under the wheels. I run one facing forwards, and one backwards. (The handlebars on our bikes would be too wide to sit the same way) This also meant that I didn't need to change from right hand to left hand fitting. Lifting the bikes in is easy and they feel very secure when in place."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? TWICKENHAM (IVYBRIDGE CENTRE)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best bike rack on the market,
September 02, 2014
By RP93
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This by far the best rack on the market. Easy to use, secure and looks good. Happy to pay a little more for that."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CHIPPENHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>