Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier

Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier is the elegant and easy way to transport your bike
Average Customer Rating:
4.786 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(112 Reviews) 112
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (112 reviews)
5 stars
93
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
109 of 111(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
66 Questions | 76 Answers
Customer Reviews for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Review 1 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice bit of kit,
May 18, 2016
By
from Southampton, Southampton, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit & use
Cons: height restrictions getting into car parks etc
" Got 2 of these when they were on offer had them fitted for free although they are very easy to do yourself.
Used for a mens mountain bike and a woman's Dutch style bike.
They hold the bikes very secure without any problems.
Been to Wales, Cornwall up & down motorways at the speed limit all without any problems the bikes do wobble about but doesn't cause any issues.
ONLY negative point is its impossible to get into car parks with height restrictions so need to be aware of this and make a note of the overall height.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHAMPTON (HEDGE END)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality,
May 14, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: strong reliable product
" These were easy to fit and are good quality. Definitely recommended. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier,
May 14, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, solid, good quality
Cons: slightly more expensive
" This is a brilliant bit of kit and very easy to set up. I am impressed with the quality and how solid the bike is when on the roof rack. Excellent and worth the money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SWINDON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very helpful,
May 13, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Team were extremely helpful, my bikes had driven the bikes into a barrier whilst they were on the roof and we had to get it fixed during that day ready to be driven down. The team were very helpful in getting it sorted and went the extra mile.... Thanks "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to fit and use. Excellent.,
May 03, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" A good solid bike carrier. I would recommend this. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant cycle carrier, great customer service,
May 02, 2016
By
from West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is my 4th Thule ProRide 591 roof mount carrier (fitted to Thule Aero bars). I have put 2 of the 591 carriers on the GF's car and I now have 2 on mine.. Cannot fault them, always feel sturdy and I'm confident that the bikes will not "fall off". Obviously dont go driving over the speed limit around tight bends, just in case :)
The service I received at the Leeds Kirkstall Halfords store was second to none. I turned up at 9am to collect and have the Thule 591 cycle carrier fitted, along with getting a new rear number plate that had been stolen the night before (or fallen off).. I was served by the store manager, and literally driving out from the store in less than 15 minutes.. great / quick customer service. Please pass on my thanks to the staff there. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (KIRKSTALL)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule pro rider 591,
May 01, 2016
By
from Wigan, Wigan, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
Cons: not ne
" Excellent product quick and easy to load bikes on and take off without any help would recommend so good have both gut two. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good price buy one get one 1/2 price,
May 01, 2016
By
from Sheffield, South Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Solid bit tricky to fix but well impressed,bought easter as offer was on bit not on rest of bits,happy cycling now in other areas "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (KILNER WAY)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very solid and extremely easy to use,
January 16, 2016
By
from Guildford, Guildford, Surrey, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to use lock and key system, easy to load bike on, very robust, clever mechanism for securing bike
Cons: takes a bit of time to get set up
" Worth splashing out a bit more for something easy to use and very robust. Only had it for a few weeks but so far very good. Can't go wrong with Thule products - would definitely recommend. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GUILDFORD
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good item,
December 03, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy fix, tight fit, tad expensiv
" Strong fixing,- good reliable would recommend not obtrusive "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Missing bolts!,
September 28, 2015
By
from Christchurch, Dorset, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quick, avoids damaging the car.
Cons: bits missing from the packaging.
" The bike rack is excellent and so much quicker and easier than my hatchback/boot bike rack. One disappointment is that three bolts had been stolen from the pack. Fortunately they were for another type of roof bar connection. I phoned the local store who said that they would replace them, but I have not had a chance to get there. Its a pity. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CHRISTCHURCH
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent bike rack,
September 21, 2015
By
from Matlock, Matlock, Derbyshire DE4, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Just what I wanted,the rack seems very secure & well made "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CHESTERFIELD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bike carrier - Thurle,
September 20, 2015
By
from West Midlands, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Great quality, very robust locking mechanism, does not affect drive of car. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? OLDBURY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule 591,
September 19, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality, ease of use
" Great quality product as you would expect from Thule, easy to fit and holds the bike rock solid.... Would recommend. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
September 14, 2015
By
from Telford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is the first roof carrier I have had for a bike and am well pleased with mu purchase. It took a while to fit correctly but when on it is brilliant at the job. The bike is held secure and the first trip was over 300 miles to Scotland and the bike travelled without a problem. I would recommend to anyone who requires a reliable secure product. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? TELFORD
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So Far So Good,
August 27, 2015
By
from Uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to set up and use
Cons: wheel holders can be taken off
" Only used this one time so far, as only just got our bikes, but it is easy to put together with minimum assembly required, and is easy to load bikes on.
One extra security addition I would have liked is some way to stop the wheel holders from being taken off the carrier, I have a feeling they might go missing, may have to rig something up myself for this. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HARLOW
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent service,
July 26, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: service
" Gravest product and the assistant ( Dereck) was really really helpful with this and so much so we bought two bikes for our grand kids
Great experience and fantastic customer service
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike carrier,
July 26, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Reserved online for £59. Very good value at this price. Have used it with a child's 20" wheel bike. The wheel securing straps don't quite move to fit the centre of the wheels for such a small bike, but still very secure and have driven 250 miles to France with no problem. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Which Store did you visit? DIDCOT
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality piece of kit,
July 24, 2015
By
from wales UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" If you have a bike worth a few quid it's well worth paying a bit more for this carrier. It's solid construction really holds the bike firm. The set up is easy and I bought 2 so I swapped 1 from left to right hand and that was a simple process of 4 hex bolts and slide the 2 wheel trays off and turn around "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rock solid once locked up properly!,
July 24, 2015
By
from Warrington, Warrington, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: rubber protector to prevent scratches on the wheel
Cons: clamp squishes cables on downtube
" Orginally getting the 532 as its cheaper but it went on sale for £59, glad i waited and got this than the 532! The loading is easy and can be done by just one person. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WARRINGTON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>