Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Cycle Carriers & Bike Racks or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier

Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier is the elegant and easy way to transport your bike
Average Customer Rating:
4.77 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(87 Reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (87 reviews)
5 stars
74
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
83 of 87(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
66 Questions | 76 Answers
Customer Reviews for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Review 1 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very secure but high,
September 10, 2014
By AndyJmck64
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: secure
"As expected from Thule, the quality is obvious. It's very robust and the bikes were secure, even when driving through rain and high winds.
The only issue is that on top of an X5 it is very high. Not that wasy to load/unload and I am 6'2".
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Which Store did you visit? FARNHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Terrible support from Thule,
September 04, 2014
By Anonymous
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Its an OK product, if a little hard to put a bike on (I'm 6ft tall with an 8kg bike and yet i still struggle getting the jaws in place). I note that the 591 is not very secure - the lock looks and feels flimsy and i have seen some good YouTube evidence that thieves wont be stopped by this. Given this, I dont bother locking mine - i just never let it out of my sight.
I have two pro-rides. The first is showing signs of wear after less than a year - specifically on the wheel straps which look like they will split soon.
The second pro ride is a much more sorry tale. I purcahsed the item a while back and only recently tried to mount it. However, there was an issue withone of teh barrel screw nuts in that one of the three was just totally different - shorter, and i couldnt thread the T bolt through it well. So it was the wrong thing in the wrong box and you would think Thule woudl be worried right? After all, if a bike comes off a roof, its not just the bike that might get damaged - you'd be liable, they would be liable, etc.
I've tried to contact them several times over the last 2 months and have had NO REPLY at all. They dont provide a number, just a rubbish little web form. I even tired calling on a media relations number - but it appears they dont man that number either"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Solid and easy.,
September 04, 2014
By Andrew27
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the build quality, how securely they hold the bikes
"Having bought a couple of top-end mountain bikes we needed a method to transport them. My car doesn't have a tow bar and I didn't want a boot mounted option which would obscure the lights and number plate.
Initially I was a bit worried about the stability of roof mounted carriers but having now used these those worries have disappeared. I did, however, measure the height of everything and make a note.
Fitting them was straight forwards - I clamped them to my aero roof bars rather than using the T-bolt option (at other times I will need to remove them and use a roof box) and slid the wheel holders a little to be directly under the wheels. I run one facing forwards, and one backwards. (The handlebars on our bikes would be too wide to sit the same way) This also meant that I didn't need to change from right hand to left hand fitting. Lifting the bikes in is easy and they feel very secure when in place."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? TWICKENHAM (IVYBRIDGE CENTRE)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best bike rack on the market,
September 02, 2014
By RP93
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This by far the best rack on the market. Easy to use, secure and looks good. Happy to pay a little more for that."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CHIPPENHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to install and use,
September 01, 2014
By Mark101101
from Liversedge, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality, easy to use, easy to install
Cons: wheel straps could be tighter
"no major complaints; does the job; only slight niggle was that the wheel straps are made to suit all wheel sizes and could have been a little tighter for 700x23 wheels. slight movement but secure enough.. would recommend this product"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DEWSBURY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier,
August 30, 2014
By Sertboy
from Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought this product which is good but beware, I was driving through a busy high street when suddenly one of the strap holders came flying off my car and nearly hit someone. I drove straight to Halfords and they were really apologetic saying that the product comes already assembled and that it must have been loose. The guy clipped it back on for me.
Please make sure yours is secure as this could have injured someone.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Which Store did you visit? EDINBURGH (SEAFIELD)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use and solid,
August 29, 2014
By thegreendrink
from Bangor, Bangor, North Down BT20, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Not much bad can be said about these bike carriers, suits all vehicles, even the uniquely sized Toyota roof bars. Uses the T-bolt to slide into the roof bar. Had trouble with other brands fitting, but these worked a treat. They are sturdy and left me confident they will hold the bikes without any concerns.
The only thing I would suggest if you have multiple Thule Bike Carriers is to try to get the same key number for locking the bike and carrier to the roof rack, means you have to carry less keys!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BANGOR (N. IRELAND)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good bit of kit.,
August 29, 2014
By TheHunters
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Like the clamp mechanism which is better that Mont Blanc we already have but does grip wheels as that does which helps when loading. Overall think I prefer this design."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MILTON KEYNES
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality rack,
August 28, 2014
By rick12re
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: bikes held very securely, quick to load and unload
Cons: expensive
"Bought 2 of these along with a thule roof rack. It took a good while to assemble everything especially as I swapped one of the pro rides from right handed to left handed. It took a bit of fiddling about to get everything adjusted to fit the bikes, but now it is all set up it only takes a minute or two to load up the bikes. Bikes are held nice and securely.
I was worried that it would really kill the fuel economy but it only seems to reduce it by about 10%.
I have noticed some wind noise at certain speeds, but nothing too annoying.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worth the money,
August 27, 2014
By VickyP
from Stockport, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: sturdy
"I hadn't used a roof-mounted bike carrier and was a bit nervous about driving 1000+ miles to France with one for the first time, but this was quite easy to fit and did the job brilliantly. The instructions are pictures only, but there are a couple of helpful youtube videos."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Which Store did you visit? CHEADLE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top piece of kit,
August 24, 2014
By deGids
from Watford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use
"Very easy to fit. Very easy to use. Overall an excellent product."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WATFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to fit and use,
August 23, 2014
By Cosmic329
from Portsmouth, Portsmouth, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: twist handle
"I bought this rack specifically as the clamp mechanism is activated by the twist handle at the base of the carrier, which means you can easily reach it when holding a bike up on top of the car. Simple to fit."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HAVANT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
thule,
August 23, 2014
By mickp401
from Tidworth, Tidworth, Wiltshire SP9, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: clamping action & release mechanism
Cons: nothing
"The only way to transport an expensive bike! Excellent design and easy to use. Well worth the extra cost compared to other brands."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? PLYMOUTH (LONGBRIDGE RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product has good value for money.,
August 22, 2014
By Anonymous
from Manchester, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: very good looking.
Cons: none.
"This rooftop cycle carrier is very sturdy. Ease of use is topnotch. Locks for both carrier and bicycle are very good safety features."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? OLDHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule ProRide 591 A+ Product,
August 21, 2014
By Rob996
from Poole, Poole, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Thule proride 591 is a top quality bike rack fitting was extremely easy instructions, were very simple , its remarkably light and doesn't suffer from wind noise when on the car and travelling on the motorway A+ product"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? FERNDOWN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality and easy of use,
August 19, 2014
By PGAPro
from Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"When you want a bike rack. It must be simple to fit, easy to operate and secure-the Thule ProRide 591is all those things"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? EDINBURGH (STRAITON)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use and holds bikes very securely,
August 18, 2014
By Wilkowon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: well made, easy to get bike on and off
Cons: pricey but worth it
"Very easy to fit and solidly made. Holds bikes very securely. Also locks on to roof bars and bike holding mechanism also has a lock using the same key."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fantastic piece of kit.,
August 08, 2014
By lemonitart
from Lancaster, Lancashire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: speed of use
Cons: anti theft lock?
"Easy to fit and adjust. Takes 30seconds to load bike. Safe and secure in transit. Not 100% about anti theft security so used extra chain lock to secure bike to roof bars. But that's just me being paranoid.
Overall this does the job better than most others.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Which Store did you visit? LANCASTER
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
August 07, 2014
By StuartH1972
from Upminster, Greater London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very easy to set up, even the first time. Once in place, bike goes on and off, quickly and easily.
I strapped a second, child's bike to my adult bike and never once felt there was too much extra weight on the rack.
Very solid and very good product
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WEST THURROCK
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule pro ride,
August 01, 2014
By Jane67
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great quality product. Easy to fit and looks good."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CHORLEY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>