Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier

Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier is the elegant and easy way to transport your bike
Average Customer Rating:
4.779 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(104 Reviews) 104
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (104 reviews)
5 stars
86
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
101 of 103(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
66 Questions | 76 Answers
Customer Reviews for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Review 1 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very solid and extremely easy to use,
January 16, 2016
By
from Guildford, Guildford, Surrey, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to use lock and key system, easy to load bike on, very robust, clever mechanism for securing bike
Cons: takes a bit of time to get set up
" Worth splashing out a bit more for something easy to use and very robust. Only had it for a few weeks but so far very good. Can't go wrong with Thule products - would definitely recommend. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GUILDFORD
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good item,
December 03, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy fix, tight fit, tad expensiv
" Strong fixing,- good reliable would recommend not obtrusive "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Missing bolts!,
September 28, 2015
By
from Christchurch, Dorset, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quick, avoids damaging the car.
Cons: bits missing from the packaging.
" The bike rack is excellent and so much quicker and easier than my hatchback/boot bike rack. One disappointment is that three bolts had been stolen from the pack. Fortunately they were for another type of roof bar connection. I phoned the local store who said that they would replace them, but I have not had a chance to get there. Its a pity. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CHRISTCHURCH
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent bike rack,
September 21, 2015
By
from Matlock, Matlock, Derbyshire DE4, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Just what I wanted,the rack seems very secure & well made "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CHESTERFIELD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bike carrier - Thurle,
September 20, 2015
By
from West Midlands, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Great quality, very robust locking mechanism, does not affect drive of car. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? OLDBURY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule 591,
September 19, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality, ease of use
" Great quality product as you would expect from Thule, easy to fit and holds the bike rock solid.... Would recommend. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
September 14, 2015
By
from Telford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is the first roof carrier I have had for a bike and am well pleased with mu purchase. It took a while to fit correctly but when on it is brilliant at the job. The bike is held secure and the first trip was over 300 miles to Scotland and the bike travelled without a problem. I would recommend to anyone who requires a reliable secure product. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? TELFORD
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So Far So Good,
August 27, 2015
By
from Uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to set up and use
Cons: wheel holders can be taken off
" Only used this one time so far, as only just got our bikes, but it is easy to put together with minimum assembly required, and is easy to load bikes on.
One extra security addition I would have liked is some way to stop the wheel holders from being taken off the carrier, I have a feeling they might go missing, may have to rig something up myself for this. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HARLOW
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent service,
July 26, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: service
" Gravest product and the assistant ( Dereck) was really really helpful with this and so much so we bought two bikes for our grand kids
Great experience and fantastic customer service
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike carrier,
July 26, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Reserved online for £59. Very good value at this price. Have used it with a child's 20" wheel bike. The wheel securing straps don't quite move to fit the centre of the wheels for such a small bike, but still very secure and have driven 250 miles to France with no problem. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Which Store did you visit? DIDCOT
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality piece of kit,
July 24, 2015
By
from wales UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" If you have a bike worth a few quid it's well worth paying a bit more for this carrier. It's solid construction really holds the bike firm. The set up is easy and I bought 2 so I swapped 1 from left to right hand and that was a simple process of 4 hex bolts and slide the 2 wheel trays off and turn around "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rock solid once locked up properly!,
July 24, 2015
By
from Warrington, Warrington, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: rubber protector to prevent scratches on the wheel
Cons: clamp squishes cables on downtube
" Orginally getting the 532 as its cheaper but it went on sale for £59, glad i waited and got this than the 532! The loading is easy and can be done by just one person. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WARRINGTON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bike Carrier,
July 24, 2015
By
from Blackrod
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Although expensive this is the by far the best roof mounted bike carrier I've had. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great one off deal for great cycle racks,
July 24, 2015
By
from Peterborough, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very simple assembly, great support for cycles
" Very happy with our pair of racks, bought on flash sale and when there was already a significant discount. The racks themselves fitted to the load bars on our trailer very simply and hold our bikes very tightly, just the job "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? PETERBOROUGH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Gone in 8 seconds,
July 10, 2015
By
from West Berkshire, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: excellent for holding a bike
Cons: hopeless at securing your bike
" As far as a bike rack goes, this product is excellent, but my god you can't leave your bike unattended for any length of time!
It is far too simple to rip a bike off of this rack. If you are going to buy it, an extra lock is mandatory. Thule even sell one!
Don't be me and lose your bike.
Search youtube for Thule ProRide 591 ... gone in 8 seconds to see what I mean! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pay for the extra quality,
June 14, 2015
By
from Bedfordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality, security, ease of use
" Having searched around I opted for the more expensive ProRide 591. Most definitely worth the extra money. Easy to put together and add/remove to the roof with the T-track system. Have three bikes on the roof and they are very sturdy. Lockable design means I have no concerns leaving them on the car for the afternoon. Certainly recommend. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DUNSTABLE
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best bike carrier,
June 11, 2015
By
from Ilkley, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality, value, style, security
" Brilliant product, extremely robust and well worth the money. Click and collect service from Halfords was spot on too. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GUISELEY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
June 11, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This carrier is fantastic - secure, sturdy and easy to use. Prefect for carrying bikes. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? STOKE-ON-TRENT (HANLEY)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
June 10, 2015
By
from Market harborough
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great product, very easy to install - good quality bike rack "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? MARKET HARBOROUGH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality and easy to fit,
June 10, 2015
By
from London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: simple to fit and use
" The pro ride 591 was really simple to fit, well made and easy to use. Feels secure and supports my large frame mtb safely. I would recommend this over any other. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? FRIERN BARNET
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>