Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier

Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier is the elegant and easy way to transport your bike
Average Customer Rating:
4.766 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(124 Reviews) 124
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (124 reviews)
5 stars
102
4 stars
18
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
120 of 123(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
66 Questions | 76 Answers
Customer Reviews for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Review 1 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule bike carrier,
July 01, 2016
By
from Jarrow, Tyne and Wear, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great item easy to attach to bars. Halfords priced matched on the spot no issues. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SUNDERLAND
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier,
June 26, 2016
By
from England, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: light, easy to fit, solid on car, thule roof system
Cons: tyre locator, plastic straps for wheels
" Excellent quality as you would expect from Thule.
I think the strap and wheel locator design could be better, I have read reports of the plastic wheels locators breaking. I have nylon straps for my Thule towbar mounted bike carrier and I think this design is better, so much so I use the nylon straps on the roof carrier instead. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CREWE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sturdy and easy to use,
June 20, 2016
By
from West Yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: ease of use
Cons: lack of adjustability
" Very good product. Much easier to use than the older version. Seems to hold bike solidly. Only downside is inability to adjust fore and aft position of mount on roof bars. My car has fixed roof bar positions, meaning the mount can only go one way round to avoid boot lid hitting it when opened, so can only use from one side of car - which means a bit of a stretch "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (YORK RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bike Rack,
June 19, 2016
By
from Bath, Bath, Bath and North East Somerset, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Excellent product. Easy to install and use. Can recommend. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BATH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bit surprising,
June 18, 2016
By
from Essex
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cons: damage caused
" Despite following Thule's own website recommendation I was surprised to find these bike carriers 'bite' into the aluminium of the Thule roof bars I fitted them to. This leaves unsightly dents which I was unimpressed to find on my bars that cost over £200! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SCARBOROUGH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great deal for 2 bike racks,
June 17, 2016
By
from Clevedon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought 2 of these online in the evening and selected click & collect and picked them up next morning without any problems. Great deal if you bought 2 together. Excellent service. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CLEVEDON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin.,
June 16, 2016
By
from Greenmount, Bury BL8, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the easy 'mounting' of the bikes onto the racks.
Cons: the ambiguous 'pictogram' instructions.
" I bought two Thule ProRide 591 to fit on my roofbars and to carry our bikes. After a bit of a struggle I deciphered the pictogram instructions and put them on the car, I then went in to the Bury Halfords branch and one of the staff obligingly came out and checked that I'd 'done it right'. Apparently I had! I then used this set-up to go and collect the new bikes: I took a small 'step'with me so that I could more easily put the bikes onto the rack. The bikes 'mounted'easily and I drove home on the motorway: Nothing fell off. Job done, This should enable us to explore a bit further afield with bikes over the coming months. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? BURY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best bicycle roof-rack,
June 14, 2016
By
from Salisbury, Salisbury, Wiltshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use, aerodynamic so less noise
" Great service by the team in Salisbury's Halfords. Really pleased with this roof-rack. Highly recommended. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Which Store did you visit? SALISBURY
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Secure Bicycle Holder/Transporter,
June 12, 2016
By
from Bournemouth, Bournemouth, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I am more than happy to recommend this item.
Holds bike upright and securely.
Carrier is locked to roof bars.
Bike is clamped and locked to the bike carrier.
All in all, a safe secure way to transport and leave your bicycle.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BOURNEMOUTH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mr,
June 10, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: all of it
" Excellent very easy to put together very easy to set your bike up !! Definitely recommend I have a 29inch mountain bike I had to let down my front tyre every time I used my other bike rack !! Very good deal too ! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? ASHFORD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great carrier,
June 09, 2016
By
from Southport, Southport, Merseyside, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use security
Cons: none
" Had one of these for years, they are very easy to use and treat the frame gently. I needed another due to bike proliferation, great price for a great product "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHPORT
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule 5921 bike carrier,
May 28, 2016
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, easy to fit
" Bought this product for transporting bike to sportives, I must say its fab and easy to load. Highly recommend!!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice bit of kit,
May 18, 2016
By
from Southampton, Southampton, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit & use
Cons: height restrictions getting into car parks etc
" Got 2 of these when they were on offer had them fitted for free although they are very easy to do yourself.
Used for a mens mountain bike and a woman's Dutch style bike.
They hold the bikes very secure without any problems.
Been to Wales, Cornwall up & down motorways at the speed limit all without any problems the bikes do wobble about but doesn't cause any issues.
ONLY negative point is its impossible to get into car parks with height restrictions so need to be aware of this and make a note of the overall height.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHAMPTON (HEDGE END)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality,
May 14, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: strong reliable product
" These were easy to fit and are good quality. Definitely recommended. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier,
May 14, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, solid, good quality
Cons: slightly more expensive
" This is a brilliant bit of kit and very easy to set up. I am impressed with the quality and how solid the bike is when on the roof rack. Excellent and worth the money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SWINDON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very helpful,
May 13, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Team were extremely helpful, my bikes had driven the bikes into a barrier whilst they were on the roof and we had to get it fixed during that day ready to be driven down. The team were very helpful in getting it sorted and went the extra mile.... Thanks "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to fit and use. Excellent.,
May 03, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" A good solid bike carrier. I would recommend this. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant cycle carrier, great customer service,
May 02, 2016
By
from West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is my 4th Thule ProRide 591 roof mount carrier (fitted to Thule Aero bars). I have put 2 of the 591 carriers on the GF's car and I now have 2 on mine.. Cannot fault them, always feel sturdy and I'm confident that the bikes will not "fall off". Obviously dont go driving over the speed limit around tight bends, just in case :)
The service I received at the Leeds Kirkstall Halfords store was second to none. I turned up at 9am to collect and have the Thule 591 cycle carrier fitted, along with getting a new rear number plate that had been stolen the night before (or fallen off).. I was served by the store manager, and literally driving out from the store in less than 15 minutes.. great / quick customer service. Please pass on my thanks to the staff there. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (KIRKSTALL)
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule pro rider 591,
May 01, 2016
By
from Wigan, Wigan, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
Cons: not ne
" Excellent product quick and easy to load bikes on and take off without any help would recommend so good have both gut two. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good price buy one get one 1/2 price,
May 01, 2016
By
from Sheffield, South Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Solid bit tricky to fix but well impressed,bought easter as offer was on bit not on rest of bits,happy cycling now in other areas "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (KILNER WAY)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>