Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Cycle Carriers & Bike Racks or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier

Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier is the elegant and easy way to transport your bike
Average Customer Rating:
4.831 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(77 Reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (77 reviews)
5 stars
68
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
74 of 77(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
66 Questions | 76 Answers
Customer Reviews for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Review 1 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top piece of kit,
August 24, 2014
By deGids
from Watford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use
"Very easy to fit. Very easy to use. Overall an excellent product."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WATFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to fit and use,
August 23, 2014
By Cosmic329
from Portsmouth, Portsmouth, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: twist handle
"I bought this rack specifically as the clamp mechanism is activated by the twist handle at the base of the carrier, which means you can easily reach it when holding a bike up on top of the car. Simple to fit."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HAVANT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
thule,
August 23, 2014
By mickp401
from Tidworth, Tidworth, Wiltshire SP9, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: clamping action & release mechanism
Cons: nothing
"The only way to transport an expensive bike! Excellent design and easy to use. Well worth the extra cost compared to other brands."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? PLYMOUTH (LONGBRIDGE RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product has good value for money.,
August 22, 2014
By Anonymous
from Manchester, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: very good looking.
Cons: none.
"This rooftop cycle carrier is very sturdy. Ease of use is topnotch. Locks for both carrier and bicycle are very good safety features."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? OLDHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule ProRide 591 A+ Product,
August 21, 2014
By Rob996
from Poole, Poole, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Thule proride 591 is a top quality bike rack fitting was extremely easy instructions, were very simple , its remarkably light and doesn't suffer from wind noise when on the car and travelling on the motorway A+ product"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? FERNDOWN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality and easy of use,
August 19, 2014
By PGAPro
from Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"When you want a bike rack. It must be simple to fit, easy to operate and secure-the Thule ProRide 591is all those things"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? EDINBURGH (STRAITON)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use and holds bikes very securely,
August 18, 2014
By Wilkowon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: well made, easy to get bike on and off
Cons: pricey but worth it
"Very easy to fit and solidly made. Holds bikes very securely. Also locks on to roof bars and bike holding mechanism also has a lock using the same key."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fantastic piece of kit.,
August 08, 2014
By lemonitart
from Lancaster, Lancashire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: speed of use
Cons: anti theft lock?
"Easy to fit and adjust. Takes 30seconds to load bike. Safe and secure in transit. Not 100% about anti theft security so used extra chain lock to secure bike to roof bars. But that's just me being paranoid.
Overall this does the job better than most others.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Which Store did you visit? LANCASTER
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
August 07, 2014
By StuartH1972
from Upminster, Greater London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very easy to set up, even the first time. Once in place, bike goes on and off, quickly and easily.
I strapped a second, child's bike to my adult bike and never once felt there was too much extra weight on the rack.
Very solid and very good product
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WEST THURROCK
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule pro ride,
August 01, 2014
By Jane67
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great quality product. Easy to fit and looks good."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CHORLEY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule Pro Ride,
June 30, 2014
By bussy
from Perth, Perth and Kinross, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Having had my first pro ride more than 3 years ,deciced to fit a second one for the wife to come out with me ,easy to fit ,would prefer better instructions especially when changing the grips so that they face the same way ,however after a little time and patience you get there"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? PERTH
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
designed beautyfully,
June 07, 2014
By janese91
from plymouth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: features lockable sexy design, easy to use, very adjustable
Cons: instructions
"A bike carrier design like no other..the design is like looking at some slim low aerodynamic sports car..smooth around the edges and beautyfully designed..slick operation to secure this rack to your car..although the instructions seem to lead you scratching your head, after you finish building/setting up/or changing from right to left hand use..oh yes you can strip this carrier down and rebuild it for right and left use to have 2 carriers each side of yr car...takes minutes to put on and take off...I have a 650b and a 29er which both fit perfect..a little adjustment to stop front wheel overhanging but this is just 2 allen key bolts loosen and slide to desired place and retighten..over all one of the best on the market. ..and it all locks to roof bars which are sold separately (can seem pricey but come on just look at it mmmmm sweet..)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? PLYMOUTH (LONGBRIDGE RD)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Item but Beware Larger Wheels!,
March 31, 2014
By BiddyBoardman
from Bideford, Devon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: durable, well built, lockable, easy to use
Cons: support arm a little short for 650b
"This is a fantastic product, well built and very durable, be mindful though if you have a 650B or a 29er as my 650b has to sit quite far forward for the support arm to reach the frame properly. That said - despite my front wheel overhanging my windscreen a little - I wouldnt use another product!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? BARNSTAPLE
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
January 03, 2014
By Marshy123
from Reading, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A little tricky to install first time but works great. More importantly, it makes it effortless to take your bike with so no excuses!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice and easy,
December 01, 2013
By NP3S
from Plymouth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy, secure
Cons: watch roof height
"Easy to fit and use. Secure. Need to watch roof height and make sure you can lift the bike up there."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier,
October 22, 2013
By speenth
from UK and Austria
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: bike lock-down mechanism, boot lid can still be opened, tail light and licence plate board not required
"As with all Thule products, the ProRide 591 is very well designed in both ergonomic and engineering terms.
It is surprisingly easy to mount the bike securely on a typical car roof (even if you're not that tall).
Downers: Very little except cost (but then this is a premium product and it is exceptionally well made).
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? UXBRIDGE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
top bike carrier,
September 15, 2013
By keanorob
from Warwickshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: fixing system for the bike
Cons: sparse instructions, limited images of the product in the instructions
"If you've bought Thule gear before, you'll know how ingenious their products are.
Mounted and de-mounted this in just a few minutes once I'd realised which way round it was supposed to go!
More comprehensive assembly and use instructions would have been good, but there's no doubt this will do its job. In particular, the simple to use fixing system makes it easy to mount your bike on the roof of any car.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? NUNEATON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier,
September 13, 2013
By jon60
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Well built ,easy to attatch to roof bar. Bike feels secure in carrier."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule ProRide 591,
September 13, 2013
By Finto13
from West Berkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: secure, light, ease of use
Cons: slightly pricey
"Was hesitant about buying this purely on price but knew the quality would be worth it after speaking to a few owners. Was not disappointed, this is so easy to install after getting to grips with the typically vague Thule instructions. Would highly recommend. Light, great quality, ease of use and most importantly secure !!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? NEWBURY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Priceless, buy it now.,
August 15, 2013
By Willipedia
from Rugby UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: speed of assembly, ease of loading, looks and security
"The best roof carrier ever.
I will absolutely guarantee you will assemble this and load a bike on your car quicker than you can read the instructions.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? DAVENTRY
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>