Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier

Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier is the elegant and easy way to transport your bike
Average Customer Rating:
4.836 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(67 Reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (67 reviews)
5 stars
60
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
64 of 67(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
66 Questions | 72 Answers
Customer Reviews for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Review 1 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule Pro Ride,
June 30, 2014
By bussy
from Perth, Perth and Kinross, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Having had my first pro ride more than 3 years ,deciced to fit a second one for the wife to come out with me ,easy to fit ,would prefer better instructions especially when changing the grips so that they face the same way ,however after a little time and patience you get there"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? PERTH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
designed beautyfully,
June 07, 2014
By janese91
from plymouth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: features lockable sexy design, easy to use, very adjustable
Cons: instructions
"A bike carrier design like no other..the design is like looking at some slim low aerodynamic sports car..smooth around the edges and beautyfully designed..slick operation to secure this rack to your car..although the instructions seem to lead you scratching your head, after you finish building/setting up/or changing from right to left hand use..oh yes you can strip this carrier down and rebuild it for right and left use to have 2 carriers each side of yr car...takes minutes to put on and take off...I have a 650b and a 29er which both fit perfect..a little adjustment to stop front wheel overhanging but this is just 2 allen key bolts loosen and slide to desired place and retighten..over all one of the best on the market. ..and it all locks to roof bars which are sold separately (can seem pricey but come on just look at it mmmmm sweet..)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? PLYMOUTH (LONGBRIDGE RD)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Item but Beware Larger Wheels!,
March 31, 2014
By BiddyBoardman
from Bideford, Devon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: durable, well built, lockable, easy to use
Cons: support arm a little short for 650b
"This is a fantastic product, well built and very durable, be mindful though if you have a 650B or a 29er as my 650b has to sit quite far forward for the support arm to reach the frame properly. That said - despite my front wheel overhanging my windscreen a little - I wouldnt use another product!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? BARNSTAPLE
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
January 03, 2014
By Marshy123
from Reading, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A little tricky to install first time but works great. More importantly, it makes it effortless to take your bike with so no excuses!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice and easy,
December 01, 2013
By NP3S
from Plymouth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy, secure
Cons: watch roof height
"Easy to fit and use. Secure. Need to watch roof height and make sure you can lift the bike up there."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier,
October 22, 2013
By speenth
from UK and Austria
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: bike lock-down mechanism, boot lid can still be opened, tail light and licence plate board not required
"As with all Thule products, the ProRide 591 is very well designed in both ergonomic and engineering terms.
It is surprisingly easy to mount the bike securely on a typical car roof (even if you're not that tall).
Downers: Very little except cost (but then this is a premium product and it is exceptionally well made).
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? UXBRIDGE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
top bike carrier,
September 15, 2013
By keanorob
from Warwickshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: fixing system for the bike
Cons: sparse instructions, limited images of the product in the instructions
"If you've bought Thule gear before, you'll know how ingenious their products are.
Mounted and de-mounted this in just a few minutes once I'd realised which way round it was supposed to go!
More comprehensive assembly and use instructions would have been good, but there's no doubt this will do its job. In particular, the simple to use fixing system makes it easy to mount your bike on the roof of any car.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? NUNEATON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier,
September 13, 2013
By jon60
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Well built ,easy to attatch to roof bar. Bike feels secure in carrier."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule ProRide 591,
September 13, 2013
By Finto13
from West Berkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: secure, light, ease of use
Cons: slightly pricey
"Was hesitant about buying this purely on price but knew the quality would be worth it after speaking to a few owners. Was not disappointed, this is so easy to install after getting to grips with the typically vague Thule instructions. Would highly recommend. Light, great quality, ease of use and most importantly secure !!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? NEWBURY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Priceless, buy it now.,
August 15, 2013
By Willipedia
from Rugby UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: speed of assembly, ease of loading, looks and security
"The best roof carrier ever.
I will absolutely guarantee you will assemble this and load a bike on your car quicker than you can read the instructions.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? DAVENTRY
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to use,
August 10, 2013
By edwin58
from tyne& wear
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use
Cons: none
"bike is held securely, takes just a minute or two to mount bike on the carrier"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? GATESHEAD
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A very good but pricey product,
July 18, 2013
By johnny77
from Belfast
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
Cons: a bit pricey
"This is a very good quality product but it is expensive. It is quite easy to assemble the product and it is also quite easy to attach to the roof bars. Securing the bike is also easy to do with this roof carrier. I seem to have used the word easy a few times !!! If you can afford this one then buy it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BELFAST (LESLEY RTL PK)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An excellently designed product which is so easy to use.,
June 28, 2013
By EmotivMan
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great design and easy to fit, easy to use
Cons: bit pricy but worth it
"What a product! I looked through many reviews to try and decide which roof mounted cycle carrier to buy. I wanted to be able to lock my bike on the roof securely and also wanted to be able to load and unload it easily on my own.
At first I struggled in my own mind to justify the cost of this cycle carrier, but having fitted 2 of them to my Thule roof bars in around 2 minutes each, and then loaded the bike onto own in around the same time, you quickly see that the design of this product has had a lot of time thinking about the requirements of the end user.
If you watch the Thule video on how to install this product and load a bike, it really is that easy!
Also, don't worry if you do not have Thule bars with the T slot. This product comes complete with the necessary hardware to clamp around square or aero bars."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? NEWCASTLE UNDER LYME
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellant design,
June 07, 2013
By millbrook1
from dorset
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"good quality great design and easy to use and looks great on my fos vw car."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? DORCHESTER
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
May 17, 2013
By Koji
from Swansea
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Having owned inferior bike racks in the past these were a breath of fresh air, really easy to use"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SWANSEA
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anne M,
March 10, 2013
By Anne15
from Glasgow
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great product. Glad I spent a bit more on this one off buy. It is so easy to use."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BRAEHEAD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Practical, Great design and value,
February 19, 2013
By Dess
from South Wales
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"You get what you pay for. Great product. Easy to assemble and use. Noiseless while traveling with or without bikes. Definatelly recomend."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule ProRide 591,
October 23, 2012
By MonkeyHanger666
from Langley Park
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"They said Thule was a bit pricey but the best.
I can say that is very true, its dead easy to fit and quick too.
My bike is safe and sound, rock solid.
Well happy
GF
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Proride 591,
May 21, 2012
By razzyjazzy
from Burntwood, Staffordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit
Cons: nothing really to say.
"Ordered the Thule Proride 591 with halfords online knowing it could be picked up at any branch. I did need to purchases a carrier for my roof rails and decided on the Thule product. The bike carrier was easy to fit and instructions were a doddle. Pictures speak a thousand words etc. A professional built product living up tp the name of Thule and of course looked great on my vehicle. The key locking mechanism was the icing on the cake as this offered a great level ov security and peace of mind. I could henestly say that i would recommend this carrier to anyone looking for a roof bike carrier solution."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Thule ProRide 591 Roof Mount Bike Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very pleased,
April 14, 2012
By Roamingdave
from Durham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Reservation system worked well. Discounted price meant it was the cheapest I could find at the time. Store called my mobile to confirm it was ready. Turned up the next day and all was ready and waiting. Thule is an excellent product. Nothing more to say really...very pleased."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>