Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier

Access your boot even when your bikes are loaded on with the Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier.
Average Customer Rating:
4.63 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(303 Reviews) 285
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (303 reviews)
5 stars
205
4 stars
90
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
2
298 of 301(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
124 Questions | 176 Answers
Customer Reviews for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Review 1 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Possible improvement,
August 20, 2015
By
from Poole, Poole, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: flexibility it gives me
Cons: plastic number plate holder
" I have two issues with this product.
While reversing towards a grass banking the plastic number plate holder split where it is screwed to the carrier. Admittedly I misjudged it. Considering the near 200 pounds the holder could be made of a more durable material to withstand minor collisions.
Secondly I have tried to replace a lost J hook by approaching both Thule and Halfords Branch in Bournemouth with no success. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BOURNEMOUTH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use,
August 18, 2015
By
from Honiton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Easy to fit onto the towbar and also easy to put the bikes on the rack. Used the fitting service for piece of mind and this was carried out swiftly and well. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? EXETER (RYDON LANE RTL PK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easier than roof or boot mounted,
August 14, 2015
By
from East Devon
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, ease of use
Cons: slightly flimsy numberplate mount
" Easy to assemble out of the box - better with your own toolkit though don't use the tools that come with it. Seems sturdy enough bit early to give high praise but if you already have a tow hitch I would definitely recommend this. Much easier to put the bikes on than old boot mounted carrier and no risk of damaging the paintwork. The device for lowering to access boot is fiddly and if you have 3 bikes attached I think it would foul the tailgate - we have Peugeot 307 estate and with 2 bikes on its tight although not really an issue as most modern cars seats drop down so you can still get to stuff in the boot. For the money I think this is probably the best you are going to get and you get the Thule build quality as well. Like the fact that when you get to destination you can unload and stow the rack in the boot within 5minutes easily - takes about 10minutes to reload. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? EXMOUTH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bikes stayed on!,
August 01, 2015
By
from Loughton, Essex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: tip function when bikes are on
Cons: wish could tip up when bikes are off
" Having had the strappy carriers before, I was sort of pleased when I worked out they don't really work on a Discovery. The tow bar option is a better deal all round - you can still get in the back with the tip function and the bikes were easy to load. There is a bit of a wobble on the move, but as long as you have strapped down securely, there should be no issues. One shame is when bikes are off it would be good if you could tip it up.
Recommended.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LOUGHTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use bike carrier,
July 28, 2015
By
from Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
Cons: can't open boot when bikes on
" Having researched the different options for carrying up to 3 bikes on my car I realised that a tow bar bike carrier was the only option that would work, and this is the one I decided on, mostly due to cost. I am really pleased with the carrier, it was easy to put together, and really sturdy. the first time I fitted it and the bikes it took a wee while to work out the best way to have the straps facing and the position of the wheel holders but once this was worked out it is so easy and quick to use. i used it this week taking the kids bikes on holiday and it took less than ten minutes to fit the carrier to the car and the bikes to it, and then the same for taking it all off, I haven't tried all 3 bikes yet but think it will be ok. I have tried using the tilt function with the bikes on and discovered my boot won't open, but I thought this may be the case as it has quite a long, wide boot. I have a Honda Jazz. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? EDINBURGH (HERMISTON GATE)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use,
July 24, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit on car
Cons: awkward to put the first bike on
" I have 3 children and I can put one in the boot and 3 on the rack. It is easy to put on the back of the car, once you have done it a few times you learn to leave the straps in the holes and loosen rather than remove. A very good purchase and good value for money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
thule 9403,
July 13, 2015
By
from kilcullen
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" a serious piece of kit.easy to put together and when on the car it looks the business. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Which Store did you visit? NAAS (ROI)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit for purpose,
July 01, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: strong construction
Cons: little pricey
" I needed a cycle rack to transport bike around for sportives and finally settled on this one. Unit is well made as you'd expect and once cycle is secured it doesn't move whilst being transported. Excellent product. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule Tow Bar Cycle carrier,
June 10, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: ease of assembly, ease of attachment to vehicle
" Great product. Easy to assemble and very easy to use. Priced on the high side but worth the extra. Added bonus is the fully functioning light board. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? LIMERICK (ROI)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to fit to my tow bar and is strong and secure,
March 13, 2015
By
from Gloucester, Gloucester, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: the quality of the carrier, the features
" I bought this as I was getting tired of putting our mountain bikes in the back of the pick up truck. Not only was it damaging the bikes putting them in there but it massively reduced the space I had. This bike carrier does the job spot on. It was a bit annoying putting it together as it comes flat packed. Once built it was simple to attach to my tow bar and feels really secure. It was easy to put the bikes on and this carrier has the option of tilting away from my tail gate and folds flat for easier storage. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Which Store did you visit? GLOUCESTER
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is great!,
March 03, 2015
By
from Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire HU17, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Easy to assemble, and very sturdy. No worries now about taking the bikes away! Also very compact and easy to store "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BEVERLEY
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule 9403,
February 28, 2015
By
from Birmingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Purchased this carrier to carry 2 bikes on the back of my Range Rover. The price was good as it was in the sale with 20% off. Easy to assemble and seems well built.
Very happy with my purchase.
"
Age Group: 35 - 44
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great for the money, wish I'd bought the one up.,
February 22, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: cheap, works
Cons: lacks basic features., fiddly, no security, straps don't hold bikes tight
" Does what it says on the tin, works and holds your bike secure but there is no way of locking it to your towbar without buying an accessory, it does not have ratchets just normal straps and there is no way of locking the bike onto it. Good for the money but I wish I'd bought the more expensive one as that has both ratchet straps and arms with locks to lock the bikes to it.
Also if you have an estate/mpg/hatchback you will need to turn the handlebars on the bike nearest or they'll go through the back window and you'll need bungee straps or the bikes move around too much.
This is the budget carrier and it does the job but you're better off with the more expensive one. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best carrier I've owned,
January 30, 2015
By
from Bristol, City of Bristol, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: simple design, secure, prevents damage and dirt on car, easy to fit alone
" I've owned a few different types and brands of cycle carrier, and this for me was the best by far. It doesn't damage the boot lid like some and it also keeps the dirt off of your car, while still keeping acess to the boot. It is simple, sturdy and secure which is all you can ask for when you have your pride and joy on the back of your car... "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? WESTON SUPER MARE
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great 3 bike carrier,
January 03, 2015
By
from Oldham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" We have bought this as an upgrade from the strap to the rear of the car carrier, which always concerned me regards the safety. This carrier holds the 3 bikes securely, easy to build and very happy with our purchase and with Halfords. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Which Store did you visit? OLDHAM
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Thule 9403 Bike Tow Bar Carrier,
November 28, 2014
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Very impressed with this product once it was assembled. The instructions were accurate and easy to follow. It took about 11/4 hours to put it together and test. Some indication on the packaging to indicate time to assemble might be helpful to others. Have used this weekend and found so much easier than lifting onto roof bars. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? LEAMINGTON SPA
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quick and easy,
October 20, 2014
By
from Cirencester, Cirencester, Gloucestershire GL7, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quick release catches
Cons: hexagonal key provided is a bit weak; used my own
" Excellent bike rack and good build quality. Didn't take long to build from the excellent instructions provided. On the road with the bikes in no time. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CIRENCESTER
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
THULE 9403 TOWBAR BIKE CARRIER,
October 08, 2014
By
from Scotland, UK
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: solid construction, easy to fit and use
Cons: let down by rear lighting board, lack of security
" 1) Easy to assemble.
2) Easy to fit to Towball and solid when in place.
3) Rearlighting board is flimsy . I will have to make a back plate to reinforce it before it is broken.I expected much better from Thule.
4)To fit a combination of bikes I have to remove at least one seatpin and saddle. Easy but it is a minus point.
5) I have had to remove the bottle racks from the bikes , as the first time the rack was used two were broken.
6) If the rear light unit was of a more substantial construction , and a lock was supplied for the ball hitch I would give this full marks.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? AYR
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fair Product,
September 10, 2014
By
from Aberdeen, Aberdeen City, UK
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: light weight
Cons: lack of a reasonable tilt
" This carrier takes three bikes with comfort and is easy to assemble and load.
However if you wish to open your tailgate,which is why I bought this carrier,then forget it.If I remove the third bike and loosen the hitch then the tailgate will open.
I was better off with my old style hanging rack which tilted to the ground leaving ample room to open the rear.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ABERDEEN (BALNAGASK RD)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier,
September 01, 2014
By
from EXETER
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Fantastic!! Very useful for any car. It made me get a tow bar. No bikes hanging or scratching the car and you can still open the boot. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? EXETER (RYDON LANE RTL PK)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>