Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier

Access your boot even when your bikes are loaded on with the Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier.
Average Customer Rating:
4.66 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(279 Reviews) 261
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (279 reviews)
5 stars
193
4 stars
81
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
2
275 of 278(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
124 Questions | 172 Answers
Customer Reviews for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Review 1 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
January 07, 2014
By pdf26
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Easy to assemble and fit. With this carrier you bikes are in the slipstream of the car, with my berlingo it had no impact on fuel consumption. I did have to loosen and turn the handle bars of the bike nearest the car but this is due flat back of a berlingo. Even with tilt function the berlingo boot will not open but the ease of transporting 3 bike makes up for this."
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Practical & Easy To Use, But unit has manufacturing issues,
December 18, 2013
By SystemG
from Leicester
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use, no risk of damage to car, compact for easy storage
Cons: wheel cups could be better positioned
"I have had this rack for just over a week now and have used it for one trip to a trail centre with 3 26" mountain bikes ofitted.
All in all this bike rack is brilliant. Very easy to use and load bikes onto. It's secure and protects your cars' bumer and paintwork as nothing touches it.
Initially there was a little concern as the frame does flex a little (all normal), but as my previous bike rack mounted directly to the rear of the car and was very tightly secured, there was absolutely no movement in the rack or the bikes. But after realising the movement was normal for this type of rack, I'm confident that the movement is all pretty normal and fine.
If I were really picky, I would say the channels the tyres fit into could be better positioned - it looks like even on the furtherest outward slots, the bikes (1 x medium frame 26" MTB and 2 x Large frame 26" MTB) looked a little big for it.
But the bikes are attached to the frame very securely and are definitely going no where!
My only niggle and it's one I am still yet to return the rack to Halfrods for (I have been far too busy with work whilst the stores have been open) -
The passenger tail light (side lights, normal lights & Number plate) doesn't work. It's a dual filiment bulb that does both normal rear as well as number plate. The brake light and indicator work.
The cable from the car comes into the passenger side (where the fault is) first and then bridges across to the drivers' side. All drivers' side lights are fine which indicates a wiring fault on the light board itself.
Hoping it will be covered by warranty as it's currently illegal to be used on the roads like this.
Hoping to find time over xmas break to drop it back into the store!
For security - buy the optional Thule 957 Lock. It's very easy to remove the rack from the tow ball otherwise.
Other than that - all good and would recommend - just check the lights all work as designed!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (ST MARGARETS WAY)
+6points
13out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy when fitted.,
December 01, 2013
By NP3S
from Plymouth
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy fitting., no straps needed onto car., good value.
Cons: light board rather flimsy.
"Easy to use when fitted to the tow-bar. Mine is detachable so I just leave it on the tow-ball. The light-board is rather flimsy and easily damaged. The bikes fit snuggly and you need to take care your chain-rings are out of the way. All in all I have found it easy to use and when I have further developed the knack I expect to have it fitted and loaded in 10 -15 minutes."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? PLYMOUTH (LONGBRIDGE RD)
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to use,
November 29, 2013
By Esporta
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Hassle free bike rack that fits very easily onto a tow Bar. Bike rack itself is very sturdy with minimal if not no movement even with bikes on it. Straps supplied are adequate but if you are on a long journey you may want to use more as it may give you piece of mind. Only one downside is that our car has a massive tailgate (Ford Galaxy) so you can't get to the boot even though the bike rack tilts. We don't see that as a problem as we have easy access from the passenger doors. Have used it twice already since buying it 2weeks ago. No more mud in the car. Happy :-))"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GLOUCESTER
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good all round product,
November 27, 2013
By Druid924
from Southampton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Easily transport bicycles safely with this product. Easy to fit and the tilt function is extremely useful."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHAMPTON (WEST QUAY RTL PK)
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You get what you pay for.,
November 24, 2013
By GaryE50
from Fordingbridge
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to put bikes on/off
Cons: takes 2 hours to put together
"Having both our cars (Mazdas) with soft rear roof spoilers we were left with few options to carry the bikes - sticking them on the roof was not a serious option.
This is built to last and the tow ball mounting is very simple and clever to use (we have a swan-neck tow ball). It's not a light weight piece of kit but then it does seem built to last.
If using sticky strips to attach number plate make sure get ones with around 10 mm depth to clear heads of bolts to attach light board
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SALISBURY
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
thule 9403,
November 03, 2013
By cyclingnut
from england
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"quality piece of kit, easy to assemble,good price and local, what more can you want"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? NUNEATON
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier,
September 26, 2013
By Anonymous
from Mansfield, Notts
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Easy to assemble, recommended by a friend in the first instance, Halfords had the best price and had the bike carrier delivered to my local store to collect next day, rand me as soon as it was in stock to collect, no problems at all with Halfords and the bike carrier is excellent value for money - locks solid onto my removable tow bar - the bike bounces a bit in the mirror but is solid and safe - so if your looking for a quality value bike rack its worth the money!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MANSFIELD
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier,
September 16, 2013
By Anonymous
from Glasgow
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This Thule Bike Carrier is quite simply excellent. I use it on my Land Rover Defender and it works very well. The carrier fits well and is very solid with no movement when carrying the bikes."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? GLASGOW (RUTHERGLEN)
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great product!,
September 15, 2013
By Northynorfolk
from East England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Does exactly what it is supposed to do, well! Used to great effect in shifting my bikes about in safety, both for the bikes and my car!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Which Store did you visit? CROMER
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bis carrier,
September 08, 2013
By Trezi17
from Rotherham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very sturdy
"Easy to assemble, it's right, don't tighten all the bolts till it say! We have used it twice since we got it and really pleased with, no noise or squeaking, we use extra straps and bungees just to make it secure and piece of mind!! We are very pleased with this product and wish we had bought it sooner!!! I would defiantly recommend this product!!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (CRYSTAL PEAKS)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great easy to use bike carrier,
August 27, 2013
By Biddy11
from Warrington
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
"Really easy to place on and off the tow bar, used it a lot already. I got Halfords in llandudno to assemble and fit mine, so glad i did. Adam was a joy and showed me how to put it on and off/ tilt and tie my 3 bikes on. Was excellent customer service to go with the great product."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? LLANDUDNO
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to fit and to load/unload bikes,
August 08, 2013
By capfantastic8
from Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use, position on car, secure fastening, good for loading/unloading bikes
Cons: a little heavy whilst fitting for one person
"Thule products for loading bikes and carrying loads are the best. This product is no exception. It did require about 1 hour to build out of the box, but the instructions were clear and I did not have any problems. The product fits on the tow bar easily and securely (I have a Ford Smax with a goose neck towbar fitted). It is a little heavy to support on your own whilst you tighten the bolt - if you have a weak back you might want someone to help. Each bike requires you to fasten 3 straps (provided) to secure the bike to the carrier. The carrier is at a good height once on the car so lifting the bikes on/off was easy (better than lifting bikes onto the roof). Because they sit behind the car I think there is little drag and they didn't move around whilst travelling. Overall, recommend this product."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? MAIDSTONE
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job quite nicely,
July 31, 2013
By Gra3m3B
from Bristol
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: sturdy & well made, easy to use
Cons: tilt limited with 3 bikes on
"Rack was easy to assemble, instructions are pretty clear. Do be sure to NOT tighten all the nuts until the instructions tell you to; there's a bit of wiggling needed to get long bolts thru holes in the bars.
Mounting the rack on the towbar is a 2 person job. Keep the spanner in the boot so its always near the towbar. You can also buy a separate locking mechanism for the mount if security is an issue.
The mounting mechanism holds it very firmly; no prob with 2 adult bikes for a 1.5h journey, including motorway and country lanes. All the straps you need are included.
Tilt is easy to use, but a 3rd bike closest to the boot would get in way of opening an estate car boot unless a pedal was removed.
Note you'll also need to buy a number plate for the lighting board, which needs to be drilled for mounting.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CLEVEDON
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble and use,
July 26, 2013
By Ham6506
from Northampton, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Easy to assemble.
Easy to attach to tow bar.
Folder easily for storage in the shed."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? NORTHAMPTON (RIVERSIDE)
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good bike rack,
July 21, 2013
By Bikingmad
from West Berkshire uk
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to put on and off
Cons: the rubber seems to be getting damaged quickly
"Worth paying for halfords to build it for you.
Easy to take on an off the tow bar and put on the 3 bikes. Very pleased with this purchase.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? NEWBURY
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
awesome,
July 21, 2013
By captainpod
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"fantastic carrier
simple to put together and sturdy othe car.
bikes totally secure and access to boot facilitated by tilt.
get one - you won't regret it
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Affordable Thule,
July 20, 2013
By Col775533111
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of fitting
Cons: the strap ends look likely to fray
"Most hitch carriers are silly expensive, this seems to be the exception. It goes together easily and you need to take a bit of time the first time you load up. Nice rack!, I'd recommend it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not too bad,
July 19, 2013
By GerryNZ
from Newbury, Berkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: it takes all three bikes comfortably
Cons: securing straps seem like they can wear out easily
"I bought this to transport 2x adult and 1x childrens bike and at first it takes a good hour to assemble out of the box if you are good with tools. It will take longer if you aren't but not a great deal longer. I have used it a few times already and got the dismantling and reassembly with all bikes on and strapped to 15mins tops.
The only issue I am wary of is the small straps you get to hold the bike in place. You get 6 in total which is one per wheel and one for the centre. These straps may wear out over time as they are gripped all the time so to make absolutely sure I use a rachet strap to pin all three into the carrier which does give me piece of mind when I'm driving.
Other than that this is a good investment."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? NEWBURY
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Smart cycle carrier,
July 18, 2013
By Doodar
from West Berkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality and robust design
Cons: not being able to open the boot as it says you can
"This is great well made and easy to put together. The diagram in the instructions could be a little easier to decipher. only problem i had was that even when tiled the boot lid hits the bike pedal so accessing the boot with bikes loaded didn't work for me but think it to do with the low level of the boot opening."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? NEWBURY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>