Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Cycle Carriers & Bike Racks or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier

Access your boot even when your bikes are loaded on with the Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier.
Average Customer Rating:
4.649 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(285 Reviews) 267
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (285 reviews)
5 stars
196
4 stars
83
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
281 of 284(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
124 Questions | 176 Answers
Customer Reviews for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Review 1 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fair Product,
September 10, 2014
By Haddock22
from Aberdeen, Aberdeen City, UK
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: light weight
Cons: lack of a reasonable tilt
"This carrier takes three bikes with comfort and is easy to assemble and load.
However if you wish to open your tailgate,which is why I bought this carrier,then forget it.If I remove the third bike and loosen the hitch then the tailgate will open.
I was better off with my old style hanging rack which tilted to the ground leaving ample room to open the rear.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ABERDEEN (BALNAGASK RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier,
September 01, 2014
By stoneytime
from EXETER
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Fantastic!! Very useful for any car. It made me get a tow bar. No bikes hanging or scratching the car and you can still open the boot."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? EXETER (RYDON LANE RTL PK)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So simple yet effective,
September 01, 2014
By EvolutionChris
from Milton Keynes
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of installing on the car, quality of components
"Putting it together was pretty easy and took about 20 minutes and was made a lot easier by having someone to help hold things. I still cant quite believe how easy it is to use and how it manages to level its self on the towbar. It takes about 1 minute to put onto the car and 5 minutes to strap the bikes on - although it took a bit longer the first time trying to get the bikes in the best configuration. The straps supplied were more than up to the job, although I used an additional piece of rope only for my own self confidence before a 300 mile journey. All the straps were still tight by the end and the same after the return journey. It made taking the bikes away simple and fuss free.
It does have a tilt function, but I found that even with this fully tilted back, I could not open the tailgate on my estate car, so you need to be a little organised prior to putting the bikes on. All in all a great piece of kit that I would recommend to anyone.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MILTON KEYNES
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent, easy to use, not too expensive bike rack,
August 30, 2014
By Anonymous
from Impington, Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of attachment, good price (i paid £130 after discounts), solid feel, versatile
"Took 30 mins to build then 2 minutes to attach to tow bar—excellent and easy. Getting 3 bikes on took a short amount of playing about but 3 very different bikes all fitted on well. It didn't feel totally solid with just the supplied straps but one longer strap around each top tube and under the rack left them rock solid. There is a bit of up and down movement when you look in the mirror but there was no rubbing and everything was fine about 200 miles. Very happy with this rack"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CAMBRIDGE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Thule Bike Carrier,
August 10, 2014
By Carloadingdad
from W Yorks
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Simple and functional. Holds bikes securely, but straps could have a more substantial fixing. Had to remove bike nearest boot to access boot of Mondeo estate even when tilted, but not a major problem. Envisage this will be used for many years."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HALIFAX
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to fit and competitively priced,
July 28, 2014
By Jason44
from Macclesfield, Macclesfield, Cheshire East, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I am really pleased with the 3 Bike Tow bar carrier recently purchased. It was very easy to fit to my car and my bikes feel very securely fastened to it when driving. The tilt function, allowing easy access to my boot, is a really neat feature. It is certainly worth spending a little extra and getting a tow bar mounted carrier rather than one that just attached to the boot."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MACCLESFIELD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
January 07, 2014
By pdf26
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Easy to assemble and fit. With this carrier you bikes are in the slipstream of the car, with my berlingo it had no impact on fuel consumption. I did have to loosen and turn the handle bars of the bike nearest the car but this is due flat back of a berlingo. Even with tilt function the berlingo boot will not open but the ease of transporting 3 bike makes up for this."
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Practical & Easy To Use, But unit has manufacturing issues,
December 18, 2013
By SystemG
from Leicester
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use, no risk of damage to car, compact for easy storage
Cons: wheel cups could be better positioned
"I have had this rack for just over a week now and have used it for one trip to a trail centre with 3 26" mountain bikes ofitted.
All in all this bike rack is brilliant. Very easy to use and load bikes onto. It's secure and protects your cars' bumer and paintwork as nothing touches it.
Initially there was a little concern as the frame does flex a little (all normal), but as my previous bike rack mounted directly to the rear of the car and was very tightly secured, there was absolutely no movement in the rack or the bikes. But after realising the movement was normal for this type of rack, I'm confident that the movement is all pretty normal and fine.
If I were really picky, I would say the channels the tyres fit into could be better positioned - it looks like even on the furtherest outward slots, the bikes (1 x medium frame 26" MTB and 2 x Large frame 26" MTB) looked a little big for it.
But the bikes are attached to the frame very securely and are definitely going no where!
My only niggle and it's one I am still yet to return the rack to Halfrods for (I have been far too busy with work whilst the stores have been open) -
The passenger tail light (side lights, normal lights & Number plate) doesn't work. It's a dual filiment bulb that does both normal rear as well as number plate. The brake light and indicator work.
The cable from the car comes into the passenger side (where the fault is) first and then bridges across to the drivers' side. All drivers' side lights are fine which indicates a wiring fault on the light board itself.
Hoping it will be covered by warranty as it's currently illegal to be used on the roads like this.
Hoping to find time over xmas break to drop it back into the store!
For security - buy the optional Thule 957 Lock. It's very easy to remove the rack from the tow ball otherwise.
Other than that - all good and would recommend - just check the lights all work as designed!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (ST MARGARETS WAY)
+5points
14out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy when fitted.,
December 01, 2013
By NP3S
from Plymouth
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy fitting., no straps needed onto car., good value.
Cons: light board rather flimsy.
"Easy to use when fitted to the tow-bar. Mine is detachable so I just leave it on the tow-ball. The light-board is rather flimsy and easily damaged. The bikes fit snuggly and you need to take care your chain-rings are out of the way. All in all I have found it easy to use and when I have further developed the knack I expect to have it fitted and loaded in 10 -15 minutes."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? PLYMOUTH (LONGBRIDGE RD)
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to use,
November 29, 2013
By Esporta
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Hassle free bike rack that fits very easily onto a tow Bar. Bike rack itself is very sturdy with minimal if not no movement even with bikes on it. Straps supplied are adequate but if you are on a long journey you may want to use more as it may give you piece of mind. Only one downside is that our car has a massive tailgate (Ford Galaxy) so you can't get to the boot even though the bike rack tilts. We don't see that as a problem as we have easy access from the passenger doors. Have used it twice already since buying it 2weeks ago. No more mud in the car. Happy :-))"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GLOUCESTER
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good all round product,
November 27, 2013
By Druid924
from Southampton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Easily transport bicycles safely with this product. Easy to fit and the tilt function is extremely useful."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHAMPTON (WEST QUAY RTL PK)
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You get what you pay for.,
November 24, 2013
By GaryE50
from Fordingbridge
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to put bikes on/off
Cons: takes 2 hours to put together
"Having both our cars (Mazdas) with soft rear roof spoilers we were left with few options to carry the bikes - sticking them on the roof was not a serious option.
This is built to last and the tow ball mounting is very simple and clever to use (we have a swan-neck tow ball). It's not a light weight piece of kit but then it does seem built to last.
If using sticky strips to attach number plate make sure get ones with around 10 mm depth to clear heads of bolts to attach light board
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SALISBURY
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
thule 9403,
November 03, 2013
By cyclingnut
from england
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"quality piece of kit, easy to assemble,good price and local, what more can you want"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? NUNEATON
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier,
September 26, 2013
By Anonymous
from Mansfield, Notts
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Easy to assemble, recommended by a friend in the first instance, Halfords had the best price and had the bike carrier delivered to my local store to collect next day, rand me as soon as it was in stock to collect, no problems at all with Halfords and the bike carrier is excellent value for money - locks solid onto my removable tow bar - the bike bounces a bit in the mirror but is solid and safe - so if your looking for a quality value bike rack its worth the money!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MANSFIELD
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier,
September 16, 2013
By Anonymous
from Glasgow
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This Thule Bike Carrier is quite simply excellent. I use it on my Land Rover Defender and it works very well. The carrier fits well and is very solid with no movement when carrying the bikes."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? GLASGOW (RUTHERGLEN)
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great product!,
September 15, 2013
By Northynorfolk
from East England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Does exactly what it is supposed to do, well! Used to great effect in shifting my bikes about in safety, both for the bikes and my car!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Which Store did you visit? CROMER
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bis carrier,
September 08, 2013
By Trezi17
from Rotherham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very sturdy
"Easy to assemble, it's right, don't tighten all the bolts till it say! We have used it twice since we got it and really pleased with, no noise or squeaking, we use extra straps and bungees just to make it secure and piece of mind!! We are very pleased with this product and wish we had bought it sooner!!! I would defiantly recommend this product!!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (CRYSTAL PEAKS)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great easy to use bike carrier,
August 27, 2013
By Biddy11
from Warrington
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
"Really easy to place on and off the tow bar, used it a lot already. I got Halfords in llandudno to assemble and fit mine, so glad i did. Adam was a joy and showed me how to put it on and off/ tilt and tie my 3 bikes on. Was excellent customer service to go with the great product."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? LLANDUDNO
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to fit and to load/unload bikes,
August 08, 2013
By capfantastic8
from Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use, position on car, secure fastening, good for loading/unloading bikes
Cons: a little heavy whilst fitting for one person
"Thule products for loading bikes and carrying loads are the best. This product is no exception. It did require about 1 hour to build out of the box, but the instructions were clear and I did not have any problems. The product fits on the tow bar easily and securely (I have a Ford Smax with a goose neck towbar fitted). It is a little heavy to support on your own whilst you tighten the bolt - if you have a weak back you might want someone to help. Each bike requires you to fasten 3 straps (provided) to secure the bike to the carrier. The carrier is at a good height once on the car so lifting the bikes on/off was easy (better than lifting bikes onto the roof). Because they sit behind the car I think there is little drag and they didn't move around whilst travelling. Overall, recommend this product."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? MAIDSTONE
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job quite nicely,
July 31, 2013
By Gra3m3B
from Bristol
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: sturdy & well made, easy to use
Cons: tilt limited with 3 bikes on
"Rack was easy to assemble, instructions are pretty clear. Do be sure to NOT tighten all the nuts until the instructions tell you to; there's a bit of wiggling needed to get long bolts thru holes in the bars.
Mounting the rack on the towbar is a 2 person job. Keep the spanner in the boot so its always near the towbar. You can also buy a separate locking mechanism for the mount if security is an issue.
The mounting mechanism holds it very firmly; no prob with 2 adult bikes for a 1.5h journey, including motorway and country lanes. All the straps you need are included.
Tilt is easy to use, but a 3rd bike closest to the boot would get in way of opening an estate car boot unless a pedal was removed.
Note you'll also need to buy a number plate for the lighting board, which needs to be drilled for mounting.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CLEVEDON
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>