Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier

Access your boot even when your bikes are loaded on with the Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier.
Average Customer Rating:
4.532 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(139 Reviews) 139
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (139 reviews)
5 stars
85
4 stars
47
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
1
134 of 136(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
124 Questions | 176 Answers
Customer Reviews for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Review 1 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Thule 9403,
June 23, 2016
By
from Caerphilly, Caerphilly, Caerphilly CF83, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cons: woin;t tilt with three bikes as boot catches pedal
" Solid feeling Bike rack which has plenty of capacity for strapping bikes securely. Really good value from Halfords with additional 10% off at the time of purchase, meant I could pick it up from my local store same day cheaper than I could buy it on-line.
Not sure if it's my tow bar/Boot (60 plate Hyundai Santa Fe with Detachable) but if I tilt the carrier I can't open the boot as the boot catches the pedal of the nearest bike. If I remove the one bike I can access the boot but still more painful than I was hoping for. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CAERPHILLY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
thule 9403 3 tow bar carrier,
June 11, 2016
By
from Somerset, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" This is my second rack, the first one was destroyed when a car ran into the rear of me. The rack is as described and i use some extra straps to fasten the bikes to the center U post also 2 D locks to fasten bikes together. Have done 2 winter trips to Portugal and Spain , 7900 miles in total, with the rack on the rear of Motor home . Apart from accident no problem at all Far superior to similar priced racks. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? WESTON SUPER MARE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
OK but difficult to attach,
May 30, 2016
By
from uk
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" The rack is good quality but difficult to fit to the tow bar. You have to use a torque wrench to get the correct fit to the tow bar and this needs a large socket/box spanner attachment.
You can of course use the provided wrench but the instructions specifically state that a certain torque is required.
It also took 3/4 hour to fit it together following the detailed instructions.
There are better products on the market for the price.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Which Store did you visit? POOLE (RINGWOOD RD)
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Surprisingly Sturdy,
May 24, 2016
By
from Perth, Perth, Perth and Kinross, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, easy to construct, convenient access to boot
Cons: 2 more cable ties for the electrics cable
" Picked up from local store in Perth, having reserved online. Price was best I could find, probably because it's been replaced by the identical 9503.
Easy to follow instructions, even all the tools required are supplied, although I preferred to use my own. Took about an hour to construct.
Fits on the towball and even though there is a lot of metal hanging off, it sits perfectly rigid. I like the fact you can tilt it away from the rear hatch so you can access the boot. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? PERTH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tow bar carrier Thule 9403,
May 12, 2016
By
from Llandudno
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" Very disappointed at the quality of this product the bike moved from side to side and the staff at Halfords could not understand it .
His comment was please return for a full refund.
I was always under the impression that Thule racks were the best but this one made in Poland should be sent back.
Now returned and full refund given. Now looking for a better one for two electric bikes "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? LLANDUDNO
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Be careful!!!,
May 06, 2016
By
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Great service from Halfords. Easy enough to fit. Bikes go on well and seemed secure. However, after just threes miles carrying two adult bikes, one had come very loose, with just the wheel ties and good luck holding it on. Pulled over, sorted it out. Carried onto to destination (11miles total). All seemed fine, took my brand new unridden bike off to find two huge scratches, right down to the bare metal. The straps had worn through the protective rubber on the uprights leaving a little slack. Enough for the bare metal carrier frame to bang, bash and rub right through my beautiful new paintwork. So disappointing. "
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule 9403 3 Tow Bar Bike Carrier,
March 07, 2016
By
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: product is excellent, very strong and secure, tilting mechanism
Cons: the packaging is unsuitable for such heavy parts
" The product is excellent, quite an assembly job but once assembled easy to mount and apparently very strong and rigid, quite amazing that it seems so secure when the only attachment is the tow bar. Also much easier to load than a roof carrier, ideal for 3 bikes and the wheels do not project beyond the width of the car at the mirrors and the tilting mechanism gives access to the boot/hatchback, although you almost need 3 hands. On the road one can forget it is there, just a few miles less to the gallon due to turbulence, but this is not detectable when driving and clearly better than roof mounting. Since it comes with lights and needs a number plate, it would be useful if this were highlighted by packaging or by staff at the time of purchase.
Don B
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MITCHAM
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for money bike rack.,
February 28, 2016
By
from Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quickness of fitting and removing from car, easy to fit bikes on.
" Really pleased with this rack. I have been looking for one for a long time but ones of this quality always seemed expensive. This was reduced and had a further 10% off so was very good value. Its easy to put on ad removes quickly and fits in the back of my car. Bikes strap on easily and are very secure. I went for the three bike version as it was only a bit more expensive than the tow bike one and there may be the odd occasion I need to put three bikes on. However, I think it will make transporting two bikes easier as there is a gap between the bikes and my spare wheel, I will probably have to move handlebars/peddles when I have three on. I paid extra to have the rack assembled and fitted and was really pleased with the service that was offered and they were very thorough in explaining how to use it. If you've got plenty of time on your hands probably easy enough to assemble yourself. Great rack for the money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GATESHEAD
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product does exactly what it says on the box,
February 28, 2016
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to assemble
Cons: straps very cheap don't know how long they will la
" Bike Rack assembled with no fuss
Easy to attach to towbar
Good value for money but if you have another £150 go for a more robust Thule
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
like the idea easy access to boot,
January 06, 2016
By
from Hull
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to tilt with bikes on to get into boot
Cons: haveing to remove bike parts to avoid damage
" Borrowed one for holidays and liked how it works. Fitted in Boot when not in use. Easy to tilt with bikes on to get into boot although I had to take peddle off nearest to the car. Due to closeness watch contact points on bikes ie bars to saddle may have to be moved / removed to avoid damage. Number plate fitting is easy. Not used mine yet as bought for Christmas waiting to be assembled. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HULL (ST ANDREWS QUAY)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to fit simple to use and happy it will stay on!,
November 17, 2015
By
from West Sussex, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I found the rack simple to use and robustly constructed should last a long time "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BURGESS HILL
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Assembly by Halfords team,
October 15, 2015
By
from Gloucester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" seem to do a good job but when I went to fit the frame a cap to part of the frame fell out: it appears to have been forced in instead of screwed and the thread of the plastic cap is damaged. I have forced it back for the time being and will take the frame back to Halfords when I return to the UK for a replacement cap
the assembly Team seemed to have a bit of a problem in assembling the frame!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Strong and reliable,
October 14, 2015
By
from Essex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great carrier. I have used it for MTB's and road bikes. Easy to assemble and the build quality is superb. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CHELMSFORD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier,
September 26, 2015
By
from Glasgow, Glasgow City, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to mount, easy to fit and remove bikes.
Cons: light board adds additional indicator beep.
" This is my first tow bar mounted bike carrier, and I was a bit apprehensive about it after using a strap mounted one, with six fastening points, for years.
The first thing I'd say is that I was a bit surprised at the weight as I thought it would be lighter, but having said that, it's not an issue in practice, and it's relatively simple to hold with one hand while tightening with the other. Once it's on, I experimented with different positions for the bike, and ended up removing one of the bottle cages to get it sitting as I wanted. By using the outermost position with only one bike on, I was able open the tailgate on my estate car without having to use the mechanism for swinging the carrier back.
I've just had the one run with it yet, a 300 mile return trip down to Kintyre, and so far, very pleased with it.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GLASGOW (RUTHERGLEN)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
simple,
September 19, 2015
By
from England, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: the tilt mech looked fiddly
" The carrier was straightforward to put together & helped having a socket set available.Cannot fault the carrier & did what I wanted it to do.......bikes were as secure when we arrived at our destination as when we set off....would recommend this value model to anyone "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Great Bike Rack,
September 02, 2015
By
from Warwickshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: very secure, very easy to fit
Cons: the finish could be better
" I bought this to replace my current 2 bike towball mounted carrier which held the bikes too close to the tailgate on our Discovery Sport and would have damaged the paint. The Thule mounts very securely and once the bikes are strapped on it is all very stable. I have travelled at 90mph (on the autobahn) without any issues. I do prefer to use an additional strap on each wheel, not because I need to but because I am a naturally cautious person. With the Discovery Sport you can open the tailgate with the carrier tilted. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Possible improvement,
August 20, 2015
By
from Poole, Poole, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: flexibility it gives me
Cons: plastic number plate holder
" I have two issues with this product.
While reversing towards a grass banking the plastic number plate holder split where it is screwed to the carrier. Admittedly I misjudged it. Considering the near 200 pounds the holder could be made of a more durable material to withstand minor collisions.
Secondly I have tried to replace a lost J hook by approaching both Thule and Halfords Branch in Bournemouth with no success. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BOURNEMOUTH
-5points
3out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use,
August 18, 2015
By
from Honiton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Easy to fit onto the towbar and also easy to put the bikes on the rack. Used the fitting service for piece of mind and this was carried out swiftly and well. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? EXETER (RYDON LANE RTL PK)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easier than roof or boot mounted,
August 14, 2015
By
from East Devon
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, ease of use
Cons: slightly flimsy numberplate mount
" Easy to assemble out of the box - better with your own toolkit though don't use the tools that come with it. Seems sturdy enough bit early to give high praise but if you already have a tow hitch I would definitely recommend this. Much easier to put the bikes on than old boot mounted carrier and no risk of damaging the paintwork. The device for lowering to access boot is fiddly and if you have 3 bikes attached I think it would foul the tailgate - we have Peugeot 307 estate and with 2 bikes on its tight although not really an issue as most modern cars seats drop down so you can still get to stuff in the boot. For the money I think this is probably the best you are going to get and you get the Thule build quality as well. Like the fact that when you get to destination you can unload and stow the rack in the boot within 5minutes easily - takes about 10minutes to reload. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? EXMOUTH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bikes stayed on!,
August 01, 2015
By
from Loughton, Essex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: tip function when bikes are on
Cons: wish could tip up when bikes are off
" Having had the strappy carriers before, I was sort of pleased when I worked out they don't really work on a Discovery. The tow bar option is a better deal all round - you can still get in the back with the tip function and the bikes were easy to load. There is a bit of a wobble on the move, but as long as you have strapped down securely, there should be no issues. One shame is when bikes are off it would be good if you could tip it up.
Recommended.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LOUGHTON
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>