Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier

Access your boot even when your bikes are loaded on with the Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier.
Average Customer Rating:
4.577 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(130 Reviews) 130
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (130 reviews)
5 stars
81
4 stars
45
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
128 of 128(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
124 Questions | 176 Answers
Customer Reviews for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Review 1 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
like the idea easy access to boot,
January 06, 2016
By
from Hull
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to tilt with bikes on to get into boot
Cons: haveing to remove bike parts to avoid damage
" Borrowed one for holidays and liked how it works. Fitted in Boot when not in use. Easy to tilt with bikes on to get into boot although I had to take peddle off nearest to the car. Due to closeness watch contact points on bikes ie bars to saddle may have to be moved / removed to avoid damage. Number plate fitting is easy. Not used mine yet as bought for Christmas waiting to be assembled. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HULL (ST ANDREWS QUAY)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to fit simple to use and happy it will stay on!,
November 17, 2015
By
from West Sussex, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I found the rack simple to use and robustly constructed should last a long time "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BURGESS HILL
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Assembly by Halfords team,
October 15, 2015
By
from Gloucester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" seem to do a good job but when I went to fit the frame a cap to part of the frame fell out: it appears to have been forced in instead of screwed and the thread of the plastic cap is damaged. I have forced it back for the time being and will take the frame back to Halfords when I return to the UK for a replacement cap
the assembly Team seemed to have a bit of a problem in assembling the frame!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Strong and reliable,
October 14, 2015
By
from Essex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great carrier. I have used it for MTB's and road bikes. Easy to assemble and the build quality is superb. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CHELMSFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier,
September 26, 2015
By
from Glasgow, Glasgow City, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to mount, easy to fit and remove bikes.
Cons: light board adds additional indicator beep.
" This is my first tow bar mounted bike carrier, and I was a bit apprehensive about it after using a strap mounted one, with six fastening points, for years.
The first thing I'd say is that I was a bit surprised at the weight as I thought it would be lighter, but having said that, it's not an issue in practice, and it's relatively simple to hold with one hand while tightening with the other. Once it's on, I experimented with different positions for the bike, and ended up removing one of the bottle cages to get it sitting as I wanted. By using the outermost position with only one bike on, I was able open the tailgate on my estate car without having to use the mechanism for swinging the carrier back.
I've just had the one run with it yet, a 300 mile return trip down to Kintyre, and so far, very pleased with it.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GLASGOW (RUTHERGLEN)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
simple,
September 19, 2015
By
from England, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: the tilt mech looked fiddly
" The carrier was straightforward to put together & helped having a socket set available.Cannot fault the carrier & did what I wanted it to do.......bikes were as secure when we arrived at our destination as when we set off....would recommend this value model to anyone "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Great Bike Rack,
September 02, 2015
By
from Warwickshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: very secure, very easy to fit
Cons: the finish could be better
" I bought this to replace my current 2 bike towball mounted carrier which held the bikes too close to the tailgate on our Discovery Sport and would have damaged the paint. The Thule mounts very securely and once the bikes are strapped on it is all very stable. I have travelled at 90mph (on the autobahn) without any issues. I do prefer to use an additional strap on each wheel, not because I need to but because I am a naturally cautious person. With the Discovery Sport you can open the tailgate with the carrier tilted. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Possible improvement,
August 20, 2015
By
from Poole, Poole, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: flexibility it gives me
Cons: plastic number plate holder
" I have two issues with this product.
While reversing towards a grass banking the plastic number plate holder split where it is screwed to the carrier. Admittedly I misjudged it. Considering the near 200 pounds the holder could be made of a more durable material to withstand minor collisions.
Secondly I have tried to replace a lost J hook by approaching both Thule and Halfords Branch in Bournemouth with no success. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BOURNEMOUTH
-5points
2out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use,
August 18, 2015
By
from Honiton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Easy to fit onto the towbar and also easy to put the bikes on the rack. Used the fitting service for piece of mind and this was carried out swiftly and well. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? EXETER (RYDON LANE RTL PK)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easier than roof or boot mounted,
August 14, 2015
By
from East Devon
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, ease of use
Cons: slightly flimsy numberplate mount
" Easy to assemble out of the box - better with your own toolkit though don't use the tools that come with it. Seems sturdy enough bit early to give high praise but if you already have a tow hitch I would definitely recommend this. Much easier to put the bikes on than old boot mounted carrier and no risk of damaging the paintwork. The device for lowering to access boot is fiddly and if you have 3 bikes attached I think it would foul the tailgate - we have Peugeot 307 estate and with 2 bikes on its tight although not really an issue as most modern cars seats drop down so you can still get to stuff in the boot. For the money I think this is probably the best you are going to get and you get the Thule build quality as well. Like the fact that when you get to destination you can unload and stow the rack in the boot within 5minutes easily - takes about 10minutes to reload. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? EXMOUTH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bikes stayed on!,
August 01, 2015
By
from Loughton, Essex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: tip function when bikes are on
Cons: wish could tip up when bikes are off
" Having had the strappy carriers before, I was sort of pleased when I worked out they don't really work on a Discovery. The tow bar option is a better deal all round - you can still get in the back with the tip function and the bikes were easy to load. There is a bit of a wobble on the move, but as long as you have strapped down securely, there should be no issues. One shame is when bikes are off it would be good if you could tip it up.
Recommended.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LOUGHTON
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use bike carrier,
July 28, 2015
By
from Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
Cons: can't open boot when bikes on
" Having researched the different options for carrying up to 3 bikes on my car I realised that a tow bar bike carrier was the only option that would work, and this is the one I decided on, mostly due to cost. I am really pleased with the carrier, it was easy to put together, and really sturdy. the first time I fitted it and the bikes it took a wee while to work out the best way to have the straps facing and the position of the wheel holders but once this was worked out it is so easy and quick to use. i used it this week taking the kids bikes on holiday and it took less than ten minutes to fit the carrier to the car and the bikes to it, and then the same for taking it all off, I haven't tried all 3 bikes yet but think it will be ok. I have tried using the tilt function with the bikes on and discovered my boot won't open, but I thought this may be the case as it has quite a long, wide boot. I have a Honda Jazz. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? EDINBURGH (HERMISTON GATE)
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use,
July 24, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit on car
Cons: awkward to put the first bike on
" I have 3 children and I can put one in the boot and 3 on the rack. It is easy to put on the back of the car, once you have done it a few times you learn to leave the straps in the holes and loosen rather than remove. A very good purchase and good value for money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
thule 9403,
July 13, 2015
By
from kilcullen
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" a serious piece of kit.easy to put together and when on the car it looks the business. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Which Store did you visit? NAAS (ROI)
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit for purpose,
July 01, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: strong construction
Cons: little pricey
" I needed a cycle rack to transport bike around for sportives and finally settled on this one. Unit is well made as you'd expect and once cycle is secured it doesn't move whilst being transported. Excellent product. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule Tow Bar Cycle carrier,
June 10, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: ease of assembly, ease of attachment to vehicle
" Great product. Easy to assemble and very easy to use. Priced on the high side but worth the extra. Added bonus is the fully functioning light board. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? LIMERICK (ROI)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to fit to my tow bar and is strong and secure,
March 13, 2015
By
from Gloucester, Gloucester, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: the quality of the carrier, the features
" I bought this as I was getting tired of putting our mountain bikes in the back of the pick up truck. Not only was it damaging the bikes putting them in there but it massively reduced the space I had. This bike carrier does the job spot on. It was a bit annoying putting it together as it comes flat packed. Once built it was simple to attach to my tow bar and feels really secure. It was easy to put the bikes on and this carrier has the option of tilting away from my tail gate and folds flat for easier storage. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Which Store did you visit? GLOUCESTER
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is great!,
March 03, 2015
By
from Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire HU17, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Easy to assemble, and very sturdy. No worries now about taking the bikes away! Also very compact and easy to store "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BEVERLEY
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule 9403,
February 28, 2015
By
from Birmingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Purchased this carrier to carry 2 bikes on the back of my Range Rover. The price was good as it was in the sale with 20% off. Easy to assemble and seems well built.
Very happy with my purchase.
"
Age Group: 35 - 44
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Thule 9403 3 Bike Tow Bar Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great for the money, wish I'd bought the one up.,
February 22, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: cheap, works
Cons: lacks basic features., fiddly, no security, straps don't hold bikes tight
" Does what it says on the tin, works and holds your bike secure but there is no way of locking it to your towbar without buying an accessory, it does not have ratchets just normal straps and there is no way of locking the bike onto it. Good for the money but I wish I'd bought the more expensive one as that has both ratchet straps and arms with locks to lock the bikes to it.
Also if you have an estate/mpg/hatchback you will need to turn the handlebars on the bike nearest or they'll go through the back window and you'll need bungee straps or the bikes move around too much.
This is the budget carrier and it does the job but you're better off with the more expensive one. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>