Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Gunk Engine Degreaser 1 litre

Gunk Engine Degreaser can tackle grime, grease and stains on a wide range of engines.
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Gunk Engine Degreaser 1 litre
Review 1 for Gunk Engine Degreaser 1 litre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
loads of gunk,
January 02, 2014
By tangohotel
from new York ( I wish )
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I knew about gunk from days long ago and was pleased that it was available and as good as ever"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? GLOUCESTER
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gunk Engine Degreaser 1 litre
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice 'n clean,
April 17, 2012
By Mattos
from Brighton
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: dont really need a jet washer
Cons: a little bit more for your money?
Car Make Nissen
"The Gunk degreaser has been around for a longtime, but still is one of the best engine cleaners around."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Gunk Engine Degreaser 1 litre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quick and Effective,
March 22, 2011
By Donkeymagic
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: fast effective does what it says on the tin.
"Used this product to clean a Land Rover Series 3 2 1/4 Petrol engine. 40 years of grime, grease and oil. The end result was excellent, nice and clean and didn't take much effort to achieve the result.
Very easy to apply, could see it working straight away and very clean when washed off, no big oily streaks left over the drive where it was cleaned or on the engine.
Would recommend to anyone wanting to clean anything up like this provided you have the space to work on it. Was very easy for me to clean my engine as it was out of the vehicle. In the vehicle would not be as easy.
Still loads left after cleaning the engine, enough for four more."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gunk Engine Degreaser 1 litre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best buy!,
March 14, 2011
By Bones341
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I recently reconditioned a cylinder head and was going to get it chemically cleaned, but decided to go for th cheaper option of this stuff. I have to say I was surprised at the results! The head now looks close to new!... Good for cleaning driveways too!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gunk Engine Degreaser 1 litre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
magical stuff,
November 19, 2010
By NaturalBornLoser
from central scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: degreasing/cleaning power, user friendly
"I have been using this stuff for years, mainly to clean oil and road dirt from my engines/engine bays. it does a great job and is really easy to use, which is what everyone wants! its not nasty stuff like some solvent degreasers..
a good stiff paintbrush is also good for the more stubborn or hard to reach areas. IMO i think gunk is well worth the money and i hope to use it for years to come
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gunk Engine Degreaser 1 litre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gunk,
August 28, 2010
By shoobey
from Gillingham Dorset
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very good. Cleans the engine beautifully.
Now, on with the painting."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gunk Engine Degreaser 1 litre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does exactly what it says on the tin,
July 11, 2009
By AndyCappo
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Cuts through grime with ease and a little product goes a long way."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Gunk Engine Degreaser 1 litre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wise Choice,
May 29, 2009
By sparkplug
from South East London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I would recommend this product as it works on many different items’ de grease my bike engine. It also works on mud guards’ .tools tank. My motorcycle ramp. It cleans oil .grease. Petrol .brake fluid and any other muck that has stuck to my bike over the last 4 years."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.