Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014

The Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014 is perfect for young speed demons.
Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 of 21(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Review 1 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great first road bike,
September 26, 2014
By LLC123
from Liverpool, Merseyside, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"An excellent bike for young ones getting into road biking. Good quality and good performance."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? ST. HELENS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is excellent value for money,
September 25, 2014
By Calpe527
from Meltham, Holmfirth, West Yorkshire HD9, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the gear positions
Cons: the brake levers
"I've had the Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike for about 3 weeks now and I have found it to be just fantastic. It 's lovely and light so it's easy to transport. The gear positions are very easy to change and I find the quick release wheel feature very handy. I also like the colour -very sporty! The only downside I've found are the brake levers. Because my hands are very small, I can't grip the levers to the full extent."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? HUDDERSFIELD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike,
September 11, 2014
By Jono2
from Bristol, City of Bristol, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bough this for my lad's 10th birthday. He is delighted. Its a great combination of style, weight, and ease of use. pretty nifty gadgets too - the gear mechanisms etc are pretty advanced.
Not regrets at all with this purchase. Great service also from Halfords Bristol - assembled on time, with regular updates, and prompt service on collection.
Its early days (1 month) so I can't comment on it's robustness of course."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (WINTERSTOKE)
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent buy,
September 10, 2014
By MarkA69
from Lincolnshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this cycle for my 9yr old daughter, having taken her to see the TDF. She absolutely loves it. Current price is excellent value and the spec is good too."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? SCUNTHORPE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Junior TDF Road Bike,
September 09, 2014
By gticarr
from Worcestershire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bought this for my 9yr old son's birthday. He loved it and we have already had a number of successful outings. It is surprising how much further he can go when compared to his heavy old mountain bike.
The TDF is well made with lots of good features.
A great bike for the money.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? WORCESTER
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It does exactly what it says on the tin!!!,
September 08, 2014
By Gazza63
from Ely, Ely, Cambridgeshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My 13 year old son has not stopped raving about this bike. Admittedly it is his first out and out road bike but he really enjoys riding it.
He can soon get up to a speed whereby I find myself pushing to keep with him. I pleased by how much enjoyment he gets out of riding this bike, I think he may have caught the cycling bug already. I don't think it'll be long before he's be pulling to one side and waiting for me to catch him up!!
A sound investment that is proving to be value for money.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? NEWMARKET
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little bike,
September 07, 2014
By DCB99
from Lanark, Lanark, South Lanarkshire ML11, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: price
"I bought this for my 10 year son. He loves it, it rides well and he can now keep up with me and his older brother out on the roads. Incredible value for money and very stylish."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance for kids,
September 04, 2014
By WannabeTriathlete
from Leicestershire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: all round excellence
"My 9 year-old drooled over this bike in the shop for a few months before we bought it. He's not been disappointed now that he has one. It took a few attempts to master getting feet into and out of the pedal clips on starting and stopping but very soon mastered that."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? MELTON MOWBRAY
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect bike,
August 26, 2014
By Fran27
from North Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent starter road bike for 9 year old. Light weight and well built at great price."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? STOCKTON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Road bike,
August 25, 2014
By Rich63
from Bury St Edmunds
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Good service and extra add on such as a free 6 weekly check that I didn't know about,
All in all 9 out of 10
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect bike and great service,
August 11, 2014
By 4ben
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: size, growth, colour, lightness, specification
Cons: honestly - nothing !!
"Looked for a first road bike for my 12yr old, after he did his first triathlon and was so much slower on his MTB! Found this Carrera TDF Junior and after reading other reviews, comparing it to the adult specs (which was clear this is a small version with same good spec as adult bikes) and searching flee-bay for a good but cheap bike (not that easy to get and without the protection of a new purchase) - I went for this bike. So pleased I did. He has loved it. Size is perfect, with more room to grow. Speed he can achieve is great, as is ability to sprint just like he has seen of late from Team GB cycling stars. And will take up the free 6 week check. You do not get that buying second-hand.
Like to also mention the fantastic service from Rebecca, the store manager @halfords bicester who after a communications mix up when the bike had not been built as requested, offered to build and then delivery personally on her way home. #helpfulhalfords"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? BICESTER
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bike,
August 10, 2014
By Morgster
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this bike two weeks ago for our 9 year old son. It's a quality bike at a reasonable price. He now thinks he is Chris Froome!!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike for the price,
August 08, 2014
By Hydie156
from Hereford
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Managed to get this bike for half price for my son. I think it's a little big for him, he is 9, but with some adjustment he is riding it well. He has difficulty changing the front ring but this will become easier as he grows. Weight of the bike is great with good components."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? HEREFORD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent item,
August 07, 2014
By Mattyc9
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Have been looking for some time for a decent road bike for my 9 year old son. Most were either way too heavy or too expensive for what they are.
Purchased this whilst on offer. Absolutely amazed at the quality of the finish and the quality of the components used.
My son has really taken to it. It is easy to ride-fast! The reach of the gear shifters/brakes can be adjusted by way of a screw-simple but effective, meaning easy and confident shifting and braking whilst on the hoods. Plenty of room to grow too. Highly recommended as a first roadie.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? DORCHESTER
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
junior road bike,
August 07, 2014
By ripperrooblue
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent bike for my ten year old boy to get an introduction to road cycling."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Is this the child's first bike? No
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great road bike,
August 07, 2014
By Smda100
from Ilford, Greater London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Found it difficult to find a road bike for my 10 year old daughter. Found perfect bike she loves plus the price made it even better for value."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? ILFORD
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrers TDF Junior Road Bike 2014,
August 06, 2014
By Jimmiesta
from Chelmsford, Essex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"An amazing entry level junior road bike. The set up on the bike is sound with smooth gearing, responsive breaks, nice seat + funky paint job.
My 10yr old took it out the other night and he was shifting along without any difficulty at all; I was suprised at how fast it can go!
If you are thinking about buying one, crack on as it's great value for money & many adventures will be had!!
James & Alfie (Chelmsford, Essex)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? CHELMSFORD
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera TDF Junior Road Bik,
August 06, 2014
By CP99
from Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bought the bike for my 11 year old son to come out with me road biking, took to it really well"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (KIRKSTALL)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike-dimensions,
June 29, 2014
By Startright
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Frame seat tube (centre to top) 41cm. Top tube length c/c = 50 cm, stem reach = 75cm. Stand over height = 67 cm, crank length = 165 mm, chainset 48T/38T sprocket 12-28. Has rear carrier mounts, but you need to bend the carrier brackets to clear the rear brake ( I found a Bor Yeur one that fitted). Compact frame geometry..is a very good fit for my 5 ft tall 12 year old son and has about 3" of seat pit adjustment left, but I will probably fit a longer reach stem when he grows bigger ( It has a 1" quill type stem, but you can buy an adapter to A-head system fairly cheaply.. Halfords sell them). It is a very good bike for the money, and the STI gears are great. My son is vey pleased with it.. The bike has Kenda tyres which are very grippy, and these tyres get amazing few punctures ( my other sons bike has these tyres and we had only one puncture in over 2000 miles of cycling on mixed surfaces!)."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? TWICKENHAM (KING STREET)
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great road bike for 9 year old,
June 09, 2014
By squarewheelmamil
from Devon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great fit, good qualitybuild, ideal for younger riders
Cons: double chainset not really required
"Having searched local bike shops and online retailers for a suitable road bike for my son (9) I was surprised when I visited my local Halfords and this bike was on display.. I was put off by the 650 c wheel size at first, but after my son sat on the bike and rode it, I could see the bike was perfect for him with the bonus of 'room to grow' .
The bike is well built and has junior specific drops, the gear ratios are well suited to younger riders.
I'm very impressed with the bike, and so is my son.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? TORQUAY
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>