Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014

The Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014 is perfect for young speed demons.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
27 of 28(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Review 1 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic bike!,
October 14, 2014
By Chicklet
from Westcliff-on-Sea
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this bike for my son's 12th birthday and he loves it! Exceptional value at the sale price. We have bought 4 other Carrera bikes (adult ones) and they have been very good quality and are still going strong. Highly recommended brand. very pleased with purchase."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHEND
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent price,
October 14, 2014
By dan2533
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: weight gears
"Great offer price for a bike of this quality ,my boy loves it + fast as well"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Is this the child's first bike? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
YELLOW DREAM MACHINE,
October 13, 2014
By ChrisJW1965
from Sandgate, Kent, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: price
"This a great little road bike, my son is 11 years old and it is a perfect size for height and length. I did remove the toe clips and fit flat pedals as there will be enough for him to get used too with the gears and braking. Lovely bike"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014,
October 07, 2014
By johnjosie
from Wisbech, Wisbech, Cambridgeshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good build quality
Cons: no numbers on gear selectors
"A great bike for younger riders,appears well built and will last for years.a good price.disappointed that halfords didnt check that it was ok to leave the shop.rear brake dragging,valve cap missing,valve securing nuts not tight,nipple on end of cable missing.dont let that put you off getting a very good bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? KINGS LYNN
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good purchase,
October 06, 2014
By Transter
from Leicester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: relatively light grown up gearing
Cons: caged pedals
"Bought for my ten yr old son. He wanted a road bike, but now he has it, he's struggling to get used to the riding position and the shifters. It's a big change from twist grips.
I have had to lower the seat. I've also changed the pedals to regular platform pedals, the cages freaked him out.
It's a cracking little bike for the sale price. I reckon with a few more miles under his belt he'll get on with it fine. If he doesn't, it's him, not the bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (ST MARGARETS WAY)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Junior Racer,
October 05, 2014
By toasted
from Bath, Bath, Bath and North East Somerset, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the gear shifters on the brake leavers
"Great little bike, perfect place to start. The TDF is quiet light, the build quality and parts are great for the price."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (BATH RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A good bike at a very competitive price,
October 03, 2014
By scooby43
from Sevenoaks, Kent
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: smooth gear changing
Cons: my sons wished they did a red one
"This bike is well built and the components used are of a much higher quality than the slightly cheaper competitor makes. My sons wanted a road bike but as we knew it wouldn't be doing hundreds of miles a week we opted for this rather than the more expensive options. It has proved a great success, the gear changing is effortless and smooth which was our greatest concern.
Overall a good bike at a very competitive price
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? SEVENOAKS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great first road bike,
September 26, 2014
By LLC123
from Liverpool, Merseyside, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"An excellent bike for young ones getting into road biking. Good quality and good performance."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? ST. HELENS
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is excellent value for money,
September 25, 2014
By Calpe527
from Meltham, Holmfirth, West Yorkshire HD9, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the gear positions
Cons: the brake levers
"I've had the Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike for about 3 weeks now and I have found it to be just fantastic. It 's lovely and light so it's easy to transport. The gear positions are very easy to change and I find the quick release wheel feature very handy. I also like the colour -very sporty! The only downside I've found are the brake levers. Because my hands are very small, I can't grip the levers to the full extent."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? HUDDERSFIELD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike,
September 11, 2014
By Jono2
from Bristol, City of Bristol, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bough this for my lad's 10th birthday. He is delighted. Its a great combination of style, weight, and ease of use. pretty nifty gadgets too - the gear mechanisms etc are pretty advanced.
Not regrets at all with this purchase. Great service also from Halfords Bristol - assembled on time, with regular updates, and prompt service on collection.
Its early days (1 month) so I can't comment on it's robustness of course."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (WINTERSTOKE)
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent buy,
September 10, 2014
By MarkA69
from Lincolnshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this cycle for my 9yr old daughter, having taken her to see the TDF. She absolutely loves it. Current price is excellent value and the spec is good too."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? SCUNTHORPE
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Junior TDF Road Bike,
September 09, 2014
By gticarr
from Worcestershire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bought this for my 9yr old son's birthday. He loved it and we have already had a number of successful outings. It is surprising how much further he can go when compared to his heavy old mountain bike.
The TDF is well made with lots of good features.
A great bike for the money.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? WORCESTER
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It does exactly what it says on the tin!!!,
September 08, 2014
By Gazza63
from Ely, Ely, Cambridgeshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My 13 year old son has not stopped raving about this bike. Admittedly it is his first out and out road bike but he really enjoys riding it.
He can soon get up to a speed whereby I find myself pushing to keep with him. I pleased by how much enjoyment he gets out of riding this bike, I think he may have caught the cycling bug already. I don't think it'll be long before he's be pulling to one side and waiting for me to catch him up!!
A sound investment that is proving to be value for money.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? NEWMARKET
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little bike,
September 07, 2014
By DCB99
from Lanark, Lanark, South Lanarkshire ML11, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: price
"I bought this for my 10 year son. He loves it, it rides well and he can now keep up with me and his older brother out on the roads. Incredible value for money and very stylish."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance for kids,
September 04, 2014
By WannabeTriathlete
from Leicestershire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: all round excellence
"My 9 year-old drooled over this bike in the shop for a few months before we bought it. He's not been disappointed now that he has one. It took a few attempts to master getting feet into and out of the pedal clips on starting and stopping but very soon mastered that."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? MELTON MOWBRAY
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect bike,
August 26, 2014
By Fran27
from North Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent starter road bike for 9 year old. Light weight and well built at great price."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? STOCKTON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Road bike,
August 25, 2014
By Rich63
from Bury St Edmunds
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Good service and extra add on such as a free 6 weekly check that I didn't know about,
All in all 9 out of 10
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect bike and great service,
August 11, 2014
By 4ben
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: size, growth, colour, lightness, specification
Cons: honestly - nothing !!
"Looked for a first road bike for my 12yr old, after he did his first triathlon and was so much slower on his MTB! Found this Carrera TDF Junior and after reading other reviews, comparing it to the adult specs (which was clear this is a small version with same good spec as adult bikes) and searching flee-bay for a good but cheap bike (not that easy to get and without the protection of a new purchase) - I went for this bike. So pleased I did. He has loved it. Size is perfect, with more room to grow. Speed he can achieve is great, as is ability to sprint just like he has seen of late from Team GB cycling stars. And will take up the free 6 week check. You do not get that buying second-hand.
Like to also mention the fantastic service from Rebecca, the store manager @halfords bicester who after a communications mix up when the bike had not been built as requested, offered to build and then delivery personally on her way home. #helpfulhalfords"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? BICESTER
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bike,
August 10, 2014
By Morgster
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this bike two weeks ago for our 9 year old son. It's a quality bike at a reasonable price. He now thinks he is Chris Froome!!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike for the price,
August 08, 2014
By Hydie156
from Hereford
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Managed to get this bike for half price for my son. I think it's a little big for him, he is 9, but with some adjustment he is riding it well. He has difficulty changing the front ring but this will become easier as he grows. Weight of the bike is great with good components."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? HEREFORD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>