Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014

The Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014 is perfect for young speed demons.
Average Customer Rating:
4.781 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
31 of 32(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Review 1 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Value Bike,
October 21, 2014
By Paul2168
from Rugby, Warwickshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Brilliant bike, Bought for my 11 year old son to commute to high school on and weekend pleasure, Great value for money whilst on sale offer."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? RUGBY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son Harri first road bike.,
October 21, 2014
By ieu123
from Penrhyndeudraeth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good qualty
"A very good quality first time bike fore a youth to start off his cycling achievements. Went out for a 12 mile cycle last weekend a very good ride bike was smooth and fast with lovely gear change , it will take a phew rides for my son to get the hang of it. If something a bit to fast for the old man to keep up with him up on the Snowdonia roads."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? BANGOR
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great starter bike for the Inbetweenager,
October 21, 2014
By greasedup
from Mirfield, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014 - great value, good components try find a better bike at this price!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? DEWSBURY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic Value - IThe Best Christmas Present Yet!,
October 20, 2014
By ACSF
from Cirencester, Cirencester, Gloucestershire GL7, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We bought this on special end of season offer for our 10 year old son's Christmas present. Could not resist the low cost and value for money. It is a great little road bike that will enable father and son to do some road biking together. In 8 year's time I can see a repeat of the Lands End John O' Groats but with both of them doing it this time!
Staff in store were really helpful and assembled the bike for collection ahead of predicted time. This included a customer briefing about the bike's features and a quality check before leaving the store. Well done Cirencester Halfords for great customer service! Thank you!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? CIRENCESTER
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic bike!,
October 14, 2014
By Chicklet
from Westcliff-on-Sea
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this bike for my son's 12th birthday and he loves it! Exceptional value at the sale price. We have bought 4 other Carrera bikes (adult ones) and they have been very good quality and are still going strong. Highly recommended brand. very pleased with purchase."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHEND
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent price,
October 14, 2014
By dan2533
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: weight gears
"Great offer price for a bike of this quality ,my boy loves it + fast as well"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Is this the child's first bike? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
YELLOW DREAM MACHINE,
October 13, 2014
By ChrisJW1965
from Sandgate, Kent, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: price
"This a great little road bike, my son is 11 years old and it is a perfect size for height and length. I did remove the toe clips and fit flat pedals as there will be enough for him to get used too with the gears and braking. Lovely bike"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014,
October 07, 2014
By johnjosie
from Wisbech, Wisbech, Cambridgeshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good build quality
Cons: no numbers on gear selectors
"A great bike for younger riders,appears well built and will last for years.a good price.disappointed that halfords didnt check that it was ok to leave the shop.rear brake dragging,valve cap missing,valve securing nuts not tight,nipple on end of cable missing.dont let that put you off getting a very good bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? KINGS LYNN
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good purchase,
October 06, 2014
By Transter
from Leicester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: relatively light grown up gearing
Cons: caged pedals
"Bought for my ten yr old son. He wanted a road bike, but now he has it, he's struggling to get used to the riding position and the shifters. It's a big change from twist grips.
I have had to lower the seat. I've also changed the pedals to regular platform pedals, the cages freaked him out.
It's a cracking little bike for the sale price. I reckon with a few more miles under his belt he'll get on with it fine. If he doesn't, it's him, not the bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (ST MARGARETS WAY)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Junior Racer,
October 05, 2014
By toasted
from Bath, Bath, Bath and North East Somerset, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the gear shifters on the brake leavers
"Great little bike, perfect place to start. The TDF is quiet light, the build quality and parts are great for the price."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (BATH RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A good bike at a very competitive price,
October 03, 2014
By scooby43
from Sevenoaks, Kent
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: smooth gear changing
Cons: my sons wished they did a red one
"This bike is well built and the components used are of a much higher quality than the slightly cheaper competitor makes. My sons wanted a road bike but as we knew it wouldn't be doing hundreds of miles a week we opted for this rather than the more expensive options. It has proved a great success, the gear changing is effortless and smooth which was our greatest concern.
Overall a good bike at a very competitive price
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? SEVENOAKS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great first road bike,
September 26, 2014
By LLC123
from Liverpool, Merseyside, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"An excellent bike for young ones getting into road biking. Good quality and good performance."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? ST. HELENS
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is excellent value for money,
September 25, 2014
By Calpe527
from Meltham, Holmfirth, West Yorkshire HD9, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the gear positions
Cons: the brake levers
"I've had the Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike for about 3 weeks now and I have found it to be just fantastic. It 's lovely and light so it's easy to transport. The gear positions are very easy to change and I find the quick release wheel feature very handy. I also like the colour -very sporty! The only downside I've found are the brake levers. Because my hands are very small, I can't grip the levers to the full extent."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? HUDDERSFIELD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike,
September 11, 2014
By Jono2
from Bristol, City of Bristol, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bough this for my lad's 10th birthday. He is delighted. Its a great combination of style, weight, and ease of use. pretty nifty gadgets too - the gear mechanisms etc are pretty advanced.
Not regrets at all with this purchase. Great service also from Halfords Bristol - assembled on time, with regular updates, and prompt service on collection.
Its early days (1 month) so I can't comment on it's robustness of course."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (WINTERSTOKE)
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent buy,
September 10, 2014
By MarkA69
from Lincolnshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this cycle for my 9yr old daughter, having taken her to see the TDF. She absolutely loves it. Current price is excellent value and the spec is good too."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? SCUNTHORPE
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Junior TDF Road Bike,
September 09, 2014
By gticarr
from Worcestershire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bought this for my 9yr old son's birthday. He loved it and we have already had a number of successful outings. It is surprising how much further he can go when compared to his heavy old mountain bike.
The TDF is well made with lots of good features.
A great bike for the money.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? WORCESTER
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It does exactly what it says on the tin!!!,
September 08, 2014
By Gazza63
from Ely, Ely, Cambridgeshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My 13 year old son has not stopped raving about this bike. Admittedly it is his first out and out road bike but he really enjoys riding it.
He can soon get up to a speed whereby I find myself pushing to keep with him. I pleased by how much enjoyment he gets out of riding this bike, I think he may have caught the cycling bug already. I don't think it'll be long before he's be pulling to one side and waiting for me to catch him up!!
A sound investment that is proving to be value for money.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? NEWMARKET
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little bike,
September 07, 2014
By DCB99
from Lanark, Lanark, South Lanarkshire ML11, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: price
"I bought this for my 10 year son. He loves it, it rides well and he can now keep up with me and his older brother out on the roads. Incredible value for money and very stylish."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance for kids,
September 04, 2014
By WannabeTriathlete
from Leicestershire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: all round excellence
"My 9 year-old drooled over this bike in the shop for a few months before we bought it. He's not been disappointed now that he has one. It took a few attempts to master getting feet into and out of the pedal clips on starting and stopping but very soon mastered that."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? MELTON MOWBRAY
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Carrera TDF Junior Road Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect bike,
August 26, 2014
By Fran27
from North Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent starter road bike for 9 year old. Light weight and well built at great price."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? STOCKTON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>