Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Kids Bikes or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Apollo Wham Boys Mountain Bike - 20"

Get noticed on the Apollo Wham Boys Mountain Bike!
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
29 of 31(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Apollo Wham Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Review 1 for Apollo Wham Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bargain for under £100,
May 15, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy gears, design
" Bought this bike for my boys 6th birthday as I wanted him to grow into it. He has taken to it really easily and the addition of gears means that he can tackle the hills around us and keep up with his brother (older) when on the cycle path near us. He is chuffed to bits with it. As for quality it's early days but so far it seems robust enough to cope with a typically hyper 6yr old "
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? DUMFRIES
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Apollo Wham Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great service,
May 08, 2016
By
from Uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This bike was a present for my sons 7th birthday, and he absolutely loves it, colour, gears etc. I reserved on line and requested assembly and collection from my local shop. They hung in to the bike for a few extra days so I could surprise him. We are extremely pleased with the bike and service. "
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? LEIGHTON BUZZARD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Apollo Wham Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bike,
May 07, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Excellent performance and good value for money. My son loves it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Is this the child's first bike? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Apollo Wham Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Value for Money,
May 02, 2016
By
from Broxbourne, Hertfordshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: adjustable seat height, multiple gears
" Good value for money bicycle for my 5 year old son. the seat height is adjustable, so he can use it for another 2 or 3 years before replacement "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? HARLOW
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Apollo Wham Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Apollo Wham Boys Mountain Bike - 20",
March 20, 2016
By
from Kilmarnock, Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: build service
" Excellent bike, purchased for my 8 year old boy.
Built by the store who contacted when ready, great, saved a bit of time and trouble, very helpful.
Would recommend the bike, very sturdy but with enough gears for him at the moment and fully adjustable. (Which the store did when I collected the bike with him.)
Great bike, great service.
Stephen.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? KILMARNOCK
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Apollo Wham Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike, great price,
March 12, 2016
By
from Helston, Helston, Cornwall, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: price, well built
Cons: quite heavy
" My son recently started riding without stabilisers and needed a new bike. We went to Halfords, where a very helpful employee helped us choose a new bike for him. In the end he opted for this bike. We are really pleased with the build quality of the bike and the price we played was very reasonable. He has used it many times since we bought it a few weeks ago and my son really loves it.
All in all a great little bike for the price and well worth buying as a follow on bike for a child who is learning to ride. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? CAMBORNE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Apollo Wham Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike,
February 29, 2016
By
from Stotfold, Central Bedfordshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great price, great service
" This is a great bike for the price. I got it at half price but even at full price it's a great bike for the money. My son is nearly 6 and it's a perfect fit for him. I'd say he will get 2/3 use out of it. Only thing he struggles with is changing the gears from 6 back up to 1 but this is down to his age more than the bike. He is so happy with it and having the gears has made such a difference to him. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Apollo Wham Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for money,
December 18, 2015
By
from England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: looks & price
" Ordered this online along with another bike and had a call straight away asking when I would like to collect. Great service and friendly staff at the Worcester Blackpole branch. Great looking bike and at £79 I think it's a bargain. Can't comment on performance yet as it's a Christmas present for my son but I'm sure it will be perfect for him. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? WORCESTER
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Apollo Wham Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
decent,
December 03, 2015
By
from Dunoon, Argyll and Bute, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: this bike
Cons: nothing
" it is a good bike im now writing letters so there is enough characters to submit review "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? PAISLEY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Apollo Wham Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good one for my 5Years old son,
October 03, 2015
By
from Milton Keynes, Milton Keynes, Milton Keynes, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" After lot of research, I was convinced to buy this Cycle for my 5Years old son.
Sofar we went out on Bike couple of days.. he was enjoying riding his cycle..
Over all I am happy with my purchase..Good value for money...
Easy collection from Halfords, staff was helpful to adjust the settings as required.
Thanks to Halfords Bletchley
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? MILTON KEYNES
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Apollo Wham Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor bike or poorly put together bike? Just not sure, just don't buy,
September 01, 2015
By
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: the whole product
" We bought this bike for my son's 7th birthday. Managed to get it on the car to take it on holiday where it was his birthday. On his birthday, we discovered that the rear tyre was low, so pumped it up, 15 minutes later it was deflated again and with a family member who is a cyclist, deduced it was a faulty valve. However to get the back wheel off to get a new inner tube on so that my son could actually ride his new bike, it was so difficult that we had to take it to a bike shop, even they were concerned that the back wheel structure didn't sit in the bicycle frame correctly and felt that we needed to take it back to the shop. However, he gently managed to ease the wheel back in and we set off. After a little more than 2 hours of riding on a flat coastal path, the whole of the pedal structure now wobbles and looks as if it has broken from within the frame. My son, has yet to enjoy his present and we have had to wait to take it back to Halfords in Sevenoaks on return from holiday. I will update if there is any product information on the bike that I am given. But a pretty poor product to fall apart within a couple of hours cycling. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Gender: Female
Which Store did you visit? SEVENOAKS
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Apollo Wham Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Poor Quality Control,
August 15, 2015
By
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: helpful shop staff
Cons: poor quality control required two visits to shop
" We had two problems with this bike, which reflect poor quality control:
1. one wheel did not run true, meaning we had to take it into Halfords to have the spokes adjusted.
2. One wheel inner was faulty, puncturing in two separate places on two separate occasions, the first time it was inflated (at nowhere near max recommended pressure). This required a second visit to the shop to get a replacement inner.
The staff in the Cambridge shop were very helpful on both occasions but the quality control in the factory is very poor. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Apollo Wham Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Apollo Wham,
July 20, 2015
By
from Dorset
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great value fro money as bought in a sale, First experience of gears for my 6 year old but he has the hang of them. There are some lovely trails to take him on locally and these will be more achievable with some gears.
Store build left the handlebars far too loose. Have tightened somewhat but am concerned damage my occur if try any more. The 6 week service will hopefully resolve.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Other hobbies: Fishing
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Apollo Wham Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All good so far,
July 19, 2015
By
from Essex, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Just small enough for our 7 year old with room to grow. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
Which Store did you visit? CHADWELL HEATH
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Apollo Wham Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike great service,
June 20, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bike is fab bought for 7 year old who was learning to cycle. Great sturdy, heavy bike- he was perfect at cycling after one day. 6 gears, comfortable saddle. Only negative no mudguards! Booked online ready to pick up as stated on website so thank you halfords, Portlaoise!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Apollo Wham Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fantastic bike, happy boy,
June 18, 2015
By
from Croydon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price build and 1st service
Cons: quite heavy
" Birthday present for 7 year old son. Perfect size with plenty of growing room, lovely design, easy gear change, sturdy and well built. Very good value and built in-store ready for collection, first service included too. Very happy! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Apollo Wham Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Perfect for my 8 year old,
June 10, 2015
By
from Cork
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This bike was the perfect size for my 8 year old to get confidence, he loves it "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Apollo Wham Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value,
June 10, 2015
By
from Kildare, Ireland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Nice little bike. As others have said the gear selection is very stiff for little hands.
Otherwise a good bike at a very good price.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Apollo Wham Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike...check set up before leaving store though,
May 05, 2015
By
from Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality finish and components, appealing to a child
Cons: check set up carefully before leaving the branch
" This was a birthday present for my 6 year old son. He chose the bike himself as his first 'big boy bike'. On his birthday the smile on his face was magical and he skipped breakfast to 'take it for a spin'. His first bike without stabilisers and he was off. The bike itself was everything I expected from Apollo (I have one for my 7 year old son as well). Quality finish, good components, smart look. Unfortunately 5 minutes into the ride I noticed him veering off to the sides. Thinking it was excitement I thought nothing more of it until it happened again and again then finally he swerved completely off course and crashed into a fence. As I helped him up I noticed that the handle bars were incredibly loose. This cut short the ride and we returned home. I got out the allen key and tried to tighten up the headstock but it would not tighten. I'm going back to different branch at the weekend to get it checked over. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? FOLKESTONE
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Apollo Wham Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value bike,
April 30, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" great kids bike.................................................................................................... "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>