Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Apollo Wham Boys Mountain Bike - 20"

Get noticed on the Apollo Wham Boys Mountain Bike!
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 of 21(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Apollo Wham Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Review 1 for Apollo Wham Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Apollo Wham,
July 20, 2015
By nico12
from Dorset
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great value fro money as bought in a sale, First experience of gears for my 6 year old but he has the hang of them. There are some lovely trails to take him on locally and these will be more achievable with some gears.
Store build left the handlebars far too loose. Have tightened somewhat but am concerned damage my occur if try any more. The 6 week service will hopefully resolve.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Other hobbies: Fishing
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Apollo Wham Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All good so far,
July 19, 2015
By chrisjt
from Essex, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Just small enough for our 7 year old with room to grow. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
Which Store did you visit? CHADWELL HEATH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Apollo Wham Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike great service,
June 20, 2015
By Nitser
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bike is fab bought for 7 year old who was learning to cycle. Great sturdy, heavy bike- he was perfect at cycling after one day. 6 gears, comfortable saddle. Only negative no mudguards! Booked online ready to pick up as stated on website so thank you halfords, Portlaoise!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Apollo Wham Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fantastic bike, happy boy,
June 18, 2015
By Suzisue
from Croydon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price build and 1st service
Cons: quite heavy
" Birthday present for 7 year old son. Perfect size with plenty of growing room, lovely design, easy gear change, sturdy and well built. Very good value and built in-store ready for collection, first service included too. Very happy! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Apollo Wham Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Perfect for my 8 year old,
June 10, 2015
By T2045
from Cork
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This bike was the perfect size for my 8 year old to get confidence, he loves it "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Apollo Wham Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value,
June 10, 2015
By Gavinpnic
from Kildare, Ireland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Nice little bike. As others have said the gear selection is very stiff for little hands.
Otherwise a good bike at a very good price.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Apollo Wham Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike...check set up before leaving store though,
May 05, 2015
By kentdad
from Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality finish and components, appealing to a child
Cons: check set up carefully before leaving the branch
" This was a birthday present for my 6 year old son. He chose the bike himself as his first 'big boy bike'. On his birthday the smile on his face was magical and he skipped breakfast to 'take it for a spin'. His first bike without stabilisers and he was off. The bike itself was everything I expected from Apollo (I have one for my 7 year old son as well). Quality finish, good components, smart look. Unfortunately 5 minutes into the ride I noticed him veering off to the sides. Thinking it was excitement I thought nothing more of it until it happened again and again then finally he swerved completely off course and crashed into a fence. As I helped him up I noticed that the handle bars were incredibly loose. This cut short the ride and we returned home. I got out the allen key and tried to tighten up the headstock but it would not tighten. I'm going back to different branch at the weekend to get it checked over. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? FOLKESTONE
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Apollo Wham Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value bike,
April 30, 2015
By mozza1000
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" great kids bike.................................................................................................... "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Apollo Wham Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for my 5 year old son.,
January 08, 2015
By Dee85
from Devon, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great bike for him now and for the next few years. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? EXMOUTH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Apollo Wham Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value for money,
December 29, 2014
By Daz240
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is a great bike, excellent value for money. my little loves it had no problem with it at. I would recommend this to anyone "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Is this the child's first bike? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Apollo Wham Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Apollo Wham Boys Mountain Bike 20",
December 27, 2014
By Grandad100
from Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I purchased this bike for my grandson who is 6yrs old for his Christmas present . He was very pleased with it to say the least ! I thought the price of the bike was excellent considering the quality . Every thing worked perfectly and the seat and handlebars will be adjusted as he grows . It will last him for a good few years ,we also got lots of comments from people who saw him riding it on Christmas day . "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (KIRKSTALL)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Apollo Wham Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
apollo mountain bike,
December 16, 2014
By drew1234
from Barnsley, South Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" bought for xmas. Not used by son yet but appears good value quality for price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? BARNSLEY (HARBOROUGH HILL)
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Apollo Wham Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good all round customer service,
December 15, 2014
By JAYDEN487
from Blackpool
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" My overall customer satisfation was very good. I purchased the Wam Apollo junior bike online and found the purchasing process extremely easy.
The only constructive feedback i have is based on the timing of the initial automated email confirming my purchase. I needed to call the customer helpline for them to send me a copy of the puchase order.
I like the fact i had the option to receive the bike via postal order in a flat pack and go into the store at my convience for the team to build it free of charge!!
"
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? BLACKPOOL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Apollo Wham Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the features on this bike,
December 12, 2014
By RAPS
from Norfolk, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great bike
" A LOVELY FIRST MOUNTAIN BIKE WELL BUILT VERY HAPPY . "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? CROMER
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Apollo Wham Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
almost perfect.,
November 28, 2014
By Stuart1878
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the price the gears and suspension
Cons: gears are stiff suspension not great.
" For the price this bike is fantastic, the only area that let's is down are some cheap looking fasteners (we'll see how the last the winter), a really stiff gear change and the suspension isn't the best I've seen. However, that's only if you compare it to bikes costing £200+. For this price it is fantastic, my son loves it and when he's outgrown it in 18 months I'll buy the next size up! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Is this the child's first bike? No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Apollo Wham Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wham-bam!,
October 08, 2014
By OllieTomandMatthewsDad
from North Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Brilliant bike. Well made. Decent value for money. Easy to put together and, according to it's new 8yr old owner, looks awesome! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? PONTEFRACT
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Apollo Wham Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great bike,
September 27, 2014
By lindleyspud
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" My 8 year old chose this first, out of all the bikes available for his age,and loves it..... Very happy "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Is this the child's first bike? No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Apollo Wham Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great bike but stiff gear change,
September 22, 2014
By cpmum
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" My son loves the bike but the twist grip gears are very difficult for small hands. They are very stiff and even after two weeks he still struggles. That said it is not stopping him from cycling "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Is this the child's first bike? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Apollo Wham Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First mountain bike,
September 18, 2014
By Ianjc
from Great Malvern, Malvern, Worcestershire WR14, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: low saddle
Cons: stiff gear twist
" Bought this for our grandsons 6th birthday. Wanted a bike with gears this has 6. Also wanted a bike he could grow with and that would last for several years this one was ideal as with the shape of the frame the saddle would go low enough for him to be able to touch the ground with his feet. The twist gears seem a little stiff but they may ease with use and practice.
Overall very happy with this bike
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? MALVERN
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Apollo Wham Boys Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value for money,
September 15, 2014
By Jprice
from Banbridge
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the value
Cons: setup from halfords
" Great value for money product. Although slightly dissatisfied with the setup from halfords. They had adjusted the back brakes so tight the back wheel was a hard to move. Otherwise the product is great and my boy loves it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? CRAIGAVON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>