Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"

Stand out on the brightly coloured Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20".
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
32 of 34(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Review 1 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Value Bike,
July 27, 2015
By CaptainScott
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value
Cons: weight (a little heavy)
" This bike is good value (£80) and perfect for my 6 year old. OK it's not the lightest but the weight of my Grifter never bothered me! Gears and brakes work well - it's a good simple and sensible bike. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? LEIGHTON BUZZARD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great first bike,
July 27, 2015
By Kshe
from Limerick
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" My son is 9 years old and this bike suited him perfectly. Looks good, very easy to cycle.
Staff were brilliant to deal with. Great shopping on line. Got the bike at a great price too.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good price and value,
July 03, 2015
By Big68
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: overall package
Cons: plastic parts
" For the price you cannot really complain. Does the job for a growing child. And has gears, tricky at start but did not take as long as I thought it would for my boy to start changing the gears.
Looks are nice as well.
Overall: You can spend more and get better quality. But it is an assessment based on how long you think the child will use it.
For us this was fine. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Which Store did you visit? CROYDON (PURLEY WAY)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bike let down by poor preparation,
June 29, 2015
By Becky19
from Hampshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: style, value for money, overall quality
Cons: incomplete preparation by halfords
" I am writing this review on behalf of my daughter and son-in-law who bought this bike for their son's 7th birthday and asked me to store it until the day of presentation. I had to fix the handlebars and when their boy rode it it was obvious the gears had not been tested properly and I had to adjust them. Also the front reflector had not been fixed correctly. At this stage that seems to be all the negatives. Their boy loves the bike and soon got used to changing gear whilst riding it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Which Store did you visit? FARNBOROUGH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant bike great value!,
June 18, 2015
By Clairebear555
from Essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought for my 6yr old sons birthday he absolutely loves it! Has ridden it every day so far! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
Which Store did you visit? CAMBRIDGE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bike, very sturdy and super colour... but get some tools!,
June 13, 2015
By BusyMum46
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great value great bike.
Cons: doesn't come with tools or a pump.
" Excellent bike, son delighted. It takes a little time to put together if you go for the home delivery option (which went very smoothly, no problems) and you need to supply your own range of tools. And a pump, rather importantly!
Would recommend. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Camping
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Value,
June 12, 2015
By Al5000
from Devon, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: it's lighter than many, great value
Cons: plastic levers/pedals
" Every parents dilemma - your boy's 7th birthday looms and he needs a bike, but you know within a year or two he will probably have grown out of it. This bike fits the bill as it is at the budget end of the market, so does not have the snazzy suspension and disc brakes you get on more expensive bikes, but because of this it is reasonably light, which for me was the major benefit. My son has had the bike for a couple of days now, so too early to offer much comment in the way of quality, but he is really pleased with it. OK, so you do get plastic brake levers and pedals instead of metal ones, but everything works as it should> Overall a great value product and as long as you are happy to dispense with the gizmos highly recommended. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? BARNSTAPLE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice bike,
June 12, 2015
By Dink27
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great little bike
Cons: none
" My son loves his bike and for the price I paid I like it too.
It's my sons first bike without stabilisers so he doesn't need anything to complicated and this fits the bill
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Which Store did you visit? YEOVIL
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike, great service,
June 10, 2015
By Bananabubble
from Rustington
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This seems to be a great bike, my son quite frankly is a bit spoilt and lazy, so only used it twice!
The customer service at Rustington Branch was fantastic, I ordered online and picked up instore and despite being short staffed they completed building the bike on time, communicated very well, ringing me to let me know it was ready.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? RUSTINGTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value for money,
May 08, 2015
By Sasher
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great value, has gears
Cons: no alternative colours
" Great bike for the price, exactly what we were looking for. Would be nice to see the same bike available in different colours. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Which Store did you visit? MANCHESTER (WHITE CITY)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
satisfaction,
April 29, 2015
By coyesse
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Very good quality of bike. My son enjoyed it!
I am buying bikes from Halfords since 2010 and never been disappointed...
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (MEADOW RD)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect starter bike for my 6 year old.,
March 07, 2015
By Jhil
from Scotland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Needed a bike for our 6 year old son with gears so he could keep up with his older siblings on bike journeys. Didn't want to spend too much as the likelihood is that he will need something bigger in a couple of years. This one was ideal. Both happy with the bike. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? DUNDEE
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
excellent 1st big bike,
February 27, 2015
By mobo
from Manchester, greater manchester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: look, gears
Cons: no mudguards
" This is a great first bike for my 7yr old son. He loves the colour and the sporty look of the bike. Halfords built it up and it was ready to go in no time. Gears are really easy to manage too - really pleased with the bike. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? BOLTON (MANCHESTER RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very cheap freewheel,
February 09, 2015
By RainThief
from Fareham
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" this bike is good except for the freewheel. It does not spin straight so it wobbles which makes it very hard to set all the rear 6 gears to work properly as the design of a rear derailleur expects the rear teeth to be inline and as they are not it does not work that great.
Annoying as I paid the extra to get my son a bike with gears and maybe I should have saved the money "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? FAREHAM
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Apollo Fade,
February 03, 2015
By mogzilla
from East Grinstead, West Sussex, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy gears
Cons: no mudguards
" Great bike, my 8 year old loves it, simple gears and easy to change.
Halfords set it all up for me, just need to pay upon collection. Great service,
Would prefer a hybrid bike like this to come with mudguards as standard - make sense. Why wouldn't you want mudguards...?
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? EAST GRINSTEAD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
a smart bright bike with gears great features,
January 07, 2015
By dodday
from Waterlooville, Hampshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" this bike is great value and for my grandsons first real bike with gears means i cannot fault this bike halfords built the bike for me free of charge as it was part of the deal my grandson who is 7 will get many years of fun riding this bike "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? WATERLOOVILLE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good bike,
December 28, 2014
By Rebel42
from Uk
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: colour
" I bought this for my 6 year old. It is the perfect size with a bit of growing room. He loves the colour, and brakes and gears are easy to use. Collected it from store, and it is well built. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? NEWTOWNABBEY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ticks all the boxes,
December 26, 2014
By CW25
from Watford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the colour
" This bike was great value- it looks good, it feels sturdy and just right for a young boy. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? WATFORD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great deal,
November 26, 2014
By Saszle
from Brighton, The City of Brighton and Hove, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I have purchased this for my son for Christmas as he has learnt how to ride on an old and smaller bike, and is now ready to move up to a slightly bigger one.
It was a good price for an Apollo, which is not the cheapest bike, but more middle range, and ideal for my son riding along the road and round the park.
it has a few gears which shouldn't be too confusing for him (he didn't have gears on his previous bike) and it seems to be the ideal next 'step up' bike for him. I hope he likes it!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? SHOREHAM ON SEA
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Orange bike,
November 17, 2014
By Toocomplicated
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" It's an orange bike! Don't get too ambitious it won't get you through the Tour de France "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Is this the child's first bike? No
-6points
0out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>