Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Kids Bikes or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"

Stand out on the brightly coloured Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20".
Average Customer Rating:
4.41 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
36 of 39(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Review 1 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A superb bike!,
August 27, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the fact that it has gears
Cons: can't think of one
" a great quality bike at a fabulous price. My 5 (nearly 6) year old is over the moon with her new bright orange bike. We picked it up from the Bishop Auckland store and the customer service was excellent. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Which Store did you visit? BISHOP AUCKLAND
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good solid bike,
August 17, 2015
By
from Wales
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: strong build
" Bought for my 7 yo grandson. He loved the colour and the solid feel of the bike and has learned to manage the gears well. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HAVERFORD WEST
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good for the price,
August 06, 2015
By
from South West
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the price
Cons: the colour thought it was more yellow
" Bike is solid and looks good, doesn't seem to be missing any of the features on more expensive bikes in the range and for half the price you can't go wrong.
Rides well.
Was easy to put the chain back on after my son thought it was a great idea to change from 1st gear to 6th while stationary and then ride on - which caused the chain to jump off. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fair pricing for the quality,
August 02, 2015
By
from London, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: nice disign and colour
Cons: cheap accessories
" It is a good bargain. The price matches the quality. Good purchase for a kid learning not yet experienced.
However, once in the shop the service is excellent. The staff seems to be overwhelmed and understaffed. We can see that they are too busy and they do their best to satisfy the customer coming collecting theirs bikes.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? OLD KENT ROAD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It fell apart!,
August 02, 2015
By
from Hinckley, Leicestershire, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: colour
Cons: build quality, bits fell off
" I don't know much about bikes but this looked good and seemed a bargain at £80. On it's second ride out the bracket that holds the pedals in fell apart! Spoilt the 5 mile ride that we were half way thru. Prior to that, the rear brake pads had come loose but I was able to tighten and thought it just one of those things. Halfords refunded the money no problem which is great but I shall be going elsewhere to replace (and I'll probs spend a bit more dough next time too!). Shame really as I still think the bike looks great. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Festival goer
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
Which Store did you visit? HINCKLEY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Value Bike,
July 27, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value
Cons: weight (a little heavy)
" This bike is good value (£80) and perfect for my 6 year old. OK it's not the lightest but the weight of my Grifter never bothered me! Gears and brakes work well - it's a good simple and sensible bike. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? LEIGHTON BUZZARD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great first bike,
July 27, 2015
By
from Limerick
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" My son is 9 years old and this bike suited him perfectly. Looks good, very easy to cycle.
Staff were brilliant to deal with. Great shopping on line. Got the bike at a great price too.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good price and value,
July 03, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: overall package
Cons: plastic parts
" For the price you cannot really complain. Does the job for a growing child. And has gears, tricky at start but did not take as long as I thought it would for my boy to start changing the gears.
Looks are nice as well.
Overall: You can spend more and get better quality. But it is an assessment based on how long you think the child will use it.
For us this was fine. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Which Store did you visit? CROYDON (PURLEY WAY)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bike let down by poor preparation,
June 29, 2015
By
from Hampshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: style, value for money, overall quality
Cons: incomplete preparation by halfords
" I am writing this review on behalf of my daughter and son-in-law who bought this bike for their son's 7th birthday and asked me to store it until the day of presentation. I had to fix the handlebars and when their boy rode it it was obvious the gears had not been tested properly and I had to adjust them. Also the front reflector had not been fixed correctly. At this stage that seems to be all the negatives. Their boy loves the bike and soon got used to changing gear whilst riding it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Which Store did you visit? FARNBOROUGH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant bike great value!,
June 18, 2015
By
from Essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought for my 6yr old sons birthday he absolutely loves it! Has ridden it every day so far! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
Which Store did you visit? CAMBRIDGE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bike, very sturdy and super colour... but get some tools!,
June 13, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great value great bike.
Cons: doesn't come with tools or a pump.
" Excellent bike, son delighted. It takes a little time to put together if you go for the home delivery option (which went very smoothly, no problems) and you need to supply your own range of tools. And a pump, rather importantly!
Would recommend. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Camping
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Value,
June 12, 2015
By
from Devon, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: it's lighter than many, great value
Cons: plastic levers/pedals
" Every parents dilemma - your boy's 7th birthday looms and he needs a bike, but you know within a year or two he will probably have grown out of it. This bike fits the bill as it is at the budget end of the market, so does not have the snazzy suspension and disc brakes you get on more expensive bikes, but because of this it is reasonably light, which for me was the major benefit. My son has had the bike for a couple of days now, so too early to offer much comment in the way of quality, but he is really pleased with it. OK, so you do get plastic brake levers and pedals instead of metal ones, but everything works as it should> Overall a great value product and as long as you are happy to dispense with the gizmos highly recommended. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? BARNSTAPLE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice bike,
June 12, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great little bike
Cons: none
" My son loves his bike and for the price I paid I like it too.
It's my sons first bike without stabilisers so he doesn't need anything to complicated and this fits the bill
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Which Store did you visit? YEOVIL
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike, great service,
June 10, 2015
By
from Rustington
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This seems to be a great bike, my son quite frankly is a bit spoilt and lazy, so only used it twice!
The customer service at Rustington Branch was fantastic, I ordered online and picked up instore and despite being short staffed they completed building the bike on time, communicated very well, ringing me to let me know it was ready.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? RUSTINGTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value for money,
May 08, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great value, has gears
Cons: no alternative colours
" Great bike for the price, exactly what we were looking for. Would be nice to see the same bike available in different colours. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Which Store did you visit? MANCHESTER (WHITE CITY)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
satisfaction,
April 29, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Very good quality of bike. My son enjoyed it!
I am buying bikes from Halfords since 2010 and never been disappointed...
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (MEADOW RD)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect starter bike for my 6 year old.,
March 07, 2015
By
from Scotland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Needed a bike for our 6 year old son with gears so he could keep up with his older siblings on bike journeys. Didn't want to spend too much as the likelihood is that he will need something bigger in a couple of years. This one was ideal. Both happy with the bike. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? DUNDEE
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
excellent 1st big bike,
February 27, 2015
By
from Manchester, greater manchester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: look, gears
Cons: no mudguards
" This is a great first bike for my 7yr old son. He loves the colour and the sporty look of the bike. Halfords built it up and it was ready to go in no time. Gears are really easy to manage too - really pleased with the bike. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? BOLTON (MANCHESTER RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very cheap freewheel,
February 09, 2015
By
from Fareham
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" this bike is good except for the freewheel. It does not spin straight so it wobbles which makes it very hard to set all the rear 6 gears to work properly as the design of a rear derailleur expects the rear teeth to be inline and as they are not it does not work that great.
Annoying as I paid the extra to get my son a bike with gears and maybe I should have saved the money "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? FAREHAM
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Apollo Fade,
February 03, 2015
By
from East Grinstead, West Sussex, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy gears
Cons: no mudguards
" Great bike, my 8 year old loves it, simple gears and easy to change.
Halfords set it all up for me, just need to pay upon collection. Great service,
Would prefer a hybrid bike like this to come with mudguards as standard - make sense. Why wouldn't you want mudguards...?
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? EAST GRINSTEAD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>