Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"

Stand out on the brightly coloured Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20".
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
15 of 16(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Review 1 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great deal,
November 26, 2014
By Saszle
from Brighton, The City of Brighton and Hove, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have purchased this for my son for Christmas as he has learnt how to ride on an old and smaller bike, and is now ready to move up to a slightly bigger one.
It was a good price for an Apollo, which is not the cheapest bike, but more middle range, and ideal for my son riding along the road and round the park.
it has a few gears which shouldn't be too confusing for him (he didn't have gears on his previous bike) and it seems to be the ideal next 'step up' bike for him. I hope he likes it!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? SHOREHAM ON SEA
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Orange bike,
November 17, 2014
By Toocomplicated
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"It's an orange bike! Don't get too ambitious it won't get you through the Tour de France"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Is this the child's first bike? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
perfectly adequate,
November 17, 2014
By AlejG
from Aberdeen, Aberdeen City, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Got this for my 7 y.o. as a birthday present from a relative and he is very happy with it. With 6 gears, it is simple enough for him to get used to gears without being too complicated. He hasn't been able to ride it that much in the dark and wet weather but he's enjoyed it so far."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? ABERDEEN (KITTY BREWSTER)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fade hybrid bike,
October 21, 2014
By sbrown118
from Warwickshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: gears, colour, size
Cons: no mud guards
"Bought this for my 5 year old daughter who liked the colour and ride and wouldn't be swayed by a girls bike. Looks great and seems well made time will tell how long it looks this good"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? NUNEATON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Apollo Fade,
October 13, 2014
By Josh10
from Cambridge, Cambridge, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Good value bike. Hybrid style tyres make it smooth to use on paths and roads. Looks good too. Crank/pedal broke after 1 week but was quickly replaced."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? CAMBRIDGE
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vibrant in colour and Great Value,
October 09, 2014
By omarr
from Fife, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: vibrant colour, grown up looking
"We have recently purchased this for christmas.
The colour is very vibrant and stands out. My son picked it out from the choice instore. He has just turned 7 and this bike was the perfect size allowing for growth.
Very happy with the value. 100% customer service also.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? DUNFERMLINE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike,
October 01, 2014
By Natalieb57
from Brighton, The City of Brighton and Hove, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: light, stylish
"bought this for my son who had zero confidence in riding his old bike- but that has changed with this bike, he actually enjoys cycling now! really good service in hafords, shoreham branch too. bargain at half price in the end-of season sale too. really pleased."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? SHOREHAM ON SEA
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value bike,
September 30, 2014
By Peter2110
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"A good value bike, although a little on the heavy side. The gear shift is not quite as precise as would be ideal, but is a good introduction to gears. My son is very happy with this bike, and it is good value."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Is this the child's first bike? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 6/7 year old loves this bike.,
September 25, 2014
By NBNicky
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Well made, sturdy and a comfortable bike to ride according to my son who is thrilled with it. Excellent value and quality."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Is this the child's first bike? No
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20",
September 21, 2014
By Listener47
from London, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Good First Bike for any kid, can sustain minor damages"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? HARROW
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Greatbike for my 6 year old,
September 16, 2014
By jorevs
from Sheffield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of purchase, quality of the bike for the money
"My son first bike with gears and a great way to start cycling my son is more confident and got to use the gears quickly and easily , good brakes and easy to apply a great choice for my growing son would highly recommend , Tthe staff at Halfords QUEENS RD branch in Sheffield were very helpful and will use again."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (QUEENS RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A good bike for my boys next step,
September 01, 2014
By JsyTed
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"At first I wasn't sure about the gears until I saw my son on it outside for the first time.Straight away he was using them.A little on the heavy side for a bike but good quality product all in all."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Is this the child's first bike? No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First Bike,
September 01, 2014
By Damocool
from Derbyshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bought for my 8 year old. Good solid first bike and enjoyed plenty of rides so far!
Hopefully my son gets the bug and a better bike will follow."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great all rounder,
August 11, 2014
By Ben6232000
from Stafford, Stafford, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: powerful brakes
"This bike was bought for my 8 year old sons birthday. He was very nervous about cycling before hand and was an effort to get him out. This bike has boosted his confidence 100%, and within a week he has completed a five mile trail and road ride. Six gears are more than enough for his age, and work well and allow him to deal with hills. Good powerful reliable brakes which is the main factor of his improvement. Kids don't feel safe going quickly if they can't stop. These brakes work well, and easy to reach and pull with Smaller fingers. The bike isn't too heavy like a lot of kids bikes, which makes it easy for him to pick up and easy to get in the car. The colour and graphics make it very appealing too. The tyres make easy to ride on rough trails and roads, which I suppose what a hybrid bikes for! Only problem I had with it was a sprocket guard snapped, which was quickly replaced by halfords stafford. It's not the cheapest bike you can get but certainly worth the extra money for something reliable and substantial. Great bike!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? STAFFORD
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Bike,
August 03, 2014
By BNair
from Wellingborough
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Good Bike with very simple gear mechanism for kids to use.
My son loves the brakes on it and says it help him go fast and stop where he wants. Overall a Goood Buy..!!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Apollo Fade Boys Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Value,
May 27, 2014
By Drajayne
from Blackburn, Blackburn with Darwen, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My son loves the gears on this bike and the colour. He says that it's really light and easy to ride. Would recommend"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? BLACKBURN
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.