Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Kids Bikes or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Carrera Blast Boys Mountain Bike - 24"

The Carrera Blast Boys Mountain Bike is a great choice for active kids who are raring to go.
Average Customer Rating:
4.736 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (53 reviews)
5 stars
44
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
48 of 49(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Carrera Blast Boys Mountain Bike - 24"
Review 1 for Carrera Blast Boys Mountain Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best £ for £ kids bike,
May 17, 2016
By
from Leicestershire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: light, well built, comes fully loaded, looks great
Cons: bit pricey
" Have two daughters 8 & 10. I purchased this bike for my 10 year old 8 months ago after extensive internet research. Both she and I are delighted with it. For the money the spec is second to none as it comes fully loaded and it looks great.
I recently repeated my research for my younger daughter and was still unable to find a better bike so purchased another, just in different colours.
I would recommend this bike to anyone (boy or girl) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? LOUGHBOROUGH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carrera Blast Boys Mountain Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera Blast,
March 28, 2016
By
from Nottinghamshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought this bike bike for our 9 year old grandson looked at other bikes but get a lot more with this bike than others we'd looked at ie disc brakes front suspension, easily managed to get up a steep hill not done before ,fantastic bike really pleased with performance. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? MANSFIELD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carrera Blast Boys Mountain Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent service.,
March 27, 2016
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Yeovil store.
Michael and Jesse were both a credit to Halfords.
Their service was very good, excellent in parts.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? YEOVIL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carrera Blast Boys Mountain Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for money,
February 15, 2016
By
from Cambridge, Cambridge, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: disc brakes, light weight, working front suspension
Cons: nothing really
" You know what. I looked at a lot of bikes and a bike from Halfords was at the bottom of the list "What do they think they know about bike?" and Saracen "Not a good brand!". I looked at Giant, I looked at Isla, I looked at Cube. You know what though, I came to the conclusion that you are paying of the name. You compare what you actually get on the bike (the expensive bits like brakes, shifters, gears etc) and they were all comparable to the Blast), but apart from the name, with the Blast, you get Discs (mechanical...but they work great, and as you have the right wheel, you can upgrade to hydraulics very cheaply...but do not under-estimate the functioning of these brakes or the "they still work in the rain" value), you get suspension forks, you get a proper handlebar stem, and you get a reasonably light bike (you even get a scaled down adult MTB seat...not a silly kids comfort seat). Also, for an 8 year old, the dimensions of the frame mean that a works for slightly shorter/younger kids (you need to try different bikes to understand the differences).
Sure, you can get a bike with better bits, or a "better" name, but you know what, this is a kids bike. I will not last a lifetime, my son will destroy it before then, but it will last long enough probably to be able to hand it down, and the "bits" can be changed/upgraded as an when required.
I like it because it is a reasonable bike for a reasonable cost, not son like it because it looks cool. If you want to spend double, you will not get double the value, but hey, if you want to throw money away on things your kid will not use or understand, then I have a "widget" you can buy for a VERY reasonable cost, just get in touch! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? HAVERHILL
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carrera Blast Boys Mountain Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
new bike for 9th birthday,
January 18, 2016
By
from Dumfries, Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: colour, finishquality
" too early to say much on performance as weather has not been the best for our 9 year old to try out his new bike. We are impressed with bike quality. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? DUMFRIES
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carrera Blast Boys Mountain Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well Received and a delighted 8 year old at Christmas,
January 02, 2016
By
from Birmingham, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Bought as a Christmas present and it didn't disapoint!!
Great brakes, discs and gears on this product and an excellent intriodcution to mountain biking for our son.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? BROMSGROVE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carrera Blast Boys Mountain Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product and great service,
December 26, 2015
By
from Lancashire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I received a great product and great service from Halfords. It was easy to order and collect. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? BLACKPOOL
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carrera Blast Boys Mountain Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera Blast Boys Mountain Bike 24",
December 14, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" the staff have been so helpful with the purchase of this bike for our grandson
they are a great asset to your company - nothing is ever a problem - need more shops like this
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? WEYMOUTH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carrera Blast Boys Mountain Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing quality,
November 20, 2015
By
from Irlam
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great bike, great service and assembly, will have one happy boy at Christmas, thank-you Halford bike Hut team xx "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? ALTRINCHAM
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carrera Blast Boys Mountain Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mix emotions,
October 07, 2015
By
from Skem
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Great looking bike that I had to return twice and ended up fixing it myself! My son still loves it though.. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carrera Blast Boys Mountain Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera Blast 24",
October 07, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: beautifully engineered, stunning colour scheme, halfoirds staff are very helpful
Cons: it is expensive for a young boys' toy !
" This bike has all the bells and whistles a boy could want - front suspension, 21 gears, disc brakes and a real head-turner. The colour scheme is stunning. It's light but feels very well made. My 8 year old is around 130-135cm tall and he is just big enough to ride it safely on the lowest seat setting. So plenty of room to grow. The RRP is high, for sure, but it seems like good value. The Halford's staff at St.Albans were very helpful and knowledgeable. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? ST. ALBANS
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Carrera Blast Boys Mountain Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bike,
October 06, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Very nice bike, really light weight and great spec. My son loves it . Just wish it was a little cheaper. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Carrera Blast Boys Mountain Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike for 9 year old,
September 22, 2015
By
from Bristol
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great bike for my nine year old. Bought it as it was light weight and had grip gear shifters which actually worked. Had to buy this to replace another bike which had cheaper shifters which my son just couldn't operate. The decent shifters on this bike have allowed him to change gear properly for the first time. Cheaper shifters are stiff and difficult to use - there's a lesson in there somewhere... "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (WINTERSTOKE)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Carrera Blast Boys Mountain Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Truly excellent Bike,
August 23, 2015
By
from Suffolk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good components, disc brakes!, looks epic(!)
Cons: paying £230 for a kids bike
" My 9 year old son had just about outgrown his Apollo Stomp 20" bike and we wanted a lighter bike as well as one with more gears to add flexibility to the ride.
The blast is, frankly excellent. He now flies up hills that used to be a slow walk!
It has an alloy frame, decent gears, that "big bike" look and even disk brakes.
For the money, this is the best 24" bike on the market.
It was more than I wanted to spend but I am really pleased we went with it.
Oh, son absolutely loves it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NORWICH
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Carrera Blast Boys Mountain Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike,
August 17, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: light weight
" Bought for our son for his 9th birthday. He is very pleased with it. It's fast, brakes are easy to reach & gears make it an easy ride on & off road. A great buy. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Which Store did you visit? HUDDERSFIELD
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Carrera Blast Boys Mountain Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
August 09, 2015
By
from Hull
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: overall ride quality is really good, looks great, not to heavy for my ten year old
Cons: gears hard to twist through the full range
" Would get one in adults size for myself if they did one. Excellent quality bike, was built and ready to pick up when they said it would be including the personalised stickers, my lad loves it and we're clocking up the miles together already "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Festival goer
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? HULL (CLOUGH RD)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Carrera Blast Boys Mountain Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Upgrade,
July 25, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought an Apollo frenzy which my child wanted but after 3 months the frame bent so I took it back to halfords who offered me a refund or a new bike. I asked if I could upgrade to which they let me and they also paid the difference. Alex at the fenton branch was very helpful and this bike is far superior to the apollo "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? STOKE-ON-TRENT (FENTON)
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Carrera Blast Boys Mountain Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bikes poor personalisation.,
July 24, 2015
By
from Leicester, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: robust, easy to maintain, easy to use gears, great looking
Cons: personalisation
" Purchased two of these for my kids aged 9 & 10. The bikes are well made and robust with easy to use gears. Maintenance is relatively simple even for a novice like me. Would recommend the bikes just not the personalisation.
For £10 you can have this item personalised but be aware that it will take a week to get the letters and when you get them they are on thick plastic which look rubbish on the bike (on the bright side you do get a couple of spares for when they lift off which they certainly will do very quickly), plus they will only put them on if you request it at the time of collecting the bike. In return for your £10 be prepared to be very disappointed. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Fishing
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (ST MARGARETS WAY)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Carrera Blast Boys Mountain Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike carries the Carera name with pride,
July 23, 2015
By
from Oxford, Oxford, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: very light well built bike
" this bike is awesome, we exchanged a 3 week old Apollo for this bike as the appollo was unsuitable this bike is very well made, great gears,breaks and looks brilliant we rode it home from halfords and had everyone staring at us we rode about 6 miles first day and our grandson loves it he cannot put it away 10/10 awesome bike looks smart smooth gear change no down side with this bike not the cheapest but build quality is second to none. If anyone is thinking of buying this bike do not hesitate go for it "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? OXFORD (BETWEEN TOWNS RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Carrera Blast Boys Mountain Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera Boys Mountain Bike,
June 29, 2015
By
from Stafford, Stafford, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Our son loved this bike for his 9th birthday I would def recommend this bike to all. Super bright blue and yellow looks very stylish and trendy! Defo a brilliant buy!! "
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Which Store did you visit? STAFFORD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>