Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Kids Bikes or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Carrera Saruna Girls Hybrid Bike - 26"

With 21 speed gears the Carrera Saruna Girls Hybrid Bike really lets you speed along.
Average Customer Rating:
4.73 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
35 of 35(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Carrera Saruna Girls Hybrid Bike - 26"
Review 1 for Carrera Saruna Girls Hybrid Bike - 26"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike,
July 10, 2016
By
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought for my 8 year old daughter. Decided to go for one with 26in wheels so she can grow into it and it should last a while. A great looking and good quality bike with sensible road tyres. With the seat set low, its perfect for her. With the seat set high, her mum can ride it too!
Has good quality components for the price. Nothing to complain about. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? UXBRIDGE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carrera Saruna Girls Hybrid Bike - 26"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A really good find...,
June 18, 2016
By
from Nottingham, Nottingham, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: lightweight, shimano gears, good design
" Unlike many other bikes for girls of this age the Carrera Saruna is lightweight - weighing approximately 10.5kg. That's 5kg less than most for this size and age.
The 13" frame is well designed to adapt to a range of heights and ages and to use the larger 26" wheel size (which helps with speed and the little ones to keep up with the rest of us).
The entry level shimano tourney gears easily cater for the use they will get (though there is just no need for three cogs at the front - one would easily do and be lighter).
If you're looking for a good bike for your girl with a max budget of £200 then this is a perfect choice.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? NOTTINGHAM (VICTORIA RTL PK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carrera Saruna Girls Hybrid Bike - 26"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike,
June 15, 2016
By
from Cornwall, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" We bought this bike for our 9 year old granddaughter and she absolutely loves it. She has used this bike both on and off road and has no complaints. We would, definitely, recommend this product. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? BODMIN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carrera Saruna Girls Hybrid Bike - 26"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fab for motivating kids on longer cycle routes,
June 03, 2016
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I bought this bike for my daughter's birthday. She'd gone off cycling as her previous bikes were hand me downs and too heavy for her. This bike is a dream. A really smooth ride & light weight. Now she thinks nothing of doing 10 miles.
The service at Halfords High Wycombe was excellent & very efficient. I was very impressed. Great value for money, couldn't be happier. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Is this the child's first bike? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carrera Saruna Girls Hybrid Bike - 26"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike for my 10 year old,
May 19, 2016
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: lightweight construction
Cons: none so far
" I did a lot of research to get the right bike and so far I am delighted. My 10 year old daughter loves it, it's low weight is perfect for her and also with the wide range of adjustment it will last her a long time. So far, very happy. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? STAMFORD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carrera Saruna Girls Hybrid Bike - 26"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good bike,
May 02, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" bough this for our 9 year old as she had outgrown her old bike. we chose this for size of wheels (better for distance riding and she can now keep up with the adult riders) and also price. The bike is light enough to handle due in large part to not having suspension. Most rides on on paths and roads so the absence of suspension hasn't been an issue.
For the price its well put together and is a great transition from the smaller wheeled bike.
Gears are bedding in still (only had for 4 weeks or so) and it still looks pretty good.
All round for £199 its a good bike. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? TWICKENHAM (IVYBRIDGE CENTRE)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carrera Saruna Girls Hybrid Bike - 26"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Decent lightweight kids bike,
May 02, 2016
By
from Newcastle upon Tyne
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: lightweight
Cons: triple chainset
" Got this for my daughter who is a tall 7 year old. Should last her the next 4-5 years. The frame size is 13" means it fits a wide range of ages compared to other 26" wheel bikes.
It weighs 10.5KG - much much less than the other kids Halfords bikes which are steel and heavy. This is a good alternative to the Frog/Islabike bikes without the high price.
Quality of components is OK. Triple chainset is a bit pointless - double would be fine. But it all works and was set up correctly by North Shields store. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? NORTH SHIELDS
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carrera Saruna Girls Hybrid Bike - 26"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
rubish,
December 26, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: the wheel size
Cons: the fauly gears
" my 12 year old daughter took this bike out for a ride, sh changed the gears and it already broken. "
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? MILE END ROAD
-7points
0out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carrera Saruna Girls Hybrid Bike - 26"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera Saruna Girls Hybrid Bike - 26",
December 11, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Excellent reliable bike, great service. Would definitely recommend. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carrera Saruna Girls Hybrid Bike - 26"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Careers Saruna - perfect,
October 30, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: frame geometry perfect for a 9year old girl
Cons: why is no stand included? kids drop bikes!
" Bought this for my 9 year old, 140cm daughter as she'd outgrown her previous 20" wheel mountain bike. Spent quite a while researching bikes before shortlisting the Saruna. So far I'm pretty impressed with it, it's good value for money, lightweight and with reasonably good quality components. My daughter loves riding it and the 26" wheels mean she hopefully won't grow out of it too fast. I specifically wanted a bike with Revoshift gears as not only is my daughter used to them but I think they're more suitable for kids and simpler than trigger shifts. No suspension is a plus too as it reduces weight on a kids bike. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Is this the child's first bike? No
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carrera Saruna Girls Hybrid Bike - 26"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great looking bike, nice geometry, brought for £170,
September 16, 2015
By
from Northamptonshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: great colours and geometry, 26 inch wheels and sensible tyres
Cons: pointless triple chainset, crazy up and down halford pricing
" Ok firstly I should say this review is based on a purchase price of £170 as this bike was previously priced at £200 with extra discounts during Easter so watch out.
Well designed good looking bike for girls or boys. Components are of a relatively high standard for a kids bike, well designed frame around 26 inch wheels. Only niggle for me is the pointless triple chain set , would have preferred a simpler/cheaper/lighter single for kids as found on high end kids bikes such as Isla bike or Frog.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Carrera Saruna Girls Hybrid Bike - 26"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bike but......,
August 28, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good looks, rides smooth
Cons: halfords
" This bike looks and performs great, it's a little expensive than what I think it's worth but I would recommend it for a girl that doesn't like Pink.
However, I opted for the shop to 'professionally' assemble the bike but when I got it home and after my daughter rode it we found that gears were not set up properly, which I had to re adjust, the front reflector was missing screws so it just dangled off the handlebars and a tyre valve cap was missing.
Not very professional at all
Check your bike throughly before you take it home.
9-10 for the bike
3-10 for Halfords.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Carrera Saruna Girls Hybrid Bike - 26"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lovely bike,
July 26, 2015
By
from Birmingham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: almost everything
Cons: why such an unfortable saddle?
" This is a great bike. My 10 year old daughter loves it and can now speed away from me when we go out. It is lightweight, the gears are easy to change and the brakes are the correct size. The white and blue colour scheme is also perfect for a pink hating girl (these do exist, retailers!). "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (SELLY OAK)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Carrera Saruna Girls Hybrid Bike - 26"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great home for a child,
June 27, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: light weight, quality of components
" Great bike, my 8 year old loves it and it is perfect for her.
It is relatively light weight and very well put together with great service from the Carrickmines store. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CARRICKMINES (ROI)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Carrera Saruna Girls Hybrid Bike - 26"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gorgeous little hybrid bike, with substance as well as looks.,
June 16, 2015
By
from Seaton, Devon, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: looks like a beautiful mini version of an adult hy, has substance as well as good looks, makes riding an easier more enjoyable experience, suitable for a range of different terrains
Cons: nothing!
" Bought for my 10 year old daughter after she more than outgrew her old 20" rigid mountain bike. Looked at this and the 24" version, have to say me and my daughter much prefer the look of this over the smaller one- it is a much more 'grown up' colour for this in betweeney
She is maybe a little shorter than average for her age group and we were more than happy that this bike fit her perfectly with the seat post having plenty of growing room left as it has 21 gears compared to the 20" 7.
It has all the stays for mudguards, racks and bottle cage and to fit a kick stand.
It has quick release wheels AND seatpost, making storage and travel easy as well as quick height adjustments for quickly growing girls!
Her old bike was steel framed, heavy, had small, fat mountain bike wheels and only 6 speed. She was really struggling to cycle far, or uphill and it was starting to become a real chore for her and very uncomfortable- she wasn't enjoying it anymore. I wanted a bike that would be lighter, freewheel faster and give her more options for hill climbing as well as ensuring we can still do the things we enjoy- road, cycle path and light trail riding.
This bike fits these needs EXCELLENTLY!
The alloy frame is light, the large wheels and slimmer hybrid style tyres means faster freewheeling and more path eaten up per pedal, the stays ensure she can affix all her own things for trail rides so she feels more grown up, the frame size is big enough for a small top bar bag to take personal items and keep other areas clear for the lights, the gears make going uphill and cruising at higher speed so much easier. It also fits, with a bit of a jiggle, onto a high mount car rack easily.
It is a beautiful 'mini' hybrid and serves as a perfect introduction for this awkward age into adult bikes, while being just the size to ensure it will last them well. It is a fully functioning hybrid and compares nicely to my Specialized- they look great together!
My daughter now keeps up easily with me, can pull away from me on the straight! She doesn't tire nearly as quickly and can take hills she used to have to stop several times for in one fell swoop. Rides that used to need several breaks are now done in next to no time, easily and with plenty of energy left and a big smile.
Slight negatives- doesn't come with kickstand, but they are easy to fix; handlebar grips are ribbed and can be a little uncomfortable on a long ride- gloves, tape or just different grips solve this, no big deal; saddle is a slimline type- some kids might find this a bit uncomfortable on long rides, only way to solve is to get new saddle, which is a shame as it really suits the bike. Saying that I find ALL saddles uncomfortable without my gel cover, unfortunately they are hard to find for tiny saddles!
One more thing worth a note is that it doesn't have disc brakes like some higher end hybrids. I DO NOT class this as a negative though as it is aimed at kids! Disc brakes can be much too harsh and even dangerous for inexperienced youngsters, especially whilst they're learning to deal with the 21 gears. V-style brakes on this are perfectly fine as long as adjusted properly (as thy will be if you order from Halfords and get them to build for you) and give a more forgiving braking system!
All in all CANNOT recommend this bike enough, you won't regret buying it. Well worth the price tag.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Which Store did you visit? EXMOUTH
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Carrera Saruna Girls Hybrid Bike - 26"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally, a bike that likes to go.,
April 30, 2015
By
from Scotland, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: alloy frame, 26"wheels, 21 gears
Cons: twist grip gear changer
" Having spent an inordinate amount of time looking for a bike that would suit ordinary straightforward riding on roads and paths, I came across the Saruna. Finally a bike without oversized tyres to drag along the road and without heavy unnecessary suspension to carry around. When I saw it was alloy framed to boot I was delighted. The gears are quite easy to use but I must admit I'm not a big fan of twist grip selectors. My 9 yr old daughter is learning to use the 21 gears to the best effect and has taken her riding to a whole new level. A major plus is that this bike has 26" wheels, my daughter finds this bike much easier to push along and now enjoys a smooth ride with extra portions of freewheeling, something a mountain bike doesn't like to do. This bike has a 13" frame but because of the wheel size it will out perform the growth range of a mountain bike with the same size frame. The brakes are very easy to use and very responsive. I have changed one thing on this bike...the saddle. My daughter loved her old saddle and the one on this bike didn't convince me enough to leave it on. So, if you want a bike that will travel well, is light, sturdy and well built, then I would certainly recommend this one. "
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? ELGIN
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Carrera Saruna Girls Hybrid Bike - 26"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
light bike,
April 29, 2015
By
from Lincoln, Lincoln, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" we brought this bike for a christmas present and it was promptly stolen, we have replaced it with the same bike as we could not find a better bike for the money. It is relatively light and has a smooth ride, better than most of the leaden mountain bikes for a similar price. make sure you get a decent lock! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Which Store did you visit? LINCOLN (TRITTON)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Carrera Saruna Girls Hybrid Bike - 26"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike,
April 29, 2015
By
from Inverness, Highland, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: gear range
" A great bike for my 10 year old daughter. It looks good and rides well. The larger wheel size and range of seat height means it will last her many years. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? INVERNESS
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Carrera Saruna Girls Hybrid Bike - 26"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike,
April 29, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Full sized wheels and a light frame without unnecessary front suspension means this bike is light enough for my 8-year old but should last well into teenage years. Just what we needed. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? CHELTENHAM
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Carrera Saruna Girls Hybrid Bike - 26"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saruna Girls Hybrid 26",
April 27, 2015
By
from Fife
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought this for my daughters 9th birthday and am very impressed.
For the money £199 this is a very well built and specified bike and larger wheel size should mean I don't need to replace it until she needs an adult bike.
The quick release front wheel (they should show you in the shop how to free the brake pads) means getting in and out the car is a breeze.
The bike is alloy so light and everything seems of a very high quality.
As for the 21 gears, she's yet to use 1-7 as the ratio is so low, but the middle front group are all she currently needs.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
Which Store did you visit? DUNFERMLINE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>