Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Carrera Luna Girls Mountain Bike 2014 - 20"

The Carrera Luna Girls Mountain Bike is great for adventurous kids wanting to take on the terrain.
Average Customer Rating:
4.824 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 of 15(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Carrera Luna Girls Mountain Bike 2014 - 20"
Review 1 for Carrera Luna Girls Mountain Bike 2014 - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike for my daughter,
July 01, 2015
By Nick385
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: light aluminium frame
Cons: prefer slightly thinner mtb tyres
" The bike was built and ready on the agreed collection date and customer service was great.
I previously purchased the earlier version of this bike for my older daughter and was so pleased I decided to get this latest version for my younger daughter. You pay a little more for the aluminium frame but on the plus side the bike is lighter and easier for children to ride. Also less likely to rust so quickly (although some components will)
The tyres are a little fatter on this newer version on the 20" wheels and at the lowest setting the seat is still a little higher than expected until my daughter grows into it. She loves the bike. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? SEVENOAKS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carrera Luna Girls Mountain Bike 2014 - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb build quality,
June 18, 2015
By radley
from Kilmallock, Co. Limerick, Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: solid well built.
" Purchased this Carrera luna bike for my daughters birthday. All components are of a very high standard and as yet she hasnt broken anything (believe me she's tried!) it may be slightly more expensive than other brands but if you want a proper kids mountain bike this is the one. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? LIMERICK (ROI)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carrera Luna Girls Mountain Bike 2014 - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera Luna Girls Mountain Bike,
June 15, 2015
By NeilB73
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Recently bought this for my 8yr old daughter's birthday.
Really nice bike, which she loved. Very solid and works really well, gears very easy for her to get used to. I have one happy girl!!
Would strongly recommend, Halfords were very efficient and friendly so no complaints there either. All in all v satisfied "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carrera Luna Girls Mountain Bike 2014 - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ideal bike for 6 year old girl,
June 11, 2015
By RosieJ
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" We were looking for a bike for a 6 year old rider who is growing in confidence - on the wish list: reasonably lightweight, robust, gears, attractive - and not costing the earth.
We didn't expect to find this bike at Halfords but were really impressed with the Carrera Luna and it was love at first ride for my daughter.
Thought the 199.99 price tag was a bit steep, but the discounted price seems fair. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carrera Luna Girls Mountain Bike 2014 - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bike,
June 10, 2015
By Jackie2777
from Wokingham, Wokingham, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: light, quality, well equiped
Cons: pricey
" Nice and light, good to ride and good quality bike. "
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? READING (WINNERSH)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carrera Luna Girls Mountain Bike 2014 - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best bike for girls,
April 29, 2015
By lrahman01
from Whitechapel, London E1, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: brand
" excellent construction very well built bike for £160.00 "
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carrera Luna Girls Mountain Bike 2014 - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great bike,
February 09, 2015
By flatfish
from cornwall
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everthing - bikepricestaff all faultless
Cons: none
" simply put, my 7 yo daughter loves this bike, well equipped(even the suspension fork works a bit which is rare in a bike aimed at young kids - they're usually just decoration/added weight) gears are easy to change, brakes are easy to pull and are in easy reach for small hands, cranks are not to big, good geometery (long/stable wheelbase, bars are set at a nice height/reach) and it looks good too........ really haven't got a bad word to say about it, a credit to Carrera/Halfords own brand bikes. all for £180, brilliant :) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? BODMIN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carrera Luna Girls Mountain Bike 2014 - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect bike for my 8 year old daughter,
January 25, 2015
By Rolsterman
from Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the gears, the way it looks, light frame
Cons: squeaky brakes sometimes
" It was worth getting a bike with gear as now my daughter can easily ride up most hills. Sadie is really comfortable and the frame is light easier to handle. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? WATFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carrera Luna Girls Mountain Bike 2014 - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrerra Luna (20"),
January 19, 2015
By Fudster
from Edinburgh
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: frame style and good group set
Cons: delivered with a puncture
" My daughter loved this bike when we showed her online. We visited our local store and that was her mind made up. Quality of the bike is great and it fitted her perfectly.
I opted to have the bike picked up boxed as it was for her birthday and the dates wouldn't have it made quickly enough.
Only bad point was that I built the bike the night before her birthday and there was a split in the rear tube - so big that it couldn't even be repaired. So she woke up to her new present and couldn't use it!
In fairness to the store, they provided and new tube and repaired in the store. They also gave me a free puncture repair kit (as i'd wasted one trying to repair!). So customer service wise i can't really complain. More of a fault from manufacturing than in store.
She loves the bike and all good so far.
I bought the bike for £199.99 which seems ok value - it was quoted as being half price which i think is a bit of a marketing ploy - you'd never pay almost £400 for a bike of this size and spec!! Main thing is that my daughter's delighted!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? EDINBURGH (HERMISTON GATE)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carrera Luna Girls Mountain Bike 2014 - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
just what she wanted,
December 19, 2014
By Anonymous
from Stirling, Stirling, Stirling, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: light weight easy to go
" great bike great price my grand daughter loves it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? STIRLING
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carrera Luna Girls Mountain Bike 2014 - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value,
December 15, 2014
By Anonymous
from Cumbria, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" With 10% off, plus an additional 10% for being a British Cycling member, this was exceptional value "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? KENDAL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Carrera Luna Girls Mountain Bike 2014 - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Spec For A Great Price,
November 30, 2014
By Geestar74
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I am a serious triathlete so I know my bikes. This bike is great for the price I paid. Built quality and components are good so should last my daughter a few years "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Carrera Luna Girls Mountain Bike 2014 - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Luna,
November 17, 2014
By Snowy12
from Bourenmouth
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" A great bike and a good price with the halfords money off offer. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? CHRISTCHURCH
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Carrera Luna Girls Mountain Bike 2014 - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great bike,
November 17, 2014
By Suz15
from Hampshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Lovely bike. Daughter is delighted with it. She has only been out on it a few time but finds it easy to handle and operate the gears, brakes etc.
The only extras I would have liked was a bike stand (which we bought and had fitted by halfords) and perhaps a mud guard on the back but we can get one of those fitted too. Halfords put the bike together for free and were great.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? ANDOVER
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Carrera Luna Girls Mountain Bike 2014 - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Chrismas present,
November 16, 2014
By MrsSlowe
from Oxfordshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: comes with a bell as standard, sales man was helpful, best price for that bike i could find at the time
Cons: why does a 6 year old need 7 gears
" Purchased the Carrera Luna Girls' Mountain Bike 2014 - 20" as it was the best price I found and with an extra 10% off who could ask for more. I went into Halfords because my daughter looked like her knees were around her ears on her old bike. The chap was extremely helpful and we tried 2 different bikes. He advised this was the better quality and although its quite expensive for a bike I have a younger daughter who will also get the benefit. I also went to another bike shop and their sales guy also said it was good quality and advised my daughter should learn to ride her old bike without stableisers first. The Halfords man didn't say it would be hard to attach stablerisers to this bike because of the gears. At 6 who needs 7 gears! The child hasn't used the bike but it looks good and it rides ok to me. Its also one of the lighter bikes on the market. Purchased from Halfords as it was the best price. We picked up and they put it together for free. Extremely happy with the purchase. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? DIDCOT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Carrera Luna Girls Mountain Bike 2014 - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
carrera luna girls '20' inch,
November 16, 2014
By jamcam83
from East Sussex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: lightweight
" A very lightweight and we'll built mountain bike, much more in-line with the style of an adults bike. Priced lower that similar specified bikes.
Great looks, very pleased with the purchase would recommend to others
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? EASTBOURNE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Carrera Luna Girls Mountain Bike 2014 - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value for money,
August 10, 2014
By Craig7788
from Hampshire, uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: modern design, wider tyres than previous model, good gears, relatively light weight
Cons: rear brakes slightly soft, halfords safety checks
" Bought this bike for my 7 year old daughter who loves it. Various improvements to the previous model including better gears and wider tyres. Only advise is to check the bike over carefully when collecting as I failed to spot the rear reflector was missing. However, pleased with purchase. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? FARNBOROUGH
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.