Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Kids Bikes or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Carrera Abyss Boys Hybrid Bike - 24"

Get noticed on the brightly coloured Carrera Abyss Boys Hybrid Bike.
Average Customer Rating:
4.773 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 of 18(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Carrera Abyss Boys Hybrid Bike - 24"
Review 1 for Carrera Abyss Boys Hybrid Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike for my 8yr old,
June 24, 2016
By
from Sussex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought this for my son's 8th birthday and we are very pleased with it so far. Its a very robust bike but surprisingly light. He loves the funky green colour too. Highly recommended. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? UCKFIELD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carrera Abyss Boys Hybrid Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Light and good value,
June 01, 2016
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: light weight
Cons: grip shifter
" Decent spec for the money. Lighter than most in it's price bracket, without paying more for a frog/hoy/Isla. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carrera Abyss Boys Hybrid Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lightweight with good components,
May 23, 2016
By
from Publow, Bristol, BANES, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: lightweight
Cons: choice of colours
" Great bike for the money, managed to get a further 10% off with a Halfords code. Lightweight and rides really well. My 6 year old (tall for his age) rode it well straight off, should have plenty of room to last him a number of years. Good balance between on and off road, just right for his type of riding. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (BATH RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carrera Abyss Boys Hybrid Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a fab bike,
May 06, 2016
By
from Devon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought this bike for my grandson as an 8th birthday present ....he loves it ... Great quality has an aluminium frame so nice and light ...fantastic colour too will give him several years of biking pleasure !! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? EXMOUTH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carrera Abyss Boys Hybrid Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Bycilcle,
February 29, 2016
By
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" It is the first "big" bike my son has, and he is overwhelme with it. Has many features, makes an easy to use bycicle. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carrera Abyss Boys Hybrid Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son is very pleased with his bike,
January 13, 2016
By
from Luton, Luton, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: simple gear changing, qaulity
" We brought the Carrera Abyss for our son's birthday and he loves it. It is very well made and straight forward to ride. It is his first bike with gears and the ease of changing gear is one of the reasons we got it. So far we cannot fault this bike and would highly recommend it to anyone. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? LUTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carrera Abyss Boys Hybrid Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike,
December 17, 2015
By
from Winchester, Winchester, Hampshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Bought this bike for my sons 9th birthday as he's only just finally taken an interest in cycling. Didn't want to get anything too big and put him off or knock his confidence. It's lightweight but excellent quality and he is really enjoying riding it.
Would recommend.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? WINCHESTER
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carrera Abyss Boys Hybrid Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Size of a 20" bike - check size is right before you buy,
November 05, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I was looking online for a 24" wheel bike for my 8 year old on paper this looked perfect, but I didn't realise until I saw it in the store that this actually a 13" frame bike with 'oversize' wheels! In the shop this was grouped with the 20" bikes and was actually around the same size. A clue in the description is the 7-9 age range, same as regular 20" wheel bikes. So disappointingly too small already for my 8 year old son. Great looking bike, the online description just needs to be a bit clearer.
(Also as an added note, when I lifted it I'm sure this is not 17kg as mentioned in the description this must be an error - see also the other review re weight). Bit disappointed as this looks like a great bike, just wish it was a bit bigger!
"
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carrera Abyss Boys Hybrid Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera abyss boys,
August 17, 2015
By
from Worcester, Worcester, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: colour & quality
Cons: halfords store having to wait in store4 pickup
" Brought for our 8 year old son, took option of 24 inch wheel, son a small 8 year old, bike slightly on big side at the moment, but will be fine he will benefit in next couple of years. Very good quality, a good visible colour , be seen be safe! Gear changing easy twist on handle. Ordered on line picked up from store on a set day, note had to phone store on day for collection time, arrived at store wasn't ready had to wait 1/2 hour! Once home son rode it straight away. He loves it, also bought matching head gear. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? WORCESTER
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carrera Abyss Boys Hybrid Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boy 8th Birthday,
May 24, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" After looking at other top brands I was concerned the suspension and front derailleur configurations simply add weight. This bike is surprisingly light (I'm accustomed to carbon road bikes#. The Abyss has a good spread of gearing #rear cassette) which actually is a free-wheel, meaning it could, if required, be easily and cheaply changed for a Shimano MegaRange or similar. We're going to try it out on a few local hills as a test. Looks and styling are brilliant. I assembled at home and felt the need to tweak the spokes to true the front wheel to perfection. The rear was spot on. The quick release seat post clamp is a nice touch and makes on the road adjustments possible. On previous bikes I've purchased this as an extra. All in, very happy with the bike and at the sale price, fantastic value.
I recommend this bike.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (EASTGATE)
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carrera Abyss Boys Hybrid Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good bike for the price,
May 17, 2015
By
from Clackmannanshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I bought this bike for my 9 year old son(and the Saruna for my daughter) as they love to cycle, they cycles everyday to school and longer rides at the weekend so they need a bike that will last, They have had 18 and 20 inch Carrera MTB's in the passed which have lasted well so it was a no brainer to get another Carrera, I went for the Hybrid over the MTB because the front suspension fork just adds weight, When I seen the spec weight of 16kgs I thought it was a bit heavy but I weighed the bike and it is 11.25kgs.
First outing today and they love them. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Other hobbies: Cycling
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Carrera Abyss Boys Hybrid Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic childs bike,
March 14, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is a fab bike for a child, sturdy, lightweight and looks great. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Carrera Abyss Boys Hybrid Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Little boy very happy,
February 08, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Great value, good looking bike. Son is very happy. Gears easy to use. Perfect height with room for growth. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Carrera Abyss Boys Hybrid Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great first proper bike!,
January 22, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great first proper kids bike. Build quality and performance excellent "
Is this the child's first bike? No
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Carrera Abyss Boys Hybrid Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike for my 9 year old,
January 12, 2015
By
from Warwick, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: light, well build, should last a while
Cons: little pricey
" Bought this for his birthday and he's really pleased, he noticed the weight difference immediately. I can't really find anything negative to say about the bike, although the price was a little more than I would normally spend there is a decent amount of stem extension in the seat so should last him a fair while. "
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? LEAMINGTON SPA
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Carrera Abyss Boys Hybrid Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stunning bike,
January 04, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Really pleased with this bike. Very light and gears are protected- needed for when bikes are slammed down!! Lovely colour. Pre ordered online so you can't really tell until you see it face to face. Son was thrilled Christmas morning. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Is this the child's first bike? No
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Carrera Abyss Boys Hybrid Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike at a great price,
December 13, 2014
By
from Watford, Hertfordshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: aluminium frame, shimano components, short crank arms
Cons: nothing!
" With 3 kids and as a triathlete myself we have had a few bikes!This is the second Carrera brand bike we now own - because their aluminium frames are sturdy but a good weight and the components are reliable. No frills and no big name brand, but for my money I seriously consider these bikes to be as good as the big brand alternatives at significantly less.
On this particular bike the absence of front suspension keeps the weight down and makes the handling easier for our just-8 year old and the short (14cm) crank arms make it easier to power. The bike has a rear derailleur only, but the gear range is very good and again, keeps it simple for an 8 year old. Highly recommended.
Be careful of any mudguards you buy...mountain bike-style mudguards do not necessarily fit this bike.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? HEMEL HEMPSTEAD
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Carrera Abyss Boys Hybrid Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fantastic,
November 08, 2014
By
from Cambridge, Cambridge, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: ease of changing gears, colour
" It is a brilliant bike. Muffin loves riding it to school and back. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? CAMBRIDGE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Carrera Abyss Boys Hybrid Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Item!,
October 31, 2014
By
from Southampton, Southampton, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is great value for money! a nice solid piece of kit "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHAMPTON (HEDGE END)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Carrera Abyss Boys Hybrid Bike - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent kids bike at a good price,
October 01, 2014
By
from Galway, Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality, sizing, colour, weight
" I bought this bike for my 6 yr old son. He's quite tall at 1m 24cm and this bike is a great fit. He had outgrown his 16in bike and I was looking for a 24in bike with a frame to suite his height. I also wanted a bike with a single gear shifter and no suspension to keep the weight down. The frame is light and the brakes are excellent. My son loves the look of the bike and he took to his first bike with gears like a duck to water. This is a high quality bike at a great price. I strongly recommend this bike. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? GALWAY (ROI)
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>