Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Junior Bikes or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Carrera Abyss Boys Hybrid Bike 2014 - 24"

Get noticed on the brightly coloured Carrera Abyss Boys Hybrid Bike - 24".
Average Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Carrera Abyss Boys Hybrid Bike 2014 - 24"
Review 1 for Carrera Abyss Boys Hybrid Bike 2014 - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic childs bike,
March 14, 2015
By Steffi456
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is a fab bike for a child, sturdy, lightweight and looks great. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carrera Abyss Boys Hybrid Bike 2014 - 24"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Little boy very happy,
February 08, 2015
By Jonesy42
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Great value, good looking bike. Son is very happy. Gears easy to use. Perfect height with room for growth. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carrera Abyss Boys Hybrid Bike 2014 - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great first proper bike!,
January 22, 2015
By Steve206
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great first proper kids bike. Build quality and performance excellent "
Is this the child's first bike? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carrera Abyss Boys Hybrid Bike 2014 - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike for my 9 year old,
January 12, 2015
By Smudge28
from Warwick, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: light, well build, should last a while
Cons: little pricey
" Bought this for his birthday and he's really pleased, he noticed the weight difference immediately. I can't really find anything negative to say about the bike, although the price was a little more than I would normally spend there is a decent amount of stem extension in the seat so should last him a fair while. "
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? LEAMINGTON SPA
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carrera Abyss Boys Hybrid Bike 2014 - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stunning bike,
January 04, 2015
By nicki97
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Really pleased with this bike. Very light and gears are protected- needed for when bikes are slammed down!! Lovely colour. Pre ordered online so you can't really tell until you see it face to face. Son was thrilled Christmas morning. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Is this the child's first bike? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carrera Abyss Boys Hybrid Bike 2014 - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike at a great price,
December 13, 2014
By Tiggerdad
from Watford, Hertfordshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: aluminium frame, shimano components, short crank arms
Cons: nothing!
" With 3 kids and as a triathlete myself we have had a few bikes!This is the second Carrera brand bike we now own - because their aluminium frames are sturdy but a good weight and the components are reliable. No frills and no big name brand, but for my money I seriously consider these bikes to be as good as the big brand alternatives at significantly less.
On this particular bike the absence of front suspension keeps the weight down and makes the handling easier for our just-8 year old and the short (14cm) crank arms make it easier to power. The bike has a rear derailleur only, but the gear range is very good and again, keeps it simple for an 8 year old. Highly recommended.
Be careful of any mudguards you buy...mountain bike-style mudguards do not necessarily fit this bike.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? HEMEL HEMPSTEAD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carrera Abyss Boys Hybrid Bike 2014 - 24"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fantastic,
November 08, 2014
By MuffinTheMinstrel
from Cambridge, Cambridge, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: ease of changing gears, colour
" It is a brilliant bike. Muffin loves riding it to school and back. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? CAMBRIDGE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carrera Abyss Boys Hybrid Bike 2014 - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Item!,
October 31, 2014
By Tornado1
from Southampton, Southampton, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is great value for money! a nice solid piece of kit "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHAMPTON (HEDGE END)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carrera Abyss Boys Hybrid Bike 2014 - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent kids bike at a good price,
October 01, 2014
By lynchjl
from Galway, Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality, sizing, colour, weight
" I bought this bike for my 6 yr old son. He's quite tall at 1m 24cm and this bike is a great fit. He had outgrown his 16in bike and I was looking for a 24in bike with a frame to suite his height. I also wanted a bike with a single gear shifter and no suspension to keep the weight down. The frame is light and the brakes are excellent. My son loves the look of the bike and he took to his first bike with gears like a duck to water. This is a high quality bike at a great price. I strongly recommend this bike. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? GALWAY (ROI)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carrera Abyss Boys Hybrid Bike 2014 - 24"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gift for grandson,
September 21, 2014
By Wendy49
from Hertfordshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" This bike has been the envy of the neighbourhood - very well presented and easy for a newcomer to gears "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? STEVENAGE
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carrera Abyss Boys Hybrid Bike 2014 - 24"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera hybrid boys bike,
August 07, 2014
By Wombers
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Great bike for on and off road, my boy absolutely loves it. He finds the gear change simple to use but it causes blisters after a while (have slide hand over to twist like the throttle on a motor bike) so a traditional gear lever would work better. But that's a minor issue on what is a very well put together and keenly priced bike. "
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Is this the child's first bike? No
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.