Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Socket Sets or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Phaze 50 Piece Socket Set

The Phaze 50 Piece Socket Set is a great value, good quality socket set for DIY or car tasks.
Average Customer Rating:
4.603 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(78 Reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (78 reviews)
5 stars
51
4 stars
25
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
76 of 77(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for Phaze 50 Piece Socket Set
Review 1 for Phaze 50 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
does what I need it to do,
August 13, 2014
By Dltdebz
from Poole, Dorset
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this to do some work on my bicycle as I struggle to tighten things enough with the spanners that you would usually used, I needed to fit the towing attachment for a bike trailer on to the rear wheel and would have had to cycle 3 miles in heavy rain on the day I needed it done to get to my local halfords if I was going to get them to fit it, since then I have also used it to tighten my handle bars and tighten a wheel on a stroller and it has had the desired affect so far"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? POOLE (HIGH STREET)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Phaze 50 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect man pressie.,
January 07, 2014
By DIYshy
from stockport
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this socket set as a stocking filler for my mechanic partner. He is tricky to buy for, but he loved these. I myself know nothing about tools but he assures me that they are great quality, and I know that they were also great value. Perfect!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? STOCKPORT
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Phaze 50 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
you are good,
January 07, 2014
By badboy33
from leeds
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"the item i got was a good item and cheep i would use you a gen as all my mates will to"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Phaze 50 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for DIYers,
December 13, 2013
By Motown
from Gillingham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great for starters, good value, handy case
"This is a great starter kit for anyone who wants to tackle his/her car problems without conulsting a mechanic.
Has many sockets to choose from great for various cars and comes with a handy case to keep everything in nice and tidy."
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? CHATHAM
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Phaze 50 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fab,
December 13, 2013
By Rusty121
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the good range of socket sizes
Cons: the case seems a little bit flimsy
"Good quality product and great value for money
All rolled into one product
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? READING (SOUTH)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Phaze 50 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb product,
December 04, 2013
By kjo1982
from Swindon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very well made, brilliant price. Great value for money!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? SWINDON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Phaze 50 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor,
October 24, 2013
By KR444444
from Crawley
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Sockets are shallow, weak and there isn't a great variety of sizes.
Hex keys are odd sizes (they don't fit many bolts etc.) and don't fit into the hex key socket.
Wrench is thin so it hurts your hands if any decent force is applied.
Broken within an hour of using it.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? EAST GRINSTEAD
-6points
1out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Phaze 50 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Passenger side wing mirror,
October 19, 2013
By Senser2013
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the staff where quick and helpful
"I was in need of a ratchet set in to replace a shattered passenger side mirror on my T reg Ford Focus, simply went on-line (to Halfords.com, obviously), searched for the product, found the product, read the reviews, then reserved one at my local store. Ridiculously easy, quick and painless. After collecting the set, and having a new windscreen wiper fitted to the car while I was there. I got home, fitted the mirror housing unit, the job took about 20 minutes, job done happy customer. The whole process took less than an hour from start to finish"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Phaze 50 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Set for a good price,
June 17, 2013
By Ussel
from Hampshire UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, additional screwdriver
"I was looking for a decent socket set but didn't want to spend mega ££s on one. This has all the connections and a little screwdriver with changeable heads as well."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? FAREHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Phaze 50 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Value,
May 28, 2013
By NathanP
from South Wales
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the indestructable ratchet, 7-sided sockets
"When I first got interested in working on cars I bought this set. That was about 7 years ago. Since then I've used this kit extensively, and gradually added extra sockets, extensions etc but this kit remained at the core of my tool set.
I recently replaced the engine and suspension on my car myself and used the ratchet from this kit for a lot of the work. The ratchet in this kit has taken A LOT of abuse and still works perfectly. I've used the ratchet with a long socket & extension pushed over the handle for extra leverage on some very tough bolts and it didn't suffer any damage at all.
The sockets are 7 point (I think), which are much less prone to rounding nuts/bolt heads than the star shaped ones.
The only downsides are that the screwdriver bits worked loose and a couple have gone missing, they also went a bit rusty after a while. Also using the 10mm socket means fitting the 3/8" to 1/4" adapter. Not really a problem but does make the ratchet a bit bulkier for tight spaces.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SWANSEA
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Phaze 50 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
value for money,
May 19, 2013
By malan
from newcastle upon tyne
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: sockets
"very compact ideal to keep in your car for emergency"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? NEWCASTLE (NEWGATE STREET)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Phaze 50 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Only one problem,
February 21, 2013
By Steve32
from Worthing
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: doesn't take up much space in the boot
Cons: spark plug socket not deep enough
"I bought this as my car died away from home. The only problem I had with this was the spark plug socket wasn't deep enough for my car."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Phaze 50 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good set,
January 13, 2013
By charlie13
from basingstoke
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the range of sizes of sockets
"I bought this set unsure of weather the quality would be any good but after buying it I am really glad I chose this set as the quality was good and contains a good range of sizes."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Phaze 50 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellenct product for its value,
November 21, 2012
By Sam129
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This product is very handy to me specialy to do my DIY my car stuff. :)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Phaze 50 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the socket set does exactly what is says on the tin,
November 19, 2012
By Mags321
from Lancashire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bought for work place - does exactly what it should with no problems"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Phaze 50 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good buy,
November 18, 2012
By blademanges
from sheffield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"worth the money did what i wanted it for my kids bikes"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Phaze 50 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good for replacing spark plugs,
November 04, 2012
By MattJPH
from Watford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this to replace my spark plugs and it works well. It is robust enough for home use and comes in a case with a carry handle."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Phaze 50 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
very good,
May 18, 2012
By spannerspanner
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality
Cons: moulded plastic too tight on parts
"Quality better than price would suggest! Only downside is the case is not very practical for putting bits in and out easily - they are too tight into the plastic."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Phaze 50 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Socket Set For a Great Price,
May 18, 2012
By Baas
from London,Ealing
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: cheap price, easy to use, comes with a spark plug socket, standard socket range for almost any job, strong and sturdy
Cons: ratchet is abit flimsy, plastic casing is made of poor plastic.
Car Make Honda Cbr 125 Motorcycle
"Brought these to work on my Motorcycle.
The are a Great Buy for the Price...and is defo Value For Money.
The case that these sockets come in is the only reason why I gave it a 4/5 for Quality,since it would NOT stood the time (Soft plastic Casing,especially the see through plastic) after long use and "abuse"...I haven't Used mine that Much but would think that the plastic clips on the case will eventually gave in the more it gets used.
The sockets itself is quite strong,and sturdy and could defo take abit of a "Beating"..
The socket Range is quite remarkable,and comes with all the sockets that you would generally need to perform the job at hand..with the added bonus of a Spark Plug socket...What more do you want... ;-)
The Ratchet on the other hand is abit flimsy though and could do with abit of improvement..
But the overall view on this is a 4/5 considering the price that they go for.,,You cant strike a better deal and bargain."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Phaze 50 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Socket Set,
April 27, 2012
By DIYDaveH
from St. Albans
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Car Make Volvo
"An excellent value socket set in a handy sized presentation box. The quality feels good apart from a small spring in the hand driver which falls out when you change screwdriver bits (not a problem if you are carefull not to lose it). I can only give a 3 star performance at this point in time as I havent had a chance to use any of it yet."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>