Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop V Brakes or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Clarks CP513 Bike Cartridge

Like riding in the rain? The Clarks VRC pads are for you.
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Clarks CP513 Bike Cartridge
Review 1 for Clarks CP513 Bike Cartridge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Didn't realise...,
March 02, 2013
By ABC9876
from (The original) Washington, Tyne & Wear
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: only the pads need to be replaced!
"...how bad my old brakes were until I fitted the Clarks CP513's.
They are longer than the old brakes but were easy to fit and improved the braking efficiency (be careful not to go over the handlebars when you first try them).
I have used them in the dry and wet on tarmac - no problems.
They look like they'll handle anything I can throw at them (mud, gravel and large puddles are next).
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WASHINGTON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Clarks CP513 Bike Cartridge
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Clarks brake pads cp513,
January 06, 2013
By Cinders666
from Herts
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"These pads are very good I would say excellent but it takes a while to scrub in apart from that wet weather braking is good progressive rather than a sudden stop so predictable under hard braking in the dry excels I always use these pads when I replace the originals make sure you set them correctly against the rim or they will squeal a bit highly recommended pity these pads didn't come as standard with a new bike"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Clarks CP513 Bike Cartridge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brakes,
March 13, 2011
By marinman
from mersyside
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"good quality and easy to fit.excellent performance and with halford buy one get one half price means grate value."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Clarks CP513 Bike Cartridge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Better value than the Clarks CP510,
October 18, 2010
By PhilsFeedback
from South East England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"After reading other reviews, I bought these for my rear brakes. On my bike the fit happens to be a very tight tolerance (even using the old, thinner spacers from the previous blocks), but the brakes perform well and even though they sit very close to the wheel, there doesn't appear to be any interference. The best thing is that you get a spare set of replacement blocks which in my opinion, makes them better value than the CP510 blocks I have on my front wheel. The CP510s break ok, but seem to be wearing a bit faster and I don't think they're going to last anything like as long as the CP513 if you take the spare blocks into account."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Clarks CP513 Bike Cartridge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great item,
March 15, 2010
By Anonymous
from Edinburgh
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"These are great pads. Easy to fit, easy to replace pads and the fact that they come with a spare set of pads is great value. These arrived quickly too!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Clarks CP513 Bike Cartridge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clarks CP513 Bike Cartridge,
January 20, 2010
By theflycat
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very pleased. Bought these for my sons bike and they work very well. Much better than the originals and it's a very expensive bike! Comes with 2 pairs of blocks and you can easily get refills. Good value and enviromentally friendly cos you reuse the metal bits!!!!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Clarks CP513 Bike Cartridge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Breaks,
September 26, 2009
By BrightonCyclist
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've used them on the back and now the replacement one is in. Think it lasted quite a time not sure how long, about the same as others probably. I just got another set for the front. They worked out the cheapest one from the store because of the replacement blocks in the pack, and that after you can buy the refills separate.
They work well and think they have a slightly bigger breaking surface than others. Its easy to pull the pin out and slide the replacement in as fits well. :-)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Clarks CP513 Bike Cartridge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great brakes.,
October 02, 2008
By chazaeh
from newport
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great performance, consistent wet weather performance, the grooves really work, the silver cartridge looks really good
Cons: can get clogged with mud if its really deep.
"These are very good brakes, if yours don't satisfy your needs then these definately will. The performance is great and hasn't faded since i bought them six months ago. Wear in is about 5 miles with reasonably frequent braking. The wet weather performance is very good but they do tend to squeal when wet."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
About Me: I'm a cycling enthusiast and like top quality products and brands
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.