Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit

Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit for cleaning, re-proofing & protecting fabric hoods.
Average Customer Rating:
4.047 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
4
38 of 43(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer Reviews for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Review 1 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quick and brilliant finish,
August 07, 2014
By Seanie69Ranks
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quick simply and great finish
"was told about this product and thought yeah give it a go. so glad i did. quick, simply and easy to use"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? ENFIELD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Good product but with flaws,
July 23, 2014
By ProfessionalValeter
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This product is an excellent product overall but there are flaws which have an effect on the overall rating.
The product itself is excellent, the cleaner cleans the fabric top perfectly and the protector makes the hood look like it's been waxed liked the bodywork! The water beads, and rolls off - so great protection.
Unfortunately you have to buy the 'kit' - there is far too much cleaner compared to the protector. I think it should be sold separately (at half the price) or the amount of cleaner should be at least 1/4 the amount (and less money for the kit). I have around 5 full bottles of cleaner and no protector, which is a shameful waste. The protector is enough to do a BMW 3-series sized roof, once (maybe twice at a push) but the cleaner only needs a very small amount and therefore you always have lots of cleaner left. You can't just use the cleaner as and when or for touch-ups as you have to apply the protector afterwards.
The other main thing I have an issue with is the spray nozzle itself. As with other reviewers who have made mention of the spray stopping working, I too have found the same. I have used the kit about 6 times, and ALL sprays have stopped working - sometimes I nearly get the full roof done but other times I'll be half way through. I then use the spray from the cleaner bottle but then this also does the same. That's 12 spray nozzles which have all done the same - it's just not good enough. I use a lot of other Autoglym products and none of the sprays on those have ever ceased to work. Another reviewer mentioned particles in the protector blocking the nozzle - this may be the case.
To summarise: the product is excellent at doing what it should, however the application is impaired and a complete pain. Be prepared for the nozzle to fail and make sure you have a spare otherwise the finish you achieve will be affected (patches etc.)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Auto glum,
July 06, 2014
By TWhite
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: ruined the soft top
"Really disappointed with this product - I followed the instructions (even the patch test) but it's left the soft top looking like a patchwork quilt - squares of lighter colour all over it. It looks awful and the marks I wanted rid of are still there. It's obviously not that easy to use.
I didn't even get as far as using the proofer as the instructions said you needed yet another product to remove the run-off on windows and paintwork (which I didn't notice when reading in store and so didn't buy that additional product), so I daren't risk ruining the paintwork. I'm glad I didn't now I've seen the disaster of the first stage."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A litle goes a long way!!,
May 09, 2014
By Susiepip
from Newcastle upon Tyne
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"firstly, watch a "HOW TO" video on you tube, it makes it so easy!! I've read reviews with people saying they used almost half the products in one go, make sure your hood is really wet before you start.I reckon I will get a good few cleans of my mini hood with this kit... I put the cleaner on in sections and really sponged it well, and make sure its rinsed off really well. When you use the protector hold it a little way away from the hood and coverage is good. my hood looks like new, its darker, brighter and it didn't take long at all. great product."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? NEWCASTLE (KINGSTON RTL PK)
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says it does,
March 20, 2014
By Oldgit22
from Surrey
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, enough for a couple of applications, cleaned the hood a treat
Cons: cleaner will last longer than the protector
"I was surprised to read the negative comments about the product! If I had read them first I probably wouldn't have used it and would have missed a great product.
I used it on my 14 year old Saab. The hood wasn't that dirty as the car has always been garaged.. I followed the instructions from YouTube and was very pleased with the results. Only used half the protector and a small amount of the cleaner . I'm surprised that some reviewers have said there is only enough protector for one application.. I did apply in the garage so maybe I didn't lose any to the wind!!
To summarise.. Easy to use and very happy with the results.. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it!!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
disappointed,
March 17, 2014
By glennyshock
from rushden
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"disappointed with this product.The cleaner did not remove some blemishes on hood even after 3 goes.The conditioner spray bottle stopped working after 3 sprays.Found it clogged with bits.Shook well before use but had bits in it.Emptied into a clean jug and saw all the bits floating around.Used a strainer and put into another spray bottle and worked fine.At the price expected better.Next time will use baby shampoo and tent proofer."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WELLINGBOROUGH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kit only,
December 05, 2013
By spike65
from Ryedale
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Pity Autoglym don't sell the products in this pack as seperate items. Its take only a small amount of cleaner but half the re-proofer to do my MX5 hood , so ends up quite expensive."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SCARBOROUGH
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Autoglym roof cleaner,
October 06, 2013
By Pt64
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This product was widely recommended on many forums, and did not dissapoint. Follow the instructions and make sure the wash cycle is properly rinsed off. Job done."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very pleased,
September 24, 2013
By steveml
from Manchester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: does what it says on the bottles
Cons: trigger spray stopped working
"First time I'd cleaned the roof after 4 years (Chrysler Crossfire). It took a fair bit of rubbing and elbow grease but I am very pleased with the results. Algae spots removed and roof looks darker and fresher (almost like new). Trigger spray dispenser not too clever on protector bottle as packed in half way through (this seems to be a common problem."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? OLDHAM
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is good.,
September 17, 2013
By 51siggy
from Devon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good item
"Very good item my hood now looks how it should,a little costly but good.Easy to order and pick up."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? NEWTON ABBOT
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
September 13, 2013
By Chalkiefox
from Coalville, Leicestershire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very good product, you may at first think its a little pricey but it does an excellent job. I have a 12 year old MG and it cleaned up the roof very well. Still have plenty left to re-do further treatments."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? LOUGHBOROUGH
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
clogging applicator,
August 19, 2013
By malcmg
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Took a chance on product after reading some critical reviews concerning clogging of the spray bottle.
Same thing happened to me, applying to the last 10% of hood area and no more protector being sprayed, trying to dab on from bottle with paper towel has left white residue. My hood wasn't very dirty, but some areas still look slightly patchy, perhaps i missed the sponging process, but in any case more work is needed.
Not impressed!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? RUSTINGTON
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Product!,
August 01, 2013
By DDI13
from Reading
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
"I bought this product for mt BMW Z4M roadster.
A great product when used correctly and really does bring out the fabric roof.
Gets better with a few applications.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? READING (OXFORD RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If used right it is very effective,
July 21, 2013
By Haiky
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I used to have a mobile car valeting company and was trained by autoglym. Value for money wise it will probably past 2 cleans and seals (if done properly) but the results are very good. I used. On my wife's convertible mini recently and it looked near new. I did spend about 1 and a half ours doing it the but the results were worth it. When it rained or even just spraying water on the water beaded off nice and you could blow it dry with your mouth. Highly recommended. I didn't Have an issue with the spray nozzle like some other reviewers (if you have that problem just transfer the product into another clean bottle?). Will use it again."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
Which Store did you visit? DUNSTABLE
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GOOD System,
July 20, 2013
By Jimbo45
from Fife
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This kit is very good in that it cleans the fabric and refurbishes it but while there is plenty of cleaning stuff to complete the job several times, there is only enough re-proofing to do my SAAB once."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? KIRKCALDY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Autoglym Fabric Hood,
June 02, 2013
By itc1257
from Lancashire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Easy to use, watch the video on the Autoglym website before you start it shows you just how to do it. It's not rained yet but the bird pooh washed straight off"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? BURNLEY
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
autoglym cabriolet fabric hood kit,
May 15, 2013
By unhappy34
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"this product could have been really good if it worked!
I took this product back twice in the end received a full refund.
The said item s did not spray out of the nozzles.
Even after everybody in Halfords trying!
Im very suprised you asked me to review it.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-5points
2out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Disappointed,
May 04, 2013
By Mitch1991
from Leeds
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Brought this product based on the good reviews. My Audi's soft top isn't mucky by any standards but the cleaner failed to move even tiny bits of muck even with a lot of scrubbing. The protector was the worst part though the spray is useless and stops spraying completely for the most part so you spend the majority of your time trying to get it to spray. Considering Autoglym products are normally very good I'm surprised by quite how dreadful and infuriating this is ... Stay well clear!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Which Store did you visit? PONTEFRACT
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job perfectly,
May 03, 2013
By Goldbrick
from Bristol
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cleans and protects
"This fabric hood cleaning kit is the boss. I've cleaned my A4 Cab roof and has cleared virtually all dirt and after applying the after care the rain just runs straight off the roof A+++"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (WINTERSTOKE)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
use elbow grease too!!,
March 22, 2013
By genevieve123
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: excellent customer service -quick answer to probs.
"I like Auto Glym products - they mostly do what they say on the tin. Perhaps I asked rather a lot of this particular fabric hood cleaner when I required it to remove at least two years green algae stains - I live in an area of Cornwall where the air is too clean and promotes this particular algae everywhere.
Ok. So don't expect instant miracles if the fabric is in a bit of a state. The sponge I replaced for a soft brush for better results and with patience and several attempts, the once beautiful navy blue of my Volvo Convertible's hood is beginning to show again. I'd forgotten it was such a lovely colour!
Thankyou Autoglym."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? TRURO
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>