Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit

Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit for cleaning, re-proofing & protecting fabric hoods.
Average Customer Rating:
3.884 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
7
35 of 43(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer Reviews for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Review 1 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
UESSLESS!,
July 14, 2016
By
from CRAWLEY
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: nothing!
Cons: any of it
" So i thought this would be good, i did exactly what it said, i have a mini soft top black roof, its green from winter, i used the sponge which is useless!! i scrubbed and scrubbed, i let it dry, we have a rare sunny day!! The green is still there, what a waste of money, i did do it again with a nail brush.....its made no difference, now im stuck with a roof that looks worse before i started! NOT HAPPY "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? CRAWLEY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy it when on offer and save for the late spring!,
June 27, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Pick it up when it is on offer and save it to use in the spring/autumn.
My advice is remove the fabric hood & frame from your car and jet wash it to get rid of any mould. Then use the Autoglym fabric hood kit before refitting to the car. It is easy to use but messy if you get it on the paint & glass, plus you can't really jet wash the hood when it is on the car without risking soaking the interior.
When finished the water beads nicely on the roof but has none that ugly inconsistency you can so easily get with Renovo. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very disappointed,
June 14, 2016
By
from Gloucester, Gloucester, UK
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" Having used Autoglym products for over 20 years it was the natural choice when choosing a hood cleaner, for a mini convertible
Having watched the online video - I waited for the right weather conditions - I began to clean the hood - this took several goes - using the entire bottle of cleaner.
I followed the instructions to the letter, but it still left green algae marks and staining from tree sap.
I cleaned the roof three times with only slight improvement.
Once damp I applied the re-proofer - again waiting for the wind to drop and masking of paintwork and Windows.
The trigger on the bottle gave up after a few squirts, making the process difficult. Coverage seemed good but difficult to see if you'd covered the whole roof.
The car was left to dry as instructed.
It was the. That I could still see the marks.
Overall very disappointed at the quality of the cleaner for the cost.
The re- proofer to be fair as been quite good and the water beads well.
I will be looking for another brand/ type of cleaner in future. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? STROUD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product.,
May 01, 2016
By
from Northern Ireland, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the product does as it states
" Does what it says. My soft top was green & this product was used twice only & restored the roof to the original look. I will use this more frequently in the future to prevent the soft top getting so bad. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? CRAIGAVON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good but Expensive,
March 09, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" It's the best on the market, but expensive. It's kept my 11yr old Mercs soft top in perfect condition. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looks as good as new,
February 05, 2016
By
from Banbury, Banbury, Oxfordshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" A really easy product to use and the results are great. The roof looks likes new with no green anywhere. The cleaning process is easy because you get everything you need. I highly recommend this product to keep your soft tops looking fabulous. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? BANBURY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
A Total Waste Of Money, Time & Effort.,
March 24, 2015
By
from Northampton, Northampton, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" The item cost me £21.99, and the next morning the roof looked no different to the day before. My advice would be to save your money and get a local pro to do the work for you, I paid £35 all in for an inside and outside wash/clean and Roof washing and reproofing. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? NORTHAMPTON (WEEDON RD)
-6points
6out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Ongoing care,
February 19, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Have used this a number of times over the years. Can take a few applications if your fabric is badly soiled however once complete depending how often you expose the roof to rain one application usually does a whole 'summer season' Enough for two full applications. Rain forms droplette justs as your newly waxed paintwork would. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? EDINBURGH (SEAFIELD)
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product,
November 13, 2014
By
from England, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Bought this for the first time to do hood on my jimny, easy to use.
So far so good.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? STAFFORD
-5points
1out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quick and brilliant finish,
August 07, 2014
By
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quick simply and great finish
" was told about this product and thought yeah give it a go. so glad i did. quick, simply and easy to use "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? ENFIELD
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Good product but with flaws,
July 23, 2014
By
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This product is an excellent product overall but there are flaws which have an effect on the overall rating.
The product itself is excellent, the cleaner cleans the fabric top perfectly and the protector makes the hood look like it's been waxed liked the bodywork! The water beads, and rolls off - so great protection.
Unfortunately you have to buy the 'kit' - there is far too much cleaner compared to the protector. I think it should be sold separately (at half the price) or the amount of cleaner should be at least 1/4 the amount (and less money for the kit). I have around 5 full bottles of cleaner and no protector, which is a shameful waste. The protector is enough to do a BMW 3-series sized roof, once (maybe twice at a push) but the cleaner only needs a very small amount and therefore you always have lots of cleaner left. You can't just use the cleaner as and when or for touch-ups as you have to apply the protector afterwards.
The other main thing I have an issue with is the spray nozzle itself. As with other reviewers who have made mention of the spray stopping working, I too have found the same. I have used the kit about 6 times, and ALL sprays have stopped working - sometimes I nearly get the full roof done but other times I'll be half way through. I then use the spray from the cleaner bottle but then this also does the same. That's 12 spray nozzles which have all done the same - it's just not good enough. I use a lot of other Autoglym products and none of the sprays on those have ever ceased to work. Another reviewer mentioned particles in the protector blocking the nozzle - this may be the case.
To summarise: the product is excellent at doing what it should, however the application is impaired and a complete pain. Be prepared for the nozzle to fail and make sure you have a spare otherwise the finish you achieve will be affected (patches etc.) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
+32points
34out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Auto glum,
July 06, 2014
By
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: ruined the soft top
" Really disappointed with this product - I followed the instructions (even the patch test) but it's left the soft top looking like a patchwork quilt - squares of lighter colour all over it. It looks awful and the marks I wanted rid of are still there. It's obviously not that easy to use.
I didn't even get as far as using the proofer as the instructions said you needed yet another product to remove the run-off on windows and paintwork (which I didn't notice when reading in store and so didn't buy that additional product), so I daren't risk ruining the paintwork. I'm glad I didn't now I've seen the disaster of the first stage. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A litle goes a long way!!,
May 09, 2014
By
from Newcastle upon Tyne
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" firstly, watch a "HOW TO" video on you tube, it makes it so easy!! I've read reviews with people saying they used almost half the products in one go, make sure your hood is really wet before you start.I reckon I will get a good few cleans of my mini hood with this kit... I put the cleaner on in sections and really sponged it well, and make sure its rinsed off really well. When you use the protector hold it a little way away from the hood and coverage is good. my hood looks like new, its darker, brighter and it didn't take long at all. great product. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? NEWCASTLE (KINGSTON RTL PK)
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says it does,
March 20, 2014
By
from Surrey
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, enough for a couple of applications, cleaned the hood a treat
Cons: cleaner will last longer than the protector
" I was surprised to read the negative comments about the product! If I had read them first I probably wouldn't have used it and would have missed a great product.
I used it on my 14 year old Saab. The hood wasn't that dirty as the car has always been garaged.. I followed the instructions from YouTube and was very pleased with the results. Only used half the protector and a small amount of the cleaner . I'm surprised that some reviewers have said there is only enough protector for one application.. I did apply in the garage so maybe I didn't lose any to the wind!!
To summarise.. Easy to use and very happy with the results.. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it!!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
disappointed,
March 17, 2014
By
from rushden
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
" disappointed with this product.The cleaner did not remove some blemishes on hood even after 3 goes.The conditioner spray bottle stopped working after 3 sprays.Found it clogged with bits.Shook well before use but had bits in it.Emptied into a clean jug and saw all the bits floating around.Used a strainer and put into another spray bottle and worked fine.At the price expected better.Next time will use baby shampoo and tent proofer. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WELLINGBOROUGH
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kit only,
December 05, 2013
By
from Ryedale
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Pity Autoglym don't sell the products in this pack as seperate items. Its take only a small amount of cleaner but half the re-proofer to do my MX5 hood , so ends up quite expensive. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SCARBOROUGH
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Autoglym roof cleaner,
October 06, 2013
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This product was widely recommended on many forums, and did not dissapoint. Follow the instructions and make sure the wash cycle is properly rinsed off. Job done. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very pleased,
September 24, 2013
By
from Manchester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: does what it says on the bottles
Cons: trigger spray stopped working
" First time I'd cleaned the roof after 4 years (Chrysler Crossfire). It took a fair bit of rubbing and elbow grease but I am very pleased with the results. Algae spots removed and roof looks darker and fresher (almost like new). Trigger spray dispenser not too clever on protector bottle as packed in half way through (this seems to be a common problem. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? OLDHAM
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is good.,
September 17, 2013
By
from Devon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good item
" Very good item my hood now looks how it should,a little costly but good.Easy to order and pick up. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? NEWTON ABBOT
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
September 13, 2013
By
from Coalville, Leicestershire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Very good product, you may at first think its a little pricey but it does an excellent job. I have a 12 year old MG and it cleaned up the roof very well. Still have plenty left to re-do further treatments. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? LOUGHBOROUGH
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>