Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit

Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit for cleaning, re-proofing & protecting fabric hoods.
Average Customer Rating:
4.154 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
35 of 39(90%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer Reviews for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Review 1 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says it does,
March 20, 2014
By Oldgit22
from Surrey
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, enough for a couple of applications, cleaned the hood a treat
Cons: cleaner will last longer than the protector
"I was surprised to read the negative comments about the product! If I had read them first I probably wouldn't have used it and would have missed a great product.
I used it on my 14 year old Saab. The hood wasn't that dirty as the car has always been garaged.. I followed the instructions from YouTube and was very pleased with the results. Only used half the protector and a small amount of the cleaner . I'm surprised that some reviewers have said there is only enough protector for one application.. I did apply in the garage so maybe I didn't lose any to the wind!!
To summarise.. Easy to use and very happy with the results.. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it!!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
disappointed,
March 17, 2014
By glennyshock
from rushden
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"disappointed with this product.The cleaner did not remove some blemishes on hood even after 3 goes.The conditioner spray bottle stopped working after 3 sprays.Found it clogged with bits.Shook well before use but had bits in it.Emptied into a clean jug and saw all the bits floating around.Used a strainer and put into another spray bottle and worked fine.At the price expected better.Next time will use baby shampoo and tent proofer."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WELLINGBOROUGH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kit only,
December 05, 2013
By spike65
from Ryedale
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Pity Autoglym don't sell the products in this pack as seperate items. Its take only a small amount of cleaner but half the re-proofer to do my MX5 hood , so ends up quite expensive."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SCARBOROUGH
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Autoglym roof cleaner,
October 06, 2013
By Pt64
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This product was widely recommended on many forums, and did not dissapoint. Follow the instructions and make sure the wash cycle is properly rinsed off. Job done."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very pleased,
September 24, 2013
By steveml
from Manchester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: does what it says on the bottles
Cons: trigger spray stopped working
"First time I'd cleaned the roof after 4 years (Chrysler Crossfire). It took a fair bit of rubbing and elbow grease but I am very pleased with the results. Algae spots removed and roof looks darker and fresher (almost like new). Trigger spray dispenser not too clever on protector bottle as packed in half way through (this seems to be a common problem."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? OLDHAM
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is good.,
September 17, 2013
By 51siggy
from Devon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good item
"Very good item my hood now looks how it should,a little costly but good.Easy to order and pick up."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? NEWTON ABBOT
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
September 13, 2013
By Chalkiefox
from Coalville, Leicestershire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very good product, you may at first think its a little pricey but it does an excellent job. I have a 12 year old MG and it cleaned up the roof very well. Still have plenty left to re-do further treatments."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? LOUGHBOROUGH
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
clogging applicator,
August 19, 2013
By malcmg
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Took a chance on product after reading some critical reviews concerning clogging of the spray bottle.
Same thing happened to me, applying to the last 10% of hood area and no more protector being sprayed, trying to dab on from bottle with paper towel has left white residue. My hood wasn't very dirty, but some areas still look slightly patchy, perhaps i missed the sponging process, but in any case more work is needed.
Not impressed!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? RUSTINGTON
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Product!,
August 01, 2013
By DDI13
from Reading
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
"I bought this product for mt BMW Z4M roadster.
A great product when used correctly and really does bring out the fabric roof.
Gets better with a few applications.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? READING (OXFORD RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If used right it is very effective,
July 21, 2013
By Haiky
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I used to have a mobile car valeting company and was trained by autoglym. Value for money wise it will probably past 2 cleans and seals (if done properly) but the results are very good. I used. On my wife's convertible mini recently and it looked near new. I did spend about 1 and a half ours doing it the but the results were worth it. When it rained or even just spraying water on the water beaded off nice and you could blow it dry with your mouth. Highly recommended. I didn't Have an issue with the spray nozzle like some other reviewers (if you have that problem just transfer the product into another clean bottle?). Will use it again."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
Which Store did you visit? DUNSTABLE
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GOOD System,
July 20, 2013
By Jimbo45
from Fife
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This kit is very good in that it cleans the fabric and refurbishes it but while there is plenty of cleaning stuff to complete the job several times, there is only enough re-proofing to do my SAAB once."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? KIRKCALDY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Autoglym Fabric Hood,
June 02, 2013
By itc1257
from Lancashire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Easy to use, watch the video on the Autoglym website before you start it shows you just how to do it. It's not rained yet but the bird pooh washed straight off"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? BURNLEY
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
autoglym cabriolet fabric hood kit,
May 15, 2013
By unhappy34
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"this product could have been really good if it worked!
I took this product back twice in the end received a full refund.
The said item s did not spray out of the nozzles.
Even after everybody in Halfords trying!
Im very suprised you asked me to review it.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-4points
2out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Disappointed,
May 04, 2013
By Mitch1991
from Leeds
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Brought this product based on the good reviews. My Audi's soft top isn't mucky by any standards but the cleaner failed to move even tiny bits of muck even with a lot of scrubbing. The protector was the worst part though the spray is useless and stops spraying completely for the most part so you spend the majority of your time trying to get it to spray. Considering Autoglym products are normally very good I'm surprised by quite how dreadful and infuriating this is ... Stay well clear!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Which Store did you visit? PONTEFRACT
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job perfectly,
May 03, 2013
By Goldbrick
from Bristol
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cleans and protects
"This fabric hood cleaning kit is the boss. I've cleaned my A4 Cab roof and has cleared virtually all dirt and after applying the after care the rain just runs straight off the roof A+++"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (WINTERSTOKE)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
use elbow grease too!!,
March 22, 2013
By genevieve123
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: excellent customer service -quick answer to probs.
"I like Auto Glym products - they mostly do what they say on the tin. Perhaps I asked rather a lot of this particular fabric hood cleaner when I required it to remove at least two years green algae stains - I live in an area of Cornwall where the air is too clean and promotes this particular algae everywhere.
Ok. So don't expect instant miracles if the fabric is in a bit of a state. The sponge I replaced for a soft brush for better results and with patience and several attempts, the once beautiful navy blue of my Volvo Convertible's hood is beginning to show again. I'd forgotten it was such a lovely colour!
Thankyou Autoglym."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? TRURO
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
A little bit disappointed,
March 02, 2013
By Trerecoco
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I read the reviews of this and thought I'd try it on my fabric astra hood. It cleaned it but did not get rid of the the couple of green speckles. It says there's enough for 2 washes which is stupid and who ever claims there is must have a toy car or something I used nearly full bottle. Would like to find a better hood cleaner but it's only 1 on market I can find so would stupidly buy again"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hood cleaner,
February 23, 2013
By Junaid00786
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"For. Best results leave the solution on the hood for 5 hrs, this will absorbe and destroy the bacteria and make the hood like new again"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 3
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hood average cleaner,
November 17, 2012
By Evodad
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: good sponge and cleanser
Cons: cleanser hard to tell when clean
"Brought this as rated well at autocar, after two applications and pretty vigorous scrubbing still had attacks of green left under rear window, heard baby bath and Milton is the best followed fabrisil, might try this next time particularly as waterproof only just about enough for 1 and a half tt roof, obviously I was being over zealous as it was suppose to do two!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Autoglym Cabriolet Fabric Hood Maintenance Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Because it was worth it,
January 23, 2012
By yogababy
from London, England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cons: it would be good if the solution was coloured
Car Make Mazda mx5
"I needn't have been worried about this product. It was very effective and besides requiring some solid elbow grease, the finish is impressive. My roof looks better than ever before."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
12next>>