Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Autosol Metal Polish 75g

Autosol Metal Polish cleverly removes oxidation, corrosion, stains, rust and bluing on pipes
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 of 14(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Autosol Metal Polish 75g
Review 1 for Autosol Metal Polish 75g
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
solvol autosol,
August 15, 2013
By jacvalad
from bradford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use and results
"first used this in 1966 to polish an aluminium petrol tank on a trials motorbike. the results were brilliant...been using this brand ever since.. cannot fault it!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? BRADFORD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Autosol Metal Polish 75g
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top drawer product,
June 10, 2013
By dmcn
from Daventry, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: easy to use, attacks rust as well as tarnish, bright shiny finish
"This provides a superb result. Sorts out minor rust patches, and brings up neglected brightwork into a gleaming shine. You also need far less of it than you might think. It is an absolute joy to use - easy, with brilliant results. My only complaint is that it doesn't also sort out dents as well :-) It really is that good."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? DAVENTRY
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Autosol Metal Polish 75g
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gleaming Valkyrie,
February 16, 2013
By Evertonmint
from Ormskirk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The bike is 13 years old...the chrome has taken a battering but the Autosol has returned the gleam...bit to clean for sons of anarchy....but heh!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Autosol Metal Polish 75g
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant,
September 30, 2012
By Anonymous
from Fife
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use and very satisfying seeing the results
"I used this on my 350z exhaust. I couldn't believe the difference after using it…the tips looked brand new again."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Autosol Metal Polish 75g
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best metal polish there is,
July 29, 2012
By simplesimonsilkman
from Macclesfield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Car Make VW
"I first discovered Solvol Autosol over 30 yrs ago while working in my family garage. I have used it ever since. It's one of those products that as soon as I'm running out, I buy another tube so I've always got some in. As I just have from Halfords. I use it on my cars, mine & the kids bicycles, around the house on letterboxes,door handles & tools. It continues to give excellent results & still surprises me at times on the finish I get. It just works,Brilliant."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Autosol Metal Polish 75g
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A seriously good metal polish,
July 06, 2012
By Angri
from Nottingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Car Make Mercedes
"Solvol Autosol,
45 years ago when I spent much time polishing bikes and cars - I discovered Solvol Autosol was the best in terms of (little) effort needed to get a good lasting shine - and the quality and durability of the finish.
I bought some this week from Halfords to polish the external bright metal on our Barge.
And Solvol Autosol is JUST as good as it was all those decades ago!
"Time has not dimmed its shine""
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Autosol Metal Polish 75g
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
polish,
April 05, 2012
By derkat
from Worcester,England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Car Make peugeot
"Great value for the money. Small amount needed for a big shine every time"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Autosol Metal Polish 75g
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Old school polish,
February 29, 2012
By Albert1918
from watford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: cost
Car Make mazda
"this is stil the best polish on the market polishes everything. I have been using for 35 years."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Autosol Metal Polish 75g
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good,
September 30, 2011
By reaper7494
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: works very well at removing rust, good size tube/value
"My bike has a lot of cheap chinese chrome, so it rust's very easily. I bought the Autosol polish, and with minimal effort it got 99% of the rust off, only the deep set stuff remained, Very happy with the purchase"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Autosol Metal Polish 75g
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best seller!,
October 18, 2010
By LupoDub
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great for winter
"I use this on the dishes of my alloys for winter protection and it leaves a great shine and invisible wax so the dirt doesnt stick to the dish itself. Also great on exhaust pipes and engine blocks."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Autosol Metal Polish 75g
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Autosol for shiny stuff!,
February 19, 2010
By DaveCHCI
from Stoke-on-Trent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quick and easy, only need to use a small amount, removes carbon quickly
Cons: tube is small-ish
"I use this on engine bay chrome and stainless steel exhaust pipes. Very quick and easy to use, removes carbon deposits very quickly. Excellent buy."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Autosol Metal Polish 75g
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great polish for bike,
August 23, 2009
By embokarl
from Wrexham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this item to pollish my motorbike frame. I used other cleaners however then never seemed to work. When i used Auto Sol I could see the muck coming off the bike and could easily tell the difference with a mirror finish. It does involve alot of time and effort however is worth every penny and second. My motorbike now looks better then ever."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Autosol Metal Polish 75g
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handy hint,
May 20, 2009
By Clarence
from London , England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: multi purpose
Cons: not usually marketed for internal bathroom chrome
"I bought this product on the recommendation of an interior designer. I needed a solution for my chrome taps and bathroom fittings. After trying several traditionally marketed bathroom cleaning products which weren't able to remove the tarnish on the chrome, I tried Autosol. Only a very samll amount of product is needed and the results are amazing. I am 100% satisfied with the product and recommend it for internal use on expensive fittings."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Autosol Metal Polish 75g
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top Metal Cleaner,
February 09, 2009
By Skips
from Lincoln
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: works a dream, great for getting rid of aggression, easy to use
Cons: you can get mucky so wear gloves, the paste will mark clothing, won't work on a laquered surface
"This stuff is a godsend. If you have any chrome/polished metal e.g. a 'bike, then this is the stuff. To get a really nice finish apply with either a piece of old denim, or better still the rough side of a piece of an old leather belt. Apply the paste directly to the cloth/leather and really rub it in until it almost disappears, or the paste is grey with muck. Then wipe off with a cloth and Roberts your Father brother. It works wonders on any plated or plain metal work."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.