Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Shampoo, Polish & Wax or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Autosol Metal Polish 75g

Autosol Metal Polish cleverly removes oxidation, corrosion, stains, rust and bluing on pipes
Average Customer Rating:
4.938 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 of 16(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Autosol Metal Polish 75g
Review 1 for Autosol Metal Polish 75g
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great results,
May 18, 2016
By
from Bedfordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: it's easy to use
" I purchased this product after my boyfriend had cleaned our stainless steal hob with cillet bang, it had left it tarnished and so after searching on the Internet for ideas I decided to use Autosol it brought back to its original condition. I'm very pleased that I don't have to purchase a new hob. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? DUNSTABLE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Autosol Metal Polish 75g
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what says on Tin,
September 24, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" Used to polish up chrome exhausts tips on an Audi S5 combined with some tar removed, does what it says and much improved finish. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? UXBRIDGE
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Autosol Metal Polish 75g
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality product for the price,
April 21, 2015
By
from Huntingdon, Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Works a treat on any sort of metal and brightwork. Gave my matte dull chrome bumper a new lease of life, also worked well on alloy wheels. Recommend this item to anyone that wants to revive there metal trim. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? HUNTINGDON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Autosol Metal Polish 75g
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product. Does what it says on the 'box'.,
February 17, 2015
By
from Cornwa
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: online reservation/ordering, great value, quality product
Cons: bad customer service
" Product good, and great value.
Used reserve and collect facility using Halfords.com.
The product was not ready, and the member of staff I spoke to gave impression that he was put out to go and collect item from shelf.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CAMBORNE
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Autosol Metal Polish 75g
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent metal polish,
November 18, 2014
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This product removed pitting from a Chrome bumper which I thought might be unrecoverable. Highly recommended. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? EXETER (SIDWELL STREET)
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Autosol Metal Polish 75g
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
autosol metal polish 75g,
September 22, 2014
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" amazing stuff at a great price, wouldnt buy anything else. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? PLYMOUTH (LONGBRIDGE RD)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Autosol Metal Polish 75g
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
solvol autosol,
August 15, 2013
By
from bradford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use and results
" first used this in 1966 to polish an aluminium petrol tank on a trials motorbike. the results were brilliant...been using this brand ever since.. cannot fault it! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? BRADFORD
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Autosol Metal Polish 75g
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top drawer product,
June 10, 2013
By
from Daventry, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: easy to use, attacks rust as well as tarnish, bright shiny finish
" This provides a superb result. Sorts out minor rust patches, and brings up neglected brightwork into a gleaming shine. You also need far less of it than you might think. It is an absolute joy to use - easy, with brilliant results. My only complaint is that it doesn't also sort out dents as well :-) It really is that good. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? DAVENTRY
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Autosol Metal Polish 75g
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gleaming Valkyrie,
February 16, 2013
By
from Ormskirk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" The bike is 13 years old...the chrome has taken a battering but the Autosol has returned the gleam...bit to clean for sons of anarchy....but heh! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Autosol Metal Polish 75g
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant,
September 30, 2012
By
from Fife
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use and very satisfying seeing the results
" I used this on my 350z exhaust. I couldn't believe the difference after using it…the tips looked brand new again. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Autosol Metal Polish 75g
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best metal polish there is,
July 29, 2012
By
from Macclesfield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Car Make VW
" I first discovered Solvol Autosol over 30 yrs ago while working in my family garage. I have used it ever since. It's one of those products that as soon as I'm running out, I buy another tube so I've always got some in. As I just have from Halfords. I use it on my cars, mine & the kids bicycles, around the house on letterboxes,door handles & tools. It continues to give excellent results & still surprises me at times on the finish I get. It just works,Brilliant. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Autosol Metal Polish 75g
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A seriously good metal polish,
July 06, 2012
By
from Nottingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Car Make Mercedes
" Solvol Autosol,
45 years ago when I spent much time polishing bikes and cars - I discovered Solvol Autosol was the best in terms of (little) effort needed to get a good lasting shine - and the quality and durability of the finish.
I bought some this week from Halfords to polish the external bright metal on our Barge.
And Solvol Autosol is JUST as good as it was all those decades ago!
"Time has not dimmed its shine" "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Autosol Metal Polish 75g
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
polish,
April 05, 2012
By
from Worcester,England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Car Make peugeot
" Great value for the money. Small amount needed for a big shine every time "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Autosol Metal Polish 75g
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Old school polish,
February 29, 2012
By
from watford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: cost
Car Make mazda
" this is stil the best polish on the market polishes everything. I have been using for 35 years. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Autosol Metal Polish 75g
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good,
September 30, 2011
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: works very well at removing rust, good size tube/value
" My bike has a lot of cheap chinese chrome, so it rust's very easily. I bought the Autosol polish, and with minimal effort it got 99% of the rust off, only the deep set stuff remained, Very happy with the purchase "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Autosol Metal Polish 75g
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best seller!,
October 18, 2010
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great for winter
" I use this on the dishes of my alloys for winter protection and it leaves a great shine and invisible wax so the dirt doesnt stick to the dish itself. Also great on exhaust pipes and engine blocks. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.