Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Cataclean 450ml

Cataclean cleans and maintains your engine’s fuel system to perform like new.
Average Customer Rating:
4.69 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
26 of 28(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Cataclean 450ml
Review 1 for Cataclean 450ml
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cataclean, not clean enough,
January 11, 2016
By
from Doncaster, South Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
" Having followed the instructions on the bottle to the letter and had the car retested for the MOT and although the emissions were reduced, it still failed the test, which resulted in the car requiring a new catalytic converter.
At almost £16 per bottle it is a small price to pay for getting the car through the MOT, but if it fails, it is frustrating to think the money would have been better spent being put towards the new cat.
So don't expect this product to cure your emission problems. It's all a bit of a gamble. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? DONCASTER
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cataclean 450ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cataclean is great!,
November 25, 2015
By
from Tamworth, Tamworth, Staffordshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use.
" My engine was performing badly (not pulling up hills and similar to fuel starvation at 3000 revs). Added Cataclean as specified and had an immediate improvement. Saved me £900 on quote for a replacement cat! I also think that it's improved my fuel consumption. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? TAMWORTH
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cataclean 450ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cataclean 450ml bottle,
November 21, 2015
By
from Hull, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: long neck on the bottle
Cons: none
" Used cataclean since 2006 and occasionally used similar products but return back to cataclean 1 or 2 uses later. Cataclean is far better than others which I don't want to name because it does exactly what it says on the bottle and even kept the engine oil clean in my 1.6 Petrol ⛽ Mini. The engine feels like it is running smoother, I can't be 100% sure but I think it may have saved money on engine parts.
I will keep using it hope you do :-) "
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? HULL (ST ANDREWS QUAY)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cataclean 450ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Emmisions test,
November 04, 2015
By
from London Borough of Hillingdon, Greater London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Well my car failed its MOT emissions test... I tried this and it managed to get through the re - test? Whether it was a fluke or not for the price I'm happy and if you are unsure your car will pass the emission's CO2 test just add it to 1/4 tank of fuel pre test. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cataclean 450ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cataclean,
October 19, 2015
By
from Wirral, Wirral, Merseyside CH60, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: validity, usage
" Does what it claimed to used it in a 2004 Golf TDI that had failed on emissions passed first time after use. Would recommend "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? WALLASEY
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cataclean 450ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does as it says on the tin,
September 28, 2015
By
from Shropshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought for use on 2000 astra before mot and did the job passed emisions test first tme. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? TELFORD
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cataclean 450ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clean diesel manifold and EGR valve,
September 12, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: clear guidlines on packaging
" Getting message from engine management, was advised to try this product and to use it on a regular basis to keep manifold and EGR clean. Have only used it once but plan on using it every 3 months from now on. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cataclean 450ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cataclean,
June 23, 2015
By
from essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" the engine light came up on my dash , so i put in cataclean and so far so good no more light "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? HARLOW
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cataclean 450ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What do you have to lose?,
April 15, 2015
By
from Blackpool, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: it worked
Cons: it's going to put mechanics out of pocket
" 1999 Corsa B failed M.O.T on emissions and I really didn't want to spend the time or the money replacing various parts until I found the component that had failed (if any). So, after reading about Cataclean I got a lift to Halfords and bought the last bottle in the shop an hour before my re test. I had to wait until I had reached home before I could put it in the tank of the corsa (I couldn't drive a car without an M.O.T) Which gave me 30 minutes to get it in the tank and get the engine warm on the drive for the re test, I drove 2 miles to the garage, sat the car on tickover for ten minutes then crossed my fingers and hoped for the best. It passed with flying colours. The guy at the MOT station asked me what I had done for it to pass with such a low reading.
I swear I did nothing else. No manic high rev driving. No cleaning of the spark plugs. No removal of the air filter. Nothing at all but put a bottle of this stuff in the almost empty tank. I was so sure it wasn't really going to work that I hadn't even bothered putting any more fuel in. What would have been the point?
So buy it and try it. For 15 quid, its got to be worth the chance. It 100% worked for me.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BLACKPOOL
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cataclean 450ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job,
February 26, 2015
By
from Darlington, Darlington, Darlington, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Helps to reduce emissions and clean your cat and is a much cheaper alternative to buying a new one. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? DARLINGTON
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cataclean 450ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works just like it states it does.,
February 21, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Our 206 GTI 180 just scraped through its emissions part of MOT in 2013,so after reading about cataclean I used it as instructions and took it for its 2014 Mot which passed with low emission ! I did same this yr 2015 and poured bottle into quarter of tank of petrol,then went for 10 mile drive before taking in for test,which passed again with low emission readings.(the gti 180 has only had oil changes and new plugs since owning it so I believe it must be the cataclean that sorted it out ! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? AYLESBURY
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cataclean 450ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
January 20, 2015
By
from Eastbourne
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Added this to a quarter tank of fuel - Passed MOT emissions, no problem :) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? EASTBOURNE
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cataclean 450ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product !!!,
January 13, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I treated my 2002 BMW compact with this and result is awesome, i can tell the different since the last treatment. It restored overall performance and pulling power. Can't wait to see the result after another treatment. I genuinely recommend this product to others. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cataclean 450ml
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
didn't work,
January 04, 2015
By
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: doesn't do what it says on the tin
" I had the emission light on in my bmw 320d and had the light cleared by a computer reader. After using cataclean the light came back. It possibly might have cleaned the fuel line, but it did nothing for the cat. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? TOTTENHAM
-9points
5out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cataclean 450ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Revived engine,
December 29, 2014
By
from Winchester, Winchester, Hampshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, works
" Mondeo passed mot but was told emissions were getting a bit high. Used Cataclean-immediately noticed a difference in the car. Once it had run through for about 10minutes the car was smoother running and we have noticed an improvement in mpg. Really good product. Well worth the money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? FAREHAM
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cataclean 450ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says on the fancy grey bottle...,
September 30, 2014
By
from Horsham UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Cleared warning light on catalyst performance and has improved power and speed. Seems worth a try as a first resort in case of troubles ! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cataclean 450ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fantastic,
September 29, 2014
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: halfords quick delivery
" Brilliant product, solved the problem quickly and saved me a whole heap of money!!!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? WATERLOOVILLE
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cataclean 450ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
does the job,
September 27, 2014
By
from Buckinghamshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy and quick to use
" I Used Cataclean after trying all sorts of other products to stop my 11 year old Xtrail from blowing clouds of black smoke.
As the car was due for an MOT, I had tried changing filters, changing the oil, adding various products to the diesel, all with little success.
My car failed the MOT so I tried Cataclean as a last resort for the retest.
To my great delight the smoking almost disappeared and the car sailed through the retest.
A bit expensive but, it probably saved me a lot of money on garage bills.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? AYLESBURY
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cataclean 450ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
saved me a fortune in garage costs,
September 13, 2014
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Had a pollution failure on Peugeot 207 gti warning light on loss of power. Put Cataclean in drove around for 20 mins cleared the fault on the computer again and car as been OK since. I would recommend this to anyone and Iwill be using it every 3 months as recomended "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
Which Store did you visit? WORKSOP
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cataclean 450ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Detox for the car,
August 05, 2014
By
from Nottingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good job
" This product is a detox for your engine all you do is put it in your tank and drive for 10-15 miles to treat. You should then notice better mpg pick up less smoke etc. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>