Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Cataclean 475ml

Cataclean cleans and maintains your engine’s fuel system to perform like new.
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cataclean 475ml
Review 1 for Cataclean 475ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cataclean,
July 07, 2014
By Jamjar92
from Bedford, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Great product, bought it to pass MOT emissions and it did just that. Highly recommend this product, my 19 year old car even runs a little smoother now thanks to this product."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? BEDFORD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cataclean 475ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing,
July 03, 2014
By purpledurple
from England, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: effective
"My car is 12 years old with 110000 on the clock, and after using Cataclean, my MOT emission test passed with flying colours. I've never seen the emissions so low - all either zero or very close to zero ...literally unbelievable. My car has never failed on emissions, but has come close on occasions (CO). It's not made much difference to MPG, but I do a lot of town running, so it's difficult to increase MPG...
Highly recommended!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? MIDDLESBROUGH (CLEVELAND RTL PK)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cataclean 475ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
m.o.t. emission pass limit 1.5 after use of cataclean 0.4,
February 11, 2014
By joe4rmleam
from leamington spa
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: performance, ease of use
Cons: price
"After extesive erms and arrs and reading lots of reviews as i was apprehensive about damaging my car....i decided to give this product a go. Its pricey but id definately recommend using it. Wasnt sure that my 14yr old diesel golf would pass the emissions test, so i used this. Followed the instructions on the bottle. After use the power and revs are alot smoother rather than having nothing then the turbo...now smooth power. I feel really happy with the results and have already mentioned it to my friends and family."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? LEAMINGTON SPA
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cataclean 475ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product performed better than expected! great value for money!,
January 07, 2014
By PUNTO28
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, improves efficiency, value for money, makes car feel new, increases mpg, improves speed
"This product claimed to improve my cars engine performance and clean the catalytic converter: it did this and more, my 12 year old car feels like brand new now because of this! It's thanks to halfords though for this as they recommend this product specifically for me and my car and even gave me precise and excellent instructions. This product and halfords' customer communication proved invaluable in comparison to other products and retailers! Would definitely recommend!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? LLANDUDNO
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cataclean 475ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good to see Cataclean at Halfords,
September 30, 2013
By youdogyou
from Sedbergh, Cumbria
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, passed mot emission tests, improved mpg, only every 3 months, no dpf issues
Cons: having to use with a modern car
"I have been using Cataclean regularly for a couple of years. I feel it has helped with Emission Tests being passed. Having read about DPF problems it has probably also helped with this as I only do <8,000pa and then only local journeys.
My estimate is I have seen a sustained 6.5% improvement in MPG which means it probably pays for itself.
FYI - Use it for my Quad Bike too.
Good to have available at Halfords for convenience."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? LANCASTER
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cataclean 475ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best kind of snake oil,
September 18, 2013
By carblack1
from Wales, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: cheap, works, lower emissions
Cons: n/a
"Finally a product that works. Was suggested to try something rhymes with berradean ;). But no way was I paying that much money extortionate!
Cataclean did exactly what it claimed to and best of all I could use it myself no complicated instructions or terminology!
Thank you halfords!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WREXHAM
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cataclean 475ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why buy a new car!,
September 18, 2013
By Triviaknow
from England, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Bought this product initially a couple of years ago from another motor factor. Completely forgot about it till I was perusing my local store and recognised the name. Bought a bottle for my MX-5 and what a difference! The garage suggested I was going to have to get a new cat which cost just less than the car. However after using cataclean and giving it a kick down the motorway it is running like new, saved me a fortune and never using that garage again!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? MANCHESTER (WHITE CITY)
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cataclean 475ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Need More Cataclean!!!,
September 18, 2013
By rhart123
from Wilpshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: less black smoke!, smoother running
Cons: not enough stock
"Found this in my local store used it on my 1987 golf gti, WOW what a difference is all i can say. Bit skeptical at first but now I tried to buy another bottle and they were out of stock! Not knowing when they'd get more! Please restock ASAP!!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Which Store did you visit? BLACKBURN
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cataclean 475ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cataclean,
September 18, 2013
By Atthefordwash
from Aintree
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: car more responsive, better mpg, no engine management light
Cons: n/a
"Cataclean was a saviour, I was having a problem with the engine management light after using cataclean and reconnecting the battery the engine light stayed off and has done for the past 140 miles with the car driving like the day I got it. Would recommend to anybody!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? AINTREE
+21points
25out of 29found this review helpful.