Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Cataclean 450ml

Cataclean cleans and maintains your engine’s fuel system to perform like new.
Average Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
21 of 22(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Cataclean 450ml
Review 1 for Cataclean 450ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cataclean,
June 23, 2015
By nat452
from essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" the engine light came up on my dash , so i put in cataclean and so far so good no more light "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? HARLOW
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cataclean 450ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What do you have to lose?,
April 15, 2015
By gardenweed
from Blackpool, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: it worked
Cons: it's going to put mechanics out of pocket
" 1999 Corsa B failed M.O.T on emissions and I really didn't want to spend the time or the money replacing various parts until I found the component that had failed (if any). So, after reading about Cataclean I got a lift to Halfords and bought the last bottle in the shop an hour before my re test. I had to wait until I had reached home before I could put it in the tank of the corsa (I couldn't drive a car without an M.O.T) Which gave me 30 minutes to get it in the tank and get the engine warm on the drive for the re test, I drove 2 miles to the garage, sat the car on tickover for ten minutes then crossed my fingers and hoped for the best. It passed with flying colours. The guy at the MOT station asked me what I had done for it to pass with such a low reading.
I swear I did nothing else. No manic high rev driving. No cleaning of the spark plugs. No removal of the air filter. Nothing at all but put a bottle of this stuff in the almost empty tank. I was so sure it wasn't really going to work that I hadn't even bothered putting any more fuel in. What would have been the point?
So buy it and try it. For 15 quid, its got to be worth the chance. It 100% worked for me.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BLACKPOOL
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cataclean 450ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job,
February 26, 2015
By Hookk
from Darlington, Darlington, Darlington, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Helps to reduce emissions and clean your cat and is a much cheaper alternative to buying a new one. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? DARLINGTON
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cataclean 450ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works just like it states it does.,
February 21, 2015
By AL666
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Our 206 GTI 180 just scraped through its emissions part of MOT in 2013,so after reading about cataclean I used it as instructions and took it for its 2014 Mot which passed with low emission ! I did same this yr 2015 and poured bottle into quarter of tank of petrol,then went for 10 mile drive before taking in for test,which passed again with low emission readings.(the gti 180 has only had oil changes and new plugs since owning it so I believe it must be the cataclean that sorted it out ! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? AYLESBURY
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cataclean 450ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
January 20, 2015
By Realjiver
from Eastbourne
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Added this to a quarter tank of fuel - Passed MOT emissions, no problem :) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? EASTBOURNE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cataclean 450ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product !!!,
January 13, 2015
By Yazar
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I treated my 2002 BMW compact with this and result is awesome, i can tell the different since the last treatment. It restored overall performance and pulling power. Can't wait to see the result after another treatment. I genuinely recommend this product to others. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cataclean 450ml
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
didn't work,
January 04, 2015
By Zoran
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: doesn't do what it says on the tin
" I had the emission light on in my bmw 320d and had the light cleared by a computer reader. After using cataclean the light came back. It possibly might have cleaned the fuel line, but it did nothing for the cat. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? TOTTENHAM
-6points
4out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cataclean 450ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Revived engine,
December 29, 2014
By Mallarkuson
from Winchester, Winchester, Hampshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, works
" Mondeo passed mot but was told emissions were getting a bit high. Used Cataclean-immediately noticed a difference in the car. Once it had run through for about 10minutes the car was smoother running and we have noticed an improvement in mpg. Really good product. Well worth the money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? FAREHAM
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cataclean 450ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says on the fancy grey bottle...,
September 30, 2014
By H0rsham
from Horsham UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Cleared warning light on catalyst performance and has improved power and speed. Seems worth a try as a first resort in case of troubles ! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cataclean 450ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fantastic,
September 29, 2014
By mzteecee
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: halfords quick delivery
" Brilliant product, solved the problem quickly and saved me a whole heap of money!!!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? WATERLOOVILLE
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cataclean 450ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
does the job,
September 27, 2014
By ALso2
from Buckinghamshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy and quick to use
" I Used Cataclean after trying all sorts of other products to stop my 11 year old Xtrail from blowing clouds of black smoke.
As the car was due for an MOT, I had tried changing filters, changing the oil, adding various products to the diesel, all with little success.
My car failed the MOT so I tried Cataclean as a last resort for the retest.
To my great delight the smoking almost disappeared and the car sailed through the retest.
A bit expensive but, it probably saved me a lot of money on garage bills.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? AYLESBURY
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cataclean 450ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
saved me a fortune in garage costs,
September 13, 2014
By nickt148
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Had a pollution failure on Peugeot 207 gti warning light on loss of power. Put Cataclean in drove around for 20 mins cleared the fault on the computer again and car as been OK since. I would recommend this to anyone and Iwill be using it every 3 months as recomended "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
Which Store did you visit? WORKSOP
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cataclean 450ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Detox for the car,
August 05, 2014
By Tdci18
from Nottingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good job
" This product is a detox for your engine all you do is put it in your tank and drive for 10-15 miles to treat. You should then notice better mpg pick up less smoke etc. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cataclean 450ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cataclean,
July 07, 2014
By Jamjar92
from Bedford, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Great product, bought it to pass MOT emissions and it did just that. Highly recommend this product, my 19 year old car even runs a little smoother now thanks to this product. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? BEDFORD
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cataclean 450ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing,
July 03, 2014
By purpledurple
from England, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: effective
" My car is 12 years old with 110000 on the clock, and after using Cataclean, my MOT emission test passed with flying colours. I've never seen the emissions so low - all either zero or very close to zero ...literally unbelievable. My car has never failed on emissions, but has come close on occasions (CO). It's not made much difference to MPG, but I do a lot of town running, so it's difficult to increase MPG...
Highly recommended! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? MIDDLESBROUGH (CLEVELAND RTL PK)
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cataclean 450ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
m.o.t. emission pass limit 1.5 after use of cataclean 0.4,
February 11, 2014
By joe4rmleam
from leamington spa
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: performance, ease of use
Cons: price
" After extesive erms and arrs and reading lots of reviews as i was apprehensive about damaging my car....i decided to give this product a go. Its pricey but id definately recommend using it. Wasnt sure that my 14yr old diesel golf would pass the emissions test, so i used this. Followed the instructions on the bottle. After use the power and revs are alot smoother rather than having nothing then the turbo...now smooth power. I feel really happy with the results and have already mentioned it to my friends and family. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? LEAMINGTON SPA
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cataclean 450ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product performed better than expected! great value for money!,
January 07, 2014
By PUNTO28
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, improves efficiency, value for money, makes car feel new, increases mpg, improves speed
" This product claimed to improve my cars engine performance and clean the catalytic converter: it did this and more, my 12 year old car feels like brand new now because of this! It's thanks to halfords though for this as they recommend this product specifically for me and my car and even gave me precise and excellent instructions. This product and halfords' customer communication proved invaluable in comparison to other products and retailers! Would definitely recommend! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? LLANDUDNO
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cataclean 450ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good to see Cataclean at Halfords,
September 30, 2013
By youdogyou
from Sedbergh, Cumbria
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, passed mot emission tests, improved mpg, only every 3 months, no dpf issues
Cons: having to use with a modern car
" I have been using Cataclean regularly for a couple of years. I feel it has helped with Emission Tests being passed. Having read about DPF problems it has probably also helped with this as I only do <8,000pa and then only local journeys.
My estimate is I have seen a sustained 6.5% improvement in MPG which means it probably pays for itself.
FYI - Use it for my Quad Bike too.
Good to have available at Halfords for convenience. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? LANCASTER
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cataclean 450ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best kind of snake oil,
September 18, 2013
By carblack1
from Wales, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: cheap, works, lower emissions
Cons: n/a
" Finally a product that works. Was suggested to try something rhymes with berradean ;). But no way was I paying that much money extortionate!
Cataclean did exactly what it claimed to and best of all I could use it myself no complicated instructions or terminology!
Thank you halfords!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WREXHAM
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cataclean 450ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why buy a new car!,
September 18, 2013
By Triviaknow
from England, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Bought this product initially a couple of years ago from another motor factor. Completely forgot about it till I was perusing my local store and recognised the name. Bought a bottle for my MX-5 and what a difference! The garage suggested I was going to have to get a new cat which cost just less than the car. However after using cataclean and giving it a kick down the motorway it is running like new, saved me a fortune and never using that garage again! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? MANCHESTER (WHITE CITY)
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>