Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Cataclean 475ml

Cataclean cleans and maintains your engine’s fuel system to perform like new.
Average Customer Rating:
4.929 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 of 14(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Cataclean 475ml
Review 1 for Cataclean 475ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says on the fancy grey bottle...,
September 30, 2014
By H0rsham
from Horsham UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Cleared warning light on catalyst performance and has improved power and speed. Seems worth a try as a first resort in case of troubles !"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cataclean 475ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fantastic,
September 29, 2014
By mzteecee
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: halfords quick delivery
"Brilliant product, solved the problem quickly and saved me a whole heap of money!!!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? WATERLOOVILLE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cataclean 475ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
does the job,
September 27, 2014
By ALso2
from Buckinghamshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy and quick to use
"I Used Cataclean after trying all sorts of other products to stop my 11 year old Xtrail from blowing clouds of black smoke.
As the car was due for an MOT, I had tried changing filters, changing the oil, adding various products to the diesel, all with little success.
My car failed the MOT so I tried Cataclean as a last resort for the retest.
To my great delight the smoking almost disappeared and the car sailed through the retest.
A bit expensive but, it probably saved me a lot of money on garage bills.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? AYLESBURY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cataclean 475ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
saved me a fortune in garage costs,
September 13, 2014
By nickt148
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Had a pollution failure on Peugeot 207 gti warning light on loss of power. Put Cataclean in drove around for 20 mins cleared the fault on the computer again and car as been OK since. I would recommend this to anyone and Iwill be using it every 3 months as recomended"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
Which Store did you visit? WORKSOP
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cataclean 475ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Detox for the car,
August 05, 2014
By Tdci18
from Nottingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good job
"This product is a detox for your engine all you do is put it in your tank and drive for 10-15 miles to treat. You should then notice better mpg pick up less smoke etc."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cataclean 475ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cataclean,
July 07, 2014
By Jamjar92
from Bedford, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Great product, bought it to pass MOT emissions and it did just that. Highly recommend this product, my 19 year old car even runs a little smoother now thanks to this product."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? BEDFORD
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cataclean 475ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing,
July 03, 2014
By purpledurple
from England, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: effective
"My car is 12 years old with 110000 on the clock, and after using Cataclean, my MOT emission test passed with flying colours. I've never seen the emissions so low - all either zero or very close to zero ...literally unbelievable. My car has never failed on emissions, but has come close on occasions (CO). It's not made much difference to MPG, but I do a lot of town running, so it's difficult to increase MPG...
Highly recommended!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? MIDDLESBROUGH (CLEVELAND RTL PK)
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cataclean 475ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
m.o.t. emission pass limit 1.5 after use of cataclean 0.4,
February 11, 2014
By joe4rmleam
from leamington spa
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: performance, ease of use
Cons: price
"After extesive erms and arrs and reading lots of reviews as i was apprehensive about damaging my car....i decided to give this product a go. Its pricey but id definately recommend using it. Wasnt sure that my 14yr old diesel golf would pass the emissions test, so i used this. Followed the instructions on the bottle. After use the power and revs are alot smoother rather than having nothing then the turbo...now smooth power. I feel really happy with the results and have already mentioned it to my friends and family."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? LEAMINGTON SPA
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cataclean 475ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product performed better than expected! great value for money!,
January 07, 2014
By PUNTO28
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, improves efficiency, value for money, makes car feel new, increases mpg, improves speed
"This product claimed to improve my cars engine performance and clean the catalytic converter: it did this and more, my 12 year old car feels like brand new now because of this! It's thanks to halfords though for this as they recommend this product specifically for me and my car and even gave me precise and excellent instructions. This product and halfords' customer communication proved invaluable in comparison to other products and retailers! Would definitely recommend!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? LLANDUDNO
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cataclean 475ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good to see Cataclean at Halfords,
September 30, 2013
By youdogyou
from Sedbergh, Cumbria
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, passed mot emission tests, improved mpg, only every 3 months, no dpf issues
Cons: having to use with a modern car
"I have been using Cataclean regularly for a couple of years. I feel it has helped with Emission Tests being passed. Having read about DPF problems it has probably also helped with this as I only do <8,000pa and then only local journeys.
My estimate is I have seen a sustained 6.5% improvement in MPG which means it probably pays for itself.
FYI - Use it for my Quad Bike too.
Good to have available at Halfords for convenience."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? LANCASTER
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cataclean 475ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best kind of snake oil,
September 18, 2013
By carblack1
from Wales, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: cheap, works, lower emissions
Cons: n/a
"Finally a product that works. Was suggested to try something rhymes with berradean ;). But no way was I paying that much money extortionate!
Cataclean did exactly what it claimed to and best of all I could use it myself no complicated instructions or terminology!
Thank you halfords!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WREXHAM
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cataclean 475ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why buy a new car!,
September 18, 2013
By Triviaknow
from England, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Bought this product initially a couple of years ago from another motor factor. Completely forgot about it till I was perusing my local store and recognised the name. Bought a bottle for my MX-5 and what a difference! The garage suggested I was going to have to get a new cat which cost just less than the car. However after using cataclean and giving it a kick down the motorway it is running like new, saved me a fortune and never using that garage again!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? MANCHESTER (WHITE CITY)
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cataclean 475ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Need More Cataclean!!!,
September 18, 2013
By rhart123
from Wilpshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: less black smoke!, smoother running
Cons: not enough stock
"Found this in my local store used it on my 1987 golf gti, WOW what a difference is all i can say. Bit skeptical at first but now I tried to buy another bottle and they were out of stock! Not knowing when they'd get more! Please restock ASAP!!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Which Store did you visit? BLACKBURN
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cataclean 475ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cataclean,
September 18, 2013
By Atthefordwash
from Aintree
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: car more responsive, better mpg, no engine management light
Cons: n/a
"Cataclean was a saviour, I was having a problem with the engine management light after using cataclean and reconnecting the battery the engine light stayed off and has done for the past 140 miles with the car driving like the day I got it. Would recommend to anybody!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? AINTREE
+19points
26out of 33found this review helpful.