Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

LOCTITE SI 5980 Flange Sealant

LOCTITE SI 5980 flange sealant is a high performance silicon sealant
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
16 of 16(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for LOCTITE SI 5980 Flange Sealant
Review 1 for LOCTITE SI 5980 Flange Sealant
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product - loctite flange sealant,
August 25, 2014
By Freddydust13
from Uk
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Very good product overall, great price too. Would have been easier to use if it had some sort of mechanism that made it easier to squeeze it out of the tube."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? PLYMOUTH (LONGBRIDGE RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LOCTITE SI 5980 Flange Sealant
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loctite Gasket Sealant,
December 10, 2013
By Andrew51
from Bromsgrove
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Good Quality Product and price fast delivery and Great communication from Halfords Staff."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? BROMSGROVE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for LOCTITE SI 5980 Flange Sealant
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just the job,
November 25, 2013
By rudall
from Dorking
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I wanted a non-corrosive sealant for a special application and this fitted the bill perfectly. Good price, easy to use - what more could you want?"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? DORKING
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LOCTITE SI 5980 Flange Sealant
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Good stuff,
October 02, 2013
By TheOmen
from Stowmarket
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Does "what it says on the tin". Easy to use, the enclosed helps to maintain an even pressure, thereby a steady flow of sealant to make a seal of the same thickness all over."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? IPSWICH (SUFFOLK RTL PK)
-9points
1out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LOCTITE SI 5980 Flange Sealant
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very very good,
June 10, 2013
By GasketMaker
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Used to make gasket for compressor pump. Part of the gasket is constantly submerged in oil. No leaks. None at all."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LOCTITE SI 5980 Flange Sealant
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product.,
April 17, 2013
By tonyb27
from Somerset, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great price
Cons: a job to clean off your hands
"I will only use this when ever I do a sump drop on my Saab. never fails."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? YEOVIL
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LOCTITE SI 5980 Flange Sealant
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOCTITE 5910,
March 31, 2013
By MARTIN1965
from FOLKESTONE KENT UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"LAST TIME I USED LOCKTITE 5910 .Was over 30yrs ago. That was on my first car, rocker cover. The result was perfect, it did the job..
I would highly give this product 11 out of 10 if possible..
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? FOLKESTONE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for LOCTITE SI 5980 Flange Sealant
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loctite 5910,
March 20, 2013
By wiganmechanic
from wigan
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: loctite 5910
"I used this on my fly wheel cover it was easy too use fast drying and great for sealing well worth what you pay"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WIGAN
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LOCTITE SI 5980 Flange Sealant
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great product!,
February 22, 2013
By WhiteBoardMan
from East Midlands
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"It's an old cliche but it really does do what it says on the "tin". Easy to control, went onto oil sump great and stayed flexible long enough to bolt up the sump. Leak-free joint achieved easily."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for LOCTITE SI 5980 Flange Sealant
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great gasket goo,
March 26, 2012
By avturphil
from Glos England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: always works
Cons: bit messy
Car Make Skoda Fabia
"We use this product regularly for sealing joints on engine build. It works consistently exactly as you would expect. The tube wind key is useful and helps to get it out, it is relatively immune to blocking the nozzle with cured product, but surely there must be a way of preventing this completely."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: More than 3
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LOCTITE SI 5980 Flange Sealant
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Purchase Ever,
December 20, 2011
By Sven1979
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great product, great price
"Says exactly what it says on the tube! Excellent product and a much better price than the competition."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for LOCTITE SI 5980 Flange Sealant
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
High temp sealant,
November 30, 2011
By jr26400
from Warrington
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Car Make Fiat Ducatto
"Easy to use good for High temp areas, used with my inlet manifold paper gasket in way of the hot water jacket port.
Also took a chance and used it on exhaust manifold gasket for one outlet that had a .001" gap sealed well so far"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for LOCTITE SI 5980 Flange Sealant
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
does what it says on the tin,
February 20, 2011
By bigdave18
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"this is a great for sealing or making gaskets
only problem i had was if you dont use the tube lever and just press the tube, the back end started to open,
nothing came out the back because i noticed it before it got to that stage.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for LOCTITE SI 5980 Flange Sealant
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ideal for cam covers,
June 10, 2010
By Stupotvts
from Edinburgh
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Ideal for use on Citroën saxo/Peugeot 106 vts/gti 16v cam covers. Seals easily after letting it dry for 24hours."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for LOCTITE SI 5980 Flange Sealant
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says,
March 29, 2010
By Anonymous
from Leicestershire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Product did what was promised and the reserve an collect made it quick to pick-up in the store."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for LOCTITE SI 5980 Flange Sealant
Based on 1 ratings-only review
RatingOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5