Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Carrera Subway 2014 Limited Edition Hybrid Bike

Looking for a great ride? Then the Carrera Subway 2014 Limited Edition Hybrid Bike is for you.
Average Customer Rating:
4.826 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
22 of 23(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Carrera Subway 2014 Limited Edition Hybrid Bike
Review 1 for Carrera Subway 2014 Limited Edition Hybrid Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome bike and awesome customer service,
March 04, 2014
By Mohib
from Hounslow
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought the bike at halfords in Hounslow from Jack. My budget was 150 but he convinced me to go with this beast. Worth every penny.
This bike had shaved 4 mins off my previously 15 min commute to work AND w with less stain on my legs. Thanks Jack. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? HOUNSLOW
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carrera Subway 2014 Limited Edition Hybrid Bike
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A Good Buy at this Price,
March 04, 2014
By fatherofteenager
from Hilly NE England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the look and feel, the colour and finish, the way it rides
" Bought this for my teenage son - the car and garage still smell of new bike, which is lovely! It seems to ride very nicely and is light yet sturdy. He hasn't had a chance to give it the full teenage son treatment yet but from the look and feel of it it will survive. He likes the way it has handled so far and I'm looking forward to going further afield with him. Recommended at this stage. Nice to get a 6 week service included too. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? BISHOP AUCKLAND
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carrera Subway 2014 Limited Edition Hybrid Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera subway,
February 22, 2014
By therandomguy
from united kingdom
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great value
" Ive had my carrera subway since January 2013 its the first new bike that ive had in a long time and im so impressed by it everything i could ask for tough,simple not to many bad points although my free-wheel ,chain and bottom bracket had to be replaced this year but to be fair i think that was my fault due to lack of maintenance. my tires lasted me about 1 year and so has everything else overall 10/10 :D "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? AYR
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carrera Subway 2014 Limited Edition Hybrid Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb,
February 22, 2014
By Tony1980
from Liverpool
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: fasr
Cons: seat not the best
" Overall excellent bike - Very light weight and fast, had to purchase a new seat as the one provided, provided serious bum pain. That is the only downfall, i cannot find fault with any other part of the bike. Absolute steal for the price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? AINTREE
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carrera Subway 2014 Limited Edition Hybrid Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
13 Year old boy.,
February 21, 2014
By criddle13
from bridgwater,
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: gears, seat, frame
" Great bike,comfortable seat,very light bike and a good gear system,recommend to ages 13-30 as the frame size goes to 21" "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? BRIDGWATER
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carrera Subway 2014 Limited Edition Hybrid Bike
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bike to start commuting on,
February 18, 2014
By Shady100
from Hertford
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: lightweight
" Purchased for the commute to work, the Carrera is lightweight with a smooth gear change almost makes cycling a pleasure. Great first bike to get bak into cycling - so far been very impressed. Purchased with bike care and have already used the puncture repair service - great value "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? HERTFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carrera Subway 2014 Limited Edition Hybrid Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
first hybrid,
February 12, 2014
By captainscarlet
from gateshead
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Thanks halfords for helping me with a a good choise of bike it performs fab and is so easy to handle gear change is extremely smooth brakes react great steering is excellent.
So thanks halfords Kingston park Newcastle staff spot on and very professional keep it up thanks again.
Dave r customer. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Which Store did you visit? NEWCASTLE (KINGSTON RTL PK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carrera Subway 2014 Limited Edition Hybrid Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
New Year New Bike,
February 09, 2014
By Fizz10
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: ride position
Cons: would benefit from disc brakes
" Had this bike for 6 weeks and am very impressed.
Not cycled for a number of years. Have a bad back so decided to go for a hybrid to reduce the flexion.
Have been out several times in all weathers and enjoyed every ride.
Shame that it doesn't come with disc brakes but is good value for low price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? CORBY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carrera Subway 2014 Limited Edition Hybrid Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike,
February 07, 2014
By 1stbiker
from Chesterfield UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" This bike is just what I required. It has a high spec but at a great price "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carrera Subway 2014 Limited Edition Hybrid Bike
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It needs a chain guard!,
February 07, 2014
By Bob2014
from Devon
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" I have had a Subway for just over a year and it has served me well. It completed the Tour de Moor Dartmoor 35 mile St Lukes Challenge.
I subsequently put on narrower road tyres as the fitted ones stuck to the road and made wet road work hard. I also wanted to fit a chain ring guard but could not find one to fit. Halfords were not helpful in this respect. I am surprised that a bike intended to be a commuting bike is produced without one.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? PLYMOUTH (LONGBRIDGE RD)
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carrera Subway 2014 Limited Edition Hybrid Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike at a great price,
February 02, 2014
By Kellie03
from kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great Hybrid bike at a fab price. Light weight but handles well. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? DOVER
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Carrera Subway 2014 Limited Edition Hybrid Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CARRERA SUBWAY,
January 25, 2014
By CHICK123
from PORT TALBOT
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" My partner and I purchased two of the above bikes. We have found these bikes to be excellent in every way so far, We are new to cycling and these are ideal for our needs, great fun too.
Easy to handle and light enough if we need to lift them over a fence or gate etc, gearing easy to use. Well done Halfords! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? NEATH
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Carrera Subway 2014 Limited Edition Hybrid Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carerra,
January 07, 2014
By Gare
from Romsey
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Really happy with this product. The assistant in the shop was excellent!!!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHAMPTON (WINCHESTER RD)
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Carrera Subway 2014 Limited Edition Hybrid Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera Subway - Excellent value for money,
January 06, 2014
By corkie1961
from Gateshead
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ez fire triggers
Cons: nothing
" I've only had this bike for a short time but i'm really impressed with it so far. It is lightweight but robust, looks good, handles well and is a joy to ride. The EZ Fire Triggers gear shifters are so easy to use and the transition between gears is really smooth. I use it to travel to work (about 10 miles per day) and for longer runs at the weekends for which it is totally adequate. I would definitely recommend this bike. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? GATESHEAD
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Carrera Subway 2014 Limited Edition Hybrid Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value and build quality,
January 06, 2014
By Blackout21
from Northwood
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I bought this from my local Halfords, and the service was great from all the staff I dealt with. The bike itself is an updated version of one I already own, and it is amazing value for money, being both a better spec and cheaper than my old one. Lightweight alloy frame, great brakes and a decent gearset, with the addition of toe clips.
I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a commuter bike they don't want to break the bank for. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? RUISLIP
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Carrera Subway 2014 Limited Edition Hybrid Bike
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bike no hybrid,
December 26, 2013
By Adam984969
from Lincolnshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Excellent build quality purchased in box as half orcs were to busy to build. Took for a 20 mile on/off road ride had no grip whatsoever off road had to pick up numerous times and carry we're as friends on there cheap mountain bikes had no problem "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? HULL (ST ANDREWS QUAY)
+2points
11out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Carrera Subway 2014 Limited Edition Hybrid Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great and simple bike,
December 24, 2013
By Scope12345
from England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I brought this bike for uni so far it has been 5 weeks ..... and i haven't had any problems will service it soon as i have 6 weeks free service provided with the bike from the time of purchase "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? ALPERTON
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Carrera Subway 2014 Limited Edition Hybrid Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrea Subway,
December 21, 2013
By joesa
from Birmingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I have had this bike for six months ,i use it daily for work a round trip of 5miles,and find it perfect for this,i fitted a pannier rack and panniers and lights ,tyres need to kept at 60/65 ibs which is better for road use. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (ERDINGTON)
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Carrera Subway 2014 Limited Edition Hybrid Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic value, tough little bike!,
December 11, 2013
By Boomercyclist
from Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: shimano fittings
Cons: no complaints!
" At the age of 68 and recently retired, I needed to get active and lose some of the pounds I had started to pile on, this bike fits the bill perfectly!
Solidly built with a quality finish, there is nothing about it that I don't like, I think that the Subway and me are going to be a partnership for hopefully some time!
You often hear some degrading comments about Halfords and their products from 'real' cyclists, you can, if you want, go to a specialist cycle dealer and pay a whole lot more, sometimes for the same product, but I have nothing but praise for the service and quality I received at my Halfords branch! (Melton Mowbray) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Boating
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? MELTON MOWBRAY
+21points
23out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Carrera Subway 2014 Limited Edition Hybrid Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have had it for over 2 years.,
November 21, 2013
By kryz
from Bristol
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" First thing - this bicycle is REALLY TOUGH. I went for a hardcore ride through the forest trails designated for bmx's or specialised bikes. Other times I jumped from heights, rode on concrete stairs, had accidents (my fault and recklessness not the bike's fault), hit the kerb at high speed (with half flat tyre), other times pumped too much of air into the tyres (and didn't blow up as it should with rubbish bikes). After all this hardcore riding, my awesome bicycle is fully functional (maybe the front wheel slightly bent). All the parts working perfectly well. Very strong material, very good bicycle. The only minor problem is the distance between the handlebar and the saddle, if I take a 3 hour trip, my back starts hurting. Otherwise, on any rideable terrain, pretty fast, good looking bicycle. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+27points
31out of 35found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>