Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Boardman MX Sport 2014

With great performance & versatility, the Boardman MX Sport 2014 offers you the best of both worlds.
Average Customer Rating:
4.808 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
26 of 26(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Review 1 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great bike poor set up,
September 14, 2014
By Zeff13
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: brakes, bike overall
Cons: bike preperation
"This is a great bike. I went for this model over the others specifically for the cable disc brakes which are a doddle to work on and I'm glad I did as the bike was set up appaulingly.
The lads in the local halfords store were really helpful but I suspect the chap wearing the 'L' badge and not yet worthy of a proper halfords shirt had set the bike up. The brakes were rubbing on the discs and not aligned correctly and the front derailleur was insistent on flinging the chain off at every given opportunity. The head was also loose. After half an hour fettling this resolved the issues ( and knocked 15 mins off my daily commute) though I am not particularly reassured about the value of the service plan I purchased.......
Overall though the bike is fantastic, with hindsight perhaps the more road biased version of the hybrid may be more appropriate for my needs but I did enjoy some moderate off-road woodland track last week which brought a grin to my face.
I would definately reccommend the bike especially as I got this through the cycle 2 work scheme and is a real bargain. The customer service at the Guiseley store was first class but the quality of preperation on the bike was poor. As long as you're happy to sort it yourself or get some one else to sort it for you it's a great deal which ever way you look at it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman MX Sport- ideal return to cyclingNothing much,
September 09, 2014
By WorcesterCanary
from Worcester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: gears, brakes, style, weight
Cons: nothing yet
"After many years off a bike I decided to take advantage of the Cycle 2 Work scheme and being limited to Halfords with ours was somewhat disappointed made worse by the lack of forthcoming assistance in the many Halfords I visited in my work area, anyway, after initially opting for the Carrera Crossfire 3 I was delighted I could get the MX Sport for the same price on a promotion weekend. Stopped off in Kings Lynn and was very well assisted, arranged to collect the bike the following weekend and wow! Got back to Worcester for my first blast along the Severn way, a mix of track and path, then some road and despite my poor fitness, I loved every minute of the ride. The bike was well put together, I adjusted seat height and that was it...off, Its fast, responsive and so easy to ride. Great gear change, great brakes and great looking to be fair! And so lightweight compared to my old steel frame thing, no wonder I gave up riding it.
Thoroughly recommend this great bike. And I care not the white seat and grips are already off colour, it looks great still!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? KINGS LYNN
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bike for fitness & Family rides,
September 08, 2014
By Sam65
from Oxfordshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: excellent specification
Cons: no visual confirmation of gear selected.
"Bought the Boardman MX Sport to replace an ageing mountain bike.
Wanted a bike that was good on the road, but allowed me to take on the casual off-road cycle paths around.
So far so good. Bike performs well, gears are smooth and the disk brakes are excellent. Bike lives up to its tag of great performance and versatility."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? DIDCOT
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Couldnt of done it without it,
September 08, 2014
By Staffee
from Portsmouth, Portsmouth, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: slick gear changes
"Recently just completed an unsupported tour the Isle of Wight. This hybrid outperformed my expectations as I am used to road bikes, gaining a max speed of 34.4mph downhill of course, it has a lot of gears which helped get up the numerous hills without having to get off to push it. Coupled with a set of Top Peak panniers, this is now a great touring bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? PORTSMOUTH
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My New Bike,
September 07, 2014
By Trucker55
from Luton, Luton, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Boardman MX Sport 2014 is a great bike and good valve and Performance."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? DUNSTABLE
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bike,
September 06, 2014
By Mumford11a
from Sandhurst, Bracknell Forest, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Love this bike
Chose to buy this bike from the reviews on it & I'm so happy I did, it's great.
Fantastic build quality, brakes are sharp & responsive & great range & smoothness through the greas.
Very comfortable bike to ride on my daily 15 mile commute.
I even beat my girlfriend home after the gym when she meets me there after work."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? FARNBOROUGH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Better than expected,
September 05, 2014
By Yoda40
from Leicester, Leicester, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I was unsure about the purchase of a cross over as I have only had a road bike for over 20 years , I've been out on the bike a few times now and it's performed better than i expected and feels more like a higher end bike . gears are easy and brakes are good but the main thing about the bike is seat to handle bar position , this more often then not is not correct and I have had back pain in the past due to poor frame design , but this has been built well . Very good bit of kit ."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (PUTNEY RD)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great commuter with options,
September 05, 2014
By JohnArr
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Excellent on the road, very responsive. Quick-lock suspension great for dealing with rubbish Bristol roads, then locking off and attacking the hills. Feels sturdy enough for light trails."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good bike but mediocre service!,
September 05, 2014
By Notdeadyet68
from Folkestone
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the bike
Cons: the service
"A great bike at a good price but the service I received let Halfords down. Told to pick up at 3pm it wasn't even out of the box. It took them 2 hours to prepare bike and fit carrier rack. Asked for mudguards to be fitted and was told not possible due to suspended forks but have since easily fitted my own. Asked for the handbook but was told they didn't have one spoke to Manager since who did get me one. Charged me £2.95 for a bell they were going to 'throw in' etc etc - shame!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? FOLKESTONE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Halfords and Boardman make a great team,
September 04, 2014
By Appy07
from Bournemouth, Bournemouth, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: balance, performance
Cons: while saddle
"Smooth and excellent service from Halfords - Bournemouth Paul was great in setting up my bike adjusting it to suit my frame and needs. This has allowed me to thoroughly enjoy the whole riding experience. The bike is versatile and quick, on and off road and beautifully balanced.
Actually 'Best of ALL Worlds'
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? BOURNEMOUTH
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First Hybrid,
September 02, 2014
By ThorntonDweller
from Blackpool, Lancashire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: all components, speed, handling
"After 10+ years away from cycling I had been weighing up whether to get a road bike or a hybrid. In the end I went for this Boardman hybrid and I haven't looked back. Had it just under 2 weeks and already done nearly 100 miles. I am averaging 17 mph and can only.improve with time. It's light fast and feels very well constructed. Thoroughly recommend it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? BLACKPOOL
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman MX Sport,
August 31, 2014
By Aceman99
from West Yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very good quality, excellent service, great ride
Cons: can't think of any
"Wanted a hybrid bike to get back into cycling and lose some middle age flab. The Boardman seemed the excellent choice having a great mix of high quality componants for the price and striking looks. So far has been great on the road and feels really solid. Got it for a great price with Halfords recent online 10% off weekend and was built FOC by the bikehut guys which I know some say isn't the best service but I have no complaints at all as they were very friendly and knowledgable.
So would I recommend the Boardman MX Sport 2014 and Halfords ?
YES I certainly would !!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? WAKEFIELD
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Outstanding,
August 29, 2014
By Tartanbunnet
from Portsmouth, Portsmouth, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality build and looks
Cons: white grips and saddle
"Absolutely fab bike better on the road than off though.Makes my daily commute a joy :D"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? PORTSMOUTH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great all round bike,
August 23, 2014
By bren26
from Bilbrook, Staffordshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Really nice solid quick bike, great gears and breaks"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? WOLVERHAMPTON
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MX Sport 2014,
August 17, 2014
By backonabike
from mansfield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great bike very fast
Cons: nothing as yet
"not been on a bike for 10 years got the boardman mx sport 2014 this weekend.got it to get a bit fitter,what can i say buy one at this price its a steal.got it from mansfield halfords staff were great."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? MANSFIELD
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great bike,
August 05, 2014
By Dugi
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great value
Cons: could fo with gear indicator
"A very good bike for the money, nice positive gear changes and the disc brakes provide excellent braking. I have only clocked up 200 miles so far but the build was pretty good, a slight tweak to the gears and brakes was needed, but nothing major"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 2
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fantastic all-round bike,
July 20, 2014
By Sykostic
from Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: gearing range, easy lock suspension, efficient braking
Cons: minimum handlebar height is quite high
"Have had this bike for 3 months now and covered over 1,700 miles. It is very comfortable once you get the set-up right. On longer journeys and off-road the front suspension is great and reduces fatigue well. Gearing is excellent with a great range for hill climb through to high-speed road. With the suspension locked off I can easily keep up with or beat most race bikes on the road. I thoroughly recommend this bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? CHATHAM
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy Ride,
July 14, 2014
By LoveCycle
from North Yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: safe/fast/responsive, great on road, fairly light for such a solid build quality
Cons: nothing really i have found yet, maybe limited to only mild off road trails
"Mountain bikes/Road bikes I have had for 30 years. I use a hardback in rural Spain where I have a Finca . Living in Rural North Yorkshire with great country roads and me getting older I thought I would try a "hybrid" for a comfort ride. Well it is a joy to ride but it is certainly no slouch, the trigger shifters and gearing make for a fast efficient ride , well balanced sure footed and light to steer. Have had it off road on a relative easy track grassy/muddy farmland some small stones a few larger cobble sized ones and it coped well not excessive vibrations. No faults in quality that I have found other than the front wheel is slightly out of true and it may have well been when I took delivery, I admit I never spun the wheel to check when I got it and it is a simple spoke key fix do it yourself but I will get it done this week on the free 6 week adjustment service you get. More than pleased, gets many positive comments form my friends, Value for money and plenty of scope beyond most peoples ability or fitness levels, a proper hybrid plus I would say. Oh not forgetting its a very safe easy to get to grips with machine if you are new to cycling or retuning to it and a buzz if you are experienced as well."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? NORTHALLERTON
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bike,
July 08, 2014
By Shedney
from Gateshead, Tyne and Wear, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: plenty of gears, handles hills spot on
Cons: the saddle
"Only had this bike for a day and after many years of not being on a bike this was a great choice. Only downside for me was the saddle which I intend to change. Hoping this will serve me well on the coast to coast."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? NEWCASTLE (KINGSTON RTL PK)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review of MX Spirt Hybrid Bike,
June 30, 2014
By Masonjnr
from Hartlepool, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: suspension lock out feature, plenty of gears, easy smooth gear change, good looking bike
Cons: none!
"Bought this bike on 17 June and used it for the C2C route 72 Hadrians Wall route on 20 - 22 June. The bike was built by Halfords and staff at the Hartlepool store were friendly and gave some good advice. A member of staff said he also had this bike and recommended it. The bike was great on the C2C, on and off road. The suspension lock out was a useful feature. The bike is very quiet and more than enough gears for multi terraine. The 700 thinner wheels make it a lot easier than the average mountain bike on longer distances. I would definitely recommend this bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? HARTLEPOOL
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>