Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Hybrid Bikes or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Boardman MX Sport Bike

Incredibly versatile, the Boardman MX Sport Bike offers you the best of both worlds.
Average Customer Rating:
4.623 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(69 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (69 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
19
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
64 of 65(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for Boardman MX Sport Bike
Review 1 for Boardman MX Sport Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent all rounder,
August 18, 2015
By
from Gateshead, Tyne and Wear, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: gears, comfort
" Bought this bike three weeks ago now done around 350 miles on cycle tracks slightly rough terrain and roads and I have to say it's an all round gem. Lock the suspension and you can travel fast on roads unlock for rough terrain and it takes all the knocks the track gives you. Gears are very smooth and with 27 to work with you will never be stuck.brakes are very good and stop with ease. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? GATESHEAD
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Boardman MX Sport Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant bike,
August 04, 2015
By
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" brought today had my misgivings that the suspension would be no goods and would be two heavy but this bike is absolutely brilliant. Its quick with good gear changes and went up a few hills I normally struggle with with ease.
The discounts bring the price down to 382 pounds .Bargain at this price.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? UXBRIDGE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Boardman MX Sport Bike
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great all rounder,
July 05, 2015
By
from Norwich
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I mainly use this bike on the roads, but there are a few footpaths and rough tracks near me, so i didn't want a full road bike. Everything works really well, and it's a tidy bike. I really like the locking front forks so you can either concentrate on power, or give your bones a bit of a rest on these British roads. the only very minor down side is the frame is a bit of an odd size, so some standard fixtures don't fit. so just bear that in mine if you buy mud guards or water bottles etc "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? NORWICH
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Boardman MX Sport Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic Bike,
June 08, 2015
By
from Keighley West Yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the comfort and ease of the ride
" Having just got back into the saddle after a 30 year gap I cannot believe how easy this bike is to ride. Everything is so much easier - brakes, gears and ride.
I did a lot of research online and this bike fitted the bill. The lads down at Halfords in Keighley were really helpful so a big thanks to the 2 Daves.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? KEIGHLEY
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Boardman MX Sport Bike
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good starter bike,
March 23, 2015
By
from Glasgow, Glasgow City, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: fast, comfortable
Cons: feels loose after few weeks
" I use this bike for a daily commute and it is versatile, lightweight and fast. Can cope with off road and on road equally well. I would thoroughly recommend this bike to commuters but make sure Halfords build it and test it properly before leaving the store.They made a complete mess of my build, a complete rush job and I have had to spend money on a variety of niggly issues as a result: steering bearings & gear shifters to name the main ones. "
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? GLASGOW (RUTHERGLEN)
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Boardman MX Sport Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lovely bike.,
February 27, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the feel of the bike brakes and gears.
Cons: metal cheap looking pedals.
" At £382 after the 15% off I think I've had an absolute bargain. Well put together by halfords staff and a few small alterations by myself (seat height, lowering handle bars) I am now comfortable on it. Nice and smooth on the roads, fantastic brakes and pretty good gears as well. Seat is comfy enough for me. I thought I would miss not having a gear indicator but I'm enjoying the feel of what gear I'm in rather than looking at what I should be in. I'm not sold on the pedals yet and may replace them in time, that really is my only small gripe with this bike. All in all a brilliant bike for not really that much money when you consider what you could spend nowadays. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Boardman MX Sport Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First bike in years,
February 23, 2015
By
from Sheffield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: comfortable seat
Cons: no numbers on gears
" Have previously hired bikes on popular trails and decided to take the plunge and buy bikes for the family. Chose the boardman mx sport following reading other reviews. Expected the seat to be uncomfortable as was firm in comparison to others but it is so comfortable....have been on lots of trails now and no aches where there have been with hired bikes! As a novice gears take some getting use to as no gear numbers on handle bars but once use to work really well.....generally smooth gear changes. Front suspension excellent on trails and the fact that you can stiffen the suspension up for smoother roads is really useful. Great free build from staff at Crystal Peaks Sheffield. Looking forwards to a summer of getting out there! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (CRYSTAL PEAKS)
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Boardman MX Sport Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman MX SPORT,
February 22, 2015
By
from West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Since buying this bike my commute to work has become so much more enjoyable. It is a very comfortable ride with the option of front suspension which is very easy to lock out when using on the road. It has a slight tread on the tyres so could quite easily do light off-road like down the side of a canal or cycle tracks with the kids and family. The bike all in all is very good, good Avid cable disc brakes, sram gearing and Boardmans E4P finishing kit looks well. The 1 thing that doesn't work is white grips, they're filthy already. I will be purchasing some black ones eventually.
Definatly a bike to consider!! I love mine. "
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? HUDDERSFIELD
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Boardman MX Sport Bike
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bike,
February 21, 2015
By
from Bridgend, Bridgend, Bridgend, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality, weight, smoothness
Cons: none
" I wanted a lighter and more modern bike, which I certainly got with the MX Sport. It's easy to ride and very smooth. I'm having trouble with the gears, which will be sorted at the 6 week free check plus squeaky front disc brakes, but again I was advised this would happen by the halfords technician. Overall a great bike. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BRIDGEND
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Boardman MX Sport Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Slick,
February 19, 2015
By
from Peterborough
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is my first proper hybrid (I did have a MTB with hybrid parts prior) - what can I say, its slick as anything. It rides well and has a natural purr about it when the wheels come in contact with tarmac. Its quick, responsive, light, turns well, shifts gears with no effort at all.
Im probably only about 50 miles in and aside from the little issue i'll mention in a sec its well worth the money.
I swapped the original tubes for some slime, I know you get good and bad slime tyres from my MTB - I have 3 MTB's and I have run slime in them for the past 7 years, some last only a few weeks, the majority last for months, I think 9 is my record. After leaving my bike at work all day, I returned to a flat front.... fine, if I have gone over something then fine, its my fault. Took it to another retailer to have it looked at, they fitted a new one and gave the old one back to me. He suggested i take it back to Halfords for a refund & comp as the dude who had fitted had fitted one which was too small for the tyre. A small schoolboy error which I hope will get sorted on Sat when I take my bike back in for them to check the back wheel!!!!
Aside from that, I have no quarms at all.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? PETERBOROUGH
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Boardman MX Sport Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really pleased with my new wheels,
February 19, 2015
By
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I am really pleased with my new bike. It was great value for money, easy to ride and feels really well made and sturdy. I am doing a charity bike ride which was the reason for the purchase and so far I am really happy. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? STAINES
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Boardman MX Sport Bike
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's a heavy beast,
February 18, 2015
By
from West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: overall look
Cons: it's weight
" Overall, the bike is pretty good, Sram X5 groupset isn't the best but at this price point it's adequate. The large frame is massive, I'm six foot and had to flip the stem and put 20mm of spacers on top to bring the handlebars down low enough for me. The advertised weight of 13.8 kilo is obviously for the small frame, built up with pedals the large weighs around 15.5 kilos. It's a lot slower than I'd hoped which is probably down to the weight, a shame really as I like the look of the bike. I've since sold it and gone back to using my 26" wheel MTB as it's a lot lighter and way quicker. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? WAKEFIELD
-7points
3out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Boardman MX Sport Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman MX Sport 2014,
February 16, 2015
By
from Southampton, Southampton, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This bike from when i collected from the shop, and still riding it every day is one word. SUPERB.
I would recommend this Bike to any one. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHAMPTON (HEDGE END)
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Boardman MX Sport Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great fun both on and off road,
February 15, 2015
By
from Scunthorpe, Scunthorpe, North Lincolnshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: spec and build quality, both on and off-road capability, even better value now it only £450!!!
Cons: halfords not stocking essential (safety) spares!!, the bike is now 50 quid cheaper!!
" I picked up one of these way back in Nov 13 but only just bothering to write a review.
I bought this bike for Coast to Coast challenge rides after doing 5 of them on a heavily modded 26" wheel MTB. With the wheel size and more suitable tyres, this is the perfect bike for the C2C, W2W, WotR, HCW and Reivers.
However, last years challenge was the TPT which turned out to be more off-road than all my previous challenge rides and it was also VERY wet and VERY muddy. Despite going to places that the bike was never designed for, it handled the lot. Amazing!! The only gripe was having to adjust the brakes every 20 miles but that was more the fault of the mud and water than the bike!!
This year it is taking me on a re-run of the C2C.....
The only mods to the bike was a smaller front ring and a new rear cassette with a huge 36 teeth ring. I HATE hills but this really helped me up the three big climbs we had to do on the TPT.
I have also tried out a set of 29" x 2.0" MTB tyres and they make it even more capable off-road. Trust me - 700c and 29er rims are the same diameter and the 2.0" tyres fit perfectly.
Also, after the brake problems on the TPT, the pads were shot so I ended up upgrading to sintered pads. I would have bought the standard pads from Halfords but they do not stock them and they are an order in item only. As I had the world at my fingertips, I read reviews elsewhere and went the sintered pads route. I was out of action for a few days which was really annoying but now I know to keep a spare set ready to go. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? SCUNTHORPE
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Boardman MX Sport Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fast good all round bike solid,
February 01, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything perfect, love it
" I've not rode a bike for years thought I would get one for fitness and fun . This bike is great more than expected it is a fast bike it feels good to ride sturdy good hybrid bike it will take a lot off road aswell . It takes a little while to get used to gears trial and error but once you get it it so easy smooth changes on the gears great brakes this bike looks good for all ages you won't be disappointed with this bike boardman quality I'm happy with this bike im glad I spent the extra on it great bike great store halfords good help great staff thanks so go on make the purchase and get fit and feel great . "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Boardman MX Sport Bike
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bike great,build not so great,
January 29, 2015
By
from uk
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the frame/the styling
Cons: the bad build
" Had the bike for well over a year now and use it everyday to get to work.The only neg I have about the bike is the clunky gear change if you drop down a cog.My main gripe is the lack of attention to detail on the build.My right hand pedal had lost its bearing and needed to be replaced and when it came to taking off the pedals,i had no probs with the left.But the right side didn't budge.I applied wd40,no good,i applied heat,no good.I had to get the angle grinder out and cut off the pedal so that I could get a ratchet on the hex net.Finally I felt the the nut give,but continued to be extremely difficult to undo which indicated to me that it was threaded,which it was.Unfortunatly for me,whoever assembled the bike just continued to tighten up the threaded pedal nut into the crank arm which now leaves me to buy a costly new crank assembly. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 3
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Boardman MX Sport Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman MX sport 2014,
January 29, 2015
By
from Bristol, City of Bristol, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Excellent bike for road and country lanes.Good value for money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (WINTERSTOKE)
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Boardman MX Sport Bike
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good middle of range bike,
January 29, 2015
By
from Willenhall, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Quality built bike for all occasions. stylish comfortable "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? CANNOCK
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Boardman MX Sport Bike
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Boardman MX sport,
January 28, 2015
By
from Farnborough, Hampshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality
Cons: weight
" Great quality product. Good value offer after new year. I got the medium size frame which is heavier than expected at 14.5 kilos. I suppose the small frame bike weighs the 13.8 kg quoted. Fast delivery and some assembly required front wheel, handlebars, seat and gear adjustments. Although you can opt for Halfords to do this for you. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 3
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Boardman MX Sport Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fantastic bike,
January 25, 2015
By
from Newark-on-Trent, Newark, Nottinghamshire NG24, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great brakes
" what a fantastic bike to ride.effort less to pedal especially up hill.smooth gearing and very stable ride. using the bike to commute to and from work, totally amazing bike glad to of chosen this bike the seat is quite comfortable to "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? NEWARK
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>