Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Boardman MX Sport 2014

With great performance & versatility, the Boardman MX Sport 2014 offers you the best of both worlds.
Average Customer Rating:
4.722 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
35 of 36(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Review 1 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent Bike,
October 23, 2014
By daniel1990
from Manchester, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This is an excellent every day bike so far. However, I have only used it to cycle back and forth to work, and am now looking forward to testing its performance on longer routes as I feel it may really come into its own."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? MANCHESTER (WHITE CITY)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice bike,
October 11, 2014
By m1a2r3k4
from Hampshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: lovely feel when riding, looks great, can fit panniers and rear full mudguard
Cons: can't fit front full mudguard
"I find it hard to walk away from my new bike. I just stand there staring at it affectionately before I walk out of the garage.
It rides really smooth too.
One annoying thing is that the front wheel doesn't have any screw holes to fit a full sized mudguard on. Really sucks as I will be riding this to work and the current mudguard I have on it, that fits underneath and between the two forks, is too high and too short to stop all of the splatters from the road. The rear side does however have all of the necessary attachment points. Strange they did this. Perhaps they just forgot?
A plus is that 20k+ pannier racks can also be mounted onto the rear end because the disk-break cable is in a convenient position.
The bike is quite light but not very light to make you go 'wow' when you lift it up. It can really go quick though and the chain and peddles have a strong feel and smooth transitions."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? HAVANT
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a cracking bike.,
October 11, 2014
By Jawa74
from Southport, Merseyside, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the overall ride
Cons: no faults to find
"Had a few weeks and have to say, this bike is a fantastic ride. Flies along the roads and does a good job off the beaten track too.
The gears change very smoothly, making it easy to shift down on an incline if needed.
Cycling feels so easy on this, you just feel like you can go on for miles and miles and never get tired.
Staff at Southport very helpful.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHPORT
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
6 week service,
October 09, 2014
By Spoonsy
from Edge Lane, Liverpool, Liverpool, Merseyside, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I took my boardman into edge lane liverpool for its six week service.Service from the staff was fantastic Josh took care of my bike as if it was his own bike. Halfords should be proudof young Josh take your bike to him you wont be disappointed."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? LIVERPOOL
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman MX Sport,
October 04, 2014
By Keithydee
from Saint Helens, Merseyside, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: build quality
Cons: one peice presta valves
"Great for tarmac and trails, with the front suspension locked out I can give road bikes a run for their money too, its well built. I treated the tyres which took time as they are one piece Presta valves, that is my only gripe, it can be done, it just takes time. Great for roads and trails."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman MX Sport 2014,
September 29, 2014
By steve162
from Flintshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have recently purchased the Boardman MX Sport 2014 as a replacement for my aged mountain bike. I was considering another mountain bike but on visiting the store in Wrexham and revising the cycling I usually do ,mainly roads and cycle paths ,I opted for the Boardman with its narrower tyres and 27 gears. The bike has been brilliant usually I do about 15 miles daily to keep in shape and I have found the ride very comfortable .The gears do not have an indicator as to which gear you are in but with a little practice this hasn't been a problem its just getting use to a new piece of equipment."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Boating
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? WREXHAM
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great all-rounder,
September 29, 2014
By Macca001
from Newport, South Wales
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: versatility, performance
Cons: gear change (may be simple mechanical adjustment)
"Bought the MX Sport 2014 at Newport Halfords to replace an ageing old raleigh mountain bike and get back on the saddle at weekends. I was initially looking at a MTB however really glad I got this instead, which works well on-road and also some mild off-roading with the front suspension. Really enjoying getting out with it and zipping along much quicker than my old MTB. Service was very good and helpful in-store. Disc brake pads rubbing a little ( I put this down to it being new and having to wear down a bit?) and have occasional trouble shifting up to the big sprocket at the front but taking it back in for the 6 week check soon and will get adjusted. Overall, very happy with it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? NEWPORT
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value Boardman bike,
September 24, 2014
By David2000calBC
from Lancashire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: it all.
Cons: the seat.
"A superb value bike. Excellent performance and versatility. It would be difficult to find a better bike at the same price. Fantastic and friendly service at the Burnley store."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BURNLEY
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice hybrid - slightly stronger off road than on,
September 24, 2014
By SirNorfolkPassmore
from Twickenham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: great suspension system, good balance on brakes, good look
Cons: bit laboured on tarmac, slightly cheap feeling seat
"The suspension really smooths things out off-road, and has an easy mechanism to switch off back on the road. The gear shift mechanism is good, and the brakes strike about the right balance between being unresponsive and throwing you over the bars. The look of the bike is also great, and the fairly upright seating position worked for me (although that's personal preference/body shape).
One thing I would say is it's a hybrid with an off-road bias - it's a shade laboured on tarmac. That's exactly right for me but, if you're going 90% on-road, with only a bit of light off-road, you may wish to consider something different."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? TWICKENHAM (KING STREET)
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not good enough,
September 20, 2014
By Joey72
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: nouthing
Cons: na
"After waiting on my bike in the Stirling branch the boy Shaun had no people skills whatsoever and never offered me any after sales service plan or anything. When home I tried bike to find that he had not built it properly . I returned it next day and got a full refund. Never really rode the bike due to more halfords bad service I won't be back"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 2
-5points
1out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great bike poor set up,
September 14, 2014
By Zeff13
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: brakes, bike overall
Cons: bike preperation
"This is a great bike. I went for this model over the others specifically for the cable disc brakes which are a doddle to work on and I'm glad I did as the bike was set up appaulingly.
The lads in the local halfords store were really helpful but I suspect the chap wearing the 'L' badge and not yet worthy of a proper halfords shirt had set the bike up. The brakes were rubbing on the discs and not aligned correctly and the front derailleur was insistent on flinging the chain off at every given opportunity. The head was also loose. After half an hour fettling this resolved the issues ( and knocked 15 mins off my daily commute) though I am not particularly reassured about the value of the service plan I purchased.......
Overall though the bike is fantastic, with hindsight perhaps the more road biased version of the hybrid may be more appropriate for my needs but I did enjoy some moderate off-road woodland track last week which brought a grin to my face.
I would definately reccommend the bike especially as I got this through the cycle 2 work scheme and is a real bargain. The customer service at the Guiseley store was first class but the quality of preperation on the bike was poor. As long as you're happy to sort it yourself or get some one else to sort it for you it's a great deal which ever way you look at it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman MX Sport- ideal return to cyclingNothing much,
September 09, 2014
By WorcesterCanary
from Worcester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: gears, brakes, style, weight
Cons: nothing yet
"After many years off a bike I decided to take advantage of the Cycle 2 Work scheme and being limited to Halfords with ours was somewhat disappointed made worse by the lack of forthcoming assistance in the many Halfords I visited in my work area, anyway, after initially opting for the Carrera Crossfire 3 I was delighted I could get the MX Sport for the same price on a promotion weekend. Stopped off in Kings Lynn and was very well assisted, arranged to collect the bike the following weekend and wow! Got back to Worcester for my first blast along the Severn way, a mix of track and path, then some road and despite my poor fitness, I loved every minute of the ride. The bike was well put together, I adjusted seat height and that was it...off, Its fast, responsive and so easy to ride. Great gear change, great brakes and great looking to be fair! And so lightweight compared to my old steel frame thing, no wonder I gave up riding it.
Thoroughly recommend this great bike. And I care not the white seat and grips are already off colour, it looks great still!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? KINGS LYNN
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bike for fitness & Family rides,
September 08, 2014
By Sam65
from Oxfordshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: excellent specification
Cons: no visual confirmation of gear selected.
"Bought the Boardman MX Sport to replace an ageing mountain bike.
Wanted a bike that was good on the road, but allowed me to take on the casual off-road cycle paths around.
So far so good. Bike performs well, gears are smooth and the disk brakes are excellent. Bike lives up to its tag of great performance and versatility."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? DIDCOT
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Couldnt of done it without it,
September 08, 2014
By Staffee
from Portsmouth, Portsmouth, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: slick gear changes
"Recently just completed an unsupported tour the Isle of Wight. This hybrid outperformed my expectations as I am used to road bikes, gaining a max speed of 34.4mph downhill of course, it has a lot of gears which helped get up the numerous hills without having to get off to push it. Coupled with a set of Top Peak panniers, this is now a great touring bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? PORTSMOUTH
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My New Bike,
September 07, 2014
By Trucker55
from Luton, Luton, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Boardman MX Sport 2014 is a great bike and good valve and Performance."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? DUNSTABLE
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bike,
September 06, 2014
By Mumford11a
from Sandhurst, Bracknell Forest, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Love this bike
Chose to buy this bike from the reviews on it & I'm so happy I did, it's great.
Fantastic build quality, brakes are sharp & responsive & great range & smoothness through the greas.
Very comfortable bike to ride on my daily 15 mile commute.
I even beat my girlfriend home after the gym when she meets me there after work."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? FARNBOROUGH
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Better than expected,
September 05, 2014
By Yoda40
from Leicester, Leicester, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I was unsure about the purchase of a cross over as I have only had a road bike for over 20 years , I've been out on the bike a few times now and it's performed better than i expected and feels more like a higher end bike . gears are easy and brakes are good but the main thing about the bike is seat to handle bar position , this more often then not is not correct and I have had back pain in the past due to poor frame design , but this has been built well . Very good bit of kit ."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (PUTNEY RD)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great commuter with options,
September 05, 2014
By JohnArr
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Excellent on the road, very responsive. Quick-lock suspension great for dealing with rubbish Bristol roads, then locking off and attacking the hills. Feels sturdy enough for light trails."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good bike but mediocre service!,
September 05, 2014
By Notdeadyet68
from Folkestone
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the bike
Cons: the service
"A great bike at a good price but the service I received let Halfords down. Told to pick up at 3pm it wasn't even out of the box. It took them 2 hours to prepare bike and fit carrier rack. Asked for mudguards to be fitted and was told not possible due to suspended forks but have since easily fitted my own. Asked for the handbook but was told they didn't have one spoke to Manager since who did get me one. Charged me £2.95 for a bell they were going to 'throw in' etc etc - shame!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? FOLKESTONE
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Halfords and Boardman make a great team,
September 04, 2014
By Appy07
from Bournemouth, Bournemouth, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: balance, performance
Cons: while saddle
"Smooth and excellent service from Halfords - Bournemouth Paul was great in setting up my bike adjusting it to suit my frame and needs. This has allowed me to thoroughly enjoy the whole riding experience. The bike is versatile and quick, on and off road and beautifully balanced.
Actually 'Best of ALL Worlds'
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? BOURNEMOUTH
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>