Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Boardman MX Sport 2014

With great performance & versatility, the Boardman MX Sport 2014 offers you the best of both worlds.
Average Customer Rating:
4.651 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
12
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
41 of 42(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Review 1 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall a joy to ride,
December 08, 2014
By Jacko3
from Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the upright riding position good for posture.
" This hybrid sports bike was a step up from my slower mountain bike which wasn't practical for my daily road commute. The disc brakes are quick to respond and lockable forks are a nice feature. The 27 gears and lightweight alloy frame transport me at a steady fast speed, now making my 4 mile commute 5/10 minutes faster. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? TUNBRIDGE WELLS
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
boardman mx sport,
December 07, 2014
By jock2462
from Crawley, West Sussex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Fantastic bike gears are much better then my other bike. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? CRAWLEY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike,
December 05, 2014
By Barks89
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" For the casual rider on and off rode this is a great bike. Very comfortable and easy to ride "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bike but...,
November 19, 2014
By Dale122
from Leicester, Leicester, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: amazing bike
Cons: not properly built by halfords staff
" This bike is great so far, i ride 5 miles to work and back which is a mix of bumpy road and bumpy cycle paths. After about 4 days of cycling to work and back though, one of the crank arms fell off, i can only assume the bolt wasn't tightened on properly by halfords when they built it as it came off completely and cost me 15quid to get somebody out to repair. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (PUTNEY RD)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A quality bike,
November 16, 2014
By Royalonabike
from Reading, Reading, Reading, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: smooth welds great looking
Cons: hard ride
" Firstly, the bike exudes quality with its smooth welds and excellent paint job. The Halfords guy talked me through the benefits of a hybrid bike and, as my height is at the upper end of the medium size range, recommended that I opt for the larger size frame. The bike looks and feels big and I feel much higher up than on my old mountain bike.The tyres are quite thin and pumped to high pressure which does give quite a hard ride on the rough roads around my area. But on smooth roads it flies along and I think I've surprised a few road bikers with my speed! Again due to the thin tyres it doesn't feel quite as sure footed as the old bike, especially on wet leaves which are currently evident on our cycle paths. Overall, I am very pleased with my purchase. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? READING (WINNERSH)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hybrid Excellence,
November 12, 2014
By OddBod1
from Norfolk
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: great rider positon great bike geometry
Cons: gear shifters are taking a while to get used too
" Does exactly what you would expect from a hybrid bike, good solid engineering. It has made my commute to work so much more fun and relaxing. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? CROMER
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fast, Great Looking Bike,
November 03, 2014
By joecyclist
from High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: looks great, high gearing for good speed, light weight
Cons: gears may require adjustment
" Bought this bike after having a full suspension MTB and wanted a quicker commuting bike with some off road capability, this does the job perfectly, really quick on the flats with a large gear range, looks great and the lockout front suspension is useful when sprinting. I have bought clip in pedals, but the originals were good and came with toe clips and straps. Attached old MTB mudguards with relative ease. Gears are good but will need a slight adjustment at the 6 week "check up" also, takes a couple of rides to get used to shifter gears from previous twisting gears although not a problem. I looked at several bikes including voodoo marasa and carrera's but decided to go for this slightly more expensive model as it looked and felt like a much higher quality build and I am pleased with the decision. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? HIGH WYCOMBE (LONDON RD)
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent Bike,
October 23, 2014
By daniel1990
from Manchester, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" This is an excellent every day bike so far. However, I have only used it to cycle back and forth to work, and am now looking forward to testing its performance on longer routes as I feel it may really come into its own. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? MANCHESTER (WHITE CITY)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice bike,
October 11, 2014
By m1a2r3k4
from Hampshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: lovely feel when riding, looks great, can fit panniers and rear full mudguard
Cons: can't fit front full mudguard
" I find it hard to walk away from my new bike. I just stand there staring at it affectionately before I walk out of the garage.
It rides really smooth too.
One annoying thing is that the front wheel doesn't have any screw holes to fit a full sized mudguard on. Really sucks as I will be riding this to work and the current mudguard I have on it, that fits underneath and between the two forks, is too high and too short to stop all of the splatters from the road. The rear side does however have all of the necessary attachment points. Strange they did this. Perhaps they just forgot?
A plus is that 20k+ pannier racks can also be mounted onto the rear end because the disk-break cable is in a convenient position.
The bike is quite light but not very light to make you go 'wow' when you lift it up. It can really go quick though and the chain and peddles have a strong feel and smooth transitions. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? HAVANT
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a cracking bike.,
October 11, 2014
By Jawa74
from Southport, Merseyside, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the overall ride
Cons: no faults to find
" Had a few weeks and have to say, this bike is a fantastic ride. Flies along the roads and does a good job off the beaten track too.
The gears change very smoothly, making it easy to shift down on an incline if needed.
Cycling feels so easy on this, you just feel like you can go on for miles and miles and never get tired.
Staff at Southport very helpful.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHPORT
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
6 week service,
October 09, 2014
By Spoonsy
from Edge Lane, Liverpool, Liverpool, Merseyside, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I took my boardman into edge lane liverpool for its six week service.Service from the staff was fantastic Josh took care of my bike as if it was his own bike. Halfords should be proudof young Josh take your bike to him you wont be disappointed. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? LIVERPOOL
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman MX Sport,
October 04, 2014
By Keithydee
from Saint Helens, Merseyside, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: build quality
Cons: one peice presta valves
" Great for tarmac and trails, with the front suspension locked out I can give road bikes a run for their money too, its well built. I treated the tyres which took time as they are one piece Presta valves, that is my only gripe, it can be done, it just takes time. Great for roads and trails. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman MX Sport 2014,
September 29, 2014
By steve162
from Flintshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I have recently purchased the Boardman MX Sport 2014 as a replacement for my aged mountain bike. I was considering another mountain bike but on visiting the store in Wrexham and revising the cycling I usually do ,mainly roads and cycle paths ,I opted for the Boardman with its narrower tyres and 27 gears. The bike has been brilliant usually I do about 15 miles daily to keep in shape and I have found the ride very comfortable .The gears do not have an indicator as to which gear you are in but with a little practice this hasn't been a problem its just getting use to a new piece of equipment. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Boating
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? WREXHAM
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great all-rounder,
September 29, 2014
By Macca001
from Newport, South Wales
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: versatility, performance
Cons: gear change (may be simple mechanical adjustment)
" Bought the MX Sport 2014 at Newport Halfords to replace an ageing old raleigh mountain bike and get back on the saddle at weekends. I was initially looking at a MTB however really glad I got this instead, which works well on-road and also some mild off-roading with the front suspension. Really enjoying getting out with it and zipping along much quicker than my old MTB. Service was very good and helpful in-store. Disc brake pads rubbing a little ( I put this down to it being new and having to wear down a bit?) and have occasional trouble shifting up to the big sprocket at the front but taking it back in for the 6 week check soon and will get adjusted. Overall, very happy with it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? NEWPORT
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value Boardman bike,
September 24, 2014
By David2000calBC
from Lancashire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: it all.
Cons: the seat.
" A superb value bike. Excellent performance and versatility. It would be difficult to find a better bike at the same price. Fantastic and friendly service at the Burnley store. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BURNLEY
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice hybrid - slightly stronger off road than on,
September 24, 2014
By SirNorfolkPassmore
from Twickenham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: great suspension system, good balance on brakes, good look
Cons: bit laboured on tarmac, slightly cheap feeling seat
" The suspension really smooths things out off-road, and has an easy mechanism to switch off back on the road. The gear shift mechanism is good, and the brakes strike about the right balance between being unresponsive and throwing you over the bars. The look of the bike is also great, and the fairly upright seating position worked for me (although that's personal preference/body shape).
One thing I would say is it's a hybrid with an off-road bias - it's a shade laboured on tarmac. That's exactly right for me but, if you're going 90% on-road, with only a bit of light off-road, you may wish to consider something different. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? TWICKENHAM (KING STREET)
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not good enough,
September 20, 2014
By Joey72
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: nouthing
Cons: na
" After waiting on my bike in the Stirling branch the boy Shaun had no people skills whatsoever and never offered me any after sales service plan or anything. When home I tried bike to find that he had not built it properly . I returned it next day and got a full refund. Never really rode the bike due to more halfords bad service I won't be back "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 2
-11points
2out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great bike poor set up,
September 14, 2014
By Zeff13
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: brakes, bike overall
Cons: bike preperation
" This is a great bike. I went for this model over the others specifically for the cable disc brakes which are a doddle to work on and I'm glad I did as the bike was set up appaulingly.
The lads in the local halfords store were really helpful but I suspect the chap wearing the 'L' badge and not yet worthy of a proper halfords shirt had set the bike up. The brakes were rubbing on the discs and not aligned correctly and the front derailleur was insistent on flinging the chain off at every given opportunity. The head was also loose. After half an hour fettling this resolved the issues ( and knocked 15 mins off my daily commute) though I am not particularly reassured about the value of the service plan I purchased.......
Overall though the bike is fantastic, with hindsight perhaps the more road biased version of the hybrid may be more appropriate for my needs but I did enjoy some moderate off-road woodland track last week which brought a grin to my face.
I would definately reccommend the bike especially as I got this through the cycle 2 work scheme and is a real bargain. The customer service at the Guiseley store was first class but the quality of preperation on the bike was poor. As long as you're happy to sort it yourself or get some one else to sort it for you it's a great deal which ever way you look at it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman MX Sport- ideal return to cyclingNothing much,
September 09, 2014
By WorcesterCanary
from Worcester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: gears, brakes, style, weight
Cons: nothing yet
" After many years off a bike I decided to take advantage of the Cycle 2 Work scheme and being limited to Halfords with ours was somewhat disappointed made worse by the lack of forthcoming assistance in the many Halfords I visited in my work area, anyway, after initially opting for the Carrera Crossfire 3 I was delighted I could get the MX Sport for the same price on a promotion weekend. Stopped off in Kings Lynn and was very well assisted, arranged to collect the bike the following weekend and wow! Got back to Worcester for my first blast along the Severn way, a mix of track and path, then some road and despite my poor fitness, I loved every minute of the ride. The bike was well put together, I adjusted seat height and that was it...off, Its fast, responsive and so easy to ride. Great gear change, great brakes and great looking to be fair! And so lightweight compared to my old steel frame thing, no wonder I gave up riding it.
Thoroughly recommend this great bike. And I care not the white seat and grips are already off colour, it looks great still!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? KINGS LYNN
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bike for fitness & Family rides,
September 08, 2014
By Sam65
from Oxfordshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: excellent specification
Cons: no visual confirmation of gear selected.
" Bought the Boardman MX Sport to replace an ageing mountain bike.
Wanted a bike that was good on the road, but allowed me to take on the casual off-road cycle paths around.
So far so good. Bike performs well, gears are smooth and the disk brakes are excellent. Bike lives up to its tag of great performance and versatility. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? DIDCOT
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>