Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Boardman MX Sport 2014

With great performance & versatility, the Boardman MX Sport 2014 offers you the best of both worlds.
Average Customer Rating:
4.615 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (65 reviews)
5 stars
44
4 stars
18
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
60 of 61(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Review 1 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good starter bike,
March 23, 2015
By denvilda
from Glasgow, Glasgow City, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: fast, comfortable
Cons: feels loose after few weeks
" I use this bike for a daily commute and it is versatile, lightweight and fast. Can cope with off road and on road equally well. I would thoroughly recommend this bike to commuters but make sure Halfords build it and test it properly before leaving the store.They made a complete mess of my build, a complete rush job and I have had to spend money on a variety of niggly issues as a result: steering bearings & gear shifters to name the main ones. "
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? GLASGOW (RUTHERGLEN)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lovely bike.,
February 27, 2015
By pielover
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the feel of the bike brakes and gears.
Cons: metal cheap looking pedals.
" At £382 after the 15% off I think I've had an absolute bargain. Well put together by halfords staff and a few small alterations by myself (seat height, lowering handle bars) I am now comfortable on it. Nice and smooth on the roads, fantastic brakes and pretty good gears as well. Seat is comfy enough for me. I thought I would miss not having a gear indicator but I'm enjoying the feel of what gear I'm in rather than looking at what I should be in. I'm not sold on the pedals yet and may replace them in time, that really is my only small gripe with this bike. All in all a brilliant bike for not really that much money when you consider what you could spend nowadays. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First bike in years,
February 23, 2015
By MarkyS20
from Sheffield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: comfortable seat
Cons: no numbers on gears
" Have previously hired bikes on popular trails and decided to take the plunge and buy bikes for the family. Chose the boardman mx sport following reading other reviews. Expected the seat to be uncomfortable as was firm in comparison to others but it is so comfortable....have been on lots of trails now and no aches where there have been with hired bikes! As a novice gears take some getting use to as no gear numbers on handle bars but once use to work really well.....generally smooth gear changes. Front suspension excellent on trails and the fact that you can stiffen the suspension up for smoother roads is really useful. Great free build from staff at Crystal Peaks Sheffield. Looking forwards to a summer of getting out there! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (CRYSTAL PEAKS)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman MX SPORT,
February 22, 2015
By StuWilson86
from West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Since buying this bike my commute to work has become so much more enjoyable. It is a very comfortable ride with the option of front suspension which is very easy to lock out when using on the road. It has a slight tread on the tyres so could quite easily do light off-road like down the side of a canal or cycle tracks with the kids and family. The bike all in all is very good, good Avid cable disc brakes, sram gearing and Boardmans E4P finishing kit looks well. The 1 thing that doesn't work is white grips, they're filthy already. I will be purchasing some black ones eventually.
Definatly a bike to consider!! I love mine. "
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? HUDDERSFIELD
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bike,
February 21, 2015
By Filwill
from Bridgend, Bridgend, Bridgend, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality, weight, smoothness
Cons: none
" I wanted a lighter and more modern bike, which I certainly got with the MX Sport. It's easy to ride and very smooth. I'm having trouble with the gears, which will be sorted at the 6 week free check plus squeaky front disc brakes, but again I was advised this would happen by the halfords technician. Overall a great bike. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BRIDGEND
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Slick,
February 19, 2015
By SkyTestCyclist
from Peterborough
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is my first proper hybrid (I did have a MTB with hybrid parts prior) - what can I say, its slick as anything. It rides well and has a natural purr about it when the wheels come in contact with tarmac. Its quick, responsive, light, turns well, shifts gears with no effort at all.
Im probably only about 50 miles in and aside from the little issue i'll mention in a sec its well worth the money.
I swapped the original tubes for some slime, I know you get good and bad slime tyres from my MTB - I have 3 MTB's and I have run slime in them for the past 7 years, some last only a few weeks, the majority last for months, I think 9 is my record. After leaving my bike at work all day, I returned to a flat front.... fine, if I have gone over something then fine, its my fault. Took it to another retailer to have it looked at, they fitted a new one and gave the old one back to me. He suggested i take it back to Halfords for a refund & comp as the dude who had fitted had fitted one which was too small for the tyre. A small schoolboy error which I hope will get sorted on Sat when I take my bike back in for them to check the back wheel!!!!
Aside from that, I have no quarms at all.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? PETERBOROUGH
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really pleased with my new wheels,
February 19, 2015
By HollyJB
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I am really pleased with my new bike. It was great value for money, easy to ride and feels really well made and sturdy. I am doing a charity bike ride which was the reason for the purchase and so far I am really happy. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? STAINES
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's a heavy beast,
February 18, 2015
By Anonymous
from West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: overall look
Cons: it's weight
" Overall, the bike is pretty good, Sram X5 groupset isn't the best but at this price point it's adequate. The large frame is massive, I'm six foot and had to flip the stem and put 20mm of spacers on top to bring the handlebars down low enough for me. The advertised weight of 13.8 kilo is obviously for the small frame, built up with pedals the large weighs around 15.5 kilos. It's a lot slower than I'd hoped which is probably down to the weight, a shame really as I like the look of the bike. I've since sold it and gone back to using my 26" wheel MTB as it's a lot lighter and way quicker. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? WAKEFIELD
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman MX Sport 2014,
February 16, 2015
By Helen1974
from Southampton, Southampton, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This bike from when i collected from the shop, and still riding it every day is one word. SUPERB.
I would recommend this Bike to any one. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHAMPTON (HEDGE END)
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great fun both on and off road,
February 15, 2015
By Russs15
from Scunthorpe, Scunthorpe, North Lincolnshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: spec and build quality, both on and off-road capability, even better value now it only £450!!!
Cons: halfords not stocking essential (safety) spares!!, the bike is now 50 quid cheaper!!
" I picked up one of these way back in Nov 13 but only just bothering to write a review.
I bought this bike for Coast to Coast challenge rides after doing 5 of them on a heavily modded 26" wheel MTB. With the wheel size and more suitable tyres, this is the perfect bike for the C2C, W2W, WotR, HCW and Reivers.
However, last years challenge was the TPT which turned out to be more off-road than all my previous challenge rides and it was also VERY wet and VERY muddy. Despite going to places that the bike was never designed for, it handled the lot. Amazing!! The only gripe was having to adjust the brakes every 20 miles but that was more the fault of the mud and water than the bike!!
This year it is taking me on a re-run of the C2C.....
The only mods to the bike was a smaller front ring and a new rear cassette with a huge 36 teeth ring. I HATE hills but this really helped me up the three big climbs we had to do on the TPT.
I have also tried out a set of 29" x 2.0" MTB tyres and they make it even more capable off-road. Trust me - 700c and 29er rims are the same diameter and the 2.0" tyres fit perfectly.
Also, after the brake problems on the TPT, the pads were shot so I ended up upgrading to sintered pads. I would have bought the standard pads from Halfords but they do not stock them and they are an order in item only. As I had the world at my fingertips, I read reviews elsewhere and went the sintered pads route. I was out of action for a few days which was really annoying but now I know to keep a spare set ready to go. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? SCUNTHORPE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fast good all round bike solid,
February 01, 2015
By Brizi
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything perfect, love it
" I've not rode a bike for years thought I would get one for fitness and fun . This bike is great more than expected it is a fast bike it feels good to ride sturdy good hybrid bike it will take a lot off road aswell . It takes a little while to get used to gears trial and error but once you get it it so easy smooth changes on the gears great brakes this bike looks good for all ages you won't be disappointed with this bike boardman quality I'm happy with this bike im glad I spent the extra on it great bike great store halfords good help great staff thanks so go on make the purchase and get fit and feel great . "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bike great,build not so great,
January 29, 2015
By SkipJack
from uk
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the frame/the styling
Cons: the bad build
" Had the bike for well over a year now and use it everyday to get to work.The only neg I have about the bike is the clunky gear change if you drop down a cog.My main gripe is the lack of attention to detail on the build.My right hand pedal had lost its bearing and needed to be replaced and when it came to taking off the pedals,i had no probs with the left.But the right side didn't budge.I applied wd40,no good,i applied heat,no good.I had to get the angle grinder out and cut off the pedal so that I could get a ratchet on the hex net.Finally I felt the the nut give,but continued to be extremely difficult to undo which indicated to me that it was threaded,which it was.Unfortunatly for me,whoever assembled the bike just continued to tighten up the threaded pedal nut into the crank arm which now leaves me to buy a costly new crank assembly. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 3
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman MX sport 2014,
January 29, 2015
By majoco
from Bristol, City of Bristol, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Excellent bike for road and country lanes.Good value for money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (WINTERSTOKE)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good middle of range bike,
January 29, 2015
By PhilRich
from Willenhall, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Quality built bike for all occasions. stylish comfortable "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? CANNOCK
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Boardman MX sport,
January 28, 2015
By sdwahhh
from Farnborough, Hampshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality
Cons: weight
" Great quality product. Good value offer after new year. I got the medium size frame which is heavier than expected at 14.5 kilos. I suppose the small frame bike weighs the 13.8 kg quoted. Fast delivery and some assembly required front wheel, handlebars, seat and gear adjustments. Although you can opt for Halfords to do this for you. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 3
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fantastic bike,
January 25, 2015
By dazjoy
from Newark-on-Trent, Newark, Nottinghamshire NG24, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great brakes
" what a fantastic bike to ride.effort less to pedal especially up hill.smooth gearing and very stable ride. using the bike to commute to and from work, totally amazing bike glad to of chosen this bike the seat is quite comfortable to "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? NEWARK
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality Bike,
January 24, 2015
By Crewmanager13
from Sheffield, South Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Best bike ever within my budget,quality finish,attention to detail.
Equally good on or off road with suspension lock out to stiffen up frame when doing the road miles.
I recommend this bike ,Boardman pedigree dosn't dissapoint.
Smooth transaction ,bike ready in store next day,good bike techs.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (KILNER WAY)
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good looks,
January 09, 2015
By Addy69
from Hayling Island, Hayling Island, Hampshire PO11, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: value for money
Cons: none
" The colour looks really good and with smooth gear change and excellent brakes this was the perfect choice of bike. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? HAVANT
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike well priced,
January 06, 2015
By Dano1
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great bike for starting back out on biking and well priced for excellent quality product "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Plymouth Review,
January 04, 2015
By Read49
from Plymouth, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: cycling position
Cons: white handle grips
" Ordered on line, with mudguards, mudguards not assembled but fitted while I waited. Halfords staff very helpful. Only had the bike for a few weeks so far very pleased not sure about the saddle comfort yet, gear change smooth, brakes good. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? PLYMOUTH (LONGBRIDGE RD)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>