Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Boardman End Of Season or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Boardman MX Sport Bike 2014

Incredibly versatile, the Boardman MX Sport Bike offers you the best of both worlds.
Average Customer Rating:
4.645 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(76 Reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (76 reviews)
5 stars
53
4 stars
20
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
71 of 72(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for Boardman MX Sport Bike 2014
Review 1 for Boardman MX Sport Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great stuff,
January 15, 2016
By
from Epsom, Surrey, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: light weight, good brakes, comfy seat, great performance
Cons: gears, shape of handlebars, pedals have a bit oddly shaped arms
" I am not one of these pro cyclists who know everything about bikes, I started cycling more when I decided to commute this way. I chose Boardman because I felt this would be the right choice for my type of cycling (app 15miles per day). For cycling on the roads it's absolutely brilliant, for those who will switch from 'classic' bikes they will feel huge difference with these narrow tyres - jumping on kerbs is very risky but bike performs incredibly well. It's quite difficult to find good mudguards but I went for Defender rear with light and topeak for the front and it does the job (no miracles when cycling in the winter). I have a feeling that few extreme gears are useless but apart from this I am very happy with this bike. I use it now for 3 months for daily commuting so I use it quite a lot. It's relatively light (especially when you are used to mountain bike). Surprisingly seat is very comfortable even for female curves! I went for model for men because of the size of frame. I can highly recommend it to all people who want to commute comfortably :) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Boating
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? EPSOM
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Boardman MX Sport Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent bike and service.,
December 12, 2015
By
from Sheffield, South Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: smooth gear change, stopping power, looks
Cons: white handlebar grips!
" I have had a mountain bike for over 10 years and like riding the local trails but I wanted to go a bit quicker on the road and decided a hybrid bike could be the answer.
After looking around I identified the Boardman MX Sport and ordered on the internet after seeing the Black Friday price!. I collected the bike from my local Sheffield store (Kilner Way) and was very impressed by the way the staff had assembled and set-up the bike.
I have been out three times now and this bike can certainly move on the roads and is still pretty assured on the trails. The gear change is very smooth with the SRAM push/push levers although there is no indication which gear I am using!.
The Avid disc brakes are very good and I feel confident of stopping quickly from the higher road speeds. The bike looks impressive with the smooth welds etc and the saddle has been pretty comfortable.
Overall, I am very pleased I purchased this bike and also with the excellent service from Halfords. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (KILNER WAY)
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Boardman MX Sport Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value hybrid bike and excellent customer service.,
November 01, 2015
By
from Sheffield, South Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: riding position
Cons: white handlebar grips which will soon discolour.
" I bought this bike from the Sheffield (Kilner Way) store last week. They matched the web price. I'm very happy with the bike after riding about 50 miles..
The service was exceptional. Initially, there was a problem with the rear wheel but this was resolved promptly by the replacement of both wheels with higher quality wheels. They even fitted my own pedals to the bike for me. Tom, and other members of staff, were friendly and provided useful advice.
There was an offer of £50 of bike accessories with the bike and they let me take advantage of the lower web prices when selecting these.
In summary a quality bike at a reasonable price and excellent customer service. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (KILNER WAY)
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Boardman MX Sport Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice Bike,
October 16, 2015
By
from South
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: nice looks, reliable, quality
Cons: nothing, prefer shimano shifters
" Had this bike for a year. The setup by the Winnersh branch was fine. I messed up the gearing once by not being careful when removing the back wheel but that was my fault.
The white grips still look ok which I was quite surprised about. Overall still as new (if washed).
I've used it to ride to work and occasional trips on trails.
I can't tell if the suspension is locked or not so that is probably just extra weight but if your focus is less on road then might still be worth it.
I fitted my old full sized mudguards. The front was awkward but fine in the end though it took ages. If you buy accessories with the bike then the store will fit for free (well, mine will). "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? READING (WINNERSH)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Boardman MX Sport Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman MX Sport,
October 12, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality of bike for price
Cons: stress head manager
" WOW what a great bike you can feel the quality instantly, great gear change and performs great on road just as quick as a road bike to be fair and so comfortable.
staff at Llandudno superb although the manager (lady) was having a bad day and was stressing as she couldn't set bike up at first, NOT WHAT A CUSTOMER WANTS TO SEE REALLY.... but handed over to Gareth who sorted it straight away
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Boardman MX Sport Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb value!,
October 09, 2015
By
from Rugby
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good quality build and parts used.
Cons: have been unable to find suitable mudguards
" I purchase my MX Sport in about 2 years ago now for use to commute 9 miles on rural roads.
The bike is an excellent example of good design and quality parts. I've cycled many miles using this bike both on road and even milder trails/towpaths and it handles them both well.
The SRAM Gears and drive train have been super reliable.
The AVID brakes have also provided great stopping power under all conditions.
The Schwalbe tyres have lasted well and have never punctured.
Other than lubrication and general maintenance the bike has not required any work.. All of the original parts are still going strong and I can't see them failing any time soon.
If you're looking for a reasonably priced comfortable hybrid then the MX Sport is definitely worth considering. I'd certainly recommend it as I'm looking forward to many years of use from mine... "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? RUGBY
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Boardman MX Sport Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quick and comfy,
September 15, 2015
By
from Somerset, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: sram gear change mechanisms, disc brakes, schwalbe tyrago tyres
" Good looking bike which with its telescopic forks and 700 35C Schwalbe tyres is very comfortable to ride on trails and poor road surfaces. The bike is reasonably light as well and that combined with the wide range of gearing makes it feel quick. The SRAM gears are a joy to operate and the disc brakes provide good stopping capability.
I've not given maximum score for quality because when giving the bike a thorough check over after getting it home I found the front wheel to be out of true by about 3 mm; this was quickly remedied when I took the bike back to Halfords but the wheel should never have come out of the factory in that condition.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: More than 3
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Boardman MX Sport Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent all rounder,
August 18, 2015
By
from Gateshead, Tyne and Wear, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: gears, comfort
" Bought this bike three weeks ago now done around 350 miles on cycle tracks slightly rough terrain and roads and I have to say it's an all round gem. Lock the suspension and you can travel fast on roads unlock for rough terrain and it takes all the knocks the track gives you. Gears are very smooth and with 27 to work with you will never be stuck.brakes are very good and stop with ease. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? GATESHEAD
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Boardman MX Sport Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant bike,
August 04, 2015
By
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" brought today had my misgivings that the suspension would be no goods and would be two heavy but this bike is absolutely brilliant. Its quick with good gear changes and went up a few hills I normally struggle with with ease.
The discounts bring the price down to 382 pounds .Bargain at this price.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? UXBRIDGE
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Boardman MX Sport Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great all rounder,
July 05, 2015
By
from Norwich
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I mainly use this bike on the roads, but there are a few footpaths and rough tracks near me, so i didn't want a full road bike. Everything works really well, and it's a tidy bike. I really like the locking front forks so you can either concentrate on power, or give your bones a bit of a rest on these British roads. the only very minor down side is the frame is a bit of an odd size, so some standard fixtures don't fit. so just bear that in mine if you buy mud guards or water bottles etc "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? NORWICH
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Boardman MX Sport Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic Bike,
June 08, 2015
By
from Keighley West Yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the comfort and ease of the ride
" Having just got back into the saddle after a 30 year gap I cannot believe how easy this bike is to ride. Everything is so much easier - brakes, gears and ride.
I did a lot of research online and this bike fitted the bill. The lads down at Halfords in Keighley were really helpful so a big thanks to the 2 Daves.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? KEIGHLEY
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Boardman MX Sport Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good starter bike,
March 23, 2015
By
from Glasgow, Glasgow City, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: fast, comfortable
Cons: feels loose after few weeks
" I use this bike for a daily commute and it is versatile, lightweight and fast. Can cope with off road and on road equally well. I would thoroughly recommend this bike to commuters but make sure Halfords build it and test it properly before leaving the store.They made a complete mess of my build, a complete rush job and I have had to spend money on a variety of niggly issues as a result: steering bearings & gear shifters to name the main ones. "
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? GLASGOW (RUTHERGLEN)
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Boardman MX Sport Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lovely bike.,
February 27, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the feel of the bike brakes and gears.
Cons: metal cheap looking pedals.
" At £382 after the 15% off I think I've had an absolute bargain. Well put together by halfords staff and a few small alterations by myself (seat height, lowering handle bars) I am now comfortable on it. Nice and smooth on the roads, fantastic brakes and pretty good gears as well. Seat is comfy enough for me. I thought I would miss not having a gear indicator but I'm enjoying the feel of what gear I'm in rather than looking at what I should be in. I'm not sold on the pedals yet and may replace them in time, that really is my only small gripe with this bike. All in all a brilliant bike for not really that much money when you consider what you could spend nowadays. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Boardman MX Sport Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First bike in years,
February 23, 2015
By
from Sheffield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: comfortable seat
Cons: no numbers on gears
" Have previously hired bikes on popular trails and decided to take the plunge and buy bikes for the family. Chose the boardman mx sport following reading other reviews. Expected the seat to be uncomfortable as was firm in comparison to others but it is so comfortable....have been on lots of trails now and no aches where there have been with hired bikes! As a novice gears take some getting use to as no gear numbers on handle bars but once use to work really well.....generally smooth gear changes. Front suspension excellent on trails and the fact that you can stiffen the suspension up for smoother roads is really useful. Great free build from staff at Crystal Peaks Sheffield. Looking forwards to a summer of getting out there! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (CRYSTAL PEAKS)
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Boardman MX Sport Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman MX SPORT,
February 22, 2015
By
from West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Since buying this bike my commute to work has become so much more enjoyable. It is a very comfortable ride with the option of front suspension which is very easy to lock out when using on the road. It has a slight tread on the tyres so could quite easily do light off-road like down the side of a canal or cycle tracks with the kids and family. The bike all in all is very good, good Avid cable disc brakes, sram gearing and Boardmans E4P finishing kit looks well. The 1 thing that doesn't work is white grips, they're filthy already. I will be purchasing some black ones eventually.
Definatly a bike to consider!! I love mine. "
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? HUDDERSFIELD
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Boardman MX Sport Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bike,
February 21, 2015
By
from Bridgend, Bridgend, Bridgend, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality, weight, smoothness
Cons: none
" I wanted a lighter and more modern bike, which I certainly got with the MX Sport. It's easy to ride and very smooth. I'm having trouble with the gears, which will be sorted at the 6 week free check plus squeaky front disc brakes, but again I was advised this would happen by the halfords technician. Overall a great bike. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BRIDGEND
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Boardman MX Sport Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Slick,
February 19, 2015
By
from Peterborough
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is my first proper hybrid (I did have a MTB with hybrid parts prior) - what can I say, its slick as anything. It rides well and has a natural purr about it when the wheels come in contact with tarmac. Its quick, responsive, light, turns well, shifts gears with no effort at all.
Im probably only about 50 miles in and aside from the little issue i'll mention in a sec its well worth the money.
I swapped the original tubes for some slime, I know you get good and bad slime tyres from my MTB - I have 3 MTB's and I have run slime in them for the past 7 years, some last only a few weeks, the majority last for months, I think 9 is my record. After leaving my bike at work all day, I returned to a flat front.... fine, if I have gone over something then fine, its my fault. Took it to another retailer to have it looked at, they fitted a new one and gave the old one back to me. He suggested i take it back to Halfords for a refund & comp as the dude who had fitted had fitted one which was too small for the tyre. A small schoolboy error which I hope will get sorted on Sat when I take my bike back in for them to check the back wheel!!!!
Aside from that, I have no quarms at all.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? PETERBOROUGH
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Boardman MX Sport Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really pleased with my new wheels,
February 19, 2015
By
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I am really pleased with my new bike. It was great value for money, easy to ride and feels really well made and sturdy. I am doing a charity bike ride which was the reason for the purchase and so far I am really happy. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? STAINES
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Boardman MX Sport Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's a heavy beast,
February 18, 2015
By
from West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: overall look
Cons: it's weight
" Overall, the bike is pretty good, Sram X5 groupset isn't the best but at this price point it's adequate. The large frame is massive, I'm six foot and had to flip the stem and put 20mm of spacers on top to bring the handlebars down low enough for me. The advertised weight of 13.8 kilo is obviously for the small frame, built up with pedals the large weighs around 15.5 kilos. It's a lot slower than I'd hoped which is probably down to the weight, a shame really as I like the look of the bike. I've since sold it and gone back to using my 26" wheel MTB as it's a lot lighter and way quicker. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? WAKEFIELD
-7points
3out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Boardman MX Sport Bike 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman MX Sport 2014,
February 16, 2015
By
from Southampton, Southampton, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This bike from when i collected from the shop, and still riding it every day is one word. SUPERB.
I would recommend this Bike to any one. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHAMPTON (HEDGE END)
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>