Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Boardman MX Sport 2014

With great performance & versatility, the Boardman MX Sport 2014 offers you the best of both worlds.
Average Customer Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 10(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Review 1 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fantastic all-round bike,
July 20, 2014
By Sykostic
from Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: gearing range, easy lock suspension, efficient braking
Cons: minimum handlebar height is quite high
"Have had this bike for 3 months now and covered over 1,700 miles. It is very comfortable once you get the set-up right. On longer journeys and off-road the front suspension is great and reduces fatigue well. Gearing is excellent with a great range for hill climb through to high-speed road. With the suspension locked off I can easily keep up with or beat most race bikes on the road. I thoroughly recommend this bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? CHATHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy Ride,
July 14, 2014
By LoveCycle
from North Yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: safe/fast/responsive, great on road, fairly light for such a solid build quality
Cons: nothing really i have found yet, maybe limited to only mild off road trails
"Mountain bikes/Road bikes I have had for 30 years. I use a hardback in rural Spain where I have a Finca . Living in Rural North Yorkshire with great country roads and me getting older I thought I would try a "hybrid" for a comfort ride. Well it is a joy to ride but it is certainly no slouch, the trigger shifters and gearing make for a fast efficient ride , well balanced sure footed and light to steer. Have had it off road on a relative easy track grassy/muddy farmland some small stones a few larger cobble sized ones and it coped well not excessive vibrations. No faults in quality that I have found other than the front wheel is slightly out of true and it may have well been when I took delivery, I admit I never spun the wheel to check when I got it and it is a simple spoke key fix do it yourself but I will get it done this week on the free 6 week adjustment service you get. More than pleased, gets many positive comments form my friends, Value for money and plenty of scope beyond most peoples ability or fitness levels, a proper hybrid plus I would say. Oh not forgetting its a very safe easy to get to grips with machine if you are new to cycling or retuning to it and a buzz if you are experienced as well."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? NORTHALLERTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bike,
July 08, 2014
By Shedney
from Gateshead, Tyne and Wear, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: plenty of gears, handles hills spot on
Cons: the saddle
"Only had this bike for a day and after many years of not being on a bike this was a great choice. Only downside for me was the saddle which I intend to change. Hoping this will serve me well on the coast to coast."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? NEWCASTLE (KINGSTON RTL PK)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review of MX Spirt Hybrid Bike,
June 30, 2014
By Masonjnr
from Hartlepool, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: suspension lock out feature, plenty of gears, easy smooth gear change, good looking bike
Cons: none!
"Bought this bike on 17 June and used it for the C2C route 72 Hadrians Wall route on 20 - 22 June. The bike was built by Halfords and staff at the Hartlepool store were friendly and gave some good advice. A member of staff said he also had this bike and recommended it. The bike was great on the C2C, on and off road. The suspension lock out was a useful feature. The bike is very quiet and more than enough gears for multi terraine. The 700 thinner wheels make it a lot easier than the average mountain bike on longer distances. I would definitely recommend this bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? HARTLEPOOL
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice bike,
June 24, 2014
By Waveyx
from Coventry, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good stylish looks.
Cons: bottom bracket failed after 8 weeks / 150 miles
"Bought this bike on the cycle2work scheme. Very nice looking bike and I have enjoyed getting back into cycling."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? COVENTRY (FOLESHILL RD)
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MX Sport hybrid,
March 28, 2014
By Fish3954
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: gear shift could be smoother
"Bought this bike in Jan.14 and couldn't be happier with it. Very stylish, light weight and comfortable."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
+5points
11out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow,
March 22, 2014
By 1HappyMan
from Liverpool
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything
Cons: wish i had found it earlier!
"After years of riding my old raleigh the fun had been lost out of cycling. Enter this fantastic machine and wow!! Easy to use, comfortable, lightweight and once you get going you won't want to stop!!!
Worth every penny."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? AINTREE
+13points
16out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it, Great value for money,
February 21, 2014
By THEICEMAN
from Leeds
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything, finish, smooth and precise gear changes
Cons: nothing
"Excellent bike, comfortable, very easy to ride, fast on the road and very good value for money.
Have had this bike for a month now and it's just great. I've tried several bikes during my research into my new bike but this to me offers the best build and finish in this price point.
It is the best of both worlds, great on road and versatile enough for off road. Ideal for general cycling, keeping fit, commuting and great for weekend rides out in the country. Great styling, smooth and precise gear changes - love it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (KIRKSTALL)
+29points
31out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing bike,
January 20, 2014
By Harjak
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: comfortable fast ride
Cons: none
"Excellent bike, very easy to ride and a comfortable yet fast ride.
Have tried many bikes, including road bikes. This is the best of both worlds, great on the road and versatile enough for you to go off the beaten track. Ideal commuter and great for longer weekend rides out as well. Great styling.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 2
+32points
35out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Boardman MX Sport 2014
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top bike,
December 29, 2013
By Biker3784
from Kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This bike is amazing. So smooth and such a high spec for the money"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? DARTFORD
+26points
45out of 64found this review helpful.