Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional

Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional NBDVR402-G records your journeys in 1080 high definition
Average Customer Rating:
4.534 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(266 Reviews) 266
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (266 reviews)
5 stars
189
4 stars
52
3 stars
11
2 stars
6
1 star
8
233 of 255(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 74 Answers
Customer Reviews for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Review 1 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nextbase 402g,
August 28, 2015
By
from Scotland
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: picture quality and easy to use
Cons: reliability issues
" Picture quality is brilliant and really easy to use.
Only downside ive had is ive had 2 of them go faulty on me within 4 months with the same problem where you take the key out the ignition the device wont shut off properly and keeps turning its self off / on / off / on / off etc etc till it eventually dies.
Upgraded to the 512g and hope i dont get the same problems. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? DUNDEE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value and does the job, microphone gets too much road noise,
August 27, 2015
By
from Kent, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Bought this for a long trip through Europe in case of accidents or dodgy tickets. Other reviews comment on complexity of setting menu's and options and the fiddly Micro SD card. The latter is a minor irritation but a pen, coin or similar deals with that. I have had no problems with the menu's which are clear and easy to use. The microphone achieves little as road noise dominates. At full quality video, the default 3 minute segment uses almost 500mb - so even a 32gb SD card has fairly limited capacity. Reducing the quality to 720p and turning off sound seems to make the file size more manageable. Setting the Units (Kmh/Mph) and car registration etc seems simple to do. Overall seems a good buy - worth the money. We've also used the video as a record of some of the nice drives through the lovely Italian and Swiss countryside. The Wide angle lens does the job intended but it has its limitations. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? TONBRIDGE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality,
August 26, 2015
By
from Fife
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Good quality camera that produces HD video and easy to use. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DUNFERMLINE
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
quality product, apart from internal battery,
August 26, 2015
By
from Buckinghamshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Review based upon 6 months usage (Feb-Aug 2015) and viewing output video on Apple OSX …
Day 1 experience: Use 32gb class 10 sd card. Excellent fitting service to ignition by Bletchely Halfords. plus Audi have just re-fitted cable in my new car was a cinch. Excellent 1080 image quality that is easy to view on my Apple computer or smart TV without requiring the Nextbase software.
Recommend:
i. the well known adage in IT circles springs to mind after reading some of the comments …. so best to download & read the manual (only 18 pages off web) as it is not intuitive (well it is a computer after all)
ii. If the micro SD card is plugged into an Apple OSX AND the card has write access via an adaptor (SD or USB) be aware that OSX takes the liberty of writing spurious files to the card (every one of your files will be prefixed by a ‘dot’ as an extra file and there will be junk folders such as .Trashes, fseventsd etc - google for more details). These are hidden files on OSX and thus you will not be aware of them unless the card is viewed on Windows or a smart TV. I am sure that it was these junk files that was causing the car cam to write damaged files & prevent disk space from being over-written when the card was full.
iii. Regular re-formatting of the card INSIDE the car cam will avoid file fragmentation and remove Apple’s junk files.
iv. Use of the supplied USB cable with a computer will allow all the files to be viewed using the standard software (eg quicktime) because the files written are .MOV and I’ve found this to be quicker than using the Nextbase software (although it does display a nice google map of your route side-be-side with the footage).
v. Remember that the car cam needs power to view footage on a smart TV (use the hdmi lead) or the car cam itself. So plug USB cable into a phone power adaptor
6-month experience: the car cam would not close down at the end of a trip. Symptoms were the dinging noise you get once when switching off the ignition was repeated several times and some of the .MOV files would not play as they were corrupt. I also saw some junk .TXT files had been written in a folder called PS, in addition to the usual DCIM folder. Nextbase support were quick to identify the internal battery was faulty. The car cam was swapped this month by Halfords with no quibble.
The battery failure has caused me to drop a star.
Tips:
- don’t be distracted when driving so set it to only display the HUD option to give GPS digital speed or screen off, rather than the video being captured
- couple of others have suggested black insulating tape to cover the white lettering to make device less obtrusive if leaving it in vehicle
- one reviewer mentioned ‘how to stop recording’ to access Menu - just press the OK button
- a little silicon grease on mounting bracket may make removal a bit easier
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BLETCHLEY
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture angle too narrow,
August 21, 2015
By
from Sussex, England
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: supplied playback software
Cons: difficult to install sd card, too narrow an angle of view
" The camera came with a bundle that included a storage pouch and some rather good software to view the video footage. However, the device is not intuitive to set up. Leave the Micro SD card out during set up or the camera will simply start recording.
I bought a Transcend DrivePro 200 to replace the Nextbase because when replaying the video footage, it wasn't possible to see vehicles emerging from left hand road junctions owing to the restricted 140 degree angle.
The Drive pro has 160 degree angle and a great lense. It is also cheaper.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? CRAWLEY
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Response from Halfords:By NextBaseNextBaseAugust 24, 2015
Hi GrumpyGit247,

Thanks for your comments – having sold many tens of thousands of units in the UK this is the first time we are aware of that viewing angle has been mentioned negatively. In our intensive UK testing we found that if you use a wider angle lens the vital image clarity in the middle of the image is lost. This is one of the reasons that the Nextbase 402g can capture number plates more clearly than other products and one of the reasons it was awarded the Which Best Buy award in 2014 and 2015
Review 6 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Peace of mind,
August 18, 2015
By
from Sutton-in-Ashfield, Nottinghamshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: small size
" I have been considering buying a dashcam for a while but thought it would be intrusive given that I drive a sports car with a comparatively small windscreen. This unit is small and doesn't interfere with vision but has all the features needed. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? SUTTON IN ASHFIELD
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nextbasei InCarCam 402G Professional,
August 18, 2015
By
from West Bromwich, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: like the on screen ghraphics
" I was surprised how clear the images are especially at night easy to set up and very good software to install on the computer overall a very good buy "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? OLDBURY
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional,
August 18, 2015
By
from Ludlow, Ludlow, Shropshire SY8, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: clear screen, clear playback
Cons: screen bright at night
" I bought this as it was recomended by Which and it seems to be working well. I am pleased to say I haven't needed to use the playback as evidence but it looks very clear when I have tested it.
The only draw back is when I am driving at night and I find the bright screen distracting as it is mounted next to the mirror. It might be better mounted somewhere else.
"
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? SHREWSBURY
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
nextbase incar cam 402G,
August 14, 2015
By
from Sheffield, South Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: picture quality, not a lot
Cons: camera mount
" does what it says on the tin plug and go. Problems arise if adjustment is required. instruction manual disc did not download. However downloaded from internet. This manual was not written by anybody from this planet and urgently requires making user friendly. Poor camera mount not easy to remove. Battery power poor..Packed up after six weeks and has to be returned to Next Base for repair! Could be made a winner with a bit more thought "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (KILNER WAY)
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great day or night vision,
August 14, 2015
By
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality of night recording
Cons: none so far
" Bought this after seeing clips on internet. The quality of the recordings is excellent, quite surprised by the night recording which is very clear. Downloaded full instructions from nextbase website on PDF format though it is quite easy to operate without them. Also like the programme supplied on the disc for viewing files, they show everything including a map showing the route you took via GPS tracking. Would recommend this camera "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? HARTLEPOOL
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nextbase 402G Professional,
August 13, 2015
By
from Surrey UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: compact
Cons: short battery life.
" It is a small compact easy to use unit, although the OK button is on top, not convenient to touch. Very disappointed with the short battery life; 6 minutes. Had mine hard wired into the car, so every time the engine is turned off, after six minutes, the battery is flat. My CD supplied did not have the instruction manual, so had to contact Next base, for another CD, and the battery after three months, will not hold a charge. Not very clear specific instructions, on how and what to do, to recharge the camera off the vehicle! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CROYDON (PURLEY WAY)
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great device,
August 07, 2015
By
from Huddersfield, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great device at a great price, had it fitted at halfords so no wires all over,only thing is time was not correct and have tried to change it myself with no success, really need to go back for this to be done. Fitted within half an hour, customer service overall was good and product was just what we had been looking for. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? HUDDERSFIELD
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hard wiring depends on car make - check before purchase,
August 05, 2015
By
from Devon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" The camera is excellent, giving a wide field of view and good definition. It is easy to operate.
However, check before you purchase, if you are intent on having it hard wired.My car is a 2 yr old BMW 520D M Sport.
I bought mine from my local store and a technician after dismantling my car and spending an hour, gave up stating he could not fit it.
I went to my official BMW dealer who would not fit it or offer a price as the device was not authorised by BMW
They wanted me to purchase their own camera at twice the price
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? NEWTON ABBOT
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Never Skips A Beat,
August 05, 2015
By
from Kildare, Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use
" Have been using this product a couple of weeks now and its truly fantastic. Plus the price I got it for in Halfords amazed me. Tip for you, order online with halfords and get a greater discount at the till. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? NAAS (ROI)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the camera that could save an appearance in court,
August 05, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: essential piece of kit for self preservation
" Following a couple of incidents, I was minded to try and protect myself by having a possibly permanent visual record of any untoward driving incident that I may become involved in. The product has the recommendation of WHICH, that was good enough for me. I find that it not only keeps a record of what other drivers may do. It also makes me far more conscious of my own driving.
Years ago I would have dismissed it as a gimmick, nowadays I consider it an essential piece of kit. Finally, I chose the 32 chip instead of huge 8. I am very happy and much more relaxed behind the wheel. I found that downloading the instructional manual and printing it off was also very helpful.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use camera,
August 03, 2015
By
from West Midlands, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
Cons: no permanent loop
" No wonder Which? gave this their best buy, it's easy to use and install. With high quality image capturing, playing back is very good. If you're going to buy an in-car camera then this is a top product, if there is a down side to it, it has to be that there is no choice to do a permanent loop recording, only two, three or five minute loops. Apart from this, there is nothing bad about the camera. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good picture,
August 02, 2015
By
from Buckinghamshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: nice and small
" Very good would advise larger sim card for longer filming but overall good picture and of easy to download onto laptop . "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cracking bit of kit,
July 31, 2015
By
from Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: video quality, location & speed info
Cons: stiff mounting clip
" Doing a lot of company miles I decided it was time to invest in a little he said she said insurance. After a bit of research, it became clear the 402G was the ideal choice.
The 1080p video is crystal clear, it records audio too and shows your GPS position along with your speed. You can also input your VIN so there are no arguments if you need to submit the video as evidence.
The playback software that comes with it is a little primitive in appearance but shows masses of information, including speed, G forces and a Google Map of your journey.
Ideally you need to stick a 32GB MicroSD card in it which will give you around 4hrs of recording capacity. Via the config menu, you can set it to record in 5min chunks which come out at around 500Mb each. They're in .MOV format and located in a DCIM folder, just like a regular digital camera.
I had mine installed in 5-10 mins, including hiding the cable - of which there's loads. It's barely noticeable behind the rear view mirror. Via the NextBase website you can download updated firmware, and the user manual if needed.
All in all, it's easy to fit, and easy to use. The clip can be a bit stiff but the suction mount is solid as a rock. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (YORK RD)
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional,
July 31, 2015
By
from Bath, Bath, Bath and North East Somerset, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I cannot fault it it is being absolutely brilliant. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great quality,
July 29, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality and ease of recording
Cons: after a year it wouldn't turn off properly so req
" Great service from Halfords and the product itself is the best one I have had. I've tried quite a few but it really pays to buy the nextbase one. The replay, GPS and wide angle lens is high quality and its amazing the things I've managed to cpture on the recording. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? ROMFORD
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>