Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional

Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional NBDVR402-G records your journeys in 1080 high definition
Average Customer Rating:
4.522 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(115 Reviews) 115
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (115 reviews)
5 stars
81
4 stars
23
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
3
103 of 111(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 77 Answers
Customer Reviews for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Review 1 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use,
January 31, 2015
By gjhjfd
from Coventry, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: plug in the power feed and it starts up by itself
" I checked the various alternatives for a dash cam on line and this one had the best reputation. There was a bit of an offer from Halfords so I reserved it and then went in to purchase. Everything has been good, I have a slight reservation about menu navigation, but like any modern gadget you get used to it. One technical issue was very quickly answered by the Nextbase email support. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: More than 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? COVENTRY (ORCHARD RTL PK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nextbase 402G - I like it a lot,
January 31, 2015
By Diplodocus
from Leighton Buzzard, Central Bedfordshire LU7, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I’ve been using the Nextbase 402G for about a month and I’m well pleased with it. Suction mount firm and reliable. The camera to mount fitting is a bit stiff so it pays to loosen it up by working it on and off a few times and lubing with silicone grease (not spray). Mounted behind and to the left of the rear-view mirror it’s unnoticeable. The micro SD card slot is recessed so you need fingernails to insert/extract (not long nails but nail-biters will struggle).
Daytime image quality is excellent. Only had one glitch – shortly after fitting it failed to record the last 16 minutes of a 90 minute journey, but no problems since and I’ve checked every day. The only thing I’m a little disappointed with is the performance when driving towards the sun when it’s low in the sky (rather common this time of the year). But I can’t imagine many dashcams coping well with this, it’s just a general problem with cameras. Adaptation to changing light conditions is quite quick – e.g. from tunnel into daylight. Note that I’ve not tested for night driving, I do very little. Fine at dusk.
Tips. 1) if your power socket is constantly live, hard-wire the camera to a circuit that’s live with ignition. Having it switch on and off with the ignition is a boon as you can fit and forget. 2) The supplied viewer software is adequate but I’ve not used it since downloading the free Datakam viewer (Google will find it) – far better if you’re into this sort of thing. As ever when downloading software take your normal precautions re viruses/malware. 3) hide the silver lettering on the front of the camera with electrician’s black tape – helps make the camera difficult to see from outside if you want to leave it permanently mounted. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Which Store did you visit? LEIGHTON BUZZARD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far so good!,
January 30, 2015
By Teuchter
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: it encourages me to drive carefully!
Cons: can't leave it on when i exit the vehicle
" I have not quite got to grips with all the features as i am not a geek but so far i am delighted with picture quality and it always switches on when i turn on my ignition. A little disappointed that i cannot leave it running when parked as my car does not allow me to leave any power on after the key is removed. I do wonder if a rear facing camera would also be good perhaps mounted on the back window. Problems are just as likely to arise behind you! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nextbase in carcam 402g pro,
January 29, 2015
By slater54
from northants
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Really pleased with this product and have now used it for two weeks. Can't believe the amazing HD replay from such an un- intrusive small camera which fits on the windscreen just off centre by the driving mirror. Works well in all light conditions and has an enormous width of vision to reproduce exactly what you're seeing when driving.
If you're an older driver you will find this camera easy to operate so there's no need to be concerned because of the computer element of the playback onto your laptop/computer. Setting the date and time which you need to do the first time after you enter your sd card can be done while sitting in the car using the simple buttons on the camera.
Having full connection to the GPS satellites , on playback it will give full location of the car and the speed at which you are travelling at . It's fully stable on it's mounting over any road surface so there's absolutely no wobble on play back.
Received very helpful advice from John c and Dan, and received a great fitting experience from a very confident mechanic, Steve . If his standard of work applies throughout the group then I would recommend anyone buying this item to have it installed by a Halford's mechanic. Just one wire at the top to plug into the camera and it goes on and off with the ignition even if you have keyless starting. The fitting done by Steve was as if it had already been fitted by Ford from new.I was really amazed at the quality of his work.
With the volume of traffic it's a pity to lose a no claim bonus if you're not at fault in an accident. Some insurance companies are already offering great discounts for this item to be used and you learn a lot about your own driving , good or bad, when replaying the recording.
Would also recommend buying a 32gb sd micro card as they're cheaper enough to buy .
My only adverse comment is that there is no case to carry the camera in when you remove it from the car. Either there should be one with the camera or Halford's should sell a generic one. But this is my only constructive criticism.
Well done Halfords for selling this excellent product and training your staff to high standards . Those fellas really represented you well . "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? KETTERING
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Camera,
January 28, 2015
By Smokey18
from Derby, Derby, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This item is really good and have had no problems so far. Great value for money very clear picture "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? DERBY (WYVERN)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great camera,
January 21, 2015
By ACDB
from Buckinghamshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Not having used any other camera I don't have a benchmark but I chose this one after a bit of research because of the description, consumer guide recommendations and all the 5 star reviews on here.
During my first two journeys I had motion detection set to "on" however I discovered that after stopping at juntions or traffic lights the camera switched off and didn't resume filming. Or, wierdly, it did resume filming once but stopped after a few seconds and remained off for the rest of the journey. Hmm. Never mind, I thought, I shall just set it permanently to "motion detector off" as I would rather have continuous filming. I'm unlikely to leave it in the car whilst parked anyway. Okay it might catch a shunt, or a vandal. It might also encourage someone to break in. Anyway, it now records as expected and all the features I've set manually or left at their default setting work as expected. Thankfully I can't tell you whether the G-sensor function works as it's never been called in to action. And long may it stay that way.
On playing back night driving recordings I noticed that on darker roads the view is a little "tunnel vision" with barely any visibility past the beam of the headlights. I experimented with the exposure setting, which does make a difference but not particularly a positive one. Headlights become brighter and number plates become impossible to read. Also you have to remember to readjust it for daytime driving or well-lit roads.
No complaints with the suction cap mount or ability to adjust it. Audio recording is excellent when in use.
One feature I don't understand is the led boost for improved night time vision. It is really bright. You can't use it for driving because I expect it would a) be illegal and b) reflect too much glare back from the windscreen. I can only imagine, in the absence of a flash, it's there for taking night time photographs, in which case I haven't tested it but would expect it to help from what I've seen of it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? HIGH WYCOMBE (PRIORY RD)
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DashCam - Nextbase 402G,
January 15, 2015
By goodvolvodriver
from Milton Keynes, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: neat installation.
Cons: inadequate instructions
" Fairly good to follow the setup instructions, but could do with a little more description. Picture quality is very good, easy to read registrations etc. (When viewed frame by frame) Auto power up works well. Lead is plenty long enough to go from top of screen and around. Does what it claims to do. When you review the recordings you will be amazed at how much bad driving there is about. Remember other have a dashcam too........ "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? MILTON KEYNES
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good effective well featured dashcam,
January 14, 2015
By Richfergy
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Solid design with good mounting bracket and ample cable to install at the top of my large van screen. Highly recommended. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great car cam,
January 13, 2015
By Ian55
from Lancing, West Sussex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Have used a cheap car cam before this one which was not reliable , This does what it says it will do with very good quality picture .and works every time turned on . "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BRIGHTON
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everyone should have one,
January 13, 2015
By Jarms1st
from Royal Wootton Bassett, Swindon, Wiltshire SN4, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: wide angle view, great night recording
Cons: has to be connected in the vehicle to set up, minimal inbuilt battery life
" This is a fantastic piece of kit, not only does it record your journeys in 1080p HD but it's built in GPS plots your speeds and position on the road and with it's excellent software, replays the whole journey on Google Maps and with todays volume of traffic and a lot of pretty scary drivers out there you never know when you might need to prove any incident to your insurers.
Don't bother with any of the many cheap set ups as I have tried a couple, one didn't work at all and the both packed up after a couple of months.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? SWINDON
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Better than most,
January 13, 2015
By KP73
from New Forest National Park, Hampshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Relatively unobtrusive, it works; but the software seems not to accommodate Mac OSX very well.
Definition is much better than my last car cam, and it handles night conditions surprisingly well.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? FERNDOWN
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome Better than exspected,
January 12, 2015
By 1staerialman
from Exeter, Exeter, Devon, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: halfords for selling it
" Well i have to say that i read up and looked at reviews about the Nextbase Car Cam and found the reviews very helpful on the Halfords website.
This camera is excellent and well worth spending the money on it, just like the service i got from Halfords reserve online couldn't fault it.
I ordered online went to the shop an hour later and it was waiting for me on the counter the staff were excellent and very freindly 10/10 A+ for service Halfords. "Faultless Service" thank you Peter Browning ABC Aerials Exeter "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? EXETER (SIDWELL STREET)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Worth the Money,
January 12, 2015
By UpdateRecord
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I bought this to replace a roadrunner camera, which did not last 2 years. The 402G has easy to use controls, good definition (you can actually read the number plate of another car). The GPS function is good, although a bit slow to pick-up the satellites. Playback software is OK, but could probably do with a bit more help.
These days you need a camera in the car and this is good value for money "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? MILTON KEYNES
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
High Quality Day & Night,
January 11, 2015
By Steve673
from Suffolk, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: high quality images
Cons: bracket too large
" Easy installation and set up with great video quality day and night. On my first trip with the camera fitted I met a car on the wrong side of the road head on. Luckily I stopped in time just as he swerved back into his own lane cutting someone up in the process. Number plate easy to get by day, obviously more tricky at night. My only negative point on this camera is the mounting bracket. It is too long and causes the camera to hang too low, meaning it has to be mounted on the passenger side. I was hoping the camera would not be noticeable from the outside as some of the bullet cams are but I have to remove it each time I park which is frustrating. Overall though a good camera. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? IPSWICH (SUFFOLK RTL PK)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good value for money,
January 11, 2015
By bobbly
from Hertfordshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: ease of setup
Cons: power socket
" i have purchased two of these cameras now and find them good value and easy to set up although it was easier to look on youtube and watch a video on how to do it than read the book.One minor critisism is that the power socket plug does not work with all sockets properly and is easily dislodged ie when you go over a bump just what you dont want with a survallence camera,it could be better designed but once you are aware its easily overcome,overall a good product and i reccomend them. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? HITCHIN
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
INCARCAM 402G,
January 10, 2015
By alsapalsa
from STOCKPORT. UK.
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" The camera is compact and hides nicely behind the interior mirror on the passenger side so is nearly invisible to the driver. The camera can only be used when plugged into the cigar socket, which means that it has to be set-up in the car. The cable can be intrusive, but for a charge, Halfords offer a hidden fitting service for the cable. The picture quality is excellent and includes a sound option. I had problems with my unit as it wouldn't accept that a card was loaded. It also, on occasions, failed to display the menu and when it did, didn't hold the information put into it. After three days use, it then failed to record the scene when underway, so was reluctantly returned to the shop, where I was offered a replacement. I was told that of the 20 sold over the Christmas period, none had been returned except mine, so given its obvious quality when running, mine must have just been a 'one-off'. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? STOCKPORT
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
InCarCam 402G,
January 09, 2015
By sirducer
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This small but very nice camera is very versatile and can fit almost anywhere giving you a piece of mind wherever you go. It can also be placed in your pocket when you are out and picks up any audio conversation without no body noticing.
When out in the car the 402G attached to the front windscreen don't tighten the bolt up too tight, keep it loose but sturdy so as if you need quickly to view the rear of the car, ie, cars traveling too close behind, simply turn the camera 180 degrees and capture them. Let this camera be your eyes whilst you still have full control of your vehicle. What more can you ask but the InCarCam 402G Professional.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dash Cam,
January 09, 2015
By BoxerXT
from Leicester, Leicester, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: none
" I did a lot of research before buying this one. HD is what you need as it captures numberplates clearer than standard cameras. Night quality is also very good. Very happy with the end result. Highly recommended. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (PUTNEY RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Did i get 2 made on late Friday?,
January 05, 2015
By cunningstunt
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: clear picture, great info on downloads
Cons: seems cheaply made, doesn't work for long, software is unreliable
" I bought this on November 11th. It stopped working on the way home from the shop and froze the screen. Reset it and used it for the next day. Downloaded the data and it had some sound and had some of the journey missing. Next trip it froze again. Hats off to Halford's for a no quibble swap for a new one. That went well for 2 weeks then the same symptoms. Recorded the first 2 miles then stopped, no sound and froze again. After doing this for 3 days and resetting it every time i had finally had enough and sent it back for a full refund. While it worked it was pretty easy to use, i can't understand all the comments about usage of the functions, seems straight forward to me and in answer to the comment about getting to the pc in 6 mins due to battery life is laughable, when you plug it in battery flat or full it acts as a mini driver so the usb powers it!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? NORWICH
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
you cannot get better, as agreed by which mag,
January 03, 2015
By elemy
from South Gloucs
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This product does everything it says and more, what else can I say!. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (BATH RD)
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>