Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional

Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional NBDVR402-G records your journeys in 1080 high definition
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
1
38 of 44(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 67 Answers
Customer Reviews for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Review 1 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Purchase,
October 29, 2014
By Neilmch
from Ashby-de-la-Zouch, Leicestershire LE65, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cool design and features, software for pc to view all travel data, it even logs the journey to view in google maps, it records the sound crisp so beware what you say.
"I would recommend this to everyone. The camera was easy to setup and the fixing brackets are very strong. The GPS positioner and the software records everything what you would need in the case of an emergency. The design is really cool and the build quality is excellent. It records in 5 minute segments and has sensors to detect collisions. The recordings are crystal clear and the sound is crisp. All the features this camera has is very impressive. The price is well worth it as i have brought in the past cheaper models and they just seam to fail to give the quality. If you want a good buy with the chance to get 10 % off you insurance premium then buy it you wont be disappointed."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? COALVILLE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says on the box,
October 29, 2014
By Cameraman
from Warwickshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My first one was faulty. Kept forgetting the time and date and removing the power killed it stone dead. It produced a lot of corrupted files and failed to properly record a half hour journey. This was replaced by Halfords without a quibble and the new one behaves exactly as it should.
Video quality is excellent especially full screen using VLC media player.
For those complaining about battery life who haven't read the instructions and additional "errata" leaflet, the battery life is 6mins max not 30 and is intended /only/ to allow a clean shutdown if power is lost. Also, the battery will /only/ charge if the unit is switched /on/
Charging separately away from the car is a good idea (I used my tablet charger) especially if only short journeys are taken, and this allows reading the instructions and playing with settings in comfort.
One complaint - no lens cap for when the camera is stored. I purchased one on Ebay - 35mm, push-on."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? COVENTRY (ORCHARD RTL PK)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Better than I expected,buying another for my son.,
October 29, 2014
By Jonto
from Norfolk, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: ease of use
Cons: bracket
"This camera was very easy to set up in fact I never needed the instruction book.
I get a picture as good as my computer produces but it is not too happy driving in tree lined roads with bright sunshine flashing between the trees,but that is minor.
The only fault I have found with it is the bracket that holds the the camera to the suction bracket,you need to be built like Desperate Dan to release it,but by using my wifes nail emery boards I have improved it to my satisfaction,no more swearing.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? THETFORD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
XP software doesn't work,
October 29, 2014
By Paulxxx
from Salisbury, Salisbury, Wiltshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Despite following the companies instructions the software doesn't run on XP and they say they cant help. I have installed this on two different machines running XP with the same results
The camera is very good and can be played back using other software like nero.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? SALISBURY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A valuable piece of equipment.,
October 28, 2014
By AnneADI
from NW England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this product with two purposes in mind.
Firstly to provide evidence in the case of an accident, or near miss.
Secondly as a teaching aid for my driving school. II am delighted with it for this function. I am easily able to review a section of the drive to recap "what just happened" and see it how it really was, not just how it was remembered.
The picture quality is excellent and the camera is easy to use. I would certainly recommend it to colleagues in the driver tuition business.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent picture quality and definition,
October 26, 2014
By Julie635
from Kingston upon Thames, Greater London KT1, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Number plates can be easily seen. Button to protect any critical footage. Long lead which means I can plug into rear cigarette lighter leaving front one clear for Satnav. Easy to use. Easy to set up."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? KINGSTON UPON THAMES
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nextbase 402G well worth the money,
October 25, 2014
By OldGrumpy1
from Surrey
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"A little fiddly to set up but great picture and audio. Very clear playback on PC, no "shake" or distortion. Not quite as "covert" as I would have liked, has to sit to the left of the interior mirror rather than behind it. Easy to hide wiring in roof lining and screen surround (Skoda Fabia) no wiring visible at all. I had to return my first unit because of a couple of problems that could not be resolved with Nextbase technical advice but full marks to Halfords exchanged with absolutely no hassle."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? EPSOM
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In carcam,
October 23, 2014
By Lol48
from Pontefract, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"After I inspected my in car camera and read the instructions
I proceeded to install it, I found it very easy to follow the instruction to relay the cable round the dashboard. One's that was done I set the camera up and I found it was very easy to install. I think it took me about half an hour and I was up and running. Loading the software onto the PC was very easy to, I just followed the instruction's within minutes it was installed.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? PONTEFRACT
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not disappointed. Good quality images, day and night.,
October 15, 2014
By DoctorTim
from Coventry
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: image quality, image exposure flexibility, playback software, field of view, image can be inverted, compact
Cons: battery for back up only, no cable clips supplied, no case supplied, fit to mounting too tight
"Bought off the back of a 'Best buy' tag by an independent consumer review comparison magazine, I'm not disappointed. USB Cable has been tucked under trim panels making it almost unseen when fitted. On PC playback, number plates are easily read, day or night. In wet conditions, images are still very good, just ensure that camera is mounted within swipe of windscreen wipers. Very wide angle of view clearly shows those cutting in across you from either side. We use it in both our cars by way of an extra suction mount, USB 12v plug and 3m USB cable (bought separately) and swapping, as required."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? COVENTRY (FOLESHILL RD)
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nextbase incarcam 402g Pro,
October 14, 2014
By Jerry1034
from Wirral
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Excellent product high quality picture on PC AND TV. Have fitted 32gb DD card Brilliant"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? WALLASEY
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent as recommended by Which,
October 12, 2014
By ELBY
from Larne, Larne, Larne BT40, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use.
"I have tried other cheaper dash cams only to be let down by their poor quality and short battery life. This one works."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? NEWTOWNABBEY
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent quality,
October 11, 2014
By itekweni
from Warrington, Warrington, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to install and use
"I have had a few of the cheap dash cams and the picture quality was never any good so i purchased this camera as a birthday present to myself and for the past week i have travelled many mile and having got back home last night viewed my journey and was so surprised at the quality of the video as it is very clear and being able to track where you have been is an added bonus, it is so easy to setup and install"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? WARRINGTON
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent quality,
October 07, 2014
By pennyk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My partner bought this camera and the quality is absolutely excellent - we had extensively researched all the available cameras on the market and this one ticked all the boxes.
Read the instructions thoroughly before set it up and you will have no problems at all.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Disappointed,
October 05, 2014
By JohnAZ
from Chester
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: great design
Cons: loose connection inside the camera
"Purchased one of these today after reading all the good reports.
I set it up as soon as I got back to the car, impressed with the camera and the kit supplied, all was fine until I noticed the power socket was loose inside the unit, this caused the camera to switch on and off with the slightest movement of the cable.
I immediately took the camera back in to the branch and the staff couldn't have been more helpful, the gave me another unit to try, this too had the same problem with the loose connection.
I then returned the full kit for a full refund, I'm very disappointed as I really like this unit but just want one that works ok.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CHESTER (GREYHOUND PK)
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worth every penny!,
September 27, 2014
By suetwin2
from Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"As a regular driver in London I've had too many near misses so invested in the Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional should I ever need photographic/video evidence. It was simple to set up and the video quality is superb. Experimenting with the exposure settings yields excellent results in differing and difficult lighting conditions. The sound quality is more than adequate, especially when used to describe the road conditions when there's a perceived higher risk of an incident. I recommend it to others without any reservations. I will, however, be buying a larger micro SD card to record the full period of longer journeys."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? SEVENOAKS
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice piece of kit,
September 26, 2014
By OM10
from Bristol, City of Bristol, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: built in screen, exceptionally clear hd video recordings, option to turn built in monitor on or off, fast satellite pick up, easy installation., option to turn audio recording on or off
Cons: software provided, sucker action mount, quick release mechanism needs working in
"I never write reviews but felt complled to write one for this product so to let those who are looking for a dashcam to consider this one when looking.
I have been using this dashcam for about a week now and am very pleased with it. I drive most of the day, 6 days a week in the city and have had no problems so far. Its more or less ‘plug in and drive’ . I have upgraded the 8gb SD card (currently free from Halfords) to a high quality 32gb card for increased recording time (even though it will record in a continuous loop)
Its easy to install. I particularly like the built in monitor with the option to turn it off whilst in use. Audio recording is optional on this unit which is handy if you don’t want to record yourself or others whilst driving. The battery life is very short as said in other reviews but the unit is designed to be permanently plugged in to a power source and the battery is more for a short backup in the event of an incident.
The unit is very discrete. I placed mine just behind my rear view mirror for the best field of view. Don’t forget to place the unit within the sweep of the windscreen wipers for use in rain or snow conditions etc. If you have other gadgets in the car like me (sat nav, phone charger etc,) you might need to invest in a two in one cigarette lighter charger unit as I have.
The picture quality is exceptionally clear in the HD setting and the field of view will cover the entire windscreen . The GPS picks up the satellite’s quickly, even if I place it close to other electrical devices in the car.
I wasn’t too impressed with the software that came with the product as the picture quality on playback through the software wasnt that good, but I quickly found a better one online and used that instead. The unit will record the video in a standard video format so it is just as easy to open the files straight from Windows if needed. Although this method will not give you the GPS stamp or other details the machine records like speed etc whilst filming. For that you will need the driving recorder software.
The unit will start and stop automatically once it is in place so you don’t have to touch it again until the end of the journey. I did check out other dashcams on the market but the reviews were very mixed and none really did everything I needed it to except this one.
The mount is a typical sucker action lever mechanism and this is ok if you use it for occasional use but i decided to hard fix it to the screen with an adhesive instead. The quick release mechanism between the unit and the sucker mount is very stiff at first, but will a little lubrication and repeated goes to release and attach it became a lot easier.
Overall im very pleased with this product and would definitely recommend it to others."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (EASTGATE)
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This does what it says and more.,
September 24, 2014
By Anonymous
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Having tried some cheap cameras which where rubbish.
This is the business. Quite expensive but worth it.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BRAINTREE
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best spend money on in car Camera,
September 10, 2014
By NM43
from London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: quality of the video day and night
Cons: feel of the cassing and buttons
"I was not sure at first but decided to go for the 402G Pro.
Take it out of the box and voila all working like it should, it took me couple of minute to get use to how to access the menu and settings but was not that complicated. it could do with a redesign of the casing and software menu, but what was the most important was the quality of the Video, I was really impressed by its 1080P high definition image you get for that price. and yes I will recommend it to any one thinking buying an in car camera.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? OLD KENT ROAD
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product has excellent features,
September 08, 2014
By Benson52
from Bradford, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The quality on playback is excellent and gives good detail. It gives your vehicle speed and continually records what is happening on the road ahead. An excellent product to cover you in case of accident and to substantiate your statement."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BRADFORD
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent camera, research needed for GPS to work,
September 07, 2014
By Jexsam46
from High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I've been using another Car Cam for over a year and was waiting for the Which? report to upgrade to something better. This product (Which?s Best Buy) is hugely superior in all respects. Image quality and refresh rate are outstanding, and there are no gaps as it finishes writing one movie file and starts the next, so coverage is complete. The image is stamped with date and time (which you have to enter) and I've not yet figured out if this information is then refreshed in real-time by GPS or not. I suspect it's not but I may be wrong - if so date and time could theoretically be disputed in court. It also stamps your car reg on the film together with GPS coordinates and speed. So pretty comprehensive as other reviewers have noted.
I initially had considerable problems getting GPS to work at all - and yes I did read all the instructions! Firstly, my Ford Mondeo front heated windscreen was *significantly* attenuating the GPS signal, and it was locking and then losing the signal almost continuously. I found a small clear "window" at the *very* top behind the mirror which works, but elsewhere on the windscreen it doesn't, so position and speed information are then not stamped on the film.
I was also initially running both the NextBase 402G and my older camera together so I could compare footage, with the two cams very close - almost touching. The old one appeared to interfere with the 402G's GPS reception, and these two GPS problems made it hard to get to the bottom of why GPS was failing. Anyway, by removing the old camera completely and relocating the 402G to the very top of the windscreen I now have everything working perfectly.
Don't expect great support from NextBase - I wrote to them for help at the outset and 3 weeks later have still heard no response.
Halfords in contrast couldn't have been more helpful, and offered several suggestions which eventually led to a resolution, so thank you Halfords!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? HIGH WYCOMBE (PRIORY RD)
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>