Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional

Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional NBDVR402-G records your journeys in 1080 high definition
Average Customer Rating:
4.502 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(217 Reviews) 217
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (217 reviews)
5 stars
152
4 stars
42
3 stars
10
2 stars
6
1 star
7
190 of 208(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 74 Answers
Customer Reviews for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Review 1 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great,
July 06, 2015
By anthonytggr
from Horley, Surrey, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" i can only talk about the price at this time because i havent rigged it up yet i have been through al the stuff on the menu and all is very good. so i will be investing in two more one for my dautgher and one for son just for piece of mind. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CRAWLEY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent quality dash cam highly recommend,
July 06, 2015
By Teddy13
from Birmingham, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" After a lot of research decided to buy this dash cam and am thrilled. Very clear pictures, easy to use. Gives peace of mind when driving. Would recommend to all. Bought online and collected and paid in store which saved me an extra £20 plus a free accessory kit. "
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? SUTTON COLDFIELD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Dash Cam,
July 05, 2015
By Djf260
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: great price good quality
Cons: mount could be better but even so it does the job
" Simple the best Dash Cam in its class and price range. The footage is second to none and most detail is captured. Reads number plates at a distance of 100 meters.
Great buy won't disappoint.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Cam,
July 03, 2015
By Greenshutters
from Northampton, Northampton, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy set up
" Just upgraded to the Netrbase 402G from an old out dated system. This camera is so easy to set up and I like the Sat Nav feature to keep the time and date accurate. My old one's battery kept getting flat if I did not keep it plugged in. The 402G is a fantastic system and the quality shines through.
Keep up the good work Nextbase and lets have some updates when they arrive. Thanks.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? NORTHAMPTON (WEEDON RD)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dashcam - Plug and Play,
July 03, 2015
By Debbie5050
from Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" As the write up says a fantastic investment. An excellent cam. You plug it in and it works, the play back is easy; you plug a cable into your computer and you can access the video files. Since it has been in my car I have had lorries pull back after cutting me up and noticing the cam. Motorbikers cut me up and notice the cam and pull back. It does its job. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? TUNBRIDGE WELLS
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great dashcam,
July 02, 2015
By toon1892
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Got this whilst on a promotion so came with money off and a free memory card. (Note camera does not normally come with memory card out of the box).
Loads of features, excellent quality images day & night, easy to use - just set up your options and then just forget about it.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not a suitable dash cam for the serious motorist,
July 02, 2015
By marko2002
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: good quality and playback on built in screen
Cons: windscreen glare a particular problem
" This camera has decent quality, but is particularly bad for dashboard / windscreen glare. That is, you can see the reflection of your dashboard on the windscreen with this camera, something not limited to this camera alone, but it appears to be a design fault in the actual holder for the camera because it doesn't allow the camera lens to be close enough to the windscreen to eliminate or at least minimise the glare. I have since had to buy a polarization lens at £8 to fit into the camera (double sided sticky tape and a lot of patient) which does help the glare a lot more but the camera isn't exactly what I would call "covert" and instead sticks out on your windscreen like a sore thumb.
I had hoped to mount it behind the rear view mirror but I have a Vauxhall Zafira which has a ridiculous big strip of black something coming down from the headliner behind the rear view mirror so when I mount the camera back there the black strip is clearly in view, so it has to be mounted below the rear view mirror.
Personally, can't recommend one that may do a better job, but I'd stick with the minimum of 1080 HD and get yourself at least a 32Gb memory card (micro SD) and I'd also look at dashcams that can be mounted as close to the windscreen as possible (the lens that is) so you minimise screen glare. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional is brilliant!,
July 02, 2015
By Ceej88
from Surrey, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: all round the best, great visual playback, fantastic clarity in sound, nice size that it does not distract while driving, great price for what you get, easy to use not complicated, sees everything you might not
" A must buy for car owners who want a good piece of kit to ensure that any damage caused to their vehicle is captured and can be played back in high quality to reveal the truth, no blurred image on play back, very clear speakers, so listening back to recording is crystal clear and picks up so much sounds that not even you are aware of at times - best car camera I have ever bought! Certainly recommend this camera - best money ever spent on a car camera! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: More than 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? FARNBOROUGH
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In car cam G402,
July 02, 2015
By PhantomPhixer713
from Yeovil, Somerset, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use recorded image.
Cons: lack of printed manual
" I bought this as I do a lot of motorway driving and the week before a chap, who was fully immersed in the argument he was having with his lady companion, didn't check his blind spot and forced me on to the central reservation of the M5, he carried on completely unaware of his stupidity. This is a great product and works well, recorded image is good too. I've found that my driving has improved as you are aware that your recording your own progress as much as the nutters around you. Just remember it records your comments as well! If you are thinking about buying one, go get one I had mine during a flash sale and on line price £109 result. Easy to fit and set up, has a manual on disk, a better start up leaflet would be helpful but otherwise all good. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? YEOVIL
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pleased,
June 28, 2015
By hopec
from Lancashire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: free case and a small 8 micro sd card included, forget it's there most of the time
Cons: sales lady couldn't set up ready to use in shop
" Bought 3 in total had bought one it was fine so bought 2 more for family.. Lady in store couldn't set up in store though so had to get one son to do them.... Bought bigger Micro SD cards for them but got small 8's with the case on 2 of them.. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? WIGAN
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Seems to be good,
June 26, 2015
By BlackCountrySue
from Black Country
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Can't really comment on the camera itself, as I'm a bit of an ignoramus with this sort of technology, and have only had it for a week so not had cause yet to really do other than admire seeing it fitted to the car. But, Halfords staff totally accommodated my ignorance and did all the twiddling and fiddling necessary for me, setting it up so that I can just switch on the car, drive and forget about the camera whilst it does its job. Had hard wired in so no dangly wires and nothing for me to worry about in terms of fitting and setting up, and the staff were excellent at doing this. So, camera itself remains to be seen, but Well Done, Halfords Staff, you shine yet again!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? AMBLECOTE
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great dash cam or should i say cctv on the move,
June 24, 2015
By Cleveland
from Birmingham, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great product, having fun with it as well as it been a serious peice of driving kit , a must have "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (SELLY OAK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb Car Cam,
June 22, 2015
By Cloggso
from Little Hulton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" This Product Is Top Banana I've Bought Five Of These "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? BOLTON (MANCHESTER RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Worth paying extra,
June 21, 2015
By JohnEB
from Shropshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Following an unpleasant incident, I bought a budget dash cam for my daughter's car. It had decent reviews, but I found the image quality just wasn't up to scratch (particularly in low light) and so I sought a replacement.
Having done more research, I chose the Nextbase 402G and am very pleased with its performance. Simple to use and set up, with high quality video and logging features. Ignore the gripes in some reviews about it being fiddly to detach from its cradle; just remove the whole thing from the windscreen - no problem!
Ordered online and promptly despatched by Halfords, so no problems there, either "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Children
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value for money,
June 16, 2015
By alex121
from Gloucestershire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" The 402G is a great cam which can be removed from the car and used as a still photo camera. So if you are unfortunate enough to be involved in an accident or have caught one on film you can also take some photos at the scene whilst awaiting the police and or an ambulance.
Good lens and wide angel on the cam, and when played back on a computer gives a very good recorded image and also a GPS tracking map of your journey.
Certainly very easy to capture a registration number. In my opinion well worth the money.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? GLOUCESTER
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
next base 402g,
June 16, 2015
By robrob63
from Killin, Killin, Stirling FK21, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: superb
" excellent product well worth the money you only get what you pay for "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? STIRLING
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lots of features,
June 14, 2015
By Crumpie1
from Uk
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: ease of use picture quality
Cons: no case supplied or instruction manual., a little priceycould be a bit cheaper
" Overall a great buy.Picture quality excellent when played back on computer,very clear,when using the supplied software.Menus are easy to use ,should not be a problem for anyone.this is worth serious consideration if looking for a car camera "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHAMPTON (HEDGE END)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Great disappoinment !!!,
June 14, 2015
By Chazza333
from Dumfries, Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" Easy to fit, no problems with instructions but right from day one it kept stopping recording on it's own. Contacted Nextbase but was told I must have set it up wrong. I pointed out it was click and go according to them it was my setting up that caused the problem. Set it up over the phone but it was still the same. Took it back to Halfords for and got a replacement. Exact same problems but even worse than the original device so contacted Nextbase again only to be told that it couldn't possibly be the camera that was wrong. Returned it to Halfords and exchanged it for Mio 538D. Only had it a week but no problems whatsoever. Great service from Halfords staff but Seriously poor service from nextbase. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? DUMFRIES
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to set up; clear images,
June 13, 2015
By Anonymous
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to set up & use, clear images, reasonably small size
" Although this cam is more expensive than many others, I wanted a camera that was easy to use which provided clear images that could be reliably used if necessary. I am very happy on both counts and would highly recommend it "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic!,
June 12, 2015
By Buckleberry
from Wickford, Essex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: excellent quality picture and sound recording
Cons: nothing
" Brilliant quality at low price. Yes it can seem a bit techy to set up but once you've got a memory card in it and it's in your car it all comes together and makes sense. Picture quality is great with no our very little camera shake and viewing on a PC is a breeze. I've ordered a hard wired kit too to free up the cigar lighter. Halfords click and collect was excellent. My only gripe is that Halfords are now including a pouch for the camera which I missed out on by just a couple of weeks. All in all tho, this is highly recommended. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BASILDON (HERON RTL PRK)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>