Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional

Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional NBDVR402-G records your journeys in 1080 high definition
Average Customer Rating:
4.584 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(137 Reviews) 137
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (137 reviews)
5 stars
101
4 stars
25
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
3
124 of 132(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 77 Answers
Customer Reviews for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Review 1 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worth the buy,
February 28, 2015
By MalceeD
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great recording quality, plug + go, mph nsew direction compass, quality sucker to window, nice long electric lead to cigarette socket
Cons: little tricky to un hitch from mount when removing
" Great product worth spending the extra money on,, make sure you buy a 32gb class 10 mini sd card. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CHRISTCHURCH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well worth the money,
February 28, 2015
By OAPS
from Sussex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything about this product.
" I bought this camera for peace of mind, there are so many idiots on the roads. It provides excellent video of your journey. it is easy to setup and use, easy to follow instructions comes on CD or can be downloaded from the internet. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? UCKFIELD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic product,
February 28, 2015
By Nonickname2015
from Forest of Dean, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Does what it says on the tin with great visual claity. Also playing back on the computer gives further insight. With the audio on its like a lack box for your car. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? GLOUCESTER
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent video quality,
February 28, 2015
By BandWPoodles
from Southampton, Southampton, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I have not set this camera up as a permanent fixture on the windscreen, I place it there at the start of a journey. It is too bulky to place behind the rear view mirror so not very discreet and sits to the left of the mirror. The suction pad works well but fiddly to remove from the windscreen. The product works well and produces excellent HD video. With the supplied software installed on my Mac video can be displayed alongside a GPS map and also vehicle speeds, G forces exerted on the vehicle and compass direction.It not supplied with a memory card so you will need to purchase a micro SD card. The card does not need to installed on your computer to play back video, an USB cable is supplied to connect the camera to a PC. "
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHAMPTON (HEDGE END)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nextbase 402G Professional,
February 28, 2015
By Newtonheath
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality of recording, ease of use, size
Cons: no case when not in use
" After watching horror tv programmes driving accidents and near misses I decided I needed to protect myself and record what actually happend if heaven forbid I was involved in an accident. After reading many reviews and checking with which I decided that the above was the best model on the market and I am very happy I did. The recordings are tv quality it's easy to install and use, I have it behind rear view mirror and leave the holder on permanently. I use a 32gb sd micro card which has a 4 hour capacity but it re records after that anyway. I am very happy and might get another for rear in the future. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
An ideal digicam,
February 28, 2015
By Dave911
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: sim cards also available with purchase
" A great little camera that gives clear video picturing during daylight whilst still providing relatively clear picturing in the dark also. Very quick and easy to install behind the mirror and is relatively unobtrusive in this location.
Instruction books (camera & p.c. installation) are good. Disc provided being suitable for both Windows and Mac systems.
Good length of cable to reach power source.
Only slight negative to date ..... the camera being slightly fiddley to slide on and off the suction bracket base, when left attached to the windscreen. Really pleased with my purchase from Halfords.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ideal Dash Cam,
February 28, 2015
By Peter1967
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Easy to install and operate. It does what it says on the tin!
As a bonus it seems to stop some people driving like idiots when they spot the camera.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the better cameras available,
February 27, 2015
By ChauffeurMark
from Cheltenham, Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: compact
Cons: mounting could be a bit neater and unobtrusive
" Easy to install and use. Excellent picture quality. Does everything that I want and does it well. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great dashcam! *****,
February 27, 2015
By Rachyy90
from Prestatyn, Denbighshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I'd highly recommend this dashcam as it has many desirable features including:
- A long power cable so that you are able to mount the camera at the rear of your car, but still power it from the front of your car.
- The long cable comes in handy again as it allows you to hardwire the dashcam into your car without fear of running out of cable.
- The screen is small enough so that it doesn't distract you from driving, but it is big enough to show a really clear picture.
- The HD recording is true to colour. My old, much cheaper dashcam recorded all head lights and street lamps in a yellow-ish haze, where as this camera films clearly enough to be able to differantiate HID lights, blue/orange street lamps etc.
- The suction mount is small and compact so it doesn't take up half of your windscreen like some do. Mine tucks nicely behind my rear view mirror.
- It is easy to use...I didn't even need to read the instructions.
- There are so many useful features (password protection, GPS, the ability to record or not record sound, motion detection when you're away from your car, the ability to use it as a camera to take photos of damage after a collision etc etc etc I could go on).
The list is endless (even the description on this website doesn't do it justice) and although I was slightly concerned about the price tag, I am now glad I chose this one as it is worth every penny. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? RHYL
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Look no further if you want a product that does what it should,
February 27, 2015
By Sherlock27
from Scotland, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" An excellent quality dash-cam for this price point, and a very worthy winner of a "Which" best award. Recording quality is crystal clear, and it's so easy to download onto a pc for viewing "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: More than 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? HAMILTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A first class product.,
February 26, 2015
By Tonky247
from Essex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I fully understand why this dash cam has been rated so highly in recent tests. It is easy to set up and use, it is a quality product. The 12 volt cable length allows for installation in every vehicle, the windscreen mount is robust and secures firmly to the windscreen. Size and quality of the images both day and night are amazing. I even brought a second camera the following day. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? CHADWELL HEATH
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Re-assurance in the car.,
February 24, 2015
By DefLandyman
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" After a recent low speed 'bump' in my local town from which I learned that I really could have done with an eye witness, I purchased this camera. I did some online research and Hi-def and sat-nav positioning really are essential for picture quality it is fantastic on this model night or day and identifying where any incident occured especially on rural back roads I choose the 402G. I have been very pleased with it, a quick run through the menu's set the camera up for Uk driving and after intially showing the camera view it defaults to a compass direction indicator with accurate speed information at the touch of a button, so does not tempt you to keep looking at it and of course improves your driving as in order for it to be used in court in a dispute you need to have been driving correctly yourself. All in all very pleased if I'd have had this before my accident I would have been able to show that I was not to blame, so if you are thinking of buying one do it, don't wait until you have had an accident ! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? STROUD
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic Video Quality,
February 16, 2015
By mossmotorsport
from Northamptonshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" After reading many reviews about dash cams, including looking at cheaper options from elsewhere, I decided to bite the bullet and invest in this Nextbase 402G Professional. The video quality is outstanding, and produces excellent results at night time too. Number plates are easily read, and the wide field of vision makes this a great piece of kit. Once this is fitted, you feel like you have a witness in the car at all times, so this also encourages you drive with more awareness. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
How many cars: More than 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BEDFORD
+31points
31out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best in car camera,
February 13, 2015
By RemedyBoots
from Derbyshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: auto start, easy to set up, small and compact
" Bought this camera a week ago and it is extremely brilliant, it's easy to set up and use and has great features like the photo camera so you don't have to use your phone if you have an accident. With auto night mode that activities when it gets dark and motion sensitive to start auto recording when you turn your engine on and start moving it's pretty much hands free.
10/10 for it and have already recommended to many friends and family
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? MACCLESFIELD
+40points
44out of 48found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
February 12, 2015
By Corpgarf
from Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality of video
" Excellent item well worth the money.
The video footage is great and even at night gives a good image.
Easy to fit, even with my panoramic window screen theres plenty of cable length to reach the power socket in the centre console.
I also bought a 32gb memory card which i would recommend as it gives you about 4 hours of continuous recording.
I will soon be buying another one for my rear window.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? DARTFORD
+40points
40out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect,
February 11, 2015
By Malvern31
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Easy to fit, great item, goes to sleep and wakes up automatically so can be left all the time. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+29points
32out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nextbase dash cam,
February 10, 2015
By jonty39
from Guildford, Guildford, Surrey, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This worked straight out of the box following the quick set-up guide unlike another make which has been a pain from day one.
I comes with a very chunky manual which I have yet to conquer. I is value for money.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? GUILDFORD
+31points
31out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional,
February 09, 2015
By Easty7
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: high def. pics, quality product
" Excellent quality product that does what it says on the box and the images are crystal clear "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? UXBRIDGE
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Attachment Problems,
February 08, 2015
By Nigel7
from West Midlands, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality
Cons: attachment not great
" This is an excellent bit of kit. The only problem that I have encountered is trying to get it behind the mirror. My car, in common with many modern ones has an area above the mirror which is shaded to stop the sunlight between the visors. The suction cap has to go below or to the side of this which means that the camera cannot be concealed very well. It needs a more versatile method of attachment. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? HEREFORD
+32points
33out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nextbase 402G,
February 08, 2015
By Anonymous
from Newport, Newport, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: excellent video quality
Cons: mounting clip
" Excellent performance - no issues at all. The unit looks like a small mobile however, so is pretty obvious when installed, therefore needs to be removed whenever you park the car. In this respect, the mounting clip could be easier to release.
Records for about 2 hours in highest quality with sound on a 16GB microSD card (I used Sandisk class 10).
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? NEWPORT
+16points
23out of 30found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>