Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop In Car Cameras & Parking Sensors or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional

Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional NBDVR402-G records your journeys in 1080 high definition
Average Customer Rating:
4.214 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
1
22 of 27(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 55 Answers
Customer Reviews for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Review 1 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best spend money on in car Camera,
September 10, 2014
By NM43
from London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: quality of the video day and night
Cons: feel of the cassing and buttons
"I was not sure at first but decided to go for the 402G Pro.
Take it out of the box and voila all working like it should, it took me couple of minute to get use to how to access the menu and settings but was not that complicated. it could do with a redesign of the casing and software menu, but what was the most important was the quality of the Video, I was really impressed by its 1080P high definition image you get for that price. and yes I will recommend it to any one thinking buying an in car camera.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? OLD KENT ROAD
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product has excellent features,
September 08, 2014
By Benson52
from Bradford, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The quality on playback is excellent and gives good detail. It gives your vehicle speed and continually records what is happening on the road ahead. An excellent product to cover you in case of accident and to substantiate your statement."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BRADFORD
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent camera, research needed for GPS to work,
September 07, 2014
By Jexsam46
from High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I've been using another Car Cam for over a year and was waiting for the Which? report to upgrade to something better. This product (Which?s Best Buy) is hugely superior in all respects. Image quality and refresh rate are outstanding, and there are no gaps as it finishes writing one movie file and starts the next, so coverage is complete. The image is stamped with date and time (which you have to enter) and I've not yet figured out if this information is then refreshed in real-time by GPS or not. I suspect it's not but I may be wrong - if so date and time could theoretically be disputed in court. It also stamps your car reg on the film together with GPS coordinates and speed. So pretty comprehensive as other reviewers have noted.
I initially had considerable problems getting GPS to work at all - and yes I did read all the instructions! Firstly, my Ford Mondeo front heated windscreen was *significantly* attenuating the GPS signal, and it was locking and then losing the signal almost continuously. I found a small clear "window" at the *very* top behind the mirror which works, but elsewhere on the windscreen it doesn't, so position and speed information are then not stamped on the film.
I was also initially running both the NextBase 402G and my older camera together so I could compare footage, with the two cams very close - almost touching. The old one appeared to interfere with the 402G's GPS reception, and these two GPS problems made it hard to get to the bottom of why GPS was failing. Anyway, by removing the old camera completely and relocating the 402G to the very top of the windscreen I now have everything working perfectly.
Don't expect great support from NextBase - I wrote to them for help at the outset and 3 weeks later have still heard no response.
Halfords in contrast couldn't have been more helpful, and offered several suggestions which eventually led to a resolution, so thank you Halfords!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? HIGH WYCOMBE (PRIORY RD)
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great camera,
September 03, 2014
By Grinlae
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: it's ease of use, quality
"Excellent quality
Some of the other reviewers have not read all the information
It clearly says you NEED a micro SD card
It clearly says you need to connect to car or computer as there is little or no battery life
The software can be downloaded easily and installs very quickly and is very intuitive
Only had it for 2 days. And so far so good
Very high quilt it when played back via 32 inch screen
Good sound. ( remember it records conversations in the car)!! The map link is excellent and the g force sensors work well too
Top marks"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? RUISLIP
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good, but Let down by image quality,
September 02, 2014
By HighMilagePete
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: easy of use
Cons: image reliability
"First trial was very promising, but when playing back the video there is a short comming in the image quality. When travelling down roads with hedges or buildings, where this is not a consistant background light, the iris cannot adjust and you get large chunks of the picture that are black and totally useless. There is the ability to adjust the image, but adjusting it for an overcast day then leaves it almost white when the sun is shining. If you can always drive with the sun behind you on an open road then it is great. Having adjust the image to account for the country lanes, with an acceptable picture quality, then driving on a motorway with the sun infront of me but high in the sky there was about 10 miles of just white over exposed video, totally useless. If it can get a good picture all the time, it would be a good piece of kit."
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BASILDON (HERON RTL PRK)
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional,
September 01, 2014
By MycroftHolmes
from Essex, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"This does exactly what it is meant to. The only drawback is that it is difficult to remove from the screen mounting. Lock too stiff. Other than that it's fine."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? COLCHESTER
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great incarcam,
August 30, 2014
By Anonymous
from dunblane
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great camera at great price. Bought after Which magazine recommendation"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: More than 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? STIRLING
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nextbase Incarcam,
August 26, 2014
By CRP305
from Birmingham, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the clarity of the picture.
"This product is excellent. After trying two other incar cams, which I returned under warranty, I was a little apprehensive. but the camera works perfectly and is easy to install. It was a Which Best Buy and that was why I bought it. I was pleased to find that it was £15 cheaper than anywhere else.
An excellent buy.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? OLDBURY
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says on the box.,
August 25, 2014
By retr0k
from North Lanarkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to set up., good quality images.
Cons: mount could be smaller.
"This is a great value piece of kit. The images are clear and the software works great. It's taken a couple of falls in the car and survived but it does feel a bit fragile. I unpacked it, put in the SD card and plugged it into the car and could record straight away. A few tweaks were needed for the screen time out and personal preferences but the installation took less than 25 minutes from unpacking to finishing taping the cable down.
As some one said before me, most of the negative reviews come from people not reading the instructions or product description properly. The camera needs a constant power source - the battery is for back so you don't lose files when the ignition is off - and a good quality class 10 micro SD card is a must."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CUMBERNAULD
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent clarity and easy to operate,
August 21, 2014
By Surreyuser
from SE England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The camera got good reviews and, after using it several times, it has lived up to them. Good clear images, movie or still, though in fairness, not yet used at night. I am confident it will be good though.
Not necessarily the cheapest but certainly good value for money
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CAMBERLEY
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best cam I,ve had,
August 20, 2014
By Sarahsplace
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: all good
"This camera is perfect it works out of the box is child's play to set up put it in your screen it's nice and small and just forget about it..I made the mistake buying crash camera cc3 it was so bulky did,nt function and is so complicated .i read a few reviews and this one is simply the best and a good price.you can watch videos back with out a computer witch is a bonus."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? LOWESTOFT
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cracking little camera,
August 19, 2014
By Arch124
from Falkirk Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: ease of use
"Easy to use and install with good picture quality. I use with a 32GB SD card, this gives about 4 hours of recording which is more than sufficient for any journey, no matter how long, just errase when having a break and start again. I use windows7, it is fascinating going over your journey on the computer. Would certainly recommend this product to anyone who does a lot of driving."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? FALKIRK
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If its a dash cam you want? this is it :-),
August 17, 2014
By MrPOD
from Skelmersdale, Lancashire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: great display, easy install, good value
Cons: micro sd not included
"I was looking at different dash cams and this one stood out.
With the 1080p 5meg camera I choose this. The screen display is great whether it be day or night as everything is so clear. Playback mode is good too as there no lag and the unit itself is so easy to use. I would recommend this to a friend.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? WIGAN
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Follow instructions & you cant go wrong,
August 09, 2014
By Higgy16
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very good image & software
Cons: wish people would read manual b 4 dissing
"Read some mixed reviews but after reading the instructions from end to end before using it I see people have just not read them before using. The battery is just so the unit can keep time it is not supposed to be used for filming without being plugged in that is why some complain about the battery life, it is a shame that people feel the need to dis this unit when they have not taken time to use it correctly.
It works great, pop on your screen plug in start your car & off it goes so no need to even switch it on or off. Picture quality is so good I turned mine down to 720p to save on storage as I use it for work on drives that last about 4/5 hours. Get a good class 10 Micro sd for about £10 & this unit will give you great results. The software is brilliant but I did need to download the codecs for it to work on my Vista PC, the info the software gives you is very detailed & the mapping works as it should.
Good value,great product"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? PORTSMOUTH
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
402G Car Cam,
July 10, 2014
By FranklinJnr
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: small size doesn't clutter screen
Cons: software on mac doesn't link to google maps?
"The 402G is small lightweight and gives a good quality recording.
I use a MAC Laptop, and the files transfer and display directly with all details and without the 402G software downloaded. As the unit comes with a half size software CD it will jam in standard laptop CD slots DON't try to install the software from it, go to the nextbase website and download it. Unfortunately the software does not work unless I'm missing out a step? In the manual it shows it linked to Google Maps?
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
How many cars: More than 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? HUDDERSFIELD
+15points
18out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant,
July 05, 2014
By J80tdb
from Heysham, Lancashire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy set up, brilliant customer backup, hd superb quality, long cable
Cons: no mount in the box
"I bought this cam at Xmas from Halfords. It was put on the shelf and I didn't use it. After nearly being killed on the motorway I thought, time to get it out!
In June I opened the box NO CAMERA MOUNT!!
No receipt, I paid cash I thought, "problems".
I contacted Halfords and NEXTBASE via email and within an hour I got a call from Halfords asking for my address to send a replacement and then straight after one from nextbase for the same!!! Brilliant service!!
Now the issue with charge!
Some people must be themselves not wired up!!
Research the product first! If you are going to use a came daily you need to have it plugged in somehow, either hard wired or the supplied plug!!
I deliberated over this and researched how to run the cable through the car myself.
That's what I did. Took the dash out of my BMW one series, fed the cable around into the lighter socket. No problems at all.
In goes the sd card, yeh you have to buy it separately. The recording issues I've seen reported on here maybe to do with that?. I bought a Samsung one. But a fast write class ten card, that is a named brand. Tell you That in the manual!!
Plug and play?
Yep, easy VERY EASY.
Need a few TWEEKS from the box, adding reg, setting date and I'd advise the ISO setting to be plus 1 and turn sound off (it records everything you say!!)
The camera is easy to use, superb picture HD quality and is very reliable. Set the scream saver to on, and the gps signal displayed will give you accurate speed!
Conclusion
Won't go far wrong with this. Superb picture quality, works well. All the negative comment on this review should be ignored if you do it properly.
The instruction manual is small, goto the nextbase site and download a digital manual. It's as simple as that.
The only downside is that you actually want something to record!!!!
I'm not sure about others on the market, but this is value for money.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic image quality, even at night!,
May 20, 2014
By whenohwhen
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of set up, high quality footage, gps, quality of product
"Brought one of these to reduce my insurance premium, my insurer recomended this model. Was a little pessimistic about setup and every day use, but had it for 2 weeks now and is great, don't even notice its there and have recorded some nice footage. I must say the quality of the playback is far better than I expected, as good as my camcorder. Its a much cleaverer bit of kit than I though with G sensor and google maps GPS. Very impressed."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Had two, both faulty,
April 29, 2014
By Nobby902
from Northamptonshire
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: the quality of recording
Cons: it kep brturning off
"The first one I bought stopped recording after exactly 2m.55sec on the 3 minute loop. G-Shock facility was turned off, and it still did it. Called help line and went through all re-set stuff, but it kept doing it. They said take it back to Halfords for a replacement. Next unit worked for a week, then I discovered that it wasn't keeping the files in the memory (32gb Micro SD Card), which is no good, you kind of want it to do the job it's designed to do. I called the helpline again, and went through all the reset stuff again, and it worked for 8 days and then started turning the recording off after exactly 1m 46 secs. The unit maintained a visual display, it just stopped recording. When you rely on the recording to look back at events, it would be a real pain if the bit you needed wasn't there. I took it back to Halfords today for a full re-fund as I have lost confidence in the brand. I must say, that when it did work, the quality was very good indeed for a small unit, but there are clearly issues with the technology. I think I'll spend a bit more, on something better, if I can find it. Maybe I'm just unlucky, who knows. You decide..."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: More than 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? WELLINGBOROUGH
+33points
39out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor battery, shocking customer service by Nextbase,
March 04, 2014
By Redtruffle
from York
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"No instructions in manual on how to initially charge, so a full charge was given through the USB Cable via a computer, whilst unit was off.
Altered settings, battery levels dropped fast, next step put in car - it runs fine when plugged in however when not plugged in camera does not last longer than 3 minutes. This renders motion detector and point and shoot camera capability inoperable.
When vehicle stopped it is not capable of recording up to its maximum record length setting and switches off prematurely due to low battery.
Attempted to return to Halfords, who then have to call what I presume are Nextbases technical helpline/Customer Service in order to get a return code. I can only describe the guy on the other end of the phone as an obnoxious prat who is more keen on blaming the consumer than admitting they have used substandard batteries."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? HULL (ST ANDREWS QUAY)
+64points
77out of 90found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NICE SIZE,
January 31, 2014
By PODSY
from MAIDSTONE
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good small size
Cons: micro sd card - too small
"I HAVE USED THIS CAMERA FOR ABOUT A WEEK AND FOUND THIS A SUITABLE SIZE WITHOUT OBSTRUCTING THE WINDSCREEN IN ANY WAY, THE ONLY PROBLEM IS GETTING THE MICRO SD CARD IN OR OUT BUT THIS MAY BE THAT MY FINGERS ARE NOT AS THIN AS OTHERS MAY HAVE."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? MAIDSTONE
+12points
19out of 26found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>