Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional

Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional NBDVR402-G records your journeys in 1080 high definition
Average Customer Rating:
4.482 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(334 Reviews) 334
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (334 reviews)
5 stars
225
4 stars
77
3 stars
13
2 stars
6
1 star
13
290 of 318(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 74 Answers
Customer Reviews for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Review 1 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Complicated,
January 25, 2016
By
from Lancashire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cons: a christmas present i may never use.
" Had to print out the instructions to get it set up, does it really need all the gizmos which it has.
Not supplied with any memory had to buy memory card extra.
I got the camera for Christmas, when the camera is on and plugged into the cigarette lighter it interferes with the radio so bad I can't use it.
I only have one cig lighter socket so had to purchase a 3 socket extension (camera) (satnav) (phone charger)
I will only know if it's any good if I have an accident.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? FAREHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow what a product,
January 25, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Just upgraded to this from a cheaper poorly made model from another brand and this is miles better. footage is excellent and so easy to use. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional,
January 18, 2016
By
from Harrogate, North Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" Battery failed after 3months . Now stopped working completely . Contacted Nextbase numerous times by email highlighting problems but they do no even acknowledge receipt of emails . I have even sent emails to all Nexbase uk email addresses asking them to forward to relevant department . No replies hence this review. So much for Nextbase telling WHICH they would replace due to so many 402g's with these faults. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? HARROGATE
+9points
13out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this camera does what it say,s.,
January 17, 2016
By
from Weymouth, Dorset, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" excellent dashboard camera had it fitted in a very short time by ben at dorchester,explained it to me very simply very pleased with i dont drive with out it and finaly very usefull for insurance claims go for it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? DORCHESTER
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good whilst it lasts,
January 05, 2016
By
from Felixstowe, Suffolk, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Bought one of these about a year ago. It worked fine until it started locking up when about six months old. Had to turn it off and on to get it going again.
Halfords replaced it with no quibble but this one has now done the same. We also bought one for our son in July 2015 but his is now doing the same. I have returned mine for a full refund.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? IPSWICH (EURO RTL PK)
+13points
15out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nextbase Dash Cam 402,
January 04, 2016
By
from UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" It was a wise decision. Very good and very quick.and I am satisfied with the service "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? CANNOCK
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clarity day and night is excellent,
January 04, 2016
By
from Omagh,UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: picture quality
" Nextbase dash cam was easy to set up.... Picture quality excellent and captures a wide angle. So impressed brought one for my son who has just passed his driving test. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? OMAGH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Some niggles,
January 04, 2016
By
from Christchurch, Dorset, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: power lead and quick start
Cons: long screen mount small recording files
" I brought one of these units just before Christmas for my works van and loved it from the moment I set it up. Really long power lead and powerful windscreen mount and starts up recording the instant it gets power . So impressed that I brought three more for my family as Christmas presents. So then. Plus points are , really good quality long power lead, starts up quickly and starts recording. Powerful windscreen mount, nice supplied computer cd instruction manual with programme that when you play back your video shows map positions in grid reference form, speed, side to side, accelerator and brake forces. Shows via google map, position as it plays back.
Negative points then, the mount, although strong, makes the camera stick out along way and there seems to be no other mount available. The way the camera clips onto the mount is a bit of an after thought and looks a bit weak but as mine stays where it is shouldn't effect mine too much. The recording sections are very short, about three minutes, and so you have to keep reloading another clip when playing back, records up four hours on a 32g micro card so loads of files to go through but they are in order. Shame it doesn't come with a protective case and the one that's available is a bit costly for a cloth bag.
Apart from, knocks spots of other expensive and gimmicky models and I thought good value for money . . . So far
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: More than 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? CHRISTCHURCH
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to fit,
January 03, 2016
By
from Stroud, Gloucestershire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Very easy to fit,good value,very helpfull staff one person in particlar stood out from the crowd. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? STROUD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fabulous features,
January 02, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: clear picture
" The perfect present for the man who has everything and invaluable for insurance purposes "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Faulty,
January 01, 2016
By
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought two (two cars) Installed in car and set-up. Videos were 1st class. However on day two noticed condensation on inside of LCD. Returned to Halfords who provided replacement without quibble.
Other has functioned perfectly with no condensation issue. Very happy with both cams and Halfords customer service "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Next base dash cam 402G Professional,
January 01, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: neat and easy to install
" I bought this item as a Christmas gift for my son and he is over the moon with it. High quality video recording and playback makes this a super item. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Children
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An excellent product,
December 30, 2015
By
from Birmingham, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Easy to use prduct with good handling. Good picture preview. But needs handbook. This comes on a disk so print it.. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (PERRY BARR)
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolutely fabulous product,
December 30, 2015
By
from Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: once plugged in you no longer have any worries i
Cons: nothing to dislike.
" Excellent item. Plug in and play. So easy to set up and use. Once installed you have no need to do anything else, every time you get in your vehicle just drive, no worries. Had a couple of cheap dash cams and they were useless, with endless faff before going anywhere.
Would highly recommend this 402G.
It's brilliant.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dash Cam 402G,
December 28, 2015
By
from Southampton, Southampton, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I had this camera installed by Halfords and am very pleased with both the camera and the installation process. It was well worth having the camera installed by a professional who explained everything to me as the installation proceeded. By linking to an ignition power feed it leaves it the cigar lighter for other devices. The picture is very clear, even at night. Now that the initial excitement has worn off, I think I will change to the screen saver mode as it can be a bit distracting seeing a moving picture below the rear view mirror. Hopefully I will never need to use the video evidence in the future but it is reassuring to know that it is there as evidence. I have been amazed to notice just how bad some people drive and now I can capture the evidence. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHAMPTON (WEST QUAY RTL PK)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Good but not perfect,
December 22, 2015
By
from Barnsley, South Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good video quality both day and night
Cons: susceptible to glare
" Easy to use, easy to fit, good video quality both day and night, good useful features and settings.
Downside is it is susceptible to glare from outside and reflection off the vehicle dashboard, it has to be aimed quite low to minimise glare from bright skies but you then get the dashboard reflecting off the windscreen and the bottom half of the screen taken up by your vehicle dashboard and bonnet.
I am considering exchanging it for the new 512 which has the anti glare filter "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BARNSLEY (CORTONWOOD)
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use with good playback quality,
December 18, 2015
By
from Manchester, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Worth paying that little bit extra for this model. Easy to install and simple to use. A discreet size also which fits neatly just behind your rear view mirror with easy access.
Very simple to set up but I wasn't able to use the instruction cd as I don't have a disc drive in my lap top, but not a problem because you can download a copy in PDF form and save it.
Playback quality is excellent on the lap top, and gives you a wide view of the road. So far no problems with this model.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BOLTON (HORWICH)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional,
December 16, 2015
By
from Luton, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, good daylight video
Cons: difficult to get off the windscreen holder
" Easy to install, just plug it in and away you go. Load the software onto you PC/Laptop and is so simple to use. Picture quality is better that ok, but the night vision could be better.
Difficult to read number plates in poor light and not that easy to remove from it's holder when it's placed by the rear view mirror.
Not using audio I can get about 5 hours video on the 32gb SD card.
9/10 for this product. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? LUTON
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional,
December 13, 2015
By
from solihull
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I found printing off the instructions a help, make sure windscreen is clean I used a moist wipe that cleans glasses.
Overall very easy to navigate through the menu and set up, picture clarity is first class whether filming during the day or night.
I'm very pleased with the camera and would recommend it without hesitation.
Steve. Driving Instructor.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? SHIRLEY
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use,
December 11, 2015
By
from Uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: simple to fit and set up, clear images
Cons: the tiny print manual.
" This is our third dash cam. The first (cheapie bought from the web) was a disaster and had to be returned. I was persuaded by positive reviews to buy this one a year ago and because it has been a success I have bought another for our second vehicle. I keep a copy of some of the instruction pages in the vehicles so that I can refer to them if required. apart from switching on and off I very rarely need to alter anything. I do not use the screensaver though as the visual helps remind me to switch off at the end of my journey. I guess it would be even better if it was wired through the ignition! "
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHAMPTON (HEDGE END)
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>