Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional

Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional NBDVR402-G records your journeys in 1080 high definition
Average Customer Rating:
4.414 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(367 Reviews) 367
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (367 reviews)
5 stars
240
4 stars
85
3 stars
15
2 stars
8
1 star
19
315 of 349(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 74 Answers
Customer Reviews for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Review 1 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic,
June 25, 2016
By
from Warrington, Warrington, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: peace of mind
" I purchased one of these elsewhere a few months ago for my car and was so impressed that I went and got a second one for my wife's car. These are a fabulous bit of kits for highly recommended. With the amount of idiots in the road these days, this is a must. Worth every many. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? LEIGH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great in car camera,
June 24, 2016
By
from Glasgow
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great camera. Easy to use. Very good quality. Highly recommended "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? HAMILTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly what I needed,
June 24, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Having read the reviews, I am pleased that the DashCam402 more than meets all my needs. It was expertly fitted by a Stafford Halfords staff member who did a very professional job. All in all - a very good product at a very good price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? STAFFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Good BUT!!!,
June 15, 2016
By
from GB
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" The camera is very good indeed.
Why is it spoiled by the provided lead connection into the camera?
The lead can only be fitted one way which is opposite to the way it should be fitted and unfortunately this stresses it as it is forced across by the body of the camera.
This, however, is a minor point as the camera is exceptional.
Be prepared to buy another lead.
"
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? LICHFIELD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Next Base 402G,
June 15, 2016
By
from Highland, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: playback quality
Cons: hard wire kit and sd card not included
" After a prolonged claim against a third party, (which the third party lost), I wanted to fit a dash camera to avoid the same again.
The Next Base 402G comes well recommended and is a really good quality camera never letting me down. Video playback quality is good in all light conditions.
I used the Next Base Hard Wire kit, to ensure that it was always ready to record any incident, without the need to worry about switching it on. All in, 20 minutes to install. (I did it myself, not a difficult job at all).
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? INVERNESS
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good IF NEW, serial numbers start 153 or 16, not 152,
June 13, 2016
By
from Ipswich, Suffolk, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: briliant picture, easy to use
Cons: old models unreliable battery
" This camera takes some of the best pictures available. The mount is easy to remove if you look at it first before inserting it and see how it slides in and out from/to the left. It is very comprehensive and has lots of feature you will not find unless you read the manual on the CD. Print out pages 7 to 18 at least.
Downside I got an old one, serial number 152xxx.. no life in battery, so won't save last 3 minutes of film, that is the bit you need as evidence!. Took back to Halfords for full refund, which they were happy with. Note these are £30, 20% cheaper if you buy on-line click and collect than if you buy them in-store,
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Which Store did you visit? IPSWICH (EURO RTL PK)
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent all rounder,
June 10, 2016
By
from Cheddar, Cheddar, Somerset BS27, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" The Nextbase 402G does everything it claims very well. Used it almost immediately after fitting to see the cause of a blown tyre. Impressed by the ability to watch the drive on screen, freeze, take stills and zoom closer. And yes, it was glass I had not seen. Really impressive.
Halfords fitting very professional. Frees up the lighter socket by using the fuse box supply. Cool.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? WELLS
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value and profesionally fitted,
June 04, 2016
By
from Croydon, Greater London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Easy to use out of the box. The unit was professional fitted at the Purley Way, Croydon branch by two members of staff in 20 minutes. They took care to ensure everything was safe and set up the unit. I have not seen the output on my PC as this could put my rating higher. Certainly a very wide angle (140 degrees) which distorts the picture slightly but necessary to capture all approaches to the vehicle. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CROYDON (PURLEY WAY)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great unit but one major flaw,
June 03, 2016
By
from Cannock, Cannock, Staffordshire, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: picture quality, features, software, out-of-the-box default settings
Cons: awful design of clipping into holder
" Great dash cam, picture quality is excellent, features are very good, easy to use, supplied software is good, so overall an excellent unit which I would recommend. However, one major drawback is that once the unit is clipped into the holder, that's it. It's there for good because it is impossible to unclip it again without removing the unit plus the holder completely from the windscreen mount and then trying to prise the two apart using pliers or something similar and risking damage. I really feel that this spoils an otherwise excellent dash cam. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CANNOCK
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product good value.,
June 01, 2016
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Easy set up and installation, video quality excellent, replay on PC good. Only comment is release catch slightly awkward but gears easier with use. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't bother,
May 22, 2016
By
from Bracknell, Bracknell Forest, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: quality of the video files
Cons: read the review
" The first camera wouldn't hold any battery charge at all and wouldn't retain any settings once powered off, meaning you couldn't review or change any settings or view video files unless it was connected to the car power supply and you had to reset it every time you turned it back on. Changed it for a second one which also failed to hold any battery power and only connected to my PC when it felt like it, meaning I had to keep pulling the SD card and using the reader directly in my PC to review video files. Even IF the battery had ever fully charged the manual says the charge only lasts for 6 minutes but at least this is enough for continued recording in the event of the ignition being turned off after any potential accident / incident or to adjust settings or review the recordings when the camera is out of the car, that's if it had ever charged of course! Have to say the picture quality of the video files was very good but the rest of the hardware / software on this camera were poor, spend your money on a better quality product or much less on a cheaper one which would probably give you just as good performance.
Had the camera fitted by Halfords as part of a deal which I was initially pleased with as he ran through the whole set up and operation with me, I was less happy when I took it back and the same guy said that he wasn't really surprised as he didn't think the camera was performing properly when he installed it! On returning the second camera another assistant wasn't at all surprised and advised me that there are far better cameras on the market. I'm not blaming the staff who were polite, friendly and helpful but what are Halfords playing at seeming to be knowingly selling and fitting sub standard products that their staff seem to know full well about but continuing to do so? "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BRACKNELL
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Good product bad install,
May 20, 2016
By
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: priduct
Cons: install
" This product is good, but the installation was very poor,
Had to take my van back to have all the mess cleaned up!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: More than 3
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
product quality very nice,
May 19, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I am not technology savvy but I find this product very easy to use. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not user friendly. Stopped working.,
May 19, 2016
By
from Oxford, Oxfordshire, UK
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: good suction mount, clear daytime video
Cons: everything else!
" Returned the first one within a week after it kept switching itself on and off every 30 seconds. The replacement seemed ok for 5 months but now that has stopped working too.
It's not simple to access the menu as you need to hold something over the lens first to get it to stop recording. Once you've managed to do that you can scroll through the menu to set the parking mode. I would have preferred a simple one touch button to go between drive and park modes.
When parked it will save a few seconds of footage if it detects any change in the view. That includes any movement from tree branches etc. I left it in parking mode for just over 24hrs and it drained the car battery. Contacted Nextbase and they said that they don't recommend it being constantly switched on for more than a day or two. So no good for airport parking.
Battery life of the unit itself is poor - about 7 minutes.
I also had problems with the software and found the instructions to be poorly translated.
However, I did find the quality of the daytime video quite good although not so much at night. The mount is quite chunky compared to the camera itself but I've never had a problem with it falling off.
Very disappointed overall and will be returning it for a full refund.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? OXFORD
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works but cheap feel/look.,
May 16, 2016
By
from Wisbech, Cambridgeshire, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: easy to install, will take up to32gb micro card 4hrs recording time, which best buy july 2014
Cons: feels cheap, looks cheap, does not come with micro sd card, just hope it lasts as some people have had issues
" I have been looking for a Dash Cam for a while and had two or three in mind. Plumbed for this unit as at the time Halfords had a flash sale and the price was then within my range. Purchased the direct connect cable from another company as cheaper and to save myself the Halfords installation fee, installed myself within less than 15 mins. So if you are DIY confident it is a simple method to install this camera directly to the fuse box in the car or by using the supplied cable to the now obsolete 12v cigarette unit.
First used for a 5hr trip and plugged into my PC, checked a selection of recorded movies and these are clear and show speed and GPS location, it also gives you the date and time, which is automatically picked up. Hope I never have to use this in anger, but I now have the evidence on record in any event. Also downloaded some clips from my trip to show the views on my trip to Wales, so a useful tool for holiday journeys as well. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? WISBECH
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well worth the money,
May 01, 2016
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Very good product. Very good quality on playback. Very good instructions and easy to use. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor quality,
May 01, 2016
By
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" Poor quality bild and very poor picture keeps falling off screen and losses videos most of time "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
How many cars: More than 3
Who will use this Product? Friend
-5points
2out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Over rated,
April 26, 2016
By
from Andover, Andover, Hampshire, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: looks
Cons: over rated, poor quality, over priced
" Looks a good product if you don't mind resetting it every other day. Finally crashed not impressed. "
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? ANDOVER
-6points
2out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A good choice so far,
April 25, 2016
By
from Blackpool
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good picture quality, gps acquired quickly and is accurate
Cons: viewer software didn't work with windows 10
" After a recent near miss, I was after a decent dash cam and this one seemed to fit the bill.
Picture quality is excellent, only slight problem is reflections from the windscreen and dash. The camera is surprisingly sensitive in darkness. A polarising filter would be useful to remove reflections and glare..
The viewer software provided on the disk installed on Windows 10 but immediately crashed, as did the version dowloaded from NextBase's website. However the program "Datakam Player/ Registrator Viewer" will play the MOV files and display the location on OpenStreetMap or Google Maps, indicating the GPS readings are quite accurate. This program also allows GPS traces to be exported and I have already used these to add roads to OpenStreetMap. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BLACKPOOL
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product, excellent Nextbase service,
April 16, 2016
By
from Northants
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality of image, nextbase customer service, 4m lead lets me use a constant 12v outlet
Cons: accessing menu when motion sensor operating, stiff mount, relatively small sd capacity
" I did a lot of research before buying a dashcam.
Had I bought this the week before as I intended to, I probably wouldn't be making a claim for £1500+ worth of damage caused by a hit and run in a car park.
Quality is good both night and day. The menu can be a bit fiddly and the fact I can't enter the menu when the motion sensor is operating is a bit irksome (you have to cover the lens first - surely this can be changed via a firmware update).
Ability to take a larger SD card would be good (supports 32gb max) and the mount can be quite stiff (probably a matter of time before they all come with the easier to use magnetic mount)...but those are niggles, offset by the overall quality.
I did my research and Nextbase customer support were very helpful in telling me what serial number to check to avoid battery problems.
Nextbase customer service is exceptional - my emails have been answered the same day and they sent a free alternative mount the next day as I couldn't get the supplied one to sit quite right.
I am so far very happy and would recommend the product. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? RUGBY
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 19 next>>