Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional

Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional NBDVR402-G records your journeys in 1080 high definition
Average Customer Rating:
4.577 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(78 Reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (78 reviews)
5 stars
59
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
1
71 of 77(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 77 Answers
Customer Reviews for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Review 1 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great feature easy to use,
December 19, 2014
By swamp
from Stoke-on-Trent, Stoke-on-Trent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought this after reading reviews, it does what it says on the tin. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? LEEK
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In car 402G professional camera,
December 18, 2014
By Dmsc
from Redditch, Worcestershire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This camera is compact in its design making it easy to install to the windscreen of your car without obstructing your vision. It has very good coverage compared to its competitors and is very good quality and value for money. I was so impressed with my original purchase of this product earlier in 2014 I went out and purchased another which I now use in my job as a driving instructor. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: More than 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? REDDITCH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Buy,
December 18, 2014
By Liam23
from Co. Longford, Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: top quality picture
Cons: no case
" Bought this camera about 2 weeks ago and it's brilliant quality..clear HD. Would definitely recommend. The only thing is they really should provide a case with it as it's awkward to mind it without one. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? LONGFORD (ROI)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dose what is says on the box.,
December 17, 2014
By Roch
from Rochdale, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" A very good car cam, easy to install, easy to program. Yes the mounting bracket between the camera and the suction bracket is a bit stiff, but a smear of Silicone Grease solves the problem. Some people have said it has a short battery life or it's hard to program, both these questions are answered in the paperwork, which I found to be slightly basic but with enough information to set up and program the unit. As I said at the start a very good car camera. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? ROCHDALE
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this product has great features,
December 16, 2014
By Alffy
from Southampton
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: 5 stars
" Iv had a couple of near misses over the last few months one very suspicious.
so i thought it was time to get a cam on board.
going on the reviews on this cam i went for it and i must say i agree with them.
I think the way things are getting on the roads a in car cam will soon become a must have item.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? EASTLEIGH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic Value for Money,
December 15, 2014
By Vivaro56
from West Sussex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: supurb value
" I bought this after reveiwing a lot of dash cams online and I always came back to this. This was even recommended after talking with my Insurer, only after being hit by an oncoming bus and lorry on the same day!!
It does exactly what it says on the box, it is plug and go for those who are not tech savvy, but to those who know what they are doing you can change the modes to suit your needs.
Fantastic product and I hightly recommend this product.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? CHICHESTER
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Piece Of Kit,
December 13, 2014
By Mattb23
from Bromsgrove, Worcestershire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, 4m cable to power dash cam, plug in and go
Cons: not found any
" As there seems to be more and more people on the roads that are driving without consideration to others I wanted to purchase a good quality dash cam in case the worse should happen and I need a record of events.
After google searches and different reviews on several dash cams I ended up purchasing this one along with a 32gb memory card
I have used this dash cam in the day at night with street lighting and also at night without street lighting and the quality will not disappoint and with all different options to record sound , speed , location, 3 or 5 minutes recording segments or a mixture so you can record sound and not speed and so on.
The dash cam also has a photo mode in the event of a collision you may need to take pictures (5 mega pixel) and with a build in LED light can be use at night
PC software easy to install and use to view your recording which when using a 32gb card is around 4 hours recording once card is full recording will loop and record over the older files so not need worry about deleting files to make room for new ones "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? REDDITCH
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nextbase 402G,
December 13, 2014
By Trevrock
from Hull
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: video quality and sound
Cons: no av lead
" Very good video quality and sound, a bit fiddly getting the microSD card in and out once mounted though. No useful information supplied regarding the av out socket (as no av lead is supplied or MicroSD card ) factor in the price for these 2 items when contemplating buying . Other than the inconvenience of taking the MicroSD card in and out or disconnecting the camera itself to review footage on a computer I am happy with my purchase. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? HULL (CLOUGH RD)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent,
December 13, 2014
By DavejP
from Stone, Staffordshire ST15, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Fantastic unit, good results well worth the purchase "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professiona,
December 13, 2014
By Derek25
from Birmingham U
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I can honestly say that this InCarCam is absolutely superb and the video quality is excellent "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? SUTTON COLDFIELD
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Car cam,
December 12, 2014
By Anonymous
from Spain
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great product and excellent staff, especially Phil,
Many thanks.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? WEST THURROCK
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to fit and install,
December 12, 2014
By DoDoBDo
from Brighton, The City of Brighton and Hove, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" The Dashcam was easy to use, just plug in and go, although I did go through the intuitive menu's to set up the units and data recording options. It fits to the windscreen with the sturdy suction cup mount. This product came with software for PC and MAC which can show the GPS and accelerometer data, but I have not installed this yet.
I noticed that when parked up. The camera will begin recording if a person or object passes the center of the camera view, so it may be useful for car park incidents too.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BRIGHTON
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional,
December 11, 2014
By Cappers
from Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: works great
Cons: none really
" Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional What can i say, it do'es the job & it do'es it brilliantly. Seems it has 2 led's, but they are not Infra Red. then again not needed. Works great day or night, good or bad weather. Addmitedly the sun can flame the picture out, but carefull positioning helps to reduce it. For most of my journeys, I it was not a problem for me, it is one of the best if not thee best. Power do'es charge up if done as instructed & it lasts longer than most other units. I am well pleased with it & give it 10/10. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (KIRKSTALL)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A good device that reassures me on the road.,
December 09, 2014
By Cwmru
from Hampshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: size and power
Cons: short battery chargetime
" After a recent no fault accident this device reassures me about my driving and that of others. It also keeps me focused on good driving myself as I record my speed and location. Best to disarm the motion detection whilst adjusting settings. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? BASINGSTOKE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent,
December 08, 2014
By CloistertheStupid
from Derby, Derby, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the ease of set up
Cons: having to buy a memory card
" Maybe it's because I drive a black car with a Klingon cloaking device, I'm not sure, but the number of cars that pull out or have come across the white line head on is getting frightening. Did a google search and the Nextbase 402G seemed to be the kit to have, reserved one in my local Halfords and collected it in a couple of hours. Pretty much idiot proof to set up if you read the instructions properly. I've only used it in the dark as yet but the picture quality is amazing, it's just like being in the car. Wished I had bought one ages ago, I'm going to feel a lot more relaxed driving. If you are thinking of getting a dash cam then this is the one to go for. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? DERBY (WYVERN)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nextbase incarcam 402G professional,
November 25, 2014
By goodsus
from Grimsby, North East Lincolnshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: excellent product as advertised
" The Car cam was easy to set up and works well as described "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? GRIMSBY
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Quality,
November 24, 2014
By krw89
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Even though it is one of the more expensive ones it is definitely worth it! Just make sure you read the instructions!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very clear pictures,
November 24, 2014
By electromorph
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" My wife had a minor prang caused by another driver, who disputed the circumstances. Luckily we won, but I bought a camera to make sure we're better protected if this happens again.
I was adamant that the footage must be better than typical 'CCTV' quality (which is pretty useless!) - and this definitely scores in that department!
Particularly impressive is the transition from light to dark: my test was driving into an underground car-park - the images remained very clear for both situations.
Speed is also not an issue - it copes well with rapidly changing conditions.
So, that's basically what you are paying for here. It's not a cheap camera, which is why I gave it less than 5 for value, but it does work well in all conditions - which is really a baseline 'must' for the job it does.
In short - I'm very happy, and I'm confident we'll be prepared next time a similar thing happens. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Which Store did you visit? CHISWICK
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
faultless,
November 22, 2014
By bean2580
from Derby
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I am new to the whole dash can experience but went and purchased the next base 402G pro. After weighing up the price of the cam to the potential savings it really was a no brainer. No point shorting out getting a more basic model go all out. Picture quality absolutely fantastic, great fps rate. Easy to use plug and play device. Would definitely recommend this product. Could also contribute to insurance discounts... Bonus "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? DERBY (WYVERN)
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The must have gadget!,
November 21, 2014
By TangoDelta
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I had been reading review after review and decided to go for this one given the Which? best 2014 in car dash cam review.
It was easy to install and setup although I do feel the instructions could be a little clearer as I thought it always recorded and then when you needed a clip you just saved it and protected the file but its not, the way it works for my car a HONDA CRV is as soon as the ignition is started the power to the in car charger powers on the device and it automatically starts recording for me. I have it set to 5 minute loop recording which fills up the micro 32gb memory card bought seperately nicely and just keeps recording until its full and then records over previous unused and unprotected files.
I have literally installed this and forgot about it. The thing I like the most is it is small and discreet capturing great 1080p video footage. You can take photos and also review any previous recordings. I have had a couple of near misses and reviewing the footage is great and captures number plates and the driver driving very well. I strongly believe that if I have an accident it will save all the time and hassle from the liars out there who claim all sorts of nonsense.
The night time recording is great, picking up everything you need as you drive along almost as good as daytime.
It has a motion detection feature built in which if when your vehicle is stationery you can set it to record upon seeing movement but to use this feature your needs to be able to power the unit even when the vehicle is off. My car doesnt power the socket when switched off so I can select an option to record upto five minutes after leaving my vehicle.
Overall a very good product and a good price tag. Some out there are cheap and nasty and the most expensive ones out there arent any better than this one.
A friend has the MIO and wishes he bought the nextbase version instead. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>