Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop In Car Cameras & Parking Sensors or
Choose a Category

Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional

The Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional NBDVR402-G records your journeys in 1080 high definition with built in GPS for full location, G force and speed data.
Average Customer Rating:
3.909 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
7 of 11(64%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer Reviews for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Review 1 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good footage,
April 16, 2014
By IWOOT
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: high quality footage, gps
"Brought this camera after a few weeks of research, I was willing to spend more money but saw a couple of reviews on the Nextbase 402G and decided to give it a go. I must say the controls took a bit of getting used to, but the footage is incredibly clear, even at night. I believe this is due to the WDR function, which I couldn't find as a feature on any other models I looked at. I have a Nextbase DVD player and the build quality is of a similar high standard. The software was easy to load and the GPS very accurate when shown on the map. Overall a happy customer"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 3
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor battery, shocking customer service by Nextbase,
March 04, 2014
By Redtruffle
from York
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"No instructions in manual on how to initially charge, so a full charge was given through the USB Cable via a computer, whilst unit was off.
Altered settings, battery levels dropped fast, next step put in car - it runs fine when plugged in however when not plugged in camera does not last longer than 3 minutes. This renders motion detector and point and shoot camera capability inoperable.
When vehicle stopped it is not capable of recording up to its maximum record length setting and switches off prematurely due to low battery.
Attempted to return to Halfords, who then have to call what I presume are Nextbases technical helpline/Customer Service in order to get a return code. I can only describe the guy on the other end of the phone as an obnoxious prat who is more keen on blaming the consumer than admitting they have used substandard batteries."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? HULL (ST ANDREWS QUAY)
+30points
31out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NICE SIZE,
January 31, 2014
By PODSY
from MAIDSTONE
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good small size
Cons: micro sd card - too small
"I HAVE USED THIS CAMERA FOR ABOUT A WEEK AND FOUND THIS A SUITABLE SIZE WITHOUT OBSTRUCTING THE WINDSCREEN IN ANY WAY, THE ONLY PROBLEM IS GETTING THE MICRO SD CARD IN OR OUT BUT THIS MAY BE THAT MY FINGERS ARE NOT AS THIN AS OTHERS MAY HAVE."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? MAIDSTONE
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality Product!,
January 23, 2014
By Jay1471
from Coventry
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality footage, long power lead, great windscreen holder
"If you want a simple to use camera that starts when the engine starts and switches off when you get out then this is it. There are a number of extra options to play with if your wish, but once 'tuned' to how you want it you can just forget about the options.
The software is good, but to be honest on modern PC's it works fine without it using windows media player anyway.
The lack of battery life is a non existant argument as I have it plugged in within the car and when transfering clips it's using USB anyway. If I did want to get out the car and take still pictures I'd probably use my iphone.
Quality wise its very good and I have lots of great footage of the idiot drivers from my daily journey up and down the M1.
Just have to remember it's on as my singing is awful!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? COVENTRY (ORCHARD RTL PK)
+25points
26out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Quality,
December 29, 2013
By Gaz5664
from Manchester, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The video quality is excellent, much better than I thought it would be for the price, even at night time.
Great camera that looks good quality too
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? STOCKPORT
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very poor battery life,
November 29, 2013
By Armitage
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: good image quality
Cons: very poor battery life, no recording ability out of the box
"The manual states the built-in battery should provide thirty minutes of recording. The first unit I bought lasted for 40 seconds before running out of juice, and it's replacement managed less than six minutes. Both units were left to charge for several hours to no avail.
If you're not bothered about false promises and only intend on using the unit plugged in, then at least the image quality is good. As others have pointed out however, this unit absolutely requires a separately bought memory card."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Which Store did you visit? SLOUGH
+17points
23out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Click & go?,
November 24, 2013
By Generaldj
from Bristol
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"It says on the box "click n go" which in my book means it will work right out of the box. Unpacked everything, pluged into the cars 12v supply and it switched on. Very impressed with the screen resolution, but it keeps on flashing up a message saying insert an SD card. Don't have one at home, expected it to come with some sort of recording facility - as that's what it's ment to be all about. On the box it mentions compatible with up to 32 g card but would of been useful to know you need to spend more to get it working. I don't think it's marketed correctly - should state that a card is needed!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (WINTERSTOKE)
+5points
20out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nextbase InCarCam 402G Prof,
November 14, 2013
By Xsara2256
from Eastbourne
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very good value for money. Super quality play back both for day and night recording. Has a very nice screen and is compact in size.
Recommended to a friend he is going to buy one."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? EASTBOURNE
+16points
20out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
peace of mind,
October 28, 2013
By Stevo1958
from Exeter.Devon.UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"excellent product.
gives me peace of mind.
fairly easy to understand and install.
32gb microcard comfortably covers a 5 hour
journey.
recommended.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? EXETER (RYDON LANE RTL PK)
+26points
27out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
never again,
October 23, 2013
By memek
from Peterborough
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: mounting bracket
Cons: battery life, cheap plastic, software not working, no sd memory card
"This product is very annoying.
Easy to fit but:
- battery goes flat in about a minute, how you can use a photo mode ?
- menu button only works if camera is not recording, try to switch a motion sensor off, good luck
- cheap plastic cover
- no memory card included
- software doesn't work on my laptop, it is compatible with my system according to a manual, even after downloading all codecs from their website, also new software link for PC has an error when clicked on it
I returned it after a day, got myself a Mio MiVue 388 Drive Recorder and must admit it's very easy to use, everything work as it should for this amount of money. If you not sure which camera to get for this amount of money don't get this one.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? STAMFORD
+33points
41out of 49found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic playback quality,
October 18, 2013
By mmmpizza
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: picture quality
Cons: no sd
"First impressions are that this is a very high quality dash cam. Very pleased with the quality of the footage and the GPS function is great as uses Google Maps. Perfect for what i need and good value with the amount of features.
Only grumble it didn't come with an SD card!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+40points
41out of 42found this review helpful.