Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Dash Cams or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional

Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional NBDVR402-G records your journeys in 1080 high definition
Average Customer Rating:
4.53 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(185 Reviews) 185
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (185 reviews)
5 stars
130
4 stars
37
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
4
164 of 179(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 74 Answers
Customer Reviews for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Review 1 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nextbase 402G,
May 09, 2015
By lee725
from lincoln
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: wide angle
" Overall the quality of the picture on the camera seems to be very good although I haven't used it for night time as yet.
There are some good features on the camera as well although the camera does actually feel a little cheap.
Good wide angle and clear pictures and you are able to save video clips so they are not overwritten.
The suction pad isn't the best and if you have stop/start technology the camera cuts out although I think this will happen with any make.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? LINCOLN (TRITTON)
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nextbase Dashcam,
May 08, 2015
By Anonymous
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: picture quality, automatic record
" I decided to go for a dashcam and quite surprised at how clear footage was. The Nextbase 402 came with a long power cable so I was pleased that this is hidden away and the camera works when you start the car. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great addition to my car,
May 08, 2015
By TomasG
from Beeston, Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: straight forward installation, pre set so just plug in and go, great daylight quality
Cons: only takes 32gb max at the moment, software for mac needs improvement
" I bought this camera after weeks of searching on internet.This camera does everything what it says on the box. It is straight forward installation with no compromise. I put mine on passenger's side next to the rear view mirror and put cables away so they are not visible and not obstructing anything.
Overall quality is great in a day light and still good in a night time. However it is quite difficult to read the car reg in a night time due to reflection from number plate. I hope it will accept bigger cards than 32gb in a future as this will get full quite quickly with the HD quality set up.
Software is better developed for PCs but not as good for Mac (me), but it will still give you all the information you need.
Overall you will not regret a purchase of this camera.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? NOTTINGHAM (CHILWELL)
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
need to try harder,
May 04, 2015
By simonthecat
from West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good quality recording
Cons: poor quality installation instructions
" Overall a good unit but...
(1) Some of the instructions are ambiguous & misleading & need to be re-written by a customer in plain English.
(2) When installed & operating, it's not always easy to see in what mode the unit is functioning or indeed whether it's actually recording. I've lost many a good incident because I thought the unit was recording whereas it wasn't. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? HUDDERSFIELD
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Service,
April 29, 2015
By Davidp01
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Good product and great value for money. Halfords Service was excellent - highly recommended "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 3
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nextbase Incar Cam 4026 Professinal,
April 29, 2015
By Cheifstoker
from Ramsgate
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I have had a few weeks to try this product and found it to be excellent, I had tried cheaper versions and found them wanting. This Incarcam is well worth the money. I had it professionally fitted by Halfords so that there was no hanging wires, this was carried out in no time at all and worth the small cost to have it hard wired. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? MARGATE
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ecxellent Dashcam,
April 29, 2015
By DadioGlasgow2
from Glasgow
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: picture quality, speed of gps lock, works faultlessly with a mac
" I must admit to being pleasantly surprised by the quality of recording both in daylight and driving at night. Number plates are easily read (as long as they are not too far away!) and there is a good angle of view. Software for the Mac works well; my only complaint being that the window size is fixed and can't be expanded to fill the screen when using the Driving Recorder Player software.
On the other hand, all I have to do to view the files full screen on the iMac is to select the file and press the spacebar - couldn't be simpler.
I have been driving for 48 years and cannot believe how bad the standard of driving has become recently. At least I feel now that I have some way of showing that any accident is not my fault...
It was very easy to set up - navigating the menus is easier out of the car and I connected the USB cable supplied to my iPad charger in the house for the 5 minute setup. (Date/time, picture quality, etc)
GPS lock on is almost instant - as long as it is switched on in the same location it was switched off, so it does not have to find a new satellite lock.
I used some 3M Command decorating clips to fix the cable neatly round the screen and it is mostly hidden from view.
There are a couple of finger grips on the mount to make fitting/removing easier. I have not found it a problem.
I was initially going to buy another brand which was considerably dearer, but am delighted I chose this one! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? GLASGOW (RUTHERGLEN)
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality and Simplicity,
April 29, 2015
By Andrew22
from Cornwall
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" The product works straight out of the box provided you have purchased the requisite mini sd card - 32gb in my case. Unless you have unusual requirements there will probably be no need to change the settings. The mount adhered faultlessly to the windscreen and has remained ever since. Mounting and removing the camera, which we do after each journey, is a synch as is connecting it to my Win7 PC and Windows 8 laptop to download. The software loaded without issue and cleverly integrates Google maps in the playback - never thought I would get car sick just watching a video; I don't even get car sick in the car! Only downside is that the video does not shut off when in motion so if the driver can see it, it is illegal. Tucked ours behind the mirror out of view of driver. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? PENZANCE
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
402 in car camera,
April 29, 2015
By Sam1949
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Good value in car camera I look at cheaper cameras and decided to buy this one and I am very happy with it, it's just the price of it which stops me giving it a top rating . "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good features,
April 28, 2015
By deek777
from Inverness, Highland, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: plug and go feature
Cons: basic instructions could be better
" product is easy to get started - basically plug-and-go. However, when trying to get into MENU you get a message saying you must first stop recording- I'm still trying to figure out how you do that- without switching the unit off! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? INVERNESS
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Seems to do the job!,
April 28, 2015
By FlashtheLegend
from Northamptonshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Not had any hairy moments to view as yet, so can't fully review, but, seems to do the job ok. "
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? WELLINGBOROUGH
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Good camera but drained my battery,
April 28, 2015
By bored99
from Hove, The City of Brighton and Hove, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: neat design, good range of view
Cons: drained battery, cable is distracting
" The camera worked fine but if I left it connected via the cigat lighter it drained my battery so I had to return it. I was surprised that such a small item did that but since disconnecting it the car has started fine once again. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
-6points
2out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Surprised at the quality,
April 27, 2015
By RogerRoadRage
from West Midlands, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: picture quality
Cons: struggles in direct sunlight
" My wife bought me one of these and so far I have been pleasantly surprised by both audio and video quality. But it does struggle for detail when heading toward the sun. You can manually adjust the exposure but that's not really practical when driving. With the right lighting, the picture quality is excellent - including freeze frame. The wide angle lens gives a good represntation of what is in proximity (i.e. nt a distoted view) but it can only pick up the detail from a number plate when the other vehicle is close by.
For best results, make sure your windscreen is clean.
The only issue I have is that my windscreen has a dimpled black paint area around the rear view mirror, and the suction mount won't stickto it. So the cam is mounted slightly more left than I would like and to disguise it I drive with the passenger sun visor down.
Am seriously thinking about getting a second one for the rear view, because there are some absolute nutters out there!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? KIDDERMINSTER
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good if a little expensive.,
April 27, 2015
By Worcester123
from Worcestershire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: fit & forget, gives a degree of comfort, video quality good
Cons: white writing on its face, expensive in the market place, need to add cost of sd card
" Product is promoted as "click & go" but you need to fit the leads to your car first and attach the mounting to the screen. Plus you need to insert the micro SD and format it. Ideally you need to set the time and date. Do you know how? Instructions are on the CD or can be downloaded (40 pages) Basically setting up ready to go can take time and finding the information you want can be frustrating "Click & go" suggests something quick to put into operation but it is not. I downloaded the Driver Recorder - to view my recordings - to a laptop with windows 8.1. This required some tinkering to to get the Driver Recorder to work. Also put Driver Recorder onto my PC with Vista - this required "codec" from the web site - very well explained. Playback is good but the view is not the widest available. What I have noticed is that it fails to show drivers on their mobile phone, they are always in shadow. Re format the SD card every month- I found a corrupt file reformatting clears this. I have printed some good images from the files they are clear and can read number plates well. I bought this dash cam as I had Halfords vouchers but I would suggest if looking for a dash cam you view a "Techmoan" You Tube video, it is very informative about dash cams in general, the knowledge gained lead me to regard the 402G as my best option. Techmoan also reviews a number of dash cams some of which have the same or similar spec as the 402G but cost less. The 402G is quick to remove from itsmount. It has white writing on the face this may attract unwanted attention if left fitted and the motion dector only lasts an hour until the battery has run down. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? REDDITCH
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
exceptional camera,
April 26, 2015
By bonjqvi
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: mint camera
" if your looking for a dashcam then look no further than the 402g professional ,
the quality of the picture is second to none and is very user friendly ,I set it up in minutes , comes with a cd to install and view files if you wish to take them of for sending to insurance , police etc and the files can also be played back on the unit for immediate viewing at the scene of accident for eg.
really happy with unit and is a fair price .
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Software will not load,
April 26, 2015
By S7UAJ
from Chester, Chester, Cheshire West and Chester, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: nothing about this product
" I have an ageing computer running XP I cannot for the life of me get the software to load on,,,, 4 hours I was trying without success and it won't play through windows media player. I downloaded some other form of player and that only showed still images As for the product I think its poor and the instructions are on a CDRom and this won't play either what's up with supplying a book to read,, it going back tomorrow first thing and in giving up on having a dash cam altogether
Maybe I expected it to be as good a quality as a smartphone and as simple to use how wrong was I!!!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CHESTER (GREYHOUND PK)
-8points
0out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very helpfull halfords staff,
April 19, 2015
By Smart1958
from Warrington, Warrington, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the functions
Cons: the instructions
" Bought this product, asked member of staff at halfords (saint helens merseyside ) about set up, he came out to my car and set it up for me , very impressed
I absolutely love this product, and feel safe with this camera in my car, the functions are good, and playback clarity is impressive on my laptop, guess what my wife's having for Xmas this year ???
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? ST. HELENS
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great camera and easy to use,
April 13, 2015
By Sportypants
from Scotland, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality of footage and ease of use, tucks in nicely behind the mirror
Cons: difficult to released rom the bracket
" I purchased my 402g professional camera from Halfords last week. It is so easy to use and I didn't need the instructions. The menu function is pretty straightforward and I had it custom set to my specification in 5 mins.
The quality of footage is superb with good wide angle footage. The software is easy to use too although I often just playback through windows media player.
As others have mentioned in previous reviews it is difficult to unclip the camera from the mount when leaving the car. The first few days I had to take the suction pad and mount off with the camera. This is a major flaw in design and hopefully it will be addressed when the next model is released. To combat this issue I slid the camera most of the way along the groove but didn't fully lock it in place. It is secure enough and can still be released easily without having to take the whole mount off the windscreen.
Some garages/auto-electrical places charge £30 to fit the cabling for this camera but I did it myself in 15 mins by tucking the cable in at the top of the windscreen, running it under the rubber seal of my door, under the glove compartment and to the socket. I am a female and if I can do it then you can too and save yourself some money. If you change your car then it's easy to remove he cable again.
Overall I would recommend spending the extra for the 402g as my partner bought the model down from this and it is nowhere near as good and the connections/mounting of the camera is more of a faff. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CUMBERNAULD
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Needs professional installation,
April 04, 2015
By wizzle
from Cornwall, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: the look
Cons: too techy
" I bought this on the strength of the great reviews. Wrong move. They're obviously written by tech minded people.
First, the cable is nowhere near long enough to go all the way around neatly along the windscreen and in to the centre console 24v inlet.
And secondly, the instructions are way too geeky for stupid people like me!
So I've had the camera for one month now and it's still sitting by my computer as I haven't a clue where to go from there.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CAMBORNE
+9points
18out of 27found this review helpful.
Response from Halfords:By NextBaseNextBaseApril 07, 2015
We’re very sorry to hear that you have had a problem with your Nextbase 402g installation and we’d like to rectify this for you as soon as possible.
We have not seen this issue before as the cables provided are 4 metres long which should be long enough to route the cable around your windscreen and to your car’s 12v cigarette socket.
However if you are having problems there are a number of solutions that we can advise depending on your setup.
We have the Nextbase support team who can assist you with any issue from installation, to using the device with your PC.
Please feel free to call Nextbase support directly on 02920 866 429 and we’ll be happy to help.
Review 20 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional,
April 02, 2015
By Stegall
from Wigan, Wigan, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: video quality is great
Cons: freezes when left turned on.
" Seemed brill for a while until I realised the screen had frozen and had been for two days, so took it back for exchange. Again, all good until I realised it had frozen again, but this time only for an hour. Seems you can't leave it running indefinitely. I have to turn mine off when parked up now, not so good.
May have to take it back for a refund. :(
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? WIGAN
+15points
18out of 21found this review helpful.
Response from Halfords:By NextbaseNextbaseApril 08, 2015
We’re sorry to hear that you are having a problem with your Nextbase camera.
It sounds like there may be an issue with your SD card. The Nextbase customer support line will be happy to help resolve this for you, they can be contacted directly on 02920 866 429. This number can also be used for setup help, advice or technical support.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>