Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Dash Cams or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional

Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional NBDVR402-G records your journeys in 1080 high definition
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(168 Reviews) 168
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (168 reviews)
5 stars
124
4 stars
29
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
4
150 of 163(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 74 Answers
Customer Reviews for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Review 1 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great camera and easy to use,
April 13, 2015
By Sportypants
from Scotland, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality of footage and ease of use, tucks in nicely behind the mirror
Cons: difficult to released rom the bracket
" I purchased my 402g professional camera from Halfords last week. It is so easy to use and I didn't need the instructions. The menu function is pretty straightforward and I had it custom set to my specification in 5 mins.
The quality of footage is superb with good wide angle footage. The software is easy to use too although I often just playback through windows media player.
As others have mentioned in previous reviews it is difficult to unclip the camera from the mount when leaving the car. The first few days I had to take the suction pad and mount off with the camera. This is a major flaw in design and hopefully it will be addressed when the next model is released. To combat this issue I slid the camera most of the way along the groove but didn't fully lock it in place. It is secure enough and can still be released easily without having to take the whole mount off the windscreen.
Some garages/auto-electrical places charge £30 to fit the cabling for this camera but I did it myself in 15 mins by tucking the cable in at the top of the windscreen, running it under the rubber seal of my door, under the glove compartment and to the socket. I am a female and if I can do it then you can too and save yourself some money. If you change your car then it's easy to remove he cable again.
Overall I would recommend spending the extra for the 402g as my partner bought the model down from this and it is nowhere near as good and the connections/mounting of the camera is more of a faff. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CUMBERNAULD
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Needs professional installation,
April 04, 2015
By wizzle
from Cornwall, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: the look
Cons: too techy
" I bought this on the strength of the great reviews. Wrong move. They're obviously written by tech minded people.
First, the cable is nowhere near long enough to go all the way around neatly along the windscreen and in to the centre console 24v inlet.
And secondly, the instructions are way too geeky for stupid people like me!
So I've had the camera for one month now and it's still sitting by my computer as I haven't a clue where to go from there.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CAMBORNE
-1point
7out of 15found this review helpful.
Response from Halfords:By NextBaseNextBaseApril 07, 2015
We’re very sorry to hear that you have had a problem with your Nextbase 402g installation and we’d like to rectify this for you as soon as possible.
We have not seen this issue before as the cables provided are 4 metres long which should be long enough to route the cable around your windscreen and to your car’s 12v cigarette socket.
However if you are having problems there are a number of solutions that we can advise depending on your setup.
We have the Nextbase support team who can assist you with any issue from installation, to using the device with your PC.
Please feel free to call Nextbase support directly on 02920 866 429 and we’ll be happy to help.
Review 3 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional,
April 02, 2015
By Stegall
from Wigan, Wigan, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: video quality is great
Cons: freezes when left turned on.
" Seemed brill for a while until I realised the screen had frozen and had been for two days, so took it back for exchange. Again, all good until I realised it had frozen again, but this time only for an hour. Seems you can't leave it running indefinitely. I have to turn mine off when parked up now, not so good.
May have to take it back for a refund. :(
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? WIGAN
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Response from Halfords:By NextbaseNextbaseApril 08, 2015
We’re sorry to hear that you are having a problem with your Nextbase camera.
It sounds like there may be an issue with your SD card. The Nextbase customer support line will be happy to help resolve this for you, they can be contacted directly on 02920 866 429. This number can also be used for setup help, advice or technical support.
Review 4 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing in all lighting conditions,
March 21, 2015
By Doris40
from Wales, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy adjustment of settings
Cons: mounting rather tricky to undo
" Most impressed. Simple Plug and Play set up but well worth studying the manual to further modify the settings to your requirements. Amazing image quality and ability to cope with all lighting conditions. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BRYNMAWR
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product has great features,
March 21, 2015
By beach
from uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Very pleased with carcam. Very pleased with fitting in Halfords bridgend by Dave. It is better to have it fitted through the ignition. Get 32g sd card. Clear memory once a week. Dave and Karl were helpful with few issues I had as im not a computer geek
Good playback on computer. Worth buying
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BRIDGEND
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great camera rubbish instructions need Blu Tack,
March 21, 2015
By Malcolm1314
from Cheshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality of the image, ease with which stills can be produed
Cons: instructions or lack of them, need to blue tack the cable round the windscreen
" The instructions are obviously written by someone who knows how to set-up and use the camera, it would have been nice to know what all the options on the menu do. The power cord is generous but they seem to say that you need to feed it behind the headlining, my solution was lots of blue Tack to hold it in place. Once working the camera does exactly what it claims to do, used it both for day and night driving. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+4points
10out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Camera,
March 13, 2015
By GDS3
from Gloucester, Gloucester, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: everything
" Bought this camera and it has been a step up in quality from the other one I had. An excellent camera and I would recommend it to all. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? GLOUCESTER
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
clear,
March 13, 2015
By Anonymous
from England, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" top top top car cam, simple to use. best thing ive bought this year, and has improved my driving "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
How many cars: More than 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? WASHINGTON
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent,
March 12, 2015
By garara
from Nairobi, Kenya
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: recommend it
" |Good product easy to use,does what it says I bought this for my safety on the road, and i am very help with it, it helps you when a police will catch you on road. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: More than 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? HENDON
-16points
3out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Far better than expected,
March 12, 2015
By Hadhamite
from Halstead, Essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: simple to use, easy to install, very easy playback
" I suppose there is a lot of hype about these products after a TV show but you do need one that does it all for the footage to be trusted and legal, for instance, GPS showing your location all the time, a wide angle view and most important clarity, i would happily recommend this product for peace of mind to anyone who asks. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? SUDBURY
+10points
17out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Product,
March 10, 2015
By xcooby1
from Stafford, Stafford, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Now been using my carcam for 2 weeks. Extremely clear filming. Easy to use. Easy to fit. Feel better with it in my car. Instant access to footage. Easy to download onto your laptop. Would recommend this camera to anyone. Higher price than some but worth every penny. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CANNOCK
+7points
14out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great little INCarCamera,
March 09, 2015
By Gazgold
from Swansea
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great and easy to use, plug and play device straight into the cigarette lighter.
Picture is cystal clear, However does not work on a mac lower than 10.7 which is worded incorrectly on the CD Booklet as:- MINIMUM SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS: OS X 10.3 and above.
However saying that my Imac was still able to play the files through iphoto and no doubt copy them to disc if needed.
Would have been 5* all round if not for the system requirement mix up which cost me a few hours and 2 phone calls to the help line. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? SWANSEA
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exellent product,
March 08, 2015
By BSC1
from Soutport
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" nexxbase incar cam 402g
worked straight out of the box, very good picture quality
instructions very clear and precise.
would recommend to any one
Regards
Brian
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHPORT
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
next base 402,
March 07, 2015
By cazza24
from Lancashire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: neat
Cons: instuctions un clear
" good product easy to use,does what it says I bought this because of the warning programs on the tv hopefully to avoid crash scams "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? CHORLEY
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A nice little camera,
March 06, 2015
By john5
from westwoodside
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: picture quality, hdmi cable
Cons: a proper manual, stiff mount
" After looking at every web site I finally settled for the 402g and after a few set up problems am very happy with the end result. To set the light balance you hav to remember to switch the recording off or the middle button won't work to change the light balance. To remove the camera from the mounting can be quite a challenge so be careful as not to damage the mount, the power cable is 2 Mtrs long and will be long enough for any car. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? GAINSBOROUGH
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Night driving,
March 06, 2015
By Nightworker
from Newport, Newport, UK
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: a record of your journey (just don't sing)
Cons: no night vision
" Bought this as couldn't get mio. Found it difficult to get into the system once the password is set, hit the wrong button and you are juggling to get back in. Picture okay but a day is 24 hrs, night driving (I work nights# the camera sees very little unless there are lights around, unless, of course, I'm missing something in the manual #which is on disc YOU have to print out.). My last incident was at night and she ran into my offside rear. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CARDIFF (NEWPORT RD)
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very clear recording,
March 05, 2015
By Unhappycustomer45
from Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire PE29, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I brought this for my partner as he travels long distances using motorways everyday, the quality of the recording is outstanding, very clear, you can see car number plates easily, very impressed with this product. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? HUNTINGDON
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
almost idiot proof,
March 04, 2015
By groovyguy
from New York, Lincoln, Lincolnshire LN4, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: ease of use
Cons: having to research the legal stuff
" Really easy to set up, actually spent more time deciding where to mount on windscreen! To be legal, make sure the suction pad is outside the area cleared by the wipers - at the top of the windscreen just to the passenger side of the rearview mirror worked best for my van. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? LOUTH
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nextbase NVDR402,
March 04, 2015
By Anonymous
from England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: eady to use and install no fuss, compact and great features
" This camera is easy to use straight away, records in great definition and is extremely light and durable. The lens is deceivingly wide and produces some classic footage of s very high calibre.
As a first time user this is a fantastic bit of kit, with lots of features for a lot less than other cameras around.
Would recommend this product to anyone looking to buy a camera.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (QUEENS RD)
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NextBase 402G Pro,
March 04, 2015
By Alday09
from Swindon, Swindon, Swindon, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: plug and play literally, compact & tidy, 4m power cable 12/24v
" Excellent Camera.. Great for the price, picture and sound quality in all surroundings (Inc Night time) is superb. Easy to Fit compact unit. The Software that comes with the 402G is excellent and a useful tool for locating exactly where any recorded incident took place
Excellent Value for Money, although slightly expensive you get exactly what you pay for.. Quality Video's
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? SWINDON
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>