Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional

Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional NBDVR402-G records your journeys in 1080 high definition
Average Customer Rating:
4.412 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(357 Reviews) 357
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (357 reviews)
5 stars
234
4 stars
82
3 stars
14
2 stars
8
1 star
19
306 of 340(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 74 Answers
Customer Reviews for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Review 1 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't bother,
May 22, 2016
By
from Bracknell, Bracknell Forest, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: quality of the video files
Cons: read the review
" The first camera wouldn't hold any battery charge at all and wouldn't retain any settings once powered off, meaning you couldn't review or change any settings or view video files unless it was connected to the car power supply and you had to reset it every time you turned it back on. Changed it for a second one which also failed to hold any battery power and only connected to my PC when it felt like it, meaning I had to keep pulling the SD card and using the reader directly in my PC to review video files. Even IF the battery had ever fully charged the manual says the charge only lasts for 6 minutes but at least this is enough for continued recording in the event of the ignition being turned off after any potential accident / incident or to adjust settings or review the recordings when the camera is out of the car, that's if it had ever charged of course! Have to say the picture quality of the video files was very good but the rest of the hardware / software on this camera were poor, spend your money on a better quality product or much less on a cheaper one which would probably give you just as good performance.
Had the camera fitted by Halfords as part of a deal which I was initially pleased with as he ran through the whole set up and operation with me, I was less happy when I took it back and the same guy said that he wasn't really surprised as he didn't think the camera was performing properly when he installed it! On returning the second camera another assistant wasn't at all surprised and advised me that there are far better cameras on the market. I'm not blaming the staff who were polite, friendly and helpful but what are Halfords playing at seeming to be knowingly selling and fitting sub standard products that their staff seem to know full well about but continuing to do so? "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BRACKNELL
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Good product bad install,
May 20, 2016
By
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: priduct
Cons: install
" This product is good, but the installation was very poor,
Had to take my van back to have all the mess cleaned up!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: More than 3
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
product quality very nice,
May 19, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I am not technology savvy but I find this product very easy to use. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not user friendly. Stopped working.,
May 19, 2016
By
from Oxford, Oxfordshire, UK
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: good suction mount, clear daytime video
Cons: everything else!
" Returned the first one within a week after it kept switching itself on and off every 30 seconds. The replacement seemed ok for 5 months but now that has stopped working too.
It's not simple to access the menu as you need to hold something over the lens first to get it to stop recording. Once you've managed to do that you can scroll through the menu to set the parking mode. I would have preferred a simple one touch button to go between drive and park modes.
When parked it will save a few seconds of footage if it detects any change in the view. That includes any movement from tree branches etc. I left it in parking mode for just over 24hrs and it drained the car battery. Contacted Nextbase and they said that they don't recommend it being constantly switched on for more than a day or two. So no good for airport parking.
Battery life of the unit itself is poor - about 7 minutes.
I also had problems with the software and found the instructions to be poorly translated.
However, I did find the quality of the daytime video quite good although not so much at night. The mount is quite chunky compared to the camera itself but I've never had a problem with it falling off.
Very disappointed overall and will be returning it for a full refund.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? OXFORD
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works but cheap feel/look.,
May 16, 2016
By
from Wisbech, Cambridgeshire, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: easy to install, will take up to32gb micro card 4hrs recording time, which best buy july 2014
Cons: feels cheap, looks cheap, does not come with micro sd card, just hope it lasts as some people have had issues
" I have been looking for a Dash Cam for a while and had two or three in mind. Plumbed for this unit as at the time Halfords had a flash sale and the price was then within my range. Purchased the direct connect cable from another company as cheaper and to save myself the Halfords installation fee, installed myself within less than 15 mins. So if you are DIY confident it is a simple method to install this camera directly to the fuse box in the car or by using the supplied cable to the now obsolete 12v cigarette unit.
First used for a 5hr trip and plugged into my PC, checked a selection of recorded movies and these are clear and show speed and GPS location, it also gives you the date and time, which is automatically picked up. Hope I never have to use this in anger, but I now have the evidence on record in any event. Also downloaded some clips from my trip to show the views on my trip to Wales, so a useful tool for holiday journeys as well. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? WISBECH
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well worth the money,
May 01, 2016
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Very good product. Very good quality on playback. Very good instructions and easy to use. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor quality,
May 01, 2016
By
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" Poor quality bild and very poor picture keeps falling off screen and losses videos most of time "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
How many cars: More than 3
Who will use this Product? Friend
-6points
1out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Over rated,
April 26, 2016
By
from Andover, Andover, Hampshire, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: looks
Cons: over rated, poor quality, over priced
" Looks a good product if you don't mind resetting it every other day. Finally crashed not impressed. "
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? ANDOVER
-4points
2out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A good choice so far,
April 25, 2016
By
from Blackpool
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good picture quality, gps acquired quickly and is accurate
Cons: viewer software didn't work with windows 10
" After a recent near miss, I was after a decent dash cam and this one seemed to fit the bill.
Picture quality is excellent, only slight problem is reflections from the windscreen and dash. The camera is surprisingly sensitive in darkness. A polarising filter would be useful to remove reflections and glare..
The viewer software provided on the disk installed on Windows 10 but immediately crashed, as did the version dowloaded from NextBase's website. However the program "Datakam Player/ Registrator Viewer" will play the MOV files and display the location on OpenStreetMap or Google Maps, indicating the GPS readings are quite accurate. This program also allows GPS traces to be exported and I have already used these to add roads to OpenStreetMap. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BLACKPOOL
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product, excellent Nextbase service,
April 16, 2016
By
from Northants
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality of image, nextbase customer service, 4m lead lets me use a constant 12v outlet
Cons: accessing menu when motion sensor operating, stiff mount, relatively small sd capacity
" I did a lot of research before buying a dashcam.
Had I bought this the week before as I intended to, I probably wouldn't be making a claim for £1500+ worth of damage caused by a hit and run in a car park.
Quality is good both night and day. The menu can be a bit fiddly and the fact I can't enter the menu when the motion sensor is operating is a bit irksome (you have to cover the lens first - surely this can be changed via a firmware update).
Ability to take a larger SD card would be good (supports 32gb max) and the mount can be quite stiff (probably a matter of time before they all come with the easier to use magnetic mount)...but those are niggles, offset by the overall quality.
I did my research and Nextbase customer support were very helpful in telling me what serial number to check to avoid battery problems.
Nextbase customer service is exceptional - my emails have been answered the same day and they sent a free alternative mount the next day as I couldn't get the supplied one to sit quite right.
I am so far very happy and would recommend the product. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? RUGBY
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Great quality camera - shame about the battery,
March 30, 2016
By
from Northern Ireland, UK
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: video quality
Cons: rubbish battery
" I bought this camera just over a year ago and I love it. Great quality video, easy to use. Unfortunately there is a problem with the battery in units before serial no. 1525xxxxx and when the ignition is switched off I now get 10-50 seconds before the 'low battery' warning sounds and it switches off.
Of course it's just out of warranty by a few weeks so Halfords don't cover it and when I phoned Nextbase they want £32 for a new battery. It was a waste of time registering the purchase on their site.
I would expect a £150 cam to last longer than 12 months so, sorry to say I won't buy a Nextbase one again.
I have to compliment Halfords on their service though. They rang Nextbase from the store and didn't have any more success than I did "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? LISBURN
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional,
March 26, 2016
By
from Liverpool
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" This product does exactly what it is supposed to do and is easy to use. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? AINTREE
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exceptional Dash Cam & service,
March 18, 2016
By
from Bellshill, North Lanarkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: size, easy use, resolution, easy to install, 2nd windscreen mount
Cons: 1st windscreen mount
" This is my second Dash Cam with my first being a small unobtrusive type, so I wanted a better camera for my second one.
I have had this for a couple of weeks now and it functions without nay trouble and the setting up was so simple. Watching the playback on my computer via the provided software is excellent with all the detail provided in the event of an RTA.
Let me also give credit to Halfords staff in Airdrie for their assistance in my purchase, but even more so to the staff at Next Base. Having set up the dash cam it protruded down in the window a lot more than my old camera and I found it obstructed part of my field of view.
The day I bought it I emailed NextBase asking if there was another windscreen mount available to allow me to place the camera behind the rear view mirror.
Not only did they provide a new mount free of charge, it arrived in the post the following day! Now that is incredible service in anyones books.
Other companies should take note of the customer service provider by both NextBase and Halfords, keep up the good work guys and thanks very much.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? AIRDRIE
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great buy for the price,
March 11, 2016
By
from Lincoln. England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" After much research and reading endless reviews decided to buy this model of camera and I haven't been disappointed. The picture quality is first class and it is such an easy camera to use, I would definitely recommend this product. The only problem I had was installing the disk, I have kaspersky Internet security running on my computer and it would not allow me to install it, as soon as I switch kaspersky off it loaded up with no problem at all. A great buy. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? SCUNTHORPE
+12points
15out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
3rd time lucky,
February 29, 2016
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: simple to use
" This is the 2nd 402g I've purchased, I was so pleased with the one installed in the wife's car that I thought I would get another for my car because (we had been switching cameras between the two cars).
Unfortunately this one was faulty, so Halfords in Selly Oak replaced it, but the 2nd camera was also faulty!!
I was starting to think that maybe it was a duff batch.
So I also took this back which was also replaced again with no hassle.
My camera is no working perfect.
Halfords did mention that they exchanged it because it was within 30 days of purchase, I presume after this period that it maybe more difficult to exchange.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional,
February 26, 2016
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Pretty good quality picture but having a problem reading reg plate so incident can be reported to police.
Very difficult to remove dashcam from fitting so always have to have window fitting attached too. The window sucker sometimes takes a while to stay fastened to window so sometimes falls off "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery issues,
February 25, 2016
By
from Oxford, Oxford, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Very good product when it finally works and some good features on it, I think!
Problem is that the battery does not hold its charge and the unit keeps cutting out. I looked at the Which reviews and this was highlighted by them but it would appear that the manufacturer has done nothing to address the issue, unless I bought old stock. Looking at reviews on the web it is not just me having the problem with the battery,
Sort it and it will be a great investment "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? AYLESBURY
+13points
17out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Dashcam and well fitted.,
February 25, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Even my grandsons have commented on what a good choice of camera this NextBase 402G is. How cool is that!!
Great product, superb picture quality and very well fitted in about 1 hour by Toby at Halfords in Blackpool.
Not only will it capture what other people get up to on the road ahead but it makes you conscious of your own driving too.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nextbase Dash Cam 402G,
February 24, 2016
By
from Hampshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
Cons: needs polarised filter, poor battery reliabilty
" A Very good camera when working. very good picture Quality records time date speed ect. and very easy to use and set up. however the internal battery failed after about 4 months which is not uncommon apparently.
The unit would have also benefited from a Polarised filter, night driving is ok but you do get a lot of glare when close up making it difficult to read number plates plus you get a reflection from the windscreen "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: More than 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? FAREHAM
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant clear recordings,
February 20, 2016
By
from IE
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Great produce
Given me brilliant clear recording of my journey's
Also the recordings can be saved to stop overighting
Should you have need for them
Very easy to set up,
Peace of mind while driving,
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? KILKENNY (ROI)
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>