Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional

Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional NBDVR402-G records your journeys in 1080 high definition
Average Customer Rating:
4.508 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(63 Reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (63 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
1
56 of 62(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 77 Answers
Customer Reviews for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Review 1 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nextbase incarcam 402G professional,
November 25, 2014
By goodsus
from Grimsby, North East Lincolnshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: excellent product as advertised
"The Car cam was easy to set up and works well as described"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? GRIMSBY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Quality,
November 24, 2014
By krw89
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Even though it is one of the more expensive ones it is definitely worth it! Just make sure you read the instructions!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very clear pictures,
November 24, 2014
By electromorph
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"My wife had a minor prang caused by another driver, who disputed the circumstances. Luckily we won, but I bought a camera to make sure we're better protected if this happens again.
I was adamant that the footage must be better than typical 'CCTV' quality (which is pretty useless!) - and this definitely scores in that department!
Particularly impressive is the transition from light to dark: my test was driving into an underground car-park - the images remained very clear for both situations.
Speed is also not an issue - it copes well with rapidly changing conditions.
So, that's basically what you are paying for here. It's not a cheap camera, which is why I gave it less than 5 for value, but it does work well in all conditions - which is really a baseline 'must' for the job it does.
In short - I'm very happy, and I'm confident we'll be prepared next time a similar thing happens."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Which Store did you visit? CHISWICK
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
faultless,
November 22, 2014
By bean2580
from Derby
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I am new to the whole dash can experience but went and purchased the next base 402G pro. After weighing up the price of the cam to the potential savings it really was a no brainer. No point shorting out getting a more basic model go all out. Picture quality absolutely fantastic, great fps rate. Easy to use plug and play device. Would definitely recommend this product. Could also contribute to insurance discounts... Bonus"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? DERBY (WYVERN)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The must have gadget!,
November 21, 2014
By TangoDelta
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I had been reading review after review and decided to go for this one given the Which? best 2014 in car dash cam review.
It was easy to install and setup although I do feel the instructions could be a little clearer as I thought it always recorded and then when you needed a clip you just saved it and protected the file but its not, the way it works for my car a HONDA CRV is as soon as the ignition is started the power to the in car charger powers on the device and it automatically starts recording for me. I have it set to 5 minute loop recording which fills up the micro 32gb memory card bought seperately nicely and just keeps recording until its full and then records over previous unused and unprotected files.
I have literally installed this and forgot about it. The thing I like the most is it is small and discreet capturing great 1080p video footage. You can take photos and also review any previous recordings. I have had a couple of near misses and reviewing the footage is great and captures number plates and the driver driving very well. I strongly believe that if I have an accident it will save all the time and hassle from the liars out there who claim all sorts of nonsense.
The night time recording is great, picking up everything you need as you drive along almost as good as daytime.
It has a motion detection feature built in which if when your vehicle is stationery you can set it to record upon seeing movement but to use this feature your needs to be able to power the unit even when the vehicle is off. My car doesnt power the socket when switched off so I can select an option to record upto five minutes after leaving my vehicle.
Overall a very good product and a good price tag. Some out there are cheap and nasty and the most expensive ones out there arent any better than this one.
A friend has the MIO and wishes he bought the nextbase version instead."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worth buying,
November 20, 2014
By albert10
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: video quality, discrete
Cons: too many small buttons
"Having used a dash cam for a year and had nothing but problems I got a refund. I then looked for a replacement and chose this one based on the Which? review. It worked straight out of the box. Although a little fiddly to set up (perhaps there are too many options and buttons but you don't have to use them all!) it really is set and forget. The playback software is robust and the video is first class especially for such a small camera (number plates are easy to read)."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Which Store did you visit? SALISBURY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good, but expensive,
November 16, 2014
By Joneses
from Liverpool, Merseyside, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: the gps screen saver compass and speed., also the one touch save recording/ lock
"Bought in store at internet price, so saved £10. Good quality picture with a bit too many camera options for my choice. Separating camera from window sucker/ holder is hard to do while attached to the window, we have to keep removing the whole thing each trip. Instruction manual not very user friendly. When using play back on computer GPS maps are excellent next to recording showing exact position on the road."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? ST. HELENS
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great device,
November 16, 2014
By John649
from Birmingham, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: video output, on screen info
"The quality of the video is very very good. When you consider the size of the lens you have to be impressed with what you can see even at night,
I was quite surprised at the playback software and the amount of information it provides I particularly like the scrolling map. It all works well on both my PC and MacBook"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? SHIRLEY
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nextbase IncarCam 402G Professional,
November 14, 2014
By GasEngineer
from Swansea, Swansea, Swansea, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything about it
Cons: none
"Excellent piece of kit, I had tried another make but the reliability was poor. I needed something that could work on its own like fit and forget, the images played back on the small screen are okay but on a laptop or full HD TV are awesome every detail is so clear. The software provided is more than useful it shows your speed braking and cornering force etc and even shows where you have travelled on a map. I will be purchasing another one for the car, someone drove into the side of our car last Christmas when my Wife was driving and speeded off, pity the car didn't have dash cam then."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? SWANSEA
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product.,
November 12, 2014
By DaddyGus
from Leicester UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: all
Cons: i wasn't free. ;o)
"Having used many over the years this is by far the best. I was that impressed I went back the following week and purchased another. On playback the definition is exceptionally good using a PC."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (ST MARGARETS WAY)
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Alternative to Mio,
November 10, 2014
By Jonesey16
from North Wales
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: excellent picture @ 1080p
Cons: the fiddly buttons and controls, the trailing lead down to the cigar lighter, 5 min life of internal battery too short.
"Camera bought after bad experience with Mio, so far the camera is working well, good supporting software for the PC as well. The controls are a bit fiddly and need constant referral to the instructions to get around all the features. Could do with an additional longer period of recording, as well as an overlap from one recording to the next, it does occasionally miss a few second of recording from one segment to the next."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BANGOR
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Dash Cam,
November 10, 2014
By Grumpgoldfish
from Huntingdon, Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Never had one before but love this dash cam. A little bit tricky to set up but I done it so anyone can. Need to buy an SD card too but it records very well in all conditions, well so far anyway.
I just think the instructions could be a little bit clearer on starting up for the first time but after reading trhough them a few times, it all became clear.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? HUNTINGDON
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great spy in the cab,
November 10, 2014
By Steven1962
from Midlothian, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: you just never know it could be your witness if yo
Cons: none really apart from driving into bright light.
"Discreet, functions well, easy to set up and use. Small enough to attach behind the rear view mirror. Excellent visual results, with good options in the menus, and software very easy to download onto my Laptop. Definitely recommend this product.
The only small problem is like with all cameras with these low winter suns the image is a little darker when driving into the sun, even setting it to night time driving, but apart from that normal daytime driving is perfect, and when replayed onto my laptop it is like watching my telly crystal clear. You just never know it could be your witness if your alone in the car.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? EDINBURGH (STRAITON)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says exactly in the product description,
November 09, 2014
By Driver63
from Bedfordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: compass and speed display
"Very pleased with this item at a great price. Image quality is very good and will stand up in court if required. Very easy to use and set up. I feel much better having this as a sort of black box if anything should happen and It has already picked up some horrendous bad driving by other road users which can be forwarded on to the police if required. I bought a 32gb micro sd card which gives up to 4hrs recording in HD. I wouldn't,t recommend anything less really."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BIGGLESWADE
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
a great way to protect your insurance,
November 07, 2014
By grubber
from staffordshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy installation
"i recently decided to purchase a in car camera to give me some means to help me should the inevitable happen and i am involved in an accident while driving, having looked at many different cameras i decided to go for the next base 402g model as it had excellent reviews. it did not disappoint me,i found it easy to install and had no issues downloading the software to my mac to be able to review the camera footage. good product"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? STOKE-ON-TRENT (HANLEY)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jinxed me,
November 05, 2014
By LePop
from Pembrokeshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: suction mount great for getting dents out
"happily on the way home with my new camera couldn't wait to install it so i could use it and some lady was parked in the middle of the road behind a tight blind bend with only sides lights on so i had no clue she was there so i had to ram my car in the hedge and luckily only one panel was dented. unfortunately the camera wasn't set up but it was obvious who was in the wrong. BUT !! the suction mount for the camera pulled the dent right out my bmw e36 like a boss 5 *****"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? HAVERFORD WEST
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
High quality,
November 03, 2014
By Malkie01
from Inverness, Highland, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good back up software, easy to use
Cons: power inlet too close to windscreen
"Well packaged and easy to install. Software brilliant, it records date, time & speed. Good quality play back. Already paid for it's self by correcting a patrol car Copper who though I was speeding until I showed him on play back. Would highly recommend this product. If I had a criticism it wold be the power inlet close to windscreen but is manageable"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? INVERNESS
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Small & compact,
November 01, 2014
By ctstereo1963
from Denny, Falkirk, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: 5 stars all the way
"My only complaint about this unit is removing it from the windscreen mount. My fingers are big hopefully with use it will become easier. Apart from that nothing else to complain about.
Great dash cam, I can see why it won the awards it did.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CUMBERNAULD
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Purchase,
October 29, 2014
By Neilmch
from Ashby-de-la-Zouch, Leicestershire LE65, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cool design and features, software for pc to view all travel data, it even logs the journey to view in google maps, it records the sound crisp so beware what you say.
"I would recommend this to everyone. The camera was easy to setup and the fixing brackets are very strong. The GPS positioner and the software records everything what you would need in the case of an emergency. The design is really cool and the build quality is excellent. It records in 5 minute segments and has sensors to detect collisions. The recordings are crystal clear and the sound is crisp. All the features this camera has is very impressive. The price is well worth it as i have brought in the past cheaper models and they just seam to fail to give the quality. If you want a good buy with the chance to get 10 % off you insurance premium then buy it you wont be disappointed."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? COALVILLE
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says on the box,
October 29, 2014
By Cameraman
from Warwickshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My first one was faulty. Kept forgetting the time and date and removing the power killed it stone dead. It produced a lot of corrupted files and failed to properly record a half hour journey. This was replaced by Halfords without a quibble and the new one behaves exactly as it should.
Video quality is excellent especially full screen using VLC media player.
For those complaining about battery life who haven't read the instructions and additional "errata" leaflet, the battery life is 6mins max not 30 and is intended /only/ to allow a clean shutdown if power is lost. Also, the battery will /only/ charge if the unit is switched /on/
Charging separately away from the car is a good idea (I used my tablet charger) especially if only short journeys are taken, and this allows reading the instructions and playing with settings in comfort.
One complaint - no lens cap for when the camera is stored. I purchased one on Ebay - 35mm, push-on."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? COVENTRY (ORCHARD RTL PK)
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>