Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional

Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional NBDVR402-G records your journeys in 1080 high definition
Average Customer Rating:
4.419 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(377 Reviews) 377
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (377 reviews)
5 stars
246
4 stars
89
3 stars
15
2 stars
8
1 star
19
325 of 359(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 74 Answers
Customer Reviews for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Review 1 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Next base 402g,
July 25, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great device. Bought second for wife's car
Simple set up, good footage with gps, speed etc
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good features,
July 18, 2016
By
from Hertfordshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: good daytime video
Cons: not very clear night video
" Took me a little time to figure out on the various features and functions "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? WATFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Caught Out!,
July 10, 2016
By
from Essex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: picture quality, sound quality
" Recommended! Bought this as a birthday present for my husband. At the end of the first day of using it, he plugged it in to show me how good it is and how pleased he was.
The picture, view and sound quality are excellent and good value for money.
The only downside for my husband was that I caught him cheating on me!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHEND
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Camera, poor fitting.,
July 08, 2016
By
from Ipswich
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Good value camera with great features.Bought it and choose to have it fitted at Halfords, Ipswich. All good until I picked my car up after the camera had been fitted by a Halfords's fitter and noticed that the plastic pillar trim inside the car under which the connection wire was placed had been bent out of shape & now not flush with the windscreen.
Not impressed.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? IPSWICH (SUFFOLK RTL PK)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nextbase 402G,
July 04, 2016
By
from Derbyshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" After reading many reviews on all different makes and models I settled on the 402G and have not been disappointed, easy installation with the extra long power cord, straightforward intuitive menu and a doddle to set up. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: More than 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? ILKESTON
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product does a great job.,
July 03, 2016
By
from Cumbria, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" The in-car cam purchased at Halfords is an excellent product doing everything very smoothly and relatively unobtrusively. Can find no problems with this well made and presented. Recommended. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? WORKINGTON
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good device,
July 01, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" This device is well worth the price. Very good videos produced and reassurance given on your trip. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? SHOREHAM ON SEA
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A Great Dash Cam,
June 30, 2016
By
from Cambridge, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I had this product fitted by my local Halfords and the whole
experience went without a hitch. Having made the appointment the staff were ready and waiting when I arrived. The fitting took about one hour and the system set up ready for the off. The camera works very well and I have to say I am delighted.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CAMBRIDGE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it is meant to,
June 29, 2016
By
from Northwest
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: ease of installation, high quality recording, gps speed g-force, free carry case and memory card, small and compact
" A couple of years ago I bought a very cheap dash cam mainly out of curiosity and to replay on screen how my daily commute looked. I quickly learnt to appreciate the advantage of recording the poor and very poor driving ability of other drivers around me.
Knowing that I am recording myself definitely has a calming effect on my own driving and although I've not needed it I feel some reassurance that any front and accident will be recorded.
The cheap dash cam died a couple of months ago and after consulting `Which` I bought Nextbase 402G. It is already programmed to run in the optimum settings so it is extremely easy to install. The high definition recorder picks up everything and the night time pictures are very good. A wide angle lends ensures it picks up huge kerb to kerb pictures.
In addition to the high quality image the unit also records GPS and speed, g-force information and sound.
The price is good and halfords gave me an additional hearty discount when I traded in the old one, which in my mind made it a bargain.
Not everyone wants one in the car I know, but for those that do I can recommend this one.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CHORLEY
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent fitting service,
June 26, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: gps feature, best price on line for store fitting
" I had cameras fitted to both my and my wife's Volvos. Amy at Stroud Halfords did an excellent job on both choosing a camera position that was unobtrusive: behind mirror the XC60, bottom lh of windscreen on the C70. Fuĺl explanation of how to use was given. Picture quality and product features are excellent. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic,
June 25, 2016
By
from Warrington, Warrington, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: peace of mind
" I purchased one of these elsewhere a few months ago for my car and was so impressed that I went and got a second one for my wife's car. These are a fabulous bit of kits for highly recommended. With the amount of idiots in the road these days, this is a must. Worth every many. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? LEIGH
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great in car camera,
June 24, 2016
By
from Glasgow
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great camera. Easy to use. Very good quality. Highly recommended "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? HAMILTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly what I needed,
June 24, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Having read the reviews, I am pleased that the DashCam402 more than meets all my needs. It was expertly fitted by a Stafford Halfords staff member who did a very professional job. All in all - a very good product at a very good price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? STAFFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Good BUT!!!,
June 15, 2016
By
from GB
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" The camera is very good indeed.
Why is it spoiled by the provided lead connection into the camera?
The lead can only be fitted one way which is opposite to the way it should be fitted and unfortunately this stresses it as it is forced across by the body of the camera.
This, however, is a minor point as the camera is exceptional.
Be prepared to buy another lead.
"
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? LICHFIELD
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Next Base 402G,
June 15, 2016
By
from Highland, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: playback quality
Cons: hard wire kit and sd card not included
" After a prolonged claim against a third party, (which the third party lost), I wanted to fit a dash camera to avoid the same again.
The Next Base 402G comes well recommended and is a really good quality camera never letting me down. Video playback quality is good in all light conditions.
I used the Next Base Hard Wire kit, to ensure that it was always ready to record any incident, without the need to worry about switching it on. All in, 20 minutes to install. (I did it myself, not a difficult job at all).
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? INVERNESS
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good IF NEW, serial numbers start 153 or 16, not 152,
June 13, 2016
By
from Ipswich, Suffolk, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: briliant picture, easy to use
Cons: old models unreliable battery
" This camera takes some of the best pictures available. The mount is easy to remove if you look at it first before inserting it and see how it slides in and out from/to the left. It is very comprehensive and has lots of feature you will not find unless you read the manual on the CD. Print out pages 7 to 18 at least.
Downside I got an old one, serial number 152xxx.. no life in battery, so won't save last 3 minutes of film, that is the bit you need as evidence!. Took back to Halfords for full refund, which they were happy with. Note these are £30, 20% cheaper if you buy on-line click and collect than if you buy them in-store,
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Which Store did you visit? IPSWICH (EURO RTL PK)
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent all rounder,
June 10, 2016
By
from Cheddar, Cheddar, Somerset BS27, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" The Nextbase 402G does everything it claims very well. Used it almost immediately after fitting to see the cause of a blown tyre. Impressed by the ability to watch the drive on screen, freeze, take stills and zoom closer. And yes, it was glass I had not seen. Really impressive.
Halfords fitting very professional. Frees up the lighter socket by using the fuse box supply. Cool.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? WELLS
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value and profesionally fitted,
June 04, 2016
By
from Croydon, Greater London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Easy to use out of the box. The unit was professional fitted at the Purley Way, Croydon branch by two members of staff in 20 minutes. They took care to ensure everything was safe and set up the unit. I have not seen the output on my PC as this could put my rating higher. Certainly a very wide angle (140 degrees) which distorts the picture slightly but necessary to capture all approaches to the vehicle. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CROYDON (PURLEY WAY)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great unit but one major flaw,
June 03, 2016
By
from Cannock, Cannock, Staffordshire, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: picture quality, features, software, out-of-the-box default settings
Cons: awful design of clipping into holder
" Great dash cam, picture quality is excellent, features are very good, easy to use, supplied software is good, so overall an excellent unit which I would recommend. However, one major drawback is that once the unit is clipped into the holder, that's it. It's there for good because it is impossible to unclip it again without removing the unit plus the holder completely from the windscreen mount and then trying to prise the two apart using pliers or something similar and risking damage. I really feel that this spoils an otherwise excellent dash cam. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CANNOCK
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product good value.,
June 01, 2016
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Easy set up and installation, video quality excellent, replay on PC good. Only comment is release catch slightly awkward but gears easier with use. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 19 next>>