Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop In Car Cameras & Parking Sensors or
Choose a Category

Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional

Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional NBDVR402-G records your journeys in 1080 high definition
Average Customer Rating:
3.857 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
1
9 of 14(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 38 Answers
Customer Reviews for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Review 1 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
402G Car Cam,
July 10, 2014
By FranklinJnr
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: small size doesn't clutter screen
Cons: software on mac doesn't link to google maps?
"The 402G is small lightweight and gives a good quality recording.
I use a MAC Laptop, and the files transfer and display directly with all details and without the 402G software downloaded. As the unit comes with a half size software CD it will jam in standard laptop CD slots DON't try to install the software from it, go to the nextbase website and download it. Unfortunately the software does not work unless I'm missing out a step? In the manual it shows it linked to Google Maps?
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
How many cars: More than 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? HUDDERSFIELD
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant,
July 05, 2014
By J80tdb
from Heysham, Lancashire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy set up, brilliant customer backup, hd superb quality, long cable
Cons: no mount in the box
"I bought this cam at Xmas from Halfords. It was put on the shelf and I didn't use it. After nearly being killed on the motorway I thought, time to get it out!
In June I opened the box NO CAMERA MOUNT!!
No receipt, I paid cash I thought, "problems".
I contacted Halfords and NEXTBASE via email and within an hour I got a call from Halfords asking for my address to send a replacement and then straight after one from nextbase for the same!!! Brilliant service!!
Now the issue with charge!
Some people must be themselves not wired up!!
Research the product first! If you are going to use a came daily you need to have it plugged in somehow, either hard wired or the supplied plug!!
I deliberated over this and researched how to run the cable through the car myself.
That's what I did. Took the dash out of my BMW one series, fed the cable around into the lighter socket. No problems at all.
In goes the sd card, yeh you have to buy it separately. The recording issues I've seen reported on here maybe to do with that?. I bought a Samsung one. But a fast write class ten card, that is a named brand. Tell you That in the manual!!
Plug and play?
Yep, easy VERY EASY.
Need a few TWEEKS from the box, adding reg, setting date and I'd advise the ISO setting to be plus 1 and turn sound off (it records everything you say!!)
The camera is easy to use, superb picture HD quality and is very reliable. Set the scream saver to on, and the gps signal displayed will give you accurate speed!
Conclusion
Won't go far wrong with this. Superb picture quality, works well. All the negative comment on this review should be ignored if you do it properly.
The instruction manual is small, goto the nextbase site and download a digital manual. It's as simple as that.
The only downside is that you actually want something to record!!!!
I'm not sure about others on the market, but this is value for money.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic image quality, even at night!,
May 20, 2014
By whenohwhen
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of set up, high quality footage, gps, quality of product
"Brought one of these to reduce my insurance premium, my insurer recomended this model. Was a little pessimistic about setup and every day use, but had it for 2 weeks now and is great, don't even notice its there and have recorded some nice footage. I must say the quality of the playback is far better than I expected, as good as my camcorder. Its a much cleaverer bit of kit than I though with G sensor and google maps GPS. Very impressed."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Had two, both faulty,
April 29, 2014
By Nobby902
from Northamptonshire
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: the quality of recording
Cons: it kep brturning off
"The first one I bought stopped recording after exactly 2m.55sec on the 3 minute loop. G-Shock facility was turned off, and it still did it. Called help line and went through all re-set stuff, but it kept doing it. They said take it back to Halfords for a replacement. Next unit worked for a week, then I discovered that it wasn't keeping the files in the memory (32gb Micro SD Card), which is no good, you kind of want it to do the job it's designed to do. I called the helpline again, and went through all the reset stuff again, and it worked for 8 days and then started turning the recording off after exactly 1m 46 secs. The unit maintained a visual display, it just stopped recording. When you rely on the recording to look back at events, it would be a real pain if the bit you needed wasn't there. I took it back to Halfords today for a full re-fund as I have lost confidence in the brand. I must say, that when it did work, the quality was very good indeed for a small unit, but there are clearly issues with the technology. I think I'll spend a bit more, on something better, if I can find it. Maybe I'm just unlucky, who knows. You decide..."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: More than 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? WELLINGBOROUGH
+22points
27out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor battery, shocking customer service by Nextbase,
March 04, 2014
By Redtruffle
from York
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"No instructions in manual on how to initially charge, so a full charge was given through the USB Cable via a computer, whilst unit was off.
Altered settings, battery levels dropped fast, next step put in car - it runs fine when plugged in however when not plugged in camera does not last longer than 3 minutes. This renders motion detector and point and shoot camera capability inoperable.
When vehicle stopped it is not capable of recording up to its maximum record length setting and switches off prematurely due to low battery.
Attempted to return to Halfords, who then have to call what I presume are Nextbases technical helpline/Customer Service in order to get a return code. I can only describe the guy on the other end of the phone as an obnoxious prat who is more keen on blaming the consumer than admitting they have used substandard batteries."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? HULL (ST ANDREWS QUAY)
+64points
66out of 68found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NICE SIZE,
January 31, 2014
By PODSY
from MAIDSTONE
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good small size
Cons: micro sd card - too small
"I HAVE USED THIS CAMERA FOR ABOUT A WEEK AND FOUND THIS A SUITABLE SIZE WITHOUT OBSTRUCTING THE WINDSCREEN IN ANY WAY, THE ONLY PROBLEM IS GETTING THE MICRO SD CARD IN OR OUT BUT THIS MAY BE THAT MY FINGERS ARE NOT AS THIN AS OTHERS MAY HAVE."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? MAIDSTONE
+9points
16out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality Product!,
January 23, 2014
By Jay1471
from Coventry
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality footage, long power lead, great windscreen holder
"If you want a simple to use camera that starts when the engine starts and switches off when you get out then this is it. There are a number of extra options to play with if your wish, but once 'tuned' to how you want it you can just forget about the options.
The software is good, but to be honest on modern PC's it works fine without it using windows media player anyway.
The lack of battery life is a non existant argument as I have it plugged in within the car and when transfering clips it's using USB anyway. If I did want to get out the car and take still pictures I'd probably use my iphone.
Quality wise its very good and I have lots of great footage of the idiot drivers from my daily journey up and down the M1.
Just have to remember it's on as my singing is awful!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? COVENTRY (ORCHARD RTL PK)
+46points
48out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Quality,
December 29, 2013
By Gaz5664
from Manchester, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The video quality is excellent, much better than I thought it would be for the price, even at night time.
Great camera that looks good quality too
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? STOCKPORT
+22points
25out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very poor battery life,
November 29, 2013
By Armitage
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: good image quality
Cons: very poor battery life, no recording ability out of the box
"The manual states the built-in battery should provide thirty minutes of recording. The first unit I bought lasted for 40 seconds before running out of juice, and it's replacement managed less than six minutes. Both units were left to charge for several hours to no avail.
If you're not bothered about false promises and only intend on using the unit plugged in, then at least the image quality is good. As others have pointed out however, this unit absolutely requires a separately bought memory card."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Which Store did you visit? SLOUGH
+29points
37out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Click & go?,
November 24, 2013
By Generaldj
from Bristol
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"It says on the box "click n go" which in my book means it will work right out of the box. Unpacked everything, pluged into the cars 12v supply and it switched on. Very impressed with the screen resolution, but it keeps on flashing up a message saying insert an SD card. Don't have one at home, expected it to come with some sort of recording facility - as that's what it's ment to be all about. On the box it mentions compatible with up to 32 g card but would of been useful to know you need to spend more to get it working. I don't think it's marketed correctly - should state that a card is needed!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (WINTERSTOKE)
+6points
30out of 54found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nextbase InCarCam 402G Prof,
November 14, 2013
By Xsara2256
from Eastbourne
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very good value for money. Super quality play back both for day and night recording. Has a very nice screen and is compact in size.
Recommended to a friend he is going to buy one."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? EASTBOURNE
+22points
26out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
peace of mind,
October 28, 2013
By Stevo1958
from Exeter.Devon.UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"excellent product.
gives me peace of mind.
fairly easy to understand and install.
32gb microcard comfortably covers a 5 hour
journey.
recommended.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? EXETER (RYDON LANE RTL PK)
+30points
31out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
never again,
October 23, 2013
By memek
from Peterborough
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: mounting bracket
Cons: battery life, cheap plastic, software not working, no sd memory card
"This product is very annoying.
Easy to fit but:
- battery goes flat in about a minute, how you can use a photo mode ?
- menu button only works if camera is not recording, try to switch a motion sensor off, good luck
- cheap plastic cover
- no memory card included
- software doesn't work on my laptop, it is compatible with my system according to a manual, even after downloading all codecs from their website, also new software link for PC has an error when clicked on it
I returned it after a day, got myself a Mio MiVue 388 Drive Recorder and must admit it's very easy to use, everything work as it should for this amount of money. If you not sure which camera to get for this amount of money don't get this one.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? STAMFORD
+39points
49out of 59found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic playback quality,
October 18, 2013
By mmmpizza
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: picture quality
Cons: no sd
"First impressions are that this is a very high quality dash cam. Very pleased with the quality of the footage and the GPS function is great as uses Google Maps. Perfect for what i need and good value with the amount of features.
Only grumble it didn't come with an SD card!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+42points
43out of 44found this review helpful.