Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional

Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional NBDVR402-G records your journeys in 1080 high definition
Average Customer Rating:
4.44 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(352 Reviews) 352
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (352 reviews)
5 stars
233
4 stars
81
3 stars
14
2 stars
8
1 star
16
303 of 335(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 74 Answers
Customer Reviews for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Review 1 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well worth the money,
May 01, 2016
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Very good product. Very good quality on playback. Very good instructions and easy to use. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor quality,
May 01, 2016
By
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" Poor quality bild and very poor picture keeps falling off screen and losses videos most of time "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
How many cars: More than 3
Who will use this Product? Friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Over rated,
April 26, 2016
By
from Andover, Andover, Hampshire, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: looks
Cons: over rated, poor quality, over priced
" Looks a good product if you don't mind resetting it every other day. Finally crashed not impressed. "
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? ANDOVER
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A good choice so far,
April 25, 2016
By
from Blackpool
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good picture quality, gps acquired quickly and is accurate
Cons: viewer software didn't work with windows 10
" After a recent near miss, I was after a decent dash cam and this one seemed to fit the bill.
Picture quality is excellent, only slight problem is reflections from the windscreen and dash. The camera is surprisingly sensitive in darkness. A polarising filter would be useful to remove reflections and glare..
The viewer software provided on the disk installed on Windows 10 but immediately crashed, as did the version dowloaded from NextBase's website. However the program "Datakam Player/ Registrator Viewer" will play the MOV files and display the location on OpenStreetMap or Google Maps, indicating the GPS readings are quite accurate. This program also allows GPS traces to be exported and I have already used these to add roads to OpenStreetMap. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BLACKPOOL
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product, excellent Nextbase service,
April 16, 2016
By
from Northants
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality of image, nextbase customer service, 4m lead lets me use a constant 12v outlet
Cons: accessing menu when motion sensor operating, stiff mount, relatively small sd capacity
" I did a lot of research before buying a dashcam.
Had I bought this the week before as I intended to, I probably wouldn't be making a claim for £1500+ worth of damage caused by a hit and run in a car park.
Quality is good both night and day. The menu can be a bit fiddly and the fact I can't enter the menu when the motion sensor is operating is a bit irksome (you have to cover the lens first - surely this can be changed via a firmware update).
Ability to take a larger SD card would be good (supports 32gb max) and the mount can be quite stiff (probably a matter of time before they all come with the easier to use magnetic mount)...but those are niggles, offset by the overall quality.
I did my research and Nextbase customer support were very helpful in telling me what serial number to check to avoid battery problems.
Nextbase customer service is exceptional - my emails have been answered the same day and they sent a free alternative mount the next day as I couldn't get the supplied one to sit quite right.
I am so far very happy and would recommend the product. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? RUGBY
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Great quality camera - shame about the battery,
March 30, 2016
By
from Northern Ireland, UK
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: video quality
Cons: rubbish battery
" I bought this camera just over a year ago and I love it. Great quality video, easy to use. Unfortunately there is a problem with the battery in units before serial no. 1525xxxxx and when the ignition is switched off I now get 10-50 seconds before the 'low battery' warning sounds and it switches off.
Of course it's just out of warranty by a few weeks so Halfords don't cover it and when I phoned Nextbase they want £32 for a new battery. It was a waste of time registering the purchase on their site.
I would expect a £150 cam to last longer than 12 months so, sorry to say I won't buy a Nextbase one again.
I have to compliment Halfords on their service though. They rang Nextbase from the store and didn't have any more success than I did "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? LISBURN
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional,
March 26, 2016
By
from Liverpool
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" This product does exactly what it is supposed to do and is easy to use. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? AINTREE
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exceptional Dash Cam & service,
March 18, 2016
By
from Bellshill, North Lanarkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: size, easy use, resolution, easy to install, 2nd windscreen mount
Cons: 1st windscreen mount
" This is my second Dash Cam with my first being a small unobtrusive type, so I wanted a better camera for my second one.
I have had this for a couple of weeks now and it functions without nay trouble and the setting up was so simple. Watching the playback on my computer via the provided software is excellent with all the detail provided in the event of an RTA.
Let me also give credit to Halfords staff in Airdrie for their assistance in my purchase, but even more so to the staff at Next Base. Having set up the dash cam it protruded down in the window a lot more than my old camera and I found it obstructed part of my field of view.
The day I bought it I emailed NextBase asking if there was another windscreen mount available to allow me to place the camera behind the rear view mirror.
Not only did they provide a new mount free of charge, it arrived in the post the following day! Now that is incredible service in anyones books.
Other companies should take note of the customer service provider by both NextBase and Halfords, keep up the good work guys and thanks very much.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? AIRDRIE
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great buy for the price,
March 11, 2016
By
from Lincoln. England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" After much research and reading endless reviews decided to buy this model of camera and I haven't been disappointed. The picture quality is first class and it is such an easy camera to use, I would definitely recommend this product. The only problem I had was installing the disk, I have kaspersky Internet security running on my computer and it would not allow me to install it, as soon as I switch kaspersky off it loaded up with no problem at all. A great buy. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? SCUNTHORPE
+13points
15out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
3rd time lucky,
February 29, 2016
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: simple to use
" This is the 2nd 402g I've purchased, I was so pleased with the one installed in the wife's car that I thought I would get another for my car because (we had been switching cameras between the two cars).
Unfortunately this one was faulty, so Halfords in Selly Oak replaced it, but the 2nd camera was also faulty!!
I was starting to think that maybe it was a duff batch.
So I also took this back which was also replaced again with no hassle.
My camera is no working perfect.
Halfords did mention that they exchanged it because it was within 30 days of purchase, I presume after this period that it maybe more difficult to exchange.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nextbase InCarCam 402G Professional,
February 26, 2016
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Pretty good quality picture but having a problem reading reg plate so incident can be reported to police.
Very difficult to remove dashcam from fitting so always have to have window fitting attached too. The window sucker sometimes takes a while to stay fastened to window so sometimes falls off "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery issues,
February 25, 2016
By
from Oxford, Oxford, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Very good product when it finally works and some good features on it, I think!
Problem is that the battery does not hold its charge and the unit keeps cutting out. I looked at the Which reviews and this was highlighted by them but it would appear that the manufacturer has done nothing to address the issue, unless I bought old stock. Looking at reviews on the web it is not just me having the problem with the battery,
Sort it and it will be a great investment "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? AYLESBURY
+13points
17out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Dashcam and well fitted.,
February 25, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Even my grandsons have commented on what a good choice of camera this NextBase 402G is. How cool is that!!
Great product, superb picture quality and very well fitted in about 1 hour by Toby at Halfords in Blackpool.
Not only will it capture what other people get up to on the road ahead but it makes you conscious of your own driving too.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nextbase Dash Cam 402G,
February 24, 2016
By
from Hampshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
Cons: needs polarised filter, poor battery reliabilty
" A Very good camera when working. very good picture Quality records time date speed ect. and very easy to use and set up. however the internal battery failed after about 4 months which is not uncommon apparently.
The unit would have also benefited from a Polarised filter, night driving is ok but you do get a lot of glare when close up making it difficult to read number plates plus you get a reflection from the windscreen "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: More than 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? FAREHAM
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant clear recordings,
February 20, 2016
By
from IE
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Great produce
Given me brilliant clear recording of my journey's
Also the recordings can be saved to stop overighting
Should you have need for them
Very easy to set up,
Peace of mind while driving,
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? KILKENNY (ROI)
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product - exactly what I wanted.,
February 18, 2016
By
from South east
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything
" I've been on the lookout for a car camera for a while when I heard about this one from Which Best Buy. I couldn't be happier with it. It's easy to set up (and quick) and your up and running in no time - there's nothing complicated about it.
Thanks to Paul (Regional Manager) and Winston (Charlton branch car fitter) who made this a very easy process. I've had the charger fitted into my car by Winston and couldn't be happier with his work.
Great product and great service. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? DARTFORD
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple to set up.,
February 15, 2016
By
from Cumbria, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I purchased an internal wiring system as well. The hardest part was finding the fuse box in the car. Simple to install and set up. Would recommend this product. The only drawback is the fact that the memory card was an extra and not included with this offer. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? KENDAL
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
not very reliable battery,
February 14, 2016
By
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: picture quality
" I have had to change this already due to battery problems and now 2nd one is same and time keeps changing.
the time is critical in insurance claim and date.
i see a lot reviews on here with same problem, so i would have thought they sorted problem out.
taking this back again maybe for refund and look for another make.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Complicated,
January 25, 2016
By
from Lancashire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cons: a christmas present i may never use.
" Had to print out the instructions to get it set up, does it really need all the gizmos which it has.
Not supplied with any memory had to buy memory card extra.
I got the camera for Christmas, when the camera is on and plugged into the cigarette lighter it interferes with the radio so bad I can't use it.
I only have one cig lighter socket so had to purchase a 3 socket extension (camera) (satnav) (phone charger)
I will only know if it's any good if I have an accident.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? FAREHAM
-5points
7out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nextbase Dash Cam 402G Professional
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow what a product,
January 25, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Just upgraded to this from a cheaper poorly made model from another brand and this is miles better. footage is excellent and so easy to use. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>