Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite

Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite NBDVR202 will record your journeys events in high definition 720p
Average Customer Rating:
4.037 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
3
21 of 26(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer Reviews for Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite
Review 1 for Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
everyone should have one.,
December 13, 2014
By xxbigunxx
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cons: battery life is useless has to always be on charge, charging wire is long can be routed out of sight
" Video is of a good quality. You can capture the idiots who cannot drive or drive without regards to fellow drivers. I drive a van and people in little cars are always pulling out in front of me or cutting me up at roundabouts when I hit one I will have proof of fault. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? STOKE-ON-TRENT (FENTON)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product,
December 13, 2014
By Bern1
from Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Excellent product, just plug in and go. Powers my TomTom and Nextbase InCarCam. Would recommend. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? ORPINGTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Product easy to use,
December 10, 2014
By Melcodog
from Fife
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: it layout and ease of use
Cons: night vision
" A really nice piece of kit but the only drawback its quite poor at night, never the less value for money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? DUNFERMLINE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for use,
December 02, 2014
By thisischris
from Derby, Derby, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, paid for itself
" Very simple to use, the buttons can be a little fiddly though.
Nice long power cable so it was easy to tuck away and keep the cable hidden.
I've to had the issue with the plug angle, I guess it depends how steep your windscreen is.
The picture quality is ok, It's amazing for night time use but it's fit for purpose i.e. possible insurance fraud. This isn't going to be what you want if you are planning on recording scenic trips though the country side. You'll want a GoPro or something for that.
I bought this for the 12.5% discount on insurance, so it's paid for itself. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Which Store did you visit? DERBY (WYVERN)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nextbase,
October 13, 2014
By gordy447
from Burnham on sea, Somerset
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: could do with supplying a 90 degree angle power, cable. can be a bit tight against glass
" Good all round unit. Does what it says on the tin. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BRIDGWATER
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to Use,
October 09, 2014
By Coxie216
from London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, good price, compact
" Whilst the charging location is a bit awkward not when you put it in before you stick it on the window! Very clear picture quality when playing back. Great little camera that isn't your face it's so small it's like it's not there! Reasonable battery life before you need to charge again. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
car cam,
September 13, 2014
By VuBear
from Belfast, Belfast, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use, good capture rate
Cons: the bright writing on front of camera
" For the price it's a good in car cam does what it is supposed to do, works well in all lighting day and night, captures all events even when not in car with its auto record with movement detection inbuilt, could be a bit less obvious with the writing on the front would be better if it was less bright "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BELFAST (LESLEY RTL PK)
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not a very good product,
September 03, 2014
By XXXX11
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" The mount too small for windscreen.
Power plug set at wrong angle for windscreen. Phone NextBase told to buy new plug from Maplins Electrical.
Recorded for only 10 minutes then started again.
Phoned them again they could NOT explain why.
Got Refund. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brilliant!,
August 16, 2014
By chrizz
from luton
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" i'm only 19 and been driving for 2 years, as i regularly drive round and cruise with my friends i thought on buying a dashcam to keep me safe, after looking for a good few weeks i decided on buying this one, easy to work and use and clear footage.. little did i know i what i was in for a week after purchase, on a mini round about a bus didn't give way and ended up writing my car off, after saying it was my fault i had the clear footage as evidence.2 broken ribs whiplash, popped shoulder and concussion.. i strongly reccomend this one. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+43points
45out of 47found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite,
July 29, 2014
By richi123
from Merseyside, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Hi Everyone just brought the nextbase 202 lite have to say am well impressed so far, good quality clear vids, many people are saying about the lead hitting the window screen, ive placed mine in the corner of my mirror with no problems i can spin it to the back and side views of my car. "
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? ST. HELENS
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite,
July 06, 2014
By hockeyplayer
from Southend-on-Sea, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: picture quality
Cons: position of charging lead
" I bought this camera a few weeks ago as I thought "you never no when you might need it" As mentioned in other reviews, the location of the charging plug surely has to be design fault. It does exactly what it says on the box and also got me a 10% discount on my car insurance "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? RAYLEIGH
+17points
19out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Avoid,
May 15, 2014
By Rolandzero
from London
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: very little. the black colour.
Cons: data inaccessibility
" Where to start? As others have written, it's clumsy and the buttons are just where you need to hold it when mounting. Intermittent data corruption. Night vision poor. Poor battery life limits download capacity when not charging. To cap it all, it wouldn't even release my data card! At least Halfords were good about the return. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? NEW MALDEN
+31points
34out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great buy,
May 06, 2014
By philltr
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Beware i had trouble getting windows 8 to recognise the drivers and at to resort to a windows 7 laptop to download videos of the sd "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
How many cars: 3
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nextbase 202,
April 29, 2014
By dazza73
from Falmouth
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" After having my D.A.B stereo fitted at Halfords was amazed no staff told me this item renders it useless!.Thanks a lot.Camera ok for price though.Chargeing cable on top bends badly into windscreen.Not very user friendly menu.Night time infra red l.e.d's around lens more of a gimmick than a function.Daytime ok "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Which Store did you visit? CAMBORNE
+13points
16out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cheap entry level dash cam,
April 27, 2014
By Canyonero
from Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality and price
Cons: the charge cable position
" I bought this product at the weekend as I wanted to try out dash cams but didn't want to pay silly prices.. Anyhow this dash cam has reasonable reviews so I bought it.
The built quality is good but the software menu system is not as simple as it could be, the instruction manual gives some simple instructions but they are not detailed and it took me about 5 mins to set the date and time and I'm ok with technology. The only thing I don't like about the unit is the charge plug, it's at the top of the cam and when I mount this on my windscreen the cable is a little squashed against the glass. This problem has been mentioned by another person and I totally agree with them that this could be a slight design problem. If the cable was more flexible this might resolve the issue.. Anyhow I'm well pleased with the video quality and it plays back just fine on my Mac computer, the recorded saves the journey to the SD card in little 5mins chunks which play back as AVi video files..
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? CHESTERFIELD
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job,
April 15, 2014
By Armorgen
from NA
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Good camera , once I decided where to put it and how to hide wires I was happy enough with it. Its good for the price.
Its starts to record as soon as you knock on engine and stops 10 secs after you turn off car.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? NAVAN (ROI)
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good daytime video, but some niggles,
January 12, 2014
By kevintiobraid
from Derby, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: daytime picture quality
Cons: plug position on top, buttons on side, interference with dab system
" The recording quality is good during the day, exactly what I wanted. But nightime recording is a bit poor, especially when there are no streetlights. Activating the IR function (which you have to do through a couple of sub-menus) doesn't seem to make a difference.
The charging plug position is annoying. It means that the rigid part of the cable is squashed against the windscreen causing the camera to change position over time. It is difficult to mount and dismount and the buttons, and you keep pressing the buttons at the side by accident when mounting/dismounting.
Also, forget about listening to DAB radio in your car with this product.
Overall a good daytime picture, but not particularly user friendly.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? DERBY (WEST)
+35points
35out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Value,
January 06, 2014
By graham77beds
from Bedfordshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good value for money
Cons: lack of configuration
" This camera is easy to fit and has a very long charging lead meaning it was easy to find a simple route to a spare 12v socket. Video quality seems fine, although I have not yet reviewed night time footage. Personally i think a few tweaks could be made to the units software - most importantly allowing the screen to switch off sooner, 3 minutes is the minimum at the moment, and this can be distracting at night "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? LUTON
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
top quality product, great features,
January 03, 2014
By trevisr
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit, easy to use
" Top quality, easy to fit and use, good quality video, bundled software makes reviewing easy, the long power cable makes it easy to site without having cables in your view. I would recommend this product to anyone "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
How many cars: 3
Who will use this Product? Parent
+11points
15out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Decent cam; night vision lacking,
January 01, 2014
By Daleacus
from Leeds, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: decent quality daytime video, easy to use, works out of box (with separate card)
Cons: not convinced is 720p but good enough, ir leds do nothing; poor night visibility
" Decent quality recording although I can't believe that this is 720p. The size of the video files it saves are massive. I would recommend a 32 Gb card which will fill up faster than you think.
It comes with 8 IR LEDs. They make no difference. I thought mine were faulty, however the manual states that they will only work at close range, which seems fairly pointless for a dash cam.
Works out of box providing you have an SD card ready. Fairly easy to use UI. Wire almost perfect length, had a little slack once pushed out of sight behind various bits of trim. Decent instruction manual. Good small suction mount included. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (YORK RD)
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>