Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite

Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite NBDVR202 will record your journeys events in high definition 720p
Average Customer Rating:
4.02 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(51 Reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (51 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
15
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
6
41 of 50(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer Reviews for Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite
Review 1 for Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
poor quality picture,
July 22, 2015
By gibby26
from Scotland, UK
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
" I bought this to replace one that could not work with windows media this one will work with it but the picture quality is poor you cant even read the number plates of cars in front of you. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Does not do what it says on the tin,
July 11, 2015
By Weble
from Brownhills, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: when working it's great
Cons: apparently does not like 32gb cards., build quality a little cheap
" I had this camera for a week. I used it for work and in my own car and for most of the time it was fine.
Did as it should and was exactly what I wanted most of the time.... however from time to time without warning it would suffer a few different faults:
It would stop recording for no apparent reason
It would display a blank white screen and only record sound to the card
It would split the image in half across the middle and put the bottom of the image on the top and the top of the image on the bottom, and record like this.
Freeze totally and do nothing, needing me to hold the power button to shut it off and start again.
If you set a screen saver time, it will go into screen saver mode even if you're doing something like adjusting the settings or using playback mode. Then you had to shut it off, and turn it back on again to carry on. So ended up with the screen saver off, and the screen lit up all the time.
So I returned it to Halfords today, the staff in the store said they've had issues with these camera's not able to work properly on a 32gb memory card, and that I needed a smaller memory card. They said they had already spoke to Nextbase about this and that this was their answer. Even though the product description does say 32gb compatible. (I was using the correct class 10 card)
Sadly my reason for purchase was the length of time recording a 32gb gave me. A smaller card would not do this so I returned for a full refund.
Only issue now I'm camera less and have an expensive memory card and no use for it. Waste of money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CANNOCK
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
a great little dashcam,
July 10, 2015
By mtdc
from South Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I purchased one of these 12 months ago although at the time it was £71.00, I would get in the car without it "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite,
June 29, 2015
By Dannyboys
from Thurrock, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This in car cam is excellent, even at night with infer red, the recording is very clear in normal record but put it on HD it's great. It's easy to install and setup. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: More than 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? WEST THURROCK
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not that intuitive to set up,
June 10, 2015
By 5UMOdriver
from Camberley, Surrey, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: light weight and plenty of cable
Cons: no printed instructions supplied
" Reasonably small and very light-weight. No printed manual supplied and literature suggests you download one from the internet, so if you don't have internet access on a mobile device it's not that easy to read as you install in the car. I did not find the menu system very intuitive to use and still have not managed to set the date and time correctly, neither have I had time to review any recordings on my computer. Plenty of power cable to install at top of windscreen though, and I have managed to hide mine under the headlining and screen pillar trim. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CAMBERLEY
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nextbase in-car 202g,
May 29, 2015
By Trouble60
from Birmingham, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very good dash cam
" I brought this last week but cannot remove from the mount on window screen anyone got any ideas please? does not just slide off like on video "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (BORDESLEY GREEN)
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Insurance discount,
April 29, 2015
By Prop3
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Good cam easy to use & video play back is great,easy to use as a hand held cam to take out of your car and take pictures "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant!,
April 29, 2015
By Becky89
from Ipswich, Suffolk, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything apart from the battery
Cons: the battery life
" This product is simply brilliant. It's very easy to set up and as I leave it plugged in, it automatically starts to record when I start my engine.
I was pleasantly surprised by how good the night vision is on the camera. During the day the picture is also clear and precise.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? IPSWICH (SUFFOLK RTL PK)
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Absolutely disapointing!,
April 28, 2015
By phill0electricengineer
from Southampton, Southampton, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: very very expensive for what you get!
" Firstly, it doesn't record HD and the picture is very poor even on computer screen. Sound recording has extremely poor quality. Secondly, too expensive for what it is. If you add £40 on the top you get GoPro Hearo which is incomparable.
Over all, I used it, so can't take it back. It will be ending up in a BIN.
ABSOLUTELY WASTE OF MONEY!!!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHAMPTON (WEST QUAY RTL PK)
+5points
21out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little dashcam,
April 27, 2015
By JJB22
from Lincoln, Lincoln, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Recently purchased the Nextbase InCarCam 202 lite. Easy to install, good clear recording. I use mine just above the dashboard, makes it easier to remove when parking etc, It Is not a distraction as the screen goes off after a while, unlike a satnav where screen is usually always lit up. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LINCOLN (TRITTON)
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite,
March 14, 2015
By Nannso
from Belfast, Belfast, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" Cannot write a review on this product yet as we cannot get using it due to poor instructions "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? NEWTOWNABBEY
-19points
11out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NextBase 202,
March 05, 2015
By DSH469
from Grantham, Grantham, Lincolnshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: overall quality for price, easy to use, nice long charger lead
Cons: instruction book could have more set up detail, fiddly to remove camera from windscreen mount
" Good dash cam for price. Nice clear picture & picks up audio well.. You do need to use a class 10 memory card to get the best HD video. Nice to have the option of playback through Tv as well as PC.
Comes with a nice long lead so can be run round windscreen trim &hidden from view.
The ONLY fault I have found is that the instruction book is nearly useless as a guide for setting unit up!. had to phone NextBase customer service who were very quick at answering phone polite & very efficient at sorting me out.
I have found that it is easier to take the suction mount off the windscreen when leaving vehicle unattended sooner than trying to take camera off the mount!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? NEWARK
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First camera,
March 02, 2015
By Norman21
from Cleckheaton, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: size
Cons: hard to release
" very good size and good picture easy to set up and easy to download "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? HALIFAX
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good,
February 28, 2015
By Buster0612
from Northampton, Northampton, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very clear pictures
Cons: rendered useless at night
" I purchased this item in hope to save me money and protect me from the idiots on the road. The reason it's 4/5 is the fact that at night it rendered pretty useless unless the roads are heavily lit. Other than that, very good value for money! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? NORTHAMPTON (RIVERSIDE)
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
easy to use,
February 27, 2015
By Jade12
from Bury
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Pretty easy to use, just plug in and it starts recording "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BURY
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dashcam,
February 24, 2015
By Vandad
from Aylesbury
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" wellmade and easy to set up and use, I think it makes you a better drive because you are await that every move is recorded "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? AYLESBURY
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant,
February 22, 2015
By DICKIE0
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" SOME MAY CALL IT A TOY,BUT IT IS AN EXCELLENT PRODUCT AND IN THE EVENT OF AN ACCIDENT OR ALLEGATION OF BAD DRIVING ,THE EVIDENCE IS THERE...END OF ARGUMENT "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? BARROW IN FURNESS
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent!,
February 21, 2015
By Anonymous
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality of picture, rolling video never run out of memory, auto on & off
" I bought the dash cam after seeing a recommendation online after my recent car accident where i was incorrectly put at fault, I now have the dash cam and not only do I feel 10% safer on the roads but i now know, should anything happen them I have photo evidence of the real story, I strongly recommend dash cams! Definitely worth every penny! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value,
February 19, 2015
By Badboy388
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good value
Cons: nothing
" brought this after a long decision .
Likes this n will recommend it .
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nextbase InCarCam 202 Lite
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good value device,
February 14, 2015
By RickSpleen
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good picture reproduction, long supply lead
Cons: usb connection position, useless battery life, obscure instructions, have to buy an sd card separately
" The picture is very good quality even when re-played on a large PC Screen. Can't understand why the necessary SD card is not supplied with the unit. The instructions are obscure so a combination of reading them several times and trial and error is necessary to understand all the functions. The position of the USB socket is most inconvenient at the top - it should be at the bottom or on one side. Battery life is useless but the long power supply lead makes it possible for it to be left in place permanently and tucked out of sight. Other reviews have complained about poor suction fixing but I have found no problem with that. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>