Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Ripspeed DV720 DVD/MP3/CD Player

Ripspeed DV720 DVD/MP3/CD Player - you can listen to high quality music and watch DVD movies without the need for separate boxes in the car.
Average Customer Rating:
4.318 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
1
36 of 44(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Ripspeed DV720 DVD/MP3/CD Player
Review 1 for Ripspeed DV720 DVD/MP3/CD Player
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Quality For Low Price,
December 04, 2011
By Footballcoach
from Derby, England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: very simple to use, looks fantastic, good size screen, good price, comes with a handy remote
Cons: hard to tune the radio, screen has to be pressed quite hard
"I purchased this CD player as I wanted a touch screen rather than a standard CD player. This is a fantastic buy at the price I bought it for, highly recommended to anyone looking for a touch screen for their car! It is very simple to use, looks fantastic with the screen both up and down and has a good sized screen on it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ripspeed DV720 DVD/MP3/CD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
exceptional quality,
December 02, 2011
By Naughtynoodle
from Lancaster
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"great stero/dvd, great sound, excellent value for money and fitting service was excellent"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Children
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ripspeed DV720 DVD/MP3/CD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best purchase Iv made,
October 22, 2011
By Curlydave
from Hull
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Love the product, fantastic value, and I'm berry pleased and this product was so easy to fit"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ripspeed DV720 DVD/MP3/CD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
definetly vaue for money,
October 05, 2011
By tez45
from norwich england
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"the poduct was very easy to install and all the on screen instructions were very clear in easy to navigate definetly a great product definetly value for money"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ripspeed DV720 DVD/MP3/CD Player
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
not used,
May 24, 2011
By jamieb
from airdrie scotland
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"hi had to return this item as it was not suitable
for nissan terrano as there was facia addaptor
in halfords stores or there supplyers so this did not fitt
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ripspeed DV720 DVD/MP3/CD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing,
March 18, 2011
By Lodlodrilodderson
from Swansea
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: looks good, easy to fit
"Very good bit of kit looks amazing in the car would def recommend to a friend easy to fit did it my self"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ripspeed DV720 DVD/MP3/CD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Buy,
January 04, 2011
By Seaniau
from Bridgend
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I love the ability to stylishly open up a screen and select options, radio stations and CD songs with the tip of my finger!
The screen dims slightly when sidelights are on, and operation of the stereo is a breeze.
Pitty it doesnt have Bluetooth, but other than that, perfect!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ripspeed DV720 DVD/MP3/CD Player
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great dvd player,
January 01, 2011
By crackers
from high wycombe
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: great picture
Cons: doesn't pick up weaker radio stations, confusing tuning
"Good Picture and Sound, looks good in the dashboard."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ripspeed DV720 DVD/MP3/CD Player
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
an honest review!,
December 27, 2010
By IbizaMk4
from Glasgow, Scotland
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: good quality picture
Cons: poor quality of sound, distorted audio at high volume, poor level of sub frequencies, high amount cabling at the rear of the unit
"I bought this head-unit after my Alpine one broke last month, I picked this up as it was in a similar price range to my old one. My first thoughts out of the box was that there are a lot of cables at the back, space isn't an issue in my car but i could see how it could definitely become a problem for cars with a confined space at the rear of the din!
once plugged in and ready to go i was really impressed with the flip out screen (the feature that attracted me in the first place). the quality of picture is great for the price and albeit it's a dvd player mounted to the dash of your car!!!
the thing that is most important to myself is quality of sound, i run a 1000W sub in the boot of my car and uprated door speakers all round so this was the biggest test!! the sound quality at low volume was of an average standard, although i had problems getting the level of bass adjusted (gain full on the amp and SW level full on cd player and i still only received a low rumble on the subwoofer!) this was only the start of my audio problems, as i increased the volume the quality of sound kept distorting and not sounding nearly as clear as it should have.
so to cut a long story short, if it's quality of sound your looking for, look elsewhere...if it's cool gadgetry and a chance to turn you or car into a cinema then this is the one for you."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ripspeed DV720 DVD/MP3/CD Player
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
xmas present,
December 12, 2010
By Dakeo666
from mansfield
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"i have been bought this product for christmas, and i ant actually got it fitted yet, i carnt wait tho, if all the descriptions are true then im really gonna enjoy this, it also seemed really easy to use on the demo instore"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ripspeed DV720 DVD/MP3/CD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
home from home,
November 27, 2010
By robert123
from norfolk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: folds out of site
Cons: do not play rw dvds or cds
"i love this as i can play dvds and cds in my car at break time at collage with my friends and do not have to go home.it saves me a lot of fuel money.i love that it comes with a remote and that it all folds up out of site so its not on show."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ripspeed DV720 DVD/MP3/CD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great,
November 19, 2010
By cdk127
from ipswich
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: no messy wiring, great sound
"My wife brought me this as a christmas prezzie,,, Excellent purchase,, picture quality is really good and its easy to fit and use,,, well recomended"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ripspeed DV720 DVD/MP3/CD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good for the prise,
November 13, 2010
By mindas
from bromley
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"good prise good dvd recomend for every one no beter deal"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ripspeed DV720 DVD/MP3/CD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dv720,
November 11, 2010
By bobbobbob
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"with the online discount this product is well worth the money it fitted straight into the car (mitsubishi galant) with not probs ,the picture is very good on the display and the sound quality is good enough for me. i like the touch screen and this also works well. considering what you would pay for a top brand touchscreen incar dvd player this in my opinion is an excellent budget player."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ripspeed DV720 DVD/MP3/CD Player
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
cd dvd player,
November 09, 2010
By motherson
from norwich
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: nice looking
Cons: bad product should not be sold
"Even thought got it half price in sale i would have expected it to work my son and i paid 1/2 each for this product and he tells me this will be the 3rd one hes had as other 2 gone wrong within days."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ripspeed DV720 DVD/MP3/CD Player
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cheap and Cheerful.,
November 03, 2010
By Anonymous
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: cheap
Cons: poorly made, menu screens/navigation looks cheap, sound quality
"Took this unit in exchange for the 3" Screen Ripspeed unit. First unit was faulty so i took that back with no fuss halfords staff where excellent.. Second one worked for about an hour then developed exactly same fault. after having 2 of these units i decided to get my money back which again halfords staff where great about.... if your looking for a cheap flip out monitor go for this unit but beware of faulty units! If you arent too fussed about the DVD function get yourself a branded JVC/Sony unit..."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ripspeed DV720 DVD/MP3/CD Player
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
dvd 720,
September 09, 2010
By Metalmicky2000
from norfolk
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: value
Cons: rubish sound quality
"Good value for your money, sound quality is rubish"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ripspeed DV720 DVD/MP3/CD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great value,
August 23, 2010
By focus123
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"very good value for money does everything the more exspensive ones do i would recommend this product to you."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ripspeed DV720 DVD/MP3/CD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Purchase,
August 09, 2010
By AntonSheff
from Sheffield
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Very good unit, its sad that it dose not have USB function on it, but overall i am happy with this item easy to install, and works great."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ripspeed DV720 DVD/MP3/CD Player
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Partial Sucess,
February 20, 2010
By ieuanrod
from Scotland
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Purchased the unit,fitted myself,very staright forward, unfortunately unit failed within 2 days. Halfords were excellant and changed the unit for me without question or problems."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>