Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Boys Bikes or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Hood Guru Boys Bike - 20"

The Hood Guru Boys Bike has 6 speed Shimano gears with twist grip for easy gear changes, ideal for challenging rides.
Average Customer Rating:
4.562 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(73 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (73 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
23
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
71 of 73(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Hood Guru Boys Bike - 20"
Review 1 for Hood Guru Boys Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Boys Bike,
December 31, 2011
By AKat
from Watford, England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"We got this as a christmas present for our son, and we were really impressed with the bike. It seems really solid and well put together. Our son was really chuffed with the bike. It is his first bike with gears and he is constantly showing his friends the bike and telling them about the gears. Really good present"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hood Guru Boys Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Boys Bike,
December 15, 2011
By charloo
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Christmas present so not used yet but hoping it will be perfect."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hood Guru Boys Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Deal,
October 13, 2011
By TJSlimmer
from Elgin, Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Puchased 2 bikes and excellent value for money and will definetly use Halfords for my bikes again, received excellent customer service."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hood Guru Boys Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value for money,
October 06, 2011
By dermot04
from East Sussex
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: great value for money
"My son is 7 and absolutely loves this bike. It was great value and the quality is very good. All easy to use, gear changes are smooth and easy and we think that It will last him for many years. Would recommend."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hood Guru Boys Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good,
October 04, 2011
By jeff13
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"my son likes this a lot, perfect for him, the store staff were great"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hood Guru Boys Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bike,
October 03, 2011
By jorjajorja
from sunderland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i found the bike i wanted for my sons birthday and reserved it online collected it the day before his birthday serched every were for it found it at halfords ON SALE so thanks to halfords im 1 happy person and have 1 happy son x"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hood Guru Boys Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Robust but heavy,
September 13, 2011
By Dominus
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Great looking bike, but very robust and on the heavy side. Good seat adjustment and just great for a 6+ year old boy."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Is this the child's first bike? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hood Guru Boys Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VFM,
March 23, 2011
By hoodguru
from Nottingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"A cool bike. Our son loves the design. He's only riden it a couple of times but seems chuffed with it.
Great value for money.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hood Guru Boys Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin,
January 17, 2011
By Anonymous
from Guildford
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"A reasonably priced bike that looks good. Heavy though."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hood Guru Boys Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can't be beaten for value,
December 28, 2010
By Jevsdad
from Bolton
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bought this for my son for christmas. He had just turned 6 so we feared it might be slightly too big for him and it is, but come the Spring he should be fine on it. It actually has one of the smallest frames I've seen on a 20" bike. Halfords had the bike ready the day after I ordered it, which was very impressive given the time of year. It was an excellent service all round as I know from experience that bikes can be a real pain to assemble and adjust. I only had to adjust the brake levers for reach. The Guru seems a very good qualitty bike for the price. It's a perfect choice for a 6 or 7 year old as the gears will be useful at this age and the front suspension (rather than full sus) makes the bike agile but not too heavy. The only negative is that it came with chunkier tyres than the display model, which might make pedalling harder on normal surfaces."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hood Guru Boys Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hood Guru Bike,
December 24, 2010
By Torz
from Billericay, Essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very pleased with this bike, its for our 5 year old and we originally thought a 20" would be too big, but the size of the frame and height of the seat is perfect for him (most 20" bikes are just slightly too big). We reserved this item on-line and picked up in store. Our local store held it for us for 7 days as we couldn't pick it up before then, they were very helpful and obliging. Bike was built for collection, excellent service."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hood Guru Boys Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
hood guru,
December 05, 2010
By crashb3
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: price, looks
Cons: weight, decals might peel off
"bought this for xmas present for grandson. it seems a good first bike with gears though a little on the heavy side hasn't been used yet but it should stand up to the tratment a 6 year old will give it"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hood Guru Boys Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fantastic value for money,
November 15, 2010
By SJGruz
from Brixton, London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Really pleased with the speed of purchase available for collection the next day. Great value for money. Staff very helpful."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hood Guru Boys Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Boys bike review,
October 11, 2010
By Tarbi
from York
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Staff were very friendly and helpful. Bike is great (my son thought so anyway!)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hood Guru Boys Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great bike,
October 03, 2010
By busydad
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"my son is 7 and this is his 1st "proper" bike, i'm sure he will love it for christmas"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hood Guru Boys Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hood Guru Boys Bike 20",
September 15, 2010
By Dev22
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Grea bike or my 7 yr old. He loves it. Good perosanl servoce also recoeved from Halfords staff"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hood Guru Boys Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bike is cool,
September 13, 2010
By Puddin
from Greater Manchester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: accesories don't fit
"Bought his Bike from Bolton store.
They assembled it - incorrectly. Couldn't use it and had to return to store with it as gears were not working.
Fab loloking bike and son loves it.
BEWARE if buying any Hood accessories - they don't fit this bike. Very disappointing."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hood Guru Boys Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hood Guru,
September 10, 2010
By Oatcake
from Southampton
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: not overly expensive
Cons: heavy
"a reasonalby priced bike that was chosen by my son. Unlike some 20" wheel bikes the seat goes well down which is very helpful for new riders enabling them to put their feet down easily. The bike has gears which are a another nice feature when you are able to ride without stabilisers"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hood Guru Boys Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good first bike with gears,
September 04, 2010
By Riggers72
from Sheffield, England
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"The Guru is a good bike for boys to learn to use gears. Have had a few problems with the chain & gears at times."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hood Guru Boys Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
you rarely get service like this anymore,
August 25, 2010
By woodford
from Lakeside
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i was so impressed with the service from Halfords Lakeside...i would highly recommend them and won't purchase from anywhere else again...the link communication from purchasing on line to picking up in store followed by the service in store was second to none...a very pleasant experience"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>