Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Classic Bikes or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Pashley Princess Sovereign Buckingham Classic Bicycle

The Pashley Princess Sovereign in Buckingham Black, an ageless traditional bike with wicker basket
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pashley Princess Sovereign Buckingham Classic Bicycle
Review 1 for Pashley Princess Sovereign Buckingham Classic Bicycle
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Heavy to lift but not to ride,
February 19, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: it's not heavy to ride/cycle, cycles well up inclines, looks nice, will [hopefully!] last, sturdy secure ride
Cons: it is heavy to pick up/lift (most bikes are!!), find it hard to lock up
" The Bike is perfect. I agree with setting seat to correct height, even handlebars too to ensure its perfect for you .
I was almost put off buying because of all the "heavy" "heavy and hard to up hill/incline" comments and reviews from other sites.
On my previous bike (Also 5gears) I would struggle to get up inclines. Big or small, I would consider going longer routes so I didn't have to get off and push. I was worrying thinking I've thrown almost £700 on s bike that I'm going to dread taking out- Not so with the pashley.
It goes up inclines like a dream and I wouldn't say I'm fit either!!
Quality is excellent. It looks beautiful, the seat is very tough at the beginning but it's nice and wide so still comfortable while you are breaking it in. No startled looks from pedestrians when they hear the rattle of the chain guard when cycling along/bouncing down a kerb! I feel very stable riding this bike.
I got the 17.5" frame, I did actually order the 20" frame but it's okay. I'm about 5'5 with a 32" leg but as said above I've just been tweeking seat and handle bars to make it perfect for me.
It is heavy to lift up... And I live on the 1st floor of a victorian conversion with quite a narrow hallway and a twist so that is the only pain for me- but ride wise it is not heavy at all (in my opinion).
Other thing is I find it very hard to lock the frame and wheel together, on a standard bike stand. But that's not the bikes fault!!
It's a great bike. Don't be put off by the heavy comments!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pashley Princess Sovereign Buckingham Classic Bicycle
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vintage bike,
September 19, 2015
By
from Manchester, UK we
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: all the classic features
Cons: a little to heavy for uphill
" Really lovely bike , hadn't rode for a couple of years , but this was so easy to and comfortable to ride I felt like I'd never been of, lovely bike its a pleasure to ride , I would definitely recommend this beautiful classic bike , money very well spent on indeed. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? MANCHESTER (WHITE CITY)
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pashley Princess Sovereign Buckingham Classic Bicycle
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lovely well engineered bike,
August 24, 2015
By
from Buckinghamshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Stylish and nicely old fashioned - a true British classic and just what I wanted. <3 my Pashley! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? AYLESBURY
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pashley Princess Sovereign Buckingham Classic Bicycle
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pashley Princess Sovereign - a Rolls-Royce product,
May 05, 2014
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality quality quality
" This bike is truly fabulous.
From it's glossy black and gold paintwork, it's solid well engineered build to it's well thought out extras, it oozes class.
Have only had mine (bought a 20" frame - order in store) for a few days, but it's already racking up the miles.
The ride position is excellent.
Should have bought one years ago. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? WESTON SUPER MARE
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pashley Princess Sovereign Buckingham Classic Bicycle
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pashley Princess,
April 07, 2014
By
from Northampton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: build quality its rock solid, traditional geometry no more aching back/neck, parts quality, it'll go on for ever, best bike for people who just want to get up + go, powder coated paintwork
Cons: nothing - its perfect
" I see so many of these bikes coming up for sale on various sites - mostly stating they are hardly used. When you look at the photo I can see why. Almost all of the bikes have the saddle right down low. How anyone rides a bike with the saddle too low I do not know. Please - before selling a great bike, raise your saddle - and see if you don't find it much easier and enjoyable to cycle.
I disagree that these bikes are rubbish in hilly country. I live in extremely hilly countryside and ride my Pashley comfortably on 50+ miles - up hill and down dale. There is no better bike for pootling about on - and if a hill is just too much for you, well walk it, its all exercise after all, and before you know it, you'll be cycling up those hills. You do have to get fit to it.
If you buy a Pashley and look after it, not only will you have a fantastic, comfortable bike to ride about on, but it will last ... and last - you'll be able to leave it to someone in your will. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
+35points
35out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pashley Princess Sovereign Buckingham Classic Bicycle
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
A beauty but some major drawbacks in you don't live in Norfolk,
March 15, 2014
By
from Cardiff
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: its looks, quality of build, class, comfort
Cons: its weight
" Nobody wanted one of these more than I did. Yet within months I had to sell it. Why?
It's beautiful, it's majestically comfortable on the flat and I felt like a queen riding it. But if you live in an area with hills, you're stuffed. I'm a strong cyclists but it slows to a grinding halt when things get even slightly steep.
Worse, if you ever need to transport it, as I did, you're double stuffed because it really needs a tow bar rack and even then it weighs so much I couldn't lift it up to go on to the rack.
If you live on the flat though.... what are you waiting for? "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? BARRY DOCK
+8points
13out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pashley Princess Sovereign Buckingham Classic Bicycle
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Timeless quality,
December 29, 2013
By
from Scotland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" A piece of timeless quality, clearly hand built to a high standard with a number of modern touches such as the rear wheel security lock and drum brakes. Only disappointment was lack of leather handle grips which would have finished it off nicely. Overall though, a beautiful classic bicycle. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? INVERNESS
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pashley Princess Sovereign Buckingham Classic Bicycle
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pashley Princess Sovereign,
June 25, 2013
By
from Sutton Bridge
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: full mud/chain guards all round
Cons: bit pricey but everyone needs a treat
" Quite the ladies bicycle, love everything about this bicycle, coms with all mod cons, its beautiful. I wanted it because it was british made and its elligant. I am fed up with dodgy products from overseas. Best of British. Little bit pricey but so what, its pretty, I earnt it and I wanted it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? WISBECH
+24points
28out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pashley Princess Sovereign Buckingham Classic Bicycle
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pretty good VFM with 10% deal and £20 voucher.,
November 15, 2010
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Very good quality, but not as excellent as price would have suggested. Happy with the purchase though. These bikes are special order though so not easiliy available. Also when riding, it would've been handy to have been told that you have to backpedal to complete the gear change. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+28points
39out of 50found this review helpful.