Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Meguiars Scratch X 207ml

Meguiar's Scratch X is fast acting to get rid of scratches and blemishes on your car.
Average Customer Rating:
4.364 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
10 of 11(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Meguiars Scratch X 207ml
Review 1 for Meguiars Scratch X 207ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
April 05, 2016
By
from Sheffield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Just bought this product today and I'm very pleased! After reading the reviews I decided to purchase this. Many reviews have suggested to use this for minor scratches and I can say I didn't know whether my scratch was minor or major but I can say that it worked very well on the large scratch I had. Very very pleased, would recommend it to anyone. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (QUEENS RD)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Meguiars Scratch X 207ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Megulars,
June 11, 2015
By
from New Malden, Greater London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" This is easily the best scratch remover I have used,very pleased "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Meguiars Scratch X 207ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome stuff!,
February 22, 2015
By
from Liverpool, Merseyside, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" After cleaning bird droppings off my car i left some scuff marks on the passenger door. After 2 applications of scratch x 2.0, using a hand applicator and a bit of elbow grease the scuffs had completely vanished. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? LIVERPOOL
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Meguiars Scratch X 207ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best product I've used,
August 07, 2014
By
from Liverpool, Merseyside, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Really amazing product covered lots of scratches but also got rid of a patch on the car where a seagull waste had made it dull, restored the shine back to the paint! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? AINTREE
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Meguiars Scratch X 207ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Worked better with a polishing pad,
April 20, 2014
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good product for light marks
" Bought this to get rid of light key and scuff marks on recommendation of a friend.I wasn't expecting great results and on applying this by hand was a little disappointed in the result.
Then my friend lent me his drill attached polishing pad,result very impressed totally removed all signs of the scratches especially around the door handle where it was quite bad.
Conclusion:in my opinion can be hard work by hand,but with the polishing pads(which can be bought off fleebay for little money)and a bit of patience you can get very good results.but i would also like to point out i also got good results from G3 products.
Also don't expect this to remove deep scratches
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Meguiars Scratch X 207ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meguiar's Scratch X worked for me,
September 21, 2013
By
from B14
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: having loads of product left
" Applied Mequiar's Scratch X once and the marks faded. applied a second time and-
Results: marks became hardly noticeable so top marks to the product. Plus, I have loads of the product left for the future :-) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (SELLY OAK)
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Meguiars Scratch X 207ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Better than expected,
June 09, 2013
By
from Manchester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: works well
Cons: no usage instructions
" Bought this on recommendation in store. Applied it to several long scratches on my car but wasn't expecting a huge improvement. However, I was actually quite surprised at how good it performed. Several of the scratches have completely disappeared and the others that remain are now less noticeable. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? MANCHESTER (WHITE CITY)
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Meguiars Scratch X 207ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brill at getting rid of light to medium scratches.,
August 21, 2012
By
from Fareham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, works wonders on light scratches
Cons: not good at very deep scratched.
Car Make Skoda Fabia vRS
" Brought this product after finding someone had scratched my door at the shops.
The scratch started very light and got deeper so was a brill test of how well it works. The scratch is no more apart from about 1/2cm which is only visible if you really hunt for it, and it does take some hunting. That 1/2 cm bit was really bad however.
After finishing the main scratch i did a walk round the car and had a go at all the other little scuffs and scratches. I spent a good 30 minutes on it today and now the car looks top. It removed almost everything that i had a go on apart from the deepest stone chips on the bonnet.
Very impressed.
I think the bad reviews are from people expecting it to respray their car for them. Its not a paint so if the scratch gets to the metal these types of product wont work. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Meguiars Scratch X 207ml
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Better Products out there,
March 06, 2012
By
from Leeds, england
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: none
Cons: expensive, didn't remove the scratch, ag srp is better
Car Make BMW 525D
" I had a scracth on my BMW, and afte reding some reviews, and being advised that scratch X would be the answer to my prays. It was far from anything, quite expensive for what you get. It hardly removed the scratch, The scratch was about 10cm long, and not deep (i.e it han't gone into the BASE coat) I tried in vain to get remove it and it failed to do anything. There were many fine scratches, and this failed to remove any of the, total and utter waste of money IMHO. Luckily I had a bottle of AG Super Resin, and I initally applied it by hand, and it removed a majoity of the scrathes, but no the INTIAL one I was so keen to get rid of, a machine, and a couple more tries with SRP topped up the EGP and the car was like it was fresh out of the BOX. Don't waste your moeny on SCRATCH x as the only thing you'll remove is money from your wallet and not see a return. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
-23points
3out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Meguiars Scratch X 207ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Removes Scratches,
April 21, 2011
By
from Derbyshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: a great little product
" If you have any fine scratches this product is a must. I love using this around door handles on a Megs foam pad.
Also great on a d/a if you want a medium cut compound. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Meguiars Scratch X 207ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Purchase,
October 21, 2010
By
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good for light surface scratches
Cons: not good for deep scratches
" This Scratch X does work to a certain level. Deep scratches such as deep key marks it wont get rid of, but light suface scratches is does. I had a dog jump up at my passenger door and left two big 15 inch claw scratches that normal polish wouldnt get rid of. Bearing in mind my car is pearlecent Orange and thought that it would be a professional job to remove, but this stuff worked a treat and saved on loads of money if i had got a pro out. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.