Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Meguiar's Scratch X 207ml

Meguiar's Scratch X is fast acting to get rid of scratches and blemishes on your car.
Average Customer Rating:
3.562 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
3
11 of 16(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Meguiar's Scratch X 207ml
Review 1 for Meguiar's Scratch X 207ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best product I've used,
August 07, 2014
By Linda23
from Liverpool, Merseyside, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Really amazing product covered lots of scratches but also got rid of a patch on the car where a seagull waste had made it dull, restored the shine back to the paint!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? AINTREE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Meguiar's Scratch X 207ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Worked better with a polishing pad,
April 20, 2014
By bobbymc
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good product for light marks
"Bought this to get rid of light key and scuff marks on recommendation of a friend.I wasn't expecting great results and on applying this by hand was a little disappointed in the result.
Then my friend lent me his drill attached polishing pad,result very impressed totally removed all signs of the scratches especially around the door handle where it was quite bad.
Conclusion:in my opinion can be hard work by hand,but with the polishing pads(which can be bought off fleebay for little money)and a bit of patience you can get very good results.but i would also like to point out i also got good results from G3 products.
Also don't expect this to remove deep scratches
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Meguiar's Scratch X 207ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meguiar's Scratch X worked for me,
September 21, 2013
By haveyougotit1982
from B14
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: having loads of product left
"Applied Mequiar's Scratch X once and the marks faded. applied a second time and-
Results: marks became hardly noticeable so top marks to the product. Plus, I have loads of the product left for the future :-)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (SELLY OAK)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Meguiar's Scratch X 207ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Better than expected,
June 09, 2013
By Mattylad99
from Manchester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: works well
Cons: no usage instructions
"Bought this on recommendation in store. Applied it to several long scratches on my car but wasn't expecting a huge improvement. However, I was actually quite surprised at how good it performed. Several of the scratches have completely disappeared and the others that remain are now less noticeable."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? MANCHESTER (WHITE CITY)
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Meguiar's Scratch X 207ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brill at getting rid of light to medium scratches.,
August 21, 2012
By Dan2011
from Fareham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, works wonders on light scratches
Cons: not good at very deep scratched.
Car Make Skoda Fabia vRS
"Brought this product after finding someone had scratched my door at the shops.
The scratch started very light and got deeper so was a brill test of how well it works. The scratch is no more apart from about 1/2cm which is only visible if you really hunt for it, and it does take some hunting. That 1/2 cm bit was really bad however.
After finishing the main scratch i did a walk round the car and had a go at all the other little scuffs and scratches. I spent a good 30 minutes on it today and now the car looks top. It removed almost everything that i had a go on apart from the deepest stone chips on the bonnet.
Very impressed.
I think the bad reviews are from people expecting it to respray their car for them. Its not a paint so if the scratch gets to the metal these types of product wont work."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Meguiar's Scratch X 207ml
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Better Products out there,
March 06, 2012
By Anonymous
from Leeds, england
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: none
Cons: expensive, didn't remove the scratch, ag srp is better
Car Make BMW 525D
"I had a scracth on my BMW, and afte reding some reviews, and being advised that scratch X would be the answer to my prays. It was far from anything, quite expensive for what you get. It hardly removed the scratch, The scratch was about 10cm long, and not deep (i.e it han't gone into the BASE coat) I tried in vain to get remove it and it failed to do anything. There were many fine scratches, and this failed to remove any of the, total and utter waste of money IMHO. Luckily I had a bottle of AG Super Resin, and I initally applied it by hand, and it removed a majoity of the scrathes, but no the INTIAL one I was so keen to get rid of, a machine, and a couple more tries with SRP topped up the EGP and the car was like it was fresh out of the BOX. Don't waste your moeny on SCRATCH x as the only thing you'll remove is money from your wallet and not see a return."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
-14points
2out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Meguiar's Scratch X 207ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Removes Scratches,
April 21, 2011
By Rappy
from Derbyshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: a great little product
"If you have any fine scratches this product is a must. I love using this around door handles on a Megs foam pad.
Also great on a d/a if you want a medium cut compound."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Meguiar's Scratch X 207ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Purchase,
October 21, 2010
By tipler86
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good for light surface scratches
Cons: not good for deep scratches
"This Scratch X does work to a certain level. Deep scratches such as deep key marks it wont get rid of, but light suface scratches is does. I had a dog jump up at my passenger door and left two big 15 inch claw scratches that normal polish wouldnt get rid of. Bearing in mind my car is pearlecent Orange and thought that it would be a professional job to remove, but this stuff worked a treat and saved on loads of money if i had got a pro out."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Meguiar's Scratch X 207ml
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
waste of time,
August 13, 2010
By sparki
from Lancashire
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: none
Cons: not much use
"Wish I had read customers reviews before I bought this product. It had little or no effect on slight grazing, even after several attempts. Waste of money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
-6points
1out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Meguiar's Scratch X 207ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good for light scratches,
June 17, 2010
By Carrera2s
from Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Works well on light scratches and is good value for money as only a small amount is required for each scratch."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Meguiar's Scratch X 207ml
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Utter rubbish,
May 03, 2010
By bobdabuilda
from Cardiff
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: none
Cons: expensive trash
"I bought this to remove a few light scratches on the car but was bitterly disappointed with its performance. Despite 5 attempts and rubbing like a lunatic for the best part of half an hour the scratches remained. Looks like my quest for a decent scratch remover will continue."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Meguiar's Scratch X 207ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good purchase,
April 30, 2010
By erykbmw
from Birmingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Is better for remove small scratches but if you have got something big dont help you. This stuf is easy for use."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Meguiar's Scratch X 207ml
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Disappointing product from Meguiars,
March 15, 2010
By naturn007
from Eaton Bray, Bedfordshire
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: none
Cons: rubbish
"I was really disappointed by this product, I have done a lot of research into car cleaning products, and Megs are regarded as one of the best manufactures of cleaning products. So I bought this with great expectations of it removing very small blemishes and swirl marks.
It did not remove anything!! Infact the ten year old bottle of T-Cut that I had did a better job.
Autoglym Super Resin Polish and Autoglym Paint Restorer are far better products.
I really would not buy this product again.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Meguiar's Scratch X 207ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent on modern paint finishes, needs patience,
December 28, 2009
By svpworld
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to apply from tube very gentle but effective
Cons: a bit dear for the small tube you get
"The great thing about this product is that it's gentle enough not to damage the lacquer or paint, but at the same time it does gently remove fine scratches and scuffs. Halfords now supply the improved version 2 scratch x in their stores (same price) and I used it to help reduce a rather large scuff scratch area on the front painted plastic bumper of an insignia. I had a nasty scuff about handsize after someone scraped it in the snow and the paint looked matted and covered in fine horizontal scratches. I gently rubbed the scratch x with a soft cotton cloth and polished off in circular motions. After about 4 applications I was really impressed how much I had reduced the hazy area and the surface looked glossy and shiny. Obviously there were a few slightly deeper scratches, especially on the creased edges of the bumper but now the scratch is hardly noticeable unless you get down and look at it closely. The gentle nature of Scratch X has encouraged me to use it elsewhere on the body, especially near the door handles to remove fine marks and swirls. Excellent product and would highly recommend if you want a gentle and controllable polish for fine marks."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Meguiar's Scratch X 207ml
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
highest priced lowest results,
September 05, 2009
By runcornpensioner
from Cheshire, England
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: easy to apply
Cons: failed to remove scatch
"I used this product to remove a slight scratch on the rear end of my black sapphire Vauxall Astra Design.The scratch was approx 5ins. long, very thin and had just broken the surface of the paint. I applied the cream as per instructions and it failed to have any effect on the paintwork. I repeated the process several times again without any effect. I then applied Meguiar's Tech Wax spray and the scratch was visible through the polish."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Meguiar's Scratch X 207ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pretty Impressed,
July 26, 2009
By Devonium
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: even good on faded brightwork.
Cons: might turn you into an obsessive detailer!
"Very good for removing those annoying fine scratches around the door handles and makes a good stab at dealing with deeper scratches. It's easy to use and I found myself poring over the entire paintwork of the car ( a 21 year old metallic grey BMW) looking for new scratches and marks to remove. It brightens dull paintwork without damaging the clear coat on metallic finishes. Followed up with a good quality wax, the results are extremely impressive."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.