Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Halfords Classic Oil 20W50 5L

The Halfords Classic Oil 20W50 5 litre bottle specially blended for classic cars from 60's - 80's
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(60 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (60 reviews)
5 stars
52
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
60 of 60(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
36 Questions | 49 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Classic Oil 20W50 5L
Review 1 for Halfords Classic Oil 20W50 5L
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great oil,
July 24, 2015
By me56
from Devon, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: smooth running
" I decided to try this in my Reliant Scimitar 2.8 V6 being 32 yrs old. Was surprised when I poured it out that it was green, I'm sure that's what colour oil used to be :-) I noticed the difference in the running of the engine straight away. Will definitely use this in future. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? EXETER (RYDON LANE RTL PK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Classic Oil 20W50 5L
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good as any other,
June 15, 2015
By Davidm846
from Sussex
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Used this for the last year or so and it seems as good as any other 20/50 oil. It's used in an engine that's done 90k miles so I always supplement the oil with STP. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? UCKFIELD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Classic Oil 20W50 5L
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good oil - Could be made great.,
June 14, 2015
By K666ADM
from Dundee
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Its a good oil but with a little ZDDP additive in that would make it great. But this can be added to it afterwards, so no real hardship. The retro can design is a bit unnecessary but does look nice. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? DUNDEE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Classic Oil 20W50 5L
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product has what I want for classic cars,
June 10, 2015
By GUIDEDOG
from England, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Modern oils are detrimental to classic cars as they do not have the necessary protection that the older cars require (ZDDP) Zinc Dithiophosphate. Zinc in catalytic Converters is not compatible it reduces the life.
Halfords Classic OIL 20W50 has the property's required for your classic car.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? EXMOUTH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Classic Oil 20W50 5L
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The impossible review of oil,
June 10, 2015
By Gambalunga
from Perth, Scotland
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: the price, the can
Cons: not enough detail on the specification
" Forums are full of oil threads, with everyone expressing their preference for this and that, but without any scientific justification for their views. None of us can tell if any one oil is better or worse than the alternatives that have the same API or similar spec. All I can say of this oil is that it's 20W50, and it's the pre 1979 API spec. I can also say that if you hang around waiting for one of those flash sales, then it represents excellent value for money. Technically, I've had no problems with it in an old Moto Guzzi, but then I could probably have filled the sump with cooking oil and said the same. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? PERTH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Classic Oil 20W50 5L
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good oil ,great value.,
June 10, 2015
By Roverman57
from Kingswinford, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: excellent product and value
Cons: none
" A good quality oil equally as good as similar more expensive oils and comes in a great looking tin ! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? AMBLECOTE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Classic Oil 20W50 5L
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product and service,
June 10, 2015
By CCCC1
from Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks, Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Perfect. Stopped the little oil drip completely from my old car. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SEVENOAKS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Classic Oil 20W50 5L
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oil for a classic car.,
April 29, 2015
By Matthew77
from Milton Keynes, Milton Keynes, Milton Keynes, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: it's retro style can
" It does exactly what is says on the retro styled metal can. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? MILTON KEYNES
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Classic Oil 20W50 5L
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent old time oil,
January 29, 2015
By Anonymous
from grimsby
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" If you liked Castro R you will like this. I use it for my Harley. Ideal for big twin engines "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? GRIMSBY
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Classic Oil 20W50 5L
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Classic 20/50 oil,
January 23, 2015
By Andrew51
from Bromsgrove
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Great value for money use this in my Vintage car she runs very well but I always change my oil every 300-500 miles as the car is not used Daily..[Great Price Also Had a Free oil matt worth £10.00] andrewsweddingcars "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? BROMSGROVE
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Classic Oil 20W50 5L
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Product,
January 22, 2015
By Dave5151
from CM
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" This is my second purchase of this oil. The first oil change increased oil pressure and considerably reduced oil leaks; which is always a bonus on a British classic ! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
Which Store did you visit? CHELMSFORD
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Classic Oil 20W50 5L
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
oil to run in a model steam loco,
January 21, 2015
By Charlosvid
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the colour
" I bought this oil to use with a model 5" gauge steam locomotive I am building to provide good lubrication during a running in period.
I can certainly recommend it as it dud just as I wanted during the running in on air where relatively thin oil is required "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Which Store did you visit? CHATHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Classic Oil 20W50 5L
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good for old engines,
October 09, 2014
By Eefer
from Milton Keynes, Milton Keynes, Milton Keynes, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" The right oil for my narrowboat engine. Does the job well. If you run a classic vehicle I would recommend it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? BLETCHLEY
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Classic Oil 20W50 5L
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value,
September 21, 2014
By TrigonQuinn
from Derby
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great value.
" After lots of research I finally plumped for this classic oil. It was either this or the classic Millers oil and I was glad I chose this. I used to work in a Rover Garage and always used 10w 40 as per service instructions. There is a lot of advice on various forums about protecting the gearbox with an oil of this strength and viscosity due to the pounding the oil gets.
So far so good and my purchase even came with a free oil 'wee' ma (worth.a tenner) - great for catching spills on the garage floor and for the odd drip that all minis suffer from. I've never seen a leak free mini but, whether it is physcological or not, the underside of the gearbox certainly seems cleaner - perhaps the seal swell additive does work. Good job Halfords!
One minor suggestion would be please add the little pull out extension that you used to get in the neck of cans of Duckhams or GTX. It makes it so much easier to fill up the engine after servicing without using a funnel! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? DERBY (WEST)
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Classic Oil 20W50 5L
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Classic,
September 10, 2014
By loveablerogue1
from Shirley , Surrey UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Have used oil previously in a Classic Alfa Romeo car. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CROYDON (WICKHAM RD)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Classic Oil 20W50 5L
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Classic product,
August 31, 2014
By Shaunb1962
from Harrogate, North Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Old fashioned oil in retro can. Great product and great value! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? HARROGATE
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Classic Oil 20W50 5L
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used it for years,
August 26, 2014
By Fozzle
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I've always used this in my 1970 Volvo 164. The old style metal can is a nice touch. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Classic Oil 20W50 5L
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Classic Oil,
August 26, 2014
By cunardman
from Hertfordshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Fast delivery, efficient service and good value product. Couldn't ask for more. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? HITCHIN
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Classic Oil 20W50 5L
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A very good classic oil for the classic car,
August 22, 2014
By Minidad
from Devon, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Excellent product and very good value with the special offer of buy two and get one half price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? TORQUAY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Classic Oil 20W50 5L
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
classic bargain,
August 21, 2014
By greencubba
from gateshead
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" get yourself along to Halfords and deal with your classics drinking problem. super oil, great price . "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? NEWCASTLE (KINGSTON RTL PK)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>