Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Halfords Classic Oil 20W50 5L

The Halfords Classic Oil 20W50 5 litre bottle specially blended for classic cars from 60's - 80's
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
40 of 40(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
36 Questions | 48 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Classic Oil 20W50 5L
Review 1 for Halfords Classic Oil 20W50 5L
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this oil so much ! its a true classic without any doubt ! PURE MAGIC !,
May 03, 2014
By CrazyMavis1
from torquay
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: that great smell and that real tin can perfect, there is only one oil like this in the world thats, this good fantastic, its green its oil it smells it lubricates
Cons: short service intervals, not having a car to use it in is a real shame
"This oil is truly FANTASTIC,so SENSUAL,so RETRO, i love it. the smell and aroma that this oil gives off is just simply sexy, it reminds me so much of the past, you know the good old days, when music was MUSIC and cars were CARS and girls were GIRLS. it reminds me of my grandads garage and all his tools and of course is good old JAGUAR. Its the only product i know that can send you back in time and remember that special place in your heart.
Of course its a great oil all GREEN and THICK being a 20w50 it really is up to the job of doing what it does best, lubricating your old motor it honestly is the best oil in the world !
A REAL CLASSIC in every sense of the word, truly scrumptious.
The only thing is, i wish i owned a car so i could put it in its engine, ah well you can't have everything."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? TORQUAY
-13points
3out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Classic Oil 20W50 5L
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the classic look,
April 28, 2014
By Tonycougar
from Darlington
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the classic look can
Cons: having to throw the can away
"Bought this for my 64 series 2 V8. Love the fact that its green like the ones I remember using when I was younger."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? DARLINGTON
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Classic Oil 20W50 5L
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Is it Duckhams 20/50 ??,
March 05, 2014
By alarmman49
from North Somerset
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This oil bears a striking resemblance to the old Duckhams 20/50 motor oil I used in my younger days. For those of you that don't know it was GREEN!! and a 20/50 like this one. I bought this for my 1981 Triumph Spitfire and I was impressed by the price and the difference it made to the oil pressure. I've only just bought the car and thought an oil change would be a good idea. As it's specially formulated for older classic car engines I thought OK give it a go. The oil pressure went up across the range by around 10% so great, I like it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CLEVEDON
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Classic Oil 20W50 5L
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent oil for my Mk3 mini,
March 01, 2014
By Thebatteryboy
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: retro tin
"Bought this twelve months ago for my 1975 mini 850 and she loves it!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SHREWSBURY
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Classic Oil 20W50 5L
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wouldn't use anything else.,
January 26, 2014
By Sisky
from Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the retro tin
Cons: having to trow away the empty tin
"I have a 78 Series 3 Land Rover and find this oil perfect for the 2.25 engine. I also put 400ml of AmTech engine treatment at every service. The engine is old but never mises a beat. I only do small milage so the short length of time this Halfords oil is recommended suits my requirments(2-3000 miles between changes)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? CORK (ROI)
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Classic Oil 20W50 5L
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good stuff,
January 07, 2014
By Pete216
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Works great for older engines especially v8s rangerovers"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Classic Oil 20W50 5L
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good for Rover V8,
December 28, 2013
By Anonymous
from Norfolk UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ideal for rover v8
Cons: you need more than one gallon can
"This is good stuff for a Rover V8 in my opinion, they are old technology engines dating from the 50's originally so this oil matches them well."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? EAST DEREHAM
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Classic Oil 20W50 5L
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Classic 20 50 oil,
December 05, 2013
By Fairweathersailor
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good service
"Great oil for my 1994 Harley Davidson MT350, the clutch works much better and hopefully the oil will protect the engine for the future"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Classic Oil 20W50 5L
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
product is specific and great,
November 01, 2013
By ecday
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the price, the quality
"I'd recommend this to anyone that is looking for 20 w 50 oil. It's not a popular oil so definitely worth the money!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? CHICHESTER
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Classic Oil 20W50 5L
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords Classic Oil 20w50w 5L,
September 26, 2013
By terry1
from Cornwall
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Running an older Motor Vehicle, an early e-type jaguar
to be precise, this oil is exactly right for the job. Keeps the
oil pressure just where it should be. The service from
Halfords is spot on from computer to doorstep in rapid time.
Can't fault them.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Classic Oil 20W50 5L
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1974 MGB GT owner here,
August 28, 2013
By d0mokun
from Derby, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: snazzy tin, value, suits my mg perfectly.
"I love this oil in a purely platonic way. My 74 GT tells a different story, however! It loves to have its bearings and shafts lubricated by the sensually thick 20W50 oil.
The tin is a great throwback and a nice touch. Works great lubricating both the motor and the gearbox of my GT."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BURTON ON TRENT
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Classic Oil 20W50 5L
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords Classiic Oil,
June 20, 2013
By sarahlou21
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Haven't used yet but sure will be fine. Good price and easy transaction tin was a bit dented when collected."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Classic Oil 20W50 5L
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product,
June 15, 2013
By Dejavuagain
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"value for money, just what you need for your classic car. Recommended"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? NEWTOWNABBEY
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Classic Oil 20W50 5L
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product at a very good price,
June 11, 2013
By Smudger16
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the price and the tin graphics
"I have not used this oil before in my collection of old motorbikes but it was advertised at a very good price, at least half the price of the oils I have used in the past. I should have bought two tins rather than one. I'll grab another tin when it's next on offer.
Also the tin looks rather catching, sort of by-gone era vibe about it, so I didn't hide it away under my bench.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Classic Oil 20W50 5L
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin,
June 10, 2013
By Anonymous
from Ipswich
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Good value with 30% off and seems to do the job. Nice its sold in 5 litre tins, 4l is not enough for older vehicles."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? IPSWICH (EURO RTL PK)
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Classic Oil 20W50 5L
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value, good quality product,
June 10, 2013
By xMatt18
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Would recommend this to classic car owners who want a premium product at a good price"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? CHELTENHAM
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Classic Oil 20W50 5L
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Classic Car oil,
June 09, 2013
By Fiat124
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: no pouring spout
"Perfect for the job
Does what it says on the tin!!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHAMPTON (HEDGE END)
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Classic Oil 20W50 5L
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Oil,
June 07, 2013
By RedStagman
from Aberdeen
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Just like the oil your car was recommended to use in the 70's. A great product"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? ABERDEEN (KITTY BREWSTER)
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Classic Oil 20W50 5L
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Seems ok for a classic oil,
June 06, 2013
By tct12
from yorks
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I've only just put this into an mgb and it seems ok. On the forums there are some concerns over the cans not being sealed, though there is an easily removable seal so this is maybe what's being referred to.
Oil pressure is maybe a tad down from where it was with some comma sonic 20/50 but still high enough to not cause me concern. Worth buying just for the smell though-reminds me of old garages and car museums.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Classic Oil 20W50 5L
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Green Gloop,
June 05, 2013
By Anonymous
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: green colour, comes in nice tin
"There aren't many 20w50 oils available in shops anymore - mostly it's cheap and nasty stuff from the supermarket. So I love that I can pick up this decent classic oil from Halfords at a good price."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>