Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Child Car Seats or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Joie Stages Child Car Seat

Joie Stages Child Car Seat converts from a rear facing baby seat to a child seat and booster seat.
Average Customer Rating:
4.647 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
16 of 17(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 34 Answers
Customer Reviews for Joie Stages Child Car Seat
Review 1 for Joie Stages Child Car Seat
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy, straight forward & fab,
December 12, 2014
By helenlouise9873
from birmingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort/Safety 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Easy to fit unlike some, very spacious for my 21month old boy & room for him to grow. Reclines back so he has comfort when asleep. Straps are easy to adjust. Very pleased with this car seat. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Festival goer
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (MAYPOLE)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Joie Stages Child Car Seat
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good purchase,
November 29, 2014
By Gattopardo
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort/Safety 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" So far so good, we are happy with the purchase.
It looks nice and good quality.
We like the smart design.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Joie Stages Child Car Seat
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Good seat, just wished it reclined more,
November 25, 2014
By Nazrul
from UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort/Safety 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" The car seat is very good quality and fits in pretty securely. Only issue is that the belts aren't that easy to adjust once baby is in the car.
My son seemed to love it at first, being able to look in front and see what everyone is doing. But after a couple of days he wouldn't settle down in it, and doesn't sleep in it at all anymore. Having attached it forward facing it does mean that it doesn't recline as much and this doesn't help, as he can't rest his head as well. If it reclined more I think he'd be fine in it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Joie Stages Child Car Seat
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it,
November 25, 2014
By Mama0408
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort/Safety 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the adjustability
" Very good value for money. Feels secure and my son loves it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? NOTTINGHAM (CHILWELL)
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Joie Stages Child Car Seat
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great online offer,
November 18, 2014
By Charl35
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort/Safety 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Went into one of the stores to have a chat about differing car seats. The sales assistant was very informative and answered all our questions. She wasn't biased about the products and discussed pros and cons of each product.
We went away feeling happy with the service and decided we would order through halfords.
When we looked on Halfords website there was a fantastic offer for buying 2 car seats which is what we needed, so went ahead and ordered the car seats to the store.
We had a phone call to say when they were in and was not pushed to pick them up straight away.
We have not used the car seats yet as I have not had the baby yet, but feel very comfortable with this product after all the information given instore.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Which Store did you visit? ORMSKIRK
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Joie Stages Child Car Seat
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fantastic seat,
October 27, 2014
By ingy2014
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort/Safety 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit, rear facing til 18kg, good value
" Good sturdy seat. Easy to fit both backwards and forwards. Baby went to sleep almost immediately and looks really comfortable. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Which Store did you visit? CONGLETON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Joie Stages Child Car Seat
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Joie stages car child seat,
October 13, 2014
By JohnnyG80
from Bedford, Bedford, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort/Safety 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: almost all age groups covered, looks very safe keeps child's head steady
Cons: belt covers can't be taken off, bottom of the seat has small legs can leave marks
" Good child seat, which can be in use for almost all children age group. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? BEDFORD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Joie Stages Child Car Seat
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rear facing - the way forward,
September 23, 2014
By MeYouMeYou
from Bristol, City of Bristol, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort/Safety 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: rear facing until 4 years, lasts until 7 years, very comfy and padded, 5x safer than forward facing, affordable, easy to fit
Cons: does take up a lot of space
" There is very little awareness around extended rearfacing car seats and the safety benefits... A child under 4 years is 5 times more likely to suffer a serious injury or fatality when forward facing compared to rear facing. The law is also going to change to make rear facing compulsory for longer!
So if you're looking for rear facing, this seat is an excellent choice. It can rear face until the age of 4 or forward face if need be. It has comfy padding for a newborn so is suitable from birth and it also turns into a booster to last until apx 7 years. For this reason it is incredibly good value for money. It feels sturdy and good quality. It has extendable straps to make getting little one in and out easier.
Overall I'm very happy with this and am thankful to joie for making rear facing more affordable!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (EASTGATE)
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Joie Stages Child Car Seat
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
joie stages,
September 20, 2014
By tony12345
from Norwich, Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort/Safety 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Very happy with the joie car seat.
We were originally going to get the axis seat, as it is eaiser to insert child.
But decided on the stages as it can be rear facing. Which is meant to be safer "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Other hobbies: Boating
Which Store did you visit? CROMER
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Joie Stages Child Car Seat
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Budget rear facing for older child,
September 02, 2014
By Louisa1989
from Hereford
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort/Safety 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the safety, good fit for older child, cheap erf
Cons: the straps are very poor quality, only fits in large cars
" I needed an extended rear facing seat or my toddler and this was the only one I could find within my budget.
Fits my son well, was height on it is good to adjust and the straps it him perfectly. I can also get them nice and tight when es buckled up.
It's fairly big, but luckily I have a big car.
The only downside I have found is the quality - especially the straps. I had a maxi cost Tobi before this one, where the straps were really thick and high quality, not once did they ever twist up - not even slightly! Where as the straps on the Joie are much lower quality and very thin like other cheap car seats I've had, they twist and fold up constantly, very very annoying as you have to in twist and try to flatten them out before every journey!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? HEREFORD
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Joie Stages Child Car Seat
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Almost sure it was the best choice!,
August 30, 2014
By Anonymous
from London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort/Safety 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" My wife and I had our mind set to on the Maxi-Cosi range for its popularity among our friends but when we first saw a Joie car seat, we really liked from minute one.
After a lot of research on the brand and product, we actually went to 2 different stores to enquire for a car fit check, although we were sure it would fit but so we could see it in action.
luckly we found it on sale at Halfords (extra 10% off from their website sale) so that made our choice easier.
I gave 4 stars because you have to choose the level of inclination at the time of fitting, so for long trips, we may need to stop and readjust if needed to change the inclination
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Joie Stages Child Car Seat
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for backward facing up to 4 years old,
August 11, 2014
By abc8383
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort/Safety 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" We bought this carseat as we were looking for a backward facing car seat up to 4 years old as we have read that in Sweden they face backward and the risk of injury or death for children under 4 is much lower than in the UK.
We have been using it for a couple of weeks. It seems all fine for us. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Joie Stages Child Car Seat
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Disappointing,
February 21, 2014
By Barks123
from Leeds
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort/Safety 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" This review isn't a reflection on Halfords or the staff at the store. We bought this seat for our one year old and wish we hadn't bothered. We wanted a seat that was rear facing until 4,which this is. However, it's not clear until you fit the seat that the shoulder strap gets in the way of you strapping the child into the seat meaning you have to sit in the driver's side to strap them in. Also, it says the product last until the child is approx 7 years old but in the instruction manual says no car seat should not be used for more than 5 years! Halfords didn't fit this seat for us and I don't feel we were ill advised by the staff I just feel the product is a massive let down. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Which Store did you visit? GUISELEY
-1point
9out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Joie Stages Child Car Seat
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great quality product,
January 15, 2014
By Argggggggggh
from Halifax
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort/Safety 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Took I more than a minute to install. Very clear instructions - easy to follow.
Daughter seems very snug and cosy in the chair and is well protected. Good recline on the chair for newborns.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Which Store did you visit? HALIFAX
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Joie Stages Child Car Seat
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Child's car seat,
January 03, 2014
By Anonymous
from Cornwall. Truro. UK.
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort/Safety 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Child's car seatDan, the store fitter, was extremely helpful and knowledgeable.
He advised my Son on the pros and cons of fitting seats in the front and rear of vehicles. We took the seat away with his assurance that if it was not suitable, Halfords would refund the money and they would search for a more suitable item. On this basis, we decided to keep the seat and take his advice about fitting.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Other hobbies: Fishing
Which Store did you visit? TRURO
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Joie Stages Child Car Seat
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cheapest extended rear facing seat!,
December 12, 2013
By milena23
from Sevenoaks
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort/Safety 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: great value for money
Cons: needs a long seat belt to use rear facing
" Great buy, will last a long time, the quality exceeds any expectations. Extremely easy to fit. Only con I'd say is that it needs a lot of the belt length when rear facing, if you can't fit an infant car seat in the car then this won't fit either, but it's still more universal than others. The infant insert is fantastic as well. You won't be disappointed. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? SEVENOAKS
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Joie Stages Child Car Seat
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great customer service and great seat,
November 02, 2013
By Fergusof
from Lisbon, Portugal
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort/Safety 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" We are very pleased with the car seat, our 16 month old loves it! It fits perfectly in our Astra and Megane estates. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family : First time mum
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (QUEENS RD)
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.