Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Evo-stik Hard & Fast Metal Epoxy Putty

Evo-stik Hard & Fast Metal Epoxy Putty easy to mix steel reinforced epoxy putty dries in 10 minutes
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
18 of 19(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for Evo-stik Hard & Fast Metal Epoxy Putty
Review 1 for Evo-stik Hard & Fast Metal Epoxy Putty
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
May 05, 2014
By Stevo8263
from Gateshead
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: working in 10 mins as stated
"Used this on my old mini heater matrix pipe that developed a pin hole in it.
Was a bit sceptical till read the reviews and thought its worth a go
I moulded it around the pipe and with 10mins as stated was solid. Unreal!
Was only yesterday since on and no leak but I'm always going to keep it in the car as hate using bars leaks or any product in my coolant
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? GATESHEAD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Evo-stik Hard & Fast Metal Epoxy Putty
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product has simple instructions,
January 02, 2014
By Russell90
from Kettering
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very easy to read instructions
Simple to apply
Works brilliantly.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? KETTERING
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Evo-stik Hard & Fast Metal Epoxy Putty
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job!,
September 13, 2013
By Slugger1
from Farnborough
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, low cost
"I bought this as I had a couple of leaks in my car radiator. It is very easy to apply and sets hard within an hour.
Highly recommended!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? GUILDFORD
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Evo-stik Hard & Fast Metal Epoxy Putty
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use,
July 31, 2013
By metalrainman
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Worked as expected, created a water tight seal - perfect!"
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? ALPERTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Evo-stik Hard & Fast Metal Epoxy Putty
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sorted,
May 27, 2013
By strip
from livingston
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"needs to be used in the dry and preferably warm conditions . good repairs but needs a day or two to reach full strengh if application is deep..."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Evo-stik Hard & Fast Metal Epoxy Putty
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Evo Stick hard and fast epoxy metal resin putty,
May 02, 2013
By dungo47
from Braintree
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I used this to fix a crack on my gearbox casing as it had a slight oil leak. It has sealed the leak and is a very strong bond."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? BRAINTREE
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Evo-stik Hard & Fast Metal Epoxy Putty
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tailpipe Tip Fix,
January 26, 2013
By roocooper
from Bristol
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Most tailpipe tips are screwed or clipped on. Mine was stuck on and the seal has become loose meaning the tip would vibrate violently when idling. Very good value for money - Instructions are very easy to follow - had it on in less than 5 mins and it had already started to harden up before by the time i relocked the car and started walking away - (had a lil bit still in my hand) Fingers x'd it'll sort the problem but looking at it - i'm 100% sure it's done it's job. - Deffo recommend and buy again if req."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Evo-stik Hard & Fast Metal Epoxy Putty
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great buy,
December 27, 2012
By diaXOXO
from aberystwyth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"great product , very reliable, works quite fast, will use again"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Evo-stik Hard & Fast Metal Epoxy Putty
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says on the packet!,
October 20, 2012
By PDN1
from Weston-Super-Mare
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Easy to use, stuck a heat shield back to the underside of my car in no time! Would fully recommend. Going to use it on sideskirts next!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Evo-stik Hard & Fast Metal Epoxy Putty
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does What it says in the label,
May 06, 2012
By RobCr
from Nottingham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Car Make Yamaha XJ900S
"I tried this product to mend a crack in my exhaust that meant the balance box was not connected to the silencer fully, and after one application it is holding firm even on bumpy roads and speed bumps, saving me £100s.
Easy to use and apply."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Evo-stik Hard & Fast Metal Epoxy Putty
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
very good if you prep well,
April 24, 2012
By finnmakool
from northern ireland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: economical dries quickly
Car Make mitsubishi
"for reairing a hole in the exhaust-you need to use a metal brush and then a fine sand paper, then clean the area where the hole is on the exhaust before applying. it should hold well then. my repair is still holding a few weeks on."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Evo-stik Hard & Fast Metal Epoxy Putty
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Depends what you want it for,
March 23, 2012
By OopsyDaisy
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Purchased to join two pieces of metal together. Initially seemed to do the trick but the join did not withstand hacksawing or filing of the "joined" metal pieces."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Evo-stik Hard & Fast Metal Epoxy Putty
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
exellent quality,
December 11, 2011
By colder
from Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cons: quick work, sandable
"good staff, highly recomended. I used it on to craced engine oil sump. Worked well."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Evo-stik Hard & Fast Metal Epoxy Putty
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Radiator Repair,
September 27, 2011
By CraigWr
from Midlands, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: works as described, cheaper than a new radiator.
Car Make Land Rover
"Worked as described - fixed a Land Rover Discovery Radiator after it was hit with a bolt, sealed the leak and was ready to go within an hour or so.
Time will tell how long it lasts but is good so far."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Evo-stik Hard & Fast Metal Epoxy Putty
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GOOD BUY,
April 07, 2011
By DOBB
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"DID THE JOB REQUIRED THAT WAS STOPPING AN OIL LEAK ON BRIGGS AND STRATTON ENGINE."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Evo-stik Hard & Fast Metal Epoxy Putty
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
impressive!!,
October 18, 2010
By NaturalBornLoser
from central scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very strong!, very fast drying, can be drilled/tapped, cheap fix
Cons: limited working time
"well this stuff is seriously good, its very! strong and dries within minutes - limited working time.
can be drilled and tapped so its brilliant for quick repairs - wish i had tried this years ago!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Evo-stik Hard & Fast Metal Epoxy Putty
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for repairing motorbike radiator pipework,
September 07, 2010
By FasterThanLight
from South Yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quick repair, dries rock hard, not long to wait until paintable, works up to 150 degrees
Cons: very short work time
"Exellent stuff for quick repairs.
I successfully patched 3mm rust hole in steel pipe from radiator to water pump. It's good for up to 150 degrees C. and was paintable after curing for just 1 hour.
To use, cut off a suitable sized piece and knead until two colours merged. Then apply repair (very sticky using rubber gloves). You'll need to work quickly - only two minutes before it starts setting hard and becomes unworkable."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Evo-stik Hard & Fast Metal Epoxy Putty
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Metal putty,
March 24, 2010
By MBTC
from Nottingham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Good substitute for hard filler, just cut off what you need and roll together, mix goes off in about 45 mins. Can smooth off while setting with a wet knife. Seems to adhere well and as you only use what you need is useful over several applications."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Evo-stik Hard & Fast Metal Epoxy Putty
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
so far so good,
March 16, 2010
By jinge
from south wales
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: solid seal on exhaust.
Cons: smell when heated.
"I used this on a small split on my stainless steel bike exhaust and so far it has sealed it tight.
I had ueed another steel glue but this was not designed for exhaust temperatures and soon fell off.
So far the Evo-Stick has held fast the only very minor downside is that as the exhaust heats up the smell from the putty can get quite strong. I would imagine this will eventuallty stop once it has been on for a few weeks.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Evo-stik Hard & Fast Metal Epoxy Putty
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saved us buying a radiator!,
September 30, 2009
By Bryna
from Somerset
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Used this to fix a small hole in our vehicles radiator and a month on its still going strong!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.