Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Halfords Rubbing Compound

Halfords Rubbing Compound makes your paintwork look its best.
Average Customer Rating:
4.913 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
22 of 23(96%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 44 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Rubbing Compound
Review 1 for Halfords Rubbing Compound
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Value Product!,
October 06, 2013
By MattGetz03
from Nottinghamshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to apply
Cons: nothing
"I purchased this product to remove badly touched up paint from my car bonnet.
When applied using a soft damp cloth, it cut through the touch up paint with ease. All It took was some time, but the product removed all of the touch up paint on my bonnet.
Make sure that you use polish to protect the area and to bring back the shine.
Overall, a great product at a great price, although it looks cheap, it is a lot better than it looks.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? SUTTON IN ASHFIELD
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Rubbing Compound
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super product and great value,
June 15, 2013
By AFRogers
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: does exactly as it says.
"Excellent value for money, as good as any product of a named brand but much cheaper. Highly recommended for cleaning scratches off golf clubs too!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? BEDFORD
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Rubbing Compound
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job,
June 07, 2013
By Dorsetrider
from Weymouth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Used this during repairs to my motorcycle fairing, very good finish achieved."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? WEYMOUTH
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Rubbing Compound
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value product,
June 04, 2013
By dontlikenicknames
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value, ease of use
Cons: nothing
"Exceptionally pleased with this product - it did exactly what it said it would and at a fraction of the price of "branded" similar products - buying this against the other competing products is a no-brainer!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Rubbing Compound
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Running compound,
May 07, 2013
By Michael967
from Newcastle
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Does exactly what it says.
Good value and easy to use
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? NORTH SHIELDS
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Rubbing Compound
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product,
May 03, 2013
By Emily1111
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This product was easy to use and very effective for the car, it now looks all shiney and new!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Rubbing Compound
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rust Stain,
March 07, 2013
By Paul41
from Cheltenham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Tried a few things to remove a rust stain from a roof rack that had dripped on to white paintwork.
A few light rubs of the compound and the stain was gone, great product."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? CHELTENHAM
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Rubbing Compound
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As good as G3,
March 28, 2012
By Goliath123
from Kidderminster
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cheeper than g3, as good
Cons: didn't find any
Car Make Vauxhall
"This item is great by hand, and I used it on a polishing mop also as good. This product is a fraction of the price of G3 and equally as good. Obviously if using a mop care needs to be taken not to over do it and if your're not sure on using a mop i would stick to doing it by hand as the result could be a respray!
Highly recomended
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Rubbing Compound
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent item,
November 13, 2011
By keithj
from yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Car Make ford
"very good item, works really well and the best compound I have ever used. You cannot go wrong."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Rubbing Compound
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent,
September 19, 2011
By stapty
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: a good quantity for the price., it works!
"I bought this compound to try to remove a bad paint job that had been on the car for almost a year. It took a lot of elbow grease, but the compound removed the paint completely to reveal the original paint underneath. This is an excellent product, you get a lot for your money and I can't praise it highly enough."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Rubbing Compound
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb Product, Excellent Value!,
September 03, 2011
By daznkel
from Plymouth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Car Make VX Vectra C
"I reserved this product online, upon arrival at my local store my order was ready for collection I paid and went home and got to work!
I purchased this to blend some newly sprayed areas on my car with the original paintwork.
Having done this with ease I decided to test the limits of the compound by refurbishing my headlights. All I can say is Wow!
This and a polish with megs plast-RX and they are like new!
Ended up washing the car and treating every panel she has, to a mirror finish all with one tube!
It removes all minor scratches and swirls with ease!
Superb!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Rubbing Compound
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Product,
May 31, 2011
By localknoxville
from Middlesbrough
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value for money
Cons: none
Car Make Renault Clio 172 Cup
"This stuff is amazing!! I bought some touch up paint and used this Rubbing Compound to blend in the new paint work and it worked a treat. Well worth the money and you get a lot for your money too. Would highly recommend this item."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Rubbing Compound
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords Rubbing Compound,
May 10, 2011
By Imran52
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Car Make Ford
"Fantastic product, good price. It does an excellent job of blending in old and new paint."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Rubbing Compound
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Better than I ever thought it could be,
September 21, 2010
By Patta
from Newcastle, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Purchased a new spoiler which needed painting for my daughters new car. Had never sprayed before and I surpose it was not the best quality job but after a good rub down with this and a good polish with CarPlan T-Cut Colour Fast White there was no way you could tell that it was not a professional job. Was also very surprised when I collected the item from the store after ordering it on line as I was expecting a small tube, but this will last for ever."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Rubbing Compound
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Product,
September 06, 2010
By ammalik786
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is a great rubbing compound. I brought it to blend in some faded paintwork with new paintwork. The compound did an amazing job with little effort. Cheap price also!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Rubbing Compound
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what is says !,
August 16, 2010
By ThePolisher
from Southampton, England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: does what it says good for car paint work
Cons: be prepared for a lot of rubbing
"Used this to remove some clear coat overspray, worked very well. Did this by hand and required a fair bit of rubbing however the finish was nice and smooth. Finished the job with T-cut metallic and the repair is all but invisible. Would use it again."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Rubbing Compound
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Stuff,
July 03, 2010
By 154564556
from Lancashire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: makes existing paintwork loo new again
"Iused this on some car repair work, a truck tailgate. It takes out all the minor defects and blends the existing paint into the new spray work. I used a spray can to match with excellent results using this product. I T-Cut the paintwork after the Rubbing Compound but really it was not necessary, the RC was suffice.
I did the whole trucks paint work after the repair and it looks brand new.
Great for guitars too poly or nitro finishes!"
Excellent!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Rubbing Compound
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Product,
April 22, 2010
By Repairman
from Wirral
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Used with dremel polishing tool, really did help repair some deep scratches and fine one were tottaly removed. You get a lot of compund for your money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Rubbing Compound
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Don't look for it anywhere else,
December 03, 2009
By tmStafford2008
from Stoke on Trent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent on paint, also used on plastic headlamps with more than good result. Nice shine finish."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Rubbing Compound
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rubbing Compound,
August 25, 2009
By plc143
from london,england
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"after reading on the net that using this product would enhance the finish after spraying,i thought that i`d give it a try.
i must say that it does leave a nice shiny finish so i would recommend it for the very small price you pay.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
12next>>