Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Halfords Rubbing Compound

Halfords Rubbing Compound makes your paintwork look its best.
Average Customer Rating:
4.914 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
34 of 35(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 46 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Rubbing Compound
Review 1 for Halfords Rubbing Compound
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
value for money,
August 18, 2015
By
from Shropshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: value for money
" You must use this product sparingly but it does remove runs and overspray "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? SHREWSBURY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Rubbing Compound
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bad touch up job on mercedes ml,
July 25, 2015
By
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This stuff was brilliant. It gradually worked it's way through the touch up paint to the original paint work just by rubbing the compond on a soft cloth and working it on the affected area. Looked like new...great "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Rubbing Compound
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Stuff !,
July 20, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Excellent.
If your new paintwork leaves something to be desired [ like wot mine was ] , rub down with 1000/1500 wet & dry paper & lots of water. Then use this compound to finish off.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CHELMSFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Rubbing Compound
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Better than Megs,
May 17, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cost, ease of use
" I bought both the Halfords Rubbing Compound and Meguiars Headlight restoration kit at the same time. Megs has a similar compound called plastic-x which is a smoother paste and takes a lot more "elbow grease "to get the same effect as Halfords own. Fortunately I used a Bosch drill and buffing attachment which speeded up the process.
I buffed one headlight with Halfords Rubbing compound and the other with Megs and to be honest there was no discernable difference.
Whether or not Megs has a Coating to protect the lens or not we will see in a month or so. Anyway a coat of Auto Glym polish will be fine.
Over all I would def go with Halfords Rubbing compound. At that cost it simply cannot be beaten "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? GALASHIELS
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Rubbing Compound
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A very good product,
November 05, 2014
By
from Ely, Ely, Cambridgeshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
" Searched on the internet for a good product to compound the paintwork on my classic car, most products were expensive but Halfords Rubbing Compound was not only priced cheaply but was recommended by many other individuals who had used it.
I've used it now and its FIRST CLASS. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? PETERBOROUGH
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Rubbing Compound
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good value,
October 17, 2014
By
from Sheffield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value for money, does what it should, great finish
" I bought this after spraying a whole new bumper at home(For which I used all Halfords products I.e Primer, paint & lacquer), it is fantastic. It prepared the new paint for a wax and it gave a stunning finish. The amount of product is huge for the small price charged.
Don't consider another more expensive brand, this will do the job just fine and enough to last you a lifetime.
Take a look at the photograph of the bumper and see for yourself! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (KILNER WAY)
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Rubbing Compound
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tired paint work made to look like new,
September 08, 2014
By
from Castle Bromwich, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the result
" Recommended to use this rubbing compond by assistance in store.
Was apprehensive to start with but after a few minutes got the hang of applying the compound doing small areas at a time. Polished off using a cotton cloth. WOW I WAS AMAZED! The colour was as bright as it was when I brought it. A fantastic product and my car looks like new.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (CASTLE BROMWICH)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Rubbing Compound
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HALFORDS RUBBING COMPOUND,
September 08, 2014
By
from Grantham, Lincolnshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: i like it because it is so easy to use., spot on product.
" IT WILL DO EXACTLY WHAT IT SAYS ON THE TUBE. I AM VERY PLEASED WITH IT. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? GRANTHAM
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Rubbing Compound
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unbelievable,
September 06, 2014
By
from Sutton, Greater London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Save yourself money on the expensive ones and get this. Used it on my jag after repairing and spraying my bumper. Showroom finish! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? SUTTON
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Rubbing Compound
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rubbing compand,
August 19, 2014
By
from sussex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" certainly does what it says , nice finish and great service on line with halfords ordered on line collected next day no hassle
perfect thanks "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? RUSTINGTON
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Rubbing Compound
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fantastic,
August 10, 2014
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" After sanding clear coat with 2500 grit. I used Halfrauds rubbing compound by hand on cloth and it gave a nice shine. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Rubbing Compound
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Product,
June 03, 2014
By
from Bristol, City of Bristol, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Repaired a dent and scratches on my car and when I had finished lacquering noticed a few dull patches from overspray, tried other cutting compounds but they had no effect. Bought this and was amazed at how well it removed the overspray and left a mirror type finish on the panel, quite a large tube for the price as well. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CRIBBS CAUSEWAY
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Rubbing Compound
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Value Product!,
October 06, 2013
By
from Nottinghamshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to apply
Cons: nothing
" I purchased this product to remove badly touched up paint from my car bonnet.
When applied using a soft damp cloth, it cut through the touch up paint with ease. All It took was some time, but the product removed all of the touch up paint on my bonnet.
Make sure that you use polish to protect the area and to bring back the shine.
Overall, a great product at a great price, although it looks cheap, it is a lot better than it looks.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? SUTTON IN ASHFIELD
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Rubbing Compound
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super product and great value,
June 15, 2013
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: does exactly as it says.
" Excellent value for money, as good as any product of a named brand but much cheaper. Highly recommended for cleaning scratches off golf clubs too! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? BEDFORD
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Rubbing Compound
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job,
June 07, 2013
By
from Weymouth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Used this during repairs to my motorcycle fairing, very good finish achieved. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? WEYMOUTH
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Rubbing Compound
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value product,
June 04, 2013
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value, ease of use
Cons: nothing
" Exceptionally pleased with this product - it did exactly what it said it would and at a fraction of the price of "branded" similar products - buying this against the other competing products is a no-brainer! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Rubbing Compound
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Running compound,
May 07, 2013
By
from Newcastle
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Does exactly what it says.
Good value and easy to use
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? NORTH SHIELDS
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Rubbing Compound
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product,
May 03, 2013
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" This product was easy to use and very effective for the car, it now looks all shiney and new! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Rubbing Compound
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rust Stain,
March 07, 2013
By
from Cheltenham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Tried a few things to remove a rust stain from a roof rack that had dripped on to white paintwork.
A few light rubs of the compound and the stain was gone, great product. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? CHELTENHAM
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Rubbing Compound
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As good as G3,
March 28, 2012
By
from Kidderminster
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cheeper than g3, as good
Cons: didn't find any
Car Make Vauxhall
" This item is great by hand, and I used it on a polishing mop also as good. This product is a fraction of the price of G3 and equally as good. Obviously if using a mop care needs to be taken not to over do it and if your're not sure on using a mop i would stick to doing it by hand as the result could be a respray!
Highly recomended
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>