Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Inner Tubes or
Choose a Category

Slime Bike Inner Tube - 700c x 19 Presta

Slime Bike Inner Tube turns slime awesome. Just see it seal your punctures as they happen.
Average Customer Rating:
3.087 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
10
13 of 22(59%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for Slime Bike Inner Tube - 700c x 19 Presta
Review 1 for Slime Bike Inner Tube - 700c x 19 Presta
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product was useless,
October 21, 2014
By dazp
from Heathrow Airport (LHR), Greater London TW6, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"On the same day I got 3 punctures and it did not work at all it was expensive and I would not buy it again."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CHISWICK
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Slime Bike Inner Tube - 700c x 19 Presta
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rubbish batch,
August 02, 2014
By rg16
from London, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: nothing
Cons: unreliable
"Purchased two of these for new wheels, both checked over fully. First punctured just above the valve after 4 miles, rear one went after 12 miles, same place above the valve. Once is bad luck, twice is not good enough. Holes were under 3mm, and did not seal. Going back to the Branch with them."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? TWICKENHAM (IVYBRIDGE CENTRE)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Slime Bike Inner Tube - 700c x 19 Presta
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good backup,
September 19, 2013
By Simon65
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"So far so good, had 3 punctures in a week before buying this item currently using continental gator skins as well"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Slime Bike Inner Tube - 700c x 19 Presta
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Slime Inner Tubes,
July 30, 2013
By rogerintivvy
from Tiverton, Devon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: prevents punctures!, reasonably light
Cons: valve can get gummed up after 12-18 months
"I've used several different types of tyre sealant inner tubes and these are, so far, the best. I've ridden about 1,000 miles on my last set and never had a puncture, so you can't argue with that, surely?
Halfords price is fair if you need the tubes immediately.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? TIVERTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Slime Bike Inner Tube - 700c x 19 Presta
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unfortunately not what it said on the tin,
July 28, 2013
By jbarry
from Blackwood
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: did not work
"Having had a number of punctures over resent weeks I though I down invest in a set of slime inner tubes, and hopefully solve the problem of having to sit of the site of the road with my puncture kit.
Having fitted the tubes without any problems I put them to the test. After 5 miles on the local cycle path I was unlucky enough to get a puncture in the rear wheel, and to my disbelief it went completely flat. The slime had no effect at all……
Having stripped the wheel down it appears that there was a small puncture approx 2mm long in the tube, with the green slime all over the inside of the tyre. Unable to make my trusty puncture patch stick to the tube I was faced with a 5 mile walk home.
If future I will take a spare tube, and forget the slime tube, as it didn’t work for me"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CAERPHILLY
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Slime Bike Inner Tube - 700c x 19 Presta
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent lightweight road tyre,
July 01, 2013
By SqrlCommando
from Norwich
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: build quality, safety, convenience
Cons: slime in my pump, slightly overpriced
"I have bought two of these for my Carrera Virtuoso the other week, as my stock inner tubes from Halfords unfortunately suffered pinch flats. I am pleased to say that the Slime inner tubes are fantastic - they don't add a huge amount of weight to the bike or the ride, and it's pleasing to know that in the event of either a pinch or a puncture, the tube can repair itself, and there is plenty of slime in the tube to accommodate more than a single puncture.
Some inner tubes can naturally 'leak' and I have not had to reinflate my slime tubes since fitting them over 2 weeks ago. Bonus!
The only thing I would say to be wary of, is when inflating these inner tubes to high pressures of ~100+ psi - the 'slime' can spray out of the presta valve and gunk up your pump.
Apart from that, it's a solid buy. Hasn't let me down!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NORWICH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Slime Bike Inner Tube - 700c x 19 Presta
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
slime inner tube,
June 23, 2013
By dwh1
from weeley essex
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Hopefully no more punches means more time cycling happy riding"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? CLACTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Slime Bike Inner Tube - 700c x 19 Presta
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DIDNT WORK,
June 17, 2013
By MICK210164
from NOTTINGHAM
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"PUNCTURE ON MY 2ND DAY WHICH DID OT MEND.
THIS PRODUCT DOES NOT WORK"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NOTTINGHAM (NUTHALL RD)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Slime Bike Inner Tube - 700c x 19 Presta
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not a Success,
June 12, 2013
By Barry67
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I tried one of these tubes, rode over a pot hole and punctured. It took 10 seconds flat (pardon the pun) fo deflate the tyre. The puncture was only a pin hole and the slime didn'y seal it. It also leaks out making a mess on the inside of the tyre and can get into the valve causing it to leak. I am sure some people have found it a success but on my experience it is not reliable. Always carry a spare tube"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 65 & Over
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Slime Bike Inner Tube - 700c x 19 Presta
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Minimise punctures,
June 03, 2013
By John47
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: less time struggling with changing tubes
Cons: latex makes a mess in the tyre
"Tried other latex filled tubes and these are still the best. Yes they cost more but the quality makes up for this. Rode over 10 miles with a puncture before the tube finally gave up."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SUTTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Slime Bike Inner Tube - 700c x 19 Presta
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
better than fixing or walking,
May 06, 2013
By buggsy
from oxford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"thought these tubes were a bit gimmicky but thought id give em a go and 10 miles into the ride a couple of hisses and on I go great better than fixing at side of road with all your mates waiting"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? OXFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Slime Bike Inner Tube - 700c x 19 Presta
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Quality Product,
April 16, 2013
By Hawky21
from Canterbury
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: simple easy and effective.
Cons: tad more expensive - could buy sealant
"These tubes have helped me enormously! I was getting an irritating number of punctures on my old road bike's normal tubes and was running out of patience. However, since I installed the Slime tubes, I haven't yet had one problem and can now rely on my bike again!
No problems with installation at all and the valve is of reasonable lenth.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CANTERBURY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Slime Bike Inner Tube - 700c x 19 Presta
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Less than useless, a waste of money,
February 21, 2013
By IWD1
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I cycled the End-to-End last year with ordinary tubes and not a single puncture. I tried slime tubes this year and have suffered punctures within less than a few weeks normal short distance riding. The last one rendered the tube unusable and yet there was no trace of any foreign body in the tyre or tube. I am returning to normal tubes."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 65 & Over
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Slime Bike Inner Tube - 700c x 19 Presta
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pointless,
December 04, 2012
By Att1104
from Reading
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Very poor slime does not work and is a really thin tube lasted 4days"
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Slime Bike Inner Tube - 700c x 19 Presta
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great. No more flats.,
November 08, 2012
By iamiain
from Paisley
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit & forget
"Upgrade for my road bike as I already run these on the mountain bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Slime Bike Inner Tube - 700c x 19 Presta
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Slime bike inner tube,
November 08, 2012
By orbea
from Elgin, Morayshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought these inner tubes for my winter commute. Nothing worse than having to change tubes in the pitch black and when its -5 celcius. The tubes are well made and have a decent length valve on them. Just as easy to install as a normal inner tube. They also hold the air pressure very well. Been using them for the past few weeks and no hassels at all!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Slime Bike Inner Tube - 700c x 19 Presta
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had puncture on tyre tread section????,
August 19, 2012
By bondbug73
from Bradford, West Yorkshire.
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: not puncture proof?, false claim's, money wasted.
"I ride a single speed bike with bolt on hubs. It uses hp 700 x 23c.
I bought a set of these two weeks ago as I believed the hype that came with them.
I went out this morning for a ride and I have a puncture on the tyre tread section!!??
It just ouzed out the green sealant into my puncture proof tyre's. There was no glass or nail's in the tyre.
I had to resort to fitting an ordinary tube and that's been okay since.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Slime Bike Inner Tube - 700c x 19 Presta
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
work for me but there is a trick,
March 17, 2012
By Tim01
from Southampton
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: do work
Cons: need assistance
"I have been using these for a while for the daily commute to work as I was getting a lot of punctures with regular inner tubes.
When you are riding and you hear the air start to leak from the slime tube, the trick is to stop and rotate the wheel so that the slime has a chance to reach the puncture in the tube. The easiest way is to turn so that the puncture is at the bottom of the wheel and then gravity can draw the slime to seal the hole
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Slime Bike Inner Tube - 700c x 19 Presta
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dont Waste Your Money,
April 23, 2011
By Unicyclist
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: totally useless, don't work
"Fitted my Slime inner tubes no problem, but punctured on my first ride out, tyre deflated in seconds.
Took the tyre off and was horrified to find that the slime had sprayed all inside the tyre from a hole approx 2mm in diameter.
Absolutely useless, a complete waste of money.
Had to give 1 star rating as it isn't possible to score ZERO
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Slime Bike Inner Tube - 700c x 19 Presta
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Inner Tubes,
November 24, 2010
By MiddleAgedMan
from Bristol
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: fits like any other tube, great valve, great quality, guarantee
Cons: bit pricy but good value
"I was having real problems with other cheaper inner tubes. Put this one on, inflated it and it has remained rock hard ever since. Ridden narrow road tyres over all sorts of muck and hedge clippings. No air loss at all. Worth the little extra you pay - especially for a back wheel."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>