Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Halfords Battery Top-Up Water 5L

Halfords Battery Top-Up Water is de-ionised for use in lead-acid batterie & many other applications
Average Customer Rating:
4.856 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(97 Reviews) 97
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (97 reviews)
5 stars
85
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
95 of 96(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 35 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Battery Top-Up Water 5L
Review 1 for Halfords Battery Top-Up Water 5L
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just one little niggle.....,
January 02, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" There can be nothing wrong with battery water - it is what it is - good value and very swift delivery.
However - I use quite a lot of it in a steam iron, and although I'm probably above average strong in the wrist, it's very difficult to break in.
The cap is sealed to a ring with little plastic lug things, and there is no way I can break them in the normal way - I have to cut through them carefully with a stanley knife. I think this might be because it's stuck to the second foil seal, which is also difficult and needs a knife.
Other than that - which is a pain - no probs!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Battery Top-Up Water 5L
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NO MORE LIMESCALE CHOKED IRONS!,
December 08, 2015
By
from Somerset
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: convenient size
" Living in a hard-water area it's easy to 'get through' a couple of irons a year as they rapidly become choked up with limescale.
In a desperate bid to significantly extend the life of my replacement iron I discovered that De-ionised water (used to top up car batteries) can also be used in steam irons. Halfords sell the product in conveniently large containers (5L) so I no longer have to trawl (mostly unsuccessfully) through Car Product aisles in my local supermarkets for the 1L plastic containers that only last one week. Thanks Halfordsw. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? YEOVIL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Battery Top-Up Water 5L
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's water, what more can I say,
October 30, 2015
By
from Inverurie, Inverurie, Aberdeenshire AB51, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: aberdeen fc
Cons: the rangers fc
" I bought this item for a kids bubble tube.
As the title says, it's water. Distilled water looks like any other water so there's not very much I can say. "
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Battery Top-Up Water 5L
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
De-ironised water for our sparkle bubble tube,
October 03, 2015
By
from Reigate, Surrey, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" We used 5 of these to fill our sparkle bubble tube it was much cheaper than on line ... well done Halfords "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? REDHILL
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Battery Top-Up Water 5L
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used in my iron,
August 23, 2015
By
from Barnet, Greater London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the water!
Cons: the packaging
" I've ordered many packs of this water over the years to keep my steam iron from clogging with limescale. Works a treat, but the old plastic container was better. With this one, the handle is up against the screw top so you can't turn it to break the seal. I have to take a screwdriver or knife to the seal to break it, a bit of a risky procedure. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WHETSTONE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Battery Top-Up Water 5L
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Prolongs the life of steam irons,
July 19, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Been using this water in my steam iron for years and it's still going strong. Previous irons were destroyed by London tap water and its limescale. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Battery Top-Up Water 5L
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price - not just for batteries,
June 13, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I purchase this for use with our steam generator / iron.
You can shop around for de-ionised water but you wilt find a better value price than Halfords.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHAMPTON (WINCHESTER RD)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Battery Top-Up Water 5L
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
5 Litres Of De-Ionised Water,
June 10, 2015
By
from Derby, Derbyshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cheap price, decent container doesn't split easily
" Not much to say about this bulk container of de-ionised water, apart from it being ideal for filling car cooling systems, lead-acid battery top-ups, cleaning freshly etched PCBs with, and using in your clothes iron to stop it becoming lime-scaled as it would with regular tap water. Certainly cheap enough, especially if you use Click-and-Collect. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? DERBY (WYVERN)
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Battery Top-Up Water 5L
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value,
April 29, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Best value de-ionised water I have found. Using it in my steam mop. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? RUSTINGTON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Battery Top-Up Water 5L
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just what I needed,
March 01, 2015
By
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I ordered this on line and collected it in the shop. Perfect service and perfect product - exactly as described. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? EALING
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Battery Top-Up Water 5L
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Halfords Battery Top-Up Water 5L,
January 14, 2015
By
from Somerset, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the price, it did the job
" This product was very good value for the money which i paid, compared to some companies which charge a lot more for this. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BRIDGWATER
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Battery Top-Up Water 5L
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top up Water,
December 21, 2014
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Its water what can i say but its good value for money "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Battery Top-Up Water 5L
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this product is very good value for money,
December 19, 2014
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good value for money
" This should be a ronseal product as is does exactly what is says on the tin!!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Battery Top-Up Water 5L
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Top up water,
December 12, 2014
By
from Sheffield
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" What is there to say. It's water let's celebrate wowee "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
-9points
2out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Battery Top-Up Water 5L
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product excellent price,
November 07, 2014
By
from Watford, Hertfordshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good size bottle
" Wanted de ionised water for use in a bubble tube
This was perfect. Only place I could find a decent quantity at a good price.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WATFORD
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Battery Top-Up Water 5L
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Used to mix with coolant/anti-freeze,
November 04, 2014
By
from Birmingham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: it is one the recommended types of water to use
Cons: you are unable to see the instant benefits
" This product was used to add to coolant/anti-freeze following a flush of the system. As it is water the benefits are not visible, it may take a long time before you see the benefits, if any, as opposed to using tap water or boiled water cooled down. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (PERRY BARR)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Battery Top-Up Water 5L
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bargain product to protect my iron, steam cleaner etc.,
October 28, 2014
By
from Hampshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cheap and efficient
" A very reasonably priced alternative to distilled water (now very difficult to source) which ensures my steam iron and steam floor cleaner don't get 'furred up' with limescale "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BASINGSTOKE
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Battery Top-Up Water 5L
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value,
September 16, 2014
By
from East London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Just what you need for batteries, steam irons and indoor fountains, very few car batteries these days require topping up they are mostly maintenance free. But this battery is good for other things too. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Battery Top-Up Water 5L
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good value for money,
August 23, 2014
By
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I haven't checked the purity of this de-ionised water, but it's a good value for money product. There is nothing much to say about it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? CHISWICK
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Battery Top-Up Water 5L
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords battery Top-up Water 5L,
August 22, 2014
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Ordered this Product online for collection at the Perth Branch & it came 48 hours later. Great service & very helpful Staff. Many thanks "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? PERTH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>