Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Clearance or
Choose a Category
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Steering Wheel Cover - Black Leather

Improve the comfort and grip of your steering wheel with this black leather Steering Wheel Cover from Halfords.
Average Customer Rating:
2.909 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
7 of 11(64%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Steering Wheel Cover - Black Leather
Review 1 for Steering Wheel Cover - Black Leather
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
noy very good,
December 18, 2012
By simon1973
from st. helens
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: cheap price. was in sale
Cons: stuff wasnt included
"Only paid cheap for this. Dont know if the thread to attach the covet too the wheel was included. But it wasnt in my box and to buy it would have cost more than what I paid. So didnt end up using it( I gave it away)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Steering Wheel Cover - Black Leather
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Steering wheel cover- black leather,
December 10, 2012
By none77
from Bromley
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Collected the covers to find the boxes had been opened and the needle & thread were missing. Decided to continue with the purchase but was left feeling somewhat disappointed."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: More than 3
Who will use this Product? Children
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Steering Wheel Cover - Black Leather
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Black leather steering wheel cover,
May 22, 2012
By ngc451
from Kent
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: leather quality, smells great, hard wearing, subdued sensible styling
Cons: makes the wheel girth larger
"Does what it says on the rim... Great, cheap solution to those who buy cars with partially dog eaten steering wheels (I'm not kidding), even for those with less damaged steering wheels would be pleased with the quality..."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Steering Wheel Cover - Black Leather
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unsuitable for smaller steering wheels,
April 19, 2012
By killick
from Devon
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: it's leather
Cons: unsuitable for smaller steering wheels
"I bought one of these for my wife's peugeot 205 which has a 141/4" diameter steering wheel. Description states suitable up to 15.5" diameter, but this cover is not suitable for a Peugeot 205. I had to cut out over 1" in order to make the cover fit, it does the job but not a very professional result."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Steering Wheel Cover - Black Leather
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Steering WHeel cover,
March 16, 2012
By JimC1
from Coatbridge
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: looks and feels good
Cons: not enough cord
"Looks good when finished, but give yourself plenty of time to apply as it is time consuming.
also ensure you keep loose for about 3 - 4 inch then pull cord through as tight as possible,
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Steering Wheel Cover - Black Leather
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't bother,
March 05, 2011
By Wh1zz
from Grimsby
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: get a refund
Cons: not enough thread
"Took over 2 hours, got 2/3 of the way to realise that there would not be enough thread, excess leather made a bulky fitting near spokes on wheel. Makes fingers sore!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Steering Wheel Cover - Black Leather
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good if you have the time,
March 04, 2011
By garethnickname
from Hertfordshire
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: feels nice
Cons: a bit untidy looking around the spokes
"This needs to be sewn on. It takes time and I found that the best results were obtained by going back to it over a number of days a nd progressively tightening it. It will gradually pull into a good fit. If you are in a hurry, spend a little more and get the pre shaped variety, which you install in much the same way as you would fit a bicycle tyre."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Steering Wheel Cover - Black Leather
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good for some steering wheels,
February 18, 2011
By Chivers
from Medway Towns, England, home of the Chavs
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good quality
Cons: not suitable for very thick steering wheels
"The leather appears to be of good quality. Mine was made from two pieces of leather, so had seams at 10 o'clock and 2 o'clock.
Fitting takes time and patience. Once you start you can't safely use the car until you finish. But the final appearance is better than other covers available.
Try to do as much as possible of the stiching loosely first, then tighten the cord. I didn't, and the cover stretched and I had excess leather bunched up at the end of the job. So I had to undo the cord and start again.
I found it is really difficult to tighten the cord evenly. But I found it becomes much easier if you use one of your grannie's small crochet hooks.
My steering wheel is quite thick, so the fine cord supplied to bind the cover round my steering wheel was not long enough. I tried with some cord I already had, but mine was cotton and it broke. You need synthetic cord."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Steering Wheel Cover - Black Leather
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Leather sew on steering whell cover,
March 26, 2010
By Scribes
from Hampshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This product is good if you are prepared to spend some time fitting it. Took me nearly two hours. Not an instant fix.
The end result was worth the struggle.
Follow the advice given in another post to warm the leather before fitting. A good leather cream polish makes it look really good."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Steering Wheel Cover - Black Leather
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this is not a simple fix,
September 22, 2009
By smartdriver
from Bristol
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I bought one of these covers some time ago, and when fitted correctly are far superior to other type of covers which are offered at Halfords. However it is important to warm and work the leather using warm water, leaving to soak for a couple of minutes first. Use of hide care cream retains the structure of the leather and allows if to be fully stretched around wheel. This final stage may be possible a week after first fitting."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Steering Wheel Cover - Black Leather
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not to be recommended,
May 26, 2009
By PPAAUULL
from Hartlepool
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I bought this steering wheel cover to fit onto my standard FORD FIESTA however the cover was so small that i had to really manipulate it to fit,after it was fitted within 1 week the leather started to split as it was that tight.
Would probably fit a go-cart but not recomended for use on cars.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.