Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Clearance or
Choose a Category
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Steering Wheel Cover - Black Leather

Improve the comfort and grip of your steering wheel with this black leather Steering Wheel Cover from Halfords.
Average Customer Rating:
2.875 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
5 of 8(62%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Steering Wheel Cover - Black Leather
Review 1 for Steering Wheel Cover - Black Leather
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
noy very good,
December 18, 2012
By
from st. helens
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: cheap price. was in sale
Cons: stuff wasnt included
" Only paid cheap for this. Dont know if the thread to attach the covet too the wheel was included. But it wasnt in my box and to buy it would have cost more than what I paid. So didnt end up using it( I gave it away) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Steering Wheel Cover - Black Leather
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Steering wheel cover- black leather,
December 10, 2012
By
from Bromley
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Collected the covers to find the boxes had been opened and the needle & thread were missing. Decided to continue with the purchase but was left feeling somewhat disappointed. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: More than 3
Who will use this Product? Children
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Steering Wheel Cover - Black Leather
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Black leather steering wheel cover,
May 22, 2012
By
from Kent
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: leather quality, smells great, hard wearing, subdued sensible styling
Cons: makes the wheel girth larger
" Does what it says on the rim... Great, cheap solution to those who buy cars with partially dog eaten steering wheels (I'm not kidding), even for those with less damaged steering wheels would be pleased with the quality... "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Steering Wheel Cover - Black Leather
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unsuitable for smaller steering wheels,
April 19, 2012
By
from Devon
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: it's leather
Cons: unsuitable for smaller steering wheels
" I bought one of these for my wife's peugeot 205 which has a 141/4" diameter steering wheel. Description states suitable up to 15.5" diameter, but this cover is not suitable for a Peugeot 205. I had to cut out over 1" in order to make the cover fit, it does the job but not a very professional result. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Steering Wheel Cover - Black Leather
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Steering WHeel cover,
March 16, 2012
By
from Coatbridge
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: looks and feels good
Cons: not enough cord
" Looks good when finished, but give yourself plenty of time to apply as it is time consuming.
also ensure you keep loose for about 3 - 4 inch then pull cord through as tight as possible,
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Steering Wheel Cover - Black Leather
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't bother,
March 05, 2011
By
from Grimsby
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: get a refund
Cons: not enough thread
" Took over 2 hours, got 2/3 of the way to realise that there would not be enough thread, excess leather made a bulky fitting near spokes on wheel. Makes fingers sore! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Steering Wheel Cover - Black Leather
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good if you have the time,
March 04, 2011
By
from Hertfordshire
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: feels nice
Cons: a bit untidy looking around the spokes
" This needs to be sewn on. It takes time and I found that the best results were obtained by going back to it over a number of days a nd progressively tightening it. It will gradually pull into a good fit. If you are in a hurry, spend a little more and get the pre shaped variety, which you install in much the same way as you would fit a bicycle tyre. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Steering Wheel Cover - Black Leather
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good for some steering wheels,
February 18, 2011
By
from Medway Towns, England, home of the Chavs
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good quality
Cons: not suitable for very thick steering wheels
" The leather appears to be of good quality. Mine was made from two pieces of leather, so had seams at 10 o'clock and 2 o'clock.
Fitting takes time and patience. Once you start you can't safely use the car until you finish. But the final appearance is better than other covers available.
Try to do as much as possible of the stiching loosely first, then tighten the cord. I didn't, and the cover stretched and I had excess leather bunched up at the end of the job. So I had to undo the cord and start again.
I found it is really difficult to tighten the cord evenly. But I found it becomes much easier if you use one of your grannie's small crochet hooks.
My steering wheel is quite thick, so the fine cord supplied to bind the cover round my steering wheel was not long enough. I tried with some cord I already had, but mine was cotton and it broke. You need synthetic cord. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.