Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Magnetax Magnetic Tax Disc Holder

Keep your tax disc securely in place with this Magnetic Tax Disc Holder.
Average Customer Rating:
4.464 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
25 of 28(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Magnetax Magnetic Tax Disc Holder
Review 1 for Magnetax Magnetic Tax Disc Holder
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor product that falls off,
July 04, 2014
By philipos23
from Blaenau Gwent, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cons: adhesive and magnet poor
"Thought this would be an easy way to fit tax disc but the adhesive holder fell off within an hour so I sellotaped it to the window only to find the magnetic back was too weak and fell off too.
Judging by the reviews I think the original product was probably good but may have changed now.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BRYNMAWR
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Magnetax Magnetic Tax Disc Holder
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not as good as previous magnetic tax holders sold by Halfords.,
June 15, 2014
By Taxdiscman
from Richmond-on-Thames
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"For years I've used Magnetax tax disc holders. The last one lasted for five years and was removed deliberately in order to make space for another sticker. I bought two replacements. In both cases the adhesive ring came away from the windscreen (which had been thoroughly cleaned) within weeks and the magnetic grip in the cover was weak so that even a slight curve in the windscreen caused them to pop off from time to time."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? NEW MALDEN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Magnetax Magnetic Tax Disc Holder
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cold weather,
December 26, 2013
By dwmf
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cons: cold weather
"In cold weather, the back loses its magnetism and falls off."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (EASTGATE)
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Magnetax Magnetic Tax Disc Holder
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Magnetax Magnetic Tax Disc Holder,
December 10, 2013
By MR86
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Easy to use, magnetic back makes changing disc very simple."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Magnetax Magnetic Tax Disc Holder
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
tax disc holder,
November 03, 2013
By beebowa
from london
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit, easy access to change tax disc
"Does what it does easy to fit takes about 3 minutes no probs"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Magnetax Magnetic Tax Disc Holder
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good proudct,
October 20, 2013
By Tariqdaniel
from Corby
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Item is great it does what it says on the tin for a cheap price."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CORBY
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Magnetax Magnetic Tax Disc Holder
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Magnetax Magnetic Tax Disc Holder,
October 19, 2013
By Ozalid
from Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit, simple, easy to change disk, quality item
"Great product, works really well and at a great price from Halfords."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? WAKEFIELD
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Magnetax Magnetic Tax Disc Holder
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple and neat,
September 24, 2013
By ozair
from Dunstable
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of application, ease of changing the tax disc
"This is a neat little product which is easy to apply and holds the disc securely, You do not see those tape ripples or untidy plasticy edges as you would see on other holders."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? DUNSTABLE
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Magnetax Magnetic Tax Disc Holder
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple and effective,
September 19, 2013
By Toti3
from Bromley, Kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This tax disc holder looks smart and leaves no mess on the windscreen like some adhesive holders. It doesn't keep falling off either!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BROMLEY
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Magnetax Magnetic Tax Disc Holder
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple and effective,
July 31, 2013
By Vicky1990
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Does exactly what it says on the tin and for significantly cheaper than other options! Would recommend."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BLACKPOOL
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Magnetax Magnetic Tax Disc Holder
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plain and simple,
May 29, 2013
By Bazwilkie
from Essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great value for money sits nice and flat on the screen, easy to change disc and holds it firmly in place, to sum up plain and simple"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BRAINTREE
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Magnetax Magnetic Tax Disc Holder
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works Brilliantly,
May 24, 2013
By 99GDA
from Bury St Edmunds
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: qucik & easy to install
"I wanted a reasonably priced tax-disc holder and this is perfect. Ease of use is brilliant, easy to install and looks tidy too."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? BURY ST. EDMUNDS
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Magnetax Magnetic Tax Disc Holder
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin,
April 12, 2013
By eruditel
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: small, light, reusable
"Good product at a reasonable price.
Wanted a small tax disc holder so it didn't take up must of the windscreen and this was perfect."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (CRYSTAL PEAKS)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Magnetax Magnetic Tax Disc Holder
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job,
March 05, 2013
By Odseybiod
from North Herts
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: does the job
"Can't get very excited about a tax disc holder but this one does the job well. Maybe peeling off the backing paper could be easier?"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 3
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BIGGLESWADE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Magnetax Magnetic Tax Disc Holder
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Magnetax Magnetic Tax Disc Holder,
November 16, 2012
By gwgr25173882
from Liverpool
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Well what can you say it's a Tax Disc Holder. It holds a tax disc very well in the window."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Magnetax Magnetic Tax Disc Holder
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
makes life a lot easier,
September 26, 2012
By Foxley
from Cardiff
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I already have a magnetic tax holder and so pleased I was with it came in recently to buy another two as presents. Saves all that fiddling about every year - great idea."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Friend
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Magnetax Magnetic Tax Disc Holder
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very useful device,
February 15, 2012
By banimike
from Milton Keynes
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is a very useful device that makes changing the tax disc each year very easy. No more trying to get those flimsy plastic things to stick and not fall off. With this you thoroughly clean the screen with alcohol and stick the magnetic bit on once and for all. After that you only remove the magnetic backing which will slide sideways to change the disc. Manufacturers should fit these as standard."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Magnetax Magnetic Tax Disc Holder
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
More basic than the picture,
December 28, 2011
By Buzz1JC
from Liverpool
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: simple works the way it is suposed to
Cons: not for the absolute quality seeker
"If you want a tax disc holder than is barely bigger than the disc itself then look no futher. Its simple design is easy to fit & easy to change the disc when needed. It is a flexible plastic item with a printed design but is worth the money it costs & saves you having a windscreen full of unwanted bits of whatever blocking your view"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Magnetax Magnetic Tax Disc Holder
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Practical and effective,
February 20, 2011
By Uxorious
from Oxfordshire
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Very easy to fit, neat and secure. Three on our car windscreen for tax disc and permits. Simple to insert or change discs. Only problem is that magnetic back is rather flimsy and easy to dislodge when wiping screen interior. Inexpensive and so very good value"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Magnetax Magnetic Tax Disc Holder
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Tax Disc Holder,
May 18, 2010
By Biglad71
from Derby England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Simply the best magnetic tax disc holder there is on the market. Easy to fit and unlike others it stays on your windscreen."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>