Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Socket Sets or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket and Ratchet Spanner Set

The Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket and Ratchet Spanner Set is an ideal set for any DIY or professional to maintain your car, bike or general jobs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.824 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(375 Reviews) 345
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (375 reviews)
5 stars
319
4 stars
49
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
1
367 of 375(98%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket and Ratchet Spanner Set
Review 1 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket and Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This socket set is the one to beat,
March 15, 2011
By Pendulum
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value for money, proper quality ratchets sockets spanners & bits, a lifetime guarantee they stand by, all with good service.
Cons: the plastic case isn't great but it's ok., universal joints could be a weak point
"I bought this socket set in December 2006 and it has served me well, the tools are well constructed and durable, and the set includes most of what you'll need when working on cars.
I bought my socket set after quite a lot of research online. The Halfords Pro range does have a good reputation amongst professionals; yes, proper mechanics can often be found using these tools. That's all I needed to know to buy my set!
I've had two things break on me. A Torx 30 bit and a 1/2" Universal Joint.
I was placing a lot of pressure on the Torx bit when it sheared - perhaps too much. However, half a pin dropped out of the Universal Joint the first time I used it and I believe that was due to a manufacturing defect or weakness in the design. Halfords replaced both - the Torx bit under the guarantee, and the Universal Joint as a gesture of goodwill (as moving parts are not normally included in the guarantee). I was very happy with this service.
I will certainly buy Halfords Pro tools again."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+46points
48out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket and Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords Advanced Professional 150 piece,
July 05, 2010
By Anonymous
from Halifax, West Yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: every tool you require in one box.
"Bought this as wanted to replace several much older and smaller tool kits, all of which are life expired. First job undertaken was a service on a modern Sports bike. The 150 piece set had all the tools I required from Hex keys throug ring spanners and plug renches. All had a high quality feel and did the job without fuss. I found myself looking for other nuts bolts etc, I coud try the tools out on. I am off now to get the Halfords Torque wrench to complete this fantastic set."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket and Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Buy,
December 19, 2012
By Bones1982
from Pembrokeshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great Deal.. I bought it to fix break drums and pulley system on my Free lander and covered everything I needed."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket and Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great but heavy,
December 15, 2012
By OllyHolly
from Home Counties
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Product is very useful and has many needed tols but as it is so varied it is also heavy!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket and Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
not quite the display item,
December 15, 2012
By Thephantom
from Nottingham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Unfortunately the item as advertised is not readily available, but the newer item is as the discounted price. I believe the origional item superior in carrying case and in items included. However, I am happy with my purchase. its good kit"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket and Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great set,
December 09, 2012
By fatass69
from Aberdeen
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: range of tools, quality feel
Cons: price yo-yo's
"Can't ask anymore for what it is, brilliant set at a good price good quality case and very wide range and useful range of tools."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket and Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great!,
December 03, 2012
By FiestaST56
from Walsall
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this as a present for my partner as he's always messing with his car, he was very pleased with it. Great for the money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket and Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic All In One Kit,
November 30, 2012
By RossAW
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this as my first all in one socket kit and I'm very pleased. I'm starting to tackle my own car maintenance and the included spark plug sockets and all the common bolt sizes found on my car means this is the only kit I need.
The reservation in the store went perfectly and the lady on the till confirmed what a great kit it is as her mechanic husband had just bought the very same one!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket and Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great piece of kit,
November 27, 2012
By witness
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"As a basic DIY'er I use this kit on my car, to install my amp and sub kit and decided to get a kit which would have most if not all the things I need to aid me during services etc. So far, can't fault it, and can't go wrong with life time guarantee."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket and Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sadly let down by a flimsy case,
November 22, 2012
By Jay987
from London
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"The case is not up to the job. The tools in this set are excellent however let down by the case. The clips are frail and they break with the the minimum of use. What is going to break next? The hinges? Why spoil what seems to be a very good product with such a poor case. Are Halfords looking to replace with a stronger case?"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket and Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great, very pleased,
November 17, 2012
By Prorich123
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality tools, lifetime warranty
Cons: no warranty on ratchets
"Reserved this online and picked it up the next day. Halfords were great as always, they had the item ready in the back.
Real impressed with the kit, most my tools are halfords because they have never let me down and come with a lifetime warranty.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket and Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great set has lots,
November 17, 2012
By stiffie
from dalkieth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: lots in it
"fantastic set so mutch in it you can feel the quality lifetime guarantee what more can i say"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket and Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords advanced professional range 150 piece socket set,
November 14, 2012
By Jay1972
from West-Sussex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased this 150 piece pro range socket set whilst on holiday in Torquay, I was looking online for some other things and admittedly did browse at there socket sets as my brother in law has a set and a friend, they came highly recommended and are of good value,they feel good quality too!. I have not put this set to the test yet. Im assured this socket set performs well. My only criticism is that there should be an extra adapter for the larger ratchet and sockets. Can't work out why it's not supplied with the set. You get a lifetime guarantee on the sockets as long as you keep your receipt. The ratchets are not covered by this warranty as they have moving parts. Halfords staff where very helpful, friendly and efficient. Overall I'm a happy customer and always return to halfords."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket and Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good bit of kit,
November 06, 2012
By richkp1976
from caerphill south wales
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: selection & guarantee
Cons: nothing
"Got this while it was on offer & I have to say its a really excellent bit of kit."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket and Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value socket set,
July 29, 2012
By simplesimonsilkman
from Macclesfield
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: a good range of tools
Cons: a breaker bar would reduce ratchet strain
Car Make VW
"A comprehensive socket that's hard to beat for quality & value. I bought this set to replace older separate sets about 3 months ago. It's got a good range of tools that cover most applications for use on my cars & mine & the kids bicycles. They have a quality feel to them, though the ratchets felt 'dry' to me so I opened them up & packed them with grease. They were smoother & quieter after that & haven't let me down. I don't use tools in my everyday job these days, but I'd be happy to use this set everyday in a work capacity."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket and Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cracking value,
May 26, 2012
By Dambug01
from Cumbria
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent value and great quality and all with a lifetime guarantee"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket and Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
quality + value,
May 24, 2012
By abbadudek
from stafford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality
Cons: doesn't come with a big hammer.
Car Make ford
"I shopped around and couldn't find a better quality lump of kit than this, strong and sturdy and everything (well almost) the DIY mechanic needs. A true thumbs up !"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket and Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Value,
May 23, 2012
By Knackered
from Wiltshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great value
Car Make Mini Cooper
"At the reduced price this kit makes perfect sense. Should be everything you need for most basic maintenance jobs and quite a few more advanced bits"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 3
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket and Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fantastic value for money!!!!,
May 19, 2012
By 1stcaptainpugwash
from wakefield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: fantastic value for money
Cons: be warned this is very heavey.
Car Make citroen/ bmw
"bought this for my son who is an apprentice at Ferrari he thinks it brilliant!
Also four of his collegues ( all of which are qualified technicians) have since bought this same product from halfords as they also believe its as good a quality as much more exspensive professional tools.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket and Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
150 socket set,
May 13, 2012
By 309gti
from nottingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: well made ., lifetime warranty
Cons: deep sockets are not deep, the metal clasps on the case fell off.very poor a, lifetime warranty dosnt cover ratchets=, =ratchet spanners and u/joints, have to keep recit yet tools are stamped
"very well made tools,BUT BE CAREFULL
the DEEP SOCKETS are not DEEP they have changed the design of them they look deep but only go down a 1/4 of the socket.took them back to the shop and they looked at what they had and they are all the same.so thats 14 sockets that in my view are wasted as they are only as deep as standard sockets. so a standard socket with a extension bar will do the same job.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: More than 3
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
12345...18next>>