Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

JVC KD-R741BTE Front USB Car Stereo with Aux & Direct iPod

With the JVC KD-R741BTE Car Stereo, you can listen to all your music from your iPhone or iPod.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 of 15(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for JVC KD-R741BTE Front USB Car Stereo with Aux & Direct iPod
Review 1 for JVC KD-R741BTE Front USB Car Stereo with Aux & Direct iPod
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product has everything you need in 1,
December 21, 2013
By blano1988
from Leeds
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this product for my car as i needed a head unit i could plug my iPod into and also a handsfree kit, this has all that with the added benefit you can play music without even plugging in your iPhone just play via music bluetooth"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (KIRKSTALL)
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for JVC KD-R741BTE Front USB Car Stereo with Aux & Direct iPod
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Syncs with iPAD,
November 08, 2013
By DR66
from Derby, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Syncs with iPAD and can have phones linked too. iPad pauses on song or book when ignition turned off and resumes when you get back in car. Chuffed!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for JVC KD-R741BTE Front USB Car Stereo with Aux & Direct iPod
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super value radio,
October 29, 2013
By Circuitbreaker1
from Bristol
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This was bought as a present for my daughter who just past her test, needed to be ipod compatible and Bluetooth, fitted easily and shes pleased (not an easy task)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? CRIBBS CAUSEWAY
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for JVC KD-R741BTE Front USB Car Stereo with Aux & Direct iPod
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works well with all phones,
October 27, 2013
By janese91
from plymouth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: all of the stereo is pro
Cons: nothing after 2 months
"After many months of justifying to spent money on a stereo,and with recent changes to my phones.I thought I would take a chance and I was lucky I did,this stereo is a real good buy,Bluetooth to stereo calling is clear and crisp phone book scrolling is a breeze and playing music from phone is just as easy,2 phones can be linked at once for hands free calls,many dearer models don't do this,the stereo is lit by blue neon which is not over powering when driving at night.very good sound and lots of techy choices for the right sound setup,easy to fit as long as you buy the right ISO leads so please ask at store.also works well with steering wheel controls with correct lead , I have come across many stereos that do the same for a lot more money,"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? PLYMOUTH (LONGBRIDGE RD)
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for JVC KD-R741BTE Front USB Car Stereo with Aux & Direct iPod
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Winner,
October 23, 2013
By neonoctafish
from Harrogate, North Yorks
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use., excellent price.
"I upgraded from a JVC R-421 & I'm really glad I did. The controls are very straightforward. Pairing the bluetooth with my phone was a doddle. Setting everything was remarkably easy. The preset EQs are really useful which is unusual for me as I'm quite fussy about tone."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? HARROGATE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for JVC KD-R741BTE Front USB Car Stereo with Aux & Direct iPod
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jvc stereo,
October 08, 2013
By Markus1978
from Essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great value for money, really easy to use and hands free is really good quality and clear, all in all great sound , excellent value very happy !"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? BASILDON (HERON RTL PRK)
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for JVC KD-R741BTE Front USB Car Stereo with Aux & Direct iPod
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great unit for a great price,
July 31, 2013
By Gaj1
from Lancaster
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Had a JVC KD-R741 fitted at the Lancaster branch recently. The intention was to fit the unit myself but after speaking to Damian the fitter I felt confident that he would make a good job of the installation.
He had the unit fitted in no time and he provided great customer service pre and post fitment.
The features on this unit are excellent, the quality of the hands free is far better than the double din stereo fitted to my second car that cost 3 times the price of this one. It is easy to use and cannot be beaten at the price.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? LANCASTER
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for JVC KD-R741BTE Front USB Car Stereo with Aux & Direct iPod
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product was great value for money and ticked all the boxes.,
June 28, 2013
By Huggybear71
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: all
"I have a Skoda octavia and like most the Skoda, VW , Audi etc the CD changer had packed up and was unable to play media devices through the original stereo.
The new stereo ticked all the boxes, easy to pair devices via Bluetooth through phones and iPods.
Friendly and knowledgeable fitter.
Thanks
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? YEOVIL
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for JVC KD-R741BTE Front USB Car Stereo with Aux & Direct iPod
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jvc radio is excellent,
June 23, 2013
By Gwen1552
from Sheffield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this radio after reading reviews and wasn't disappointed . Good sound easy to fit. I'm not very technical so what else can I say. Good radio for the money. Went online and saved it in store as it was £10 cheaper. Plays music from my MP3 player, and cd's. most at this pricendontbhave a CD player"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (CRYSTAL PEAKS)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for JVC KD-R741BTE Front USB Car Stereo with Aux & Direct iPod
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Terrible User Controls,
June 20, 2013
By Stevib1121212
from Lisburn
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: sound, telephone quality
Cons: fiddly controls/user interface
"Nice sound, but the menu function screens are terrible - sub menus galore and very unintuative. The other big minus is the small fiddly station buttons for the radio - potentially fatally distracting when driving. If you drive a Mondeo you better allow about 6 weeks to fit - the store won't have the right lead for the steering wheel control, which will take about 2 weeks and if you want to buy speakers instore another 2 weeks or longer to get an "active lead" for the doors. Additionally the menu configuration will lead you to make unwanted phone calls while you try to skip iphone tracks. Avoid if possible."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? LISBURN
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for JVC KD-R741BTE Front USB Car Stereo with Aux & Direct iPod
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Happy!,
June 19, 2013
By rxdrew7
from Leeds
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Easy to fit, easy to use this JVC receiver is an excellent product. Bluetooth works perfectly with my Xperia and a galaxy s4.
Absolute bargain at this price!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (MEADOW RD)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for JVC KD-R741BTE Front USB Car Stereo with Aux & Direct iPod
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing!,
June 18, 2013
By BethanySR
from England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"An amazing product. Very good price for what it is and does the job. Definitely would recommend this."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? READING (OXFORD RD)
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for JVC KD-R741BTE Front USB Car Stereo with Aux & Direct iPod
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
had to replace this and now my battery,
June 15, 2013
By zrownersclub
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"After having this only a week it developed a fault wich was replaced then the new ones now means I need to replace battery as its killing it and now this ones got the same fault"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for JVC KD-R741BTE Front USB Car Stereo with Aux & Direct iPod
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
very good for the price,
June 11, 2013
By Phil0810
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: features, external microphone
Cons: small buttons
"Went for this cause of the hands free Bluetooth. Features are great, with Bluetooth hands free and playing music through the unit too. Music from the stereo also top notch, everything sounds great. The only thing I can slightly criticized is the small buttons for the hands free phone operation, it's a little fiddly. Overall a great unit!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? MERRY HILL
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for JVC KD-R741BTE Front USB Car Stereo with Aux & Direct iPod
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing Bluetooth Sound Quality Head Unit,
May 29, 2013
By MrPlant
from Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: sound quality, bluetooth, features
"For years, I used an Aux in lead from my iPhone to my old head unit. This worked well but the amount of leads always concerned me.
I had tried various Bluetooth adapters over the years but I am an audiophile and demand the best sound quality at all times.
I had always viewed the Bluetooth audio system as sub quality as I was used to hearing interference or drops or added hiss.
My Dad bought one of these units with my advice and I fitted it to his van. I was so blown away with the sound quality over Bluetooth, I rushed out and bought one myself that same day too.
I can only say that having Bluetooth built inside the head unit itself along with the latest versions of Bluetooth, result in amazing perfect sound quality. I am still blown away with the sound on this unit and how good it's features are.
I recommend turning the Loudness feature off, leaving EQ on flat and bass boost off. This gives a very pure clean sound. Next on the iPhone , download an app called EQu to play back all your music and shape the equaliser curve gently and you will be blown away. Another app to try is JVC SonicMax Pro.
Be conservative with the settings and gain on these apps and test all your music . When set properly the sound quality is fantastic. When I think back to the sound on my last head unit with that wired link - there is no comparison - it is like night and day. I highly recommend this head unit for its sound quality , features and flexibility.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? EDINBURGH (STRAITON)
+12points
15out of 18found this review helpful.