Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike - 18"

The VooDoo HooDoo Mountain Bike is a rugged beast of a bike.
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 of 14(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike - 18"
Review 1 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good bike good service,
July 23, 2014
By Markymoto
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"After returning to biking after more than a few years away, after a lot of searching I decided upon this great bike.
Great value for what you get, I know it's no carbon special, but for the price I found it hard to get a similarly specced bike.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BARNSLEY (CORTONWOOD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
voodoo hoodoo,
July 13, 2014
By robert44
from Erdington,Birmingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"After lots research decided to go for the hoodoo went to Perry Barr store to collect bike,NEVER GO TO THIS STORE very poor customer service bike set up shoddy.riding along canal breaks failed.Took bike back to store told to go to a different store.Took it to Erdington store what a complete difference in service they stripped it down and told me the problems with the set up of the bike and there where problems with it. So to cut a long story short they replace the bike and what a bike it is great on road and fantastic off road would really recommend this bike.Big thankyou to Daleep and Reese from Erdington store for all your help 5*SERVICE could not ask for a better service so thanks once again TOP STORE"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (ERDINGTON)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
smooth sailing!,
May 26, 2014
By minxy74
from london, eng
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i bought this bike as a secondary bike , but it is rapidly becoming my first choice, suspension is excellent, the hydraulic brakes are sharp as anything and bring it to a halt with great precision i ride on and off road and find it satisfies all round..even uphill it's as smooth through the gear changes"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? BRIXTON
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
recommended,
May 25, 2014
By iamdhan
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Its a very giod bike. Overall very satisfied, had problem with firks, the next day i got bike. Sittingbourne bike hut guys replaced with new bike. Very satisfied. Visit halfords sittingbiurne."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great value,
January 16, 2014
By joe05
from leeds
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good overall
"Bought the bike through the cycle to work scheme at my local store it was the best bike at my price range iam not disappointed overall well built great looking and handles great would recommend it"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (MEADOW RD)
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hoodoo voodoo fistt bike in about 25 years,
January 02, 2014
By 007nick
from manchester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I enjoy riding this bike in my attempt to get fit i was advised by a mountain bike to get the best bike i could for my cycle to work scheme, its a fun ride. I used to have a bmx and wanted to have fun on a bike again, not a massive fan of the road bike phonomina, but it rides on the roads ok as well ."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? STOCKPORT
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent bike,
October 20, 2013
By Pezza1979
from Kidderminster
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the looks, the specification, the value for money
"I recently purchased the hoodoo after browsing many brands online and after adding up things this was coming in as the best comparing spec. The bike rides lovely and the Raidon forks soak up every bump I've ever thrown at it so far. Overall a really good bike for the money. I added the top peak defender mud guards and it only adds to the great looks. Only thing I'd say is make sure you CHECK all the bolts and wheels are tight before you ride it and after the first couple of rides!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? KIDDERMINSTER
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great bike with lots of extras,
September 12, 2013
By jacthelad
from mansfield,notts
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: balance of the bike, gears, brakes, comfortable saddle
Cons: tyres
"This is an excellent bike with many great features. It is an amazingly comfortable ride, well balanced with great extras.
The gears are very good with an excellent spread to deal with all terrains, and slopes. The hydraulic brakes are excellent, beware the first time you try them! Whilst overall the bike is an excellent buy there is a small drawback in that the tyres are not top quality, they are very poor [as I found with a puncture after only a week].
However this is a good ride and worth the money.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? SUTTON IN ASHFIELD
-3points
4out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Voodoo Hoodoo review,
July 25, 2013
By AWOL66
from Blackburn, Lancashire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great bike, and Excellent service from the Halfords staff."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BLACKBURN
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fantastic bike very happy.,
July 22, 2013
By yena10
from leeds UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: performance
"Bought this bike a week before I went upto scotland, during this time I went on red routes mostly but also went on a few black routes. I gave up on the black routes before my bike did tho. Only thing I would advise you to do is buy it in the shop not online, mine came with a few scratches and paint chips on it and not assembled at all, I ended up taking it to Halfords to be checked over after I assembled it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (KIRKSTALL)
+8points
15out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 11 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RIdes as good as it looks;,
July 16, 2013
By LuckyBadger27
from manchester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: breaks &looks
"Took 3 months to choose replacement for my 18 year old reliable raleigh. Good looking bike caught my eye experienced great customer service in stockport halfords so I bought when ready from my local halfords again great service.
Early days feels a lttle strange after riding last bike for so long but I'm not dissapointed, The BREAKS are superb rides nicely on rd and towparth And I can't stop glancing down at what is between my legs, it looks fab. Buy just for looks you won't be dissapointed.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
How many bikes: 2
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 12 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hoodoo,
June 21, 2013
By Gtrek
from Greater Manchester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Great bike, shame the halfords staff aren't the best at setting the bikes up. Only done around 100 miles on it so far, but definately pleased with it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? BLACKPOOL
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 13 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WARNING about 2013/2014 model!,
June 18, 2013
By Dan1984
from UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Buyers please be aware that this new model has downgraded the suspension fork to a Raidon X3 coil fork instead of the X1 air fork on the older model. This new model also looses the remote fork lock out feature.
The frame also appears to have modified decors which is a matter of personal taste but I prefer the old model.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
+37points
43out of 49found this review helpful.
Review 14 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bargain,
June 12, 2013
By Jlh88
from Wilsden, Bradford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: fork, lightweight, geometry
"Really like this bike. The colour is actually nicer than it looks in the picture, its a deeper red. The frame is light and feels chunky and safe. The forks are very good, also chunky, no wobble under harsh braking. Brakes are keen, not bedded in yet but are light for 1 finger braking. Tyres are big but didnt feel much drag on the road and have good grip on the trail. Seat is comfy. Good quality components, slick gear changing. Handlebars and grips give good control and confidence. All in all i am very impressed. Just a note, you dont get the toe clip pedals, but you do get some wide, sticky pedals, good for putting power down on hills. My only gripe is that the 12 model came with remote lockout on the fork but not major. Read reviews on the 12 model and it gets such a good write up, this model appears to have changed the fork. Review each aspect of the bike separately and see how good the reviews are. Plus got it on a deal so the for the price i paid, unbeatable. Just to add, service was very good, ordered online on monday, collected tuesday. The guy in store was really helpful and knowledgable."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? KEIGHLEY
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.