Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike - 18"

The VooDoo HooDoo Mountain Bike is a rugged beast of a bike.
Average Customer Rating:
4.79 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
36 of 37(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike - 18"
Review 1 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Voodoo hoodoo,
March 16, 2015
By Degna2
from Slough, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the suspension
" Excellent bike at a fantastic price. All the components are from well known manufacturers and it has performed faultlessly since I bought it. It handles well wether being used for cross country, downhill or just regular trail riding and even with the off road tyres that come fitted it's pretty fast on the road too "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? SLOUGH
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Voodoo Hoodoo 18 Inch MTB,
March 13, 2015
By Simonsup
from Northampton, Northampton, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Received my new Voodoo Hoodoo this morning,
An absolute stunning bike for the price.
Very well made and for £399 an absolute steal!
Plus the forks are excellent too and you get hydraulic
disc brakes too...
All in all I can not fault this superb bike
Very happy with my purchase.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? NORTHAMPTON (WEEDON RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No better mtb at this price point,
March 12, 2015
By Cotters69
from Chester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" So impressed by the quality of finish of this bike. I honestly don't think that there is a better hard tail out there for the same money. Everything works well and the frame is excellent. Can't recommend enough. I have read a million reviews on various web sites and the long and short is don't get into cycling and not work out how to fix or set up a bike yourself. That said, service at Ellesmere Port was brilliant. "
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? ELLESMERE PORT
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
beast,
February 27, 2015
By dannyboy2015
from Rochdale, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" ive had a a couple of bikes these last 2 years and none of them have lasted when going offroad... now this bike hoodoo voodoo what can i say for the price it deffo does what it says on the tin been over the tops today and got caked in mud this bike handles rough and smooth very well i expect to be doing a lot more with the bike dont think it will be falling apart anytime time i deffo recomend this ... "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? ROCHDALE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Capable entry level HT MTB,
February 24, 2015
By MoggyThou
from England, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" After researching bikes from the major brands in this price range, I came to the conclusion that the VooDoo Hoodoo offered the best value for a 26" wheeled entry level HT MTB. I also noted that the frame was designed by the legendry Joe Murray, who designed the original Kona MTB's. The Suntour Radion X3 coil sprung fork is smooth and has a lockout feature. The bike has a 3X9sp full Shimano Alvio transmission, except for the crankset which is a non-series FC-M430, it shifts flawlessly. Bottom Bracket is BSA Threaded and uses a reliable Shimano square taper type BB-UN26(-E) axle. The Tektro Auriga comp hydraulic disc brakes are very good as are the Maxxis Ardent Tyres. The finishing kit is good quality, with a 680mm wide handle bar and good to see that a 27.7mm dia. seatpost is fitted. Overall weight of 31lbs is acceptable and weight could be reduced by upgrading components as they wear out, there are sufficient low gears to ride up steep climbs without problems. Overall a well specified bike for the money, especially if you buy it when on offer with £100 off, plus if you are a member of British Cycling you can get an extra 10% discount. I don't usually buy red coloured bikes, however this is a nice shade of cherry red with a subtle satin finish with contrasting dark grey and black satin finished components. Looks nicer when you see it in the store than in the photo on the website. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? STOKE-ON-TRENT (HANLEY)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike for the price,
February 23, 2015
By weejinky67
from Glasgow, Glasgow City, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: comfortable, rugged, great spec
" The voodoo hoodoo has a great spec that belies the price, very rugged but not too heavy and very comfortable to ride. When you take it off road it really comes alive, a fantastic entry level mountain bike "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? GLASGOW (RUTHERGLEN)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Voodoo Hoodoo,
February 14, 2015
By AndyisTC
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: smooth ride, gear changes, brakes, value for money
" This is by far the best bike I have ever owned the gear changes are so smooth and the ride is excellent and breaks are sharp. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wont get better for the Price!,
February 05, 2015
By Anonymous
from South Wales
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Very good bike, if your looking for a great entry level mountain bike this is the one. Gears are smooth and easy to use, breaks are very sharp, lockout suspension aswell is fantastic. Really grippy tyres aswell.
Work in Halfords and this was my pick of bike ! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? PORT TALBOT
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing bike,
January 11, 2015
By Maziak1980
from Doncaster, Doncaster, South Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I like this bike. Good specification for this price. Nice look. I Love my bike. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great First Proper Mountain Bike,
December 26, 2014
By Fulla96
from Durham, County Durham, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: build quality, geometry, looks
Cons: cramped bars, uncomfortable seat
" If your looking for a mid price Mountain Bike this is it!
Had this bike a few months now and done a lot of miles on it and I felt it was time to leave a
Review so, firstly I'll get the few niggles I found out the way. SEAT really doesn't agree with my bottom very painful very quickly solved with a gel seat cover (and possibly padded cycling trousers) although finding one to fit is a pain as it's a long seat it's not a cheap seat by any means just not a very comfortable one but seats are personal preference and others may not find any problems with it at all, the bars seem cramped a few times I've been jumping over a rut or whatever else you find on the trail and knocked it into another gear mid stroke which isn't great I have pretty big hands and riding with gloves which is all the time now we are in the colder months coupled with bad circulation in my extremities just makes it worse fine for every day use but on a trial or simmilar it's gonna be a problem but it's not major enough to of made me want move the selectors away from the grips so it's not a major thing and can be solved and not everyone will have this problem, and that's it really. I have took this bike away with a rack and panniers fitted and camped for a few nignts and rode the trials up at Hamsterley Forrest including the black trial (The most testing for bike and rider) and cannot fault the bike good quality coupled with good geometry it just can't be beaten at this price point brakes are superb and have nice feel to them when braking which means you can put a lot of trust into them, being hydraulic means they are easy to control power wise and I've seen myself use them to keep the bike upright and control speed on very steep and technical decents but a little advice try not to submerge them in water they don't like it and won't brake very well for a while you might find yourself removing and cleaning the pads or sanding them a little just get them rough again to get the power back but this would be the same on a £2000 Mountain Bike it can't be helped, gears are good quality and are nice and smooth if oiled and adjusted properly and ample for any hills going up or down and anything else you ride, tyres are spot on, loads of grip in the wet mud they really bite into the loose to give you grip and you do end up putting your trust into them and pushing yourself further no problems with them at all for any surface you can find here in the UK and I've covered a lot of miles and never had a puncture yet (touch wood) they do have quite a lot of rolling resistance on the road though so if your gonna mainly ride it on the road invest in some road biased tyres, forks are really nice it's a shame they ditched the remote lockout and air and went to coil last year but you don't miss what you haven't had these forks do the trick they are fully adjustable although make sure you give the knobs a spray with some lube regularly as my preload has now seized but I'll fix it, and the lockout feature saves a lot of energy on the flat and up hills they'll handle whatever you throw at them and let you remain in control unless you decide to take them on something as extreme as a downhill course then they wouldn't but that's not what they were made for, grips are nice and don't wreck your hands and the gear displays are nice too the whole bike looks really good in my opinion and is afterall designed by a professional rider, the bolt where my brake caliper mount goes into my fork leg wouldn't tighten and I discovered that the threads inside where none existent till further back so a longer bolt was needed probably a rare manufacturing fault Halfords where willing to send my forks away and have it sorted but I use my bike to commute to work every day, just something to check if you buy this bike, ample space for lights and other bits and bobs such as pumps waterbottle carriers racks panniers phone holders mud guards and whatever else you need to fit on it it has the bolts in places to remove and re-fit so you can have a water bottle carrier and a pump and ones for your rack if it isn't a seat post mounted type. It'll accept most to all accessories so it isn't awkward to buy bits for like some bikes, I'll be going up Hamsterly again next month and will be putting the bike through it's paces again a brilliant bike overall and I highly recommed it.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? DURHAM
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great first mountain bike,
December 07, 2014
By Red17
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything
Cons: none as yet
" Bought this as my 1st mountain bike and it does everything I've asked of it so far.
Excellent tyres that work well on muddy trails and bridleways, smooth gears and brakes are excellent.
A bit slow on the road due to tyres but that's not what it is aimed at so not an issue for me. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: More than 3
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike so far,
November 18, 2014
By codemonkey
from Worcestershire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" great bike for the money, rides well. very pleased with it so far. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? BROMSGROVE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Good Bike, Poor Service,
November 05, 2014
By DaveyMonkeyMan
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the bike
Cons: service
" The bike is actually great. Good parts, well madr. However it was assembled poorly. Halfords supply a checklist of that they have done. Though supposedly checked, lots were actually set up poorly or not at all. Loose brake cables, gears weren't even indexed. Wouldn't shift up to third chainring... The list goes. Instead I had to take it to be repaired by a local shop, just to set it up right. Poor show. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
Which Store did you visit? EDINBURGH (SEAFIELD)
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great sub £500 bike,
November 03, 2014
By Skydivepaul
from Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Picked the bike up this weekend. The guys at halfords pontefract did a good job of setting up the bike. It rides great. The frame fits me well and I am 5'9" . I had to cut an inch off the seat post as it didn't drop down enough for me. Not a problem it only took a few minutes. The hydraulic brakes are great, miles better than the mechanical ones on my old bike.
The only thing I am not sure about is the gears, they feel a bit flimsy compared to my old mongoose bike but they work just fine.
The fork lockout is good when on the road and uphill
I researched loads of bikes before choosing this one. I compared specialized, cannondale and others but none came close to the level of kit on this bike for the price.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? PONTEFRACT
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
awesome,
October 21, 2014
By jammy99
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great beginner mountain bike. Can't fault anything. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? RUISLIP
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic Bike For The Money,
October 21, 2014
By Bikemadboy
from Bolton, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the wat the bike handles and rides.
" This is a great bike for the money and takes everything that you can throw at it. It rides like a bike costing hundreds of pound more and is very comfortable over a variety of different terrains. Very much recommended if you want a proper mountain bike for very reasonable money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? WARRINGTON
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
voodoo hoodoo,
October 14, 2014
By justred
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I love this bike it's such a great piece of kit I would have been happy to pay double the price for this voodoo hoodoo "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? CHIPPENHAM
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike is very well made and strong,
October 13, 2014
By Plummy9
from Uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Lovely bike to ride on trails and road. I can't fault the brakes, gears or falks, well worth the price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? THETFORD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
voodoo hoodoo 18",
October 12, 2014
By shing62
from GB
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything
Cons: saddle but thats a personal thing.
" Only had this bike 5 days and love it to bits,great weekend weather so out all day and used the bike on a lot of different surfaces and i was totally amazed how well it handled. The gears are light and will get you up anything you point it at , i generally use a road bike and i find i can get up steep hills on the voodoo just as easily and it rolls very quick on the fats, the suspension fork up front is great if you fiddle around with all the settings and get them spot on they work a treat ,only thing i have changed is the saddle but thats a personal choice as i found it a bit wide for myself but not uncomfortable , in all a great bike and i would say buy one and you wont be disappointed . "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? WALLASEY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good bike and an even better price!,
October 02, 2014
By JaviN
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" The bike rides very nicely and for the price it doesn't get any better! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>