Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

TomTom Start 25M 5" Sat Nav - UK & ROI

TomTom Start 25M UK & ROI drive confidently with its large screen & clear guidance at every turn
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(201 Reviews) 201
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (201 reviews)
5 stars
144
4 stars
49
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
0
194 of 200(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for TomTom Start 25M 5" Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Review 1 for TomTom Start 25M 5" Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to use,
October 16, 2014
By claire126
from Hinckley
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Product was cheaper than advertised on collection and is very easy to use"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Friend
Which Store did you visit? HINCKLEY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TomTom Start 25M 5" Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tom Tom,
October 11, 2014
By Alfsky
from Staffordshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
"Easy to use. Does what it says on the tin. No complaints."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? STAFFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TomTom Start 25M 5" Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This replaced my 8yr old Tom tom,
September 28, 2014
By spot23
from South - West
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I had to replace my old Tom Tom,and am as pleased with this one as my first one.Love the lifetime map updates,Would never consider any other make,"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? YEOVIL
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TomTom Start 25M 5" Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Never used a Sat Nav before.,
September 08, 2014
By Atkinsonacky
from North Wales. UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Never used a Sat Nav before and took a bit of getting use to. However, clear useful instructions given when in use with plenty of notice prior to junctions and correct lane support is very good. Unfortunately map downloading takes a long time as we have maps of Europe too."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? RHYL
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TomTom Start 25M 5" Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use and very clear,
August 28, 2014
By Soundman471
from Northumberland, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: clear screen and insructions, secures to windscreen no wobble/vibration
Cons: can be fiddly to fit to windscreen
"I have thought about buying one of these for a couple of years and wish I had done so sooner!
I was a little apprehensive after seeing some of the reviews on the time to set it up and the volume level of the instructions when in use. However, I found the process to set up an account on the TomTom website was straightforward, it recognised my SatNav straight away and downloaded and installed the maps. Whole process took me about 30 minutes. I would recommend fully charging the unit first before trying to then use the unit.
I think the instructions on using the TomTom are a bit misleading, they say to tap or touch the screen to input information whereas I find I need to press the screen for it to recognise anything.
The unit adheres to the windscreen very securely although can be a bit fiddly to turn the locking knob depending on its height on the screen. I also tried it on the dashboard and found it just as secure. Once on the move the screen and the instructions are very clear and timely. I had no problems hearing the instructions whether in towns or on the motorway.
Both my wife and I found using the SatNav so much more relaxing than relying on using a map book. It makes life easier especially as we decided to make an impromtu visit to family and needed to find a shop for a gift. It took us there no problem, and then onto their new address which we had not been to before, with ease. Definitely recommended."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? NEWCASTLE (KINGSTON RTL PK)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TomTom Start 25M 5" Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TomTom Start 25M 5" Sat Nav - UK & ROI,
August 25, 2014
By Eugenijus
from Telford, Telford and Wrekin, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: screen size, easy menu, free map updates
Cons: holder connected to sat nav, short charge cabel
"I got this product and was happy with it, except that you cant disconnect holder from Sat Nav, and charge cable was to short.
I made mistake and ordered with UK maps only, but Halfords staff at Telford, helped me to change my Sat Nav to same model, but with Europe maps.
Thanks for help
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? TELFORD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TomTom Start 25M 5" Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very useful,
August 25, 2014
By Westie01
from Wales
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is my third Tomtom and very easy to use. I live in rural Wales and it is ideal for getting around through all the back roads. Clear and easy to use - what more can anyone want?"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CARMARTHEN
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TomTom Start 25M 5" Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TomTom Start 25M - UK And ROI,
August 24, 2014
By technolensman
from North Ferriby, East Yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have used a TomTom One for many years and decided it was time for a change. As usual with TomTom a great product with the additional bonus of lietime free mappind."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? HULL (ST ANDREWS QUAY)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TomTom Start 25M 5" Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really easy to use,
August 23, 2014
By dsapow
from Bournemouth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: clear directions
Cons: integral mount
"Great value for money and really easy to use. Clear visual display and accurate description of directions"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? CHRISTCHURCH
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TomTom Start 25M 5" Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Couriers view,
August 23, 2014
By Aaronsdad1997
from Preston, Preston, Lancashire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of set up and use
Cons: would have liked european maps for my hols
"Working as a courier I need an accurate and reliable sat which this has proved to be. A lot of the areas I cover are pretty rural and some sat navs seem to struggle but so far this tom tom hasn`t sent me anywhere I shouldn`t be."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? PRESTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TomTom Start 25M 5" Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not as good as my IQ,
August 22, 2014
By Joe50s
from Norfolk, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cons: good screen, less easy to use
"More time consuming to use than my previous tomtom"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? KINGS LYNN
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TomTom Start 25M 5" Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tom Tom Start 25,
August 22, 2014
By Fran58
from Coventry, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"It's still early days for me, but so far this product has been easy to use and does the job you ask it.
The only problems I had early on was registering on the Tom Tom site and downloading the free map. I left a note on the help section of the site and quickly received advice that worked. It was suggested I use Google Chrome rather than Explorer to attempt the register and download and that worked.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? COVENTRY (FOLESHILL RD)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TomTom Start 25M 5" Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great unit,
August 19, 2014
By DB1967
from UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: free updates for life
"Why anyone would spend £1,000s of pounds on an integrated unit from the car manufacturers extras list I will never know. This nav unit is very clear, easy to use and with free map updates for life a complete bargain."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? DERBY (WYVERN)
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TomTom Start 25M 5" Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
upgade,
August 10, 2014
By dch1
from Sudbury, Sudbury, Suffolk CO10, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought as an upgrade,good price,screen display very clear,ordered online &picked up instore in an hour.Excellent"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? SUDBURY
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TomTom Start 25M 5" Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant piece of kit!,
August 04, 2014
By alfb
from Tiverton, Tiverton, Devon EX16, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: size
Cons: dashboard set up not good
"This satnav is easy to set up,very reasonable price and great to view."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? TIVERTON
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TomTom Start 25M 5" Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Clear & Precise,
May 05, 2014
By Toolshed
from Sunny Bournemouth
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: all of it.
"This is an upgrade to my 4:3 old TomTom and a great improvement! Updating the maps couldn't be simpler. Go to my drive on the Tom Tom website, register the unit(using the serial number on the back) and the site checks for updates for you. A bright screen, clear instructions the usual features you would expect from a decent sat nav. The screen flips around if you want to stick the unit to the dashboard but they don't include the dash discs to attach it to. The cig lighter charger has a USB slot on it so you can charge your phone for example also. I nearly went for the start 60, but after seeing it in the shop it was too big for my golf. Great Mapping on the speed cameras also as picks up all the usual Gatsos and also red light cameras too! Overall great satnav."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TomTom Start 25M 5" Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good product,don't make my mistake!,
April 30, 2014
By codds
from bucks
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Great product....but be aware you have to go on line to recieve a activation code to access the lifetime map updates,I was not,and did not realise this until two months later after throwing the receipt and paperwork away,spoke to TOMTOM no receipt,no updates....I will now have to pay for map updates,which is alittle annoying to say the least as I brought this because it came with free lifetime updates..maybe TOMTOM could make this clearer or include the activation code in the box."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? HIGH WYCOMBE (LONDON RD)
+27points
34out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TomTom Start 25M 5" Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my purchase,
January 06, 2014
By banzi
from uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"1st class item and service all round from the start of purchase to finnish."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? HAMILTON
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TomTom Start 25M 5" Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very useful product,
January 04, 2014
By ApexSteve
from Derbyshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bought for wife who has not had any trouble in getting it up and running and finds it very helpful, and simple to use."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? SUTTON IN ASHFIELD
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TomTom Start 25M 5" Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This item is a nice easy to use bit of kit,
January 03, 2014
By eric2
from York
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
"I was very easy to set up and seems more Intuative than my previous Home unit It is a doddle to use andhas all the features i need ."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? YORK
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>