Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Wynns Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml

Wynn's Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner helps remove excess carbon deposits from the EGR valve.
Average Customer Rating:
4.257 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
4
27 of 34(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wynns Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Review 1 for Wynns Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worth a try,
April 08, 2016
By
from Gloucestershire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: worked for me so was well worth it, simple fix if it works
" As you will see from the reviews, it either works or it doesn't. Hence the mix of 1 star and 5 star reviews. My car, like others had the engine management light come on and occasional limp home mode. Garage said it looked to be a sticky/ faulty egr valve. Was recommended to spend a tenner to see if it fixed the issue, as the alternative was a garage clean/replace which is a bit more than £10!
I viewed my purchase as "if it works then great". If not, then at least I know I tried and it has to be a garage fix. So far I am quids in! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? CIRENCESTER
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wynns Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Didn't work for me,
March 31, 2016
By
from Slough, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: nothing
Cons: very expensive
" Despite following instructions and egr problem in its early stages it didn't work. Cleared the management light but came back on the very next day. So it was waste of money.
You must keep the can upright which can be difficult depending on the location of air inlet. It should be provided with longer straw or designed so it can be used upside down.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? SLOUGH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wynns Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Complete waste of time and money,
March 17, 2016
By
from NW
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" Tried this along with Wynns Xtreme Diesel System Cleaner fuel additive, all to no avail. Ended up at garage for new EGR valve as it had seized. Mechanic laughed when I mentioned these products and showed me how solid re-burnt carbon deposits actually are!
EGR valves can be serviced and cleaned professionally only if they are removed from the vehicle for refurbishment. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? MANCHESTER (WHITE CITY)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wynns Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked,
February 17, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: that it actually worked
" I had the common problem with my 1.9TDi. Sudden power loss as it went into limp mode, finally an engine warning light
I followed the instructions, spraying almost directly into the turbo after the filter
It caused the engine to knock loudly and stall a few times ( the trick is small squirts)
Engine light went off after half an hour and the power loss has not re-occurred
Will be using this at regular intervals as a preventative measure
Also used the deep clean diesel treatment "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? GUILDFORD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wynns Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Diesel EGR Cleaner,
December 29, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" My Corsa 1.3 CDti suddenly started to run rough at idle and was very hesitant in pulling away in all gears. Suspecting a stuck EGR valve, blocked up with carbon I thought I would give this a go before putting it in the garage for repair. ( the EGR is buried round the back of the engine) Follow the instructions to the letter and hey presto, engine warning light out, runs and drives like a dream. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wynns Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
09 Ford Kuga 2.0 TDCi,
December 18, 2015
By
from Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Our kuga kept going into limp home mode with the Engine Malfunction light coming on. It wasn't the dpf this time as no codes were stored in the cars computer. Suspected it could be the EGR was clogged up so gave this a go. Just removed the air filter and sprayed in as per the instructions. Absolutely brilliant stuff. The car is going better than ever. I would recommend trying this stuff. Its well worth it and a lot cheaper than going to the dealers. I'll be using this once a year along with the dpf fuel treatment as we do a lot of short journeys. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? DUNFERMLINE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wynns Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
useless do not buy!!!,
November 19, 2015
By
from Kidderminster, Worcestershire, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: made my car worse in stead of better, complete wast of money
" I have owned my 2005 nissan x-trail 2.2 dci for around 4 years and have never had a problem with it it has resantley started to feel a little down on power and mpg hasn't been as good so I dicided to give my egr valve a clean not a easy job and very time consuming after reading good reviews on this product on the hafords website I disided to give it a go and god I regret it I'm not so bothered that it made no improvement to my car but very bothered that after using it my car now has a horrible diesel knock witch seems to be getting worse I would not advice any one to use this product I am very disappointed in hafords selling such a poor product I am gutted iv paid £10 to damage my car feel a right mug "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Which Store did you visit? KIDDERMINSTER
+2points
9out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wynns Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good product,
November 10, 2015
By
from United Kingdom
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: like
" Cheap and good I will use again. I do my job and I recommend to buy "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? EAST GRINSTEAD
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wynns Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WONDER SPRAY!,
October 27, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" My van had been intermittently going into limp home mode a few times until it decided to completely stay stuck, so a quick purchase of this magic stuff and bingo no more issues engine light off and so much more responsive. A well spent tenner. "
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? READING (WINNERSH)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wynns Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Toyota EGR cleaning was simple,
October 21, 2015
By
from Portsmouth, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" My diesel Toyota (110,000 miles) suddenly began to lose power on motorway inclines when in 4th and 5th gear. A bit alarming, although nothing catastrophic, but I had to drop down into 3rd to prevent traffic behind me kissing my bumper. After a few days I realised that it only happened (1) when engine was fully warm, and (2) when it was under load. A bit of internet searching gave me several alternatives, of which the most likely seemed blocked or sticking EGR valve. There were a couple of uTube videos showing that it was pretty easy to remove and clean, so bought a can of this, removed the EGR valve from the engine, gave it a good clean and brush, left it overnight to soak, gave it another clean and brush, and then refitted (with a new metal gasket, just in case - false economy to scrimp when the gasket only costs a tenner or so). Result was a car that felt more responsive and 'free-wheeling' than even before the I experienced the problem, so I guess the EGR had been fouling-up for some time). In conclusion, if you can handle a 10mm spanner and have a pair of rubber gloves, doing this job yourself can save you £100-£200, or more if a rogue trader tells you the car needs new parts..... "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHAMPTON (HEDGE END)
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wynns Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
October 04, 2015
By
from Dorset
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: it works
" I was quoted £1,000 to fix my EGR valve problem as my car is a transverse V6 so it's an "engine out" job to access the back valve so for £9.99 this stuff was worth a try.
Literally a five minute DIY job that anyone could do and the problem was cured. Warning light went out and limp mode eliminated immediately.
I might have to repeat the process from time to time as I only do 3,000 miles per year but at this price it's a small amount to pay.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? POOLE (RINGWOOD RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wynns Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Pleased With The Results.,
September 24, 2015
By
from Sutton Bridge, Spalding, Lincolnshire PE12, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the ease of use, the instructions are good
Cons: the price
" I have a very sooted up 2004 Vauxhall Zafira 2.0 DTi. Not having the time to strip down the inlet manifold and EGR at the min. I gave this product a go.... well it does work! it really wont perform a miracle but does clean things up, nowhere near as good as stripping down the inlet tho. still recommend just think it is a little pricely for what it is. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? WISBECH
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wynns Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product - Increased MPG,
July 22, 2015
By
from Kilkenny, Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is a great product. I have a 04 Grand Scenic 1.9DCI that was suffering a little with poor performance and dropping MPG, even after a recent full service. In the weeks before using this, MPG was circa 40.
I blasted this through the air inlet pipe, witnessed a bit of soot on the road from the exhaust and wasn't completley sure if it worked properly because I was expecting clouds of smoke.
However, 1 month after and my acceleration is better, but more importantly, MPG is up to 55! In anyones world that is a MASSIVE IMPROVEMENT!!!
Easy to use and I highly reccomend!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? KILKENNY (ROI)
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wynns Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good but didn't solve my problem!,
July 05, 2015
By
from Torquay, Torbay, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Had the dash light for emissions workshop come on in my Golf GT Tdi & thought I'd try this in the hope it was simply a clogged up EGR valve. It certainly cleaned the valve out and lots of dirt came out of the exhaust. Easy to use but unfortunately my problem hasn't gone away so can't comment fully on the performance until I have the car professionally looked at! I think I would recommend the product as at the very least it's good to keep the EGR clean anyway! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? TORQUAY
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wynns Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
egr cleaner,
May 05, 2015
By
from wales
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Used this for obd code 401 and 299 put it in the air intake improved the running but engine light and still going into lump mode. After 2 days and using fuel treatment light went out and no more lump mode. If you give it time it work. The engine was a tdi. Saved me a big bill for the gauge. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wynns Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fixed P1405 code,
April 29, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cost
" Bought this product due to an error code P1405 on a 2007 Kia Sportage 2.0 diesel CRDI. Was informed by Kia the EGR valve was blocked. I was also experiencing intermittent significant engine shaking. There are a number of causes for this issue (including blocked EGR) but because my car had the error code, I decided to try the 'easy fix' first.
I followed the instructions exactly on the can and when finished, I ran the code scanner again. Success!! No more P1405 code. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wynns Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great results,
January 25, 2015
By
from Dundee
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Car was dying when I hit an incline on motorway and sounding rough like it wanted to cut out when idle and no response when wanting to accelerate in fifth /sixth gear.
Similar symptoms as when dpf collapsed couple of year ago!
Easy to follow instructions replaced my air filter at same time, once I applied product and just got onto road and in 3rd gear the revs shot up to 4500rpm with me not pressing accelerator and a big dump of black smoke out the back, hey presto! Car is now running like it did when new, just hope it lasts!!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? DUNDEE
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wynns Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product is waste of money,
January 10, 2015
By
from Surrey, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: waste of money and time using this product
" I used this product after looking at positive reviews on Halfords website. However, this product is rubbish and wasted my time. I have to dismantle the egr valve and used carburetor cleaner for cleaning. Will not recommend this produce to any one. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? CROYDON (PURLEY WAY)
-7points
3out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wynns Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not a magic formula,
December 10, 2014
By
from Cambridge, Cambridge, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
" This did take some of the carbon deposits off but still required a fair amount of elbow grease. I think I was expecting more. I don't think i will bother again. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? MARCH
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wynns Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cheaper to replace the EGR,
October 31, 2014
By
from Down, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cons: expensive
" Very expensive product that isn't great.
Instructions say to remove air filter and spray into induction but it has to go through a dirty airbox and turbo etc before it reaches the EGR.
And tin says to do this every 6k miles or so - a new pneumatic egr costs less than £100 so you'd be best to just replace or remove and manually clean your EGR.
Prob bit more beneficial for electronic EGR's but I wouldn't think so.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? NEWRY
-9points
2out of 13found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>