Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Wynn's Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml

Wynn's Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner helps remove excess carbon deposits from the EGR valve.
Average Customer Rating:
4.786 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 of 14(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wynn's Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Review 1 for Wynn's Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mondeo TDCi 130,
September 29, 2014
By moore1971
from Leicestershire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My Mondeo was somewhat smoky down on performance and down on economy. I was advised to try this and being the tight wad that I am umm'd and r'd about buying it but my god I'm glad I did... Very simple to use; spray it in through the air inlet and bish, bash, bosh its all done.. I was astonished at the puddle of sut, carbon and muck it chucked out of the exhaust. It was actually 10mm or more thick. Since I have a much smoother peddle; honestly amazed by the increase in mileage ( up 4mpg ) and although there is still a little smoke in the most part its gone ( I assume the smoke left is mainly because I dont do long journeys and the CAT doesnt get hot enough ) ....... I WOULD RECOMMEND TO ANYONE...."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? COALVILLE
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wynn's Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing stuff,
July 19, 2014
By Noggins
from Gwent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Had intermittent power loss issues with my car for a month. Garage advised cleaning the EGR, which is difficult to reach in my 1.6 TDCI fiesta. Used this product and the car feels back to normal!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? NEWPORT
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wynn's Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good product,
July 01, 2014
By mikey00
from Castlebar, Co. Mayo, Ireland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good product
Cons: none
"what it says on the tin,very good on diesel engine cleaning"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? CASTLEBAR (ROI)
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wynn's Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Instant improvement,
May 31, 2014
By rallycar
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything
Cons: slightly pricey for one appbut not a main concern
"I was trying to get to the bottom of a juddering car under load and came across egr cleaning as a process of elimination , it happened to be a clogged fuel filter BUT this stuff made a massive instant difference to the car and even during application you can hear the engine tone improving, after a filter change and heavy fuel cleaner, the car is running better than ever, I'm so happy with this product that I will do this routinely, it's not something I ever gave a second thought to clean out but it's a definite winner for me,"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wynn's Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blown Away!!!,
March 06, 2014
By Jonbr
from Louth, Lincolnshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything
"My 2008 Mitsubishi Outlander 2.2DiD best economy i could achieve when purchased was 45mpg. Over the last 18 months this has dropped rapidly to 28-30mpg max, despite putting a massive effort into driving economically so I've been spending a fortune on diesel and fearing the worse to come in garage bills.
I then thought before i get the car to a garage id try this spray cleaner.... Well it took 5 mins to spray into the intake after the filter as instructed, then I took it on a test drive through town centre and bypass then out on country roads driving normally and it achieved 46mpg no problem!!!
Im still absolutely gobsmacked!! Wish id tried this a year ago as I've spent hundreds in extra fuel!
Im buying another can today for my wife's Insignia as it does no way near the mpg it should.
I am now going to use this every year when i service it or if economy starts decreasing again.
Thank you so much Halfords and Wynnns!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? LOUTH
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wynn's Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very suprised,
February 18, 2014
By fordy998
from poole
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: it actually works
"I am no way usually a fan of stuff like this but yes, sorted my car out. Its not a cleaner as such, you spray into main air intake. Saved me alot off money so very pleased. It wont fix a faullty egr but it sure does clean the system out and helps when they stick causing running problems wich i had been suffering with."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? POOLE (RINGWOOD RD)
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wynn's Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good stuff,
December 28, 2013
By Beefy1991
from Birkenhead
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
"Got rid of carbon deposits, egr valve hasn't stuck since and car quicker and smoother as a result of the cleared air system."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? WALLASEY
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wynn's Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EGR cleaner,
October 04, 2013
By ferni
from studley
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I recommend this product. Dose what it says ! fast effective
I will definatly use this again
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? REDDITCH
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wynn's Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EGR Valve Cleaner,
August 05, 2013
By Johnd52
from Sunbury-on-Thames
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the price
"Very good product, does what it says on the tin, Good price"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? NEWCASTLE (KINGSTON RTL PK)
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wynn's Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product,
July 30, 2013
By Tim1436
from Southend
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Seemed to run alot smother after using so happy with it :)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? RAYLEIGH
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wynn's Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good Product but a bit pricey,
July 26, 2013
By elder0807
from Nottingham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: cleans well
Cons: small volume, expensive compared to alternatives
"This Product works very well although is a bit pricey and you do not get a very large amount.
I found that a can of carburetor cleaner did the same job, was cheaper and contained a larger quantity.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? ILKESTON
-3points
3out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wynn's Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good product,
June 25, 2013
By waqar
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"It does what it says, I have Mercedes e220 was giving alot of black smoke. Used this product and drived 70 mph in 3rd gear and now all black smoke gone. Perfect.."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? HOUNSLOW
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wynn's Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does a great job,
April 25, 2013
By GDEE01
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Really impressed, improved fuel economy after use
Easy to carry out, easy to follow instructions
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wynn's Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Couldnt believe it worked,
April 14, 2013
By petesbox99
from somerset
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: simple easy and quick
Cons: can says spray at idle works better at 2000rpm
"i brought this as my car being high miles is pretty clogged up im a mechanic and know how hard it can be to de gunk the inlet system so i tried this later stripped the car to check and although there was gunk still it was soft and wet breaking up in small amounts were it would just burn up in the system no harm on diesel it really works and simple to do"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? TAUNTON
+38points
44out of 50found this review helpful.