Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Wynn's Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml

Wynn's Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner helps remove excess carbon deposits from the EGR valve.
Average Customer Rating:
4.381 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
17 of 21(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wynn's Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Review 1 for Wynn's Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
egr cleaner,
May 05, 2015
By vwtdi24
from wales
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Used this for obd code 401 and 299 put it in the air intake improved the running but engine light and still going into lump mode. After 2 days and using fuel treatment light went out and no more lump mode. If you give it time it work. The engine was a tdi. Saved me a big bill for the gauge. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wynn's Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fixed P1405 code,
April 29, 2015
By SportAge07
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cost
" Bought this product due to an error code P1405 on a 2007 Kia Sportage 2.0 diesel CRDI. Was informed by Kia the EGR valve was blocked. I was also experiencing intermittent significant engine shaking. There are a number of causes for this issue (including blocked EGR) but because my car had the error code, I decided to try the 'easy fix' first.
I followed the instructions exactly on the can and when finished, I ran the code scanner again. Success!! No more P1405 code. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wynn's Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great results,
January 25, 2015
By Foggyonechop
from Dundee
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Car was dying when I hit an incline on motorway and sounding rough like it wanted to cut out when idle and no response when wanting to accelerate in fifth /sixth gear.
Similar symptoms as when dpf collapsed couple of year ago!
Easy to follow instructions replaced my air filter at same time, once I applied product and just got onto road and in 3rd gear the revs shot up to 4500rpm with me not pressing accelerator and a big dump of black smoke out the back, hey presto! Car is now running like it did when new, just hope it lasts!!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? DUNDEE
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wynn's Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product is waste of money,
January 10, 2015
By Leo81
from Surrey, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: waste of money and time using this product
" I used this product after looking at positive reviews on Halfords website. However, this product is rubbish and wasted my time. I have to dismantle the egr valve and used carburetor cleaner for cleaning. Will not recommend this produce to any one. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? CROYDON (PURLEY WAY)
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wynn's Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not a magic formula,
December 10, 2014
By Jobby1954
from Cambridge, Cambridge, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
" This did take some of the carbon deposits off but still required a fair amount of elbow grease. I think I was expecting more. I don't think i will bother again. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? MARCH
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wynn's Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cheaper to replace the EGR,
October 31, 2014
By Bru83
from Down, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cons: expensive
" Very expensive product that isn't great.
Instructions say to remove air filter and spray into induction but it has to go through a dirty airbox and turbo etc before it reaches the EGR.
And tin says to do this every 6k miles or so - a new pneumatic egr costs less than £100 so you'd be best to just replace or remove and manually clean your EGR.
Prob bit more beneficial for electronic EGR's but I wouldn't think so.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? NEWRY
-7points
2out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wynn's Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pretty good stuff,
October 22, 2014
By salsaboduk
from Plymouth, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: much improved mpg, pays for itself quickly
Cons: nowt
" Used this after Stp fuel system clean. Between them I have seen a huge improvement in fuel consumption. 1/2 tank diesel used to see me for 200 miles, now closer to 300. Unfortunately it doesn't solve this problem I was trying to solve. Wasn't too surprised, I think I know what the problem is, just wanted to try this before I started ripping the car apart. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? PLYMOUTH (LONGBRIDGE RD)
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wynn's Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mondeo TDCi 130,
September 29, 2014
By moore1971
from Leicestershire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" My Mondeo was somewhat smoky down on performance and down on economy. I was advised to try this and being the tight wad that I am umm'd and r'd about buying it but my god I'm glad I did... Very simple to use; spray it in through the air inlet and bish, bash, bosh its all done.. I was astonished at the puddle of sut, carbon and muck it chucked out of the exhaust. It was actually 10mm or more thick. Since I have a much smoother peddle; honestly amazed by the increase in mileage ( up 4mpg ) and although there is still a little smoke in the most part its gone ( I assume the smoke left is mainly because I dont do long journeys and the CAT doesnt get hot enough ) ....... I WOULD RECOMMEND TO ANYONE.... "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? COALVILLE
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wynn's Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing stuff,
July 19, 2014
By Noggins
from Gwent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Had intermittent power loss issues with my car for a month. Garage advised cleaning the EGR, which is difficult to reach in my 1.6 TDCI fiesta. Used this product and the car feels back to normal! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? NEWPORT
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wynn's Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good product,
July 01, 2014
By mikey00
from Castlebar, Co. Mayo, Ireland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good product
Cons: none
" what it says on the tin,very good on diesel engine cleaning "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? CASTLEBAR (ROI)
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wynn's Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Instant improvement,
May 31, 2014
By rallycar
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything
Cons: slightly pricey for one appbut not a main concern
" I was trying to get to the bottom of a juddering car under load and came across egr cleaning as a process of elimination , it happened to be a clogged fuel filter BUT this stuff made a massive instant difference to the car and even during application you can hear the engine tone improving, after a filter change and heavy fuel cleaner, the car is running better than ever, I'm so happy with this product that I will do this routinely, it's not something I ever gave a second thought to clean out but it's a definite winner for me, "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wynn's Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blown Away!!!,
March 06, 2014
By Jonbr
from Louth, Lincolnshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything
" My 2008 Mitsubishi Outlander 2.2DiD best economy i could achieve when purchased was 45mpg. Over the last 18 months this has dropped rapidly to 28-30mpg max, despite putting a massive effort into driving economically so I've been spending a fortune on diesel and fearing the worse to come in garage bills.
I then thought before i get the car to a garage id try this spray cleaner.... Well it took 5 mins to spray into the intake after the filter as instructed, then I took it on a test drive through town centre and bypass then out on country roads driving normally and it achieved 46mpg no problem!!!
Im still absolutely gobsmacked!! Wish id tried this a year ago as I've spent hundreds in extra fuel!
Im buying another can today for my wife's Insignia as it does no way near the mpg it should.
I am now going to use this every year when i service it or if economy starts decreasing again.
Thank you so much Halfords and Wynnns! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? LOUTH
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wynn's Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very suprised,
February 18, 2014
By fordy998
from poole
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: it actually works
" I am no way usually a fan of stuff like this but yes, sorted my car out. Its not a cleaner as such, you spray into main air intake. Saved me alot off money so very pleased. It wont fix a faullty egr but it sure does clean the system out and helps when they stick causing running problems wich i had been suffering with. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? POOLE (RINGWOOD RD)
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wynn's Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good stuff,
December 28, 2013
By Beefy1991
from Birkenhead
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
" Got rid of carbon deposits, egr valve hasn't stuck since and car quicker and smoother as a result of the cleared air system. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? WALLASEY
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wynn's Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EGR cleaner,
October 04, 2013
By ferni
from studley
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I recommend this product. Dose what it says ! fast effective
I will definatly use this again
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? REDDITCH
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wynn's Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EGR Valve Cleaner,
August 05, 2013
By Johnd52
from Sunbury-on-Thames
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the price
" Very good product, does what it says on the tin, Good price "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? NEWCASTLE (KINGSTON RTL PK)
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wynn's Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product,
July 30, 2013
By Tim1436
from Southend
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Seemed to run alot smother after using so happy with it :) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? RAYLEIGH
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wynn's Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good Product but a bit pricey,
July 26, 2013
By elder0807
from Nottingham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: cleans well
Cons: small volume, expensive compared to alternatives
" This Product works very well although is a bit pricey and you do not get a very large amount.
I found that a can of carburetor cleaner did the same job, was cheaper and contained a larger quantity.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? ILKESTON
-2points
5out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wynn's Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good product,
June 25, 2013
By waqar
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" It does what it says, I have Mercedes e220 was giving alot of black smoke. Used this product and drived 70 mph in 3rd gear and now all black smoke gone. Perfect.. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? HOUNSLOW
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wynn's Diesel EGR Valve Cleaner 150ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does a great job,
April 25, 2013
By GDEE01
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Really impressed, improved fuel economy after use
Easy to carry out, easy to follow instructions
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>