Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey

The Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey has a sleek aerodynamic design and is built with ABS material.
Average Customer Rating:
4.633 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
29 of 29(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
38 Questions | 40 Answers
Customer Reviews for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Review 1 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All you need,
September 15, 2013
By Adrian72
from Sheffield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This roof box is everything we wanted. It's huge, doubling the storage space provided by our Mondeo boot.
It's solid, easy to fit, and the side opening makes it easy to load and unload. Another plus is the aerodynamic design so that it won't have too bad an impact on fuel economy"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WORKSOP
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First time roof box owner,
September 03, 2013
By Dittonsox
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: size
Cons: stupid fitting clamp system
"Great service as ever at Basingstoke! A good quality product with loads of extra storage. Definitely a 2 person job to fit particularly around the hinge side. The new super duper fixing system is poorly conceived and not as good as the wing nut type as it doesn't allow for tightening. Hence the first time I tried fitting the box the U clamps were a little loose and rattled. I recommend a hard back a paper back and a little extra cardboard to hold the clamp in place if fitting solo!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent roof box,
August 26, 2013
By Vikki16
from Stockport
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: looks good
Cons: shows up dead flies!!
"This roof box was replace a trailer we had, wasn't sure if it would fit in our camping gear, but it did. My husband found it easy to attach to the roof bars (also exodus) loads of space in the box and with the extra discount on the Internet made it good value."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? STOCKPORT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent,
August 09, 2013
By Jase911
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Great value for money. The only draw back is (and I think this is the same with all roof boxes) that its difficult to attach to the roof bars at the hinge end of the box. That said, it's got a quick fit unit that is so much easier than trying to screw down wing nuts!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
August 07, 2013
By Davo79
from Bolton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very happy with this roof box. Bought the roof box for extra luggage space for a holiday to cornwall. The roof box held more than I thought it would and it only cost me an extra £10 in fuel to travel to and from my holiday."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BOLTON (MANCHESTER RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value for the price,
August 05, 2013
By Bazza57
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: fixing system
Cons: sometimes hard to lock properly
"Excellent storage capacity. Click system for fixing to roof bars is simple and woks well. Material is a bit flimsier than anticipated but so far does the job. Only slight criticism is that the box can be a bit difficult to lock but fortunately keys cannot be removed until it is properly locked."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey,
July 29, 2013
By PaddingtonBeard
from Fleet
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: every thing
"Can only say Awesome, does what it says on the tin. The very nice helpful people down at Halfords Farnbough bought the Roof Box out to my car for me, (Must Admit I was a tad optimistic thinking I could get it inside to take home) But when it was obvious it would not fit inside they said not to worry and promptly fitted it to my roof rack. The box makes all the difference to us going away for our trips whereas before something always had to be left behind because there was no room, now just pops into the roof box and were on our way.
I have got to say how easy it is to use, one key and all is locked and safe. The other thing that I was amazed about was how solid it is. When it’s open it seems a bit wobbly but rest assured it’s an illusion. Solid as a Rock is the only way I can describe it. Quite too, and to be honest I haven’t noticed much difference in the miles per gallon. All together a brilliant buy. Like I said at the start. Does exacley what it says on the tin!!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
roof box,
July 29, 2013
By narrative
from basildon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great build quality as good as other
supplier
simple box to rail connection excellent
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BASILDON (HERON RTL PRK)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exodus 470L Roof Box,
July 24, 2013
By Ian640
from Perth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Called to reserve purchase, collected next day. Staff could not be more helpful and helped to get the box to the car. Just back from a week camping in Skye and amazed at the space inside, made life so much easier."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? PERTH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value, great size,
July 24, 2013
By OxfordFord
from Oxford
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"For the size of the roofbox this product is really great value and makes a huge difference to the amount of stuff we can take with us camping! We have 3 children and a massive tent to getting everything together into the car is tough and this roof box make it possible!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? OXFORD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sturdy but noisy,
July 09, 2013
By TimboJ
from Wiltshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: ease of fitting
Cons: the noise
"I bought this for my VW golf (1.6l) and fitted it with existing Thule Aerobars.
Fitting was relatively easy, from picking it up in the shop to driving out of the car park was less than 10 mins. The bolting mechanism looked a little flimsy when I took it out of the box but was very sturdy once fitted. You do need two people to bolt the box on (unless you have arms as long as Mr Tickle!). The Halfords staff were really helpful, even though I had not paid for fitting they carried the box to the car park, helped unpack it and lift it onto the roof bars, then took the empty packaging away for us. Great service.
I did notice some drop in performance when driving with the roof box, in part from the drag when it was empty, especially around 50 mph but more notably from the additional weight once it and the rest of the car was loaded, we took it on holiday and managed to pack so much into it. Lots of smaller duffle type bags seemed to work best. There are some internal loading straps to tie everything down once full. The locking mechanism is a triple mechanism with three linked catches which is very sturdy once locked but means you do have to avoid over-filling the box, which is probably a good thing.
We have used this in heavy rain but everything was kept dry.
The down side was the noise at speed and in the wet, there was some air noise but this turned into a whistle when wet! This gave us a bit of a scare when we first used the windscreen washers but despite being noticeable it was not very loud and did not bother us unduly.
I have tried adjusting the positioning on the roof bars but it has not effected the noise issue.
To put this in context, once we had arrived at our destination we still kept the roof box as we toured about locally, it was so mush easier to keep the child buggies in the roof box, secured with the straps. So the noise issue really didn't bother us that much.
I would therefore still recommend this product, despite the noise.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CHIPPENHAM
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Roof Box,
July 08, 2013
By JohnM10263
from Tillicoultry
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Dose what it day's on the tin. Simples. Great quality and very sturdy, also good aerodynamics as fuel consumption returned was good on a 600 mile trip."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? STIRLING
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quick fit system,
June 15, 2013
By MarkJ67
from PONTEFRACT
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quick fit system, strong locks, streamlined, large storage
"This item is fantastic and has made weekends away more comfortable now we don't have all the back seats piled up with luggage. My main worry was fuel economy and how much more fuel I would use with this large item fixed to the roof.
Well all I can say is it must be very streamlined because I have not had a noticeable increase in fuel costs.
We also do not get any wind noise from the roof box even when traveling at 70 mph.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WALLASEY
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent purchase,
June 10, 2013
By EmmaHugs
from Bath
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this box as we need to double my boot space on camping trips - this box does the job excellently. Extremely easy to fit and dismantle. Very light when empty. On reviewing various boxes the locking seems very delicate but not on this model, it locks very easily. Very happy customer."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (BATH RD)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good value roofbox,
June 09, 2013
By timjibs
from Manchester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quick fitting kit
"We bought this roofbox while it was on offer, making it even cheaper. Compare this to other similar sized boxes and the good value becomes apparent.
The quick fitting kit works a treat, making it a doddle to put on your car in minutes.
As for the rest of this review, the roofbox did everything a roofbox should.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? MANCHESTER (WHITE CITY)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exodus 470l roof box,
June 09, 2013
By Ali56
from Ferndown, Dorset
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Easily fitted box, with plenty of room inside. aero dynamic, but still able to fit a good amount of luggage inside."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? FERNDOWN
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
June 07, 2013
By MB66
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We have used the 360L model for a number of years, but need the additional carry capacity. Ordered the box on line and collected it within the hour. Staff were excellent and fitted it within 10 mins. We have just returned from our latest camping trip and we are couldn't be more delighted with it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? NORTH SHIELDS
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Roof box,
June 04, 2013
By En11
from Norwich
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Easy to install. Great space. Helped spread the load. Allowed family of 4 to go camping with tent ietc and had enough room ti get childs bike in boot."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looks good,
June 03, 2013
By Nelly6121
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Got this fitted a couple of weeks ago and it's really good. Thought it would look massive on my car but looks good and feels good while driving. Easy to remove from bars aswell. Staff at halfords were really helpful with fitting and any questions I had I defo recommend this box"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords roof box,
June 02, 2013
By Taxking
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This product is excellent value for money
Very easy to fit with the one click system
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? WORKSOP
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
12next>>