Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey

The Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey has a sleek aerodynamic design and is built with ABS material.
Average Customer Rating:
4.419 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
18
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
40 of 42(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
49 Questions | 53 Answers
Customer Reviews for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Review 1 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
not recommended,
October 01, 2014
By kimlet96
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"2* .... the first box we bought would not open as one of the three latches was jammed shut. Halfords exchanged it for another. Very tricky to fit the clamps furthest from the opening side if you are on your own. Over the first weekend of use the second box locking mechanism jammed and we could not lock or unlock so we had to use ratchet straps.
Roomy & cheap"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exodus 470 L Roof Box Grey,
September 26, 2014
By Gazza37
from Llantwit Major, Vale of Glamorgan, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality of products
Cons: none
"Although I we have an estate car for our camping hols, we decided to buy a roof box and bars from Halfords. Having done a lot of research, we opted to go to Halfords because of the bundle offers they have. We decided to pay a little bit more and upgrade the roof bars to the Thule Wing Bars and free fitting. Very pleased, can't wait to go camping again. Thank you Halfords."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? CARDIFF (NEWPORT RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value product - no problems at this price,
August 29, 2014
By AlanSh
from Bushey, Hertfordshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: triple latching, value, easy fit
Cons: a little plastic
"I have had a Halfords roofbox for 7 years. The old one broke when it was forced shut on a hard box so we needed a replacement fast.
The exodus 470 is a little smaller than we had before, but still it took plenty of load, the three latching points gave a feeling of safety, and the locking mechanism for both the attachment to the bars and the lock itself, work smoothly.
Can't fault this product at this price. Nearest competitor nearly 50% more, all i need it to do, is sit on the roof and hold my stuff!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? WATFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to fit,
August 26, 2014
By Dj86
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: nice and light
Cons: top could do with opening a bit further
"Easy to fit although a bit of a fiddle to fit the far brackets if you have short arms
Plenty of room for all the bits that didn't fit in the car
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Which Store did you visit? LLANELLI
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's big and fairly clever,
August 12, 2014
By naich
from Cambridge, Cambridge, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: it's big
Cons: wind noise
"I bought this to replace the roof bag we used when we went camping. On paper it was bigger and I thought that the aerodynamic shape would mean less noise.
While it is certainly bigger, it actually makes MORE noise than the lumpy bumpy old roof bag did. It looks aerodynamic but it's not, and you have to turn your radio up if you are going more than 50MPH.
Build quality is fairly good. The quick release clamps work well but have a slightly flimsy feel to them. The lid fits well but needs a bit of force to heave it into place to lock it down. Once it is closed up it all feels quite solid."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? CAMBRIDGE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value, and up to the job,
August 11, 2014
By guppyboy
from UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Got this roof box fitted by Halfords the other day. It was as expected, and good value for money. The locking mechanism takes a little getting used to as it sometimes gets stuck if not done properly, but overall I would recommend this product. The reason it doesn't get five stars is the locking mechanism issue."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? EVESHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit for purpose - but a 2-person fit,
August 07, 2014
By AdeO
from West Byfleet, Surrey, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality of build, looks, useable volume
Cons: removeable fittings, needs 2 people to fit, covering spare holes to stop rain coming in
"Stylish looking and easily able to swallow a boot full of soft bags or loose items (don't plan to put suitcases in - they lose you space).
My 2 serious issues with this box are the awkward, detachable fittings/mountings and the inability (for most) to fit it on their own.
Fittings - my previous box had permanently fitted 'jaws' underneath that you wound open at the 4 corners and once the box had been slid into place on the rails, you simply spun the internal butterfly wheel and the jaws closed tight. This box has very effective but detachable fittings that further break down into 2 parts. Also, when removing, you need to remember to put a cloth or tea-towel under the 2 fittings farthest away if you are removing it on your own because as soon as you release the mechanism, the u-bolt falls on your car.
Two-person fitting - It's very disappointing that the configuration of the box makes it impossible to fit the box on your own. You can't fit the metal u-bolts on the far side of the box without another person (and I am 6'4" tall) which is a negative point compared to my previous box.
A final minor niggle is that unlike the sliding 'jaw' type fitting/mounting mechanism, you have to put plastic stickers over the 'spare' holes left by the mounting bracket. If you don't, water will get into the bottom of the box when it rains as it simply runs along the underside. Not a huge problem but it means you can't use it on another car with a different spacing between bars without removing and replacing. They only give you enough to do that once and then you into duct tape.
Once fitted, it does what it's supposed to."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? BYFLEET
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great space,
August 06, 2014
By Dazzafan
from Bristol, City of Bristol, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This roof box doesn't look too big when it's on top of my ford focus yet there is so much space in it, highly recommended!!!
I think this box would be a great buy for anyone."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (EASTGATE)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good customer service,
August 03, 2014
By Arry52
from Maidstone, Maidstone, Kent, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Ordered on line, went to store and although in stock no-one to fit, but made appointment for next day. Went back fitted in very short time excellent service, thanks. Unfortunately the review process is a real pain trying to find a nickname that no-one else is using!!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Which Store did you visit? MAIDSTONE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product good but a nightmare to fit,
July 29, 2014
By Culshee
from Luton
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: the box, the price
Cons: fitting
"Whilst the actual box is good the fixing of it to the bars on the hinge side was an absolute nightmare even with two savvi people and a ladder. Looking on various sites this appears to be a common complaint. If you get one let them fit it in store but remember you will still have problems when it comes to refitting it !!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Fishing
Which Store did you visit? DUNSTABLE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the best products in the market,
July 28, 2014
By Kanona
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The set up is not complicated, strong build, elegant. Limited air noise when the car windows are opened on 40 mile speed and above, but not irritating; other not heard when windows are closed."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Which Store did you visit? PERTH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for a trip to France,
June 11, 2014
By GrayUK
from Suffolk, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: capacity, quality
"Just what we wanted - extra storage without the hassle of a trailer!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
Which Store did you visit? IPSWICH (EURO RTL PK)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great for a family needing more space,
May 23, 2014
By Tim37
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great box gives so much more room easy to use and access could not have gone on holiday without it"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Which Store did you visit? WINCHESTER
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All you need,
September 15, 2013
By Adrian72
from Sheffield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This roof box is everything we wanted. It's huge, doubling the storage space provided by our Mondeo boot.
It's solid, easy to fit, and the side opening makes it easy to load and unload. Another plus is the aerodynamic design so that it won't have too bad an impact on fuel economy"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WORKSOP
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First time roof box owner,
September 03, 2013
By Dittonsox
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: size
Cons: stupid fitting clamp system
"Great service as ever at Basingstoke! A good quality product with loads of extra storage. Definitely a 2 person job to fit particularly around the hinge side. The new super duper fixing system is poorly conceived and not as good as the wing nut type as it doesn't allow for tightening. Hence the first time I tried fitting the box the U clamps were a little loose and rattled. I recommend a hard back a paper back and a little extra cardboard to hold the clamp in place if fitting solo!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent roof box,
August 26, 2013
By Vikki16
from Stockport
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: looks good
Cons: shows up dead flies!!
"This roof box was replace a trailer we had, wasn't sure if it would fit in our camping gear, but it did. My husband found it easy to attach to the roof bars (also exodus) loads of space in the box and with the extra discount on the Internet made it good value."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? STOCKPORT
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent,
August 09, 2013
By Jase911
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Great value for money. The only draw back is (and I think this is the same with all roof boxes) that its difficult to attach to the roof bars at the hinge end of the box. That said, it's got a quick fit unit that is so much easier than trying to screw down wing nuts!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
August 07, 2013
By Davo79
from Bolton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very happy with this roof box. Bought the roof box for extra luggage space for a holiday to cornwall. The roof box held more than I thought it would and it only cost me an extra £10 in fuel to travel to and from my holiday."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BOLTON (MANCHESTER RD)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value for the price,
August 05, 2013
By Bazza57
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: fixing system
Cons: sometimes hard to lock properly
"Excellent storage capacity. Click system for fixing to roof bars is simple and woks well. Material is a bit flimsier than anticipated but so far does the job. Only slight criticism is that the box can be a bit difficult to lock but fortunately keys cannot be removed until it is properly locked."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey,
July 29, 2013
By PaddingtonBeard
from Fleet
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: every thing
"Can only say Awesome, does what it says on the tin. The very nice helpful people down at Halfords Farnbough bought the Roof Box out to my car for me, (Must Admit I was a tad optimistic thinking I could get it inside to take home) But when it was obvious it would not fit inside they said not to worry and promptly fitted it to my roof rack. The box makes all the difference to us going away for our trips whereas before something always had to be left behind because there was no room, now just pops into the roof box and were on our way.
I have got to say how easy it is to use, one key and all is locked and safe. The other thing that I was amazed about was how solid it is. When it’s open it seems a bit wobbly but rest assured it’s an illusion. Solid as a Rock is the only way I can describe it. Quite too, and to be honest I haven’t noticed much difference in the miles per gallon. All together a brilliant buy. Like I said at the start. Does exacley what it says on the tin!!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>