Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey

The Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey has a sleek aerodynamic design and is built with ABS material.
Average Customer Rating:
4.384 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(73 Reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (73 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
29
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
67 of 71(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
49 Questions | 53 Answers
Customer Reviews for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Review 1 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good capacity,
June 26, 2016
By
from Denny
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: 2 fixings closest to opening are easy to secure
Cons: 2 fixings furthest from opening not easy to secure
" This is a great roof box, easy to fit and has a great capacity. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? FALKIRK
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What it says on the tin!,
June 01, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Lots of space, neat looking, easy attachment and easy lock (safety feature that you can't leave it unlocked ie keys won't remove if unlocked). Exactly what we needed, lots more space at a good price! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice Box good price,
May 17, 2016
By
from Margate, Kent, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" fitted the box myself in the carpark, would be easier as a two man job though! The quick fit fastenings were ok but not as easy to get tight as the old fashioned screw fit types. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? MARGATE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit for purpose,
May 13, 2016
By
from New Forest District, Hampshire, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: carrying capacity, performance on the road
Cons: difficulty in locking lid, difficulty in fitting on your own
" The roof box certainly provides a significant addition to car carrying capacity. The box and roof bars were easily fitted by the Halford's fitters. However having a Tiguan a step ladder is required to evenly load the box due to the height of the car and the width of the box. A box that can open on both sides would have improved access. Opening the lid on the box can be difficult and aligning the lock catch on the lid into the lock is not easy. It became easier as you become familiar with opening and shutting the lid. The lack of rigidity of the lid causes the problem. Removing the box on my own was not easy due to the size and weight of the box and the height of the car. Box performed well on the road with little noise. It flexes slightly at 70mph and it's worth checking at regular intervals to ensure it is secure. I had not moved and was secure after an 800 mile journey around Northumberland "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? CHRISTCHURCH
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good value.,
May 01, 2016
By
from Northumberland, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Hard to put on roof rack by yourself, but managed. loads of extra space. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great service,
March 09, 2016
By
from Selby, Selby, North Yorkshire YO8, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: staff
" Great service , patient and helpful advice and fitting "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SELBY
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very stable and secure,
February 20, 2016
By
from Cambs
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of fitting
" Purchased with the exodus bars and feet and it made a very good package. Easy to fit and good space inside.
Really pleased with how secure it felt when fitted, having not used one before my main concern was how secure it would be.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? PETERBOROUGH
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good value,
February 02, 2016
By
from Birmingham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: hardy and lightweight
Cons: awkward to fit alone
" I've used this box on the car for over 1000 miles now through some very stormy weather too. Not a drop of water gets in, wind noise is minimal and is large enough for a family of 4.
Overall very pleased and would recommend, only negative is it's a little tricky for me to fit it on my own (tall with long arms) so I'd say 2 people needed to fit.
Also very light and can be suspended in the garage rafters easily when not in use.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
yuliyan,
December 21, 2015
By
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
" only dual side box do not go to 1side opening goo for Thule "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-16points
2out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product was just what they needed,
December 18, 2015
By
from Orkney, Orkney, Orkney KW17, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This product was just what my daughter and partner were looking for. Decided to order through the internet and the product was delivered by the time stipulated which was excellent as we live on the Islands off the north of Scotland and lots of places refuse to deliver to us. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exodus Roof Box,
October 15, 2015
By
from Telford, Telford and Wrekin, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Due to having two children under 4, one of which is less than 6 months, it turns out I need a lot of stuff if we are all going away anywhere. To that end I needed additional storage for the car and this roof box was looking as the best option. It had plenty of capacity and it was a reasonable price. It turned out to be very easy to fit, although those with short arms may struggle, and it swallowed all that I put in it. Recommended. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? TELFORD
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ideal for the larger family,
September 02, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Easy to fit and is ideal for the larger sized family. Very pleased with product - although disappointed with promised delivery that did not turn up on the day requested and came on the following day. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
August 31, 2015
By
from Liverpool, Merseyside, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" A good product, bought for family hols down to Devon, provided a great extra amount of storage and when fitted with Aero roof bars, hardly noticed it was on, very little noise beyond a quiet whistle when everything in the car was quiet. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LIVERPOOL
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Too difficult to fit and close,
August 22, 2015
By
from Oxford
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: looks okay
Cons: fiddly lock and bolt clips
" I spent half an hour in the rain trying to close the box, and eventually managed it after taking quite a lot of stuff out. The trouble with this product is that once you've worked out how to get the thing done up tightly using the clips, the safety mechanisms which push down three buttons have to be perfectly aligned before you can close it. This is simple when the box is empty or when there's not much in it. But on holiday with the family and a need to load up and drive away repeatedly you're much better off with a Thule. I had one of these previously and will be swapping this model for a Thule, gladly paying the difference. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? OXFORD
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really good roof box,
August 18, 2015
By
from Bolton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" It's my first roof box and I was quite scared of buying, fitting and travelling with it. I did about 3000miles so far, 1500 to go this summer.
Fitting was quite easy, the box is light I managed to do everything with my 12yo son. The only challenge was to 'click' the two handles which are on the farther side from the lock, you need a ladder and long arm to fast it. But once done I don't plan to remove it from the bars.
I bought Exodus Aero bars, which look nice. I read many reviews that bars and roof box can be noisy, but in this case I can notice additional noise when going over 80mph, but far below my initial expectations.
The instruction don't recommend to exceed 70mph, but at some points I had to go even 95mph (usually 75-80mph on motorways) without any issues.
I definitely notice drop of mpg, but that's normal thing, fortunately with cheap diesel (around 80p per litre) in Europe I'm not too bothered.
In general I'm really happy with it. Large, easy to load/unload and I didn't spend a fortune on it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BOLTON (HORWICH)
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super service in Longford,
August 12, 2015
By
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
" I would like to highlight the wonderful service Kevin in your Longford Branch offered me during a recent visit to your store . He stayed on after closing time to fit a roof box in the rain . He really couldn't have been more helpful.
Regards
Vinnie "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Basic, Simple, Does the job,
August 07, 2015
By
from Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Overall happy with it, great capacity and hard-wearing.
When clipping the clamps together on the far side of the box you need two people and long arms!!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GREAT FAMILY ROOF BOX,
August 01, 2015
By
from Paisley, Renfrewshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: secure seal on box
Cons: tricky to get key out
" GOOD SIZE.HANDY HOLDING STRAPS.EASY TO FIT.GREAT TO DRIVE WITH,NO NOISE WHILE DRIVING. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? PAISLEY
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exodus 470L roof Box,
July 28, 2015
By
from Wye, Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Well packed inBox, Easy to fit on roof bars, you need a tape measure to ensure that it is fitted in the position required.It is a 2 handed job, fitting on larger cars you will need a set of steps as you need to lean well over to fit the quick fit catches to the hinge side of the roof box.
Nice and waterproof,very little wind noise, did not notice when full in straight line motion, but will obviously feel it when going round sharper bends at speed.
70 mph is a sensible top speed.
I would definitely recommend it to anybody, very good value for money
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? ASHFORD
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very happy with the Exodux 470L roof box,
July 26, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" When buying a roof box I read a lot of reviews about the different boxes around. This one seemed to be the most consistent and I can confirm that it is great value for money. The lock is a bit tricky initially but you get used to it and get on with it. I was very pleasantly surprised that there was no 'wind' noise with it. Fitting to the roof bars was a bit fiddly with the quick lock system but again once you get used to it, it is no longer a problem. The box does feel flimsy but don't be fooled, it is rock solid when in place and locked. A great buy! :-) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? LIMERICK (ROI)
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>