Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey

The Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey has a sleek aerodynamic design and is built with ABS material.
Average Customer Rating:
4.417 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(60 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (60 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
25
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
55 of 58(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
49 Questions | 53 Answers
Customer Reviews for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Review 1 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Too difficult to fit and close,
August 22, 2015
By
from Oxford
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: looks okay
Cons: fiddly lock and bolt clips
" I spent half an hour in the rain trying to close the box, and eventually managed it after taking quite a lot of stuff out. The trouble with this product is that once you've worked out how to get the thing done up tightly using the clips, the safety mechanisms which push down three buttons have to be perfectly aligned before you can close it. This is simple when the box is empty or when there's not much in it. But on holiday with the family and a need to load up and drive away repeatedly you're much better off with a Thule. I had one of these previously and will be swapping this model for a Thule, gladly paying the difference. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? OXFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really good roof box,
August 18, 2015
By
from Bolton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" It's my first roof box and I was quite scared of buying, fitting and travelling with it. I did about 3000miles so far, 1500 to go this summer.
Fitting was quite easy, the box is light I managed to do everything with my 12yo son. The only challenge was to 'click' the two handles which are on the farther side from the lock, you need a ladder and long arm to fast it. But once done I don't plan to remove it from the bars.
I bought Exodus Aero bars, which look nice. I read many reviews that bars and roof box can be noisy, but in this case I can notice additional noise when going over 80mph, but far below my initial expectations.
The instruction don't recommend to exceed 70mph, but at some points I had to go even 95mph (usually 75-80mph on motorways) without any issues.
I definitely notice drop of mpg, but that's normal thing, fortunately with cheap diesel (around 80p per litre) in Europe I'm not too bothered.
In general I'm really happy with it. Large, easy to load/unload and I didn't spend a fortune on it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BOLTON (HORWICH)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super service in Longford,
August 12, 2015
By
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
" I would like to highlight the wonderful service Kevin in your Longford Branch offered me during a recent visit to your store . He stayed on after closing time to fit a roof box in the rain . He really couldn't have been more helpful.
Regards
Vinnie "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Basic, Simple, Does the job,
August 07, 2015
By
from Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Overall happy with it, great capacity and hard-wearing.
When clipping the clamps together on the far side of the box you need two people and long arms!!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GREAT FAMILY ROOF BOX,
August 01, 2015
By
from Paisley, Renfrewshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: secure seal on box
Cons: tricky to get key out
" GOOD SIZE.HANDY HOLDING STRAPS.EASY TO FIT.GREAT TO DRIVE WITH,NO NOISE WHILE DRIVING. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? PAISLEY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exodus 470L roof Box,
July 28, 2015
By
from Wye, Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Well packed inBox, Easy to fit on roof bars, you need a tape measure to ensure that it is fitted in the position required.It is a 2 handed job, fitting on larger cars you will need a set of steps as you need to lean well over to fit the quick fit catches to the hinge side of the roof box.
Nice and waterproof,very little wind noise, did not notice when full in straight line motion, but will obviously feel it when going round sharper bends at speed.
70 mph is a sensible top speed.
I would definitely recommend it to anybody, very good value for money
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? ASHFORD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very happy with the Exodux 470L roof box,
July 26, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" When buying a roof box I read a lot of reviews about the different boxes around. This one seemed to be the most consistent and I can confirm that it is great value for money. The lock is a bit tricky initially but you get used to it and get on with it. I was very pleasantly surprised that there was no 'wind' noise with it. Fitting to the roof bars was a bit fiddly with the quick lock system but again once you get used to it, it is no longer a problem. The box does feel flimsy but don't be fooled, it is rock solid when in place and locked. A great buy! :-) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? LIMERICK (ROI)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Buy,
June 28, 2015
By
from Bedfordshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: nice size well made
Cons: quick fit / release brackets
" Bought as a replacement for a similar sized 15 yr old Halfords roof box. It is in fact larger but that's not a bad thing.
It comes with "quick fit / release " mounting brackets which I find are more trouble than benefit. They are awkward to reach on the hinged side of the box and they don't stop the box from sliding as they don't always pull down tight. Tee bolts and lock nuts are a much more secure solution (as I leave the box permanently fitted to the roof bars and remove them as a unit) and don't provide raised obstructions inside the box. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? DUNSTABLE
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good product and service,
June 17, 2015
By
from uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit and load
" I bought the roof box whilst on holiday in Cornwall. The box came as a package' including the roof bars and fitting. The fitter explained everything he was doing, especially how to remove and replace the box, so now I have no worries about doing so. The package was very good value and the product good quality and ideal for my needs "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? ST. AUSTELL
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great service.,
June 16, 2015
By
from spalding lincolnshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" i ordered my box and roof rack on the friday and it was fitted on the monday by a lovely friendly fitter. it took him about a hour so it's alot better than fitting it yourself unless you already know how to. but when we came to take it off it was very difficult to remove the back fixings on the box even standing on a step ladder which seems to take you further away from the fixings. but someone told me a great tip. take it all off in one go by taking the roof bars off with it on. i've yet to try it. but it's a great box plenty of room. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SPALDING
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Much needed,
June 14, 2015
By
from Porth, Rhondda Cynon Taff, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: exttra room for camping
Cons: fitter unable to fit the rails
" As go camping with 3 females this as a much needed product for my car, it was easy to fit although Halfords couldn't do it and the fitter told me that they always recommend different roof racks but didn't have any in stock. Very pleased with the product surprisingly quiet as I was expecting a howling wind didn't even know it was up there I would recommend this to anyone but fit it yourself don't waste 2 hrs watching a frustrated fitter. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? PONTYPRIDD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job,
June 14, 2015
By
from Waterlooville
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: how it looks
Cons: can be hard to lock
" I am happy with this roof box. I bought it as part of a deal (roof bars and fitting bundle).
Have only used it once so far but have no concerns about it.
It can be a little hard to get to lock, but I think that iI will probably get the knack after a couple of uses. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? WATERLOOVILLE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Roof box,
June 10, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I was intending to buy a smaller one. Ended up getting the bigger one. It's a little flimsy but does the job! All roof boxes are expensive, so better value than most. Easy to fit! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good box but a little flimsy.,
May 07, 2015
By
from Liverpool, Merseyside, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good size vs width
Cons: flimsy on larger cars
" I bought the 360 half width box as I carry a kayak also on roof bars. The extra space is a god send. for all the kayak and camping gear . I have a long people carrier I need the bars quite far apart for the kayak and found the box to be flimsy like this, but i re enforced the bottom 3 grooves with wood battens and sealer. the result is amazing , its quieter and a lot sturdier and highly recommended as it makes an ok box good. bit flimsy but you get what you pay for. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? LIVERPOOL
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very pleased,
April 28, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Im very pleased with the product does the job perfectly but did pay for a bundle so it would be fitted yet they had to have two different members of staff on at the same time to fit and they never were so ended up having to fit myself the product is great but the servise from Halford was awful "
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? ILKESTON
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit for purpose,
January 06, 2015
By
from Wimbledon, London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" This is a solid and well- sized box, good for a family of four plus dog! A good price compared with others ( a similar capacity thule-branded one was nearly £500 more expensive!)
My husband can put this up on his own, takes less than 10 minutes. Just very big to store when not on roof!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? NEW MALDEN
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exodus 470L Roof Box,
December 30, 2014
By
from Aylesbury, Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cons: the lock sometimes is difficult to turn
" Overall great, seems to be waterproof and has plenty of space to store allsorts of things, we got the families Christmas presents in this year.
Overall it's great, however the lock sometimes is difficult to get right and takes a bit of fiddling to close. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? LEIGHTON BUZZARD
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
not recommended,
October 01, 2014
By
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
" 2* .... the first box we bought would not open as one of the three latches was jammed shut. Halfords exchanged it for another. Very tricky to fit the clamps furthest from the opening side if you are on your own. Over the first weekend of use the second box locking mechanism jammed and we could not lock or unlock so we had to use ratchet straps.
Roomy & cheap "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exodus 470 L Roof Box Grey,
September 26, 2014
By
from Llantwit Major, Vale of Glamorgan, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality of products
Cons: none
" Although I we have an estate car for our camping hols, we decided to buy a roof box and bars from Halfords. Having done a lot of research, we opted to go to Halfords because of the bundle offers they have. We decided to pay a little bit more and upgrade the roof bars to the Thule Wing Bars and free fitting. Very pleased, can't wait to go camping again. Thank you Halfords. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? CARDIFF (NEWPORT RD)
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Exodus 470L Roof Box Grey
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value product - no problems at this price,
August 29, 2014
By
from Bushey, Hertfordshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: triple latching, value, easy fit
Cons: a little plastic
" I have had a Halfords roofbox for 7 years. The old one broke when it was forced shut on a hard box so we needed a replacement fast.
The exodus 470 is a little smaller than we had before, but still it took plenty of load, the three latching points gave a feeling of safety, and the locking mechanism for both the attachment to the bars and the lock itself, work smoothly.
Can't fault this product at this price. Nearest competitor nearly 50% more, all i need it to do, is sit on the roof and hold my stuff! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? WATFORD
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>