Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Raleigh Scafell Mountain Bike - 19"

The Raleigh Scafell Mountain Bike - 19" has a lightweight aluminium frame with 18 speed Shimano gearing making and front suspension making it perfect for both on and off road use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.438 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
12
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
27 of 31(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Raleigh Scafell Mountain Bike - 19"
Review 1 for Raleigh Scafell Mountain Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value!!,
October 28, 2013
By lmc123
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A light and sturdy bike, excellent value for money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Raleigh Scafell Mountain Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Light well made,
October 10, 2013
By Bernard74
from Deal Kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great bike for my 16 year old son light for him well put together and was a great sale price I highly recommend this bike for any cyclist ."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? DOVER
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Raleigh Scafell Mountain Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great looking bike,
October 04, 2013
By TheWeeman
from UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This bike was a gift and was well recieved. Great looking adult bike and great to ride."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Raleigh Scafell Mountain Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike,
October 03, 2013
By Anonymous
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Great looking mountain bike,it goes the job and in style. Love riding the bike but many need to change my alloys/tyres from mountain bike to road bike for more speed. But it is great to have fun and loss weight from this bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? ENFIELD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Raleigh Scafell Mountain Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Get what you pay for,
September 07, 2013
By SMAN
from Sheffield
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: gears
"Had this bike 2 weeks... Been back to halfords 4 times to get it repaired gears set up incorrectly causing damage to front derailleur and chain guard to snap off had these replaced, still problems ended up getting money back.. Bag of plop!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (QUEENS RD)
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Raleigh Scafell Mountain Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gears.,
August 16, 2013
By Bicyclerider
from Cornwall
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought it about 6 weeks ago and am pleased with it exept that I sometimes have trouble changing gear on the chainwheel from middle to small. 60% of the time it works OK but 40% of the time the chain either won't go to the small chainwheel or it goes too far and comes off.
I have taken it back twice and the person who served me was very helpful and did his best to make it work correctly and even touched in the paintwork where the chain when it came off dug into the frame right into the metal.
It's a shame that I have this problem sometimes with it because I like the bike and am pleased with it apart from the gear problem.
"
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? ST. AUSTELL
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Raleigh Scafell Mountain Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product,
August 11, 2013
By cycleman13
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Good bike at a good price. Comfortable to ride and adequate spec for fun cycling,"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? CHEADLE
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Raleigh Scafell Mountain Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value for money,
August 08, 2013
By GooseberryBush
from Blackburn
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Good quality mountain mountain bike & great value for money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? BLACKBURN
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Raleigh Scafell Mountain Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Raleigh,
July 31, 2013
By andy233
from suffolk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've owned many bike over years of bike, and the Raleigh's have always served me well. This mountain bike is built well and rides well too.
Brakes and Gears feel quality and have been setup just right by the store, seats a little firm, but nothing a gel seat cover can't fix.
bottom lines, good all rounder you'll love it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? LOWESTOFT
+23points
26out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Raleigh Scafell Mountain Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price for a great starter bike,
July 30, 2013
By Stu71
from Uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Returning to biking after about 20 years. The price was right, andh the quality really good. The bike was delivered on a Saturday as requested. Problem with the front brake so took it into store and they fixed it immediately (without even checking if I'd bought it from them). Can't fault the Cusomer Service."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? EXETER (RYDON LANE RTL PK)
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Raleigh Scafell Mountain Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mens Raleigh Scafell 19",
July 28, 2013
By Robsome
from Lancaster
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: price, build quality
Cons: colour design, gear change
"Decent bike vs price. Looks appealing (in build quality) fairly light, not keen on the colour but that's personal preference! I've had it about a month & used it quite a lot, enjoy using it although the gear change is not the best. Gears can stick higher up or not connect smoothly which is annoying but could be a case of needing bedding in albeit as mentioned I have used it a lot in a month!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? LANCASTER
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Raleigh Scafell Mountain Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent,
July 27, 2013
By Gaz6926
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I'm very very happy with my purchase - this bike provides excellent value for money - well built and relitively lightweight. Worth every penny!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
Which Store did you visit? BLACKPOOL
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Raleigh Scafell Mountain Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Ride for a Beginner,
July 24, 2013
By tez182
from highlands, scotland.
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: strong smooth ride
Cons: gears slip
"Good ride, suspension is a bonus on the front with really good brakes and durability. Having a few problems with the gears slipping and positioning. needed tweaking within a couple of rides."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? INVERNESS
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Raleigh Scafell Mountain Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service,
July 24, 2013
By Orange77
from Leeds
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought a Raleigh Scaffell bike from Halfords Leeds meadow road on 23/06/13. I called and reserved the bike, I asked for advice when choosing between 2 bikes. I was given very good advice, the store did not try to advice me to buy the more expensive one. When I got to the store to collect the bike, I got excellent service and got the right advice when buying all the accessories I wanted.
First class service.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (MEADOW RD)
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Raleigh Scafell Mountain Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good value,
July 23, 2013
By jesuslovesyou1
from glasgow scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"well worth the money, good value and service.
Although saying I must use 30 characters does put me off filling in these forms.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? BRAEHEAD
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Raleigh Scafell Mountain Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No criticisms I can think of!,
July 22, 2013
By KConwheels
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent value for a solid, reliable bicycle. No criticisms."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Raleigh Scafell Mountain Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money,
July 22, 2013
By Jacko787
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Just got back into cycling after a long lay off this bike is light easy to handle and great value gears are easy to change and a nice price too"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Fishing
Which Store did you visit? DARLINGTON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Raleigh Scafell Mountain Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic Value,
July 22, 2013
By Bopo72
from Glasgow
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Got this bike in the sale, great value for money, thanks Halfords"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? GLASGOW (RUTHERGLEN)
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Raleigh Scafell Mountain Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Product not right for me,
July 21, 2013
By IanNotts
from Nottingham
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: patient customer service
Cons: doesn't fit me well
"I bought a mountain bike (Scafell) on Sat 29/6/13. I spent sometime choosing and the service was good on the whole (see below) .
When I had taken it home, I realised that I could not fit my child seat to the bike because all suitable parts of the frame had gear cables on their surfaces.
2 other things I have noticed since:
1) I think the bike is slightly too small for me. With the saddle stem at full extension, my leg isn’t quite straight. I could get a longer saddle stem (I did discuss this with Ben but there didn’t seem to be any in store). In any case the handle bars don’t seem to go up more than about an inch so a higher saddle would mean riding bent over.
2) The top gear is not as big as I expected; in fact I seem to be able to ride in top gear almost the whole time, which suggests the gearing is too low. Gear changing doesn’t seem very smooth and, although I have heeded advice to keep the chain straight, it seems to click as I ride.
These are not things I noticed riding round the store but they soon becomes apparent when riding on a road. Perhaps you should offer customers the chance to ride the bike round outside (say, in a compound, up a ramp to test the gears).
Otherwise the bike is pleasantly light and gives a smooth ride but I am not sure it is quite the right bike for me for the reasons cited above."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? CHILWELL - NOTTINGHAM
-5points
2out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Raleigh Scafell Mountain Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good soild bike,
July 16, 2013
By Jamjactri
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Reseved on line and collected at a local store. The bike was ready and staff were excellent. Nice and light, I would recommend this machine to anyone looking for a decent starter bike. Everything seems to work fine and I can't wait to put it through it's paces"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>