Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Shimano SH56 Multi-Release MTB SPD Cleats

The Shimano SH56 Multi-Release MTB SPD Cleats allow release from the pedal by twisting your heel..
Average Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
39 of 40(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Shimano SH56 Multi-Release MTB SPD Cleats
Review 1 for Shimano SH56 Multi-Release MTB SPD Cleats
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Hard-Wearing Cleats,
June 21, 2016
By
from Glasgow, Glasgow City, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: hardwearing, smooth release
Cons: none
" These are great cleats. the retaining screws are hardwearing as well as the cleats so that the heads do not round off.
Work in Boardman SPD pedals. "
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shimano SH56 Multi-Release MTB SPD Cleats
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
June 01, 2016
By
from midlands
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
Cons: didn't come with my shoes!
" I bought these to replace the uni directional cleats that came with my first pair of spd shoes and they are much better for me.
They engage easily and disengage much better giving me confidence that I won't end up lady on the floor still trying to get my feet out of the pedals.
Highly recommended
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SWADLINCOTE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shimano SH56 Multi-Release MTB SPD Cleats
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Simple to use,
May 22, 2016
By
from wellingborough
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: easy to use
" My old pair of shoes died whilst out on a ride , so tohught i would fit some new cleats to my new shoes . Easy enough to do , just remember to tighten them up .
And use the Halfords on line service as much cheaper than in shop buying ! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? WELLINGBOROUGH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shimano SH56 Multi-Release MTB SPD Cleats
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Much better than the single release cleats.,
May 18, 2016
By
from Lytham St Annes
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Found these release far easier when required, but nevertheless lock positively even on the lightest setting on my pedals.
No fear of falling over at the lights now!
I would definitely recommend these for beginners like me. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? BLACKPOOL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shimano SH56 Multi-Release MTB SPD Cleats
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great products,
May 18, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: lose but firm clip
Cons: nothing
" Reserved on line, notification that ready for collection within an hour or so, collected and saved £10 on shop price. The Sh56 allow you to unclip easy if you need to put your foot down quickly. Just what I wanted for my cross bike. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shimano SH56 Multi-Release MTB SPD Cleats
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimano light weight and Strong,
May 01, 2016
By
from Hertfordshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very strong, very light, great price
" Strong but light and at a great price wished I'd brought a spare pair just in case... "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shimano SH56 Multi-Release MTB SPD Cleats
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimano SH56 SPD cleats,
February 09, 2016
By
from Basingstoke, Hampshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" As you expect from Shimano. Excellent cleats. Used these few a few years. Never lets me down. "
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BASINGSTOKE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shimano SH56 Multi-Release MTB SPD Cleats
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Spd pedals shimano,
February 07, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great product .. Very Hp. Good service and quick pick up with no hassle at all "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shimano SH56 Multi-Release MTB SPD Cleats
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimano SH56 Multi-Release MTB SPD Cleats,
January 07, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Shimano cleats always reliable hold the shoe in nicely. Great online price with a further discount. Store had it in stock ready. Very good service. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shimano SH56 Multi-Release MTB SPD Cleats
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Widely unknown and under-rated,
October 29, 2015
By
from Isle of Wight, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is my second set of Multi-Release SPD cleats, the first set having been worn to death. I was a newcomer to clip-in pedals with the first set and lacked confidence. I use them for touring, easy off-roading and utility trips. Until they were thoroughly worn out I never had them release when I didn't want them to. Conversely, they released nicely in rare mishaps. I can use (and have used) ordinary single-release cleats, but see no reason not to enjoy the benefit of multi-release ones, since I definitely favour detaching from the bike automatically in a crash. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ISLE OF WIGHT
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shimano SH56 Multi-Release MTB SPD Cleats
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Multi Directional Cleats,
September 28, 2015
By
from Yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Click and collect works...
Cleats are good tried these on the advise of some bloke on the trail. First time in cleats after a while deciding to go down this route. Brilliant a lot better than flat pedals in my opinion and these cleats allow more flexibility to get out. MTB riding now better and in some cases easier, I do a lot of cycle trails and venture to Sherwood pines once or twice a month and roughly 60-80 miles a week. Got these with some shims I pedals which are also good, personally glad I went to cleats. You will get stuck and come off but this for me was down to me.... much to the amusement of my fellow riders.
Worth a go.... "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shimano SH56 Multi-Release MTB SPD Cleats
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Beginner Cleats,
June 15, 2015
By
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: good beginner cleats
Cons: having to buy extra cleats with pd530 pedals
" Needed to buy these multi release cleats to replace the single release road bike cleats that came with the PD530 pedals. Unfortunately unable to do a "like for like" cleat swap in store so I had to buy a second set of cleats. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? EPSOM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shimano SH56 Multi-Release MTB SPD Cleats
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SPD CLEATS,
June 12, 2015
By
from Southport, Merseyside, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Having recently converted to SPD pedals and completing the occasional sideways floor inspection, I thought it was time to trial cleats that are easier to unlock. Great product, superb offer, would highly recommend this product. O, literature shows gold colour when in fact they are now silver. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHPORT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shimano SH56 Multi-Release MTB SPD Cleats
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MTB Cleats for road shoe,
April 30, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" The on line price for this product is good value. In store much less so. Process for on line ordering and collect locally works really well. Why pay in store prices when you can shop on line and collect from the same store? Really don't understand the Halfords reasoning here. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shimano SH56 Multi-Release MTB SPD Cleats
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value and do the job.,
March 08, 2015
By
from Wolves
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Shoes are easy in and out of the pedals with no problems.
As cheap as the online shops at this sale price.
"
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? BILSTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shimano SH56 Multi-Release MTB SPD Cleats
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value,
February 22, 2015
By
from Cumbria, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Ordered these on line and picked them up from my nearest Halfords store 2 hrs later. Found these to be the best price by comparing online. "
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Which Store did you visit? WORKINGTON
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Shimano SH56 Multi-Release MTB SPD Cleats
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant,
January 31, 2015
By
from Holkham, Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk NR23, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Easy to use for a first time user, made riding a lot more fun "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? KINGS LYNN
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Shimano SH56 Multi-Release MTB SPD Cleats
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Perfect Cleat,
January 27, 2015
By
from Enfield, Middlesex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: being able to "click out" by pushing heal in
" These cleats are brilliant. I have an old football knee injury and cant push my heals out when "clicking out" with normal cleats. With these all I have to is push my heals inwards rather than outwards on normal cleats.
A god send. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Shimano SH56 Multi-Release MTB SPD Cleats
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product as expected,
January 22, 2015
By
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Nothing special but also not disappointing! Ask again when the product has had a chance to bed in!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Shimano SH56 Multi-Release MTB SPD Cleats
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product,
January 16, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy action
" Excellent SPD cleat usual shimano quality with reall easy disengagement "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>