Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Gears, Drivetrain & Cables or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link

Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link is easy peasy to install.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
29 of 30(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Review 1 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Value,
December 28, 2015
By
from Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great value for money.
" A Shimano chain for £5.29 - Great Value. So good I bought two, one for use on a mountain bike and the other on the bike I use on the Turbo. - In fact so good I bought another two which I put in my toolbox for future use. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MARGATE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Chain,
December 12, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, quality of chain
Cons: quick link assembly
" A reasonable chain with quick link included.
The quick link is a bit more involved to put together than the usual twin sliding plate type but once joined seems equally as good.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin.,
November 19, 2015
By
from Sittingbourne, Sittingbourne, Kent, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quiet & smooth, good value
Cons: slightly fiddly connecting link
" I get through chains like there's no tomorrow. A few chains ago I bought a very expensive one and it lasted the same time as these ones - so I stick with 'em and save money!
After fitting there are no noises and the transmission runs lovely and smooth. In fact, it's so smooth during its life you have to use a chain gauge to tell when it needs replacing.
Fitting is interesting and it takes a knack to get the chain to bend right to snap the connecting link in correctly.
Once fitted, a quick oil and away we go!
(I'm a leisure cyclist and I do about 250 miles a month) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SITTINGBOURNE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfectly good chain,
November 05, 2015
By
from Marlow, Marlow, Buckinghamshire SL7, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: snap link included
" Wanted a good quality chain at a decent price for my commuting bike....and this did the job perfectly - easy to fit, snap link included. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CORBY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Value Chain,
October 10, 2015
By
from Wigan, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality, price, strength
Cons: chain link
" I cycle to work regularly and test the strength and durability of the components that i put on my bike, as i have to climb steep hills on my journey.So far i concede that i have not had the chain on my bike for long enough to give a conclusive review of its overall qualities.But first impressions i would submit it seems strong,durable,and of a quality that it will for a budget chain stand the test of time.One caution about the link you get with the chain,it can be quite difficult to get in place at first but after a few goes it becomes easier.If you have never done a chain link before it might provide you a bit of a challenge. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WIGAN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Chain's smokin,
October 06, 2015
By
from Birmingham, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Replaced a fairly new chain for the HG40 as my chainset and freewheel are shimano. Made sense. So far no accelerated wear, even in the rainy spell we're having at the moment. Pleased with it for the price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (BORDESLEY GREEN)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bad Quick Fit Connector,
September 19, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Shimano chain always used so confident of quality but these come with a really bad quick connect far too fiddly & apparently only good for one connect/reconnect so used a spare shimano black pin I had to connect it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimano bike chain.,
July 22, 2015
By
from Byfleet, Surrey, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Excellant item. Very good quality product. Easy to fit. Quick and easy online ordering. Delivered promptly to my local store. At an amazing price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BYFLEET
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality chain replacement,
June 11, 2015
By
from U.K. Midlands.
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the quality.
Cons: that link pin.
" Bought with click and collect so able to start the job quickly. All sorted easily until trying to fix the quick(!) link. This proved impossible until I re shaped it slightly so the pins pointed a little towards each other. A gentle squeeze with the pliers, a reassuring click and the job was done. New chain, all well. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? SHREWSBURY
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best chain,
June 10, 2015
By
from Shropshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy fit link
" Perfect replacement for my chain which was getting a little worn. Easy fit. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? TELFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great buy,
March 07, 2015
By
from Leicester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" this is a good quality chain for the price it is easy to shorten to length required and the supplied connecting link provides a solid joint. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (ST MARGARETS WAY)
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link,
February 19, 2015
By
from Essex
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price
" Great product and price. Have been using Shimano CN-HG40 chains for a long time now and the good price allows them to be changed on a regular basis, between 1500 and 2000 miles, thus preserving the rest of the drive train for longer. "
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? COLCHESTER
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great quality chain,
February 17, 2015
By
from Uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality, easy to fit
" Quality product and easy to fit would recommend this chain "
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? HULL (ST ANDREWS QUAY)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just what I needed...,
December 30, 2014
By
from Rhyl, Denbighshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" What can I say does what it says on the tin!!! Great product perfect for my little girls bike. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? RHYL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimano CN-HG40,
November 15, 2014
By
from London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the length is long enough to replace my bike with, it has connecting link and the price was cheap (wh
Cons: the outer quality it looks poor.
" I bought the item to replace my bike chain. It is easy to assemble and the staff help me choosing best quality chain tool. I would recommend this item if you are planning to replace your bike chain. In a good quality for the price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BALHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link,
November 12, 2014
By
from Port Talbot
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: link is okay - power link is better
" Great chain and a great price - even better with Halfords 10% off lunchtime offer. Will get miles and miles out of this chain. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? BRIDGEND
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shimano HG 40,
November 10, 2014
By
from Huntingdon, Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very good.
" Prompt delivery fitted chain in minutes snap link very easy to use runs like a dream good quality product amazing price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Which Store did you visit? HUNTINGDON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good all round chain,
November 09, 2014
By
from Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: well lubed
Cons: connecting link requires some fiddling
" I've had this chain on both of my other cycles. It's a great all-rounder. The "pre-lube" lasts a long time before oiling is needed. The connecting link does need a little fiddling but makes a good join.Very good value "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (KIRKSTALL)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job,
November 04, 2014
By
from Peak District
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Easy to fit, bike runs like new again. Great price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CHESTERFIELD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chain,
October 27, 2014
By
from Harrogate, North Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" as it says on the packet does the job as required great price "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? HARROGATE
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>