Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link

Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link is easy peasy to install.
Average Customer Rating:
4.72 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
22 of 23(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Review 1 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimano bike chain.,
July 22, 2015
By mijmaj
from Byfleet, Surrey, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Excellant item. Very good quality product. Easy to fit. Quick and easy online ordering. Delivered promptly to my local store. At an amazing price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BYFLEET
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality chain replacement,
June 11, 2015
By Robthegasman
from U.K. Midlands.
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the quality.
Cons: that link pin.
" Bought with click and collect so able to start the job quickly. All sorted easily until trying to fix the quick(!) link. This proved impossible until I re shaped it slightly so the pins pointed a little towards each other. A gentle squeeze with the pliers, a reassuring click and the job was done. New chain, all well. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? SHREWSBURY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best chain,
June 10, 2015
By Davexyz
from Shropshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy fit link
" Perfect replacement for my chain which was getting a little worn. Easy fit. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? TELFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great buy,
March 07, 2015
By saintmartin4900
from Leicester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" this is a good quality chain for the price it is easy to shorten to length required and the supplied connecting link provides a solid joint. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (ST MARGARETS WAY)
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link,
February 19, 2015
By VSFT400
from Essex
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price
" Great product and price. Have been using Shimano CN-HG40 chains for a long time now and the good price allows them to be changed on a regular basis, between 1500 and 2000 miles, thus preserving the rest of the drive train for longer. "
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? COLCHESTER
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great quality chain,
February 17, 2015
By Birddog69
from Uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality, easy to fit
" Quality product and easy to fit would recommend this chain "
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? HULL (ST ANDREWS QUAY)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just what I needed...,
December 30, 2014
By RobbieP1978
from Rhyl, Denbighshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" What can I say does what it says on the tin!!! Great product perfect for my little girls bike. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? RHYL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimano CN-HG40,
November 15, 2014
By Anonymous
from London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the length is long enough to replace my bike with, it has connecting link and the price was cheap (wh
Cons: the outer quality it looks poor.
" I bought the item to replace my bike chain. It is easy to assemble and the staff help me choosing best quality chain tool. I would recommend this item if you are planning to replace your bike chain. In a good quality for the price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BALHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link,
November 12, 2014
By markybains17
from Port Talbot
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: link is okay - power link is better
" Great chain and a great price - even better with Halfords 10% off lunchtime offer. Will get miles and miles out of this chain. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? BRIDGEND
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shimano HG 40,
November 10, 2014
By laz63
from Huntingdon, Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very good.
" Prompt delivery fitted chain in minutes snap link very easy to use runs like a dream good quality product amazing price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Which Store did you visit? HUNTINGDON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good all round chain,
November 09, 2014
By Charles63
from Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: well lubed
Cons: connecting link requires some fiddling
" I've had this chain on both of my other cycles. It's a great all-rounder. The "pre-lube" lasts a long time before oiling is needed. The connecting link does need a little fiddling but makes a good join.Very good value "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (KIRKSTALL)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job,
November 04, 2014
By Tim521
from Peak District
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Easy to fit, bike runs like new again. Great price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CHESTERFIELD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chain,
October 27, 2014
By yakhunter
from Harrogate, North Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" as it says on the packet does the job as required great price "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? HARROGATE
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great budget chain for an 8speed road bike,
October 02, 2014
By Tobiec2012
from Brixham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the amount of chain links, pre-lubed, good instructions contained
Cons: quick release a bit difficult to master
" This chain is perfect for an 8 speed road bike. Had 5 links too many which were easily removed using a chain tool. The chain came pre-lubricated, with a quick release master link. Installing the chain took a bit of strength in order to connect the quick release link. Pay close attention to the instruction sheet included! Push the link with your thumbs hard whilst pulling the chain towards you.
After 300 miles the chain is still running perfectly and the lube has held up very well! Great buy great service
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? TORQUAY
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimano chain, 116 link, 7, 8 & 9 speed,
September 24, 2014
By Barnacle4ever
from Hampshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: branded item (shimano)
" After 1500 miles my old chain was on the limit of acceptable wear so ordered replacement online. Arrived at store of choice in timeframe promised, easy to install providing one follows the instruction sheet enclosed. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GOSPORT
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value,
September 13, 2014
By jacres
from Hertfordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This bike chain is great value, I bought four at this price and will definitely buy more. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Which Store did you visit? RICKMANSWORTH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
superb value,
September 05, 2014
By cadfiel
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Excellent quality product. Highly recommended. Bought to replace original chain that broke after a couple of weeks. Picked it because it is a known brand and so far, I've had no problems. Easy to install. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Chain link extremely difficult to fit,
September 03, 2014
By Gareth87
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: cheap
Cons: quick link badly designed
" I found the "quick link" next to impossible to fit. Extremely frustrating. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Value Product,
August 26, 2014
By Guyae
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: amazing value, great quality, knowledgeable and friendly service
Cons: the chain 'quick' link is tricky but does the job
" The chain was of good quality not considering the low price.
Easily fitted and works well with new derailleur (also from Halfords).
I found the service from the cycle team exceptionally good.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LEAMINGTON SPA
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a chain,
August 06, 2014
By Woblad
from Warrington, Warrington, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cheap and branded make
" OK, so it's a chain, but easy to install means you need to know how to shorten it if it's too long. Fortunately I do but it may not be a case of juist putting it on and adding the link. Keep your old chain and check the number of links first before fitting it. Plenty of stuff on t'internet showing how to shorten a chain, either with a chain tool (easier) or a hammer and nail (cheaper and not much more difficult). "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? WARRINGTON
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>