Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link

Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link is easy peasy to install.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
17 of 18(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Review 1 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimano CN-HG40,
November 15, 2014
By Anonymous
from London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the length is long enough to replace my bike with, it has connecting link and the price was cheap (wh
Cons: the outer quality it looks poor.
" I bought the item to replace my bike chain. It is easy to assemble and the staff help me choosing best quality chain tool. I would recommend this item if you are planning to replace your bike chain. In a good quality for the price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BALHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link,
November 12, 2014
By markybains17
from Port Talbot
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: link is okay - power link is better
" Great chain and a great price - even better with Halfords 10% off lunchtime offer. Will get miles and miles out of this chain. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? BRIDGEND
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shimano HG 40,
November 10, 2014
By laz63
from Huntingdon, Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very good.
" Prompt delivery fitted chain in minutes snap link very easy to use runs like a dream good quality product amazing price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Which Store did you visit? HUNTINGDON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good all round chain,
November 09, 2014
By Charles63
from Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: well lubed
Cons: connecting link requires some fiddling
" I've had this chain on both of my other cycles. It's a great all-rounder. The "pre-lube" lasts a long time before oiling is needed. The connecting link does need a little fiddling but makes a good join.Very good value "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (KIRKSTALL)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job,
November 04, 2014
By Tim521
from Peak District
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Easy to fit, bike runs like new again. Great price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CHESTERFIELD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chain,
October 27, 2014
By yakhunter
from Harrogate, North Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" as it says on the packet does the job as required great price "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? HARROGATE
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great budget chain for an 8speed road bike,
October 02, 2014
By Tobiec2012
from Brixham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the amount of chain links, pre-lubed, good instructions contained
Cons: quick release a bit difficult to master
" This chain is perfect for an 8 speed road bike. Had 5 links too many which were easily removed using a chain tool. The chain came pre-lubricated, with a quick release master link. Installing the chain took a bit of strength in order to connect the quick release link. Pay close attention to the instruction sheet included! Push the link with your thumbs hard whilst pulling the chain towards you.
After 300 miles the chain is still running perfectly and the lube has held up very well! Great buy great service
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? TORQUAY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimano chain, 116 link, 7, 8 & 9 speed,
September 24, 2014
By Barnacle4ever
from Hampshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: branded item (shimano)
" After 1500 miles my old chain was on the limit of acceptable wear so ordered replacement online. Arrived at store of choice in timeframe promised, easy to install providing one follows the instruction sheet enclosed. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GOSPORT
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value,
September 13, 2014
By jacres
from Hertfordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This bike chain is great value, I bought four at this price and will definitely buy more. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Which Store did you visit? RICKMANSWORTH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
superb value,
September 05, 2014
By cadfiel
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Excellent quality product. Highly recommended. Bought to replace original chain that broke after a couple of weeks. Picked it because it is a known brand and so far, I've had no problems. Easy to install. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Chain link extremely difficult to fit,
September 03, 2014
By Gareth87
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: cheap
Cons: quick link badly designed
" I found the "quick link" next to impossible to fit. Extremely frustrating. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Value Product,
August 26, 2014
By Guyae
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: amazing value, great quality, knowledgeable and friendly service
Cons: the chain 'quick' link is tricky but does the job
" The chain was of good quality not considering the low price.
Easily fitted and works well with new derailleur (also from Halfords).
I found the service from the cycle team exceptionally good.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LEAMINGTON SPA
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a chain,
August 06, 2014
By Woblad
from Warrington, Warrington, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cheap and branded make
" OK, so it's a chain, but easy to install means you need to know how to shorten it if it's too long. Fortunately I do but it may not be a case of juist putting it on and adding the link. Keep your old chain and check the number of links first before fitting it. Plenty of stuff on t'internet showing how to shorten a chain, either with a chain tool (easier) or a hammer and nail (cheaper and not much more difficult). "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? WARRINGTON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As described,
July 28, 2014
By Shaun1970
from England, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Quick prompt service product as described and works excellent "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DERBY (WYVERN)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just what I needed,
December 23, 2013
By eduawmar
from Birmingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" The chain was perfect, I changed it in conjunction with a derailer and it has made a massive difference. Changing gears is also very smooth and seamless.
The chain was a little tricky to put together as at first glance, the joining link seems a bit short. I found holding the chain at a slight angle made it easy to click in to place. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (BORDESLEY GREEN)
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent value.,
October 08, 2013
By Tracemeister
from Truro, Cornwall
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value
" Chain came unlinked on the ride home. Soon mended, no problem since. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? TRURO
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
7 speed chain,
June 14, 2013
By Nigel62
from Melton MOwbray
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" It was great value and flexible as i wasn't sure if it would be too long for my current set up. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MELTON MOWBRAY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimano chain,
April 08, 2013
By mned
from Kent
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Good quality and prompt delivery. Easy to assemble ,great result!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? TONBRIDGE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.