Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link

Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link is easy peasy to install.
Average Customer Rating:
4.65 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
37 of 38(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Review 1 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Chain, Terrible Service.,
July 20, 2016
By
from Worcester, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the chain is great
Cons: customer service
" This is a perfectly good chain for the price, but I'd suggest looking elsewhere to avoid the consistently poor service Halfords provide.
I ordered two items at the time, this chain, and a pair of chain links - to be delivered to Halfords Worcester store at the same time. When I arrived (an hour after the stated time able to collect from), one item was available, the other not. It required two members of staff to both repeatedly ask me the same questions, making me feel like it was my fault. Both their members of staff kept going back and forth to their store room to look for the chain, and then try to tell me that I needed to come back the next day as it hadn't been delivered. Eventually they asked their bike mechanic and he had the same chain going spare, so they gave me that one. I was in the store for around 45 minutes when it should have taken no more than 5 minutes. I received no apology for their error or the wait, no discount, nothing.
From my experiences, the bike team at Worcester Halfords seem under trained, understaffed, and don't care to satisfy the customer. This is a feeling I've had for several years. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WORCESTER
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
new chain,
July 15, 2016
By
from Darlington, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: smooth gear changing
Cons: no instructions
" needed a new chain as I'd fitted a new cassette with more teeth on the bottom gear sprocket. No instructions supplied & couldn't work out how to fit the quick link. After much searching found out you need to bend the chain until the hole in the clip lines up then it popped straight on. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BISHOP AUCKLAND
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality,
July 10, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Good quality chain. Easily shortened to length with a splitter. Little bit harder to connect with the master link provided. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link,
June 23, 2016
By
from North Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good quality at a great price, at this price worth buying several for spares
Cons: link is difficult to put on, link is impossible to remove
" Excellent product - great value - click and collect is an easy to use, relaible and efficient way to get items that are not in store.
That's all I've got to say. If you bounce it back because the text is too short I will just write rubbish,
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? NORTHALLERTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bicycle chain,
June 16, 2016
By
from York
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" The chain was very easy to fit ,instructions very clear so that was helpful. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? YORK
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yep it's a new chain!,
May 01, 2016
By
from North Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: brand
" Was actually surprised what a difference fitting a new chain made "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? NORTHALLERTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimano CN-HG40,
March 12, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Good value at 5.29 for this bike chain. I prefer Shimano over comparable KMC or SRAM chains at this price. But that's a personal preference.
The quick link works fine, but as some reviewers have said, it's not clear how to install it and there are no directions included.
No worries. You have to bend the chain a little to snap it in. For a pdf of instructions, search for "SM-UG51 quick link" on line. Or use the link I'll paste in below.
http://www.shimano.com/media/techdocs/content/cycle/SI/Chain/SI_0034B_001/SI-0034B-001_13_v1_m56577569830625422.pdf "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy peasy to install?,
February 13, 2016
By
from Sheffield, South Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" The chain is good but the connecting link is a pain. No instruction come with the chain. Couldn't find any instructions on the Shimano web site but did find lots of web forums voicing the same problem but unfortunately no solutions. The link remains unused but as I have a chain extractor tool and only needed a 112 link chain, I was able to remove 4 links and reinstate the connecting pin. Next time I'm in Halfords, I'll take the connecting link with me and ask the technician how it works "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (QUEENS RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Value,
December 28, 2015
By
from Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great value for money.
" A Shimano chain for £5.29 - Great Value. So good I bought two, one for use on a mountain bike and the other on the bike I use on the Turbo. - In fact so good I bought another two which I put in my toolbox for future use. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MARGATE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Chain,
December 12, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, quality of chain
Cons: quick link assembly
" A reasonable chain with quick link included.
The quick link is a bit more involved to put together than the usual twin sliding plate type but once joined seems equally as good.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin.,
November 19, 2015
By
from Sittingbourne, Sittingbourne, Kent, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quiet & smooth, good value
Cons: slightly fiddly connecting link
" I get through chains like there's no tomorrow. A few chains ago I bought a very expensive one and it lasted the same time as these ones - so I stick with 'em and save money!
After fitting there are no noises and the transmission runs lovely and smooth. In fact, it's so smooth during its life you have to use a chain gauge to tell when it needs replacing.
Fitting is interesting and it takes a knack to get the chain to bend right to snap the connecting link in correctly.
Once fitted, a quick oil and away we go!
(I'm a leisure cyclist and I do about 250 miles a month) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SITTINGBOURNE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfectly good chain,
November 05, 2015
By
from Marlow, Marlow, Buckinghamshire SL7, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: snap link included
" Wanted a good quality chain at a decent price for my commuting bike....and this did the job perfectly - easy to fit, snap link included. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CORBY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Value Chain,
October 10, 2015
By
from Wigan, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality, price, strength
Cons: chain link
" I cycle to work regularly and test the strength and durability of the components that i put on my bike, as i have to climb steep hills on my journey.So far i concede that i have not had the chain on my bike for long enough to give a conclusive review of its overall qualities.But first impressions i would submit it seems strong,durable,and of a quality that it will for a budget chain stand the test of time.One caution about the link you get with the chain,it can be quite difficult to get in place at first but after a few goes it becomes easier.If you have never done a chain link before it might provide you a bit of a challenge. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WIGAN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Chain's smokin,
October 06, 2015
By
from Birmingham, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Replaced a fairly new chain for the HG40 as my chainset and freewheel are shimano. Made sense. So far no accelerated wear, even in the rainy spell we're having at the moment. Pleased with it for the price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (BORDESLEY GREEN)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bad Quick Fit Connector,
September 19, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Shimano chain always used so confident of quality but these come with a really bad quick connect far too fiddly & apparently only good for one connect/reconnect so used a spare shimano black pin I had to connect it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimano bike chain.,
July 22, 2015
By
from Byfleet, Surrey, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Excellant item. Very good quality product. Easy to fit. Quick and easy online ordering. Delivered promptly to my local store. At an amazing price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BYFLEET
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality chain replacement,
June 11, 2015
By
from U.K. Midlands.
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the quality.
Cons: that link pin.
" Bought with click and collect so able to start the job quickly. All sorted easily until trying to fix the quick(!) link. This proved impossible until I re shaped it slightly so the pins pointed a little towards each other. A gentle squeeze with the pliers, a reassuring click and the job was done. New chain, all well. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? SHREWSBURY
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best chain,
June 10, 2015
By
from Shropshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy fit link
" Perfect replacement for my chain which was getting a little worn. Easy fit. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? TELFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great buy,
March 07, 2015
By
from Leicester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" this is a good quality chain for the price it is easy to shorten to length required and the supplied connecting link provides a solid joint. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (ST MARGARETS WAY)
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimano CN-HG40 6, 7 and 8 Speed 116 Link Bike Chain with Connecting Link,
February 19, 2015
By
from Essex
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price
" Great product and price. Have been using Shimano CN-HG40 chains for a long time now and the good price allows them to be changed on a regular basis, between 1500 and 2000 miles, thus preserving the rest of the drive train for longer. "
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? COLCHESTER
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>