Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Halfords 240 Volt Car Polisher

Halfords 240 Volt Car Polisher has a polishing head that gives you a streak & spot free finish.
Average Customer Rating:
4.276 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
25 of 29(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords 240 Volt Car Polisher
Review 1 for Halfords 240 Volt Car Polisher
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value for money.,
February 16, 2016
By
from Sussex uk
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" This is a birthday present but have one similar and found it to be OK and does what says on the tin. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? UCKFIELD
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords 240 Volt Car Polisher
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Muscle saver,
January 16, 2016
By
from Hereford, Hereford, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" As this item was a present, the weather has not been good, so the machine has not been used in anger. The rating that Ive given has been guessed, but i'll update as it is used "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? HEREFORD
-50points
0out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords 240 Volt Car Polisher
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
car polisher,
January 10, 2016
By
from United Kingdom
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" bought this for my hubby for christmas and he is made up with it "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? LIVERPOOL
-16points
2out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords 240 Volt Car Polisher
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords 240V car polisher,
January 02, 2016
By
from Shropshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quicker than manual polish
Cons: i got housemaid's knee
" This is one of those reviews of unintended consequences insofar that this power tool polished my car quite well. However I have a wooden laminate floor in my lounge so thought it might just suffice to polish that as well.
I bought the correct type of polish for a wooden floor and hey presto squirting the polish on the floor and utilising the applicator mop then following it up with the polisher mop produced an immaculate finish.
The finish on the laminate was already quite good but it got rid of slight scuffs and produced a nice sheen. I wouldn't think it good for floorboards bu tfor something that is already smooth, not unlike car panels, it seemed to work very well.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Which Store did you visit? DORKING
+8points
12out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords 240 Volt Car Polisher
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not Worth It,
August 03, 2015
By
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: price
Cons: build quality
" I recently purchased this product from one of Halford's outlet on sale and was really glad that i got a bargain however it was short lived. I used the polisher first time and was very pleased with its outcome.
However my 2nd time polishing, it was a DISASTER. Was able to polish half of a car before the screws holding the rotating pad to the frame of the polisher snapped. This meant that every time i switched it on,the pad would vibrate vigorously and the pad would fly straight off.
Terrible product however i did pay only £30 for it so its expected. All in all it lasted me a week with 2 uses, able to polish one and a half cars.
I honestly thought it would last longer than a week but I was wrong. For anyone thinking about purchasing this polisher should re consider their options. I recommend spending a little extra more and get your self a certificated polisher eg. Bosch. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? ALPERTON
-1point
9out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords 240 Volt Car Polisher
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good for the price,
July 08, 2015
By
from Sandhurst, Bracknell Forest, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Very good value for money does a good job, be carful not to press down too hard with the lambs wool mop as it stops rotating, read the instructions do not switch it on while not in contact with the car bodywork or the mop flys off (as per instructions) Appears to be well made, I polished three vehicles so far and the results are very good but you still need to do the nooks and crannies by hand as the buffer is quite large in diameter, all in all I would say for the money if you need one of these go for it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? FARNBOROUGH
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords 240 Volt Car Polisher
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Stay away !!!!!!!!!!!!!!,
June 29, 2015
By
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" if you want polish your car buy normal polishing machine. in ebay from 55 pounds. This halfords machine just viberates...you need it to spin. After small modification to prevent it from vibrating and make only spin it started to smoke :D :D Didnt remove even lightest scratch even if i used T-cut. Thanks god i didnt buy brand new one. You want better result....do it by hand.
I was proud owner of that machine for 1 hour. R.I.P Polishing Mashine.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-12points
7out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords 240 Volt Car Polisher
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Takes the strain off,
June 20, 2015
By
from Clydebank, West Dunbartonshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Does not save time and product may be difficult for older or those with less strength but does a great job at applying and buffing wax on and off "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? CLYDEBANK
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords 240 Volt Car Polisher
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked well,
April 30, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought it originally to polish some table tops I'd refurbished, took all the hard work out of the project. Can't wait to try it out on the cars "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
0points
10out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords 240 Volt Car Polisher
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy,
April 29, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Looked at many other polishers and this one caught my eye. good price. Store was local so why not. I've got a black s.u.v style car so takes time to clean because of the size but this bit of kit makes it a pleasure to clean. Not much vibration and the spare pads are dirt cheap. Noticed a lot of small scratches became a lot less visible after using and because it oscillates it doesn't leave those left to right marks you sometimes get by hand. Would definitely recommen. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords 240 Volt Car Polisher
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
240v Car Polisher,
April 10, 2015
By
from Brighton, The City of Brighton and Hove, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" For the price, it's a great little product. Yes you might have to finish off the polishing with a quick wipe over with a soft cloth but the polisher takes most of the effort out of waxing a car. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? HOVE
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords 240 Volt Car Polisher
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Just about OK,
February 27, 2015
By
from Cornwall
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
" Bought to take the effort away from large panel polishing , can only say it works " fair" ! OK , it does polish and remove polish but........ I found myself going over the whole car again with microfiber cloth cleaning up the bits the polisher missed , which sort of defeated using it in the first place :( "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? ST. AUSTELL
0points
9out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords 240 Volt Car Polisher
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value for money,
February 20, 2015
By
from London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: value
Cons: cloths could have been better quality
" This product is great value for money, and while not top of the range does a pretty good job for the price. Easy to use. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? TONBRIDGE
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords 240 Volt Car Polisher
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this today and taking it back tomorrow,
February 18, 2015
By
from Suffolk UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: long cable
Cons: everything else
" Bought it after seeing positive reviews and I'm extremely disappointed with this product. This thing vibrate so much, it's like using a jackhammer. After two minutes of using it, I get this tingling feeling on my hands and my fingers started to itch really badly. I find the pad too large, makes it awkward to use on some areas of the car. The polish cloft is rather thin and you don't get the option to attach a foam pad. It will polish your car but only as good as using a cloft and elbow grease. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Which Store did you visit? LOWESTOFT
+9points
13out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords 240 Volt Car Polisher
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
superb buffer,
February 10, 2015
By
from Bridgend, Bridgend, Bridgend, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: beautiful product to use
Cons: tight fit bonnets
" Bought this buffer purely on all the great reviews it has received and i'm adding another great review.
This buffer out performed all my expectations with exceptional results all round, i've used higher spec buffers in the past that cost considerably more and this buffer in comparison is a bargain for the price, i'd recommend it to everyone, try it, you won't be disappointed, the stretch bonnets are a tight fit but i won't hold that against this buffer, they're a lot less hassle and more reliable than the corded tie tight bonnets.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BRIDGEND
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords 240 Volt Car Polisher
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well polished.,
February 10, 2015
By
from Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use
Cons: a tad expensive???
" Bought this item not to polish car but to buff some furniture that I had waxed. The buffer worked perfectly was kind to my arms vibration wise, can't wait to use it on the car!!!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? NORTH SHIELDS
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords 240 Volt Car Polisher
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product,
January 21, 2015
By
from Ashford, Ashford, Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: minimal hand vibration
" The polisher is easy to use, light, and works well. Would recommend "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? ASHFORD
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords 240 Volt Car Polisher
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords Car Polisher,
November 18, 2014
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: simplicity of use
Cons: tightness of pad fit
" This is a robust product, which feels substantial. It enabled me to polish and buff my whole car in about 20 minutes, with outstanding results. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords 240 Volt Car Polisher
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bargain,
November 16, 2014
By
from Arlesey, Central Bedfordshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use and nice to handle.
Cons: none
" The Halfords 240 volt car polisherdoes what it says.its very easy to use.the handles make it easy to use around corners.it gives the job a proffesional finish even for a new user. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? STEVENAGE
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords 240 Volt Car Polisher
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best value vs performance on the market,
November 02, 2014
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: long power cord, no loss of power, value
Cons: nothing!
" Many buffers only have a short lead, not this one! Also doesn't lose power, even under pressure. Gives great finish, glad I did my research first and bought this one. BEST VALUE FOR YOUR MONEY!! :-D "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? PRESTON
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>