Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Sony CDX-DAB500U DAB Car CD Player

With the Sony CDX-DAB500U DAB Car CD Player, you can always listen to your favourite tunes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.529 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
33 of 34(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
37 Questions | 52 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sony CDX-DAB500U DAB Car CD Player
Review 1 for Sony CDX-DAB500U DAB Car CD Player
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sony CDX-DAB500U Radio Fitting,
July 11, 2014
By RobertF
from Hayes, Greater London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The functions and sound quality are very good for the price."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? HAYES
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sony CDX-DAB500U DAB Car CD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Happy,
March 08, 2014
By Sara1952
from Newbury
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We're more than happy with this radio/CD player - easy to fit and to use. Great reception and sound quality, would definitely recommend it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? NEWBURY
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sony CDX-DAB500U DAB Car CD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not scary :),
February 19, 2014
By daisymoocow
from Hertfordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"As a non-car savvy 30 something female, I was dreading going to Halfords to sort out a DAB radio for the car. I had images of a grumpy adolescent member of staff, dragging their knuckles around, not wanting to help me, explain things to me, and generally alienate me throughout the entire process (my last teccie experience from a Halfords was almost ten years ago and resembled the above).
I needn't had worried. A bit of research on Halfords website and the 'get dab radio' website and a phone call to Halfords and I was sorted. Ordered online, click and collect and got Halfords to install.
Going to Halfords I was remarkably impressed. The staff were so polite, friendly, knowledgable and considerate, my previous perception is now replaced with this recent delightful experience. Really pleased.
Anyway, I suppose you like to know about the radio? I went for a Sony as its a brand I trust and so far, it hasn't let me down. Easy to get the hang of, great range of stations, sounds good. Like the usb port and the little feature that gives you a little preview of each song on your cd. Clever. Going with a Sony you know what you're getting. Gold stars all round :)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? STEVENAGE
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sony CDX-DAB500U DAB Car CD Player
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
How on earth dose it work!?,
February 13, 2014
By careless
from Milton Keynes
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: ease of fitting, dab quality
Cons: complicated
"It seems to be a good stereo but I cannot, for the life of me, figure out how to shuffle songs. Albums, yes, but songs no. It's probably just me being stupid, happens quite a lot. Other than my eternal frustration with song shuffling it is quite a good thing."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? MILTON KEYNES
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sony CDX-DAB500U DAB Car CD Player
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It looks ok ....... But,
February 02, 2014
By Cyclic
from Wells, Somerset
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: the idea
Cons: set up
"I thought I'd done well when I got it for half the alleged original price, then 2 days after I collected, it went down another tenner..... Just my luck.
As for the radio, I consider myself to be pretty tech savvy, but this radio beats everything that I've come across for awkward to set up. If you like jigsaws, this is for you.
The Instruction manual helps a little, if you can find the applicable section, but other than that generally trial and error for a couple of days will be the plan.
Maybe this is why they are going so,cheap.
The easy bit was putting it in the hole where the last radio was.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? WELLS
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sony CDX-DAB500U DAB Car CD Player
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good quality,
January 07, 2014
By redturtle
from devon
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"good quality easy to install unit , excellent features negatives black spots in dab reception in built up areas star rating 9/10"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? NEWTON ABBOT
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sony CDX-DAB500U DAB Car CD Player
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Customer Service,
January 06, 2014
By Jfratti
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Thank you for the great friendly and helpful customer service today fitting my radio. It is wonderful to be looked after and served well when you purchase products. Thank you again"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? DOVER
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sony CDX-DAB500U DAB Car CD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic all round,
December 31, 2013
By Sar77
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: simplicity
Cons: buying aerial separately.
"Comes with a proper paper manual and is easy to use with a simple platform. All features are easily accessible. Crystal clear reception with DAB radio. I highly recommend this product."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: More than 3
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? CANNOCK
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sony CDX-DAB500U DAB Car CD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great performance and fantastic staff at Merthyr,
December 30, 2013
By Mercedes77
from Gilwern
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Was worried about digital reception as we live in a rural area, but excellent reception and great sound."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: More than 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? MERTHYR TYDFIL
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sony CDX-DAB500U DAB Car CD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb,especially for the price,
December 26, 2013
By MarkyMark2808
from Reading
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Took me about half an hour to replace my old unit and fit this. I fit the PURE DAB adapters to Volvos and this is easily as good, plus you can add your ipod to it and if you are old school it has MW and LW"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? READING (SOUTH)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sony CDX-DAB500U DAB Car CD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great car radio/CD player,
November 29, 2013
By nickyblueeyes
from Essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything!
"Absolutely love this car radio & for such a great price.
The digital stations are great...so easy to find & program them in.
Love that I can play my i-Pod through it as well.
Easily removable for security too.
A fantastic buy.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? WEST THURROCK
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sony CDX-DAB500U DAB Car CD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sony CDX-DAB500U DAB Car CD Player,
November 28, 2013
By pete1122
from Telford, Shropshire.
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Very good all round ! Excellent Sony car stereo at half price. Delivered on time , easy to fit - very good service and would recommend to anyone."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? TELFORD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sony CDX-DAB500U DAB Car CD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sony cdx dab500u,
October 31, 2013
By Nig55
from Alcester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: happy halford customer
"i was very pleased with my purchase and after fitting it to my car was even more impressed.the sound quality was excellent and would not hesitate to buy from Halfords again.Halfords made it easy to buy online with facility to hold in store for one day.on collecting the product i was greeted with helpful staff too.Price you cant get better than Halfords. so don't look any else. keep the good work up.one very happy customer."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: More than 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Friend
Which Store did you visit? STRATFORD UPON AVON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sony CDX-DAB500U DAB Car CD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant service,
September 26, 2013
By Fulmar32
from Warwick, Warwickshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: amazing customer service
"I purchased a Sonichi DAB radio and roof antenna, it worked perfectly for a couple of weeks and then a 'DAB antenna' error message could not be overcome even by replacing the aerial(s).
The staff at the local Leamington Spa store located the problem pointing out that some Sonichi radios cannot be reset. They gave me my money back in full and offered a replacement Sony CDX-DAB500U instead at a higher value. I cannot speak highly enough of their service. A case study in how to turn a problem into a very satisfied client. Well done Halfords Leamington Spa!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? LEAMINGTON SPA
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sony CDX-DAB500U DAB Car CD Player
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ok piece of kit.,
August 22, 2013
By Adamski123
from London
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: came with the remote.
Cons: no dab aerial supplied
"Bought this DAB stereo as I was impressed with the one my friend bought from halfords a couple of months before. But now low and behold cheapskates Sony in there infinite wisdom have decided to supply their DAB head units WITHOUT the needed DAB aerial. Duh.
It's like selling a remote control TV with the added option of buying the remote control.
So an additional £20 for the needed aerial.
Other than that it' cool.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? ROMFORD
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sony CDX-DAB500U DAB Car CD Player
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
all the bells and whistles,
July 09, 2013
By danbdare
from brighton
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: dab
Cons: dab reception
"it's a bit complicated for a car stereo but i'm probably just showing my age, so i wont give it top marks for its usability as i think you have to push too many buttons to get it to do what you want, aside from that, it has all the bells and whistles you could possibly want in a car stereo, cd, dab, usb etc etc although my nokia phone dosen't seem to be supported when i plug it in to the usb, this could be because i haven't pushed enough buttons yet to make it so, but that would require a little more time than i have right now, it'son the to do list shall we say,pther than that, brilliant!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? BRIGHTON
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sony CDX-DAB500U DAB Car CD Player
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just the job!,
July 02, 2013
By JukeBoxHero
from Aberdeen
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: features, sound quality, ease of installation
Cons: appearance is a bit "flash" for my taste!
"I listen to the radio a lot whilst driving, so decided to upgrade to a DAB unit. Chose the Sony as it my existing system was Sony & there was no additional kit required to install.
DAB reception is excellent.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? ABERDEEN (KITTY BREWSTER)
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sony CDX-DAB500U DAB Car CD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sony dab,
July 01, 2013
By paulk27
from Southampton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent product for money member of staff who fitted product was very courteous (Dean) of Winchester Rd branch thank you. Also another friend has purchased item since me through my recommendation"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHAMPTON (WEST QUAY RTL PK)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sony CDX-DAB500U DAB Car CD Player
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Value,
May 28, 2013
By Alfee
from Dalkeith, Midlothian
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Got mines at Halfords Straiton, opted for the magnetic arial and all is good. The fitter installed it in 40 minutes (Great service) Picked the Sony as I have many Sony products and have had no issues. I mostly travel in the Central belt of Scotland and DAB reception is perfect. All in all good value product."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? EDINBURGH (STRAITON)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sony CDX-DAB500U DAB Car CD Player
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
nice gizmo !!!,
May 25, 2013
By JAYREM
from Worksop
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: looks, sound clarity, good radio reception
Cons: not very intuative to use
"The standard fit Blaupunkt radio/cd in my 2007 had terrible reception so instead of just buying a better aerial i bought this... then an aerial. it was fitted by the smiley and pleasant Ben (thanks ben) at the chesterfield branch. He gave me a good explanation of what the unit did and what to press. I nodded sagely as it sounded simple, and then forgot everything 3 minutes later.
It's a nice looking unit, thankfully it's fairly easy to programme and the sound is crisp and channel changing is a breeze. I've not played with everything it can offer but it's in a work van so like most people i'll probably never have to.
I like the 7 sound pre sets but the custom graphic is a bit messy. I've read it's not intuative to use and i'd agree, i spent some time with the manual and like anything else new thats cleverer than you are, girlfriends/ toasters et al, you'll get used to each other.I think it's a good buy.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CHESTERFIELD
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>