Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo

With the Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo, you can always listen to your favourite tunes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
45 of 47(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
37 Questions | 52 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Review 1 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent DAB Radio,
May 26, 2015
By awellhard
from Bognor Regis, West Sussex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I was guided by the excellent knowledge of Steffan who was very polite and patient with me. All this new tech is a bit much for the over 50's!! The range of dab stations is vast and the quality is great with the windscreen aerial and no interference when driving along. I honestly cant fault this head unit it does everything its says on the box. I had this fitted into my honda civic (2002) by Halfords. Steffan once again stepped upto the mark and done it for me. He said it would take upto an hour to fit. But i had a phone call within 45mins saying it was all done.The install was all done including the aerial nothing broken and everything clean. I was duly given a demonstration of my new toy. One very happy customer. Steffan at Bognor Halfords you Rock !! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? BOGNOR REGIS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sony single din dab car radio,
February 03, 2015
By Spider84
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: features, iphone connectivity, price
" Very pleased with the radio this far. Bought it for my girlfriend's 1994 mx5. It was easy to fit and when used in conjunction with the adhesive dab aerial sold separately it provides a multitude of clear dab stations. No more need to remember frequencies of fm stations - just search by station name. Also has auxiliary input for external devices and a cool USB connector under a discreet flap that not only charges your device but also displays track info on the display for certain iPod or iPhone devices. My girlfriend likes the display and colours on the unit which she says are better than on her previous Sony radio which this unit replaced. I already had the vehicle specific connector (sold separately) for the previous non standard stereo so it plugged straight in with no fuss. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantasic product and Fantastic service,
January 14, 2015
By olli2015
from Spading
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great sound
Cons: can't change the colour dispay
" We had this product fitted today and are delighted to be listening to our favourite cd's again. This product offers us much more than we need (cd and dab radio) which will keep our kids happy with their mp3's ipods and phones etc. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? SPALDING
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sony dab radio,
January 12, 2015
By Vellet4
from Wiltshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: reception good service
" Good radio, fitted with an internal dab aerial. Good reception. Fitted well by halfords. Would recommend radio and service. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CHIPPENHAM
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just buy it,
January 11, 2015
By JMx5
from Nr Luton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: ease of use
Cons: doesn't display cd track names
" Appeared relatively straight forward to fit.
Great sound quality, no skipping or jumping when going over rough roads which it does daily.
Fantastic radio options and easy to navigate through USB/aux/cd etc.
Does exactly what I wanted it for.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? LUTON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sony DAB / CD Car Stereo,
January 08, 2015
By GH42
from Sheffield, South Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Easy to install, no extra ariel required! Gives great sound we love it! Mix of music to suit your mood!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? ROTHERHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
December 18, 2014
By stourportsfinest
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: tuning of the dab radio is not very intuitive
" Good quality DAB radio, great with iPod too. No aerial included so had to make our own, would have preferred an aerial to a redundant remote control. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 3
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product & price,
November 25, 2014
By Bernie2014
from Coventry
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Bought this product with magnetic antenna. Both work well good sound easy to use. Very pleased. So far only tried in good signal area hope it works as well elsewhere. Bought for campervan. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? COVENTRY (FOLESHILL RD)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good quality at an affordable price,
September 25, 2014
By LeicesterStokie
from Leicester, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" As you would expect with Sony the product is good quality. In addition to a DAB radio, it plays mp3 music files via a CD player, a USB port (memory stick, mobile phone etc) and a socket to receive an external jack. The USB port also charges your mobile phone etc. It is excellent value for money.
The only downside (and the loss of one star) is that, whilst the connection diagram clearly shows that the unit will accept cable inputs from the cars steering column remote, an additional two items have to be purchased (£35 extra) and fitted to the unit before your car remote controls will work. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (ST MARGARETS WAY)
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dab unit great features,
September 21, 2014
By SnJag
from Bristol, City of Bristol, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: dabusbaux insound
Cons: nothing
" Sony Dab 500U stereo. Great DAB radio with all the best stations and many more,music for all tastes with a quality sound. I don't use the cd player as I have loads of music on usb sticks,easy and conveniant with the added option of the front mounted aux in for pluging my mp3 in as well. With the downgrading of medium wave I find DAB is a must for the sport/news stations. Fitted by Halfords who supplied the extras (leads,aerial facia) quality all round.recommended. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (WINTERSTOKE)
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great price,
September 08, 2014
By nessy1234
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good signal
" This is my first dab stereo and was not disappointed, it's a little bit tricky to get the sound right etc, but for the price and with the window ariel I havn't had a problem yet. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good simple DAB radio,
August 25, 2014
By Agplant
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: sony quality, remote control
Cons: no bluetooth, no media streaming
" Basic good quality radio. Works well in a 40+ old VW camper! "
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (CRYSTAL PEAKS)
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sony CDX-DAB500U Radio Fitting,
July 11, 2014
By RobertF
from Hayes, Greater London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" The functions and sound quality are very good for the price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? HAYES
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Happy,
March 08, 2014
By Sara1952
from Newbury
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" We're more than happy with this radio/CD player - easy to fit and to use. Great reception and sound quality, would definitely recommend it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? NEWBURY
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not scary :),
February 19, 2014
By daisymoocow
from Hertfordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" As a non-car savvy 30 something female, I was dreading going to Halfords to sort out a DAB radio for the car. I had images of a grumpy adolescent member of staff, dragging their knuckles around, not wanting to help me, explain things to me, and generally alienate me throughout the entire process (my last teccie experience from a Halfords was almost ten years ago and resembled the above).
I needn't had worried. A bit of research on Halfords website and the 'get dab radio' website and a phone call to Halfords and I was sorted. Ordered online, click and collect and got Halfords to install.
Going to Halfords I was remarkably impressed. The staff were so polite, friendly, knowledgable and considerate, my previous perception is now replaced with this recent delightful experience. Really pleased.
Anyway, I suppose you like to know about the radio? I went for a Sony as its a brand I trust and so far, it hasn't let me down. Easy to get the hang of, great range of stations, sounds good. Like the usb port and the little feature that gives you a little preview of each song on your cd. Clever. Going with a Sony you know what you're getting. Gold stars all round :) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? STEVENAGE
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
How on earth dose it work!?,
February 13, 2014
By careless
from Milton Keynes
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: ease of fitting, dab quality
Cons: complicated
" It seems to be a good stereo but I cannot, for the life of me, figure out how to shuffle songs. Albums, yes, but songs no. It's probably just me being stupid, happens quite a lot. Other than my eternal frustration with song shuffling it is quite a good thing. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? MILTON KEYNES
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It looks ok ....... But,
February 02, 2014
By Cyclic
from Wells, Somerset
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: the idea
Cons: set up
" I thought I'd done well when I got it for half the alleged original price, then 2 days after I collected, it went down another tenner..... Just my luck.
As for the radio, I consider myself to be pretty tech savvy, but this radio beats everything that I've come across for awkward to set up. If you like jigsaws, this is for you.
The Instruction manual helps a little, if you can find the applicable section, but other than that generally trial and error for a couple of days will be the plan.
Maybe this is why they are going so,cheap.
The easy bit was putting it in the hole where the last radio was.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? WELLS
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good quality,
January 07, 2014
By redturtle
from devon
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" good quality easy to install unit , excellent features negatives black spots in dab reception in built up areas star rating 9/10 "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? NEWTON ABBOT
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Customer Service,
January 06, 2014
By Jfratti
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Thank you for the great friendly and helpful customer service today fitting my radio. It is wonderful to be looked after and served well when you purchase products. Thank you again "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? DOVER
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic all round,
December 31, 2013
By Sar77
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: simplicity
Cons: buying aerial separately.
" Comes with a proper paper manual and is easy to use with a simple platform. All features are easily accessible. Crystal clear reception with DAB radio. I highly recommend this product. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: More than 3
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? CANNOCK
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>