Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop DAB Car Stereos or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo

With the Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo, you can always listen to your favourite tunes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(63 Reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (63 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
20
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
1
57 of 60(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Review 1 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value,
June 14, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" got this on sale great value. used limerick branck whichthe lady servd me was nice but she was under pressure, there were very little staff on that day "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality stero,
June 09, 2016
By
from Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Good quality stero with many features
Easy to install
"
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? DARTFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
nice DAB stereo with cheap price..,
May 29, 2016
By
from London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" By playing back short track passages in a
CD or USB device in sequence, you can
search for a track you want to listen to.
ZAPPIN mode is suitable for searching for a
track in shuffle or shuffle repeat mode.
1 Press  during playback.
Playback starts from a passage of the
next track. You can select the playback
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? RUISLIP
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's all right,
May 11, 2016
By
from Wakefield, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" No control remote,little complex to work whit , I was expecting more for the price "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? WAKEFIELD
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great head unit for the price,
May 04, 2016
By
from Cambridgeshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: dab radio
Cons: no bluetooth
" Got this at a reduced price on the website using click and collect , wanted it for the DAB capability and it is really good , had to get a connector for my dab aerial as it was different , but when all set up with my windscreen mounted dab aerial it works great can get all the stations and doesn't lose the signal like my previous unit. Good sound quality , looks good in the car and has Usb for my iPhone so it charges whilst playing songs , all in all does all that i need at a great price "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? MARCH
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bargain radio,
February 18, 2016
By
from Stockport
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
Cons: no mega bass feature
" Easy to use, gets a great a great range of radio stations. With good sound it's great for playing music loud! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? STOCKPORT
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo,
January 07, 2016
By
from Northamptonshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" A Plug and play without the need for a sub woofer.
CD player Radio and USB . Good value for money without breaking the bank. Also has face off option
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? WELLINGBOROUGH
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This radio only has one downside,
August 20, 2015
By
from Surrey, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" For someone who can't wear their reading glasses when driving, the buttons are a little small. Thankfully my memory is still functioning so I've memorised the functionality buttons! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? FARNBOROUGH
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fab all round,
July 24, 2015
By
from Cheltenham, Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great product, does exactly what I want it to do, although I am unsure what the "zapper" does. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CHELTENHAM
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No good with iPod and customer service is appalling,
July 13, 2015
By
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features/Spec 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" I wanted a car stereo with DAB and which I could use with my iPod. My first disappointment came wen I realised the unit won't shuffle individual songs on the iPod. I tried a hack and renamed the songs with individual album titles but it still won't shuffle.
Whe I contacted customer support, the person who emailed me back obviously had no technical knowledge whatsoever and simply directed me to a page in the manual, which was no help. I was then told I would have to a service which required me to send my unit in and would charge me if no fault was found with the radio. Utterly useless and I will be avoiding Sony products in the future.
"
Age Group: 35 - 44
-4points
5out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just what you need in a Motorhome,
June 30, 2015
By
from Stirling, Stirling, Stirling, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" The arrangement was very easy and Ross in the Stirling branch had it all organised and what a great job he did. As to the system itself, it's better than we expected. It's an absolute pleasure to listen to quality music and you travel along, and even better to get an even more fantastic sound when we're parked up. Thanks to everyone at Halfords for a great job. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? STIRLING
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great features,
June 28, 2015
By
from Kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the ease of use
Cons: nothing
" Wonderful Sony product, easy to use, wonderful sound, and fitted brilliantly by Halfords "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? ASHFORD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent DAB Radio,
May 26, 2015
By
from Bognor Regis, West Sussex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I was guided by the excellent knowledge of Steffan who was very polite and patient with me. All this new tech is a bit much for the over 50's!! The range of dab stations is vast and the quality is great with the windscreen aerial and no interference when driving along. I honestly cant fault this head unit it does everything its says on the box. I had this fitted into my honda civic (2002) by Halfords. Steffan once again stepped upto the mark and done it for me. He said it would take upto an hour to fit. But i had a phone call within 45mins saying it was all done.The install was all done including the aerial nothing broken and everything clean. I was duly given a demonstration of my new toy. One very happy customer. Steffan at Bognor Halfords you Rock !! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? BOGNOR REGIS
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sony single din dab car radio,
February 03, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: features, iphone connectivity, price
" Very pleased with the radio this far. Bought it for my girlfriend's 1994 mx5. It was easy to fit and when used in conjunction with the adhesive dab aerial sold separately it provides a multitude of clear dab stations. No more need to remember frequencies of fm stations - just search by station name. Also has auxiliary input for external devices and a cool USB connector under a discreet flap that not only charges your device but also displays track info on the display for certain iPod or iPhone devices. My girlfriend likes the display and colours on the unit which she says are better than on her previous Sony radio which this unit replaced. I already had the vehicle specific connector (sold separately) for the previous non standard stereo so it plugged straight in with no fuss. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantasic product and Fantastic service,
January 14, 2015
By
from Spading
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great sound
Cons: can't change the colour dispay
" We had this product fitted today and are delighted to be listening to our favourite cd's again. This product offers us much more than we need (cd and dab radio) which will keep our kids happy with their mp3's ipods and phones etc. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? SPALDING
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sony dab radio,
January 12, 2015
By
from Wiltshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: reception good service
" Good radio, fitted with an internal dab aerial. Good reception. Fitted well by halfords. Would recommend radio and service. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CHIPPENHAM
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just buy it,
January 11, 2015
By
from Nr Luton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: ease of use
Cons: doesn't display cd track names
" Appeared relatively straight forward to fit.
Great sound quality, no skipping or jumping when going over rough roads which it does daily.
Fantastic radio options and easy to navigate through USB/aux/cd etc.
Does exactly what I wanted it for.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? LUTON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sony DAB / CD Car Stereo,
January 08, 2015
By
from Sheffield, South Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Easy to install, no extra ariel required! Gives great sound we love it! Mix of music to suit your mood!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? ROTHERHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
December 18, 2014
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: tuning of the dab radio is not very intuitive
" Good quality DAB radio, great with iPod too. No aerial included so had to make our own, would have preferred an aerial to a redundant remote control. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 3
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product & price,
November 25, 2014
By
from Coventry
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Bought this product with magnetic antenna. Both work well good sound easy to use. Very pleased. So far only tried in good signal area hope it works as well elsewhere. Bought for campervan. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? COVENTRY (FOLESHILL RD)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>