Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop DAB Car Stereos or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo

With the Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo, you can always listen to your favourite tunes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.446 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (56 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
18
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
52 of 54(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
37 Questions | 52 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Review 1 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This radio only has one downside,
August 20, 2015
By
from Surrey, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" For someone who can't wear their reading glasses when driving, the buttons are a little small. Thankfully my memory is still functioning so I've memorised the functionality buttons! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? FARNBOROUGH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fab all round,
July 24, 2015
By
from Cheltenham, Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great product, does exactly what I want it to do, although I am unsure what the "zapper" does. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CHELTENHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No good with iPod and customer service is appalling,
July 13, 2015
By
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features/Spec 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" I wanted a car stereo with DAB and which I could use with my iPod. My first disappointment came wen I realised the unit won't shuffle individual songs on the iPod. I tried a hack and renamed the songs with individual album titles but it still won't shuffle.
Whe I contacted customer support, the person who emailed me back obviously had no technical knowledge whatsoever and simply directed me to a page in the manual, which was no help. I was then told I would have to a service which required me to send my unit in and would charge me if no fault was found with the radio. Utterly useless and I will be avoiding Sony products in the future.
"
Age Group: 35 - 44
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just what you need in a Motorhome,
June 30, 2015
By
from Stirling, Stirling, Stirling, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" The arrangement was very easy and Ross in the Stirling branch had it all organised and what a great job he did. As to the system itself, it's better than we expected. It's an absolute pleasure to listen to quality music and you travel along, and even better to get an even more fantastic sound when we're parked up. Thanks to everyone at Halfords for a great job. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? STIRLING
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great features,
June 28, 2015
By
from Kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the ease of use
Cons: nothing
" Wonderful Sony product, easy to use, wonderful sound, and fitted brilliantly by Halfords "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? ASHFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent DAB Radio,
May 26, 2015
By
from Bognor Regis, West Sussex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I was guided by the excellent knowledge of Steffan who was very polite and patient with me. All this new tech is a bit much for the over 50's!! The range of dab stations is vast and the quality is great with the windscreen aerial and no interference when driving along. I honestly cant fault this head unit it does everything its says on the box. I had this fitted into my honda civic (2002) by Halfords. Steffan once again stepped upto the mark and done it for me. He said it would take upto an hour to fit. But i had a phone call within 45mins saying it was all done.The install was all done including the aerial nothing broken and everything clean. I was duly given a demonstration of my new toy. One very happy customer. Steffan at Bognor Halfords you Rock !! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? BOGNOR REGIS
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sony single din dab car radio,
February 03, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: features, iphone connectivity, price
" Very pleased with the radio this far. Bought it for my girlfriend's 1994 mx5. It was easy to fit and when used in conjunction with the adhesive dab aerial sold separately it provides a multitude of clear dab stations. No more need to remember frequencies of fm stations - just search by station name. Also has auxiliary input for external devices and a cool USB connector under a discreet flap that not only charges your device but also displays track info on the display for certain iPod or iPhone devices. My girlfriend likes the display and colours on the unit which she says are better than on her previous Sony radio which this unit replaced. I already had the vehicle specific connector (sold separately) for the previous non standard stereo so it plugged straight in with no fuss. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantasic product and Fantastic service,
January 14, 2015
By
from Spading
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great sound
Cons: can't change the colour dispay
" We had this product fitted today and are delighted to be listening to our favourite cd's again. This product offers us much more than we need (cd and dab radio) which will keep our kids happy with their mp3's ipods and phones etc. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? SPALDING
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sony dab radio,
January 12, 2015
By
from Wiltshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: reception good service
" Good radio, fitted with an internal dab aerial. Good reception. Fitted well by halfords. Would recommend radio and service. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CHIPPENHAM
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just buy it,
January 11, 2015
By
from Nr Luton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: ease of use
Cons: doesn't display cd track names
" Appeared relatively straight forward to fit.
Great sound quality, no skipping or jumping when going over rough roads which it does daily.
Fantastic radio options and easy to navigate through USB/aux/cd etc.
Does exactly what I wanted it for.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? LUTON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sony DAB / CD Car Stereo,
January 08, 2015
By
from Sheffield, South Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Easy to install, no extra ariel required! Gives great sound we love it! Mix of music to suit your mood!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? ROTHERHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
December 18, 2014
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: tuning of the dab radio is not very intuitive
" Good quality DAB radio, great with iPod too. No aerial included so had to make our own, would have preferred an aerial to a redundant remote control. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 3
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product & price,
November 25, 2014
By
from Coventry
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Bought this product with magnetic antenna. Both work well good sound easy to use. Very pleased. So far only tried in good signal area hope it works as well elsewhere. Bought for campervan. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? COVENTRY (FOLESHILL RD)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good quality at an affordable price,
September 25, 2014
By
from Leicester, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" As you would expect with Sony the product is good quality. In addition to a DAB radio, it plays mp3 music files via a CD player, a USB port (memory stick, mobile phone etc) and a socket to receive an external jack. The USB port also charges your mobile phone etc. It is excellent value for money.
The only downside (and the loss of one star) is that, whilst the connection diagram clearly shows that the unit will accept cable inputs from the cars steering column remote, an additional two items have to be purchased (£35 extra) and fitted to the unit before your car remote controls will work. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (ST MARGARETS WAY)
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dab unit great features,
September 21, 2014
By
from Bristol, City of Bristol, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: dabusbaux insound
Cons: nothing
" Sony Dab 500U stereo. Great DAB radio with all the best stations and many more,music for all tastes with a quality sound. I don't use the cd player as I have loads of music on usb sticks,easy and conveniant with the added option of the front mounted aux in for pluging my mp3 in as well. With the downgrading of medium wave I find DAB is a must for the sport/news stations. Fitted by Halfords who supplied the extras (leads,aerial facia) quality all round.recommended. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (WINTERSTOKE)
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great price,
September 08, 2014
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good signal
" This is my first dab stereo and was not disappointed, it's a little bit tricky to get the sound right etc, but for the price and with the window ariel I havn't had a problem yet. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good simple DAB radio,
August 25, 2014
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: sony quality, remote control
Cons: no bluetooth, no media streaming
" Basic good quality radio. Works well in a 40+ old VW camper! "
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (CRYSTAL PEAKS)
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sony CDX-DAB500U Radio Fitting,
July 11, 2014
By
from Hayes, Greater London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" The functions and sound quality are very good for the price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? HAYES
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Happy,
March 08, 2014
By
from Newbury
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" We're more than happy with this radio/CD player - easy to fit and to use. Great reception and sound quality, would definitely recommend it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? NEWBURY
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sony CDX-DAB500U Car Stereo
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not scary :),
February 19, 2014
By
from Hertfordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" As a non-car savvy 30 something female, I was dreading going to Halfords to sort out a DAB radio for the car. I had images of a grumpy adolescent member of staff, dragging their knuckles around, not wanting to help me, explain things to me, and generally alienate me throughout the entire process (my last teccie experience from a Halfords was almost ten years ago and resembled the above).
I needn't had worried. A bit of research on Halfords website and the 'get dab radio' website and a phone call to Halfords and I was sorted. Ordered online, click and collect and got Halfords to install.
Going to Halfords I was remarkably impressed. The staff were so polite, friendly, knowledgable and considerate, my previous perception is now replaced with this recent delightful experience. Really pleased.
Anyway, I suppose you like to know about the radio? I went for a Sony as its a brand I trust and so far, it hasn't let me down. Easy to get the hang of, great range of stations, sounds good. Like the usb port and the little feature that gives you a little preview of each song on your cd. Clever. Going with a Sony you know what you're getting. Gold stars all round :) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? STEVENAGE
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>