Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Meguiars Quik Clay Starter Kit

Meguiars Quik Clay Starter Kit will quickly and safely restore a smooth-as-glass finish.
Average Customer Rating:
4.583 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
11 of 12(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Meguiars Quik Clay Starter Kit
Review 1 for Meguiars Quik Clay Starter Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Kit,
June 25, 2016
By
from Aberdeen
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
Cons: none
" As a complete novice at detailing I thought I would give this a try. My fears were unfounded it was easy to use and the finish made mar shine like new. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Meguiars Quik Clay Starter Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meguiars Clay kit,
May 17, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I have been useing this clay kit for a number of years.
It works wonders on all paint finishes and leaves a smooth shiny finish.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? YEOVIL
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Meguiars Quik Clay Starter Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product .... But !,
April 10, 2016
By
from Adlington, Lancashire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: job satisfaction
Cons: bit expensive
" This is a first class product but a little expensive .
It's been warm and sunny today .. I was tinkering around and spotted some spots of road tar on the car .. I wiped one and realised the tar was melted .. I found I could get good results just by rubbing the spots off with pieces of wool from an old jumper in these weather conditions , and occasionally using a bit ot T-Cut if these were more stubborn .. Much cheaper and much quicker if you have the patience to wait . "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? CHORLEY
-5points
1out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Meguiars Quik Clay Starter Kit
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor Product,
September 15, 2014
By
from Greenock, Inverclyde, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" Not much good for removing aerosol spray paint overspray on my car body. A lot of effort for very little improvement to the paint finish.
I will not purchase again "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? GREENOCK
-59points
4out of 67found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Meguiars Quik Clay Starter Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great results,
July 26, 2014
By
from Hertfordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: finish is amazing
Cons: price is a bit steep.
" I had never used clay before, and bought this to see how I got on. The results are stunning, paintwork ends up completely clean and feels incredibly smooth. It's amazing how much dirt and debris come off of a car that you have just washed! It makes polishing and waxing the car much more pleasurable as you're not constantly trying to remove marks with the polish, you're just polishing the car. What you end up with is a flawless look, and an amazing shine. My only criticism is that any flaws in the paintwork, chips etc, are more noticeable because the shine is that good on the rest of the car.
It's not a cheap product, but is worth it as a twice a year treat for the car! You don't get a microfibre cloth included in this pack so you will need to get one to wipe off an area once you've clayed it. I'm going to have a look online to see if there are good discounts for buying this in bulk as I will definitely be using this again. Set aside a good 4 hours to properly wash, clay, polish and wax your vehicle, it takes time. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? STEVENAGE
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Meguiars Quik Clay Starter Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great starter kit,
July 12, 2014
By
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: soft easily workable clay, leaves a perfect base for polishing, megs quick detail spray is great
Cons: only a 'sample size' of clay
" You get a quite small amount of clay for the price but handy that it comes with quick detailer.
The clay is soft and easy to manipulate. I broke it in half and that was enough to finish my whole car (Fiesta ST) and then clay the wheels.
Just work it into a palm sized circle, spray the detailer on to the paint as a lube and rub in single directions on the paint. Paint starts off rough but becomes completely smooth. It's surprising how much dirt is hidden on the paint! Once smooth, buff the surface. After a clay the paint looks immaculate, similar to results I get from polishing without the clay step. After a clay and polish it looks like a professional job.
It's very good quality with a great detailing spray. Would have given a 5th star if they included a full 200g bar of clay. The price is too steep considering the instructions tell you to use the whole 50g bar for one application. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? DAGENHAM
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Meguiars Quik Clay Starter Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good clay bar kit,
April 21, 2014
By
from glasgow
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the shine after i used it
" Got this at the weekend and used it today and will use it from now on "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? STIRLING
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Meguiars Quik Clay Starter Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clay Virgin!,
March 23, 2014
By
from Medway, Kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, excellent finish
Cons: would have liked a clay container
" My first attempt at claying. This product worked brilliantly. Very easy to use. I followed with compound and wax, the finish was amazing on a nine year old car :-) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SITTINGBOURNE
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Meguiars Quik Clay Starter Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product,
December 28, 2013
By
from Maidstone
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, brand
Cons: nothing
" I use and highly recommend meguiars car cleaning items. I brought this for my sisters partner as a christmas present and he is really pleased with it. Another person hooked on the meguiars range.
:) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? KINGS LYNN
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Meguiars Quik Clay Starter Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant,
July 03, 2013
By
from Leicester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is great if you want a brilliant shine at a great price you can't go wrong with this "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (PUTNEY RD)
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Meguiars Quik Clay Starter Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great for first time clayer,
May 05, 2013
By
from west midlands
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use and result.
Cons: nowt.
" I have a 15 month old car and i am new to detailing products,i had this for xmas and just used it on my gleaming black titanium x mondeo and my life it looks great and so easy to use for the first timer.Im a fussy so and so but well impressed with the results,i washed car with auto glym shampoo and after ran my hand across the bodywork and it felt rough to the touch,clayed it once with this kit and felt as smooth as glass which led me on to polish and wax the car with amazing results.simply put if you take pride in your car look after it and buy this product or something very similar. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
How many cars: 2
+13points
15out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Meguiars Quik Clay Starter Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent product,
April 16, 2013
By
from grantham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Used this on paint work on a couple of cars. Would recomend it highly. Perfect smooth like glass result. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? GRANTHAM
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.