Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox

Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox uses the latest energy saving tech to keep your food and drink cool
Average Customer Rating:
4.279 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
38 of 42(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 50 Answers
Customer Reviews for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Review 1 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
coolbox,
July 31, 2015
By wayne123456
from Norfolk, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" very good coolbox work well very happy with it ether 12volt or 240 volt work either way "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? KINGS LYNN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product didn't work,
July 25, 2015
By JPT2015
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: it at all., didn't work
" Sadly this product did not live up to expectation at all.
The first time I tested it the lights ere on and the motor running but the never got cool and the pre frozen ice block container just melted. I ask for and got a full refund.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
4* but could have been 5*,
July 14, 2015
By Kingofthegrumpys
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Excellent box....ice cold everything even after a 200 mile 7hr journey on a very hot day. My only gripe is that the fans are noisy otherwise it would have been 5 and not the 4* I gave it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? ASHFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very useful product,
July 09, 2015
By Linlumps
from Oxford, Oxford, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: i like that it holds a lot
Cons: i wish it had a longer lead
" I bought this solely for use as an extra or emergency indoor fridge and I am very pleased with it. I don't have it on all the time, just as and when needed. I use it mainly for somewhere to put the chilled goods when I get home from shopping, until I have time later in the day to sort out the stuff for the freezer. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Did the job perfectly,
July 05, 2015
By Spursno1
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" God value box- no fuss -easy instructions and set up "
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? WHETSTONE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent product,
June 10, 2015
By Archieboyone
from somerset
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: you get all the leads you need and don't have to b
" This fridge works really well and has lived up to all expectations "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? FROME
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Keeps things cool, sturdy, feels nice,
May 07, 2015
By SouthernMyst
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: plugs into the wall and the house, has a max and an eco setting, a freezable divider and a thin plastic divider, decent amount of space and decent height inside
Cons: leaks when you lay it on its side and run it, wish the amperage was published
" Brilliant! Keeps food cool.
The first time, we ran it on max for about 3 hours before putting some chilled and some frozen things in it, and then moved it to the car and ran it on eco (we were worried about the amperage limit on the cigarette lighter socket; how many amps this uses isn't published on this website or the manufacturer's website or on anything that came with the coolbox). We ran it for about 10 hours until we got where we were going, and once we did, we found everything was still just the right temperature - and the frozen stuff was still completely frozen!
On the way back, we pre-chilled it again, but less, and had no frozen stuff; worked a treat.
On the next use, we pre-chilled it in the car for about 60-90 minutes while we went to collect an ice cream cake - only on eco. We'd laid it down, since that's how the cake would have to travel back with us. We saw the coolbox had leaked water onto the seat when we went to put the cake in (there was nothing in the coolbox, so this just came from the workings), so it's not brilliant on its side. We put a towel under it (make sure the top is exposed to air; that's where the fan is), and it worked well enough to get it home.
Once home, the ice cream cake went in the freezer, and all the stuff it displaced went in the coolbox for the week it took us to eat it. Worked a treat! I was so very, very glad I got one that could be plugged into the wall as well as the car.
Haven't had a need to use the hot yet.
It's sturdy, it has a nice feel, with smooth plastic, and the handle held up while carrying it fully loaded on that first trip. It's quite heavy. It's fairly quiet: I hardly noticed it on the road noise, though we did notice it in the house. I think the hallway it was in was too echoey, though. It would fit two ordinary 750mL wine bottles in it (though I'm not sure about the corks - those are the same shape bottles my apple juice comes in). The fan housing comes down too far across the rest of the lid for those bottles to fit, so it's almost that tall across most of it.
I'm really quite pleased with this. It'll do me duty as an extra fridge in the house when I have big holiday meals, as well as a cooler on the go. The insulation seems really good, so it doesn't always need to be plugged in, depending on what you're carrying and how far you're going. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? GLOSSOP
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Effective,
September 02, 2014
By IsleofSkye
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: mains and d/c power option, good storage capacity, easy to clean after use
" Used this coolbox as a very effective way to keep essential foods cold on a week long camping holiday through a recent warm spell. We stocked the box with the chilled foods and some unchilled drinks plus the ice block and loaded and plugged into the car for the 5 hour journey. The food was very cold on arrival at our destination and we had intended to leave the box plugged in the the boot of the car to run each time we went out for the days but found this not necessary.The box is well insulated and with use of the supplied ice block and a second one we already had we found we could rotate the use of blocks with the camp shop freezer and did not need to plug the box in whilst there.. This meant the cool box could stay within the tent for the week.
I must point out that this is a coolbox and not a replacement for a mega-doodie fridge,so when getting chilled foods out do not leave the lid open for ages as some men seem to do with a standard fridge!!! If you follow these simple steps you cannot fail to be impressed. It is well made, sturdy and up to Outwell high standards.
One initial problem appeared to be the lid would not stay up, good for energy saving but not ideal for initial packing etc. However on the third day i realised with clever use of the sturdy handle the lid can be propped safely open. This may be luck or another feature?
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Which Store did you visit? ABERDEEN (KITTY BREWSTER)
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
September 02, 2014
By Alg1980
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" After looking everwhere for a camping coolbox/fridge decided on this and its well worth the money this coolbox managed to keep a 4pint of milk,butter,bacon and four beers nice and cold "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Which Store did you visit? CANTERBURY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very effective,
August 28, 2014
By MS76
from Surrey
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: spacious, effective
" We uaed it to transport frozen food to the South of France from England (30 hour journey including overnight stay). It is not supposed to be used as a freezer but the frozen food remained frozen until arrival. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? WOKING
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Camping trip,
August 26, 2014
By Liquineer
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the capacity
Cons: it is top heavy when open and can fall over.
" I bought this to go camping with so I could use it when no power was available. I Froze the refillable divider and had the box on cooling the day before the trip. It kept my food cool for 5 days without electricity whilst travelling and camping. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Which Store did you visit? BURY ST. EDMUNDS
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cooler / Hot Box,
August 26, 2014
By Jonesie1981
from Stoke-on-Trent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good materials used, good temps on max mode, fair value for money
Cons: cover flap could be better designed, no place to put power cable not in use
" This is a great product, good quality materials have been used and the box has 4 modes, with a strong carrying handle. Hot and Cold then MAX or ECO mode on both. I have found that to get the best out of it you have to leave it on MAX when you can, then turn it onto ECO mode when you leave the car so it doesent run down your battery.
Only cons is that the cover flap at the back where you connect the cables is a little too small, if it was made deeper the flap could have been closed while the box is in operation. In addition, there is no place to put the spare cable, i.e the mains lead when traveling or the 12v lead when in the house.
Overall: This is a great product and could recommend it to anyone looking for a cool box or hot/cool box. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? NEWCASTLE UNDER LYME
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent purchase.,
August 23, 2014
By Gio5
from East Sussex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: almost silent, well build, plenty of room
" Bought this a few weeks ago and out it to the test straight away on a weeks camping. It was left on constantly, kept both drinks and food cool and fresh and runs almost silently.
A great purchase which means I can now have a cup of tea first thing in the morning without having to leave the tent.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent,
August 10, 2014
By Kerry32
from East Yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Took this on a camping trip. Kept everything cool and fresh. Fantastic value for money "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Which Store did you visit? HULL (ST ANDREWS QUAY)
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value for money,
August 08, 2014
By BiBo
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I am very pleased with the coolbox. Cools down very quickly, the noise is pleasant and the design is great. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great for camping,
August 08, 2014
By Afallon
from Porthmadog, Gwynedd, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" kept food and drink cold during our camping holiday, so could keep food longer rather than having to cook everything - or throw it away, which probably saved us money in the end! The lid is top heavy so you need to be careful that it doesn't topple over when it's empty - other than that, really pleased with the purchase. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? BANGOR
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox,
July 31, 2014
By Anonymous
from London, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: light to carry, visually attactive
Cons: vehicle cable too short, good but not that good., lid does not stay open - 2 hands req.
" Its OK for the price. Put some Beers in it in the morning and they were acceptably cool late the same evening. A bit cooler would have been better, but July in London was rather warm. Don't expect anything other than a drink 15-20 degrees lowwer than room temp. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HARROW
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Product !,
July 07, 2014
By Irondown
from Worcestershire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Purchased this for a camping trip and what a difference it made. Cold drinks (and beer !!) and all the cooked breakfast and BBQ essentials for a hot summer. Obviously limited storage size but daily management provides what is needed. Has two power modes normal and ECO, normal brings it down to about 20C below ambient (in my test case 5C on a 25C day), ECO only down to about 10C on same day. ECO is much quieter but normal is OK even inside a tent. Kept it outside the main part of tent but under cover due to the sun's oven heating effect on tents. Useful large ice block slides into a groove and provides additional cooling and cold drinks. Car adapter not long enough to reach the boot which is a shame but great insulation and ice block means it will keep icy cold for any long car journeys. Stylish and good quality, handle is a little stiff to slide up/down and it will fall over if opened when empty but only minor drawbacks. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? REDDITCH
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Warmer in than out!,
August 12, 2013
By mudphish
from Stratford on Avon
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" Unbelievable piece of kit........
I bought the Vacanza 24Lt Eco Coolbox just before going on a camping trip. Thinking it would at least keep the milk cool for tea and cereals in the mornings. Not a chance.
Having had it running over night, before we left home and everything in it cold to start with, it didn't have much to do the first day. What it did do is get everything in it as warm as it could as soon as possible so that the car stank rotten before getting off the motorway.........
We tried the next day again, in vain, not by cooking anything but just getting it warm enough to start to putrefy. RANK!
Since arriving back home, I've tried it back on the mains and it manages to increase the internal temp by about 2 degrees Celsius. It says on the box that it will chill to 20 degrees below ambient temp. NOT A CHANCE!!!!!!
Verdict; Avoid
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? STRATFORD UPON AVON
-44points
7out of 58found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Outwell Coolbox,
August 07, 2013
By MarkytheSparky
from Worthing
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: vesatility
Cons: removable parts
" Robust construction, easy to clean, versatile - able to keep food warm as well as cool making it suitable for winter and summer use.
Good value for money.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WORTHING
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>