Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox

The Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox uses the latest energy saving technology to keep your food and drink cool on the move.
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
22 of 25(88%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer Reviews for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Review 1 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Warmer in than out!,
August 12, 2013
By mudphish
from Stratford on Avon
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Unbelievable piece of kit........
I bought the Vacanza 24Lt Eco Coolbox just before going on a camping trip. Thinking it would at least keep the milk cool for tea and cereals in the mornings. Not a chance.
Having had it running over night, before we left home and everything in it cold to start with, it didn't have much to do the first day. What it did do is get everything in it as warm as it could as soon as possible so that the car stank rotten before getting off the motorway.........
We tried the next day again, in vain, not by cooking anything but just getting it warm enough to start to putrefy. RANK!
Since arriving back home, I've tried it back on the mains and it manages to increase the internal temp by about 2 degrees Celsius. It says on the box that it will chill to 20 degrees below ambient temp. NOT A CHANCE!!!!!!
Verdict; Avoid
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? STRATFORD UPON AVON
-3points
3out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Outwell Coolbox,
August 07, 2013
By MarkytheSparky
from Worthing
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: vesatility
Cons: removable parts
"Robust construction, easy to clean, versatile - able to keep food warm as well as cool making it suitable for winter and summer use.
Good value for money.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WORTHING
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellant,
August 01, 2013
By Davidatdrake
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bought this coolbox to use in the car and in caravan awning when on site, works well even during the recent heat wave"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cool box,
July 30, 2013
By Cirrus
from West Sussex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Have just used this cool box on a week's holiday to Dorset during the recent hot weather this cool box performed very well best of all was the price cheapest I could find was at Halfords.
I don't know what the box will be like after a year of hard family service but so far so good!!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WORTHING
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall good, but with reservations,
July 28, 2013
By zedthou
from Surrey,UK.
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: built in transformer, works well
Cons: top heavy lid, internal lid strap not up to job
"Internal strap broke, as the lid is too heavy ... my local Halfords doesn't have any in stock, so I'll hang on to it till they have more in.
Summary
Worth buying, as long as you are aware of it's shortcomings.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? REDHILL
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Coolbox works in hottest summer for years,
July 28, 2013
By Ollie111
from Shropshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Had intended to buy elsewhere, but price at Halfords was best by far.
The box was used in a tent on the Welsh coast, in late July 2013, average daily temp over 25C!
The box, connected to 240V supply, kept milk, drinks, chilled food and, most importantly wine box, almost as cold as fridge.
Great product, great price.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? TELFORD
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great cool box,
July 28, 2013
By sooz99
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: in car and house adaptors
Cons: handle a bit sticky to pull up
"Using this cooler for the first time and so far so good! switched it on before we left and packed it the night before, everything nicely chilled. Great to have both adaptors, can plug it in in car too."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent,
July 27, 2013
By me22
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Works perfect. Definitely recommend it, time will tell on reliability as I have only just got it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Value,
July 27, 2013
By jtfrance
from Somerset
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I was looking for a coolbox with a higher cooling performance than normal for carrying medicines. After the first couple of weeks use, I am impressed with the performance in some very hot conditions."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CRIBBS CAUSEWAY
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox,
July 25, 2013
By jasong247
from Dorset
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Bought this as specs stated it would cool down to 18-25 degrees below ambient which is better than most. Unfortunately when I got it home and plugged into mains, the performance was a lot less. Only managed to cool down by about 10 degrees and that was leaving it overnight. Took it back as clearly not good. Shame really as its a good looking coolbox."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? FERNDOWN
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a gem for the price,
July 24, 2013
By Strontiumdog
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: both leads supplied
"30 deg c outside temp, plugged it it, straight down to 15 deg c. Added the bottle that comes with it frozen, down to 6 deg c. all this with just a couple of coke cans in it.
12v/240v mains leads supplied with it, Really looking forward to using this product next week."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice little cool box,
July 22, 2013
By Milka
from Norfolk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"We used it for camping trip on a rather hot weekend, it struggled a bit with the high temperatures as it only cools approx. to 20C below outside temp, but for the money I wouldn't expect anything more. Milk etc survived:)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? NORWICH
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Vacanza cool box,
July 22, 2013
By Len53
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
"It works.
In the car it kept the food cool with no problems.
We kept the cool box in the hotel room on the mains supply, again no issues with cooling.
It is a little noisy when first plugged in, but as the temp cools down, so does the fan speed. No problems at all sleeping with it in the room.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? ASHFORD
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works well!,
July 20, 2013
By NickyG1
from Devon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This is fantastic as long as you keep ice blocks in there to help it along. But saying that, we did camp during the heatwave. We froze small bottles of water to put in there but it also has a divider that you can fill and freeze too. Starts of a little noisy but quitens down once it has cooled down inside. Great product, well worth the money. It is also quite heavy before you've even put anything inside it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BARNSTAPLE
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value,
July 11, 2013
By jg2906
from Stafford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Does exactly what it says on the tin! Worked well plugged into the car socket and well enough insulated to keep everything chilled during picnic. Haven't tried the heated option yet but would definitely recommend."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CANNOCK
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Outwell cool box,
July 09, 2013
By Kpodx5000
from Hampshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: works on mains, freezable drinks holder bobbles as an ice pack
Cons: none
"Brought this cool box to use on family days out only used it once so far but very pleased with performance kept drinks ice cold on a very hot day (29.5 degrees) !"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? BASINGSTOKE
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic,
July 08, 2013
By RV1969
from Leicestershire UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"What a fantastic buy! Bought for our camping trip, which turned out to be super hot, and the cool box preformed extremely well!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? NUNEATON
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
coolbox,
July 06, 2013
By j19hws
from essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good build quality
Cons: nothing
"Not got a bad word to say about it. I use it in my truck all week and everything keeps really cold. I even switch it off a night to save battery and it keeps cold all night even in this recent hot weather
Also runs on mains power which is a bonus
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? COLCHESTER
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quiet Fan and Works Well,
July 02, 2013
By gingercamper
from southampton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Use this cool box for camping. The included freezer pack quickly cools the box, then plug into the car to keep things cool whilst travelling. The fan is quite quiet when temperature has been reached. Keeps milk, drinks and food fresh. Quite heavy, even when empty. Good investment if you have mains power to use. (Camping fridges are no better at cooling, but cost 3-4 times the price)."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHAMPTON (HEDGE END)
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great cooler so far,
June 21, 2013
By wna1
from Scotland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Only used a couple of times , but most superior cooler I have used so far. Quite heavy, and a little more " plastic " looking than the picture suggests. Great to have option to connect to car/ mains electric, so we have used it when we go to a hotel to use in bedroom. Car flex long enough to have coolbox on floor in back seat, while connected. Love the colour ( fickle but true..)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? PERTH
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
12next>>