Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Coolboxes or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox

Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox uses the latest energy saving tech to keep your food and drink cool
Average Customer Rating:
4.278 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
33 of 36(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Review 1 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Effective,
September 02, 2014
By IsleofSkye
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: mains and d/c power option, good storage capacity, easy to clean after use
"Used this coolbox as a very effective way to keep essential foods cold on a week long camping holiday through a recent warm spell. We stocked the box with the chilled foods and some unchilled drinks plus the ice block and loaded and plugged into the car for the 5 hour journey. The food was very cold on arrival at our destination and we had intended to leave the box plugged in the the boot of the car to run each time we went out for the days but found this not necessary.The box is well insulated and with use of the supplied ice block and a second one we already had we found we could rotate the use of blocks with the camp shop freezer and did not need to plug the box in whilst there.. This meant the cool box could stay within the tent for the week.
I must point out that this is a coolbox and not a replacement for a mega-doodie fridge,so when getting chilled foods out do not leave the lid open for ages as some men seem to do with a standard fridge!!! If you follow these simple steps you cannot fail to be impressed. It is well made, sturdy and up to Outwell high standards.
One initial problem appeared to be the lid would not stay up, good for energy saving but not ideal for initial packing etc. However on the third day i realised with clever use of the sturdy handle the lid can be propped safely open. This may be luck or another feature?
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Which Store did you visit? ABERDEEN (KITTY BREWSTER)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
September 02, 2014
By Alg1980
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"After looking everwhere for a camping coolbox/fridge decided on this and its well worth the money this coolbox managed to keep a 4pint of milk,butter,bacon and four beers nice and cold"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Which Store did you visit? CANTERBURY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very effective,
August 28, 2014
By MS76
from Surrey
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: spacious, effective
"We uaed it to transport frozen food to the South of France from England (30 hour journey including overnight stay). It is not supposed to be used as a freezer but the frozen food remained frozen until arrival."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? WOKING
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Camping trip,
August 26, 2014
By Liquineer
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the capacity
Cons: it is top heavy when open and can fall over.
"I bought this to go camping with so I could use it when no power was available. I Froze the refillable divider and had the box on cooling the day before the trip. It kept my food cool for 5 days without electricity whilst travelling and camping."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Which Store did you visit? BURY ST. EDMUNDS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cooler / Hot Box,
August 26, 2014
By Jonesie1981
from Stoke-on-Trent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good materials used, good temps on max mode, fair value for money
Cons: cover flap could be better designed, no place to put power cable not in use
"This is a great product, good quality materials have been used and the box has 4 modes, with a strong carrying handle. Hot and Cold then MAX or ECO mode on both. I have found that to get the best out of it you have to leave it on MAX when you can, then turn it onto ECO mode when you leave the car so it doesent run down your battery.
Only cons is that the cover flap at the back where you connect the cables is a little too small, if it was made deeper the flap could have been closed while the box is in operation. In addition, there is no place to put the spare cable, i.e the mains lead when traveling or the 12v lead when in the house.
Overall: This is a great product and could recommend it to anyone looking for a cool box or hot/cool box."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? NEWCASTLE UNDER LYME
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent purchase.,
August 23, 2014
By Gio5
from East Sussex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: almost silent, well build, plenty of room
"Bought this a few weeks ago and out it to the test straight away on a weeks camping. It was left on constantly, kept both drinks and food cool and fresh and runs almost silently.
A great purchase which means I can now have a cup of tea first thing in the morning without having to leave the tent.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent,
August 10, 2014
By Kerry32
from East Yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Took this on a camping trip. Kept everything cool and fresh. Fantastic value for money"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Which Store did you visit? HULL (ST ANDREWS QUAY)
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value for money,
August 08, 2014
By BiBo
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I am very pleased with the coolbox. Cools down very quickly, the noise is pleasant and the design is great."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great for camping,
August 08, 2014
By Afallon
from Porthmadog, Gwynedd, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"kept food and drink cold during our camping holiday, so could keep food longer rather than having to cook everything - or throw it away, which probably saved us money in the end! The lid is top heavy so you need to be careful that it doesn't topple over when it's empty - other than that, really pleased with the purchase."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? BANGOR
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox,
July 31, 2014
By Anonymous
from London, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: light to carry, visually attactive
Cons: vehicle cable too short, good but not that good., lid does not stay open - 2 hands req.
"Its OK for the price. Put some Beers in it in the morning and they were acceptably cool late the same evening. A bit cooler would have been better, but July in London was rather warm. Don't expect anything other than a drink 15-20 degrees lowwer than room temp."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HARROW
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Product !,
July 07, 2014
By Irondown
from Worcestershire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Purchased this for a camping trip and what a difference it made. Cold drinks (and beer !!) and all the cooked breakfast and BBQ essentials for a hot summer. Obviously limited storage size but daily management provides what is needed. Has two power modes normal and ECO, normal brings it down to about 20C below ambient (in my test case 5C on a 25C day), ECO only down to about 10C on same day. ECO is much quieter but normal is OK even inside a tent. Kept it outside the main part of tent but under cover due to the sun's oven heating effect on tents. Useful large ice block slides into a groove and provides additional cooling and cold drinks. Car adapter not long enough to reach the boot which is a shame but great insulation and ice block means it will keep icy cold for any long car journeys. Stylish and good quality, handle is a little stiff to slide up/down and it will fall over if opened when empty but only minor drawbacks."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? REDDITCH
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Warmer in than out!,
August 12, 2013
By mudphish
from Stratford on Avon
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Unbelievable piece of kit........
I bought the Vacanza 24Lt Eco Coolbox just before going on a camping trip. Thinking it would at least keep the milk cool for tea and cereals in the mornings. Not a chance.
Having had it running over night, before we left home and everything in it cold to start with, it didn't have much to do the first day. What it did do is get everything in it as warm as it could as soon as possible so that the car stank rotten before getting off the motorway.........
We tried the next day again, in vain, not by cooking anything but just getting it warm enough to start to putrefy. RANK!
Since arriving back home, I've tried it back on the mains and it manages to increase the internal temp by about 2 degrees Celsius. It says on the box that it will chill to 20 degrees below ambient temp. NOT A CHANCE!!!!!!
Verdict; Avoid
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? STRATFORD UPON AVON
-34points
7out of 48found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Outwell Coolbox,
August 07, 2013
By MarkytheSparky
from Worthing
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: vesatility
Cons: removable parts
"Robust construction, easy to clean, versatile - able to keep food warm as well as cool making it suitable for winter and summer use.
Good value for money.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WORTHING
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellant,
August 01, 2013
By Davidatdrake
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bought this coolbox to use in the car and in caravan awning when on site, works well even during the recent heat wave"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cool box,
July 30, 2013
By Cirrus
from West Sussex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Have just used this cool box on a week's holiday to Dorset during the recent hot weather this cool box performed very well best of all was the price cheapest I could find was at Halfords.
I don't know what the box will be like after a year of hard family service but so far so good!!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WORTHING
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall good, but with reservations,
July 28, 2013
By zedthou
from Surrey,UK.
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: built in transformer, works well
Cons: top heavy lid, internal lid strap not up to job
"Internal strap broke, as the lid is too heavy ... my local Halfords doesn't have any in stock, so I'll hang on to it till they have more in.
Summary
Worth buying, as long as you are aware of it's shortcomings.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? REDHILL
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Coolbox works in hottest summer for years,
July 28, 2013
By Ollie111
from Shropshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Had intended to buy elsewhere, but price at Halfords was best by far.
The box was used in a tent on the Welsh coast, in late July 2013, average daily temp over 25C!
The box, connected to 240V supply, kept milk, drinks, chilled food and, most importantly wine box, almost as cold as fridge.
Great product, great price.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? TELFORD
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great cool box,
July 28, 2013
By sooz99
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: in car and house adaptors
Cons: handle a bit sticky to pull up
"Using this cooler for the first time and so far so good! switched it on before we left and packed it the night before, everything nicely chilled. Great to have both adaptors, can plug it in in car too."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent,
July 27, 2013
By me22
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Works perfect. Definitely recommend it, time will tell on reliability as I have only just got it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Vacanza by Outwell 24L Coolbox
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Value,
July 27, 2013
By jtfrance
from Somerset
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I was looking for a coolbox with a higher cooling performance than normal for carrying medicines. After the first couple of weeks use, I am impressed with the performance in some very hot conditions."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CRIBBS CAUSEWAY
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>