Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Carrera Subway Limited Edition Hybrid Bike -18"

The Carrera Subway Limited Edition Hybrid Bike is a versatile cycle at a brilliant price.
Average Customer Rating:
4.566 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (53 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
19
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
51 of 52(98%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for Carrera Subway Limited Edition Hybrid Bike -18"
Review 1 for Carrera Subway Limited Edition Hybrid Bike -18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice bike,
April 05, 2014
By TheREALsoulman
from Dorset
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: service, price
Cons: hard saddle, can't bfit toeclips to original peddles
"Can't complain about the service. The guys at the Ferndown, Dorset branch had to scource this bike from another store as it was an older model. Brilliant bike except the hard saddle and the fact I had to buy new pedals so I could fit toe clips."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? FERNDOWN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carrera Subway Limited Edition Hybrid Bike -18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bike, great price,
March 30, 2014
By Abcd4321
from North east
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: upgraded overtime
Cons: hard seat
"Had an original subway one, this one has improved over time with better brakes,gears and shifters. I bought this for my good lady and the only negative is the seat is a little hard and perhaps not suited to a female. All in all a good buy."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? SOUTH SHIELDS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carrera Subway Limited Edition Hybrid Bike -18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value for money,
March 29, 2014
By G123456789M
from Gloucestershire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: light and fast
"What a great bike for the price. It is light and fast and so far I have had no issues at all with it.
I commute 17 miles each way to work with ease."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? CHELTENHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carrera Subway Limited Edition Hybrid Bike -18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great bike,
March 17, 2014
By GR16
from Washington sunderland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"im about 5.10 18inch frame perfect for me (even tho ppl have been saying its a bit small i think its just right )
fantastic bike been using it to cycle to and from work runs great would recommend to anyone.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? GATESHEAD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carrera Subway Limited Edition Hybrid Bike -18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good quality bike,
December 24, 2013
By reavley3
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Does exactly what it should do and looks great on the road."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? FRIERN BARNET
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carrera Subway Limited Edition Hybrid Bike -18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bargain, great bike,
December 16, 2013
By Lelepzz
from Nottingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent reasonable cost great perks! What more could we want"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? NOTTINGHAM (CHILWELL)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carrera Subway Limited Edition Hybrid Bike -18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Affordable, versatile bike.,
November 27, 2013
By hellz
from Glasgow
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Can run up my 2 flights of stairs with it over my shoulder, it's lightweight for it's kind. Have cycled it both round the city and in forest parks. Brilliant wee bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? GLASGOW (RUTHERGLEN)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carrera Subway Limited Edition Hybrid Bike -18"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Red Blur.......,
November 23, 2013
By YECPVCBA
from Nottingham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: build, look, feel, a real mover
Cons: it is not non-chip paintwork, seat, why no mudguards on street bikes?
"This is a bike for days out and exercise. Taking the cost over a 3 year period, it's a snip when compared with gym membership. The build quality and accessories suggest they are good enough to last the term. The assembly moves and works easily, the gearing is nicely balanced. Doubt I'll need 21 gears, but naturally I've tried them all. Wheels are strong, with a wide diameter for stability and forward roll. Areas for improvement are: the powder coating spray finish is only microns thick; the seat is uncomfortable."
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? NOTTINGHAM (NUTHALL RD)
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carrera Subway Limited Edition Hybrid Bike -18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Bike.....poor handover,
October 28, 2013
By Smith1959
from Milton Keynes
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I brought the bike online, and collected it from my local store in Central Milton Keynes. The bike is excellent and really good value for money, and I would recommend it. However, just as important is the customer service. When I collected the bike, there was no handover, no running through the bike to show how the gears work, and no asking me if I had any questions. It was a case of "here is the bike off you go". Was not impressed."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? MILTON KEYNES
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carrera Subway Limited Edition Hybrid Bike -18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice looking bike,
October 25, 2013
By kh68fg
from rochdale
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Ive had this bike now for 8 weeks i haven't rode it a lot yet but
when ive rode it i found it more than satisfactory, the gear did have a habit of slipping from 3rd to 2nd but that was sorted on
my 6 week service; the seat wasn't very comfortable so i just
changed it apart from that good value for the money.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? ROCHDALE
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carrera Subway Limited Edition Hybrid Bike -18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice to Ride and excellent gearing,
October 09, 2013
By Tony1969
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is a Nice bike to ride and you can get it going fast with little effort. The only problems that I have are with Halfords description of the Bike and the Mechanic that set it up.
The Website say the frame is 7005 aluminium where as the frame has 6061 printed on the Frame.
The paint work is rather thin I brushed it putting my D-lock on and have gone throw to the metal.
The worse thing was the bikes set up.
The steering was not straight because the handle bars weren't in line with the front wheel.
The Breaks cables where over tightened so once the pad touched the wheel rim there was no more give in the cable.
The back brake I could not squeeze tight enough to lock the rear wheel even going up hill.
All easily sorted but should a trained mechanic be making such mistakes? This was at the Bromley store so check bikes if you but them there.
These are great bikes and excellent to ride. Its just Halfords description and the Mechanic that I have problems with
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? BROMLEY
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Carrera Subway Limited Edition Hybrid Bike -18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Perfect Commuter Bike,
October 02, 2013
By alloybeast
from cheltenham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased this bike this morning from the Cheltenham store.The guy I spoke to was very helpful in assisting me in choosing the right kind of bike.As I was only going to use it for getting to and from work and the occasional trip into town,i didn't need disc brakes or suspension,just a solid well built bike that won't fall apart the second I get on it,And my god does it handle like a dream and it is very fast.So to cap it all off,yes I would recommend this bike to anyone who isn't into mountain biking and just wants a decent run around.And for the money it can't be beaten"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? CHELTENHAM
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Carrera Subway Limited Edition Hybrid Bike -18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent bike,
September 29, 2013
By gcunningham5591
from Beeston, Nottingham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: great range of gears, versatile, fast, overall great design
Cons: saddle
"Have had this bike for about two weeks now and use it to cycle to work most days. It has already halved my journey time, compared to my previous bike. It's so easy to reach high speeds, on and off-road. The build is incredibly light - light enough for me to carry it with one hand up three flights of stairs to my office when I cycle to work! The gears change very smoothly and make any terrain or incline perfectly manageable. Even the design and overall look and feel of the bike is really aesthetically pleasing.
It is a little bumpy off-road, but this is to be expected with the minimal suspension and thin tyres. The saddle could be better, also, as it makes long rides a little uncomfortable towards the end, but apart from these minor cons, I could not recommend this bike highly enough. Great if you want a top quality bike but without spending too much money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? NOTTINGHAM (CHILWELL)
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Carrera Subway Limited Edition Hybrid Bike -18"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After one month the frame is showing true colours.,
September 28, 2013
By The1standard1has1been1set
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the ride quality and lightness of the bike.
Cons: the quality of the paint work.
"I was initially happy with this bike.
However after only one month I have noticed some unusual marks on the frame where the wheel is attached - a bit like rust or corrosion.
I have also noticed an imperfection on the frame which looks like it could only have happened during the manufacturing process.
My bike is due for a six week service so I will be raising the aforementioned issues with Halfords."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? OXFORD
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Carrera Subway Limited Edition Hybrid Bike -18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent buy,
August 28, 2013
By Franco2013
from Liverpool
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: 5
Cons: 0
"I am very pleased with this Bike. would recommend to any one. Excellent price too."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? AINTREE
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Carrera Subway Limited Edition Hybrid Bike -18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bike great price,
August 07, 2013
By Jameson98
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: how it looks, it's ease of ride
Cons: the tires
"Such an easy ride both on and off road! Love the ease of the gears, wheels aren't as slim as I first thought they would be and I've changed the tires as they wasn't as slick as I like.
Over all a great bike
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Carrera Subway Limited Edition Hybrid Bike -18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
enjoyable bike,
August 05, 2013
By anthorpe
from lincoln
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: great bike for the price
"had this bike three weeks and have done nearly 200 miles
really easy to ride gears very easy to use well worth the price
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? LINCOLN (TRITTON)
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Carrera Subway Limited Edition Hybrid Bike -18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
does what it says on the tin,
August 04, 2013
By Bobby5
from dalkeith
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"good bike, fair price I have added a gel saddle cover and a couple of mudguards for our rainy days, it works well with the static trainer that I also purchased and can't fault it at this early stage"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? EDINBURGH (STRAITON)
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Carrera Subway Limited Edition Hybrid Bike -18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bike,
July 30, 2013
By Alli21
from Scotland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I'm new to cycling and a friend who is serious about it suggested this bike. Can't complain bike light and comfortable to cycle. Great service when collected at Halfords staff really helpful."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? EAST KILBRIDE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Carrera Subway Limited Edition Hybrid Bike -18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great looking and easy to ride bike,
July 25, 2013
By dpb1
from Ashford, Kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Early days, but so far a very easy to ride bike, gear changes smooth and brakes good. Great value for money so very pleased."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
123next>>