Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

PURE Highway 300Di In-Car Digital Radio Adaptor

PURE Highway 300Di in-car digital radio adaptor (DAB) works wonders with iPod, iPhone and iPad.
Average Customer Rating:
4.846 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 of 13(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for PURE Highway 300Di In-Car Digital Radio Adaptor
Review 1 for PURE Highway 300Di In-Car Digital Radio Adaptor
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It is the little things that make PURE Highway 300Di poor,
January 06, 2014
By steerpike
from UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: clear interface, compact, good dab sound quality
Cons: slow start up, full band fm interference, patchy dab reception in town
"It took 2 fittings to get right as the wiring forced my Zafira's CD30 into a mode where it made no sound at all for three days. Once correctly installed it sounded great and the display is small but clear. But the problems way out strip the advantages. It interferes with all FM signals once it starts up - even the frequencies it is not tuned to transmit on. So, if the highway is installed (unless you power it down) you cannot switch to your old FM stations. It takes a good 20-30 seconds to start up each time. This does not sound long but when you are used to instant start on your FM radio it feels like forever. During that 20-30 you can't listen to FM because the unit interferes. The DAB sound also goes silent for tiny periods of time (I assume it is a short dip in signal strength) which is also annoying. You can't just switch to FM because of the problem above."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHAMPTON (WINCHESTER RD)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PURE Highway 300Di In-Car Digital Radio Adaptor
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great piece of kit,
December 04, 2013
By BrummieBlueNose
from Kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: neat tidy module, good reception, plays usb sticks
Cons: doesn't remember usb tracks after switch off
"Had this fitted to a 2010 BMW 320 (Non iDrive). Reception is better than the factory fit DAB radio in my old Ford Focus and the inclusion of a USB socket is a real bonus. Used internal stick on aerial not the external roof mounted one - nice and discreet.
Changes station quickly and holds signal well. UI could be a little better when switching to USB (Doesn't remember what track you were on), but overall v happy.
Fitted by Sittingbourne branch who did a very good job."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? SITTINGBOURNE
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PURE Highway 300Di In-Car Digital Radio Adaptor
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
best dab radio,
June 24, 2013
By hazzi
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Eazy to use no changes 2 car streo best sound it was weath the money"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
How many cars: 3
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PURE Highway 300Di In-Car Digital Radio Adaptor
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolutely Brilliant,
June 24, 2013
By Starchaser
from Bristol UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Well what can I say! I done my homework on this one and it really paid off. I bought this one for my husband for Fathers Day as he travels a great deal all over the country and loves planet rock, but even though the feedbacks were very positive I was still a little sceptical about purchasing an "AD ON". But I gave him it and he was really pleased, it was fitted within and hour, instructions were very clear. The outcome he was over the moon with it, I am even going to purchase on for my car and my son is going for one in his. What more can I say. Oh I did purchase another exterior aerial a DAB magnetic roof mount one."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (EASTGATE)
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PURE Highway 300Di In-Car Digital Radio Adaptor
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pure highway quality,
March 16, 2013
By steviet67
from grimsby uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"really happy with this i can now listen to my fav dab station only took 1 hour to fit and the fitter ben in grimsby store was a great guy thanks again"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? GRIMSBY
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PURE Highway 300Di In-Car Digital Radio Adaptor
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best solution - Pure 300Di,
March 13, 2013
By Franpa2
from Swansea
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the build quality, performance
Cons: cost of additinal adapters
"I wanted DAB radio in the car and Skoda didn't offer this option, so reading up on the net I went for the Pure 300Di. I already had a Pure " Evoke" radio at home and knew they were good. Halfords made a very neat job of the installation (not a single wire showing) and I'm very pleased with the results - many more stations and no drop-outs so far. The price can mount up with various adapters, aerial and a harness depending on your model of car. I would certainly recommend this solution if your looking to install DAB and yet retain your existing Headset."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? SWANSEA
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PURE Highway 300Di In-Car Digital Radio Adaptor
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brilliant dab addon to keep original stereo,
February 20, 2013
By MarillionFan
from North Yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Awesome dab system fully controls ipods usb sticks brilliant sound highly recommended"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PURE Highway 300Di In-Car Digital Radio Adaptor
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pure Highway 300 Di,
February 15, 2013
By VolvoV50
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"My unit is hard wired on a Volvo V50, installation took 4 hours but would be quicker the second time. Unit works superbly with very high quality reception (using a roof mounted antenna).
I don't see this as a home installation but other wise great.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PURE Highway 300Di In-Car Digital Radio Adaptor
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great signal and sound,
January 04, 2013
By AzzaYorkshire
from N-yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: small and easy to use, great signal and sound quality
Cons: iso plug connectors
"Good signal and great sound.
The usb feature is great just plug in the memory stick and play and is completely searchable by artist and album etc.
Would have been better if the wiring was simple cig lighter socket instead of the ISO connectors its supplied with as you have to remove the existing car stereo which can in some cases be very awkward, however i got round this by cutting the ISO plugs off and wiring a permanent live from the fuse box in the boot and the ignition live and ground to a cig lighter socket and works a dream."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PURE Highway 300Di In-Car Digital Radio Adaptor
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you want to keep your head unit this does all you need,
December 31, 2012
By Italiano
from Reading, Berkshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good dab signal even with magnetic aerial, charges ipod/iphone, forecourt pause
Cons: slow to startup - searching for available stations, 1 usb socket - can't use ipod and usb at same time, main unit flimsy - i broke the usb socket, loss of fm signal strength on passthrough
"I needed to use my existing head unit. (with fm radio, cassette and multi CD). Couldn't find anything suitable to add playback of USB, iPod (and DAB) until I found this. Works great even after fitting all of it myself. I recommend professional fitting though as connections can be easily damaged if you're too forceful."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PURE Highway 300Di In-Car Digital Radio Adaptor
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
December 30, 2012
By gettingdusty
from Kenilworth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've been contemplating upgrading to DAB for a while and was considering replacing the head unit. The Pure Highway unit has allowed me to keep my existing Alpine head unit and lives up to all expectations. I had it fitted by Halfords, the guy sorted it in just over an hour and works perfectly. I'd definitely recommend the Pure unit as a DAB upgrade."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PURE Highway 300Di In-Car Digital Radio Adaptor
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great DAB radio for your car,
November 25, 2012
By Dougi
from Hove Sussex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: dab choice is great, tuning is easy, installation is straightforward, sound is excellent
"Fitted this unit to a Renault Laguna Expression. Line output from the unit was too high for the car amplifier causing speaker distortion. Solution was to use an Audio attenuator. Reduced the line output so speakers do not distort and without reducing clarity of sound. Volume can now be turned up without any problem. Upgraded the speakers as well and the sound is clean and crisp. Please note AUX line input needs the gain input up to 3 to be acceptable on a level with the DAB radio stations. See settings.
Be experimental where you lay the aerial cable as car electronics can affect signal reception.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PURE Highway 300Di In-Car Digital Radio Adaptor
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best DAB adapter ever!,
November 12, 2012
By Catharine
from Oxford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: neat great sound
"Just had this installed, the fitter at Halfords was really great. I have the neat internal antenna which is hidden away . This unit allows me to listen to all my favorite stations, BBC6, Planet Rock which do not exist on FM. Very happy when I found out I can charge my Iphone using the USB exstention cable + play all my music thought the device using the Pure controller ..."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.