Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 20"

VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike 20inch has a strong, light frame for powerful off-road performance
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
22 of 23(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
32 Questions | 40 Answers
Customer Reviews for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 20"
Review 1 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
voodoo bizango,
July 12, 2014
By canoepaddle50
from Chesham, Buckinghamshire HP5, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything
"I purchased my bike some two months ago I have clocked up to date 200 miles it hasn't let me down it's been a joy to ride , I've taken on plently of red downhill trails and would you believe snowdon ! Which it took on with no problems .I have nothing but praise for it , fantastic bike ten out of ten ."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Boating
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? AYLESBURY
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
vodoo bizango,
July 09, 2014
By colonel83
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: components, design looks the part
Cons: weight of bike feels heavy
"Having had this bike a while now I have had plenty opportunity to take this bike out on the road and out on the trails (Glentress blue route and Carron Valley).
The bike feels heavy and with the wider tires be prepared to put in extra effort when cycling on the road. I also found at Carron Valley I had to work harder on the climbs.
At Glentress I did not notice how heavy the bike feels and the bike managed everything the blue route had to offer.
The components all seem good quality and apart from a few squeaks the only downside I can find is the weight of the bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic bike,
July 09, 2014
By PuGxSi
from Sheffield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have had lots of bikes in the past, mainly cheap "it will do" ones. I decided to start riding more often both off road and to work so wanted something which would last, this feels like it will definitely fit the bill.
Easy to rind on the street and the 29" wheels help smooth out the bumps. Frame feels solid and gears engage every time.
I looked at Boardman bikes however for the price and spec, you cant go wrong with this.
I've only had the bike 2 weeks however used it more than my last bike in the last 5 years I've had it.
Love the air forks and how easy they are to adjust the pressure/loading. Just remember you will need a shock pump to adjust them.
Only thing is with the 29" wheels it does feel odd when turning at higher speeds. The frame feels like it wants to move you about."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (QUEENS RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this bike!,
June 20, 2014
By MrWeasel
from Wiltshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the tonka toy of bikes, brake feel and efficiency
Cons: discs always rubslightly (noisy)
"OK, I'm a big kid, it's massive, black and I love it! I'm 5' 10" and I bought the large frame size, this makes the handlebars just higher than the seat for me, so more comfort than aggressive but at 40 that's fine!
I ride Downland and New Forest trails mostly, and predominantly keep the suspension locked out and with those huge wheels it's still comfy and composed. And so far unstoppable over ruts and roots.
Seat's surprisingly comfortable too and I mostly ride without padded shorts, but I am a regular cyclist.
Brakes are better than anything I'm used to.
Lock out ring fell off the fork after a couple of weeks but this was replaced (although this took a week which was disappointing on a new bike, considering the replacement came off a stock bike rather than having to wait for a delivery).
It's also the only one of my 3 bikes which can take our tag along."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? SALISBURY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good compromise of price and performance,
June 14, 2014
By Jebazza
from High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: brakes
Cons: front gears and both shifts, no quick release saddle bolt
"I have been riding for 20 years, wanted an extra bike at my country property trail /for off roading. With the great reviews I took a 21 frame.
I am loving it as a good compromise between price and performance probably for beginner to intermediate, although I doubt if you put it through its paces it will fall apart pretty soon as has been alluded to in earlier reviews.
I think they messed up with the front gear quality ( Mrgrizzly) and gear shifts, which look like they are off your Mothers 'sit up and beg'. While I can live with aesthetics, I am not sure how long they will 'rapid fire'.
I changed out pedals from day one.
Only other disappointment was no quick release saddle bolt, to lower it on technical descents, come on Halfords? Stop and get tool out every descent?
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? CHISWICK
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great bike,
June 08, 2014
By robert7943
from west sussex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"got this bike today after all the reviews.a nice piece of kit I have to say.ticks all my boxes.solid as a rock love it"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? HORSHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You've Been Bizango'd!,
June 06, 2014
By daveykb
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: feeling like king of the bikers riding this bike!
Cons: very sore legs & bum the morning after :o)
"I'm new to cycling/mountain biking and this was my preferred method of improving my fitness due to various trails & cycle paths located on my doorstep.
Being a complete novice/beginner of the mountain bike world, I purchased the VooDoo Bizango 29er after reading the magnificent reviews & accolades its received from industry pro's. Took it out for a 25 mile ride the day I acquired delivery of it & absolutely loved it! Would have done more if I could have. The bike was willing....but my legs were not :o)
The bike itself is a head-turner. Gorgeous aesthetics! The suspension felt fantastic! Soaking up every bump with the large wheels propelling you along. The gears & hydraulic disk brakes are super responsive, too.
Kev & the team at Halfords Newgate Street in Newcastle took extremely good care of me. The bike was built to perfection & they gave me sound advice on riding the bike along with maintenance tips.
Buy this bike.....your future-self will thank you for it :o)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? NEWCASTLE (NEWGATE STREET)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
just outstanding ride best bike for the under 1000 no question,
June 02, 2014
By chasers1997
from Stafford, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"deore copy brakes stop you on the dot and the deore groupset was made for this bike the geometry allows a great ride on straights through technical rock and rooty sections and through tight berms obviously not made to be in the air but when you hit the jump it takes it no problem great bike guys at halfords got it perfect just outstanding bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? STAFFORD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bit of kit,
May 25, 2014
By Muddyattack29r
from Wales
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: handling geo brakes, forks seat tyres etc
Cons: standard pedals are rubbish in extreme conditions., paintwork can scratch easy
"I'm normally not one to write reviews, but felt I had to about this bike. I've had a lot of higher end hardtail bikes in the past with some costing 3 to 4 times as much as the Bizango.. but after selling my fleet and splashing out on a fancy carbon road bike I still wanted something that didn't break the bank to play on the trails with.. and this bike was a great choice, it's up there [if not better] than most of the others I've had. All the reviews are correct, It really is a cracker and deserves 10/10!!.
I purchased the bike boxed and built it up myself, although my local Halfords were/still very helpful with pre build advice etc. The bike itself climbs lovely, I've had no issues with gear changes or suspension it runs smooth even under climbing stress.
Being a tad over 6ft with "34 inside leg I went for the "20 frame, it fits perfect for xc rides.. although the seat post doesn't drop quite low enough for when you want to come down fast technical trails, it hits the internal bottle holder bolts. An extra inch of clearance would be ideal but that's nothing that chopping some seat post off can't sort. The rest of the bike is great, it brakes well, turns well, jumps well. My only gripe is the pedals, one of mine failed and started to click and grind 2nd time out [but this was in horrific wet muddy conditions] so I ended up upgrading them to some Nano flats and it's pretty much perfect again now."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? SWANSEA
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bizango,
May 12, 2014
By DRGRIZZLY
from South West
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: brakes, looks
Cons: gears, weight, value for money, folk inconsistency
"From new this bike has been dodgy on the gears, the front derailleur is effectively the wrong piece of kit for this bike. I will have to purchase an upgrade to the Shimano XT for a full range of movement in the gears after being told by two separate bike shops (who did not charge after failing to set up) and after multiple attempts at setting the derailleur myself it just does not have the right range of movement. The front folks are temperamental with the lock/open positioning sometimes failing to do so but when open they are good for tough trails. The brakes are decent and I as of yet have had no issues other tan the occasional adjustment due to the disc bending slightly. If purchased at full price it is not a good deal basically its worth half price at best and you could have other better bikes for the cost of this one. The frame is also very heavy for the money. After reading good reviews (Although the origin has become suspect) I thought this was a great choice and initially riding it it worked well for the first few rides but it has deteriorated quickly. Overall for the money I am disappointed and feel let down by the bikes performance and cost."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? NEWPORT
-8points
6out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 11 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this bike !,
May 08, 2014
By Nick510510
from Tamworth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything
"I am no expert in the world of bikes, but this is the best I have ever ridden.
The bike looks great before it moves an inch, but when you jump on you know its also something good.
The big 29" wheels give extra speed, with the long shocks and fat tyres soaking up the bumps (the turning circle is a little bigger but you soon get used to it). The gearing is great and I can climb hills I would not have tackled before. The bike is also light to carry over bigger obstacles. On the way down the other side the disc brakes could stop a train !
I was looking for a performance bike without paying silly money, and I think I found it.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? TAMWORTH
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolute demon,
May 05, 2014
By Mavientes
from Aintree, Liverpool
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: high spec, plush ride
"Many years of riding full sus I had to downgrade to hardtail due to finances. Didn't know what to expect. But I have to say the bike rocks. Forget the name look at the spec, top notch for the price and smooth running. Again new to 29ers but they roll with ease. I've taken the bike on a few trails and hit the full suspension travel without feeling it it's that plush. You can not get a better bike for this price of even a few hundred more. Also excellent service from Andy and his team at Halfords in Aintree"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
just too many choices....,
April 16, 2014
By Star8ratS
from Enfield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the look the way it rides
Cons: the saddle
"After much reading of reviews i was left with the choice a boardman bike and this one, after speaking with Mark and Mus at the Enfield store i decided upon the voodoo bike. Mus. Well this man deserves a raise, he built the bike, gave it the P.D.I. Check, all this was withing the last half hour of the shop being open, infact we was the last people in the shop as it had gone past closing time by the time id left the store. What can i say about this bike, it rides smooth, the brakes stop you on the button, the forks provide a nices succure feeling to the stearing. The only downside i have exprienced is the saddle... After a 14 mile ride it wasnt very comfy.."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? ENFIELD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Voodoo-Sensational ride,
April 14, 2014
By bigstu55
from Northampton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: gears, forks, hydraulic discs
Cons: the saddle is a bit hard
"I upgraded to a Vooddoo from a basic Giant MTB and I was amazed at the lightness and speed of the Voodoo. The spec of the shimano gears and the added advantage of 29 inch wheels makes this a rapid bike. I am extremely pleased with the build quality and the handling. The 120 Suntour forks are also in a different league to my previous rockshox."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? NORTHAMPTON (RIVERSIDE)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike has it all, great!!,
January 17, 2014
By Turbo52
from Norfolk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: overall quality unmatched for price
Cons: too much cash left over!!
"I have had several MTB's over the years and a couple have cost an awful lot more than the Bizango.
This bike tops the lot because you don't pay extra hundreds of pounds just for the name.
Top spec and real good quality build and finish. Love riding it through woods and trails.
Halfords, be proud of this bike!!!!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? CROMER
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing bit of kit,
December 26, 2013
By Jay9114
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: components, comfort, value for money
"I have been looking at 29ers for a while. This one beats all others and it had to be one of the best bike I have brought for this spec and price
The speed and comfort of this bike is amazing,I didn't know what to expect when buying it but I would never go back to a 26" now"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? DERBY (WEST)
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 17 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value for money,
December 06, 2013
By Rufus43
from Cheltenham Spa, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Great value for money, with good Deore components. Taken it once out on the hills and was really happy with the performance. Tyres are not the grippiest in the world. Very good air adjustable forks and with 29" wheels which seems to be the way all new mountain bikes are heading towards."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? STRATFORD UPON AVON
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 18 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent bike,
December 03, 2013
By Bridgeboy
from Bridgend wales
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"By far the best bike I have bought. Many of my friends shunned the bike, believing it lacked quality due to the cheap price. They spent hundreds more and now regret it, when they realised that my components are the same or in many cases beat the other bikes costing up to 400 pound more. Excellent ride, surprisingly good on the flat to! Pound for pound, best bike out there"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BRIDGEND
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VooDoo Bizango 29er Great Bike,
June 06, 2013
By Sid24
from Crewe, Cheshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: componants, service
Cons: colour
"Great bike, nice guys in the shop, Top quality, had a hard rock pro a few years ago, this exceeds the ride and the componants are on a par of even better.
I think I might have been better if I had waited for a smaller frame, but thats just personal preference, as @ 6ft1 a large frame is pretty much the fit."
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? CREWE
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
voodoo bizango 29er,
May 31, 2013
By watty7
from crewe
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: forks and brakes
"what a great bike it is better than the reviews for the money it does everything with such ease . great forks and brakes , i have saved £400 by getting a bike that does everything i wanted ."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? ALTRINCHAM
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>