Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 20"

VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike 20inch has a strong, light frame for powerful off-road performance
Average Customer Rating:
4.885 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(61 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (61 reviews)
5 stars
56
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
57 of 58(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
32 Questions | 52 Answers
Customer Reviews for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 20"
Review 1 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
OK - but heavy,
May 25, 2015
By DS2015
from Cambridge
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: comfortable
Cons: heavy -
" Nice bike to ride but it feels very heavy!
I replaced voodoo with boardman as the shocks failed.
Pay the extra and get the boardman pro 29er.
"
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? CAMBRIDGE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just love this bike.,
April 29, 2015
By Soloart
from Chesterfield, Derbyshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: rides an looks great
Cons: nothing
" My last mountain bike was from Halfords almost 12 years ago and although a bit clunky, served its purpose. The Voodoo Bizango is something else.
Before purchasing the bike, I did a lot of research, looked at several models, from several suppliers but kept returning to the Bizango. This one ticked all my boxes. Good price, good functionality, good looks, with industry awards to boot.
I've been out on it a number of times now. I have a permanent smile on my face.
The people at Halfords were very helpful. I elected for delivery and it arrived within a couple of days. All built.
Great job Halfords...
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? CHESTERFIELD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great so far,
April 25, 2015
By danceswithcats
from Isle of Wight
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the quality for this price.
Cons: the shifters with their windows.
" I've been wanting to try a 29er for commuting on badly maintained roads and as an alternative to my full suspension 26er, which can be quite hard work over long distances. So far, the Bizango (stupid name!) has been great. 29" wheels definitely have a better "cruising sped" than 26, and I haven't found it disastrously less agile. For a big -feeling bike, it is nice and rigid and I am actually enjoying climbs.
The spec is really good. Shimano !I'd range stuff is so hood, it's a waste of money going for XT or XTR. The Deore mech is doing great work.
The fork is simple, but that's a virtue, after the pain and expense of maintaimg a Fox fork on my full susser. It's adjustable enough, has a lockout, which is on the fly, so very useful for my sort of riding, and is, so far, performing well. If it ever does need replacing, it's not the heartbreaking sum that a Fox or a high end Rockshox would be.
The one thing I don't like are the shifters. They're good, but they've got indicator windows on them that I don't need, and that make getting the handlebar layout perfect impossible. I'm going to splash out on a new pair. Other than that, I'm delighted. It even has a replaceable mevh hanger so that, if I ever save up enough money, I'll be able to add a Rohloff hub (long term ambition).
Halfords have been brilliant. I bought a care package, as I HATE doing brake bleeds, and have just had my six week device after three weeks, because there was a slight snag with the cassette, which they tightened. Compared to a few years ago, shopping in Halfords for bike stuff is now a pleasure. I can thoroughly recommend the Isle Of Wight bike staff for knowledge, enthusiasm and helpfulness. They understood what I was saying about the cassette, accepted it and fixed it without fuss. Good lads.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? ISLE OF WIGHT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great spec, great value, great bike,
February 18, 2015
By JB247
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great spec, great price (even more so with vouchers/discounts widely available), great reviews in bike mags by people who should know what they’re talking about, and a great bike to ride. Bearing in mind the chunky tyres, it's surprisingly fast on roads too. I’m around 6’1” tall and the 20” frame is fine for me.
An added bonus was that my Bizango was set up perfectly well by Halfords staff. They sometimes get a bad press so it’s only fair to give credit where it’s due. My bike was set up better than the one on the shop floor and all I had to do was shift the seat position back a bit – everything else was fine and clearly set up by someone who knew what they were doing. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? NOTTINGHAM (CHILWELL)
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great bang for buck bike,
February 14, 2015
By weasel99
from GB
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" When wishing to buy a bike I looked at many and this has everything I needed compared to other bikes in the same price range,it has shimano chainset,gears and brakes. They may not be the best in the shimano range but they all work as intended,after bedding in brakes pads and discs they install confidence to the rider. The suntour shocks are 120mm travel and fully adjustable. There are only two drawbacks with this bike I can see and one is down to personal taste as I`m not overly crazy about the color scheme,I brought it to ride and not to sit there looking at it so not a big deal really! The second is If you wish to upgrade the shocks you will find that they are a odd size limiting your choice of replacements,if you buy this bike and you want better shocks you had really be looking at a higher pricepoint bike anyway. The bike feels very smooth to ride and I look forward to riding it about this summer. I only have a 30 inch inside leg and first tried the 20 inch bike as I`m 5'10" and there was no room for slipping of the pedals if you know what I mean so I have the 18 inch frame. All in all if you are looking for a bike and want the best value and spec at this price range,look no further!!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? SALISBURY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Flattering for beginners,
February 14, 2015
By Webmonkey1975
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I chose this bike as a complete beginner based on the excellent reviews.
What I've found since riding it, is that the frame, gears and tyres work together to make riding across all sorts of terrain a breeze.
I took it to Gisburn forest last weekend and it flowed through the trails without any trouble, even the icy patches. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worth the hype,
February 10, 2015
By BustedMonkey
from Hants
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" By far the most fun bike I've ridden in years. Every ride brings a massive grin to my face. Worth every penny and worthy addition to any cyclists n+1 "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? FERNDOWN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VooDoo Bizango 29er 20",
January 27, 2015
By snave
from Northants
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I am no expert. I read the reviews, thought about what I wanted to use it for and bought it. Been out on the bike including a hair raising but 'boys own fun' night ride: bike was fantastic. Looks great, easy to use, handles beautifully. I had high expectations and it has lived up to them. I have to say Halfords get a good review too. Bike came on time and they spent two hours with me 'fitting' it and adding one or two bits. I love it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? KETTERING
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
exceeded expectations,
January 23, 2015
By Northernpeddler
from Shetland, Shetland, Shetland Islands ZE2, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: light weight yet strong
Cons: mickey mouse bell
" I bought this after reading reviews both here and in magazines. I don't live anywhere even close to a 'bricks and mortar' bike shop so research could only be done online and that always leads to a bit of a gamble.
This turned out to be a great gamble. It's styling, build quality, performance all appear top notch. The lightness was a surprising bonus!
I selected the option to have Halford assemble the bike and even that has been great. Apart from attaching one pedal (removed for transport) it was ready to go straight out of the box.
Highly recommended!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Boating
How many bikes: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Award winning hardtail 29er,
January 22, 2015
By F1Robbo
from Leicestershire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Only just started off with this bike having had full suspension for years previously. My first foray into 29ers and a very happy return to hard tails. All the kit works very nicely as you'd expect and - on first impressions - the bike feels plush, planted and responsive. Off up the climbs and along bumpy trails it was really good. No ... actually it went like a scalded cat. I hope this initiation continues! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? MARKET HARBOROUGH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a returning or new MTB rider, you'll love this!,
January 19, 2015
By Dez88
from Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: fantastic value for money
Cons: spares (from voodoo) are expensive
" As a returning rider to full time MTB after a stint on the road, I didnt want to go mad on spending a fortune if it turned into a fad rather than the addiction it has.
So, after a lot of research and eventually finding one, I plumped for the Bizango and what a machine its been ever since. The bike is circa 18 months old now and has been quite literally ridden into the groud; it has been run in all weathers and usually spends its time up the axles in mud, but, other than the usual things you'd expect to replace with continual riding such as chains/brake pads it has quite basically been briliant and I would have no hesitation in recommending it.
The only negatives are that the wheels are heavy (I changed mine out for tubeless fairly quickly) and the parts, should you need to get them are expensive; a new rear hangar was £26!! I hasten to add I bought one as a spare rather than to replace a broken one!!
All in all a no brainer for the price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? MAIDSTONE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
really good quality bike,
January 17, 2015
By lennyb
from uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Had the bike 1 week been on few timeso no problems at all seems really sturdy, overall a good bike "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? MERTHYR TYDFIL
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A great ride,
January 16, 2015
By Broady79
from Leicester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Loved it, fast, great grip, strong breaks, best bike I've owned! S "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? KETTERING
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great bike,
January 15, 2015
By DLll
from Cannock
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Prompted to do review while looking up spec for some maintenance. Had this 18 months and done around 1250 miles on it. All off road, mainly Cannock Chase, local canals, bridalways. Great value for money. Changed tyres as had tyre wall split from jumping, glad I did as new bontragers grip alot better off road. The headset suffers a little from riding muddynamic wet conditions, which is what I am changing at moment. It's not a light bike, but what do u expect from this great price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
value for money,
January 02, 2015
By sparky007
from Lancashire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" had this bike now for 6 months, on trails its great on really rocky ground its good on the road its brilliant. I cannot find fault with this bike its a pleasure to ride, thought about getting a full suspension but why bother as this does everything I need it too. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? BOLTON (MANCHESTER RD)
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's the best ride ever!!,
January 01, 2015
By Ruthy33
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: handles well
" My voodoo bike handles really good it's the best ride I have ever rode I tried a few but I will never change I will upgrade to a newer voodoo but that will be it . I would recommend this bike to anyone reading this and it's the best value for your money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike has great features,
December 26, 2014
By Makenzie0689
from Derby, Derbyshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: superb bike highly recommended
" This bike is superb and it is so easy to control and brilliant to ride i highly recommend this bike!!!!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? DERBY (WYVERN)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Epic bike,
November 24, 2014
By sirdystic
from Herts
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Has put the fun back in my cycling. Rolls over everything, the 29 inch wheels are amazing. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? STEVENAGE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
a small price to pay for fun,
November 16, 2014
By scrimpdevice
from Bristol, City of Bristol, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the whole bike
Cons: waited a year to buy one.
" excellent bike. What more can be said. For the last 2 years it has been mbr hardtail of the year. And now I know why.
This bike is laugh out loud fun.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (EASTGATE)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great so far!,
November 09, 2014
By Linvoyprimus
from Petersfield, Petersfield, Hampshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: value, looks, spec
Cons: saddle
" My first "proper" mountain bike and im really enjoying it. I'm 6ft2 and 20" and 29er is a great size, eats up the ground and handles well, I'm it's main limitation! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? WATERLOOVILLE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>