Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike 2013/2014 - 18"

The VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike provides amazing off-road trail performance.
Average Customer Rating:
4.848 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (66 reviews)
5 stars
57
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
64 of 65(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike 2013/2014 - 18"
Review 1 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike 2013/2014 - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Big Bad Beast of a Bike,
June 10, 2015
By Anonymous
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Having had my old Merlin Malt 2 stolen I had some insurance money to buy a new hardtail and having read reviews of this I settled on getting me a 29er. Well, it's a cracking ride. Absolutely solid. I trail ride through forest and it has dealt with all that forest trails throw fantastically. This bike has boosted my confidence dramatically, feels as if I'm riding a monster truck! It's great.
Would buy another one no problem.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike 2013/2014 - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome Bike,
May 11, 2015
By PeteB37
from Stoke on Trent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is a great bike for the money.
I brought this bike as a replacement for my stolen Specalized hard tail and It turned out to be a much better specced out bike for roughly the same money. The real surprise on this bike was the quality of the parts used: The 120mm Raidon Air forks, the Maxxis Ardent Tyres and the Formula 15mm through axle makes upgrading parts virtually pointless. The only thing I immediately upgraded was the pedals.
I have taken the bike on several trails and am really pleased with its performance and would recommend it to anyone.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? STOKE-ON-TRENT (FENTON)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike 2013/2014 - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic bike but beware of its size,
April 08, 2015
By Freemo36
from Nottingham, Nottingham, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything
Cons: unhappy wife.
" The bike looks amazing and rides really smoothly on and off the road. The brakes have huge stopping power even down the steepest of slopes and there is endless amount of grip provided by the maxxis tyres.
The only thing I didn't realise about the bike was its length and width. It is 2.25 ft wide and few inch over 6 ft long, this has made storing it in my 6x4ft shed a challenge but once I convince the wife to buy me a new one all will be right with the world "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Boating
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? LOUGHBOROUGH
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike 2013/2014 - 18"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Some Problems,
April 05, 2015
By JWbikes
from Scotland
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: good ride for the first 100km
Cons: cheaply put together
" The bike was very good for the first 100km after that the problems came (aside from the cable rub). The forks don't seem to lubricate themselves anymore and so only really work in the wet, the brakes have become incredibly sluggish, even after having the pads replaced and now I am having problems with the bearings in the front headset. I have taken good care of the bike and I am very disappointed with it's reliability. The actual bike is very fun to ride, very good at climbing. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? PERTH
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike 2013/2014 - 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great performing bike - only let down by cable rub,
March 19, 2015
By Mont999
from Kent, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: bike spec
Cons: cable rubbed off paint
" It was well worth the effort after managing to track down a Bizango in store to try out (took dozens of phone calls to Kent,Essex & London branches). As mentioned before, the smaller frame (18") comes up big (I'm 6ft with 32" inside leg).
Took the Bizango out on a red route on its first run and it stood up well to all the bumps & jumps. Only negative point for me is the brake cables rubbing the paint down to the bare metal at the top of the front forks and headset. I'd recommend taping around these areas to protect the paint.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? OLD KENT ROAD
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike 2013/2014 - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bizango = Bizinga!,
March 17, 2015
By thehatch1970
from Chorley, Chorley, Lancashire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: 29" wheels
" Loving the ride feel of my new voodoo bizango. 29 " wheels strange at first, but now couldn't imagine going back to 26" !
Love the look of the bike, and while flying past some bmx teenagers yesterday, they shouted , "did you see that bike. . That was sick !! " Guess that makes me almost cool again :)
Great bike well worth every penny!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? CHORLEY
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike 2013/2014 - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome bike at a fantastic price!,
March 13, 2015
By VoodooBandits
from Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: build quality, looks, price
Cons: none
" My first 29er and its the most fun I've had with my pants on! Don't be put off by frame size I'm 6ft 2" and 15stone and the 18" frame works fine for me. Super smooth gear changes through all the ranges and the Raidon air shock with lockout is superb. The hydraulic disc brakes are amazing too with just a slight touch of the lever needed to stop! Great service from the team at Halfords Herne Bay and Canterbury stores. This really is a fantastic bike for the price, if you can't quite stretch to the price of the Bizango then go for the Voodoo Aizan its the same frame just slightly cheaper components. Bought the Aizan for the wife and its just as good and smooth as the Bizango in my opinion. Both stunning looking bikes and real head turners too. Go Voodoo whatever you choose you won't be disappointed. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? HERNE BAY
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike 2013/2014 - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First Mountain Bike,
March 11, 2015
By mouse58
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" As this was my first mountain bike, so I researched the spokes out of it and without getting to technical it was a no brainer for the money.
Only had it a couple of weeks, but so far I haven't been disappointed.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? ST. AUSTELL
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike 2013/2014 - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stunning MTB.,
March 07, 2015
By bigcircus2468
from Christchurch, Dorset, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Amazing Voodoo Bizango 29er looks the biz! Best bike i' ve personally owned. Amazing spec for all on/ off road useage. Glad got 29er little bit extra leg pressure at times but got the gears so tackle anything. Feels comfortable riding is simply irresistible. I'm 6ft. 19'' frame perfect. 21'' for 6ft 4 people so. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? CHRISTCHURCH
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike 2013/2014 - 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mixed,
February 21, 2015
By oldtimer1973
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I purchased this bike from Halfords in Farnborough Feb 15. Set up instore and collected. It needed minor adjustment s to suit me. Bad points:grips are horrendous, seat is very uncomfortable, no bolt holes to secure mudcatcher, brake cables have rubbed paint down to frame on front forks within 10 miles of cycling. Good points:quick ride on trails, so far gears and brakes seem ok. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-5points
5out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 11 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike 2013/2014 - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike at an amazing price,
February 21, 2015
By Pete37
from Beds
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" My first proper mountain bike. Very happy so far - the positive reviews and MBR awards seem very well deserved and accurate. Bought during a spend and save event so even more incredible value. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? HEMEL HEMPSTEAD
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike 2013/2014 - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant Bike!,
February 17, 2015
By Ramrod84
from Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: spec and build quality
Cons: a little heavy not a big fan of the decals
" This is my first proper mountain bike, since being a kid. I needed a bike for commuting and for weekends away biking with the mates. I didn't have much of a budget but wanted a quality beginners hardtail that didn't need instant upgrades.
After shopping around I picked the Bizango as a result of the MBR hardtail of the year award, and all the amazing reviews.
For the money the spec and build quality is fantastic. I find being a 29er is great for commuting and carries its speed really well. Handling is great too.
I am really pleased with the purchase. Going to Kielder Forest next week and cannot wait!
Would definitely recommend. Great bike, great value for money! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? NEWCASTLE (NEWGATE STREET)
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike 2013/2014 - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As good as everyone says,
February 15, 2015
By Deker
from Hartlepool, Hartlepool, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, build quality
" I'm pretty new to mountain bikes so had to rely on other reviews to narrow down the options, the Voodoo Bizango was recommended on pretty much all sites and forums so seemed a safe purchase.
After taking a trip to Hamsterly I can say that it was at home on the red routes and even managed the black ones (although I was probably the limiting factor there).
I would recommend this bike to anyone looking at a hardtail bike that doesn't need any immediate upgrades, you can just go out and have fun. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? HARTLEPOOL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike 2013/2014 - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bike you've waited for,
February 09, 2015
By SkiptonBloke
from Skipton, North Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: larger wheel size and long travel shocks
Cons: saddle, thin tyre walls = 2 punctures first day out!
" Wanting a new bike and on a fixed budget I read lots of reviews and the Bizango (hate the name) came out so well that I thought it worth making it a serious contender. I admit to being swayed by the advantages of the larger wheels but don't confess to understanding all of the other techie stuff.
So, having made the plunge and splashed out, what else can I say but WOW! So glad I did! The ride position is great (for me) the larger wheels glide over stuff that would usually be more of a challenge and the brakes and transmission first class. After a morning of mud and a few spills I haven't enjoyed a ride so much for years.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? KEIGHLEY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike 2013/2014 - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic product for the price,
January 24, 2015
By Wardy1210
from Melton Mowbray
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything about it
" I will keep this review short and to the point, this is my first 29er and my first mountain/non road bike since I was in my late teens, I'm now 45. This bike is a revelation it rides superbly and deals with everything you can chuck at it, it is also very confidence inspiring. I can see why it has won awards and Hardtail of the year 2 years running. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? MELTON MOWBRAY
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike 2013/2014 - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bike looks and rides like it should be twice the price.,
January 19, 2015
By JonnyNautical
from England, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality looks and feel
" I've not bought a bike for 20 years so checking reviews on line from people that know what they're talking about was a great help.
I made my buying decision due to the fact that the Bizango won top place two years running in it's price range. Having ridden a few trails over the South Downs I can see why. It made my old MTB seem like a breezblock and I've defiantly reduced riding times.
Setting the bike up to my weight and riding style was a doddle (you do need a sock Pump as one doesn't come with the bike).
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Boating
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BURGESS HILL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike 2013/2014 - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic,
January 19, 2015
By Stevobarnes
from Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Highly recommend this bike. Excellent value for money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike 2013/2014 - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value, can't really fault it.,
January 15, 2015
By StuartMc1
from Dorset, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" My first 29er and it's excellent.
I'd had a high end 26er with much higher spec kit but this Bizango was actually faster over most ground, comfortable, good looking....can't fault it!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? FERNDOWN
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike 2013/2014 - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike,
January 14, 2015
By AkrotiriAnt92
from Nuneaton, Warwickshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, spec
Cons: shop service
" For the money this knocks spots off a lot of bikes around the £1000 mark.
The staff in the Nuneaton store didn't set up the fork. Had to go back and when asked about setting the "sag" all I got was moaning that they were too busy! Funny really as there was no one else upstairs in the bike department. Went to local bike shop they did it free of charge, now that's what I call service.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? NUNEATON
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike 2013/2014 - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
as good as the reviews,
December 25, 2014
By sonyman1
from Derbyshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great spec
Cons: nothing
" Voodoo bizango lives up to its reputation as a quality product. Cant wait to use it properly when weather and time improves. Love the spec for this price point. VOODOO. You,re simply the best.. Better than all the rest "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? CHESTERFIELD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>