Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 18"

The VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike provides amazing off-road trail performance.
Average Customer Rating:
4.917 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
24 of 24(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 18"
Review 1 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Bike,
August 19, 2014
By Anonymous
from Guildford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The reviews of this bike are amazing, and they are true. The trouble is there are a few too many 'hardcore' bikers out there and it made choosing the bike a little difficult due to their knowledge of one gear type versus another. 29" wheels vs 26" - why it's a fad or why it isn't.
Truth of the matter is the bike is seriously great and comfy. Fun to ride over trails (I'm only just getting into this since riding tourers). I feel confident on the bike and the wheel size really does make a big difference going over anything from potholes, bumps, tree roots etc."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? GUILDFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bike - great price,
August 15, 2014
By Jimbobmz
from Cornwall
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: this is a class bike for a bargain price
Cons: nothing so far!
"I can't believe how good this bike is and how well it rides, for the £599 price. This will now replace my 26" hardtail and my 26" full-suspension bikes, because on the trails I ride, the Bizango is better than both of them. Both of the 26" bikes have much more expensive kit on them as well..... go figure.
I also have a 29er Trek Xcalibre 5, and the difference between the Bizango and the Trek is like night and day. The Trek has a nice frame, but it is let down by awful forks with no rebound damping, and very heavy wheels. This is enough to ruin the ride.
The Bizango blows it away.
As for size, I am 5'7" with a 29" leg and the 18" Bizango fits me great.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? TRURO
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Riding a Voodoo Bizango 29er,
August 06, 2014
By Gresh12
from Penistone
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: how the bike eats up boring road miles
"Voodoo Bizango 29er is great value for the money, excellent quality parts. It also rides the off-road sweeping trails and very bumpy downhills really well. When on the road it eats up the miles with ease. Just be careful on size as my old specialized was a 19" and this voodoo is 18" but seems larger (because of wheel size I presume)."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? HUDDERSFIELD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bizango so far,
June 10, 2014
By BizWiz
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I only just bought this bike a few days ago but I must say it is an excellent product. I don't know much about the technicalities around it (this is my first mountain bike ever, having been a hybrid fella) but the suspension is great, the bike handles really well, it is very sturdy yet not heavy and feels really safe. I bought this after reading all the reviews and the fact that it won hard-tail bike of the year and I don't regret it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? MILE END ROAD
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top Bike,
June 08, 2014
By Veteran57
from Chellaston, Derby, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
"I have heard it said that this bike is a tank and is large and heavy. I have driven a tank and my last bike I purchased was 22 years ago and was indeed a tank so I can honestly say the Bizango is a featherweight by comparison. I have had this bike for a couple of weeks now and although this is a hard tail, and the tyres are noisy on the road, the bike effortlessly eats up the bumps on the canal paths and farm tracks. I am really impressed by how it sorts out the rough and how stable it feels. The gears are well sorted and the brakes are reassuringly fantastic. It looks the "Biz". Jake at the store sorted out a couple of minor PDI issues and was very courteous and helpful. If you are thinking of buying a hardtail MTB then look no further, the award and reviews tell it all, this is a great bike. Go Bizango 29er"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? DERBY (WYVERN)
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Look out for discounts...,
April 21, 2014
By Chris19781
from Worcs, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good components
Cons: large and heavy
"Good bike. Quite big for a 18 frame, although to be expected for a 29er, so try before you buy. Look out for Halfords discounts and you can grab this for a bargain price."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cracking bike!,
April 06, 2014
By lufc86
from stockport
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: suspension is first class, brakes are very good, 29er wheels lots of grip
Cons: pedals
"This bike chews up the miles in the countryside, sadly the bike setup was not quite right. Please check that your grips are properly locked on with the bolts, mine were spinning. Also the tyre pressures are way too high for off roading! The brake and gear shifters also need rotating so they point more towards the ground rather than level. The platform pedals are useless in wet weather, you are probably better with either cage pedals or SPD's. Lastly make sure the front quick release is tight! The claw splays out on one side, then hold the silver barrel and tighten with the clamp, then lock it off."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? WARRINGTON
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Solid starter bike,
April 05, 2014
By sukie98
from Down
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Have owned the Bizango for around 4 months now and have had a good chance to put it through its paces. Bike has handled everything I could throw at it. The shimano brakes and Alivio/Deore gearing are very reliable and smooth. The Suntour forks are also great with rebound adjustment. The outer chain ring has had a few bent teeth due to rock strikes(my fault!). A few things to be aware of though. The cables will rub along the frame so tape those areas. The headset is prone to water ingress which can damage the bearings(use headset cover + regrease headset bearings occasionally). The maxxis tyres are very grippy and fast rolling but the side walls tend to be prone to slashing and/or punctures if you ride fairly rocky trails. Otherwise smashing bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? NEWRY
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just purchased,
March 31, 2014
By davidn100
from Gloucester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I had read all the positive reviews on this bike and wanted to see it for myself.
I have almost zero experience of MTBs but wanted a good value 'real' MTB and after a few hesistant weekend rides this seems to fit the bill. At first it felt like a tank (also a quality I want given the deterioration of the roads I commute on!) but as I adapt from the road bikes I normally use it's quality is coming to the fore. Thank you to the Gloucester store, especially James who built up the bike in the dying minutes of Saturday evening just before the store closed.
He even made some adjustments to the bike to ensure a good fit for me with a no-nonsense attitude I appreciated.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? GLOUCESTER
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing quality for money,
February 25, 2014
By OhYeeaah
from Bournemouth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything about this bike including the price
"The Bizango performed very well on what was some very tricky terrain at the weekend, It was comfortable to ride and out performed many other bikes with us on the day.
Brakes - were very responsive and even on the big down hill sections didn't fade.
Suspension - was comfortable and soaked up all of the bumps and knocks- also has a lockout feature for those flat sections making sure you aren't zapped of energy.
The 29 inch wheels are what really make this bike it glides over anything you throw at it.
Build quality - after a lot of abuse the bike is as good now as when I bought it with no squeaks or knocks.
Put your trust in this product and the Bizango wont let you down."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? FERNDOWN
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 11 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value, excellent quality,
February 19, 2014
By Lorenzo3949
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: high quality components throughout., unbeatable spec for the price., 29er!
"This is my first proper mountain bike, but I've been road biking for a few years.
I chose the Bizango as a result of the MBR hardtail of the year award, and the many positive reviews.
I took it out for the first time at the weekend for a fairly long ride in the Peak District. It handled all of the terrain that I encountered with relative ease. Being a 29er it coped with slippery and rocky uphill sections much better than more experienced riders on more expensive 26ers. It inspired confidence on tricky downhill sections, and despite my lack of skills, I never felt out of my depth.
Great bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? WARRINGTON
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords Service,
February 15, 2014
By Seawolf34
from Chester UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I am extremely happy with the Bizango and when a seal broke in the headset and collapsed the bottom bearing, Tom W and Rimmer (Chester South Store) spent hours repairing it and re-building the headset including a new bearing.
They did this as part of the free 6 week check which is great service and my bike was back with me the same day.
Tom W and Rimmer were both very helpful and had some excellent advice too. The service was as good as it gets and I will be sticking to this store as my LBS."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Boating
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? CHESTER (SOUTH)
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
voodoo bizango,
February 06, 2014
By maverick52
from Northeast
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: spec and build quality
Cons: havnt found one
"i would like to open my review of this bike by saying many thanks to Dean at halfords Team Valley store in Gateshead for his help and excellent service when i went to collect my bike on my CYCLE TO WORK voucher my first dealing with Halfords in purchasing a bike certainly will not be my last and so a great big thank you to all tha staff at the cycle shop as to the bike A VOODOO BIZANGO Read all the reviews and went and bought one brilliant bike great spec for the money rival bikes with this spec would cost a lot more early days but this bike is impossible to fault love it"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? GATESHEAD
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike,
December 29, 2013
By Oliverjr
from Chester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very happy with the Bizango 18"!! I just wanted to advise that the weight in the spec says 14.3 KG, I have just weighed it at 12 KG!! :-)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? CHESTER (SOUTH)
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 15 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hate shopping love biking,
December 15, 2013
By mybag
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything
Cons: unfortunatly doesn't come with air fork pump
"Got this blke after much deliberation and reading of reveiws wanted a blke that was purely offroad and wasn't disapointed this bike has handled everything I have thrown at it so far and believe it will handle everything I'm going to throw at it great spec and great bike"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
value for money,
December 15, 2013
By Rick99
from Hampshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"great value hardtail, supension fork, brakes and tyres"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? FAREHAM
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for money,
December 05, 2013
By Olliver22
from Hampshiore UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great to ride
Cons: no cons
"I was looking at 29 inch bikes at 4 times the price of the Voodoo ,but after reading reviews in the MBR magazine where they named it overall "Bike of the Year" I thought I would give it a try.It has proved to be all they said and I am delighted with it.The guys at Halfords were excellent too."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? HAVANT
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Bike,
November 27, 2013
By GT44
from EDI
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality of components
Cons: colour of forks
"I bought the bike after MBR voted it mountain bike of the year and i have not been dissapointed. I couldn't find anything close for the money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? EDINBURGH (STRAITON)
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bizango,
November 26, 2013
By VDBizango
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: solid forks, big axel, quality frame
Cons: 9 speed
"Great 29er.
Quality frame and solid forks.
Didn't think i'd like 29ers till I tried one. So get a demo if you haven't tried one yet.
Built from box. Just turned the stem and fitted front wheel.
Easy but, check internet for how to set and adjust the stem/headset if you haven't done it before.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Believe the hype!,
November 24, 2013
By david63
from Norfolk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: just about everything
Cons: seat a bit hard but easily swapped
"Purchased in July and lucky enough to get one when they were like hen's teeth. Hopefully availability will now improve. Bought after seeing excellent reviews in top MTB magazines, and now see it has won Bike of the Year!
In my view the hype is justified. Fast, surprisingly agile, well specced and looks awesome!
Loving it! Just makes you want to ride.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? KINGS LYNN
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>