Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 18"

The VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike provides amazing off-road trail performance.
Average Customer Rating:
4.853 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
33 of 33(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 18"
Review 1 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Surprising quality in an affordable bike,
September 17, 2014
By Henderbeast
from Sheffield
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: bolt through front axle, quality feel of frame
Cons: narrow range of sizes, wheel size
"Impressed by the magazine review of the bike. It's pretty good quality components, the tyres and fork stand out. Not too sure about the decision to design a 29er at this price point. After two weeks riding The wheels are a little sloppy competed to my higher quality 29er hardtail."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (QUEENS RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic Bike,
September 14, 2014
By Charles21
from Bishop's Stortford, Hertfordshire CM23, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Lovely bike, great value for money. Love it! Fantastic first proper mountain bike!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Which Store did you visit? ENFIELD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike is great,
September 04, 2014
By Kirky29
from Sheffield, South Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything about the bike
Cons: nothing bad to say
"Had this bike for 6 weeks now and it is faultless. Done over 200 miles on it and it still rides as good as it did on day one"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (QUEENS RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great allrounder,
September 03, 2014
By Repsolmx
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"great all round bike
eats up the miles off road or on
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
beast,
September 03, 2014
By rootss
from kirkby in a
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: almost all
Cons: high frame
"After many searching I've made decision and bought Bizango due this bike look perfect ,have good specification,review and sensible price .After few weeks driving I can only say I love my bike,its fast, comfortable ( good fork ,tyres,seat) and due to specification and frame drive on any type of road. I just feel confident on the bike on any situation.
Black colour ,nice looking frame and massive tyres making this bike awesome ,nice and easy to drive
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? SUTTON IN ASHFIELD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
voodoo bizango,
September 03, 2014
By welshmonster
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Had this bike for a month used to commute 12 miles to work. The bike has served me well so far. The seat takes some getting used to can be uncomfortable on longer rides. The gears and brakes work very well. The handlebar grips wear your hands down gloves are a must. Overall the bike looks good and works well."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 2
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bike,
September 01, 2014
By James1308
from Aberdeen, Aberdeen City, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: lockable front strut, rebound setting
Cons: seat uncomfy
"Been out on the bike and seems good for first impressions. Great with the lockable front strut and rebound setting. I bought the bike to keep me fit more than anything but will put it through its test."
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? ABERDEEN (KITTY BREWSTER)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Voodoo 29er - the business,
September 01, 2014
By Richhal
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great brakes, hard as nails
Cons: graphics are a touch iffy
"Read a bunch of reviews before buying and the bike lives up to the hype."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic bike, looks good too :-D,
August 27, 2014
By Andyash
from Preston, Preston, Lancashire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: 29" wheels, shocks performance, aesthetics
"This bike won hard tail of the year and no wonder. It is a great on and off road bike. Great value for money and looks good too.
The 29' wheels offer great performance.
I wouldn't hesitate from recommending this bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? WIGAN
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Voodoo Bizango is a lot of fun,
August 21, 2014
By GreyK
from Sheffield, South Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I'm brand new to the world of mountain biking and I have to say the Voodoo Bizango is a great introduction. It's easy to handle, feels robust and looks fantastic. The parts are all quality and you can tell from the first time you get on it what a fine tuned machine it is. Would recommend it to anybody."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (QUEENS RD)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Bike,
August 19, 2014
By Anonymous
from Guildford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The reviews of this bike are amazing, and they are true. The trouble is there are a few too many 'hardcore' bikers out there and it made choosing the bike a little difficult due to their knowledge of one gear type versus another. 29" wheels vs 26" - why it's a fad or why it isn't.
Truth of the matter is the bike is seriously great and comfy. Fun to ride over trails (I'm only just getting into this since riding tourers). I feel confident on the bike and the wheel size really does make a big difference going over anything from potholes, bumps, tree roots etc."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? GUILDFORD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bike - great price,
August 15, 2014
By Jimbobmz
from Cornwall
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: this is a class bike for a bargain price
Cons: nothing so far!
"I can't believe how good this bike is and how well it rides, for the £599 price. This will now replace my 26" hardtail and my 26" full-suspension bikes, because on the trails I ride, the Bizango is better than both of them. Both of the 26" bikes have much more expensive kit on them as well..... go figure.
I also have a 29er Trek Xcalibre 5, and the difference between the Bizango and the Trek is like night and day. The Trek has a nice frame, but it is let down by awful forks with no rebound damping, and very heavy wheels. This is enough to ruin the ride.
The Bizango blows it away.
As for size, I am 5'7" with a 29" leg and the 18" Bizango fits me great.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? TRURO
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Riding a Voodoo Bizango 29er,
August 06, 2014
By Gresh12
from Penistone
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: how the bike eats up boring road miles
"Voodoo Bizango 29er is great value for the money, excellent quality parts. It also rides the off-road sweeping trails and very bumpy downhills really well. When on the road it eats up the miles with ease. Just be careful on size as my old specialized was a 19" and this voodoo is 18" but seems larger (because of wheel size I presume)."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? HUDDERSFIELD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bizango so far,
June 10, 2014
By BizWiz
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I only just bought this bike a few days ago but I must say it is an excellent product. I don't know much about the technicalities around it (this is my first mountain bike ever, having been a hybrid fella) but the suspension is great, the bike handles really well, it is very sturdy yet not heavy and feels really safe. I bought this after reading all the reviews and the fact that it won hard-tail bike of the year and I don't regret it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? MILE END ROAD
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top Bike,
June 08, 2014
By Veteran57
from Chellaston, Derby, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
"I have heard it said that this bike is a tank and is large and heavy. I have driven a tank and my last bike I purchased was 22 years ago and was indeed a tank so I can honestly say the Bizango is a featherweight by comparison. I have had this bike for a couple of weeks now and although this is a hard tail, and the tyres are noisy on the road, the bike effortlessly eats up the bumps on the canal paths and farm tracks. I am really impressed by how it sorts out the rough and how stable it feels. The gears are well sorted and the brakes are reassuringly fantastic. It looks the "Biz". Jake at the store sorted out a couple of minor PDI issues and was very courteous and helpful. If you are thinking of buying a hardtail MTB then look no further, the award and reviews tell it all, this is a great bike. Go Bizango 29er"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? DERBY (WYVERN)
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Look out for discounts...,
April 21, 2014
By Chris19781
from Worcs, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good components
Cons: large and heavy
"Good bike. Quite big for a 18 frame, although to be expected for a 29er, so try before you buy. Look out for Halfords discounts and you can grab this for a bargain price."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cracking bike!,
April 06, 2014
By lufc86
from stockport
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: suspension is first class, brakes are very good, 29er wheels lots of grip
Cons: pedals
"This bike chews up the miles in the countryside, sadly the bike setup was not quite right. Please check that your grips are properly locked on with the bolts, mine were spinning. Also the tyre pressures are way too high for off roading! The brake and gear shifters also need rotating so they point more towards the ground rather than level. The platform pedals are useless in wet weather, you are probably better with either cage pedals or SPD's. Lastly make sure the front quick release is tight! The claw splays out on one side, then hold the silver barrel and tighten with the clamp, then lock it off."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? WARRINGTON
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Solid starter bike,
April 05, 2014
By sukie98
from Down
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Have owned the Bizango for around 4 months now and have had a good chance to put it through its paces. Bike has handled everything I could throw at it. The shimano brakes and Alivio/Deore gearing are very reliable and smooth. The Suntour forks are also great with rebound adjustment. The outer chain ring has had a few bent teeth due to rock strikes(my fault!). A few things to be aware of though. The cables will rub along the frame so tape those areas. The headset is prone to water ingress which can damage the bearings(use headset cover + regrease headset bearings occasionally). The maxxis tyres are very grippy and fast rolling but the side walls tend to be prone to slashing and/or punctures if you ride fairly rocky trails. Otherwise smashing bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? NEWRY
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just purchased,
March 31, 2014
By davidn100
from Gloucester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I had read all the positive reviews on this bike and wanted to see it for myself.
I have almost zero experience of MTBs but wanted a good value 'real' MTB and after a few hesistant weekend rides this seems to fit the bill. At first it felt like a tank (also a quality I want given the deterioration of the roads I commute on!) but as I adapt from the road bikes I normally use it's quality is coming to the fore. Thank you to the Gloucester store, especially James who built up the bike in the dying minutes of Saturday evening just before the store closed.
He even made some adjustments to the bike to ensure a good fit for me with a no-nonsense attitude I appreciated.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? GLOUCESTER
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for VooDoo Bizango 29er Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing quality for money,
February 25, 2014
By OhYeeaah
from Bournemouth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything about this bike including the price
"The Bizango performed very well on what was some very tricky terrain at the weekend, It was comfortable to ride and out performed many other bikes with us on the day.
Brakes - were very responsive and even on the big down hill sections didn't fade.
Suspension - was comfortable and soaked up all of the bumps and knocks- also has a lockout feature for those flat sections making sure you aren't zapped of energy.
The 29 inch wheels are what really make this bike it glides over anything you throw at it.
Build quality - after a lot of abuse the bike is as good now as when I bought it with no squeaks or knocks.
Put your trust in this product and the Bizango wont let you down."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? FERNDOWN
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>