Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1

The Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1 is for all DAB head units and devices.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
5
21 of 28(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer Reviews for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Review 1 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Reception,
July 21, 2014
By nickrroo
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"MUST be installed correctly with a 12v switched power supply and earthed with the tab sticker on the metal car body by the windscreen. If you cant do this you wont get a good signal. I did and get an amazing signal, better than from my factory fit DAB 2013 Audi A4. Installed this in my 4x4 and very pleased."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good reception,
May 24, 2014
By topgears
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Good advice in the shop how to fit this. Did not need to connect 12V power to separate lead as VW RCD 310 is supplying 12V through aerial connector. Also did not need any fakra adapters as the SMB type nicely fits into this radio black dab connector, its worth removing outer ring from angled connector for ease of use. With outer ring, the angled connector will get stuck inside the fakra plastic casing.
Reception is good ie. located in Hertfordshire it will tune into Sussex&Surrey stations as well as all London and Home Counties.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not good.,
May 21, 2014
By Spannerman66
from East Midlands
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Tested loose with the Sonichi DAB Adaptor, got acceptable results.
Installed correctly on the windscreen and got ZERO signal.
Tried with and without 12v supply, same.
Ripped off the window and got a signal.
It only works when I'm holding it while sitting in the passenger seat, very disappointed.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? LOUGHBOROUGH
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
OK, but only in strong signal areas,
May 03, 2014
By Anonymous
from Gloucestershire
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features/Spec 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: cheap, easy to fit
Cons: poor performance
"I've tried a number of DAB aerials now, and whilst this is cheap and easy to install (not forgetting to supply 12V power!), the performance is not particularly good.
On a 30 mile route I travel regularly, this aerial managed to pick up a signal for approximately 50% of the trip, and the signal strength meter on the Highway 300Di was showing that even then the strength was fluctuating wildly.
The original Pure external aerial and the VW OEM roof mount aerial both hold signal (using the similar Pure 300Di) for virtually the entire trip with only a couple of momentary drop outs.
If you are in a strong signal area it should be fine, but if not, forget it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? CHELTENHAM
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Reception!,
March 05, 2014
By AlfWayliner
from St Helens
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: excellent dab reception, easy to fit
"I fitted this to my Citroen C4 (no polarised screen). easy to fit and gives great reception on my Pioneer DEH-X6600DAB. I travel from Merseyside to Oxfordshire through some really remote A/B roads and this combo never dropped signal once.
You do need a switched 12v supply to power the antenna though!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
autoleads dab film antenna smb-dab-aa1,
January 07, 2014
By redturtle
from devon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: tidier than aerial on outside, anyone can fit
"excellent product fitted in minutes the best to buy thanks to adviser who told me"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? NEWTON ABBOT
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
OK in strong signal areas,
January 01, 2014
By acolec
from Cheshire
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: sonachi magnetic aerial
Cons: audioleads interior aerial
"I bought this aerial for a Sonachi S100 DAB radio. It was easy to fit and worked OK in strong signal areas but I found I experienced frequent drop outs in built up areas, especially in dips. I live in central Cheshire - a fairly flat area! The radio has a setting that shows signal quality and it showed the signal fluctuating widely. After reading reviews on the Sonachi magnetic roof aeriel I decided to try that. This was a huge improvement and signal quality remained near maximum when driving through the same area that I had previously experienced drop outs. Unless you live in a strong signal area I would not recommend you buying this."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? NORTHWICH
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
a much appreciated pressie,
December 31, 2013
By Debsy60
from Andover, Hampshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"clicked and reserved on line. was updated by email immediately, and collected next day from my local Halfords. Extremely pleasant and helpful young man who advised me on another product I was interested in."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? ANDOVER
-7points
1out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A must for DAB,
December 29, 2013
By Nay83
from Birmingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Was recommended this product over the one supplied with the stereo I brought which was roof mounted. Have been using it for 2 weeks now and have had no problems with the DAB signal."
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? BROMSGROVE
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DAB Antenna,
December 11, 2013
By Danz188
from Redcar
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: discreetly sticks to windscreen
"Excellent product works brilliantly easily fitted and opens up a whole new world to better radio"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? MIDDLESBROUGH (CLEVELAND RTL PK)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to fit,
December 01, 2013
By mhsuffolk
from Ipswich
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: not as sensitive as a roof mount
"Easy to fit but ensure you clean the glass first as you only get one go at sticking it. Accepts a 12 volt feed up the aerial cable which some DAB radios provide thus eliminating the requirement to connect the thin power cable"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? IPSWICH (EURO RTL PK)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ignore all negative reviews!,
October 23, 2013
By Kirkhamj1
from Lancashire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: discreet, quality of sound
Cons: poor instructions
"I was a bit dubious about buying this as A) there were a fair few negative reviews and B) I live in a POOR DAB area, to the point where my DAB home stereo will not pick up a single channel. But I went ahead and gave it a go. I was not disappointed, set it up on the passenger side windscreen wired down the A Pillar and through to the stereo system, but what to do about the power wire, which the instructions gave little to no advice about... I looked online and the advice was to connect it to the main red power line, not the others as the voltage fluctuates too much. I did this and BOOM, a whole HOST of different channels, some of which I've never experienced in the area, on top of the list ALL of them are crystal clear. My advice guys is to use that power cable, leech off the red power wire to power it and use the product to its max. you wont be disappointed."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? LANCASTER
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not the choice for a Porsche 944 Cabriolet,
September 29, 2013
By PorscheOwnerNW
from North West England
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I am sure that it is a very adequate product - but not for a Porsche 944 S2 Cabriolet.
Swapped the product for the stick on the inside of the windscreen version which works fine."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? ALTRINCHAM
-16points
1out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rubbish,
September 22, 2013
By Panda66
from Oswestry
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Don't bother!! It's easy to install and that's about it. Signal was rubbish and kept dropping off. Bought a sonichi aerial witch is fantastic!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Which Store did you visit? OSWESTRY
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dab Ariel,
September 22, 2013
By Cjcaffa
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Good Ariel for the price. It should tell you that the extra wire needs to be connect to a power supply. Signal does cut out abit though compared to an external Ariel."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? ST. HELENS
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't bother,
September 18, 2013
By Anonymous
from Ashford, Kent
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: nothing
"Fitted this as I should have but didn't have a good signal. So I soldered an earth to the strip that sticks to the body work. This worked well on my drive. But as soon as I'm mobile i'll have 3 bars the nothing. Can drop the signal at any time which is so frustrating so had to resort to the sd card music."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? ASHFORD
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1,
September 08, 2013
By Anoni
from Cambridge
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality of signal
Cons: nothing so far
"I wanted a DAB car radio and didn't want an external mount, but was apprehensive about screen aerials. Decdied to get this fitted and then if reception wasn't good to try something else. However, have found this to be excellent - I don't usually review products online, but given lack of reviews of DAB screen aerials and the variable reviews about quality I thought I would try help others who are looking. So far, have found this to be excellent.
Using it with Pioneer DEH-X6500
Also, very discreet on the screen"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CAMBRIDGE
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Waste of time,
August 08, 2013
By Anonymous
from Warwickshire
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: doesn't pick up signal
"Shocking reception, the signal cuts out all the time, in both rural and built up areas. If you want to be able to listen to the radio do not buy this."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? LEAMINGTON SPA
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to fit and working well,
August 07, 2013
By Frannyman
from buxton
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: small and tidy
"this product was easy to fit and is hardly noticable on the windscree"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great ariel,
August 03, 2013
By neilydun73
from Hertfordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit great performance
Cons: nothing
"Doddle to fix, and in over 500 miles, only ever lost reception for a few seconds.
Great buy, reccomended.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: More than 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Which Store did you visit? HARLOW
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>