Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1

The Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1 is for all DAB head units and devices.
Average Customer Rating:
3.846 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
9
36 of 50(72%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 41 Answers
Customer Reviews for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Review 1 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Dab+,
May 03, 2016
By
from London, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Lost. Signal every 5 , 10 mints
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Gender: Male
How many cars: 1
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not bad,
March 29, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" I too was a little sceptical after reading you should have an external antenna for best reception. However I fitted it in west London whilst visiting relatives then drove up to Manchester and reception was fine all the way up. Even when we drove a rural route for the last part bypassing traffic on the M6, reception was good. It's been fine driving around Manchester ever since. "
How many cars: 2
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Surprisingly good little antenna,
March 04, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Was a bit sceptical about whether this antenna would be any good, as I live in an area with patchy DAB coverage. However I have to say I'm impressed, and it seems to pick up a good strong signal most of the time, even in rural areas. Installation was relatively straightforward, there are tutorial videos online to help which I found useful. Overall I'd definitely recommend this product if you're thinking of upgrading to DAB in your car. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spot on,
October 22, 2015
By
from Leicestershire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: flawless signal, easy to diy install
Cons: needs careful handling
" I bought and fitted my second one of these to my WRX recently. First time I read no instructions, simply slapped it bottom left of the screen and didn't bother with the earthing strip. I got a signal fine, pretty good most of the time but regular drop outs whenever in a valley or dip. Decided to try again, removed A post trim, rubbed through the paint near the top left of the screen where I wanted to locate it and stuck it on. Since then absolutely zero drop outs and no glitches etc. Running it with a Pioneer X3500DAB which powers it, no need to connect the thin black lead at all. It's well up to the job but just do it properly first time. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? COALVILLE
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A little fitting advice - or - How I got lucky.,
October 02, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Thought I'd share my positive experience of this product to help anybody confused by the contradictory reviews. I'm not an experienced fitter and the way I went about it was based on a few bits of info I picked up here and there which all came together lovely.
Firstly, I've been using it for 2 weeks now and signal has not cut out once, even in areas I'd consider poor reception. I've traveled through, Herts, Beds, Bucks, Oxfordshire, Wiltshire and London without a hint of problem. Which wasn't my day one experience by any means.
Regards the orientation on left side of the windscreen, this matters not a jot. Just turn it upside down, it's not a problem. There were conflicting ideas about whether scraping paint off back to bare metal was necessary but as it was under the trim and inside the car I figured it couldn't hurt and the theory seemed sound if the purpose is to earth it. I left the power cable unconnected for now as the head unit powers it through the antenna cable.
Here's where it got interesting. Turned on the radio and everything sounded good, until I actually tried to drive anywhere. I noticed that signal seemed to fluctuate as I pressed the accelerator, I guess the same way your lights might dim when you operate the windows. Unscientifically I figured that having the head unit power the aerial and transmit signal down the same wire was giving it too much to do. So I turned the power option off on the head unit and wedged the previously unused cable into the 12v switched connector, which Google told me was the yellow power cable coming out of the car loom :o)
Boom, perfect signal! Maybe it's getting more power this way, maybe the power is not fluctuating as it seemed to be, maybe there's less interference by not using the same wire to do two things? I don't know, it works and I'm happy with that, especially for the price and 20 mins it took to fit. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy install,
October 01, 2015
By
from Wolverhampton, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: plent of cable, easy to install
Cons: a little big for the window really
" Bought this to go with Pure Highway H260DBi Digital/FM/AM Radio with Bluetooth, was easy enough to install pulling the cables into the dashboard, people just need to make sure that the radio has active mode for the antenna (Supplies 12v down the center core) or tap into the switched 12v on the harness of the radio. Not a bad signal. DAB signals are affected by all sorts of things like humidity, buildings and emergency vehicle radios. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? WOLVERHAMPTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Works reasonably well but some digital channels not received.,
September 19, 2015
By
from Bedford, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to install., no need to drill holes in the bodywork to install., receiving all the channels i need.
Cons: not receiving all the channels.
" Simple enough to install although running the wires can be challenging - removing pieces of trim etc....
Luckily I can receive all the digital channels I want, but I have noticed that some channels are found but not received. All the BBC channels work as do KissFM CapitalFM. Quite a few others work and most importantly - PLANET ROCK !!! Yeh !!!
An external aerial would probably be better, but this is pretty decent and works well enough - at least for my needs. Overall, decent value but only gets 3 stars as I can't get all channels. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BIGGLESWADE
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
An OK product,
August 03, 2015
By
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" I bought this DAB aeriel for my wife car and fitted it easy enough, plug and play really. However the signal it picks up is not great. Constantly cuts out and goes quiet and then kicks in again. The stereo doesn't so this on FM so I know its something to do with the DAB aeriel. However to add go the problems, recently the aerial foil section decided to get caught and tear which surprisingly still provides a signal but still the same cutting out. If only then did a converter for the aerial thats FM. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? ASHTON UNDER LYNE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product did not pick up DAB signal,
June 16, 2015
By
from Leicestershire, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features/Spec 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
" Purchased this aerial with Sonichi S100 DAB. Fitted product as manufacturer instructed but only ever got maximum 20% signal at very high point. Signal dropped out 90% of the time so I purchased Sonichi roof top aerial and got 90-100% everywhere i have been.
Would definitely not recommend this product with Sonichi S100.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? COALVILLE
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to fit and works absolutely fine,
June 13, 2015
By
from Guildford, Guildford, Surrey, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: fitted in minutes, works 100%, neat and unobtrusive, fairly cheap
Cons: nothing really
" Bought this to fit with a Pure H260DBi car stereo. As this is designed for an 'active' antenna you don't need to connect the second, smaller lead. Leads fitted behind the trim without much trouble - it took about fifteen minutes to thread it through from the top of the screen to the centre console. Plugged in and worked 100% even just left temporarily behind the sun-visor. Sticking it on takes another five minutes...I was advised in-store that the sticky foil earth isn't critical if your set is earthed to the car so if you can't find some convenient metal to stick it on, not to worry. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? GUILDFORD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works well,
April 20, 2015
By
from Elgin
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: no exterbal aerial on the car., no wires to sort out like the other halfords dab
" I nearly didn't buy this aerial, having read some negative reviews, but I'm glad I did.
There is no instructions so I'm putting people lack of success down to that.
Mount the aerial horizontally, black earth tape facing up connect to 12v supply. I took the paint off a small patch of my roof to give it a good earth and stuck the ground on. Works perfect. Even in the highlands. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? ELGIN
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Could do better!,
April 09, 2015
By
from Trowbridge, Trowbridge, Wiltshire BA14, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features/Spec 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit
Cons: not very good signal, orientation not really for uk models
" I bought this under a year ago and have just had to replace it. I opted not to go for the same aerial again for a couple of reasons:
1. the orientation is not correct; it is quite clearly made to be placed on the left hand side of the vehicle, which is not all that practical in a right hand drive (UK model) car.
2. the signal dropped out fairly regularly
Instead I went for the Sonichi magnetic roof mount aerial (incidentally, the same make as the head unit I have). That is a bit of a faff to install if trying to hide wires or avoid wires being passed between door and jamb, BUT the signal is much better. I am in an area which I thought I had quite patchy signal using the windscreen aerial, but is very good using the Sonichi. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? TROWBRIDGE
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
useless, waste of money,
April 03, 2015
By
from looe, cornwall
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features/Spec 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" bought this on the advice of the salesman in marsh mills, Plymouth. was going to get the magnetic roof ariel after raeding the reviews on here. but the salesman assured me this was good for my area. hardly ever get a digital signal, when I do, it is only for radio1. drove from cornwall to Bristol the other day hardly received a signal at all. total waste of money and im now going to have to change the ariel.THANKS MR SALESMAN "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? PLYMOUTH (LONGBRIDGE RD)
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dab Antenna,
March 16, 2015
By
from Devon, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Had this installed with Dab radio, guy who installed it was very professional
Work's well drove to London from Devon and maintained good signal most of way and could always find some music worth listening to even in middle of night which was not always the case with FM radio
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? TORQUAY
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Autoleads Film Antenna,
March 08, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I bought this after my Sonichi magnetic aerial developed a crack and stopped working after only a year or so of use, I am therefore in the position to make a direct comparison.
The signal strength with this is slightly lower according to my radio, which displays full signal less often, though I haven't noticed any reduction in sound quality and there are no areas without signal where there previously was.
Overall I wish I had bought this to start with - there is no need to run a cable to the outside of my car, and to my ears the signal quality is the same.
The only drawbacks I can see are that it has clearly been designed for left hand drive cars - if you want to put it on the left side of the windscreen, you will have to put it upside-down; and I imagine it won't be particularly easy to move it from one car to another. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not that good,
February 23, 2015
By
from Eastbourne
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" I had high hopes for this antenna, but reception was intermintent, so tried a magnetic roof arial and signal improved by 90%. Plus the roof arial cost less. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job!,
January 18, 2015
By
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
" Easy to attach,reasonable price and improved reception. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality, good price,
January 06, 2015
By
from Braintree, Essex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This antenna is exactly what it says. It is easy to fit. Clearly the DAB reception would be better with an external aerial but who wants to drill holes in their car or have a magnet mount that looks ugly. This is an excellent compromise. I have one on both our cars. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? BRAINTREE
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
not good,
December 21, 2014
By
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features/Spec 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" Simple. Just don't work absolute waste of money don't buy "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unobtrusive dab aerial,
November 13, 2014
By
from Southampton, Southampton, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: simple, unobtrusive, good signal
Cons: quite expensive, new windscreen means new aerial
" I bought this to add dab to my pioneer stereo (should of been included I think but that's another story) very simple to fit, plenty of cable and once fitted was fairly unobtrusive and did give a very good signal. I didn't need to use the 12v wire as mine was powered by the head unit. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? EASTLEIGH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>