Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1

The Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1 is for all DAB head units and devices.
Average Customer Rating:
3.796 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
9
31 of 43(72%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 41 Answers
Customer Reviews for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Review 1 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product did not pick up DAB signal,
June 16, 2015
By Tramway
from Leicestershire, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features/Spec 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
" Purchased this aerial with Sonichi S100 DAB. Fitted product as manufacturer instructed but only ever got maximum 20% signal at very high point. Signal dropped out 90% of the time so I purchased Sonichi roof top aerial and got 90-100% everywhere i have been.
Would definitely not recommend this product with Sonichi S100.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? COALVILLE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to fit and works absolutely fine,
June 13, 2015
By Anonymous
from Guildford, Guildford, Surrey, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: fitted in minutes, works 100%, neat and unobtrusive, fairly cheap
Cons: nothing really
" Bought this to fit with a Pure H260DBi car stereo. As this is designed for an 'active' antenna you don't need to connect the second, smaller lead. Leads fitted behind the trim without much trouble - it took about fifteen minutes to thread it through from the top of the screen to the centre console. Plugged in and worked 100% even just left temporarily behind the sun-visor. Sticking it on takes another five minutes...I was advised in-store that the sticky foil earth isn't critical if your set is earthed to the car so if you can't find some convenient metal to stick it on, not to worry. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? GUILDFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works well,
April 20, 2015
By Matth7
from Elgin
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: no exterbal aerial on the car., no wires to sort out like the other halfords dab
" I nearly didn't buy this aerial, having read some negative reviews, but I'm glad I did.
There is no instructions so I'm putting people lack of success down to that.
Mount the aerial horizontally, black earth tape facing up connect to 12v supply. I took the paint off a small patch of my roof to give it a good earth and stuck the ground on. Works perfect. Even in the highlands. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? ELGIN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Could do better!,
April 09, 2015
By lukejeff
from Trowbridge, Trowbridge, Wiltshire BA14, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features/Spec 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit
Cons: not very good signal, orientation not really for uk models
" I bought this under a year ago and have just had to replace it. I opted not to go for the same aerial again for a couple of reasons:
1. the orientation is not correct; it is quite clearly made to be placed on the left hand side of the vehicle, which is not all that practical in a right hand drive (UK model) car.
2. the signal dropped out fairly regularly
Instead I went for the Sonichi magnetic roof mount aerial (incidentally, the same make as the head unit I have). That is a bit of a faff to install if trying to hide wires or avoid wires being passed between door and jamb, BUT the signal is much better. I am in an area which I thought I had quite patchy signal using the windscreen aerial, but is very good using the Sonichi. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? TROWBRIDGE
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
useless, waste of money,
April 03, 2015
By normalnorm
from looe, cornwall
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features/Spec 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" bought this on the advice of the salesman in marsh mills, Plymouth. was going to get the magnetic roof ariel after raeding the reviews on here. but the salesman assured me this was good for my area. hardly ever get a digital signal, when I do, it is only for radio1. drove from cornwall to Bristol the other day hardly received a signal at all. total waste of money and im now going to have to change the ariel.THANKS MR SALESMAN "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? PLYMOUTH (LONGBRIDGE RD)
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dab Antenna,
March 16, 2015
By gpalmer
from Devon, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Had this installed with Dab radio, guy who installed it was very professional
Work's well drove to London from Devon and maintained good signal most of way and could always find some music worth listening to even in middle of night which was not always the case with FM radio
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? TORQUAY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Autoleads Film Antenna,
March 08, 2015
By InsertNameHere
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I bought this after my Sonichi magnetic aerial developed a crack and stopped working after only a year or so of use, I am therefore in the position to make a direct comparison.
The signal strength with this is slightly lower according to my radio, which displays full signal less often, though I haven't noticed any reduction in sound quality and there are no areas without signal where there previously was.
Overall I wish I had bought this to start with - there is no need to run a cable to the outside of my car, and to my ears the signal quality is the same.
The only drawbacks I can see are that it has clearly been designed for left hand drive cars - if you want to put it on the left side of the windscreen, you will have to put it upside-down; and I imagine it won't be particularly easy to move it from one car to another. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not that good,
February 23, 2015
By raycarman
from Eastbourne
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" I had high hopes for this antenna, but reception was intermintent, so tried a magnetic roof arial and signal improved by 90%. Plus the roof arial cost less. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job!,
January 18, 2015
By SAA85
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
" Easy to attach,reasonable price and improved reception. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality, good price,
January 06, 2015
By owenF
from Braintree, Essex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This antenna is exactly what it says. It is easy to fit. Clearly the DAB reception would be better with an external aerial but who wants to drill holes in their car or have a magnet mount that looks ugly. This is an excellent compromise. I have one on both our cars. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? BRAINTREE
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
not good,
December 21, 2014
By jfc1
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features/Spec 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" Simple. Just don't work absolute waste of money don't buy "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unobtrusive dab aerial,
November 13, 2014
By Bowsie
from Southampton, Southampton, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: simple, unobtrusive, good signal
Cons: quite expensive, new windscreen means new aerial
" I bought this to add dab to my pioneer stereo (should of been included I think but that's another story) very simple to fit, plenty of cable and once fitted was fairly unobtrusive and did give a very good signal. I didn't need to use the 12v wire as mine was powered by the head unit. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? EASTLEIGH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great,
October 21, 2014
By Gary1412
from Sheffield, South Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Had this fitted with a Sony DAB radio by Halfords. Works great and looks fine. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (QUEENS RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great dab aerial,
October 03, 2014
By Col53
from Billingham, Stockton-on-Tees, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to install, unobtrusive
Cons: once installed it's permanent
" I was able to install this aerial in my golf mk6 in under 1 hour, it picks up full range of stations and signal seems good. I still need to give it a good test but initial thoughts are good. When installing you need to make sure the earth tab is stuck well to bare metal of car body and 12v wire is connected to a supply unlees you radio puts out 12v through aerial cable. Would recommend this product. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? STOCKTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good reception and easy to fit,
September 10, 2014
By Leonardo14
from Glasgow
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought this for my classic car.
Could have been tricky to fit and connect, but it wasnt at all.
Greatreception and looks good - quite unobtrusive
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BRAEHEAD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Reception,
July 21, 2014
By nickrroo
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" MUST be installed correctly with a 12v switched power supply and earthed with the tab sticker on the metal car body by the windscreen. If you cant do this you wont get a good signal. I did and get an amazing signal, better than from my factory fit DAB 2013 Audi A4. Installed this in my 4x4 and very pleased. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good reception,
May 24, 2014
By topgears
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Good advice in the shop how to fit this. Did not need to connect 12V power to separate lead as VW RCD 310 is supplying 12V through aerial connector. Also did not need any fakra adapters as the SMB type nicely fits into this radio black dab connector, its worth removing outer ring from angled connector for ease of use. With outer ring, the angled connector will get stuck inside the fakra plastic casing.
Reception is good ie. located in Hertfordshire it will tune into Sussex&Surrey stations as well as all London and Home Counties.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not good.,
May 21, 2014
By Spannerman66
from East Midlands
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Tested loose with the Sonichi DAB Adaptor, got acceptable results.
Installed correctly on the windscreen and got ZERO signal.
Tried with and without 12v supply, same.
Ripped off the window and got a signal.
It only works when I'm holding it while sitting in the passenger seat, very disappointed.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? LOUGHBOROUGH
+1point
7out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
OK, but only in strong signal areas,
May 03, 2014
By Anonymous
from Gloucestershire
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features/Spec 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: cheap, easy to fit
Cons: poor performance
" I've tried a number of DAB aerials now, and whilst this is cheap and easy to install (not forgetting to supply 12V power!), the performance is not particularly good.
On a 30 mile route I travel regularly, this aerial managed to pick up a signal for approximately 50% of the trip, and the signal strength meter on the Highway 300Di was showing that even then the strength was fluctuating wildly.
The original Pure external aerial and the VW OEM roof mount aerial both hold signal (using the similar Pure 300Di) for virtually the entire trip with only a couple of momentary drop outs.
If you are in a strong signal area it should be fine, but if not, forget it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? CHELTENHAM
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Autoleads DAB Film Antenna SMB - DAB-AA1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Reception!,
March 05, 2014
By AlfWayliner
from St Helens
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: excellent dab reception, easy to fit
" I fitted this to my Citroen C4 (no polarised screen). easy to fit and gives great reception on my Pioneer DEH-X6600DAB. I travel from Merseyside to Oxfordshire through some really remote A/B roads and this combo never dropped signal once.
You do need a switched 12v supply to power the antenna though! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>